Lemoyneâ€™s Bridgeport 1835
Centennial 1905 ~ 2005 $20.00
Comments from the Chairman of the 100th Anniversary Celebration It is not often in a person’s lifetime they are able to serve as a chairperson for a Celebration that happens every 25 years. I have been selected as the general chair for the 100th Anniversary of the chartering of the Borough of Lemoyne. I served as the general chair for the 75th celebration in 1980. In the past 25 years I have held public ofﬁce in Lemoyne for 22 of those years. Eight of them as your mayor and the remaining 14 as borough councilman. Many changes have occurred. Our political operation has gone from a strong working council to a council assisted by a working borough manager. The duties, responsibilities and performance of council has been assigned to the borough manager which leaves the borough council with mostly administrative functions. Our town has changed in character, too. Many new homes have been built. Plans for townhouses are on the drawing board and will be a reality in 2005. The construction of the Essex House, a retirement center has been our most recent addition. Long gone are Ryders Dairy, Manbecks Bakery, the many Mom and Pop grocery stores, the Brass Foundary, the Clothing Factory, the Lemoyne Theatre, Beetum Lumber Company, Otto & Hollinger Lumber Company, the many gas stations, Radio Station WCMB, Stoey’s Restaurant, Automotive Row, West Shore Bowling Alley, Squire’s Sub and Sandwich Shop, Glant’s TV, CCNB Bank, Lemoyne Trust Company, the American Can Company and so on. Several old established places still remain such as L.B. Smith Ford (a sponsor), Mussleman’s Funeral Parlor, Kessler Meat, Karns Food, West Shore Plaza, Ed Lanks Kitchens, Wrays Music, Firestone Motors, The West Shore Farmers Market, Obermans Sheet Metal, and Bushey’s Cyclery. Of course many new businesses have replaced some of the older businesses as well as more new businesses such as fast food and convenience stores. Thank you caring residents of Lemoyne for your support in the 100 Year Celebration. May I see you at the 125th. You make Lemoyne what it is and will be.
Robert W. Farver, General Chairman
Council Coun un nci cil Photos: Phot Ph otos ot to : Back Baack ck Row Row w L – R: R: Mayor May ayorr Ed Ed Byrem, B reem By m,, Bob Bobb Farver, Far arvveer, arve r Dr. James Jaam mes es A. A. Yates(President), Yate Ya tes( s(P s( (Pr Pres ressidden ent) t, Jim Hoffer, Hoff fffer e , Irv IIrrv Kiehl K ehhl (Vice Ki (Vic (V ice President), ice Prresidden ent) t), Samuel SSaamu mue Leach muel Leeaachh Seated: Seeat ated ed: Sue ed Sue ue West, Wesst, Howard How ward Dougherty Dooug ughe ghe he y herty (Manager/Secretary), (Manager err/Secreta ttaary r ), Judy Jud udy McAllister udy ud McAllist Mc s er er
Municipal Authority Standing L – R: John O’Neil (Recording Secretary/ Plant Manager), Samuel Andes (Soliciter), Thomas Watts (Buchart Horn Representative) Seated: Bruce Barnes (Treasurer) William Grafﬁus (Secretary), Samuel Leach (Chairman), Ray Grandon (Vice Chairman) Not Pictured: Blair Trogner Staff: Jan Boyer, Gretchen Stanley
Lemoyne Centennial Celebration Sponsors Presenting Sponsors—$5,000
Central Pennsylvania Hematology and Medical Oncology Associates, P.C. Lemoyne American Legion Post 914
Johnson Dufﬁe Law Ofﬁces
Gold Sponsors—$2,500 L.B. Smith Ford and West Shore Plaza Lemoyne Senior Citizens
Bronze Sponsors—$500 Ed Lanks Kitchens, Inc. Hetley Associates, L. P. Glenn Miller’s Beer & Soda Warehouse and Western Prime Beef & Deli The Storage Depot
Lemoyne Centennial Committee Chair Persons General Chairman
Robert W. Farver
Borough Council Appointments
Council Person Robert W. Farver Council Person Irving Kiehl Mayor E. Edward Byrem Borough Manager Howard E. Dougherty
Anniversary Day Celebration
Banquet Robert W. Farver Lemoyne High School All Class Reunion Committee
Church Day Rev. Terry Ford and The Lemoyne Ministerium
Finance and Funding Brian and Barbara Mussellman
Public Relations and Advertising Jodie Ruediger
Howard E. Dougherty
Souvenirs and Fund Raising Edward and Barbara Byrem
Street Fair and Carnival Susan Fair Eisenhower
Historical Publication Photo Credits Samuel Leach Robert O’Hara Jean Shandelmier
Historical Publication Samuel Leach
Centennial Patrons Mr. and Mrs. William S Sheaffer
Nedra Gill Schubert
Robert B. Buckbee
Mr. and Mrs. William M. Sheaffer, II
Andrea & Goldie Snedaker
In Memory of Edward Shambaugh by his wife Mary
Tracy Lynn Sheaffer
Andrew A Trayer
John Buckwater Draperies Joseph Bryson
Walter G. Trayer & Helen Acri Trayer
Patricia Prowell Snelbaker
Joanne Ashway Wolfe
Gerald W. Prowell C. Jane Matthews
Michele Lee Lehman and Greg E. Carragan
Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Mull
Jack Dietrick, Helen Dietrick
Jim & Peggy Boldosser
Richard D. Crowley, Jr.
Robert W. Farver, Councilman
Coralyn S. Campbell
Michele S. Crowley
Arlene L. Farver
First Christian Church (DOC)
Mr. and Mrs. William Slike
Janet A. Hartzell
Mr. Joseph M. Verbos – Mrs. Ellen M. Verbos
In Memory of Jim Clark, Police Chief
Underneath It All (in Hoover Plaza for 20 years) Colleen and Hank Watson
The Sloan Family
US NAVY Capt. Robert M. Verbos Mrs. Vickey M. Verbos
In Memory of Charles & Daisy Walls by Daughter Mary Shambaugh Beth A. Shambaugh Charles & Linda Shambaugh Carolyn Boldosser
Olive Davenport Mary B. Deﬁbaugh Rev. & Mrs. Terry L. Ford
Joe & Deb Gargiulo
Jan & Ashley Boyer
Carl & JoAnn (Byrem) Haubert
Jason & Jessica Frank
Frank & Velma Hughes
Mayor & Mrs. Ed Byrem
Eugene & Selma Kapp
Jim & Leona Fickle
Constance L. McAllister
Alice Drinkwater Kohler
Karl & Shirley Horst
Judith S. McAllister
Jeff & Christa Klose
In Memory of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Naftzinger, Sr. and
Stuart & Coren Knickerbocker
Mr. & Mrs. Neil Buckbee
Hazel & Robert B. Lambert
Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Garbacik Charles Naftzinger II (Madeline Balsbaugh)
Linda Clark Leiser
David H. Binkley II Bill & Sharah Bowen Joyce Cassel Mr. & Mrs. Louis S. Edwards & Family
Art Updegraff In Memory of My Dear James B. Chiles by Roni In Memory of John L. Masonheimer, Sr. by Gladys Think I’m done collecting!!!! Kate
Mr. & Mrs. James Balsbaugh Marcia Buckbee Haley
Augustus & Elsie Fowler Acri
Ann Balsbaugh Gumberg
Sara F. Albright
Donald M. Buckbee, Sr.
Muriel S. Kost
Elizabeth R. McCaleb Judith A. Miller & Evelyn K. Wrightstone Alvin “Bussie” & Mary Miller In Memory of Pauline E. Rezio Miller 1929-2003 William Henry Miller
Centennial Patrons Tyler & Linda Nettleton
Pauline & Albert G. Bogdan
Ellen A. Reeser
Bill & Loyetta Quinn
Leon & Sally Smith
In Memory of: Mr. & Mrs. E. V. Wierman
Leon & Shari Smith
Mary Wierman Stoner
Mary E. Snyder
Margaret Wierman Strine
Mr. & Mrs. Charles E. Thomas, Jr.
Donald & Shirley Stoner
By Ruth Wierman Evinger
Jane C. Thomas
Harold K. Turner
Dianne L. Fagan
Grace L. Zuna
Joan M. Kain
In Memory of William Kuhn Gardner
Victoria M. Zuna
Doris Reed Traub Stacy & Mike Weaver Al & Donna White Doris A. Wolf Robert O’Hara In Memory of Herman & Blanche Beistline
By his Wife, Kate George & Irvin Heiges Bicycle Shop Thelma M. & Francis E. Kinter Oscar & Shirley Squire
John W. Steinemann
Holmes OK Lettershop, Inc. Elizabeth Leach David Leach Andrea & Samuel R. Leach George R. Leach
Duncan D. McArthur II
West Shore Regional Police Department Regionalization talks began on the West Shore in 1976, when the Pennsylvania Department of Community affairs did a study to determine the impact and cost studies. The project was never acted on and in 1978, Pennsylvania State University did a follow up study, which was also never acted on. In 1992, Lemoyne and Wormleysburg Borough’s started having informal meetings. A steering Committee consisting of a council member and the Mayor from each community and an independent citizen member was formed. The ﬁrst act of the Committee was to pick the name of the West Shore Regional Police Department. Then they began deliberating the funding formula and other major issues related to the creation and operation of a regional police department. In October 1993, both Lemoyne and Wormleysburg passed an ordinance which created the West Shore Regional Police Department and abolished each respective police department, upon entering into a merger agreement. This was the ﬁrst major step necessary to begin the long regionalization process. In October 1994, both Lemoyne and Wormleysburg approved the merger agreement, creating the West Shore Regional Police Department and the West Shore Regional Police Department Commission on January 1, 1995. With signing of the agreement the regional police department was formally in place. The commission was now under mandate to have the regional department operational on January 1, 1995. We still needed collective bargaining agreement, pension consolidation, police building, employee beneﬁts and a police chief. On January 1, 1995, the new department was established. The ﬁrst call came just a few minutes into the new year. It was an assist for a neighboring police department. The department has ten full time ofﬁcers, three part time ofﬁcers and two administrative personnel. On January 1, 2005 the department celebrated it’s tenth year of service to Lemoyne and Wormleysburg.
