Issuu on Google+

Special Section • Wednesday, January 1, 2014

a n d

p e s c a d e r o

p e b b l e

Year Review

2013

The

in

Activism, 2 tunnels and a piano

T

best he year 2013 may be ar ye remembered as the polthat Coastsiders took s of itics out of the hand gs over politicians. Uprisin e Main Street plans to demolish th n Bay and a different Bridge in Half Moo rof Coastside fire se kind of demolition vernment. vices rocked local go ide politicians had Then again, Coasts l. Several stood at their victories as wel w Devil’s Slide tunthe mouth of the ne r to be pictured nels last spring, eage frastructure project with a mammoth in claim. that shared wide ac surprise? That The year’s happiest ortissimo’s sunset has to be Mauro Ff warted by state pianos. Ultimately th the acclaimed and local regulation, porarily brought life Coastside artist tem e resulting perforto the bluffs, and th to the ears of many mances were music on. art lovers in the regi ar, we take a look This year, as every ye ve to know where back. After all, you ha rstand where you you’ve been to unde mbert are going. — Clay La

ALSO INSIDE

The famous business timeline BUSINESSES GAIN A YEAR OF SENIORITY Each year, in our annual wrap-up, we feature a timeline of businesses that make the Coastside what it is. See who has been around the longest and meet the new folks. Discover which businesses have moved up on the seniority list. This year we acknowledge those that have hung on through thick and thin and continue to provide our community with the goods and services we need and desire. Look for the upstarts (less than 5 years), the Bronze Club (5+ years), the Silver Club (10+ years), the Gold Club (25+ years), the Platinum Club (50+ years) and the venerable Diamond Club for those over a century old. Congrats to all on the list. May you continue to thrive through 2014 and beyond!

The year’s b iggest onlin e stories

Every year, we at the Review are somewhat The big stories surp of 2013 revolv ed around that rised by which stories reso “Chasing the nate on hmbre big wave just real Jay Moriar view.com. offshore. Son ity” was far an ia Myers’ firstd away our m p er o st read story. H so 1. Chasing th ere’s the top 10 n story e real Jay M : oriarity: 78,0 2. Mel wins 32 page views; Mavericks su firs rf contest: 8 3. Frosty He ,382 page view t published Oct. 26, 2012. nson shares s; life lessons: Ja 4. Body of fo 8,188 page view n. 20, 2013. rmer Coastsi s; Jan. 20, 20 der found: 5, 5. Fatal crash 13. 579 page view snarls traffic s; July 23, 2013 on Highway 6. Second fa . 92: 4,305 pag tal accident e views; March near Devil’s 7. Kasey Lou Slide: 3,443 p 11, 2013. is Miller obit age uary: 2,457 p 8. Camera m age views; No views; Nov. 26, 2013. aker GoPro v. 6, 2013. to leave Half 9. Arrest foll Moon Bay: 2 owing beati ,144 page view ng in Monta 10. Victims re s; April 16, 20 ra: 1,794 pag count terrify 12. e views; May ing Montara 13 , 2 013. attack: 1,690 page views; M ay 30, 2013.


half moon bay review

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YearinReview

2013

YEAR IN REVIEW

THE BUSINESS TIMELINE

Still going strong If you were around to ring in the New Year at the turn of the 19th century, there would have been only one bar on the Coastside where you could do so: Duarte's Tavern in Pescadero. Of course, if it was particularly eventful you could have told the local paper. As far as we know, those were the only two businesses around then that are still on the Coastside today, although a handful are close. Take a look and see how our local businesses rank in terms of seniority, and congratulations to those that have moved up in the standings. Here they are from oldest to youngest. We salute them all!

DIAMOND CLUB

The Half Moon Bay Review 714 Kelly Avenue, Half Moon Bay 650-726-4424

S I N C E

100+ years

DIAMOND CLUB

1 9 1 1

Half Moon Bay Feed & Fuel 331 Main St., Half Moon Bay 650-726-4814

S I N C E

1 9 2 6

CLUB DIAMOND CLUB 100+ YEARS

years

DIAMOND

100+

1 8 9 8

Coastside finally sees light at end of tunnel

THE

S I N C E

A 50+ years PLATINUM CLUB

Andreotti Family Farm 329 Kelly Ave, Half Moon Bay, 650-726-9461 Open year-round, Friday-Sunday

S I N C E

50+ years PLATINUM CLUB

PLATINUM CLUB

1 9 2 7

ued on for many weeks. Caltrans crews continued to shut parts of the roadway so they could work on lanes leading to a parking lot that would service the park to come.) Now Coastsiders look forward to this new jewel, the Devil's Slide Trail, which will be a hiking, biking and equestrian path over the old roadbed. As 2014 dawns, contractors working for San Mateo County are working feverishly toward a March opening date. The trail, which makes allowances for endangered nesting birds in the region, will provide one-of-akind views and is sure to be another tourist draw on the Coastside.

