Page 15




Asher Fisch Conducts Strauss & Bruckner

Karina Canellakis & Ning Feng: Russian Masterworks

Music of war and freedom from Prokofiev and Shostakovich.

A poignant valediction and a monumental symphony.

Friday 9 November 7.30pm Saturday 10 November 7.30pm Perth Concert Hall

Friday 23 November 7.30pm Saturday 24 November 7.30pm* Perth Concert Hall

STRAUSS, R. Metamorphosen BRUCKNER Symphony No.8

PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No.2 SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No.8

Asher Fisch conductor (pictured)

Bruckner’s last-completed symphony is a work of breathtaking magnificence, a monumental “cathedral of sound”. Asher Fisch and WASO take you on an astounding journey from its tremoring, misty beginning through grand themes and gorgeous chorales to climactic elation. To hear this immense work performed live is an awe-inspiring experience. Metamorphosen is Richard Strauss’ anguished response to the wartime destruction of Germany’s culture. Composed for 23 solo strings, its unfolding complexity and elegiac beauty make this heartfelt expression of collective sorrow one of his very greatest works. “… From the opening bars with the languorous climbing phrases Fisch brought a breadth and vehemence to Bruckner's orchestral dialogue.” Limelight magazine

Asher Fisch appears courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts


Karina Canellakis conductor (pictured) Ning Feng violin

The most profound of Shostakovich’s ‘War Symphonies’ echoes the suffering of 1943 on a tremendous scale, ferocious and harrowing. A statement of personal grief amid mass devastation, the poignant ending yearns not for heroic victory, but for peace. Prokofiev was on the verge of returning to Russia after decades in the West when he wrote his bittersweet Second Violin Concerto. Ning Feng returns to astonish WASO audiences with his effortless, soaring virtuosity. “Ning Feng demonstrated the form that places him well to the forefront of violin virtuosi... he wooed and won the heart of every listener." The West Australian

*Meet the Artist Karina Canellakis Post-concert Saturday night Meet the Artist is supported by Wesfarmers Arts


WASO Debut

World Premiere


WASO 2018 Season  

West Australian Symphony Orchestra - 2018 Season Brochure

WASO 2018 Season  

West Australian Symphony Orchestra - 2018 Season Brochure