Decree of Court Incorporating the Borough of Lemoyne And now, May 23rd, 1905, the Court on motion of Fillmore Maust and F. E. Beltzhoover, Solicitors for Petitioners, and upon due consideration of the petition after a full investigation of the case presented by the petition to incorporate the town of Lemoyne, do find that the conditions prescribed by law have been complied with and believe that it is expedient to grant the prayer of the applicants and do grant the same decree that the said town of Lemoyne, be incorporated into a borough in conformity to the prayer of the petitioners; that the corporate style and title thereof shall be as follows: Beginning at a stake in the Eastern boundary line of the C.V.R.R. Engine House lot, 70 feet distant from the center line of the present East Bound Main Track of the C.V.R.R., measured perpendicularly, in a Southerly direction, thence parallel with said centerline and distant 70 feet, perpendicularly, therefrom,…. Containing 128 acres, more or less, and that the Annual
Borough election shall be held at the Barber Shop of J. W. Stooss in said Borough on the third Tuesday of February, 1906, in accordance with and subject to all provisions of the law regulating township elections so far as applicable and declare said borough a separate election and school district. The Court further decree and fix the first election in said Borough for election of officers provided for by law at the Barber Shop of J. W. Stooss in said Borough on the 27th day of June 1905, between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. of said day and designate and appoint John Kimmel to give due notice of said election and the manner thereof as provided by law and the Court further decree that J. W. Stooss be the Judge and Calvin Coleman and William E. Ross by the inspectors of said election. By the Court W. J. Sadler P.J.
Lemoyne, Cumb. Co., Pa. July 25, 1905 The meeting was called to order by Chief Burgess, H. B. Witman. Joseph Hammersla, A. A. Thumma, J. K. Probst, C. M. Musselman, Jac. C. Ensminger, J.A. Kunkel and H. E. Litzel were the councilmen present. They were sworn into office by the Burgess, H. B. Witman. On motion of Musselman and seconded by Thumma, J. K. Probst was unanimously elected present of Lemoyne Council. On motion of Hammersla and seconded by Ensminger, Caleb Brinton was selected, by a unanimous vote, for attorney. On motion of Musselman and seconded by Thumma, it was decided to meet every Tuesday evening at 8 o’clock until otherwise decided. The President appointed Thumma nd Musselman to see Mr. Brinton and arrange to have him present at the next meeting of Council. Kunkel and Ensminger were appointed to see what could be done in regards to securing a surveyor. On motion of Hammersla and seconded by Hammersla the clerk was authorized to purchase books necessary to keep the records of the prodceedings of the Council. On motion of Hammersla and seconded by Thumma the Council adjourned to meeto on the coming Friday eveing at 8 o’clock in the Council Chamber, where this meeting was held. Attest--G. W. Coover, Clerk Jacob K. Probst, President of Town Council
begin the time he left his office. Car fare also to be paid by the Council. On motion of Hammersla and seconded by Litzel, Mr. C. M. Hershey was unanimously elected as surveyor. The committee was discharged. Litzel, Ensminger and Musselman were appointed by the president as Highway Committee, and Thumma, Kunkel and Hammersla as Finance Committee. On motion of Thumma the Council Adjourned to meet on the following Tuesday evening. Attest--G. W. Coover, Clerk Jacob K. Probst, President of Town Council
Lemoyne, Pa. July 28, 1905 The Council convened in the Council Chambers and the following were present: Thumma, Hammersla, Kunkel, Ensminger and Litzel. The meeting was called to order by the president. The minutes of the previous meeting were read and approved. The committee to see Mr. Brinton reported that he could not be present owing to previous engagements. This committee was discharged. The committee to see surveyors reported that Mr. C. M. Hershey of Harrisburg could be employed at 60 cents per hour, and he would furnish his own assistant without extra charge, his time to
Lemoyne, PA. August 1, 1905 Borough Council met in the Council Chamber. Roll call showed all the councilmen present. The minutes of the former meeting were read and approved. The Finance Committee reported the real estate valuation to be approximately 268 taxables at $75. $239,1100 valuation of real estate. Total $249,210 to assess upon. The Highway Committee reported that the surveyor being away nothing definite could be ascertained. The Council agreed to have Mr. Brinton call on State Highway Commissioner Hunter and ascertain what could be done in regards to having the State help build a piece of road so as to include Rossmoyne Street from the Northern boundary of Lemoyne to Hummel Avenue, and Hummel Avenue from Rossmoyne Street to the Western limits of the Borough of Lemoyne. The President appointed Kunkel, Thumma, and Hammersla as Ordinance Committee. Musselman made a motion and seconded by Ensminger that Council meet at 7:30 P.M. instead of at 8 P.M. which motion carried. On motion of Ensminger and seconded by Litzel, Council adjourned to meet on the following Tuesday evening. Attest---
G. W. Coover, Clerk Jacob K. Probst, President of Town Council
Greeting from the Lemoyne Civic Club to Lemoyne Borough Celebrating its Centennial Birthday The Lemoyne Civic Club was founded in 1932 and continues on an active basis in the present. We meet the third Wednesday of the month from September through May in the Borough Building at 1:00 P.M. Purpose of the Club is to foster and support Community Affairs. We pride ourselves for providing interesting and informative programs and a monthly Newsletter. Our dues are $12.00 a year. We welcome new members who now live in Lemoyne of have in the past or who have interest in our Community. We have one funding effort: “A Card Party and Fashion Show” on the fourth Wednesday of October at 1:00 P.M. and anyone is welcome. We give annual ﬁnancial support to: The Girl Scouts, Hospice, Meals-on-Wheels, Scholastic Awards, W.S. Bu-reau of Fire, and W.S. EMS. We help our Community by making bibs for Cumberland County Nursing Home Residents. WE sponsor and service the Information Booth at Lemoyne Hometown Day. We provide a Liaison Person to the Borough also to the Committees for Hometown Day and “Countdown to 100.” We contribute funds and/or services as community needs warrant. Any contact to our Club can be made by inquiring at the Borough Building at 665 Market Street, Lemoyne, PA 17043.
Congratulations Borough of Lemoyne We are proud to be a part of your community
C.W. Fritz Company Harner’s Bakery Carlisle Farmers Market 717-243-2255 West Shore Farmers Market 717-730-7352 Scratch – Baked Sticky Buns and Pastries Bread, Rolls, Cookies Order by phone and take it home Come in and visit us Have a great Day
Lemoyne Paciﬁc Pride Commercial Fueling 230 South 10th Street Diesel • 24/7 Access Gasoline Excellent Reporting Rhoads Energy, Corp. P.O. Box 1198 Lancaster, PA 17603 800-673-2423
Is happy to celebrate Lemoyne’s 100th Birthday
TRINITY EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH—LEMOYNE The history of Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church began before that of Lemoyne itself. Three years before Riverton became Lemoyne, the church was born in the home of U.M. Sherman. A committee of three pastors, appointed by the Cumberland Valley Conference of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of West Pennsylvania, met with several Riverton citizens and adopted a constitution such as that recommended by the Home Mission Board of the Synod. Uriah McCoy, Sherman and Jacob Eckert were elected elders; and Jacob A. Kunkel and Samuel B. Leach were named deacons. Rev. J. Kistler served the congregation in the morning every two weeks and occasionally in the evening. Until the ﬁrst church building was erected, the congregation met and worshipped in Grace Evangelical Church, and later in the front room of Mr. Sherman’s home. On April 14, 1985, the Lord’s Supper was celebrated for the ﬁrst time, with 13 members and 21 others receiving the sacrament. One month later, the church’s present site at Clinton (now Fifth) and Hummel Avenues was purchased for $750. By August 18, 1895, proposals had been received for construction of a frame church, 35 x 55 feet, encased in brick. The cost was $1,710, and construction was started at once. The cornerstone was laid on October 13, and the church completed and dedicated on December 22. The sermon was preached by Dr. H.H. Weber of York and Dr. E. Huber of Gettysburg. In October, 1898, the Reverend Mr. Kistler resigned because of ill health and was succeeded by the Reverend Mr. Ibach of Philadelphia, who was secured as a supply pastor; he resigned February 11, 1900. Rev. E. E. Deitterich of Ickesburg was called to pastorate on June 1, 1900. Rev. Clarence G. Leatherman served from May 31, 1903 until November 12, 1906, and during his ministry the parsonage was erected at a cost of $3000. During the pastorate of Rev. S.L. Rice, who served from February1907 to January 12, 1912, the concrete block structure was built at a cost of $10,000. This improvement strengthened the work of the church, and during this period the church became self-supporting. The dedication of the sanctuary took place on Sunday, April 18, 1909, with the Rev. Dr. A. Stewart Hartman as the dedicatory speaker. Rev. R. R. Rudolph was called to the pastorate April 15, 1912 and served until May 1, 1913. One month later, Rev. Edmund L. Manges began his work in Lemoyne and remained until he resigned to enter service as a chaplain in World War I. On March 1, 1918, the Rev. Dr. L. A. Bush began a 17 year tenure as pastor. Dr. Bush’s resignation became effective May 1, 1935, and Rev. E. S. Frey, just completing his seminary training at Gettysburg College, was elected to pastorate on June 2. He assumed his duties August 1, 1935. January 23, 1944, dawned cold and misty. It was still dark when Pastor Frey was awakened by the acting custodian, who informed him that the church was on ﬁre and that he had better call the ﬁre department. Less than two hours later, the entire building, with the exception of a part of the Sunday School, was reduced to smoking ruins. That afternoon, without a church of its own, Trinity Lutheran worshipped as it had in 1895 – at the Grace Church. As the new building rose from the ash and rubble, Grace EUB again gave Trinity refuge. The nation was at war, and manpower and material supply was short. But those conditions did not halt the work of reconstruction. In a matter of two months, Wenner
and Fink, a ﬁrm of church architects from Philadelphia, were at work on plans. In addition, a ﬁnancial drive was under way and plans were being made for an Easter Ingathering. A congregational meeting was held that July in the Lemoyne High School auditorium to receive reports and ﬁndings of the building committee and to act upon them. The architects’ plans were accepted, and the committee was instructed to proceed as soon as possible with the construction of the building. By the spring of 1945, the congregation was ready to go ahead but was not permitted to do so by the War Production Board. Japan surrendered in August 1945 and the by the end of the month the government authorized the beginning of construction. On October 7, 1945 ground was broken at a point approximately where the east corner of the basic tower now rises. The original cornerstone is embedded in the south wall. The cornerstone was laid on Palm Sunday, April 14, 1946, with Dr. Abdel Ross Wentz, President of the Lutheran Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, as speaker. The Rev. Mr. Frey conducted the service. Having decided to occupy the building before it was completely ﬁnished; the congregation dedicated the ground ﬂoor of the church house on Aril 16. Thereafter, services of worship were held in Fellowship Hall. Upon completion of the sanctuary, the church was dedicated at services held February 20, 1949. The Rev. Dr. Dwight D. Putman was the speaker. At a special congregational meeting, February 24, 1952, members of Trinity Church voted to remove the old parsonage and authorized Council to proceed with building plans and to obtain bids for a new parsonage. Early in 1952 the Rev. Mr. Frey left Trinity to begin duties at the Church House in New York as Executive Director of the new Department of Church Architecture of the United Lutheran Church in America. On April 23, 1952, Rev. Ralph W. Birk assumed the pastorate. In July 1952, the church debt was liquidated. Ground breaking occurred in September. At services on June 12, 1953, the new parsonage was dedicated. The approximate cost of the building was $44,000. The Rev. Ralph W. Birk was called by Trinity to serve as pastor on March 9, 1952. Prior to coming to Trinity, he served in Newry, Altoona and Manheim. On December 28, 1959, Pastor Birk ended his ministry in order to start a mission Church at Cocoa Beach, FL. The Rev. Allan H. Fenner accepted the call of Trinity on May 10, 1960. He served congregations in Muhlenberg and Williamsburg, VA. Pastor Fenner retired in September 29, 1983. Pastor Alexander J. Daly, Jr., joined the staff as Associate Pastor on April 19, 1964. He was active in youth ministry. He left Trinity June 27, 1971. The Rev. William M. Slee came to us from Brockton, MA. on May 15, 1984 and after six fruitful years, retired June 30, 1990. The Rev. W. Stevens Shipman answered Trinity’s call on June 1, 1991. His clinical pastoral education was at Presbyterian – St. Luke’s Hospital in Chicago. He left Trinity in the fall of 2000. Trinity has been richly served by interim pastors such as the Revs. J. Elmer Leas, Kenneth Zimmerman and Sarah Heintzelman, who served Trinity in the Youth Ministry and was later ordained as a pastor. Mrs. Mary Anne Kingsborough joined the pastoral staff as our Associate in Ministry on September 1, 1991. She resigned January 31, 1995 to work with her husband in a parish in Manchester. Currently Rev. D. Evan Houck, who came to us from Ohio in 2001, serves the congregation. His wife, Carolyn, serves as organist/music director.