Moss Beach Distillery 650-728-5595 | 140 Beach Way, Moss Beach www.mossbeachdistillery.com

S I N C E

50+ years

fter decades of bickering and balloting and finally building them, the Devil’s Slide tunnels opened in the spring. Work to construct a more reliable roadway between Montara and Pacifica dates back at least to the 1970s. Motorists on the Midcoast were subjected to prolonged closures of Highway 1 through the years, stemming from the dubious decision long ago to construct a road in earthquake country that hangs precariously on a cliff over the Pacific Ocean. Again and again, the road slipped to the sea. Again and again, commuters on this side of the delay made do with a single route over Highway 92. That culminated in an unprecedented public campaign to shun a proposed inland bypass in favor of a tunnel project. In 1996, voters overwhelmingly approved Measure T that provided the necessary mandate for construction. And so, after a day of celebratory fanfare, the tunnels opened to traffic on March 26 when road crews removed the barricades that had become a regular sight along the roadway. (Actually, work contin-

PLATINUM CLUB 50+ YEARS

1 9 2 9

Arcangeli Grocery Co

Stage Road, Pescadero 879-0147 | www.normsmarket.com

S I N C E

50+ years PLATINUM CLUB

1 9 3 2

Half Moon Bay Inn

401 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-1177 | www.halfmoonbayinn.com

S I N C E

50+ years PLATINUM CLUB

1 9 5 5

Curley & Reds

215 San Mateo Road, Half Moon Bay 726-4949 | www.curleyreds.com


half moon bay review

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YEAR IN REVIEW

2013

YearinReview

S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Barbara LaVey & Jan Gray 248 Main St., Ste. 200, Half Moon Bay Barbara: 650-712-2440, BRE #01361161 Jan: 650-712-2445, BRE #00478786 S I N C E

GOLD CLUB 25+ YEARS

25+ years GOLD CLUB

1 9 7 4

1 9 7 4

Ara Croce

Realtor, Intero Real Estate 650-712-1299 | 1-800-59-croce ara@aracroce.com | www.aracroce.com S I N C E

1 9 7 2

Coastside books

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Half Books•Cards•Gifts Moon Bay Building & Garden Supply 119 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-6696 | www.hmbbg.com 432 Main Street

Half Moon Bay, 94019 1 9 7 2

S I N C E

Coastside books Books•Cards•Gifts

Access battle at Martin’s Beach ebbs and flows

New News! E-Books Shop Local

432 Main Street Half Moon Bay, 94019

New News! Great E-Books Coastsidebooks.com Shop Local 25+ years

GOLD CLUB

S I N C E

1 9 7 2

Braces for Children & Adults Shorter & More Comfortable Treatment Premier Invisalign Provider Caring and Friendly Staff

25+ years GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB 25+ YEARS S I N C E

705 Purissima, Half Moon Bay 726-6321 | www.GotToSmile.com

1 9 6 9

Buzz Myers

GOLD CLUB

1 9 6 5

Alborzi Orthodontics

S I N C E

Beach owner was thus granted the land and could do what he wanted. Court documents did confirm a rumor: The owner of the limited liability company listed on Martin’s Beach documents was indeed Vinod Khosla — a well-known tech-industry billionaire. The future of the beach was unknown at year’s end. A separate lawsuit continues to wend through the courts, and access fans are promising to challenge the Hidalgo ruling.

25+ years

S I N C E

432 Main Half Moon Bay GreatStreet, selection of new & used books Open Daily Downtown 726-5889 • coastsidebooks.com

Coastsidebooks.com

I

t was an up-and-down year for the owners of access to Martin’s Beach as well as those who believe the beach belongs to all. Martin’s Beach has long been a well-known coastal treasure. It’s a protected cove owned for decades by a family that would charge for access along a private road leading to a beach unlike any other on the San Mateo County coast. An unknown buyer purchased the land in 2008 and closed the gate to the road. In February, a San Mateo County Superior Court judge dismissed charges against five surfers who intentionally ignored the signs against trespassing on the beach. They, and many others, believe California law requires access be granted to the entirety of California’s coastline. Soon after, local prosecutors announced they wouldn’t bring similar cases and that led to a brief moment of euphoria for access defenders. The access fight even brought a familiar face in California politics to the beach: Former Sen. Pete McCloskey showed up for a protest and became a plaintiff in a suit seeking to restore public access. Those efforts were dealt a serious blow in October when San Mateo County Superior Court Judge Gerald Buchwald ruled that the 1848 Treaty of Hidalgo, which ended the Mexican War, took precedence over the California Constitution and that the Martin’s

