Page 1

The Lion Dance Parade was sponsored in part by a generous donation from The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven.

Yale-China Review SPRING 2012

INSIDE

2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16

Letter Our History Education Program Health Program Public Service Program Arts Program Cheongsam Ball Community News


BOARD OF TRUSTEES Martha Finn Brooks, Chair Max Ma, Treasurer R. Anthony Reese, Secretary Zhiwu Chen Linda Cole-Taylor Michael W. Devlin Kristopher Fennie Douglas Ferguson Joseph W. Gordon Sally Harpole Fred Hu William R. Jackson Jan Kiely Ping Liang Vivian Ling Daniel Magida Pamela Phuong N. Phan Alan Plattus Nancy Reynolds Robert M. Rohrbaugh Katherine Sandweiss Katherine Tai Ming Thompson Mary Gwen Wheeler Michael J. Wishnie Andrea Worden Barry J. Wu Terry Kam Ha Yip

HONORARY TRUSTEES John C. Bierwirth Edith N. MacMullen

STAFF Nancy Yao Maasbach, Executive Director Michelle Averitt, Creative Coordinator Betty Ho, Administrative Assistant James Fleishman, Special Assistant Jonathan Green, Director of Finance and Operations Annie Lin, Arts Program Fellow Katie Molteni Muir, Manager of Public Service and Yale Campus Programs Zijie Peng, Manager, Greater China Amy Shek, Manager of Administration and Volunteer Corps Leslie Stone, Director of Education Hongping Tian, Director of Health Brendan Woo, Program Officer, Education Lucy Yang, Program Officer, Health

Yale-China Association 442 Temple Street Box 208223 New Haven, CT 06520 Phone: 203-432-0884 E-mail: yale-china@yale.edu www.yalechina.org Copyright 2012 Yale-China Association.

The Yale-China Association is a private, non-profit This issue designed by Michelle Averitt. organization based on the campus of Yale University.

Dear Yale-China friend, Yale-China welcomes spring with great enthusiasm, clanging cymbals and beating drums! In celebration of the year of the dragon and the 111th anniversary of the Yale-China Association, a lion dance graced (thumped) its way down the streets of New Haven earlier this spring. Over 300 packed the streets of New Haven to catch glimpses of the lion’s first visit to the Elm City (see cover). Yale-China continued the festivities later that evening with its inaugural Cheongsam Ball—over 200 supporters joined the lively occasion. Yale-China has so much to celebrate. As we reflect on this year’s work, it is important for us to take time to pause and recognize how the programs— whether in the classroom, hospital, theater, society, or other venues—have blossomed. I am encouraged daily by the Yale-China trustees who, despite full-time commitments, give with purpose and care to the program work. In March, I was accompanied by Martha Finn Brooks, chair of the Yale-China Association, Zhiwu Chen, trustee and professor of finance at Yale School of Management, Fred Hu, trustee and chairman of Primavera Capital, and Dr. Robert Rohrbaugh, trustee and professor of psychiatry at Yale School of Medicine on visits to Beijing, Changsha, Guangzhou, and Hong Kong to meet with partners, fellows, and alumni. We had the privilege of observing our current teaching fellows in action at Yali Middle School, meeting with our partners at Xiangya and its affiliates, sharing our work with Hunan Provincial Secretary Zhou Qiang and his colleagues, and planning for new initiatives in Hong Kong with New Asia College. A special visit with the Yali Alumni Association, including alumni from the 1920s and 1930s, reminded us of the significant power of long-term commitment and friendship. Yale-China’s partners are acutely aware of ways in which an organization like Yale-China can make a difference. YaleChina is working on new initiatives in the area of medical education, business ethics, service initiatives, the arts, and social enterprise. Our passion for the arts continues and our desire to establish a program that addresses current needs in this area is underway (see page 12). Although trips back and forth to China have kept the staff exceptionally busy this year, we have tried to bring the most timely topics and individuals to the greater New Haven community and online through Yale-China’s Fireside Chat series (see page 16)—the response has been tremendous. This June marks the close of my third year with Yale-China—what an adventurous and eye-opening three years! I have met many of you either in New Haven or on one of my many trips to China in recent years. Your stories of personal transformation through Yale-China has changed me; I have been blessed by your commitment and support of the work. Yale-China plays a significant role in improving the U.S.-China relationship. I encourage you to read this issue of the Yale-China Review to learn more about Yale-China. Finally, I ask that you might consider a gift to support our work—any size is greatly appreciated (see page 18). There is so much more that we can do together.

加油 Jia you! Nancy

Nancy Yao Maasbach Executive Director


Milestones

2014

20

th

2013 Anniversary Yale University-New Asia College

Undergraduate Exchange (YUNA)

Yale-China–New Asia College 60 Years of Partnership

2014 Centennial of Xiangya School of Medicine


Our History Chinese Medicine to the West In any discussion of modern medicine’s arrival in China, Yale-China can be proud of some well-known firsts—it was Yale-China that brought both the first Western hospital and modern medical education to Hunan Province under the leadership of Dr. Edward Hume; yet, Dr. Hume was also a true groundbreaker, bringing Chinese medicine to the West. herbalists to street corner astrologers could be called upon in times of illness. As plentiful as healers may have been, their abilities were insufficient to keep the prevalence of tuberculosis, trachoma, syphilis, leprosy, cholera, dysentery, plague, and typhus at bay. Little wonder that the few foreigners who had encountered Chinese medicine at the time—not to mention China’s own foreigneducated elite—tended to look upon it askance.

said quietly in the hallway, “you must let me act at once.” The young man, a firm believer in both modern science and Dr. Hume, was ready to do whatever it took to save the woman’s life, but there was a hitch—the ultimate decision, as per tradition, could only be made by his mother, the bride’s mother-in-law. He disappeared back into the sickroom only to return moments later dejectedly; the family would not allow an operation. With no other choice, Dr. Hume addressed his friend, “in

“...only those can enter effectively into her life who approach China’s citadel by the way of friendship...”

Dr. Hume was born into the third generation of a family of missionaries in India. He graduated from Yale in 1897 and completed his medical studies at Johns Hopkins University, where he counted amongst his teachers the godfather of modern American medicine, William Osler. In 1902 Hume turned down an appointment with the Yale Foreign Missionary Society (now Yale-China) in favor of contributing to the spread of Western medical education in his country of birth. However, with the Indian government already sponsoring its own medical institutions in many key cities and Harlan Beach issuing the call, “come to China as soon as you can… you are needed here far more than in India,” in 1905 Hume found himself, his wife Loretta, and his young son arriving in Changsha, provincial capital of Hunan. In 1905, Hume may have been the only Western doctor in Hunan, but he certainly was not the only practitioner of medicine. In his memoirs, Doctors East Doctors West, he recounts a city where all manner of individuals ranging from classically-trained Chinese

4

Dr. Hume’s writings, however, show a man who for a lifetime maintained the humble mindset of an eternal student, especially when he was encountered with Chinese medicine. Hume’s openness to Chinese medicine might have stemmed from his being a third-generation missionary. The closing line of Doctors East Doctors West, “only those can enter effectively into her life who approach China’s citadel by the way of friendship,” reveals a man who in his blood knew that the only way to enter new land is to open one’s heart to its ways. Hume’s idol William Osler’s belief in the efficacy of acupuncture may, too, have played a role. But above all, it was experience in the trenches of medicine that convinced Hume of Chinese medicine’s potential to heal.