FIRST CHRISTIAN CHURCH (Disciples of Christ) The First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) of Lemoyne in 1994 completed 100 years of worshiping God with weekly communion open to all Christians. There is a rich history behind the church, which is added to daily. It is our hope that we continue to be a faithful witness to our faith in God and our willingness to serve one another. In 1832, the founders of our movement, Barton W. Stone, of the “Christian Church,” and Alexander Campbell, of the “Disciples of Christ” merged their groups into one with a formal handshake. The two groups became the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), the ﬁrst Christian body to originate on American soil. Many churches, at that time, also went by the name the Church of Christ. The current church in Lemoyne went through various metamorphoses before it came to be in its present condition. In 1883 the Church of God located in Camp Hill split and soon held services in what was known as the Old Poplar Church. A ﬁre took that church and ground was later purchased on Market Street in Camp Hill where a brick building was completed. The cornerstone was laid in the summer of 1887 and the church was to be called “The Church of the People of God.” Unfortunately, this new church had difﬁculty in meeting its ﬁnancial obligations and four years later it had to discontinue its program and turn the building over to creditors. Although the church lost its building, it did not lose its spiritual spark, and it became the foundation of the work that was to begin later in Riverton (now Lemoyne). A Sunday school class for youth continued in Bridgeport and when the present congregation began its program, these young people were among the ﬁrst to be baptized at the new location. Early in 1893 Mr. H.B. Musser donated a plot of land at the corner of Clinton (now 5th Street) and Hummel Avenue. Members form the original Church of God in Camp Hill came together there and the structure was completed and dedicated on May 13, 1894. The church grew and outgrew its ﬁrst building. In 1914 a new church was planned and the cornerstone for the current structure was laid. Classrooms were added in 1929 and in 1956 a much larger addition was made. In 1994, after
much prayer, discussion and debate it was decided to renovate the present building rather than relocate. Extensive work was done inside which included the installation of an elevette. The current work and building was then dedicated on February 18, 1996. It id hoped that the love, dedication and selﬂess work done in the name of God will continue in this place and the First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) of Lemoyne will always be a beacon of the love and grace of God that is given to all people. The moral, “In All Things Love,” is something that we try to live up to as a sign of our faith. Our church truly believes in the concept of being a “priesthood of all believers.” The people are truly the servants here but we would like to share a list of faithful servants to the church that have given of themselves so that the ministry of this church has continued. Those who have served this church as the pastor are: J.H. Stove, H.F. Lutz, Edmund Walton, H.J. Dudley, E.C. Harris, W.E. Wheeler, Frank Talmage, J.W. Steward, David Donaldson, Hugh Mengis, E.B. Munson, L.F. Drash, Ira P. Harbaugh, Evan, N.O. Weber, Interim Pastor Love, Paul A. Remick, Interim Ernie Ford, Rolland Pﬁle, Maury Hundley, Truman W. Christian, Brian Medcalf-Rose, Interim Don Reese, Terry L. Ford (current pastor), Linda Leiser (lay pastor), Eugene Edwards (lay pastor). Much of this history has been compiled from the writings of W.C. Bowman’s, History of Church of Christ, and Wayne English’s.
CALVARY UNITED METHODIST CHURCH Serving under the Cross —At 700 Market Street, Lemoyne In the same year that Lemoyne became a borough, the ﬁrst steps were taken toward the formation of Calvary United Brethren Church. It was on June 2, 1905, that the Pennsylvania Church Conference Extension Board met in Lemoyne to take action on a proposal previously made that United Brethren churches be established in Lemoyne and Enola. A plot of ground, 124 feet front and 120 feet deep, in the southwest corner of Market and Seventh Streets, was purchased for the sum of $1075. The stated purpose of the congregation was to afford a United Brethren Church home for the many people of that denomination locating in this growing suburb of Harrisburg, to accommodate those who would come with the approaching years, and to help establish the Kingdom of God in the immediately community. At the annual conference held in Washington, DC, in 1905, a mission at Lemoyne was authorized and Rev. W. H. Weaver was assigned to the mission as pastor for the Lemoyne and Enola missions. Early in 1906, M.R. Rhoads, architect of Chambersburg, was authorized to submit plans and speciﬁcations for a church ediﬁce to be erected on the ground purchased earlier. Plans presented to the Board of Missions in sessions at Lemoyne were approved. Soon afterward a Board of Trustees was elected and was directed to proceed at once to erect the Sunday School rooms and to arrange for the erection of the auditorium at a later date, according to the plans approved. On May 23, 1906, the contract for the erection of the Lemoyne chapel was awarded to C. W. Strayer for the sum of $6687.80. Ground breaking serves were held Sunday, May 28, 1906, and the cornerstone was laid August 26 of the same year. The chapel was formally opened for worship February 24, 1907, with dedication serves held Sunday, April 7. Bishop J. S. Mills spoke at the morning and evening services. The cost was $11,335.9, including the ground. This building served as Sunday School room and chapel until the main auditorium was built. The original congregation that worshiped in the chapel was composed of 24 members. Through growing membership and the aid of other churches in the Conference, along with the success of the church program, the debt was paid. The present membership of the church is 308 with an average attendance of 125. We strive to be a warm, welcoming and caring congregation. Our mission statement states the “We are People of God called to make disciples for Jesus Christ; to teach and train people of all ages for ministry; to be actively involved in helping people in need and to encourage and support one another in life and faith. A chancel choir and a young people’s choir as well as two handbell choirs provide the music for the services. There are opportunities for fellowship through softball, dartball and other events sponsored by the church from time to time. Calvary has become an outreach to the community by participating in many fund raising events as well as
serving dinners and soup sales. Holy C.O.W. (Calvary on Wednesdays) has been integral to our community with a tutoring program for students from Washington Heights Elementary School, dinner and a variety of Bible studies and topics of general interest available to the public. The church sponsors Boy Scout Troop 194 and has an active Youth Fellowship program under the leadership of Mrs. Barbara Hawk. Music ministry provides a chancel choir, young peopleâ€™s choir, two handbell choirs as well as a drama/music camp each summer. During the past the church has sponsored the Trinh Van Dinh family, refugees from Vietnam (1979), the Sabit Sisic family from Bosnia (1999) and the Alic family from Bosnia (2001). In 2001 a group of members attended a mission work camp in West Virginia, 2002-Ticonderoga, NY 2003-Elizabeth City, North Carolina and in 2004 they served in Casa Del Pueblo in Washington, D.C. Pastors at Calvary Church have been: W.H. Weaver, 1905-1911, Lemoyne and Enola Churches divided in 1907; G.C. Daugherty, 1911-1913; John I. Green, 1913-1915; P.R. Koontz, 1915-1919; F.T. Kohler, 1919-1922; A.R. Ayres, 1922-1923; C.M. Sparrow, 1923-1926; J.H. Lehman, 1926-1935; Paul E. Cooper, 1935-1941; John W. Fisher, 19411952; Arthur W. Stambaugh, 1952-1959; Marline H. Lauver, 1959-1961; Wilbur F. Lantz, 1961-1963; Russell C. Oyler, 1963-1966; Paul Kleffel, 1966-1977; Gerald J. Stutzman, 1977-1983; Frank W. Bergstrom, 1983-1995; Charles W. Sprenkle, 1995-2002; Ronald S. McElwee, 2002-2004 and David W. Trostle 2004 to the present.
GRACE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH In 1890, a farm belonging to Eliza B. Hummel and the Heirs of R.H. Hummel in the area known as Riverton (the area comprising Bosler, Hummel and Herman Avenues) was laid out in building lots. Within three years, seven families from homes there traveled each Sunday across the Camelback Bridge on foot (a distance of three miles) to attend worship services in the Harrisburg Mission of the Evangelical Association. This Mssion Church was situated where the present State Archives building now stands, North of the Main Capitol Complex. There was no Church on the west bank of the Susquehanna River near Riverton, and the closest Evangelical Association Church on the West Shore was in Carlisle. On May 1, 1893, twelve years before Lemoyne Borough was incorporated, members from the seven families conferred with the minister of the Harrisburg Mission at the home of George Slothower at 310 Hummel Avenue in Riverton. They decided that an Evangelical Association Church should be built if sufﬁcient money could be secured, and that such a Church would have the assistance of the Harrisburg Mission. Five months later, on October 9, 1893, the church was dedicated with twenty Charter Members who transferred their membership from the Harrisburg Mission. Grace Church thus became the ﬁrst congregation in what is now the Borough of Lemoyne. A Sunday School was organized a week later with an enrollment of more than one hundred. Within twenty years, the congregations requested removal from “Mission” status and assumed full responsibility for maintenance of a self-supporting congregation. A Parsonage was built in 1906. Prior to that time the Resident Minister was responsible for obtaining his own living quarters and paid for the same from his annual salary. By 1923, the Congregation had outgrown its physical facility. Consequently, the original church building was razed and what came to be known as the Sunday School Unit was erected in 1924. On October 31, 1932, the congregation in an open meeting approved a resolution to build a sanctuary which was dedicated on March 18, 1934. Continued increasing attendance in the post-World War II years necessitated the erection of a children’s educational unit which was dedicated on April 3, 1960. One of the greatest blessings experienced by the members of Grace Church in these 112 years has been in what we have been able to do for others. The work of missions has never suffered from or been restricted by the need to ﬁnance the work of the local church. Twenty-three ministers have served Grace Church, including our present minister, Reverend Byron K. Krapf. In 2005, we not only look back, but we also look ahead with faith and trust in Almighty God, believing His promise that the Church of Jesus Christ shall prevail.