selection of new & used books

Coastside Books Open Daily Downtown

1 9 6 5

Bob’s Car Wash

240 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-6647

S I N C E

1 9 6 6

Caring for 3+ Generations over 40 plus years

Cabrillo Family Dental Care Crespi Drive Cabrillo669 Family Dental Care 25+ Pacifica - Just Off Highway 125+ 669 Crespi Drive, Pacifica 650-359-1646 | PacificaDentist.com (650)359-1646 PacificaDentist.com years

years

GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB

Weller O’Brien Insurance 720 Kelly Street, Half Moon Bay 726-6328 | wellerobrien.com

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Bob and Molly McCahon www.mccahonrealestate.com 726-5544 | 712-2439


YEAR IN REVIEW

GOLD CLUB

Rice Trucking-Soil Farm 2119 S. Highway 1, HMB 726-4354

S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB

145 Main St. (behind Ocean Shore) Half Moon Bay | 726-6676

GOLD CLUB

1 9 7 6

Rose & Nate Serdy

Alain Pinel Realtors | 650-479-1104 www.theserdyteam.com

S I N C E

25+ years

1 9 7 6

Coastside Carpet & Oriental Rug Cleaners

S I N C E

25+ years

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YearinReview

1 9 7 5

1 9 7 1

AAAAA Rent-A -Space

1221 E. Hillsdale Blvd, Foster City 650-341-2964 | www.5Aspace.com

S I N C E

GOLD CLUB 25+ YEARS

25+ years

n

2013

S I N C E

half moon bay review

1 9 7 7

Photo courtesy Lars Howlett

Ffortissimo’s pianos put coast on musical map

A 25+ years GOLD CLUB

Senior Coastsiders

535 Kelly Avenue, Half Moon Bay 726-9056 | www.seniorcoastsiders.org

S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB

1 9 7 8

time with more than a dozen pianos scattered up and down the coast. Again he arranged performances with guest musicians, and again music fans flocked to hear them. And again he ran afoul of authorities. California State Parks officials removed some of the pianos for reasons very similar to Half Moon Bay’s reasoning. In keeping with his usual demeanor, Ffortissimo was understanding. After a park ranger told him he was removing a piano at Pescadero State Beach, Ffortissimo reported, “He was super nice and polite.”

Sheppard Family Dentistry 890 Main Street, Suite A, Half Moon Bay 650.726.3355 | shepparddentists.com

S I N C E

25+ years

unique man named Mauro Ffortissimo became a household name in 2013, all because he had the audacity to place a piano somewhere unexpected. In February he recruited four friends to help him wheel a piano onto the bluffs at Half Moon Bay State Beach. His big idea was to play a series of sonatas as the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. He quickly became a sensation. The man who doesn’t own a cell phone and has little use for social media was soon a viral Internet presence. He said he received hundreds of emails just in the first few days. Facebook was filled with photos by those enthralled with his brainchild. Soon hundreds were turning out for the evening concerts. Not everyone was so smitten, however. A Half Moon Bay code enforcement officer noted that Ffortissimo had no permit for the installation and he was forced to end the series sooner than anticipated. There was a fiery funeral for the piano after a last tour around the Pillar Point Harbor by boat. He was back on the bluffs over the summer, this

1 9 7 9

Coastal Arts League

300 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 650-726-6335 | www.CoastalArtsLeague.com

S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

1 9 8 0

Half Moon Bay Auto Repair 149 Main St., Half Moon Bay | 650-726-0711 www.HalfMoonBayAutoRepairAndBody.com

S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

1 9 8 0

Lemos Farm

12320 San Mateo Rd. (Hwy. 92) HMB www.lemosfarm.com | 726-2342


half moon bay review

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YEAR IN REVIEW

YearinReview

2013

S I N C E

San Mateo County Harbor Commission lost at sea

F

or years, it has been mostly smooth sailing for the San Mateo County Harbor Commission. Members have generally toiled in relative obscurity, managing the mostly arcane duties necessary to operate Pillar Point Harbor and the bayside’s Oyster Point Harbor. In 2013, however, the winds changed. In the space of a year, the commission had to deal with the death of one of their own, a one-woman insurgency by the name of Sabrina Brennan and an increasingly boisterous crowd of naysayers. Things began to change late in 2012 when Brennan was elected in a landslide. The Coastside graphic designer quickly shook things up, with extensive questions of district General Manager Peter Grenell and her colleagues on the board. The situation has since grown so icy that Brennan has filed formal harassment charges against Grenell; harbor staff has retaliated with similar charges against Brennan.