In Doctors East Doctors West, Dr. Hume relates two fascinating adventures in Changsha that led him to tip his hat towards Chinese medicine. In the first tale, a young, Japanese-educated friend of Dr. Hume’s bursts into his afternoon Chinese lesson to beseech Dr. Hume to make a house call—his pregnant wife, unable to keep down food or drink for two weeks, was on the verge of death. Dr. Hume and the young man made their way across town on foot and Dr. Hume was led to the sickbed of the young Mr. Teng’s wife, who was surrounded by every female member of the extended family, all of whom freely and vociferously contributed to a great chorus of medical opinions. Hume’s diagnosis was simple: the baby that Mr. Teng’s wife was carrying had died in utero, and unless it was removed, it would poison the woman until she died. “If you trust me,” Hume

that case, Mr. Teng, you will not mind if I withdraw at once. It is my considered opinion that no other treatment would work. It would waste my time and yours if I should start to treat your wife with drugs.” Taking his leave to make his way home via sedan chair, Dr. Hume’s heart was made even heavier by the fact that Mr. Teng had managed to sneak full payment for the visit into his possession. A month later, Dr. Hume chanced upon Mr. Teng walking in a crowd. Knowing that if they met he would surely hear the story of the wife’s painful demise,


Hume did his best to disappear, but a cheery Mr. Teng caught up to him and offered hearty thanks for Dr. Hume’s help at the bedside. Dr. Hume inquired as to the wife’s condition, and was stunned to hear that after the family had summoned one of Changsha’s most renowned (and expensive) Chinese doctors, his wife made a full recovery with only three doses of herbs—not only that, but six months later she bore a healthy son when only a month before Dr. Hume had been convinced the fetus had already died! In another instance, and under what constituted very unusual circumstances, Dr. Hume was called to the bedside of one Mr. Liang, Hunan’s provincial treasurer, at the same time as Changsha’s most respected traditional doctor, a physician by the name of Wang. An intergenerational conflict of opinions in the Liang family—to trust Chinese medicine or to trust Western medicine—led them to decide to call the finest doctors from both camps to their home to settle the dispute. Dr. Hume described in loving detail the classical methods of diagnosis used by his colleague, concluding, “Dr. Wang had drunk deeply at the springs of Chinese medicine but had never witnessed a post-mortem examination or made a chemical or microscopic test in a library. Yet his verdict was given with assurance. I could almost hear him add, ‘what else could it be but kidney disease?’” After Hume later confirmed Dr. Wang’s conclusion in the laboratory, his respect for the doctor grew. Later on he would come to refer to Dr. Wang as his “medical consultant” and invite him to lecture annually on Chinese medicine at Xiangya Medical School. Over the years, Dr. Hume frequently put pen to pad to broadcast his respect for Chinese medicine. Not only did he publish a book, The Chinese Way in Medicine, synopsizing the modality’s history and practice, but he also delivered lectures on the topic in the West

and published in The Merck Report, the Bulletin of the Institute of the History of Medicine, and the Annals of Medical History. Writing presciently in 1944 in The Merck Report, Hume declared, “some day we must make a far more searching investigation of all medicaments China has employed. They are bound to be in considerable number and, through modern scientific analysis of their nature and physiological action, we shall gain greatly. The bridges of medicine are being built— bridges of scientific value, and above all, of permanent value in the strengthening of social bonds between friendly nations.” Hume’s foresight finds no better illustration than the presentation of Dr. Tu Youyou with a prestigious Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award in 2011 for her leadership in the development of artemisinin, an anti-malarial drug that has already saved millions of lives worldwide. Not only is artemisinin derived from sweet wormwood, a plant that has been used for malarial conditions in Chinese medicine for thousands of years, but the secret to its proper preparation—it can only be decocted at low temperatures, as boiling will destroy its active

compounds—was found in 1,600-year-old writings of Daoist doctor-sage Ge Hong. Dr. Hume would surely have taken great pleasure in the news, though his writings reveal that he would have been little surprised! There is perhaps one more first we can attribute to our Dr. Hume. In one of the most iconic photos taken in Yale-China’s 111 years, Dr. Hume is seen at his desk taking a Chinese patient’s pulse as a number of visitors intently look on. Of course, both Western and Chinese clinicians have always measured the pulse, but it is only in Chinese medicine where six locations, three on each wrist, are believed to reveal information about the condition of the patient’s heart, lungs, liver, spleen, and kidneys. In his memoirs we learn that Dr. Hume had no choice but to study this method—some patients even stormed out of the clinic in immense indignation if he failed to use it! And thus it may well be that Dr. Hume, Western medicine’s emissary in Changsha more than one hundred years ago, was the first American doctor to lay his fingertips on a patient’s wrists and measure the six pulses. This article was written by Mattias Daly.

In Memoriam

Yale-China mourns the loss of members of our extended family since June 2011: Arthur E. Baue Bruce Howe James G. Johnson

Richard Medley Stanley R. Resor Robert A. Scalapino

Paul L. Springer Elizabeth B. Wiens Stanley Weinstein

5


Education Teaching, Sharing, and Learning: Year 102

Yale-China English Teaching Fellow Gang Chen with his Yali Middle School students.

The Yale-China Teaching Fellowship’s November Conference culminated with a cooking lesson at a local restaurant in Changsha.

This has been a busy and productive year for the fourteen English Teaching Fellows and Medical English Teaching Fellows. After their August TEFL (Teaching as a Foreign Language) training and orientation in Hong Kong (including a surprise junk ride and sumptuous dinner on Lamma Island that was hosted by former trustee and program alumnus Drake Pike and attended by Hong Kong Yale Club members and other friends), the Fellows jumped into their teaching at Yali Middle School, Xiuning Middle School, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Xiangya School of Medicine. From November 7–13, all Fellows gathered in Changsha with Leslie Stone, director, education, and Brendan Woo, program officer, education, for November Conference. Following the basic pattern of recent November Conferences, there were focused discussions on common teaching challenges and presentations of best practices in the classroom. Topics ranged from checking comprehension to using humor and music as teaching tools to self-reflection as a teaching practice. Everyone observed a class taught by Christopher Hu, Yali English teacher and foreign affairs officer, as well as classes taught by current Fellows. We rounded out our November Conference with a “Food Theme” that was inspired by the culinary interests of several current Fellows. The Yali Teaching Fellows introduced their favorite restaurants, led a food tour, and organized cookbooks of favorite recipes. Discussions and activities used food/cooking themes. The conference culminated with a cooking class taught at a local Changsha restaurant.

China Teachers Consortium Conference Small group discussions at the China Teaching Consortium Conference: Center left and right are Douglass Endrizzi (a second-year Fellow at Xiuning Middle School) and Marie Calvert-Kilbane (a first-year Fellow at Yali Middle School).

All Teaching Fellows took part in a two-day China Teachers Consortium (CTC) Conference that was held in Changsha and was co-organized by WorldTeach and Yale-China with funding from the Henry Luce Foundation. 52 teachers from eight CTC organizations

participated. The CTC organizations represented were Yale-China, WorldTeach, Whitman College, Wellesley College, VIA, Grinnell College, and Colorado China Council. Four guest experts offered full group presentations and led workshops. 

New Mentoring Program To provide additional support to the Teaching Fellows, we are piloting a new mentoring program that matches Fellows with past Fellows or trustees of Yale-China. Because many current Fellows are interested in learning how their predecessors navigated the transition from the Fellowship to the next stage in their careers, the majority of the “matches” are based on the career aspirations of the current Fellows. This programmatic addition has been enthusiastically received, and the Fellows and their mentors are currently meeting by email, Skype, and even in person.

62nd Happy Run

All Yale-China Association Fellows and staff who participated in the 62nd Happy Run at New Asia College won trophies! Posing with New Asia College staff (LR): Daniel Bleiberg (Hunan University and Sun Yat-sen University, 2009-2011; second place, men’s staff division), Minh Tran (CUHK, 2011-2013; third place, men’s staff division), Annie Lin (Xiuning Middle School, 2009-2011 and current Arts Program Fellow; second place, women’s staff division), Elizabeth Weissberg (CUHK, 2010-2012; first place, women’s staff division, and fastest woman overall), SHUN Kwong-loi (Head, New Asia College), Brendan Woo (Xiuning Middle School, 2008-2010 and current Program Officer, Education; fourth place, men’s staff division), Winnie Yau (Acting Secretary, New Asia College), and Nixon Fok (Executive Officer, New Asia College).

Springtime Mini-Reunions Former Teaching Fellows, their students, and staff of Yale-China have been gathering this spring for dinners and drinks in Boston, San Francisco, and Washington D.C. In March, ten former Teaching Fellows and the education program staff enjoyed a meal together in Boston's Chinatown. In May, trustee Ming Thompson organized a reunion dinner in San Francisco with a great turnout of 22 guests. Ming writes that the group (pictured here) included “Teaching Fellows from the '60s, a Yali Middle School graduate from 2008, and a whole range of former teachers and students in between. The conversations were incredibly rich, and I heard people describing the Halloween hijinks of their Yale-China Teaching Fellows in the '90s, and debating the definition of bribery in business between China and the U.S." More recently, on May 19 in Washington, D.C., six Fellows and former staff inspired a plan for a larger reunion dinner sometime in the coming summer.