MINISTERS OF GRACE CHURCH 1893-1895 J. Berg Esenwein 1896-1897
H. P. Walter and E.H. Hartenstine
J. N. Metzger
I. E. Johnson
W. S. Harris
A. H. Irvine
S. P. Remer
W. B. Cox
E. D. Keen
H. T. Searle
C. W. Finkenbinder
Lewis P. Markley
W. E. Pefﬂey
Wendell S. Junkin
W. I. Shambaugh
David J. Minnich
Reed O. Steely
David E. Smith
C. Carroll Bailey
David D. Biser
H. A. Houseal
William F. Woods
OUR DENOMINATIONAL AFFILIATIONS
Howard A. Kerstetter
1893 – Evangelical Association
James E. Barnes
1894 - United Evangelical Church
Jay M. Derk
1922 – The Evangelical Church
Byron K. Krapf
1946 – The Evangelical United Brethren Church 1968 – United Methodist Church
ASSOCIATE MINISTERS 1968-1970 Carl B. Rife 1970-1976 David T. Willard 1977-1982 Michael V. Minnix 1983-1984 Eugene A. Liddick 1985-1987 Robert D. Trego, Jr. 1987-1991 Karen Engle Layman
WEST SHORE BUREAU OF FIRE Although the West Shore Bureau of Fire is the newest ﬁre department in Cumberland County, the predecessors to this organization have a rich and deep history in providing ﬁre protection services to their communities. What the West Shore Bureau of Fire has become is a direct result of that dedication to our citizens whom we have faithfully served for over nine decades. Therefore their history is our history and we would like to share it with you. It all started in the Borough of Lemoyne on June 19, 1905. A meeting was held in the Witman Building at Rossmoyne and Hummel Streets for the purpose of organizing a ﬁre company for the Borough. The temporary chairman was William C. Bowman. Meetings were held once a week and speakers were obtained from surrounding companies, and election of permanent ofﬁcers took place. The Citizens Fire Company #1 of Lemoyne was ofﬁcially recognized by the borough council on July 6, 1906 after nearly a year of efforts by the residents. The ﬁrst by-laws and a constitution were drawn up and approved on July 17, 1906. Its ﬁrst piece of ﬁre equipment was a handmade hose cart that was originally kept in the stable of Dr. John Bowman. The apparatus was moved frequently to various stables and garages throughout the community until 1910 when the ﬁrst ﬁre station was built on a tract of land purchased for $36.00 on Hummel Avenue. The new cart was pulled by hand or with luck, a borrowed horse was hitched to it to provide a faster response. In 1911, the tract of land was sold for $1300, and another lot was purchased on Herman Avenue. The contract for the construction of the permanent ﬁrehouse was awarded to W. E. Bushey for $3375 on March 17, 1914. On September 5 of that year the ﬁre apparatus was moved into the new building. During the construction of the building in 1914, a 304 pound bell inscribed with the company name, date of organization, and date of incorporation was purchased from E.W. Wandinger Co. of Cincinnati, Ohio at a cost of $0.27 per pound, plus charges and freight for a total of $82.71. The bell hangs in the bell tower to this very day. The Wormleysburg Fire Company #1 was also organized around this time and on March 5, 1909 elected their ﬁrst ofﬁcers. The Fire Company consisted of mainly bucket brigades until they purchased their ﬁrst piece of ﬁre equipment from Harrisburg Fire Department, a horse drawn cart that was converted to be pulled by ﬁreﬁghters. The horse cart’s purchase was very timely in that it was used when a tin shop caught ﬁre in Wormleysburg shortly after it was placed into service. Beginning in 1915, the ﬁnancial situation of the Citizens Fire Company became very poor. Relations with the borough council were severed, and the company almost lost their building in order to pay for their mortgage. In 1919, reorganization took place, and the company asked for assistance from both the borough council and the citizens of Lemoyne. Residents of Lemoyne voted to approve a loan for $7000 to purchase the department’s ﬁrst motorized ﬁre apparatus, and American LaFrance, on November 19, 1919. In 1920, the Wormleysburg Fire Company also received its ﬁrst motorized ﬁre apparatus and in 1936 purchased a new diamond T to replace the previous unit. In 1921, a telephone was installed in the Citizens building and the second ﬂoor of the building was rented to the School Board for classrooms. The following year brought the dedication of the Citizens ﬁrst ﬁre truck. The ﬁrst ﬁre alarm system in Lemoyne, with individual street-corner boxes, was installed in 1923 at a cost of $2055. In 1925, the ﬁrst prized for participation in a parade was won by the lads in a parade at Camp Hill. On June 3, 1938, a new Hahn ﬁre truck arrived and the original motorized apparatus was remodeled and delivered in September of the same year. The company was the pride of the West Shore with their beautiful new pieces of apparatus. The borough purchased the new engine, and the remodeled engine was sold to the borough for $1.00 during that same year. In 1936 the Wormleysburg Fire Company purchased a new Diamond T apparatus to replace the previous unit. In 1939 a hose tower was constructed in the rear of the Citizens building. All ﬁre company equipment was turned over to the Lemoyne Borough Council on April 5, 1940. During the war years which followed, many sixteen year old boys and girls replaced the ﬁreﬁghters who were swerving our country during World War II. It was toward the end of the war that these
young men and women helped ﬁght ﬁres; one which destroyed the Washington Heights School and another destroyed Trinity Lutheran Church, both in Lemoyne. Although both companies had immense pride in their respective ﬁre companies, they continued to assist each other in times of need and sought out ways to better provide service to their communities. Toward that end, the Citizens Fire Company placed in service an emergency unit to hold rescue equipment in 1951. This gave them three pieces of ﬁre apparatus to squeeze into a small two bay station. As a result, a new building addition was constructed beginning in 1952. In 1953 they added three bays to accommodate a combination rescue/pumper unit, the ﬁrst one in the area. This unit was featured at the International Fire Chiefs Conference in Philadelphia before being placed into service. This unit boasted such features as deep rescue style compartments, enhanced pumping capabilities as well as ﬂow gages on each outlet to better determine ﬁe ﬂows needed. Citizens Fire Company also replaced their 1959 Rescue with a new 1983 Mac/ Swab rescue unit. They also replaced the 1974 air wagon with a new unit in 1985. The older are unit was then redesigned and became Utility 11. In 1988 Citizens Fire Company also took delivery of a KME apparatus, which replaced the aging 1960 vintage Ford pumpers. In 1992 Wormleysburg sent their Hahn pumper to Emergency One fore a complete rebuilding on a new chassis, which included a totally enclosed cab for ﬁreﬁghters’ safety. During the late 1980’s both ﬁre companies provided a valuable service to Cumberland County with the formation of the Special Hazards Operations Team, which provided Hazardous Materials response to the area. This service is still being provided by both stations utilizing HAZMAT units 1-13 and 2-13.Also during the 1980’s, both ﬁre companies worked to form a new Mutual Aid Force, “Battalion One”, which utilizes the services of four communities’ resources during the ﬁre emergencies. In addition to Lemoyne and Wormleysburg, Camp Hill and New Cumberland boroughs worked together to standardize equipment, tactics and response to each community. This was the start of the possibility of creating a regional ﬁre service to provide better protection to the area. The Battalion has recently expanded to include Fairview Township Fire Department of York County. In 1996, Lemoyne received a new Emergency One squad/pumper combination to replace both the 1983 Mack/Swab Rescue and the 1976 ﬁre engine with this unit. This unit featured enclosed seating as well as an enclosed pump panel with an enhanced Compressed Air Foam ﬁre suppression system. This was the ﬁrst such unit in the entire Central Pennsylvania area, and has been utilized in various counties throughout the Commonwealth. In 1997, talks were started by both communities to form what is now the West Shore Bureau of Fire. This new organization was ofﬁcially formed on January 1, 1998, and has been providing ﬁre and safety services to the communities since that time. In February of that year, our new organization was faced with a major ﬁre at the West shore Farmers Market, which went to four alarms before under control. During this ﬁre our new organization performed exceptionally and effectively. There were no ﬁreﬁghter or civilian injuries during the seven days that the companies were on the scene. We could not have accomplished this without the cooperation and efforts of our volunteers as well as the efforts of the mutual aid companies that assisted us. The ﬁrst major ﬁre had been handled, and it was time to tackle the ﬁrst major purchase of the new organization. A new 1999 Emergency One air unity was purchased, and is housed at Station 1. Our future plans call for the replacement of the apparatus on a regular basis. In 2002, the West Shore Bureau of Fire was assigned a new company number. Company 13 came into existence with Station 1 in Lemoyne, the former Company 11, and Station 2 in Wormleysburg, the former Company 15. Station 1 presently houses Engine 2-13, Utility 2-13, Hazmat 2-13 and Trafﬁc 13 (Fire Police). We are very proud of our organization and also of the individual histories of the companies that helped make our organization what it is today. Reﬂecting on our proud past, we look forward to the future, with renewed dedication to continue providing outstanding service to our communities.
W. M. Sheaffer Hardware, Inc. 307 Market Street Lemoyne, PA 17043 W. M. Sheaffer opened for business on August 9, 1914. In 1922 he extended it an additional 54 feet. It was incorporated in 1950. W. M. Sheaffer and his son, W. S. Sheaffer owned and operated the store until it closed in 1971 It is was the oldest hardware store on the West Shore.
}À>ÌÕ>ÌÃÊ iÞiÊ ÀÕ} Ê9ÕÀÊÀÃÌÊ £ääÊ9i>ÀÃt -«ÃÀi`Ê Þ\ iÌiÞ ÃÃV>ÌiÃ]Ê°*°
Happy 100 Lemoyne!