25+ years GOLD CLUB

The commission became even more destabilized in April with the death of longtime Commissioner Leo Padreddii. Padreddii, who died due to an unspecified illness, began his service with the Harbor District in 1995 and was a solid ally of other veteran commissioners. The commission chose to fill Padreddii’s seat by appointment rather than pay for a special election. A majority selected San Mateo attorney William Holsinger, who had previously run unsuccessfully for a seat. Since his appointment last spring, he has been a frequent target of critics and sparred openly with Brennan. The most curious Harbor District incident of the year was the case of the found checks. Over the summer, district staff found 37 checks — made out to the district and totaling at least $38,000 — inside a staff member’s desk drawer. It first came to light in a series of phone calls between district staff and elected commissioners.

1 9 8 3

Immediate Care

60 N. El Camino Real, San Mateo 650-570-2273 | www.immediatecare.org

S I N C E

1 9 8 3

Hillsdale T R A N S M I S S I O N

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Hillsdale Transmission 707 Claremont Street, San Mateo 650-347-3707 www.hillsdaletransmission.com S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB 25+ YEARS GOLD CLUB

Coas Care

Coastside Eye Care Optometry

210 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 712-1234 S I N C E

25+ years

1 9 8 3

1 9 8 3

Coast Transmissions 141 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-7507

S I N C E

1 9 8 2

A fitful year for the GGNRA ity-laced email exchanges between the ranger who was involved in the incident and her colleagues. Park management continued to draw growls from Bay Area dog lovers, who complained that a new management plan would put much of the park off-limits even to dogs on a leash. National Park Service officials explain that is necessary to protect flora and fauna within the urban and suburban park. Some of the GGNRA’s travails came from Washington, D.C. The fall sequestration effectively closed the park to visitors for a time and that came after federal budget cuts that cost the park, which runs from the Marin Headlands south to El Granada, 9 percent of its budget.

25+ years GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB

1 9 8 0

S I N C E

108 N. Cabrillo Hwy., Half Moon Bay 726-8220

S I N C E

25+ years

S I N C E

BK Motors

1 9 8 1

PHOTO BY HEIDI TRILLING

I

t’s no surprise that the Coastside is worthy of national park status, and when the sprawling Rancho Corral de Tierra was acquired by the Golden Gate National Recreation Area in 2011, the area finally gained a federal designation. You might think that having a national park for a neighbor would be universally considered a good thing, but the GGNRA got off to a shaky start with locals. Late last year a ranger used a stun gun on a recalcitrant dog-walker, and the case continues to rub many locals the wrong way. This year, we learned a great deal more about that incident, including a detailed account included in court documents filed amid the charges and countercharges. Those documents also included profan-

1 9 8 1

Tokenz

524 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 712-8457

S I N C E

1 9 8 1

R E A D E R S

CHOICE 2013

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Spring Mountain Gallery 790 Main St., Half Moon Bay 650-726-3025 | SpringMountainGallery.com

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Phil’s Tires

422 Purissima St., Half Moon Bay 726-5153 | www.philstirepros.com

25+ years GOLD CLUB

Real Estate Funding 700 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay 726-2179 | refsi.com

210 Ma 712-123


YEAR IN REVIEW

half moon bay review

GOLD CLUB

Bay World Travel

225 S. Cabrillo Hwy. 108c, Half Moon Bay 726-7345 | bayworldtravel.com CST#2034794-10

S I N C E

25+ years GOLD CLUB

GOLD CLUB

412 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-0722

GOLD CLUB

1 9 8 7

Auto Medics

330 S. Claremont Street, San Mateo www.automedics.com | 342-8480

S I N C E

25+ years

1 9 8 5

The Paper Crane

S I N C E

25+ years

YearinReview

1 9 8 5

1 9 8 8

GOLD CLUB 25+ YEARS

25+ years

wednesday, january 1, 2014

2013

S I N C E

n

ANDROC Business Services 726-2359 | www.androc.net

S I N C E

Fire board smolders toward recall T

he year’s ugliest public conflict centered around fire services on the coast. The year dawned with a majority of Coastside Fire Protection District directors arguing for a brandnew department. The three elected representatives said Cal Fire wasn’t living up to the letter or spirit of its contract with local taxpayers and could be replaced economically by something better — a stand-alone department run by local managers. Suffice to say, that opinion was not unanimous. A handful of citizens began a recall effort, and before long they had collected the thousands of signatures necessary to get a recall election on an April special election ballot. At the time of the election, turmoil reigned. The future of fire service beyond June was up in the air, and fire board meetings devolved into shouting matches. There were angry confrontations in parking lots where recall signatures were being collected. Proponents on either side reveled in tak-