6


New Haven Connections On December 2nd, three groups of 30 New Haven high school students visited Yale-China as a part of the Yale-New Haven Critical Languages Project. Over 800 middle and high school students are currently studying Mandarin in New Haven Public Schools. During their December visit to Yale-China, the high school students learned about Yale-China’s work and the lives of high school students in China. Dr. Li Yahuang, a postdoctoral fellow in art history at Yale, gave a presentation about Chinese embroidery using YaleChina’s Hunan embroidery exhibition as a teaching aid.

Program Officer Brendan Woo introducing New Haven Public School high school students to Yale-China and to the lives of high school students in China.

Q&A with Teaching Fellows in Xiuning For this issue of the Yale-China Review, we sat down with Rachel Corbin and Sabrina Karim, first-year Teaching Fellows at Xiuning Middle School in Anhui Province. The interview took place in their apartment on the Xiuzhong campus in mid-December. You have been at your site for about four months now. To what extent has Xiuning come to feel like home? Rachel: Xiuning feels very much like home because we’ve become a part of the community here… people know who we are and we recognize people, so that makes it feel very much like a home. Sabrina: Everyone has also been really 热情 (warm and welcoming here; our neighbor will make us 炒 面 [chow mein – stir-fried noodles] and surprise us, and 奶奶 [“grandmother” – a neighbor with a three-year-old granddaughter] has taught us to make buns and dumplings, so those have been really nice gestures to welcome us here and to make us feel like part of the school life. And Mr. Wang [a teacher at the school who serves as the liaison for the foreign teachers] – Mr. Wang is the best. He takes such good care of us – he’s like our Chinese father. Does anything about Xiuning remind you of home? Rachel: We cook a lot, so sometimes we make food and we taste it and we’re like, “This is so not Chinese” – not that the Chinese food doesn’t taste awesome, but sometimes we make foods that remind us of home. Sabrina: It’s also been really nice to be part of the fellowship with not only our three other sitemates, but also with

Sabrina Karim and Rachel Corbin hold the bamboo menorah in their apartment on the campus of Xiuning Middle School.

the other eleven or so Fellows. We recently had a huge Thanksgiving feast where the majority of them were able to come and we made our favorite Thanksgiving dishes: mashed potatoes, and quiche, and sweet potato pie, and that reminded me of home, which was really nice. Neither of you had studied Chinese before starting the Fellowship. What has your language learning experience been like so far? Sabrina: It’s been cool. It’s been tough and challenging, but we have really great tutors. We actually went to my tutor’s wedding back in October, which was a really warm gesture for her to invite us – I had known her for maybe two weeks – and since then Rachel organized a baking lesson we had with them so we taught them how to make challah… we also played majiang with our 老师s [teachers], so in very practical ways we’ve learned Chinese.

Excerpt from Teaching Report by Abigail Cheung First-year Fellow The Chinese University of Hong Kong

To me, first-year teaching feels something akin to being launched into a triathlon after having swum a lap or two, tried unicycling and perhaps jogged the “Happy Run” course at CUHK a couple times in the nottoo-distant past. Teaching is simultaneously exhilarating and exhausting. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the amount of preparation I feel I require in order to share useful information with the university students I teach. I also worry that I lack work-life balance. However,

Rachel: Also, outside of the formal tutoring, we’re always practicing language skills – I’ve learned a lot of Chinese on QQ, which is the Chinese instant messaging [service], just by talking to random people – people are usually pretty enthusiastic to make a foreign friend on QQ and so then I just have these people who are pretty great about when they say something that I don’t understand, rephrasing it for me so that I get to learn Chinese using Chinese rather than just looking words up in a dictionary all the time.

one thing I love about teaching is who it is

How will you celebrate the holidays this year?

Studies and English classes), but also how

Rachel: We made a bamboo menorah and Sabrina, the amazing artist that she is, made these beautiful decorations.

much I enjoy having the opportunity to

Sabrina: Yes, we just celebrated Hanukah last week and we’ll be celebrating Christmas next, so it’s a cool cultural exchange, not only with China, but with each other. We’re [also] going to put together a 外教 [foreign teacher] show for 元旦 [Western New Year’s], and my singing group will be doing a Justin Bieber/Bruno Mars medley consisting of “Count on Me,” “Just the Way You Are,” “Baby,” and “Mistletoe,” and we’re attempting to do a four-part “We Wish You A Merry Christmas.”

helping me become. Through teaching, I have discovered not only how much I enjoy being a student (being Canadian and having not majored in English in college, I find myself looking forward to learning about the material I get to teach in my American

develop confidence. Don’t get me wrong— things don’t always work out, and I don’t leave every class feeling super confident about my teaching abilities, but I’m learning a lot. When in-class activities are not successful, it’s embarrassing, but when they work, or when the dots suddenly connect in my students’ heads, it feels awesome. Leslie Stone - leslie.stone@yale.edu Brendan Woo - brendan.woo@yale.edu

7


Health

Central South University leadership and Yale-China delegation group photo with student performers of the centennial gala.

Centennial of Xiangya Nursing Education and International Nursing Conference in Changsha This October Yale-China joined colleagues at Central South University (CSU) School of Nursing, Xiangya School of Medicine and their affiliated institutions to commemorate the centennial of nursing education at Xiangya. Since Yale-China helped to start nursing education at Xiangya in 1911, the Nursing School, which is now independent of Yale-China and a part of CSU, has undergone amazing progress and transformation, through times of peace and war. Hundreds of nursing colleagues and other health professionals from around the world and within China traveled to Changsha to celebrate this momentous occasion, joining the ceremony and participating in the “2011 China Changsha International Nursing Conference” hosted by the CSU School of Nursing. During the ceremony, Yale-China trustee and Chair of the Health Committee, Kristopher Fennie, delivered the congratulatory resolution from Yale-China.

Nancy Yao Maasbach, Yale-China’s Executive Director, made opening remarks at the evening celebration, which was followed by a wonderful night of student performances showcasing talents in singing, dancing, martial arts, Chinese calligraphy, and many other beautiful performances. Nearly five hundred nursing students, faculty, researchers, and clinicians from around the world and in China attended the two-day “2011 China Changsha International Nursing Conference” hosted by CSU School of Nursing, which had the theme of “Care, Innovation, Development.” More than one hundred papers were submitted for the conference. Nineteen experts gave oral presentations on their work, while twenty-one gave poster presentations. Topics covered during the conference included strategic nursing investments, evidence-based nursing, nursing ethics, community nursing, geriatric nursing, maternal child health, etc.

The Tenth Annual Chia Fellowship Health Conference As a part of Yale-China’s Chia Fellowship Program, the Tenth Annual Chia Fellowship Health Conference was held on October 17, 2011, in Changsha at the Xiangya School of Medicine. The theme of this year’s conference was “Developing Women Health Care Leaders.” The Conference started with a panel discussion consisting of Ann Williams, former Yale-China trustee and current Health Committee member, and Cao Ya, Vice Dean of Xiangya School of Medicine—both having been with the program since the start—and former Chia Fellow Wang Honghong, who was supported by the Fellowship during the earlier years of the program. They reflected on over a decade of the fellowship and its importance in developing female leaders in the health fields. The role of women in the Chinese and American health systems were also explored in two talks, by Vice Dean Cao Ya and Yale Medical School faculty Lynn Tanoe and Robert Rohrbaugh (who is also a Yale-China trustee and Health Committee member). The Chia Conference ended with a panel of former Chia Fellows discussing how this program affected them and their visions for the future of the program. Other Yale faculty who participated in this year’s Chia Conference included Nancy Redeker and Nancy Reynolds (Yale-China trustee) from Yale School of Nursing, Yale-China trustee Barry Wu, and Yale School of Public Health faculty Trace Kershaw.

16

8

Opening remarks at the 10th Annual Chia Conference by Vice Dean Zhang Xin of Xiangya School of Medicine.