ED LANK KITCHENS, INC 313 Market St., Lemoyne PA Edward Lank, founder of Ed Lank Kitchens, Inc. was born in 1925 “On the Hill” in Harrisburg. He attended John Harris High School, and after graduation in 1942, went to Bucknell University. He joined the Navy in 1943, and after obtaining his Ensign’s Commission, served in the amphibious forces in the Paciﬁc. After discharge he returned to ﬁnish his education at Bucknell, and graduated in 1948. He married Nance Baldwin, and together they raised four children. After graduation he joined his father O.B. Lank and two brothers in the downtown Harrisburg appliance business, O.B. Lank & Sons. This was primarily an appliance sales company, but during his time there, they entered the kitchen business. He attended his ﬁrst design school with the General Electric Company in 1950, and in the coming years attended other cabinetry manufacturers design training courses. In 1964 he left the business and opened the store in its present location on Market Street. The building was owned by J. Harlan Miller who built the building, and operated a grocery store in the east side of the building for many years. AT the time Lank moved into the showroom, the west side of the building was occupied by Thomas & Gibney appliance store. The east showroom had been previously rented by Dave Opperman as an electrical store. In 1967 he purchased the building which contains six apartments. After Thomas & Gibney closed, Alex Minoff opened the Video Center in the west showroom. After the Video Center moved, the kitchen showroom was expanded to include the entire ﬁrst level. The showroom has become one of the ﬁnest collections of custom kitchen displays in the area, featuring primarily Wood Mode and Brookhaven brand cabinetry. In 1992 Ed Lank sold his business to Roland Stock, who had worked with him since 1979. Mr. Stock moved to the area from Texas when he married Melissa Myers. Mr. Lank ﬁnally retired in 1994, but remained active in the borough, and served for twelve years on Borough Council, and as president for eight years. Ed Lank Kitchens, Inc. continues its proud tradition of offering high-quality design, sales, and installation of ﬁne custom cabinetry and appliances. Over the 40 years in business they have received many awards and accolades for both sales and outstanding installations.
Lemoyne! The First 100! As the One Hundredth Anniversary time for Lemoyne approaches, we remember a growing, achieving community as it made it’s way through the years of the Twentieth Century and before. From the borough’s beginnings to the current busy community, the story has been one of progress and accomplishment. So in this year, two thousand and ﬁve, we take time to remember the past in our greeting for a Happy Birthday and at the same time, to toast many happy returns of this exciting day. How far we’ve come and how far we will continue to go together. It all began before the arrival of the white man when the Cumberland Valley was home for two tribes of Indians – the Delawares and Shawnees. Being forced to leave their original home in Florida because of misbehavior, the Shawnee tribe split into two groups, one of which remained in the Ohio Valley while the second settled in the Cumberland Valley with the permission of the Delawares, who had always lived here. With the coming of the white man many of the Indians began to migrate westward, where they contacted the French. The English, not wishing the French to gain their friendship, tried to keep them in this area by settling them in the section of the Manor of Louther, the area of land from the Susquehanna River westward for six miles between Yellow Breeches and
Conodoquinet Creeks. A portion of the land now comprising New Cumberland was granted to Peter Chartier, a Frenchman who lived with the Indians. The English plan failed, and the land was left
open for settlement. Soon the Shawnee Indians removed to Ohio and never occupied the manor after it was surveyed. Tobias Hendricks of Lancaster County was permitted to live on the manor as caretaker. The survey made in 1765 shows his house at the northeast side of the present intersection of Market and 24th Streets, Camp Hill. The ﬁrst evidence of what was later to become Lemoyne was Kelso’s Ferry, the west end of the Harris Ferry. The old stone home of William Kelso is believed to have been built as early as 1724. The ferry probably began to function in 1769. The enterprise proved successful because of its location at the center of transportation, communication and business in this area. A tavern was kept in conjunction with the ferry. An interesting note concerning the colonial history of the area is taken from a letter written by Edward Shippen of Lancaster to Governor Morrison, July 25, 1755: “I think Barney Hughes, and John Semple, with John Harris, to be very suitable men to take care of the cattle on this side of the River; and that Tobias Hendricks is a proper person to have ye management of them, if you should conclude to bring them no farther than to his house; and he lives on the Manor; but in this last case, Mr. Swaine ought to view ye food in the manor himself.” The gentlemen were concerned with the problems relating to General Braddock’s campaign in that year. In fact, Braddock had already been defeated, though Shippen had not yet heard the news. Until this time Pennsylvanians believed
the Indians to be friendly, judging from their experience with them. The Penns Creek Massacre on October 6, 1755, near the present Selinsgrove, taught them dif-
ferently. On October 25 a party that went to Shamokin, (Sunbury) was also attacked by Indians. About the same time word was received that a force of 1500 French and Indians was on it’s way down the Susquehanna’s West Branch to attack Pennsylvania. Though the report proved false, people prepared for invasion, and on August 22 the Assembly voted 1000 guns and ammunition for frontier settlers. So it was that Tobias Hendricks applied for arms for the people of this neighborhood: “I understand that the Governor and you with the Rest of the Gentlemen have been so good as to allow Arms and Ammunition, for the Defense of this Fort and the PSons that has Joyned to it which is upwards of one hundred they are very dilligent in making Every thing in Readyness in Case of an attack with Sr we do not know the Night nor hour for by all accounts from the Back parts they are most Shocking. The PSons that is Joyned to this Fort is upon Occation fully determined to go out by Turns to Serch the Woods…” This letter is dated at “Fort Pleasant,” and is the only deﬁnite reference to this fort. Referring to Hendricks’ request, George Stevenson wrote from York, on November 5: “We have sent 53 Men well ﬁtted, from
Continued on next page.
this Town last Monday (Nov. 3) 2 o’clock P.M. & a Doctor some Medicines & what Ammunition we could spare to Tob Hendrix’s to join the English Forces on the most needful Part of the Frontiers…” History has it that the Indian attacks zid not happen here but at the farthest corner of the county, about in the present Fulton County, where 47 of 93 families were killed and 27 plantations burned. Recorded information tells little of what happened to Fort Pleasant but it is assumed that the building of a chain of provincial forts in January 1756, let the settlers to slacken their own efforts. Meanwhile, the settlers remained so hostile to Indians that even a few friendly ones staying at John Harris’ were in danger. On February 4, 1756, Conrad Weiser reported to the Governor: “On the 31st of last Month one James Young came over from Tobias Hendricks, and told me privately in the Presence of John Harris, that above 15 Men with Arms came that Day to Tobias Hendricks in order to come to this Side of the River to Kill the Indians at John Harris’s…” The Provincial Fort failed to protect the settlers in this area and many of them moved to safer places. On August 24, 1756, those who remained sent a petition to the government: “The Humble Supplication of the Remaining part of the Inhabitants of East Penborrow township in Cumberland…made quite uncapable of holding out frontiers Good any Longer…we have agreed with a guard of fourteen men… but we are Not able to pay them…” The petition was sent by “William Chasnut, John Sample, John McCormick, Rodger Walton, Frances McGuire, James McMullen, Samuel McCormick, Tobias Hendrix, Robert McWhiney, and James Silvers.” In the following month Lt. Col. John Armstrong led an attack on the Indian town of Kittanning in an attempt to end Indian attacks on the frontiers. In spite of this, Armstrong reported to the Governor on July 11, 1757, that: “…this Moment I’m informed that four people are kill’d near Tobias Hendrick’s, One at Fort Frederick, and two boys Cap-
tivated in the Upper part of this County.” Another interesting incident in the histry of the area and one not generally known is that the ﬁrst president of the United States, George Washington, passed through here on his way from Harrisburg to Carlisle on October 4, 1794. He said, “On the Cumberland side I found detachment of the Philadelphia Light-Horse to receive me and escort me to Carlisle, 17 miles west, where I arrived about 11.” Some time later Benjamin Franklin passed through on his was from Lancaster to Carlisle. With the building of the ﬁrst “Great Road” from Kelso’s Ferry westward to Hogestown and on toward the Potomac River, the ferry became more prosperous than before. In 1791 a second road, the Trindle Springs Road, was built, connecting Carlisle with the Susquehanna River. During this period the ferry reached it’s peak of success and usefulness. Not until 1813 was the ﬁrst bridge built across the river, and only then did the ferry go out of existence. The ﬁrst school in the Manor of Louther was the “Grogas School” taught by Schoolmaster Campbell, where children were given an elementary education. Large landowners in the area were slave owners. According to their wills, most of the men owned at least two or three slaves. In 1790 the Legislature passed the law for gradual abolishment. The Civil War brought another period of crisis to Lemoyne. In June, 1863, just before the battle of Gettysburg, when Confederate troops were planning a big invasion of Pennsylvania, Lemoyne became a key military point because of it’s location at the center of the transportation area. When it became evident that the southern army intended a northern invasion, Union military authorities created a Department of Susquehanna under Major General Darius Couch, with headquarters in Harrisburg. When General Couch took over on June 12, there were fewer than 250 men organized in the Department. Couch’s efforts to create a local military force were vastly helped by the appear-
ance on June 16 at Camp Hill of a ﬂeeting segment of General Milroy’s command, which had been badly mauled by the Confederates at Winchester, Va. Governor Curtin had only recently issued his call for 50,000 volunteers, and these, plus several New York regiments, began pouring into Pennsylvania to protect Harrisburg and the two bridges spanning in river. The heights on the Cumberland County side were fortiﬁed. Three separate earthworks were thrown up on the Lemoyne side of the river. The eastern one, named Fort Washington, remained as a deep trench and is still evident at the summit of the hill on Old Fort Road. The next breastwork to the west was named Fort Couch. The remains of it, too, are clearly discernible on the west side of Eighth Street, between Ohio and Indiana Avenues, on Washington Heights. A state historical marker at Eighth and Market Streets indicates that this fortiﬁcation was named Fort Washington. Actually, local historians say that the whole network of trenches and breastworks that spanned the heights was named after Washington, with the Eighth Street section named for General Couch. All three offered a full vista of approaches from the west; when they were manned, troops and armament faced in the direction of Oyster’s Point at what is now 31st and Market Streets, Camp Hill. The enemy was expected to approach from that
direction. The third and most westerly fortiﬁcation was not named. No battles were waged here, but the fortiﬁcations were precautions well taken. While they were in the process of being built, Confederate General Jenkins occupied Chambersburg, Carlisle, and, under orders to “take Harrisburg,” advanced as far east as Mechanicsburg. Monday, June 23, General Jenkins’ Confederate cavalry performed a reconnaissance mission near Camp Hill and had a skirmish with a detachment of General Couch’s infantry. Tuesday, June 24, a conﬂict of larger scope took place near Oyster’s Point and again at Sporting Hill on the Carlisle Pike, according to Milton E. Flower’s “History of Cumberland County.” Personal success was enjoyed during this period by only a few men in this area. Among them were the two songs of Jacob Bigler, William and John. They spent their early years in Louther Manor and got their ﬁrst education here. John became a journalist and lawyer, and in 1846 moved to Illinois and from there to California, where he became prominent in politics. From 1852 until 1856 he was Governor of California. William was at ﬁrst a newspaperman, but he, too, had an interest in politics. In 1849 he was sent to the State Senate, where he was elected President. Finally, in 1851, he became Governor of the State, but failed to be re-elected because of the great strength of the American Political
Party. After a long period of comparative inactivity, when the land was owned by the Hummel family, growth and progress began again. Bridgeport became the name of the settlement after completion of the ﬁrst river bridge. When the Camelback Bridge was built, the area south of Market Street was named Riverton. Because of confusion between the names, the entire region became known as Riverton, and the name Bridgeport went out of use. In 1882 the town had only ﬁve houses. Soon after this, in 1888, the managers of the Hummel Estate, deciding that the land was poor, laid out the land in plots and sold it. After this, the business section of the town began to develop. A grocery store, jewelry store, and a bicycle shop were among the ﬁrst places of business. With the growth of the town came the need for certain conveniences. Oil street lamps were installed, and McCoy Sherman was hired by the town fathers as ofﬁcial lamplighter. In 1888 the population had reached approximately 100 persons. The folks could not support the school, so children attended the Municipal School House in New Cumberland. In 1890 the ﬁrst ﬂour mill was established, and later the building was remodeled for use as a dress factory which has since moved to another location. The Lemoyne Hotel moved into the building.