ing video of their opponents. Charges and countercharges played out in each edition of the Review. Clarity came in the form of a landslide victory for recall supporters. Mike Alifano, Gary Riddell and Doug Mackintosh were swept from office and replaced by Karen Anderson, J.B. Cockrell and Harvey Rarback. They immediately re-signed the contract with Cal Fire, and service continued as it had since 2008 under state management. By August, the new fire board was tabulating the cost of a year spent arguing. One estimate, which included legal and consulting costs toward establishing a new department, put the total at $660,000 plus six firefighters who left the coast. There was other news from the fire board in 2013: It announced in September that it was looking into replacing Midcoast fire stations and not necessarily in their current locations. The results of that study remain to be seen.

1 9 8 9

A big year for Boys and Girls Club 25+ years GOLD CLUB

SILVER CLUB

or decades, the Boys and Girls Club of the Coastside has labored to provide meaningful, mostly after-school activities for local teenagers. Friends of the club have helped build a skate park, soccer fields and other amenities at Cunha Intermediate School and elsewhere on the coast. Many kids — and society at large — benefited from having a productive place to be after school let out. Now the club appears to be on the cusp of a bright new day. Late in 2013, the club got the initial go-ahead to plan a $6 million gymnasium complex at Cunha. The Cabrillo Unified School District says it will pay half the cost and keep one gym for itself. The other gym would belong to the club and be the first real indoor facility completely dedicated to the club. Now there are rumblings that the club may use

palladinopainting.com 650-728-4000

S I N C E

10+ years

F

Palladino Painting

1 9 8 9

Premier Termite Inc. and Floors to Go

116 N. Cabrillo Hwy., Half Moon Bay 726-7756 S I N C E

part of the Ted Adcock Community/ Senior Center, conveniently located across the street from Cunha once Senior Coastsiders and the Senior Center relocatet onto Main Street later this year. The skate park would have to move if the gymnasium plan comes to fruition. That might find a place on the Ted Adcock property. Perhaps club offices will be there as well. While the club has always held its financial cards relatively close to the vest, it’s clear that it has benefited from relatively new associations, such as handling parking for the Mavericks surf contest. The club hired Judith Guerrero as its new director and even hired one of it own, Sebastian Segura, who became the first former club member to be hired as a staff member. These are good times for the Boys and Girls Club of the Coastside.

SILVER CLUB 10+ YEARS

1 9 9 0

S I N C E

1 9 9 2

S I N C E

Peter & Steve Iacopi

10+ years SILVER CLUB

Coastside Veterinary Clinic, Inc

614 Purissima Street, Half Moon Bay 726-9738 | www.coastsidevet.com

10+ years SILVER CLUB

Termite Inspection -Construction

Dryrot Repairs | Fumigation Services www.coastsidetermite.com | 726-6757

1 9 9 4

Building the Dream

10+ years SILVER CLUB

Boys & Girls Club of the Coastside

650-712-9710 | www.bgc-coastside.org 600 Church St., Half Moon Bay


half moon bay review

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YEAR IN REVIEW

2013

YearinReview

S I N C E

10+ years SILVER CLUB

Half Moon Bay Brewing Company

390 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay 650-728-BREW | www.hmbbrewingco.com S I N C E

10+ years SILVER CLUB

ect as unnecessary and repugnant for anyone who cares about the history of the town. Nevertheless, in September the council voted 4-1 to replace the 113-year-old span in a flurry of construction that would only close the road for about four months. Council members who voted for the plan said it was necessary to ensure the safety of the traveling public. They worried that the bridge could fall in a catastrophic earthquake and leave the town cut off for a much longer period. The vote may have been the final word for the council, but it certainly wasn’t for the community. In November, friends of the current bridge were meeting directly with Caltrans in hopes of scuttling replacement plans. One indication that the city is girding for a fight: The council authorized paying its attorney another $175,000 in expenses related to the bridge.