Medical Residency Training and Undergraduate Medical Education Yale-China and Xiangya Exchange Visits

Robert Rohrbaugh (right) receiving visiting professorship at Xiangya Hospital.

During the week-long trip to Changsha in October, Yale-China health program staff Lucy Yang and Yale School of Medicine faculty Robert Rohrbaugh and Barry Wu worked with colleagues at Xiangya and its affiliated hospitals on the Xiangya Program of Excellence on Residency Training (Xpert), which is a collaboration between Yale-China, Xiangya and its affiliated hospitals that first started in 2007. Each hospital’s residency workgroup gave updates on the progress of their residency training work, which started from having no systematic training program in any hospital department to today’s new expansion of a systematic program to all departments at all three affiliated hospitals. The Yale-China team was briefed on the new university policy supporting residency training. In recognition of their contribution to Xiangya’s medical education, Central South University honored Robert Rohrbaugh and Barry Wu with visiting professorships at the First Xiangya Hospital. Furthermore, the Second and the Third Xiangya Hospital also honored Robert Rohrbaugh and Barry Wu with visiting professorships respectively.

In January 2012, the Dean of Xiangya School of Medicine and Vice President of Central South University Tao Lijian, Vice President of Xiangya Hospital, Chen Xian, and Chang Shi from surgery department of the same Barry Wu (right) receiving visiting professorship hospital visited Yale to continue to work with Yale-China on exploring at Xiangya Hospital. collaborations in undergraduate medical education and to understand the undergraduate medical education at Yale in an effort to further strengthen their own curricular reform. During their stay in New Haven, they met with key faculties at Yale School of Medicine who are involved in Yale’s own medical curriculum review. The Xiangya delegation also had many opportunities to observe medical student classes, workshops, surgical simulations, as well as visiting and discussing residency programs with program directors at the Hospital of St. Raphael, the Yale-New Haven Hospital, and the Veterans Affairs Hospital.

2011 Chia Fellowship Recipients We welcomed the 2011 Chia Fellowship recipients, Zhang Min and Xiao Xia from Kunming and Li Li and Liu Hong from Changsha in August of 2011. During their semester-long stay at Yale, each fellow was paired with a Yale faculty member to develop a community health project proposal that she will implement upon return to China. Zhang Min, an associate chief physician at the cardiology department of the First Affiliated Hospital of Kunming Medical University worked with Yale 2011 Chia Fellows in front of Yale-China’s New Haven office. L to R: Liu Hong, Zhang Min, Li Li, Xiao Xia. Medical School cardiology faculty Rachel Lampert. Xiao, a lecturer at the Kunming Medical University School of Public Health, worked with Jessica Coviello of Yale School of Nursing. LI Li, a head nurse of the emergency department at Xiangya Hospital, worked with Yale School of Nursing faculty Patricia Ryan-Krause. Liu Hong, an associate chief physician in the geriatric department at the Second Xiangya Hospital, worked with Yale School of Nursing faculty Marjorie Funk. All fellows have since returned to China and hope to start implementing their projects soon.

Medical Student Exchange Reflections by Michael Soule, Yale School of Medicine Class of 2012 Michael Soule spent four weeks at the Second Xiangya Hospital in October observing medical care in psychiatry and traditional Chinese medicine. “On Thursday, Hu Li and I head to the outpatient Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) clinic, where I spend the morning and afternoon talking through cases and getting a sense of how Dr. Su is formulating the imbalances in the patients who come to see her. I have been counseled by Hu Li and also by the author of the book I am reading on TCM (written to help explain the philosophical differences between biomedicine and TCM) not to try to apply the frameworks of Western medicine to TCM. I promise to try to relax my mind and be fully open to the new system even though my deepest interest is understanding how this ancient and time-tested system of thought classifies the problems I have learned to classify during medical school. I am not interested in proving the theories of TCM wrong, but rather in gaining an enhanced perspective on things that my medical training has seemed to describe poorly. That said, quite a few patients have biomedical tests ordered for them. One young boy with a painfully enlarged knee gets an X-ray and few other patients brought the results of lab tests with them for her to review. Most patients, however, are diagnosed and treated solely using TCM frameworks. One little boy comes with blood and protein in his urine and fatigue. His pulse is weak and fast, his tongue is red with a yellow coating, and his urine is dark (all signs that can indicate excess yang, particularly in the kidney). He is diagnosed with insufficient yin (or the maintaining influence) of the kidney. Biomedically, it sounds like perhaps he has an autoimmune disease affecting his kidneys and this would, indeed, be a lack of maintenance or control on the immune system, focused on his kidneys. I have been told not to try to make TCM and biomedicine line up with each other like this, but I can’t help it… especially when the translation actually seems pretty good.” Hongping Tian - hongping.tian@yale.edu Lucy Yang - lucy.yang@yale.edu

9


Public Service SYMPOSIUM ON GLOBAL STRATEGIC LEADERSHIP Launches

40 Participants from Lingnan (University) College and Yale University

8 Corporate social responsibility strategies created: Apple BP BYD Auto Nestle Nike Volkswagen Wal-Mart

5 Participating faculty and staff from Lingnan (University) College

5 Academic lectures from: Prof. Charles Ellis on business ethics Nancy Yao Maasbach on grassroots nonprofits Prof. Tony Sheldon on social enterprise Prof. K Sudhir on social marketing Prof. Victor Vroom on leadership assessment

4 Graduate student advisors from Yale School of Management and Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies

1 Visit to United Technologies Corporation in Farmington, CT, to learn about UTC’s efforts in corporate social responsibility from Paul Robert, Associate General Counsel and Director, Contracts and Compliance

10

In February 2012, Yale-China welcomed a group of 29 students, faculty, and staff from Lingnan (University) College, Sun Yat-sen University, to join 16 Yale students for the inaugural Symposium on Global Strategic Leadership, a new program that encourages students from Yale and L(U)C to work together to explore new ideas in business and society. The Symposium is a two-part program. Participating students work together over the Internet in the months before the L(U)C students arrive in New Haven to create and refine their assigned projects. During the L(U)C students’ visit to New Haven, the entire group attends lectures, meals, and other activities designed to challenge participants to think about new ways to cooperate on topics such as corporate social responsibility, business ethics, and social enterprise. For the 2012 Symposium, each team of 5 students was required to create a comprehensive corporate social responsibility (CSR) strategy for an existing multinational corporation doing business in the U.S. and China. The teams presented these strategies during a competition at Yale on February 15, 2012. The top prize was awarded to Ms. Angela Choi (Yale), Ms. Jasmine Lau (Yale), Mr. Tang Hetong (L(U)C), Mr. Wen Leqiu (L(U)C), and Ms. Zhu Biqi (L(U)C) for their corporate social responsibility strategy for Wal-Mart, which the judges noted incorporated founder Sam Walton’s original vision for the company with modern recommendations that combined Wal-Mart’s existing CSR efforts with new ideas and strategies for the company in the next decade. “What I appreciate most is that the program offered me [a] once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to work hard with the Yale students as a team,” said Lingnan (University) College participant Wang Gaoyue. “The purpose of all of this was to learn and cooperate, like Dean

Participants in the inaugural Symposium on Global Strategic Leadership celebrate at the farewell dinner.

Xu said in his introductory remarks. Also, what I treasure most now is definitely not those 45 minutes of our presentation, but the long hours we all spent to get to understand each other really well. What will last from this program is our strong friendships, not just the short memory of the presentation.” Yale participant Snigdha Sur added, “The YaleChina Symposium was a fantastic experience and I am so glad I had the opportunity to do it. What I found most valuable was the sustained interaction with students in China. As someone who has never been to the region but is very interested and deeply invested in Asia, it was priceless to be able to understand how Chinese students think and plan, especially as we worked together in our teams to do our research and then present.” Many students said that they learned more about the topic, themselves, and their peers than they expected. Yale-China expects that this will remain true for future Symposium participants in 2013 and 2014.

“We are most delighted that the first YaleChina and Lingnan Symposium has been successfully concluded,” Dean Xinzhong Xu of Lingnan (University) College wrote after departing New Haven. “The experience of the trip and the project will have a significant and lasting impact on all students of the symposium.”