The year 1891 was marked by a great increase in school enrollment. For this reason it was necessary to build a four-room school building at Third and Hummel Avenue. The ﬁrst two teachers were W. C. Bowman and Mrs. Elizabeth Ruth Willis, members of Lemoyne’s oldest families. Still later, in 1894, the Herman Avenue School was erected to serve the increasing enrollment. The ﬁrst school classes in the town were held in a single-story frame house at Fourth and Herman Avenue with Mr. Bowman as teacher, assisted by Miss Lizzie Ruth, later Mrs. C. S. Willis, followed by Zatae J. Smith, later Mrs. G. W. Haggerty. Grace Evangelical Church, presently United Methodist, the Church of Christ, now First Christian, were built in the same year. The congregation of Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church constructed its ﬁrst building in 1906. Until 1896, the town had no post ofﬁce, and all mail was received from Wormleysburg, a small town to the south. When the population reached 800, a post ofﬁce was applied for. The Federal Government decided that a new name would have to be chosen, in order to avoid confusion with Riverton, Va. A town meeting was held, and after much consideration, the name Lemoyne was chosen, in honor of Charles LeMoyne, a French soldier who had explored along the Ohio River and, in his later years, settled south of Harrisburg. Although he had no particular connection with the town, his name was chosen because he had not been honored in any way for his work and the name sounded different and romantic. The ﬁrst Postmaster’s commission appears in this book. The next major problem to be faced by the community was incorporation. The boundaries were settled to include approximately $249,000 worth of taxable property. On May 23, 1905, upon motion by Fillmore Maust and F. E. Beltzhoover, the town was ofﬁcially incorporated. The town was bounded by the Susquehanna
Continued on next page.
River on the east, the Cumberland Valley Railroad on the north, the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad on the south, and the McCormick Estate on the west. It contained 128 acres. On June 27, 1905, ofﬁcers were elected at a meeting in J. W. Stoos’ barber shop. Notices of election were given by John Kimmell with Mr. Stoos as judge and Calvin Coleman and William E. Ross as inspectors of election. H. B. Witman was elected ﬁrst Burgess, and J. K. Probst ﬁrst President of Council. Other members of the ﬁrst Council were Joseph Hammersla, A. A. Thumma, C. M. Musselman, J. C. Ensminger, J. A. Kunkel, and H. E. Leitzel. Caleb Brinton was the ﬁrst attorney for the town, and C. M. Hershey of Harrisburg was the ﬁrst surveyor. He worked for 60 cents per hour and furnished his own assistant. The ﬁrst election was held on the third Tuesday of February, 1906. Many developments were made during the ﬁve years following incorporation. The ﬁrst gas line was laid; Citizens Fire Company was organized; the school was enlarged, and the ﬁrst macadam road was begun on Third Street. The ﬁrst bank was organized, and the ﬁrst hydrants were placed by the water company. In 1915, at two-story brick school building was completed. From time to time, as the need arose, wings were added to the Herman Avenue structure. In 1920 Lemoyne increased in size for the ﬁrst time by annexing the section north of the Pennsylvania Railroad, including the Fort Washington area. More ﬁre protection became necessary, and the borough bought it’s ﬁrst piece of motor-driven ﬁre apparatus and appointed its ﬁrst police ofﬁcer in 1926. The same year found the beginning of construction of a modern one-story high school building. A garbage disposal system was instituted, and free delivery of mail was begun. A short time later the borough increased in size again with the annexation of the land south of the Reading Railroad. By 1930 more room was needed at the high school, and a gymnasium and rooms for cooking, sewing, shop, and chemistry were added.
In the same year, the second bank was established and Lemoyne’s ﬁrst dry cleaning plant was opened. From these beginnings came the Lemoyne of today, which boasts a progressive school system, having merged with surrounding communities to form the West Shore School District, improved roads and highways, expanding town facilities and protection, active church and civic groups, a growing recreational program, developing business and industry, and all the requisites for a comfortable suburban living in a progressive community. Recent developments of note include the consolidations of the Lemoyne Police Department with the Police in Wormleysburg and Citizens Fire Company No. 1 with the Fire Department in Wormleysburg. On the horizon is the master plan for Route 83. These plans, when realized, will impose major changes in the Lowther Street corridor and surrounding area. Our 30+ year old wastewater treatment plant will need to be replaced and the preliminary work has already begun. Camp Hill Borough will continue to have a major roll in wastewater treatment. Essex House, a retirement center for “Gracious Living” was built near 12th and Market Streets. This is an excellent location due to the close proximity of an
ever increasing amount of medical care facilities and ofﬁces in the area. Essex House shuttles residents to the nearby West Shore Plaza and other places close by, taking advantage of Lemoyne’s central location in the Greater Harrisburg Area. The closing of the Herman Avenue Elementary School has opened the possibility of two new municipal buildings to replace the tight quarters at 665 Market Street, and the very aged ﬁre company building on Herman Avenue. Lemoyne’s employees continue with a program of street maintenance and snow and leaf removal that sets a standard of excellence. Our Annual Hometown Day celebration held in September in Memorial Park and the Christmas tree lighting festivities are enjoyed by many residents and neighbors. In 1916 a Christmas tree was erected on a platform on Lemoyne’s square at 3rd (Rossmoyne Street) and Hummel Avenue. Immediately after WWI and annually the Civic Club sponsored a tree on the Washington Heights (Hummel’s) Hill. This continued until the borough planted a tree at their building on Market Street. Adjacent towns soon followed Lemoyne’s example and community trees sprouted in New Cumberland, Camp Hill and Shiremanstown.
Lemoyne’s First 100! Recent developments of note include the consolidations of the Lemoyne Police Department with the Police in Wormleysburg and Citizens Fire Company No. 1 with the Fire Department in Wormleysburg. On the horizon is the master plan for Route 83. These plans, when realized, will impose major changes in the Lowther Street corridor and surrounding area. Our 30+ year old wastewater treatment plant will need to be replaced and the preliminary work has already begun. Camp Hill Borough will continue to have a major roll in wastewater treatment. Essex House, a retirement center for “Gracious Living” was built near 12th and Market Streets. this is an excellent location due to the close proximity of an ever increasing about of medical car facilities and ofﬁces in the area. Essex House shuttles residents to the nearby West Shore Plaza and other places close by, taking advantage of Lemoyne’s central location in the Greater Harrisburg Area. The closing of the Herman Avenue Elementary School has opened up the possibility of two new municipal building to replace the tight quarters at 665 Market Street, and the very aged ﬁre company building on Herman Avenue. Lemoyne’s employees continue with a program of street maintenance and snow and leaf removal that sets a standard of excellence. Our Annual Hometown Day celebration held in September in Memorial Park and the Christmas tree lighting festivities are enjoyed by many resident and neighbors. In 1916 a Christmas tree was erected on a platform on Lemoyne’s square at 3rd (Rossmoyne Street) and Hummel Avenue. Immediately after WWI and annually the Civic Club sponsored a tree on the Washington Heights (Hummel’s) Hill. This continued until the borough planted a tree at their building on Market Street. Adjacent towns soon followed Lemoyne’s example and community trees sprouted in New Cumberland, Camp Hill, and Shiremanstown. Business in Lemoyne has gone through two transitions matching that of countless municipalities across the nation. The Brass foundry is long gone as in Capitol Electric Signs (Penn Neon) that was a long time occupant of the foundry building. Now it houses multiple ofﬁces. The Chain Works, Frazer Lumber, Beetem Lumber, is now the Lemoyne Sleeper Company manufacturer of beds and bedding. The Okeh Dress Company on 3rd Street burned. It’s last use was foam storage for Lemoyne Sleeper Company. A large in-
dustrial plant, American Can Company closed due to an industry changing from steel to plastics. The plant is now two huge trucking warehousing concern. Manbeck’s, originally West Shore Bakery, circa 1915, is now a fabric outlet. The corner grocery store is gone, or is it? Now every gas station sells groceries of some sort! Lafferty & Company is the only lumber yard in town (although wholesale only). Since the megastores like Lowes, Home Depot, etc, have more appeal. Still Lemoyne has a unique character. WE have more musical instrument stores per capita than almost anywhere else. Ironwork and welding is represented by three concerns in town, one at which fabricates truck bodies. The West Shore Farmer’s Market, originally at 5th and Walnut Streets, now at 900 Market Street bounced back from a devastating ﬁre to become more popular then ever. We can still buy a new Ford in town but no longer an Oldsmobile, Chevrolet, or Chrysler. With Lemoyne’s central location and transportation system we are assured of continued prosperity for years to come.