GOLD CLUB 25+ YEARS

W

hen the Half Moon Bay City Council announced plans to replace the old Main Street Bridge using a new design and federal money, elected leaders might have thought they had hit a home run. By the end of 2013, they knew they were bogged down with a politically unpopular decision that angered an important constituency — downtown merchants. The year dawned amid several public meetings set to discuss the best configuration for the new bridge. Crowds packed the city’s Department Operations Center to study diagrams and question planners. Soon afterward, the merchants were leading a downtown revolt. Many worried that an extended road closure — as long as two years in some scenarios — could crush their businesses. They organized their own meetings and attacked the proj-

10+ years SILVER CLUB

225 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 650-560-0000 | www.alifano.com

SILVER CLUB

Activism on the rise on the coast O

ne of the recurring themes of 2013 was the re-emergence of the energized electorate. Again and again over the last year, crowds swelled at public meetings and people were being heard. The crowd of suddenly civic citizens actually began to gather in 2012, during some heated discussions before the Coastside Fire Protection District board over the future of fire services on the coast. That continued into the new year, when people who hadn’t been particularly active in public affairs suddenly stepped into the spotlight. Activists like Karen K. Anderson even ran for office — and were elected. That enthusiasm spilled over to the San Mateo County Harbor District. A growing gallery has been attending Harbor District meetings this year, and they have witnessed a rough ride. A divided commission has put new limits on speech, and

10+ years SILVER CLUB

SILVER CLUB

10+ years SILVER CLUB

1 9 9 4

Paulo’s Auto Care

129 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-5969

S I N C E

10+ years SILVER CLUB

1 9 9 6

San Carlos Elms 707 Elm Street, San Carlos www.sancarloselms.com 650-595-1500

510 Kelly Ave., Half Moon Bay 726-8141 | www.absolutefloors.com

SILVER CLUB

1 9 9 8

I Make Bells

512 Dolores Avenue, Half Moon Bay 726-5022 | info@imakebells.com

1 9 9 7

It’s Italia

401 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 650-726-4444 | www.ItsItaliaRestaurant.com

S I N C E

10+ years

1 9 9 9

Absolute Flooring

S I N C E

10+ years

S I N C E

HastingsHouseWeddings.com 650-726-2513

S I N C E

the vitriol has led to formal complaints against staff and at least one commissioner. The result: Activists are eyeing the November 2014 election as an opportunity to change the makeup of the board. And the Half Moon Bay City Council has roused many downtown residents and merchants with its plan to replace the city’s aging Main Street Bridge. If it seemed like a no-brainer to replace the span with federal money, the council was quickly disabused of that notion. Local residents have gone around the council to speak directly with Caltrans officials and to try to gain historic status for the bridge in order to thwart its destruction. All of this is a distinct change from recent years. Attendance at meetings had been waning and some boards — notably the Midcoast Community Council — had trouble keeping elective seats filled. No more.

1 9 9 9

Hastings House

S I N C E

10+ years

2 0 0 0

Alifano Technologies Inc.

S I N C E

Effort to replace bridge crosses downtown merchants

2 0 0 0

1 9 9 7

All Animal Mobile Veterinary Clinic Half Moon Bay | 726-3445


half moon bay review

S I N C E

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YearinReview

2013

YEAR IN REVIEW

2 0 0 0

THE YEAR IN PICTURES SILVER CLUB

The UPS Store

80 N. Cabrillo Hwy., Suite Q Half Moon Bay | 726-3091

S I N C E

10+ years SILVER CLUB

Café Capistrano

650-726-7699 523 Church St, Half Moon Bay

S I N C E

10+ years SILVER CLUB

2 0 0 1

2 0 0 1

SILVER CLUB 10+ YEARS

10+ years

Heidi Kuiper

State Farm Insurance | 726-1108 507-A Purissima St., Half Moon Bay

S I N C E

2 0 0 2

Half Moon Bay

PLAY WITH YOUR FOOD SILVER CLUB

Half Moon Bay Joe’s 2380 S. Cabrillo Highway Half Moon Bay | 650-560-9260

S I N C E

BRONZE CLUB

www.mytoque.com

Sam’s Chowder House 4210 N. Cabrillo Hwy., Half Moon Bay 712-0245 | www.samschowderhouse.com

S I N C E

2 0 0 6

BRONZE CLUB 5+ YEARS

5+

years

2 0 0 6

Review File PHotos

10+ years

Open Every Day 10am - 6pm & Sunday 10am-5pm 604 Main Street • Half Moon Bay • 726-2898 Toque Blanche

5+

years BRONZE CLUB

604 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 726-2898 | www.MyToque.com

S I N C E

NEWER BUSINESSES

2 0 0 7

S I N C E

2 0 0 8

S I N C E

2 0 1 0

RR EE A AD D E R S

CHOICE CHOICE

Lisa Mandelbaum L.Ac, Dipl. O.M. NAET certified

2 2013

Voted “Favorite Art Gallery” and “Favorite Artist”