YALE-CHINA ASSOCIATION / LINGNAN (UNIVERSITY) COLLEGE

SYMPOSIUM ON GLOBAL STRATEGIC LEADERSHIP The Symposium on Global Strategic Leadership is funded by a generous grant from the Lingnan Foundation.

YALE-CHINA WELCOMES LAW FELLOW XIAO XIAO Yale-China is pleased to welcome our second Law Fellow, Mr. Xiao Xiao (Alvin), a graduate of Sun Yat-sen University and an alumnus of the SYSU Law School’s Legal Clinic. Alvin previously worked at King & Wood in Guangzhou, one of China’s largest law firms, and at a legal aid center in Gansu province, China. Alvin will spend summer 2012 interning at MFY Legal Services, Inc., in New York City, to learn about public interest law as it is practiced in the United States.


CHINA PERSPECTIVES COMPETITION NAMES 2012 WINNER

Yale-China Service Interns and Xiangya School of Medicine students pose during the End-of-Summer Service Project in Yunnan province.

From the Field: Service in Hong Kong Dr. David Gates conducts a session on scenario planning.

Imagine a world in which China solves the problem of energy, creating an infinitely renewable source of power, in the next twenty years. What would China do with this new technology? How would this scenario affect China’s economic and political futures, and its interactions with the rest of the world? These were the questions posed by Kayanna Warren, a second-year student at the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, in the 2012 China Perspectives Competition. Ms. Warren took home the grand prize for her scenario, entitled “China Solves Energy… and Deposes U.S. Security Council Hegemony,” which was presented at a competition on April 27, 2012 at YaleChina’s office in New Haven. Now in its second year, the China Perspectives Competition challenges Yale University students to think creatively about the future of China by using fictional scenarios to illustrate potential outcomes in the year 2030. Teams of students submitted scenarios on topics including economics, politics, the environment, the media and Internet, and science and manufacturing. As part of the Yale-China Perspectives Competition finalists in the competition received training from Dr. David Gates of PFC Energy, a scenario planning expert and thought champion for the National Intelligence Council’s Global Trends 2025 Report. “The competition injected rigor into pondering China’s future shocks and forced students to explore the global ramifications of what might go right or wrong in the Chinese development miracle,” said Stephen Roach, senior lecturer at the Jackson Institute for Global Affairs and the Yale School of Management. “The scenarios they presented were all fascinating and gave us great pause for thought.”

Kayanna Warren presents her scenario to the judging panel (from left to right: David Gates, Zhiwu Chen, Deborah Davis, Gordon Geballe, Stephen Roach).

Yale-China’s Service Internship Program sends Yale undergraduates to intern for two months at nonprofit organizations in mainland China and Hong Kong. Amy Tsang, a summer 2011 Service Intern and YUNA 2011 participant, wrote the following report about her experience working at Society for Community Organization in Hong Kong: My summer with the Yale-China Service Internship Program offered me an abundance of unique experiences I am extremely grateful for. Though I’d had a good amount of interest and involvement with Asia and social justice issues prior to the program, the experiences I had in Hong Kong and Yunnan were refreshingly unique and excitingly meaningful in terms of my professional, intellectual, and personal growth. Did the prospect of making solo visits Category-A (the most severe) prisoners in far-flung maximum security prisons scare me at first? Certainly. Yet it was one of the most interesting experiences I have had to date. This experience was literally “extending beyond the classroom.” As a sociology major, I was literally encountering sociological issues in their real-world forms: inequality, punishment, and civil society. As an American raised in privilege in the suburbs, I must admit that the prisons and the slums SoCO served were environments I had never encountered. Prior to my internship, I’d never stepped foot into a prison before, yet I soon found myself listening sympathetically in awe as a survivor of the Rwandan genocide who was arrested as a drug mule shared a harrowing life story of what eventually led to her 15-year prison sentence. I cried on the bus ride home. To call my time at SoCO (which also involved visiting cage-home dwellers in the slum of Sham Shui Po) “moving” is an understatement. But indeed it was profoundly affecting in many ways. I came to more fully understand what grassroots immersion really means and to appreciate SoCO’s emphasis on walking among the people we served and viewing them as individuals and not abstract statistics. The visceral and emotional impact of the people-to-people contact I had is one that I will not forget….I feel that the experience of face-to-face contact with people enduring hardships I have never known is one that I am better for, and I hope to be able to apply the lessons I have learned and values I have been immersed in.

Katie Molteni Muir - katie.molteni@yale.edu

11


ARTS Arsenic and Old Lace ignites memories This year, Teaching Fellows in Xiuning, Anhui Province, produced Arsenic and Old Lace, a black comedy about a theater critic’s eccentric family and the ensuing plots triggered by their homicidal tendencies. Doug Endrizzi (Xiuning, ’10-’12) and Rachel Corbin (Xiuning, Doug Endrizzi and Rachel Corbin work with the ’11-’13) were the two directors cast of Arsenic and Old Lace at Xiuning Middle of the show. Doug shared, “In School in Anhui province. middle school, my group of friends became obsessed with this play after reading it in our language arts class. It seemed like a great fit here not only because of our shared interest in it, but also because of its over-the-top nature. We hope that a play with such absurdly crazy characters will still appeal to high school students who don’t understand every word.” Rachel added, “It seemed like the perfect choice to share with our students, since I remember how much it appealed to me when I was their age. The humor is both clever and crazy, and it’s been a lot of fun to see our students bring both of those qualities out with their acting.” Doug also shared about the play’s earlier run in Yale-China history. “When we were pitching this play to our students, I thought about claiming that this was the first time that the play had been performed on the mainland. Rachel quickly pointed out that that was highly improbable. From left to right: Teaching Fellows Katherine Sandweiss, Douglas Ferguson, Mary Gwen We scaled back our claim, and Wheeler, and Charles Egan (not shown here) decided that a first time for Yaleproduced Arsenic and Old Lace in 1981 with students from New Asia College of The Chinese China was probably a safe bet. University of Hong Kong. Little did we know that YaleChina’s Teaching Fellows in Hong Kong in 1981 preceded us by over 30 years!” Former New Asia College Teaching Fellows Mary Gwen Wheeler, Douglas Ferguson, Charles Egan, and Katherine Sandweiss had produced the same show at the Hong Kong Arts Centre in 1981.

Yale-China and the Arts: The First Century Yale-China’s Arts Program Fellow delves into Yale-China’s past and looks forward to the new century of arts programming for Yale-China. Yale-China has a 111-year history rich with partners and programs in education and health, but an unintended, ancillary discipline has organically developed within Yale-China‘s work—the arts. Yale-China’s first century of promoting understanding between communities in the United States and China is full of remarkable instances that highlight the impact of the arts on countless communities. It began with individuals of the early Yale-China community in Changsha who shared their personal pastimes through American football, baseball, music, and drawing. In 1914, the dean of the Yale-China school in Changsha, Brownell Gage (Yale College, Class of 1898), remarked that “all of [the Yale-China teachers’] personal work in athletics and music has brought the students into closer fellowship with the faculty, and this has been as much of a gain as the technical instruction imparted.” In the devastation of the Second SinoJapanese War, Yale-China teachers in 1940 observed the impact of their own personal extracurricular pursuits at Huazhong College in Wuhan, stating “The improving morale of the students is nowhere better exemplified than in the springing to life of…the Glee Club and the College Choir.” Up until 1951—when Yale-China was forced to leave mainland China—there were records of the Changsha College Choir and middle school Glee Club actively bringing music to the local, impoverished community. When Yale-China helped to establish New Asia College (The Chinese University of Hong Kong) in the 1950s, it featured an exhibition of works by the New Asia Fine Arts Department at Yale University Art Gallery. This exhibition marked the first step taken by Yale-China as an organization to foster understanding of Chinese culture through art. What followed in the 1970s and 1980s was a significant period of development in the arts. Yale-China featured a series of diverse arts programs, including collaborations with the Yale University Art Gallery featuring exhibitions and musical events, as well as explorations of other disciplines, like dance and filmmaking. As the century came to a close, Yale-China tried its hand at a comprehensive arts exchange. In 1994, Yale-China partnered with Long Wharf Theatre in New Haven to produce a theater exchange with the Shanghai People’s Art Theatre in Shanghai. Artistic Director Arvin Brown and a team of Long Wharf staff and actors collaborated with Shanghai thespians to produce a stage adaptation of Amy Tan’s The Joy Luck Club. The team performed in Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, and finally at the Hong Kong Arts Festival. The theater exchange project was a success—with notable mentions in The New York Times, The Hartford Courant, The Los Angeles Times, and Broadway’s Playbill.com. As Chinese artistry and musicianship became more prominent on the international stage, Yale-China began setting the stage to build a sustainable arts program. In 2007, led by Yale College graduates Perry So (’04) and Courtney Cox (’06), Yale-China initiated the Yale-China Music Exchange (YUE). The project’s inspiring spirit is still a driving force for Yale-China’s current ambitions in the arts. This past year, Yale-China has been rigorously interviewing experts and researching organizations and communities to discern the needs of arts communities in China and the United States. The results thus far have revealed several underserved areas in the arts for Yale-China to consider supporting. As the fiscal year comes to a close in June 2012, YaleChina hopes to see the new year come alive with a substantial arts program, involving collaborations among college students, professors of arts institutions, and practicing artists in the United States and China. Through hands-on, substantive arts collaborations, the Yale-China Arts Program will reaffirm Yale-China’s century-long reputation as a leader in transformative U.S.-China experiences. To share your thoughts and suggestions on Yale-China’s next century of arts programming, please contact Annie Lin at grace.lin@yale.edu.