Lemoyne “Hub” For Transportation The comparatively few residents of Lemoyne who can look back across a century to the day of its founding will recall that one of the things chieﬂy responsible for their town’s creation was the electric street railway…The trolley was the tool used by the real-estate developers of that day and generation…Not that there were no other forms of transportation available…It just happened that the electric cars, operating on frequent schedules at low fare rates, were doing a job that the steam railroads could not and would not do…As for highway travel in those days, the least said the better…Poor Old Dobbin, toiling over the alternately muddy and dusty roads with his load of freight or passengers, just could not make the speed that the public was already clamoring for…Automobiles were only inventors’ babies and rich men’s toys…The electric railway ﬁlled the need for local transportation…For a nickel it got you there and back in a hurry with no fuss or muss, and had been doing so on the West Shore for ten years before the community of Riverton, and it’s neighbor Bridgeport, became Lemoyne…But, while this particular agency was transporting people, it was the already long-established Cumberland Valley Railroad that brought in the necessities of life. Just as the Harrisburg & Mechanicsburg Electric Railway had been largely responsible for the creation of Lemoyne in 1905, so the C.V.R.R., nearly sixty years previously, brought about the birth of the community of Bridgeport…The railroad had been opened from the west bank of the Susquehanna to Carlisle in 1837 and from then on until November 1, 1839, Bridgeport was the eastern terminal…Passengers and freight to and from Harrisburg were carried across the old Camelback Bridge by stage and wagon…After completion of the ﬁrst C.V.R.R. bridge, Bridgeport relapsed into the status of a way station, but only for a short time…In the year 1846, no provision was made for any other trafﬁc than rail…During the interim, Lemoyne (Bridgeport) again assumed the importance of a railroad terminal and homes for railroad workers began to go up and a few business places were established…Even when rail travel again reached Harrisburg, the little community on the West Shore retained what expansion had been made, due to the establishment of an engine terminal and railroad repair shops here. A most unusual distinction came to out community in the year 1838, when ofﬁcials of the Cumberland Valley Railroad rebuilt a passenger coach into the ﬁrst sleeping car ever to be put into service on any railroad in the United States… The accommodations were rough indeed, but even the hardy traveler of those far-off days welcomed the blanket-covered wooden shelves that served as berths…This travel innovation was due to the late arrival of the connecting stage coach and the complaints of passengers about being forced to sit up the balance of the night in a railroad coach…At ﬁrst the car was drawn by horses between Bridgeport, Carlisle and Chambersburg, but the journey of six hours proved too slow and soon a steam locomotive furnished the power…The sleeping car did not last too long, for train speeds were picking up and soon the trip to Chambersburg and vice versa tool only about three hours and the passengers ﬁgured that it wasn’t worth going to bed for that short time. Railroad transportation continued to grow…The rails of the York & Cumberland Railroad reached Lemoyne in 1851, providing a much faster means of travel between Harrisburg, York and Baltimore, and the C.V.R.R. continued on to Hagerstown, Md., ﬁnally reaching Winchester, Va., shortly after the Civil War… During that conﬂict Bridgeport became the scene of intense activity…Crowded troop trains, ammunition and supply trains rolled through the community at all hours of the day and night, and the men employed at the engine terminal and in the shops labored ‘round the clock…When the gray horde of the Rebel Army rolled up the Cumberland Valley town Bridgeport and Harrisburg, trenches were dug about the railroad facilities and troops stationed to guard them…After the
excitement of the war days, life in our community slowed down for awhile…Folks going to Harrisburg or to points down the Cumberland Valley could ride the infrequent passenger trains, or travel by horse-drawn vehicles over the still abominable highways…As the century drew to a close, a group of Harrisburg businessmen viewing the possibilities for increased business from a highly populated West Shore, did the only thing they could do to assure their aim…A local transportation system in the form of the Harrisburg & Mechanicsburg Electric Railway was constructed through the then sparsely settled territory lying between the small communities of New Cumberland, Riverton, Bridgeport, Wormleysburg and West Fairview, creating many desirable homesites adjacent to its right-of way. And so the trolley-system grew and by and by became so busy and proﬁtable that the gentlemen who then controlled the destinies of the Cumberland Valley Railroad began to view it as a formidable competitor…Using the “if you can’t beat ‘em – join ‘em” logic, they proceeded to buy out the Harrisburg & Mechanicsburg system and it’s underliers…Thus the Valley Traction system came into being in 1903…Immediately the new owners launched into an ambitious program of improvements and expansion…New track was laid, new cars bought and placed in service, scheduled speeded up and a protective signal system installed…Lemoyne and the West Shore enjoyed top-ﬂight transportation, thanks to the Cumberland Valley Railroad…Along about 1912, ofﬁcials of the steam road began to realize that the trolley was not as bad a competitor as they had ﬁrst thought…Besides, business on their own line was still growing…In the fall of that year they sold the Valley Traction system to a group of interested businessmen who immediately formed that Valley Railways Company to take over the property…The ofﬁces and repair shops still remained in Lemoyne and operation of the transportation system carried on with little change until 1926…With the acquisition that year of the trolley line and its subsidiary company the United Electric Company by the giant Lehigh Power Securities Corp., the fate of the transportation system was sealed…The power company was manifestly disinterested in the transportation agency it had acquired, and between that condition and the growing number of privately owned automobiles with the attending improvement of highways the day of the trolley on the West Shore was fast drawing to a close…In 1930 the ﬁrst buses arrived for service between Mechanicsburg and Carlisle, when that stretch of Valley Railroads track was abandoned. Just one year later the rail system shrank again as that section between Mechanicsburg and Camp Hill, the line from Enola to Marysville and the White Hill were ripped up to be replaced by buses on the highway…For ﬁve more years the faithful trolleys continued to roll between New Cumberland, Camp Hill, Enola and Harrisburg, but in 1936 the catastrophic March ﬂood sealed off Harrisburg from trolley service by damaging the Walnut Street Bridge…For a very short time there was a faint hope of restoring this service by using lighter weight cars imported from the power company’s Allentown, Pa., property, but between the pressure of local automobile clubs and the State Highway Department this movement was scotched before it got started right…Legalities forced the continuance of local trolley service on the remaining segment of the system until April 9, 1938, when the last trolley on the West Shore rolled to a halt in front of the old car barn and ofﬁce building in Lemoyne…Shortly thereafter, wishing to rid itself of this transportation headache, the power company divested itself of its interests to a ﬁrm called the Valley Transportation Company and headed by State Senator Snowden. Labor difﬁculties and the pressing need for replacing rolling stock, ill suited for its use and in bad mechanical condition, ﬁnally brought another change in management in the year 190…At this time Joseph Succa, of Jamaica, N.Y., a young man trained in modern transportation problems on his father’s Jamaica Bus Lines, took over the reins of the Valley Transportation Company and has since demonstrated his ability by providing Lemoyne and our West Shore with a local transportation system of which we all can be proud. One if inclined to pause for a moment in the mad rush of modern life and wonder just what the ﬁrst white man ever to lay eyes on the site of our town, that intrepid French explorer, Etienne Brule, would think if he came gliding down the Susquehanna in a birchbark canoe today, more than three hundred years after his ﬁrst journey this way, or what you and I might think if we came back to Lemoyne three hundred years from now…What will be the means of transportation then?
Railroads Records show 23 industries once served by rail throughout Lemoyne’s history. In the 1990’s the last switch was removed from a siding at Seventh Street. Once Jacob Probst Coal Yard, then public delivery, ﬁnally a siding to set off defective “shop” cars from road freight trains. This year the rail line parallel to State Street celebrates it’s 170th year. (168 years of continuous operation). Norfolk Southern’s proposed “Lemoyne Connection,” through the lower end of Municipal Park will render that line surplus. It will be turned over to Capitol Area Transit for the future Rapid Transit passenger line. One duplex house on Hummel Avenue is the last of many built by the Cumberland Valley Railroad for its once many employees. A row of them on Bosler Avenue burned one night in the 1920’s. When the former Reading Line, (crosses 10th and 7th Streets) was owned by Conrail, trafﬁc was reduced in favor of other routes. Norfolk Southern now uses this route as a mainline and will utilize it to its fullest potential.
Lemoyne American Legion Post 914 The Lemoyne American Legion was established in 1946. It had over 350 members in its hay day and a Post Home at 9th & Market Streets. In the 1960â€™s the Home was sold and a new post home was built on borough property on the East End of Herman Avenue. Along with the new home the American Legion built a community swimming pool which it operated for several years. The Legion fell into hard times but in the seventies, the swimming pool was given to the Borough of Lemoyne for their operation and maintenance. The borough has been operating the pool ever since. The Legion retained the privilege for operating the food concessions at the pool. Today it operates the candy vending operation and the borough operates the soda & ice cream machines. In 2005, the Lemoyne American Legion is still functioning without a Home, but with over 100 members. It is open to all Veterans from all wars and conďŹ‚icts involving the United States. Bob Farver has been Commander since 1980 and Vity Grabauski has been Post Adjutant since 1981. The post does not meet on any regular schedule as the membership prefers not to have another meeting to attend. Memberships are being accepted.
