Page 1

IPL 2018: Kolkata Knight Riders hand Daredevils crushing 71-run defeat Delhi Daredevils miserable show continues at Eden Gardens as they lost the 7th match in Kolkata against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Chasing 201, Delhi Daredevils led by Gautam Gambhir failed miserably and were all out for mere 129 in 14.2 overs in match 13 of IPL 2018. Kolkata Knight Riders won by 71 runs. No Delhi Daredevils batsman could take the pressure of the huge total and face the menacing bowling of Kolkata Knight Riders let by spin trio of Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, and Piyush Chawla. Rishab Pant and Glenn Maxwell tried hard to challenge the KKR bowling but their efforts could not do much as both got out of the short ball while trying to hit Yadav out of the park. This is the second win for Kolkata Knight Riders in four matches. Dinesh Karthik-led KKR had lost the previous two matches against Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad. Delhi Daredevils' wickets kept tumbling at regular intervals and DD never looked to chase the mammoth target. Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets each for KKR. This win over Delhi Daredevils moved Kolkata Knight Riders to the second spot in Vivo IPL points table with 4 points.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Delhi Daredevils perfecting the nuances of losing backto-back matches Delhi Daredevils were in deep trouble as they lost three wickets in three overs. Opener Jason Roy was dismissed in the first over. He was followed by Shreyas Iyer in the second over. Captain Gautam Gambhir was played on in the third over. DD was 38-3. Earlier, powered by Nitish Rana and Andre Russell, Kolkata Knight Riders posted a huge score of 200 in their 20 overs in the match against Delhi Daredevils. While a few wickets did fell quickly, Nitish Rana made sure that the scoring rate did not fall. He did not stop playing shots and kept the scoreboard ticking. Russell played a fantastic cameo of 41 from 12 balls. He smashed Chris Lynn and Mohd Shami all over the park. Delhi Daredevils will now need 201 runs to win. ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Why Gambhir failed to turn things around for Delhi Daredevils Delhi Daredevils innings update: Over by over Delhi Daredevils Playing XI: Jason Roy, Gautam Gambhir(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Glenn Maxwell, Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Chris Morris, Rahul Tewatia, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult Over 1: Piyush Chawla to open the bowling. He strikes in the first over. Over 2: Shreyas Iyer departs. DD: 15-2 Over 3: Shivam Mavi into the attack. Rishab Pant joins Gautam Gambhir. Four to Pant. good shot. DD 24-2. Over 4: Russell comes to the attack. Maxwell hammers him. DD: 38-3 Over 5: DD: 45-3 Over 6: Rishab Pant trying to make the most of the powerplay. 11 runs from the over. DD 56-3 Over 7: Here is the onslaught by Rishab Pant, six, four, single. DD: 69-3 Over 8: Curran smashed for a six and a four. These two are taking it to KKR bowlers. DD 81-3.

Ipl 2018 kolkata knight riders hand daredevils crushing 71 run defeat

Ipl 2018 kolkata knight riders hand daredevils crushing 71 run defeat