First year Xiuning Middle School students rehearse the final scene from the play.

12


July 17, 2012: Yale-China presents St. Paul’s Co-educational College Choirs at the Norfolk Chamber Music Festival. May 26-27, 2012: Arsenic and Old Lace, Xiuning Middle School May 17-18, 2012: Beauty and the Beast, Yali Middle School

Explore

2011: Yale-China hires Annie Lin to serve as Arts Program Fellow

Yale-China’s work in the Arts

2010: Both Here and There: Yale-China and a Century of Transformative Encounters, Museum of Chinese in America and in 2012 at the New Haven Museum 2010: Horse Expressions, an exhibit by Qian Lin, Bierwirth Room, Yale-China 2010: Into the Woods, Yali Middle School

1901 - 2012

2008: The Wizard of Oz, Xiuning Middle School

2000: Art in the Bierwirth Room, an exhibit series, Bierwirth Room, Yale-China 1995: Wellesley College professor Edward V. Gulick publishes a photo memoir of his time as a Teaching Fellow in China during World War II in the Yale-China Review

1991: Benefit event for Iron & Silk by Mark Salzman (Teaching Fellow, Hunan Medical University, 1982-1984), Yale University Art Gallery. 1991: Yale-China sponsors a series of seven recitals by Chinese musicians studying at Yale School of Music at Yale University Art Gallery and Yale Club of New York. 1991: Film critic Patrick Z. McGavin interviews Jackie Chan on his success as a writer, director, producer, and star of Asian cinema.

1975: Yale-China begins production on two pilots of a 12-part film series called The World of the Chinese, featuring Jonathan Spence.

1959: Yale-China and Yale University Art Gallery present an exhibition of paintings by students and faculty of the Fine Arts Department at The Chinese University of Hong Kong. 1923: Changsha teachers provide music lessons for the College Choir and Glee Club.

2007: The Yale-China Music Exchange (YUE), led by Perry So ‘04 and Courtney Cox ‘06, brings together musicians from the U.S. and China for a series of concerts and outreach workshops in Changsha, Xiuning, Shanghai, and Hong Kong. 2007: Dancing Ink and Singing Strings, Calligraphy by Guolin Shen, Bierwirth Room, Yale-China

1994: Yale-China partners with Arvin Brown, Artistic Director of Long Wharf Theatre, to bring The Joy Luck Club to Shanghai.

1992: The World Within a Square Inch: The Art of Chinese Seal Carving, Yale University Art Gallery 1992: Led by Teaching Fellow Carolyn Greene, the Drama Club produces Our Town by Thornton Wilder at Huazhong Normal University in Wuhan.

1989: Teaching Fellow Andreas Kraebber (Huazhong Normal University, Wuhan, 1987-1989) assists in Robert Scanlan’s theater exchange featuring Crimes of the Heart and actors and stage crew from Wuhan.

1981: New Asia College Teaching Fellows Mary Gwen Wheeler, Douglas Ferguson, Charles Egan, and Katherine Sandweiss produce Arsenic and Old Lace at the Hong Kong Arts Centre.

1978: Chiang Ching and her dance company perform in a master dance class at the Educational Center for the Arts, with film documentation by Yale-China. 1978: An Evening of Traditional and Modern Chinese Music, Yale University Art Gallery

2009: Fireside Chat with documentary film makers Jian Yi and Song Ling on “Social Change and Civic Empowerment in China.” 2009: Beauty and the Beast, Xiuning Middle School

1996: Yale-China and The Council on East Asian Studies at Yale co-sponsor a Chinese opera master class, highlighting the “four skills” of Chinese opera.

1995: Clouds Thick, Whereabouts Unknown: The Poetry of Ch’an Buddhism, poetry translated by Charles Egan and paintings by Charles Chu, Yale-China Review 1993: Yale-China publishes reviews on new films in Asian cinema, including The Story of Qiu Ju, The Peach Blossom Land, Legend of the Shooting Angel, and Once Upon a Time in China III.

2011: Robin Hood, Xiuning Middle School

1980: New Asia College Teaching Fellows Charles Egan and Nancy Chapman and student King-Fai Tam produce Thornton Wilder’s The Matchmaker at CUHK.

1977: Yale-China and the Yale University Art Gallery co-present Chinese Calligraphy, led by curator Mary Gardner Neill, who was essential in obtaining 90 rare scrolls.

1974: Yale-China and Yale University Art Gallery sponsor an exhibition showing works by six Fine Arts Department faculty members from CUHK. 1974: Yale-China presents A China Weekend at Yale featuring various events on art, film, and Peking opera. 1974: Yale-China awards an Overseas Scholarship to Ng Big-Wan (Fine Arts Department, CUHK) for her master’s in fine arts at Pratt Institute. 1965: New Asia College hosts the Yale Glee Club as part of the Glee Club’s “Far East” tour in July.

1934: Yali Junior Middle School students utilize Chinese music and drama to reach out to over 1,000 locals from impoverished neighborhoods. 1914: E. S. Grumman (Class of 1913) forms a Glee Club in Changsha.

1913: Yale-China commissions architect Henry Murphy to design Yali Middle School, the College of Yale-in-China, and the Xiangya Hospital and Medical School.

Annie Lin - grace.lin@yale.edu

13


Community News Yale-China’s

cheongsam

Ball

2012

“What a terrific mix of people—students and faculty from near and far, members from the medical, business and arts communities; this wonderful occasion has also brought together local business owners and Chinese families,” remarked New Haven web designer Angie Hurlbut, who joined over 200 other celebrants on February 2, 2012 to toast the Yale-China Association’s 111th anniversary and bring in the lunar year of the dragon. Yale-China’s inaugural Cheongsam Ball (named after the Cantonese pronunciation of the traditional Chinese dress) transformed the New Haven Lawn Club into a 1930s Shanghai speakeasy jazz club featuring The Half-Tones jazz band and renowned jazz soloist Zhang Le. Elements of a fun evening were all at play, including a silent auction, a traditional lion dance performed by award-winning dance troupe Wan Chi Ming Hung Gar Institute, and even a flash mob traditional Chinese fan dance. “We could not have hoped for a more uplifting and celebratory community event—New Haven has welcomed Chinese culture, Chinese language, and Chinese people for centuries. Yale-China’s program work keeps our noses to the ground for much of the year as we travel back and forth between China and the U.S. The trustees and staff of Yale-China felt that it is important to pause, celebrate, and reflect with our home community—Yale-China is a New Havenheadquartered organization and we are proud of this status,” remarked executive director Nancy Yao Maasbach. When asked if Yale-China would hold the Cheongsam Ball again next year, Amy Shek, Yale-China’s manager of administration and volunteer service corps, said, “Absolutely, we were thrilled with the outpouring this year—both at the parade earlier in the day and in the evening. Next year, we celebrate 112 years of work and the year of the snake— it should be great fun.”