5+

years BRONZE CLUB

Coastside Healing Arts 625 D Purissima St., Half Moon Bay 726-2900

5+ years BRONZE CLUB

Ellen Joseph Gallery & Studio 840 Main Street, Half Moon Bay NEW ellenjoseph.com (650) 728-7518 BIZ

Joseph New Leaf Community Market New Leaf Ellen Community Market Gallery & Studio Corner of Hwy 1 and 92, Half Moon Bay www.newleaf.com | 650-726-3110

Corner of Hwy840 1 and 92,Street, Half Moon Bay Bay Main Half Moon www.newleaf.com • (650)726-3110 650-728-7518 | ellenjoseph.com


half moon bay review

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

YEAR IN REVIEW

2013

YearinReview

To all the small businesses on the Coastside

THE YEAR IN PICTURES

C

ongratulations to all the local businesses that make the Coastside what it is. Start-

ing a business is difficult. Staying in business

through all the ups and downs is a monumental task. Hats off to all the businesses who manage to thrive and grow year after year after year. As a small business ourselves, we know how hard it can be. We also know that next to our unique envirnoment, it is the small businesses that make our area so special. May all the businesses represented here eventually make thier way to the Platinum Club and beyond. To a wonderful new year!

Half Moon Bay Review

S I N C E

2 0 1 2

Oddyssea NEWER BUSINESSES

NEW BIZ

Oddyssea

617 Main Street, Half Moon Bay 650.440.4555 | info@oddyssea.com

S I N C E

NEW BIZ

2 0 1 2

Luz Luna Imports

La Piazza Courtyard, Main St., Half Moon Bay 650-240-6550 | luzlunaimports.com

S I N C E

2 0 1 2

NEW BIZ

Home Helpers

418 Main St., Suite B, Half Moon Bay HomeCareSanMateoCA.com | 650-532-3122

S I N C E

2 0 1 2

No review of a year on the Coastside would be complete without photographs that begin to express the richness of life and natural beauty that is so obvious on the San Mateo County coast. While the coast boasts of a world-class professional sporting event known as Mavericks, the heart and soul of local recreation is found at neighborhood schools and Smith Field. There was construction on Highway 1, daring rescues at sea and more than a little learning going on at Coastside schools. NEW BIZ

NEWER BUSINESSES S I N C E

NEW BIZ

2 0 1 0

The Squash Blossom 707 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay 726-6300

S I N C E

NEW BIZ

2 0 1 1

Empowered Fitness

Harbor Village Mall, 270 Capistrano Rd. #36 650.440.4800 | empoweredfit.com

Gifts A GoGo

353 Main St., Half Moon Bay www.giftsagogo.com | 650-440-4348

S I N C E

NEW BIZ

2 0 1 1

Posh Paws

www.poshpawsadventures.com 650-560-0119 | P.O. Box 2150, El Granada


YEAR IN REVIEW

half moon bay review

n

wednesday, january 1, 2014

Top tweets There are several ways to ga tweets. Twitter analytics as uge interest in your sess the number of retweets, the times readers click links that you provide and the amount over your normal “reach” that a particular tweet extends . Here are some of the Re view’s top tweets from 20 13, using these various me trics. Make sure you follow @hmbreview for all the latest news all year long.

POLICE LOG STANDOUTS 2013

Woman leads deputies on slow RV chase SUSPECT PLEADS NOT GUILTY TO CHARGES A 32-year-old woman pleaded not guilty this week to charges that she stole a motorhome and led San Mateo County Sheriff’s deputies on a very slow chase through Half Moon Bay. On Nov. 13, the defendant, identified as Carly Gutierrez of San Diego, went to an RV lot in San Mateo and tried to rent an RV using false information, according to Sheriff’s officials. After employees turned her down, she went out to the lot and drove away in one of the RVs. Sheriff’s deputies spotted her driving the stolen vehicle west on Highway 92 toward Main Street in Half Moon Bay. They flashed their lights and ordered her to pull over, but she continued driving, going through multiple stop signs. The defendant was driving at a very low speed, according to the Sheriff’s report. At one point she reportedly flashed a peace sign at the deputy in pursuit. She finally stopped the RV at Alsace Lorraine and Kelly Avenue and was arrested on charges of vehicle theft, burglary and evading police officers. She retained a private attorney, but remains in custody on $25,000 bail. She is scheduled to return to court on Jan. 29. — Mark Noack

scene, fire officials determined that someone had shot the fire sprinklers with a gun. An 18-year-old man who lived at the house admitted to accidentally firing the weapon. His gun was taken by Sheriff’s deputies for destruction.

