Issuu on Google+

Full Dark No Stars eReader by Stephen King

Click Here to Download the Book A new collection of four never-before-published stories from Stephen King.

1922 The story opens with the confession of Wilfred James to the murder of his wife, Arlette, following their move to Hemingford, Nebraska onto land willed to Arlette by her father. Big Driver Mystery writer, Tess, has been supplementing her writing income for years by doing speaking engagements with no problems. But following a last-minute invitation to a book club 60 miles away, she takes a shortcut home with dire consequences.

Fair Extension Harry Streeter, who is suffering from cancer, decides to make a deal with the devil but, as always, there is a price to pay. A Good Marriage Darcy Anderson learns more about her husband of over twenty years than she would have liked to know when she stumbles literally upon a box under a worktable in their garage.

Reviews Incredible. King's prose over the past 10-15 years has just become more polished, while his ability to shock you and fill you with revulsion is still locked steadily in place. He is master of the novella format, and these stories are right up there with his first collection of 4, "Different Seasons". For those of you looking for 80's style "horror" that you mistakenly thought Stephen King was all about, you need to look elsewhere.

Stephen King writes about characters. More to the point, he reveals character. In his stories, you'll travel into the deepest, darkest places humanity has to offer. While there is often an element of the supernatural involved, or elements of horror in the tradition of Pet Cemetery or IT, the real darkness is usually revealed within human nature, and that is more horrific than any made up monster. You either get it or you don't. If you love the tropes of stereotypical horror, you probably don't like many of SK's books anyway. If you love horror, AND love great stories, you'll love it. Utterly enjoyable, these stories will make you feel. A story that makes me truly FEEL something, anger, horror, joy, revulsion, sympathy, or all of it together, is a story that gets 5 stars. As to the pricing...get over it. It's a brand new release from the best selling novelist of all time. You're lucky to find it for less than $27.95. The fact that you have your choice of hardback or eBook, either for $15 or less is astounding. Don't you remember when you used to have to wait a year for a paperback if you didn't want to pay cover price for a hardback? How much did you spend on lunch this week? Probably more than the price of this book, regardless of the edition.


Stephen King has had a sort of renaissance lately - the stretch of novels from Cell to last year's Under the Dome is King in top form, easily as good as (if not, in some cases, better) than his classics from the 70s and 80s. Full Dark, No Stars does not disappoint. "1922" and "Fair Extension" are worth the price of admission alone - the latter is probably my favorite of the four stories/novellas that comprise Full Dark, No Stars. But don't get me wrong - the other two stories are great, too. And all four stories together, with their common theme of retribution and payback, make for an engrossing read.

Stephen King's latest collection features two novellas, a real long short story, and a pretty long short story. In the first, "1922," a farmer goes to extreme lengths to keep his wife from ruining his ideal homestead. In "Big Driver," a woman is raped and left for dead...and rises from the ashes to seek her revenge. In "Fair Extension," a man dying of cancer makes a deal with...well, someone with sharp teeth. In "A Good Marriage," a woman must come face-to-face with the fact that the man she's been married to for 25 years isn't who she thought he was. These are all fairly cliched ideas, let's face it. The genius of Stephen King is that, even with the most tired-out story, he finds new ways to make it interesting (he pretty much reinvented vampires in 'SALEM'S LOT, and haunted houses in THE SHINING). These four novellas aren't King at his best, but they're King at his most introspective: digging deep beneath the surface, looking at how (to paraphrase his "Afterword") ordinary people react in extraordinary situations. The clincher? Are these stories dark? Yes. Perhaps not as dark as some of his earlier stuff (some of the "Bachman Books" are downright horrifying, and I'm not talking about quality), but certainly dark AND personal. These are stories that are lived in, because we've been there, to an extent. Who hasn't wondered if we truly know our other halves? Who hasn't felt a special longing for home, when we see it wasting away? That's King's gift: he creates fantastic stories rooted firmly in reality. FULL DARK, NO STARS is no exception.

Click Here to Download the Book


Full dark no stars ereader