Photo captions: (clockwise from top right: Yale-China organizes a ‘flash’ traditional fan dance; the lion takes a bow; Dean Lijian Tao of the Xiangya School of Medicine poses with members of the Yale-China staff and the Xiangya Overseas Alumni Association; trustee Robert Rohrbaugh, Connor Brooks, Seth Walker, Martha Finn Brooks; The Half-Tones Jazz Band and jazz soloist Zhang Le)

14


s k n a h ial t

Spec Alana Laudone Ann and Ta Lin Ann Taylor Annie Shek Beryl Liu Bruegger’s

Campus Customs Caseus Cen Jianjun City of New Haven, Mayor John DeStefano, Jr. and Patricia Lawlor Courtyard Marriott Danielle Wong Denali DHL Dorie Baker Edna Hu

International Festival of Arts and Ideas Jim Shelton Jing Yao

Qooco

Joanna C. Lee & Ken Smith

Subway

Joel Sanders

Susan Green of Family Heirlooms

Judies Judy Zhang Justin Elicker Katahdin Furniture Katalina’s Bakery Knit New Haven Koffee Leah Russell Levy Dental Long Wharf Theatre

Great Wall Restaurant

Naturegene Herb Store

The Half-Tones

New Haven Hotel

Hestan Vineyards

New Haven Register

Huei-Li Leow

OddBins Bottle Shop

Indo-Chic

Omni Hotels & Resorts

Ball

Qian Lin

Salon J

Michael Sloan

cheongsam

Ping and Tim Liang

Joan and William Woo

Feng Chang

Yale-China’s

Origins

Susana Lee Town Pizza Trailblazer United Vikram Mansharamani Wan Chi Ming Hung Gar Institute Dragon and Lion Dance Team Wan Yu Willoughby’s Coffee & Tea Wood Creek Capital Management Yale University Office of New Haven and State Affairs Zhang Le ZINC

Year of the Snake

Contact Amy Shek at amy.shek@yale.edu for information about corporate sponsorships and events.

15


Community News The Yale-China Fireside Chat series places a spotlight on interesting topics from our work on the ground in China through intimate conversations featuring thought leaders in a diverse range of fields. These topics extend beyond the more prosperous coastal areas of China to touch China’s heart and hinterland. Now in their third year, Yale-China’s Fireside Chats have touched hundreds of people in the Yale and greater New Haven communities. Professor Jingjing Liu of Vermont Law School described the opportunities for learning and cooperation between the United States and China in the area of environmental law. Professor Liu began her talk by stating that the U.S. has “already been playing a significant role in promoting China’s environmental governance efforts.” In her capacity as Associate Director of the U.S.-China Partnership for Environmental Law at Vermont Law School, she has worked first-hand on a variety of programs bringing Chinese and Americans together to learn from each other on environmental governance issues. Professor Liu’s connection to Yale-China extends back to her time as a student at the Sun Yat-sen University Law School in Guangzhou, China, where she studied with a Yale-China fellow who taught environmental law. Warren Lee, a professional pianist, music educator in Hong Kong, and Yale School of Music alumnus, discussed the role of music within China’s rapidly changing society and shared snapshots of his personal experience working as a musician and educator. Mr. Lee discussed the pressure Hong Kong students face to play a musical instrument in a society where “playing piano and violin is like walking and breathing.” Full of passion, creativity, and thoughtfulness, he spoke about his work trying to change the paradigm of traditional Hong Kong culture, where children are often pressured to learn music because of social expectations.

Professor Jingjing Liu drew a diverse crowd from the New Haven and Yale communities.

Professor Paize Keulemans of Princeton University reconstructed what the busy everyday commerce of urban China may have felt like in an age before mass advertising, an age when the sounds of vendors and merchants still rang through alleys and over walls. Through his expertise in the field of pre-modern Chinese literature, Professor Keulemans also explored the questions, “What do these sounds that we find in the written record mean and…what do they do for the reader?” After his presentation, audience members were eager to discuss the topic, with many fondly recounting their earliest memories of vendor and merchant sounds in China. Professor Sidney Cheung from the Department of Anthropology at The Chinese University of Hong Kong brought his expertise in the culinary arts to life with a talk about the globalization of Chinese cuisine. Through his travel around the world, Professor Cheung not only remarked on how Chinese cuisine has evolved as Chinese people have spread across the world, but also described the differences between regional cuisines within China. Professor Cheung said, “When Chinese people talk about Chinese food, we usually mention the food as a kind of local cuisine.” Held soon before the Chinese New Year, the nearly one hundred attendees celebrated the lunar new year and the globalization of Chinese cuisine with Chinese food from New Haven’s Great Wall Restaurant.

From left to right: James Fleishman, Nancy Yao Maasbach, Warren Lee, Jonathan Green

Dave Liang, producer of The Shanghai Restoration Project, went behind the scenes of his new album, Little Dragon Tales: Chinese Children’s Songs and explored the unique backgrounds of each of the classic tunes. His multimedia presentation included audiovisual material featuring the members of the Yip’s Children’s Choir (Canada) and a special appearance by Shanghainese jazz singer Zhang Le. Mr. Liang’s visit also included presentations at two local schools–Davis Street Magnet School and Foote School–where he and Ms. Zhang taught the students songs and dances from the album. Carol Poling, a teacher at Foote School, said that the music really “excited the audience” and had everyone “totally engaged.” Wenguang Huang spoke about his book, The Little Red Guard: A Family Memoir.

16

Alvin Eng blurred the line between lecture and monologue.


Fireside Chats contact information: Jonathan Green Director, Finance and Operations Jamie Fleishman Special Assistant

Shawn Zhang, Director of The Nature Conservancy’s (TNC) China Program, spoke about his career tackling China’s environmental problems. Mr. Zhang spoke mostly about his eleven years of work with TNC in China. After his talk, the audience engaged Mr. Zhang in a lively discussion about issues ranging from Chinese environmental issues outside of China’s borders to the emergence of the nonprofit sector in China. Professor Kentaro Matsubara, a visiting professor from the University of Tokyo, attended the Fireside Chat and said, “Shawn Zhang’s presentation showcased some of TNC’s pioneering work as an international NGO tackling the herculean task of reconciling Chinese governmental and business interests with global environmental concerns.”

203-432-8460 203-432-0884

Ambassador Nicholas Platt China Boys: How U.S. Relations with the PRC Began and Grew

Alvin Eng is a playwright, performer, and educator. He used his passion for performance to create a Fireside Chat that blurred the line between academic lecture and dramatic monologue. Eng weaved together stories of his childhood growing up as a Chinese immigrant in Queens, excerpts from his monologue, “The Last Emperor of Flushing,” and snapshots of “Our Town: China/USA,” a theatre program that he and his wife created for a summer Fulbright Specialist residency at City University of Hong Kong. James Tunkey, Chief Operating Officer of I-OnAsia, a Hong Kong-headquartered, Asia-focused consultancy, brought an insider’s view to the potential risks businesses and individuals face doing business in China. Drawing on his over twenty years of experience working in Asia, Tunkey spoke about the complexity of doing business in China. “The only thing that really can be predicted having been [in Asia] for quite some time is that nothing is truly predictable,” said Tunkey. Vikram Mansharamani outlined the philosophy behind his book, Boombustology: Spotting Financial Bubbles Before They Burst. Dr. Mansharamani’s approach utilizes the multidisciplinary lenses of macroeconomics, microeconomics, politics, psychology, and biology to consider the dynamics of financial bubbles. After a short presentation, the extended question-and-answer discussion focused on which market will be the next bubble in China. Dr. Mansharamani also gave his ten-year economic forecast that China will grow by an average of 4% per year and said he will be back for another Fireside Chat in 2022. Wenguang Huang shared the memories and experiences of his childhood growing up during the Cultural Revolution in Xi’an that became the material for his critically acclaimed new book, The Little Red Guard: A Family Memoir. Through the lenses of various quarrels in his family, differing societal pressures, and development in his home city, Mr. Huang gave the audience a personal perspective on China’s rapid change and growth. Lely Evans, a teacher at Wilbur Cross High School, attended the Fireside Chat and remarked, “I enjoyed [Mr. Huang’s] narration of things that happened to him and his family. They had the power to bring people to a different time and place.” For audio and video recordings of the Fireside Chats, please visit YaleChina’s website at www.yalechina.org.

ks

l than a i c e p S

Ambassador Platt narrates film footage from President Richard Nixon’s famous first trip to China.