Half Moon Bay Alcohol 8:26 p.m., March 15, Frenchmans Creek A 22-year-old man was making a loud disturbance on a SamTrans bus headed up Highway 1. He was kicked off the bus near Frenchmans Creek, and San Mateo County Sheriff’s deputies spotted him walking with a bottle of alcohol on the side of the road. They arrested him, booking him into jail for the night, but they declined to press charges. The next afternoon, people reported spotting the same man stumbling dangerously near traffic at Highway 1 and Kelly Avenue. Deputies arrested the man a second time, charging him with public intoxication.

Half Moon Bay Disturbance 4:30 p.m., Feb. 9, Higgins Canyon Road A cyclist riding on a rural road called the San Mateo County Sheriff’s Office to report someone shot him with a BB or pellet gun as he passed by. As he made the call, a juvenile came out of the bushes and apologized for the shooting. The cyclist said he was content with the apology and did not want to press charges. The shooter’s mother asked Sheriff’s deputies to take the BB-guns and destroy them.

El Granada

Pescadero

Warrant 3 p.m., Oct. 26, Coronado Street A San Mateo County Sheriff’s deputy pulled over a vehicle because a passenger wasn’t using a seatbelt. A 33-year-old female passenger in the car was found to be wanted on three warrants out of East Bay cities. She was arrested and taken to jail.

Alcohol 6:19 p.m., Nov. 29, Highway 1 Bystanders called 911 because a man was in the water at Pescadero State Beach and was refusing to get out. The incident was part of an argument he was having with his girlfriend. The man, a 28-year-old from San Carlos, was eventually arrested for public intoxication.

Unincorporated county

Alcohol 5:31 p.m., Dec. 7, Miramontes Point Road A drunken golfer damaged a golf cart and was trying to run away from Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay security. The 45-year-old man from Winnipeg, Canada, was located and arrested for public intoxication. He was taken to jail.

Disturbance 5:38 a.m., Nov. 24, Poppy Lane Firefighters arrived at a house after an automatic alarm and ceiling sprinklers were triggered. Surveying the

Oct. 14: “And the winner is ... Napa’s Gary Miller wit ha 1,985-pound pumpkin. It’s not a world record but the biggest ever at the HMB weigh-of f.” 3 x normal reach, 7 retwe ets. June 14: “An interesting, insider’s take on the Apple /Mavericks naming thing. Does Apple understand the connotation s?” 64 x normal reach, 18 clicks. May 13: “One man arrest ed following beatings in Mo ntara on May 4. Two juveniles inju red.” 153 clicks. May 7: “San Mateo Co. dep uties kill dog that attacked during search on South Coast.” 102 clicks. May 5: “Firefighters contain blaze near Half Moon Bay High. Still getting details.” 90 clic ks. April 26: “Did anyone see the Solar Impulse over the coast yesterday?” 23 x normal reach, 41 clicks. April 16: “An interesting find near the side of Hwy. 1 in Half Moon Bay today.” 82 clicks. April 8: “Male body found in waters off Miramar. De tails scant.” 115 clicks. April 2: “Accident kills do g, injures pedestrian on a stretch of Hwy. 1 that is often a proble m.” 148 clicks. March 25: “An unedited pan oramic photo from the cer emonies at the Devil’s Slide tunnel s today.” 2 x normal reach, 110 clicks. March 14: “The scene at the Coastside fire recall for um.” (This linked to a Vine video.) 95 clicks. March 11: “Accident that marred Coastside / Half Mo on Bay traffic this morning was fat al.” 189 clicks. March 7: “New #brewpu bs opening up to sell specia lty #beer on San Mateo County Coast side.” 3 x normal, 90 clicks, 2 retweets.

Instant visuals from Instagram The Review continued to use the social media platform Instagram throughout the year. Look at hmbreview for “Where is it Wednesday” for scenes from around the coast and “Throwback Thursday” for posts from our archives. We also used the site to share news from the Mavericks Invitational, which provided our biggest Instagram hit, and Dream Machines. Find us here: @hmbreview

Happy New Year from your friends at Sheppard Family Dentistry! CAD-CAM Cerec crowns in one visit! BRIAN SHEPPARD, DDS C. RAY SHEPPARD, DMD

R E A D E R S

CHOICE 2013

CEREC ONE VISIT CROWNS

SH

EP

PAR D

FAMILY DE

TR N TIS

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

Y

890 Main Street, Suite A, Half Moon Bay SheppardDentists.com halfmoonbaysmile@comcast.net

Office hours by appointment:

650.726.3355


Year in review 2013