Page 2

Yellowstone Association Leadership Team Yellowstone National Park has a powerful and profound effect on people. A visit here is both inspiring and restorative. One of the beauties of this place is that it offers many opportunities to step back and reconnect with the natural world—and with one another. Through our Institute classes, Park Stores, and dynamic membership program, the Yellowstone Association helps strengthen the relationship between people and the park. The Institute offers more than 600 in-depth classes that connect people to Yellowstone; our Park Stores see more than 200,000 transactions per year; and more than 37,000 members across the world are part of our family. Our friendly staff and volunteers are here because they share your enthusiasm and passion for Yellowstone. There is no better way to immerse oneself in Yellowstone than by living and learning with us. Stay at the Lamar Buffalo Ranch or the Yellowstone Overlook Field Campus and let us show you all that Yellowstone has to offer. Please visit our website or call us at 406.848.2400 to learn more about the fall and winter opportunities offered at these facilities. I hope you will come and enjoy the splendor of autumn and the solitude of winter. These are spectacular times of year to explore the park, and—with summer crowds long gone—peaceful too. Whether you come with a group of friends or bring multiple generations of your family, we can create an experience just for you. Thank you for being part of a community of people who love this place and want to help preserve it for all time. We hope to see you here soon! Sincerely,

Jeff Brown

Executive Director

Daniel Bierschwale Director of Retail

Wendie Carr Marketing Manager

Roger Keaton

Director of Finance and Administration

Dennis McIntosh Director of Facilities

Kathy Nichols

Human Resources Manager

Stacey Orsted

Director of Development

Ken Voorhis

Director of Education

Yellowstone Association Board of Directors Claire Campbell Board Chair

Boulder, CO

Lou Lanwermeyer Vice-Chair

Brasstown, NC

Bob Shopneck Treasurer

Denver, CO

Tom Detmer

Assistant Treasurer

Denver, CO

Patty Carocci Secretary

Jeff Brown Yellowstone Association executive director

Arlington, VA

Don Ableson West Bloomfield, MI

Katie Cattanach Denver, CO

Sandy Choate Austin, TX

Gale Davis Wilson, WY

Penney Cox Hubbard Baltimore, MD

Mat Millenbach Portland, OR

Alex Perez Atherton, CA

Yellowstone’s official nonprofit education partner

Alan Shaw Big Sky, MT

Anne Young Cody, WY

What’s on the cover? Bull elk resting in Yellowstone COVER Meg Sommers / M eg Sommers PHOTOGRAPHY

Profile for Yellowstone Association

Yellowstone Quarterly Fall 2014  

Yellowstone Quarterly Fall 2014