From left to right: Sheila Platt, Ambassador Platt, Sharon Crain, and Nancy Yao Maasbach.

Ambassador Platt reads an excerpt from CHINA BOYS.

- An Excerpt Chapter 9 – China at Last: Nixon in Beijing A Quiet Arrival The approach to Shanghai under overcast February skies took us over stretches of snowdusted paddies and villages interlaced with canals, up which floated junks with tall flat sails. The airport was empty except for a smattering of officials, tiny against the vast expanses of concrete. At the foot of the ramp stood Zhang Wenjin, the courtly head of the American Department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Deputy Chief of Protocol Wang Hairong, an awkward young woman reputed to be Mao’s niece. Both had been important figures in Kissinger’s trips and were to prove key operatives during the early years of the new relationship between the United States and China. Holdridge and Jenkins knew both and made the introductions. From the cavernous terminal building, tea and pastries in hand, we watched Air Force One land, the history of the occasion marked by total silence. After a brief interval, we returned to our plane across the wide tarmac with the PRC navigators, who were the real reason for the Shanghai stop. The distinctive Chinese field smell with the hint of night soil so familiar from our time in Taiwan wafted from the surrounding farms, conclusive evidence that I had arrived in China at last. Not a reason to fall and kiss the ground, perhaps, but a significant sensory jolt nonetheless. The Beijing airport was sunny and cold. Again, the place was empty except for two long lines of exceptionally tall, disciplined, and magnificently dressed soldiers, forming the honor guard of the People’s Liberation Army, and a small knot of civilian officials. The people on our plane were not permitted to join them and mar the photo opportunity. Instead, we were herded into an area just behind the left wing of President Nixon’s aircraft after it rolled to a stop. From a worm’s‐eye vantage point framed by the engines of the Boeing 707, I took my own films of Nixon’s historic, and some felt endless, handshake with Premier Zhou Enlai. Jonathan Green - jonathan.green@yale.edu James Fleishman - james.fleishman@yale.edu

17


Consider A gift Yale-China’s

Benefit Concert

Wish List

for the

featuring the

St. Paul’s Co-educational College Choirs at the Norfolk Chamber Music Festival

Tuesday, July 17, 2012 7:30 pm Suggested donation: $25 Norfolk Chamber Music Festival Yale School of Music 

Music Shed 97 Battell Road Norfolk, Connecticut All proceeds will go to support the Yale-China Arts Program.

Photograph by Bob Handelman

Yale-China Association

1. Teaching Fellows’ Student Opportunity Fund: funding

to provide students of current Yale-China Teaching Fellows an opportunity to pursue independent work, e.g. theater production, debate club, etc. Need: $5,000 for 2012-2013

2. Yale-China Website: an updated and completely revamped website for the Yale-China Association (concept launch timeframe summer 2012). Need: $20,000

3. Yale-China Fireside Chat series: Sponsorship of

a series of discussions at Yale-China’s offices with leaders from a variety of sectors to discuss the most salient and pressing topics affecting the U.S.-China relationship, especially topics that have significant impact on China’s hinterland. Need: $40,000 for 2012-2013

4. Qooco Mandarin Language Software Program for two

Schools (donor chooses): Qooco provides online Chinese language instruction by combining professional Chinese teachers with the latest speech and tone recognition technology. Qooco will donate unlimited subscriptions for two schools (donor chooses) for one year. All proceeds go to Yale-China. Need: $40,000

5. Unrestricted gift for the exploration of a comprehensive Arts Program for Yale-China: Yale-China is exploring the creation of a comprehensive Arts Program that helps to address the pressing needs in arts education in China and to provide fruitful exchanges between American and Chinese people in the area of the arts. Need: $80,000 for 2012-2013

6. Xiuning Arts Institute: The establishment of a leading arts institute in Xiuning, Anhui province that would serve as a retreat and arts incubator for American and Chinese artists. Potential collaboration with U.S. partners at Yale University and Chinese partners. Need: $250,000 for 2012-2015

7. “Named” Fellowship (named opportunity): Select the most

As part of its North American tour, the St. Paul’s Co-educational College Mixed-Voice Choir and Primary School Concert Choir from Hong Kong will be performing in various venues in Connecticut. Led by music director Warren Lee (YSM ’99), the choirs will perform in the historic Music Shed, acoustically designed for choral and chamber music, on the Ellen Battell Stoeckel Estate in Norfolk, Connecticut. This benefit concert will celebrate milestones of Yale-China’s evolution since 1901. The concert program will feature sacred music to commemorate YaleChina’s missionary roots, pieces by Yale composers (including Ives and Hindemith), works by American and Chinese composers, and finally choral pieces that infuse traditional folk songs from both cultures to create a cross-cultural medley, inspired by the bidirectional work of YaleChina’s programs today. For more information, please contact Annie Lin at grace.lin@yale.edu or (203) 432-2295.

18

promising future leaders in China to serve two-year appointments teaching Mandarin and Chinese culture at American elementary and secondary schools to forge mutual cross-cultural understanding and create lifelong bonds with students, colleagues, and their host communities. Modeled after Yale-China’s century-long English Language Teaching Fellowship in China. Pilot year: six fellows split between Boston (or New York) and New Haven. Need: $240,000

for pilot year

8. Gift to the James R. Lilley Fund for Yale-China: Yale-China was selected as the sole recipient of gifts in honor of the late Ambassador James R. Lilley, who was a devoted Yale graduate and public servant. He served as U.S. Ambassador to China and U.S. Ambassador to South Korea. Goal: $1,500,000. Received: $350,000. Remaining need: $1,150,000


Fireside Chats contact information: Jonathan Green, Director, Finance and Operations Jamie Fleishman, Program Assistant, Public Service and Yale Campus Programs

203-432-8460 203-432-0884

Yale-China Association James R. Lilley Memorial Gift Fund for Yale-China Please consider a gift Ambassador Lilley (Yale ‘51) was a devoted Yale graduate and public servant. Career highlights include service as U.S. Ambassador to China (1989-1991) and South Korea (19861989). In remarks he made in June 2008, he said it gave him great comfort to know that when the U.S.-China relationship was fraught with tension, the Yale-China Association was on the ground, bringing Chinese and Americans together. Founded in 1901, the Yale-China Association builds U.S.-China relations on a grassroots level through programs in health, education, public service, and the arts. Since 1909, Yale-China has been sending some of Yale’s most promising graduates to teach English in China for two-year teaching appointments. Yale-China’s Teaching Fellowship site at Xiuning Middle School is the focus of the James R. Lilley Memorial Gift Fund. 75% of Xiuning Middle School students come from rural backgrounds. Most of the students represent their family’s only opportunity for a more secure financial future.

The goals of the Yale-China Teaching Fellowship at Xiuning include: n

Enhancing the quality of the English Language Instruction received by Xiuning students

n

Improving the students’ self-confidence, and expanding their horizons

n

Providing opportunities for cross-cultural understanding

n

Deepening the Teaching Fellows’ understanding and appreciation of Chinese culture and society

n

Expanding on critical thinking skills and nurturing future leaders

The James R. Lilley Memorial Gift Fund for Yale-China will give Yale-China the means to make our work with these bright Chinese students and promising Yale graduates sustainable for the long term.

For more information, please visit www.yalechina.org/Lilley_fund To donate to the James R. Lilley Memorial Gift Fund please visit www.yalechina.org/donation.php or mail your donation to: Yale-China Association, Box 6023 Hamden, CT 06517 Yale-China Association 203-432-0884 yale-china@yale.edu

www.yale-china.org

19


Yale-China Association PO Box 208223 New Haven, CT 06520-8223 USA

Non-Profit Org. U.S. Postage PAID New Haven, CT Permit No. 133

ADDRESS SERVICE REQUESTED

Yale-China Review Spring 2012  

program updates, community news

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you