WW II Veterans Commander – Robert W. Farver MEMBERSHIP Harry J. Aikens Chester Ambrose Gene Arnold John H. Bender Everett E. Bennett Satit Bintavihok Vincent D. Blackwell Kenneth L. Bolinger Jutta Bradley L. Richard Bushman Paul E. Carnathan Donald Carter Raymon G. Clark John Colberg James A. Cole Spencer J. Cook Harold E. DeGarmo Charles S. Draugelis David E. Dunkle Kenneth Erb Robert W. Farver Clair J. Fetrow Thomas J. Fiorenza Alfred A. Forte Gerald J. Galen Robert J. Garman Kevin L. Gasswint James R. Gill Leroy J. Glancey John D. Goodwin Milton S. Gouse, Jr. Vity J. Grabauskas Lee Graves Leslie C. Hall, Jr. James K. Harvey Tom Holleran George C. Hoopy Fred M. Hosler Reese W. Jenkins Fred A. Johnson Eugene C. Kapp Elmer M. Karns Lee E. Keller Paul L. Kinter William C. Koehler Glenn R. Kurzenknabe Edward A. Lawrence James E. Lee
Richard Lehman James J. Lexa Michael J. Long Frank MacHamer William W. Mattern Albert V. McCotter Jerry W. McDonnell Robert B. Miller Lorene M. Mumma Wallace B. O’Neal Henry F. Packer, Jr. Arthur J. Parks Herbert N. Preble David Pronts Joseph J. Prusaitis, Jr. Richard J. Pusey David E. Riethmiller Michael Rochkind David K. Rudy Louis E. Sabo Hugh Saylor Michael Schreiber George P. Schuller Arthur W. Shearer Charles E. Shettel Edmond M. Shipp James E. Siemons John W. Sims Richard T. Skonezney Charles H. Smiley Truman M. Sminkey Robert C. Smith Oscar E. Squire Bruce Stauffer Chad R. Strawser Floyd K. String Charles F. Sullivan Thomas J. Sullivan William G. Sutton William E. Swartz Frank M. Thurman Harry J. Trevenen Michael T. Uveges Frank P. Venis Joseph J. Wachs, Jr. Kalvin P. Walter William G. Watson William B. Weigel Robert J. Wentz
Adjutant – Vity J. Grabauskas Robert A. William, Sr. William Wilson Raymond Wright, Jr. William C. Zimmerman WORLD WAR II MEN AND WOMEN OF LEMOYNE IN OUR ARMED SERVICES ROLL OF HONOR Addams, Robert W. Africa, Daniel D. Africa, Robert G. Albert, Harold Andrews, John E. Arnold, William L. Artley, Arlington Asper, William W. Baker, Daniel Baker, David Baker, Glenn Baker, Leander E. Baker, William Barton, Harold T. Barton, J. Richard Beelman, Samuel, Jr. Behman, John E. Belknap, Richard H. Biesecker, H.C., Jr. Bittner, WM. D. Bloucher, Joseph C. Blumenstein, Glenn Boas, George L., Jr. Bohner, Albert M. Book, Donald E. Book, Edward W. Bowman, John W. Bowman, Marlin E. Bowman, Paul, Jr. Bowman, Robert M. Bowser, Eugene Brinkley, Annabelle Brown, Richard E. Brown, Robert G. Brymesser, Lee E. Bufﬁngton, Donald A. Bufﬁngton, Paul S. Burk, Geraldine Burket, Wallace A. Bushey, Lester L.
Byrem, Levier R. Cain, Harold F. Carbaugh, John E., Jr. Carine, Jerome C. Carpenter, Jack Carr, David S. Chimko, John Christine, Gerald E. Clark, Richard L. Clay, Harvey W. Clay, Robert B. Clements, Theodore Conley, Donald Conley, Melvin E. Corby, Frederick C. Corpman, Wilbur M. Critchley, Henry A. Critchley, Luther F., Jr. Crow, Charles Crow, David L. Crow, David W. Crow, Lloyd R. Crow, Ralph L. Crowl, Cloyd A. Crowl, Warren G. D’Agostino, Arthur D’Agostino, Frank D’Agostino, John, Jr. D’Agostino, William Dalbey, WM. W., Jr. Davis, Irvin Davis, Leroy Day, John C. Deckman, Dalton H. Deitz, Warren H. Dietz, Walter L., Jr. Dietrick, John R. Dissinger, Kenneth L. Doyle, John S. Doyle, Robert D. Doyle, Wayne G. Dress, John J. Eckels, Harry H. Eckert, Paul R. Eichelberger, Paul Elder, Norman Ellis, Eugene Ellis, Jeanette Emrick, Twite S.
WW II Veterans Commander – Robert W. Farver Enck, Glenn Roy Engle, Fred Engle, Gordon Ensminger, Harvey D. Eppler, G. C. Eppler, Mervine A. Eppler, Maurice L., Jr. Eppler, Robert W. Eppley, Clarence G. Eppley, David R. Erb, Kenneth E. Ernst, Maurice H. Eshelman, David I. Eshelman, Mervin Eshelman, Norman E., Jr. Etshied, Karl Everhart, Edgar S. Evehart, Wilson C. Everetts, Lorin D. Fair, William E. Falcon, Anthony, Jr. Farver, Robert W. Fasick, Herbert A. Faust, William Fawber, Donald E. Fettrow, Marlyn W. Fettrow, Preston W. Fickes, Warren H. Finkenbinder, Kenneth Fisher, Max C. Foust, David N. Fox, Gerald R. Frank, Dean Frazer, Roy M. Friga, George Fry, James K. Fry, Walter N. Gallagher, C. D., Jr. Gardner, Geo S. Gardner, William Garlinger, Ambrose J. Garlinger, Leroy Gassert, William R. Geib, Robert S. Gill, Melvin W. Gill, Paul E. Gill, Thomas S. Glant, John M., Jr. Glassmyer, Edward
Gochenour, Russel Golden, Daniel J. Grandon, John A. Green, Andrew W. Greenawalt, Clyde W. Gress, Lynn Grimes, Paul H. Groninger, Herman Groninger, Irvin Groninger, Jay M. Grove, Melvin K., Jr. Grubb, Charles M. Grubb, Earl E., Jr. Grubb, Russel B. Haggerty, James G. Hale, Jack K. Hambright, John H. Hamilton, James A. Hamsher, Robert Hamsher, Ross B. Hartman, William H. Heagy, Stuart M. Heffelbower, James A. Heiser, James C. Heller, Edward Helman, Myrvine C. Helman, Paul C. Hensel, Miriam Higgins, Arthur C., Jr. Hobaugh, Raymond Hoeﬂich, Joseph Hoffman, Austin G. Hoffman, Willard C. Hogentogler, Richard G. Hoopy, George C. Hoopy, Paul B. Houck, Howard G., Jr. Huber, Harry Hudson, Edwin Hummer, William C. Humphrey’s, James H. Hyde, Richard E. Jacobs, Edward Johnson, Addison E., Jr. Johnsonbaugh, F. L., Jr. Jones, Howard F. Kable, Amos B. Kann, Kenneth M. Karns, Elmer M.
Adjutant – Vity J. Grabauskas Kauffman, Donald E. Kauffman, John Kautz, Paul S. Keating, Benj. F., Jr. Keffer, David S. Keffer, Henry O. Keffer, Karl M. Keller, Albert C. Keller, Charles M. Keller, Leroy P. Kent, Clifton T. Kent, Donald T. Kerlin, Fred G. Kimmel, Paul Kinard, Thomas A. Kinter, Chester A., Jr. Kinter, Edwin Kinter, Francis E. Kinter, Marlin E. Kinter, Paul L. Kinter, Ralph M. Kinter, Theron Kirsch, Carl Kirsch, Eugene Kirsch, George L. Kister, Alfred D. Kitch, John H. Kitzmiller, Glenn Kitzmiller, Richard Kitzmiller, W. J., Jr. Kline, William Knerr, Richard Kohler, Charles Kohler, Walter V. Kouck, Wilbur Kramer, George Krebs, Dale Kuhn, Frank H. Lambert, Robert Lange, William E. Lau, Harry M. Leach, James M. Lebo, Robert F., Jr. Lerew, Harry M. Lerew, Jack C. Leisenring, W. Marks Leisher, Oscar K. Leitzel, Merrill Leitzel, Richard E.
Lemke, Fred Leone, Peter Lighty, Raymond C. Lindenberger, Brooke H. Lindenberger, Frank W. Lohry, Charles E. Lovejoy, Cleo E. Lucas, Richard M. Ludlow, John M. Ludwig, Earl Lyter, George H. Lyter, John Melpezzi, Angelo J. Marquart, Ralph E. Martin, Dale W. Martin, Jack J. Masonheimer, Arthur Masonheimer, James Masterson, Bobby Mattern, Jack B. Mattern Wm. E. McCandeless, W. Paul McCormick, M.W. McCormick, R.F. Jr. McCormick, William S. McCully, Thomas R. McElwee, James C. McFadden, H.E. McFadden, J.C. Jr. McFadden, Robert M. McMurray, C.H. Messimer, Richard Metz, Carl E. Miley, Lois M. Miller, John Miller, Joseph D. Miller, Leonard C. Miller, Marion Miller, Robert H. Miller, William Miller,Vance B. Miner, Barry *Monismith, Leo Moore, Leroy Morton, James N. Mosser, ray Mucher, Edgar F. Mugler, Henry Mull, Ray E.
WW II Veterans Commander – Robert W. Farver Mumma, Lorene M. Musselman, David L. Musselman, Donald C. Myers, Arthur Myers, George N. Myers, J. Richard Myers, Maynard D. Myers, Raymond A., Jr. Myers, Thomas I. Myers, Walter Naftzinger, Charles W. Nebinger, Mark E. Neff, Harold B. Neidhammer, Clyde S. Neyhart, Jay K., Jr. Neyhart, Truman E. Nitchman, Chauncey E. Nolen, Edward E. Norford, Leland O’Hara, Bruce O’Hara, John A. Oho, Creedin H. Oliver, Spencer J. Owens, Charles C. Owens, Joseph F., Jr. Page, Harry L. Palese, Alfred Palmer, Edward B. Palmer, Ray Palmer, Richard G. Palmer, T.V., Jr. Parson, Harry Parson, James S. Parson, John R. Peterman, Parker C. Peters, Harry L. Pifer, Alvin Porr, William Pryor, Delbert A. Quigley, Harmon L., Jr. Reed, Robert G. Reeser, Marlin Reeser, Robert O. Rehm, Mary F. Reisch, Carl Reisch, John E. Reneker, Clarence Rezzo, Anthony Rhoads, Wm.L., Jr. Rhodes, C. Bradley
Richt, Helen Richt, Robert R. Rickert, Marvin L. Ritter, Paul E. Rizio, Charles Rockwell, James A., Jr. Ross, D.A. Sawyer, Fred S. Sawyer, James E. Sawyer, Raymond W., JR. Sebourn, Kenneth Schenck, Nevin Shaull, Wayne Shaffer, William J. Shambaugh, Chester U. Shambaugh, Edward H. Shank, Ralph Sheaffer, William S. Shealer, John Shearer, Elmer J. Shelley, Benjamin Shelton, Frank E. Shelton, Lawrence A. Shenck, Harry J. Sherwood, Emerson D. Shetrone, Melvin Shuser, Nathan Simmons, Ralph B. Slaseman, Elmer J. Smith, Andrew D, Smith, Charles F. Smith, Howard L. Smith, John E. Smith, J.M., Jr. Smith, Robert Smith, Ross Smith, Walter F. Snell, Herman Snell, James Snell, John Snell, Mary Jane Snoke, John W. Snoke, Paul S. Snyder, Raymond P. Snyder Richard C, Snyder, Robert L. Sober, Wilford C. Spanos, John Spidle, John W. Spidle, Kenneth R.
Adjutant – Vity J. Grabauskas Spidle, Robert L. Sprinkle, Ted A. Squire, Pressley Starry, Theodore Stetler, Paul R. Stone, Jonathan W. Stoner, Bruce Stoner, James Stratford, Joseph W. Stuckey, Merl L. Sutton, Robert H. Sweeney, Dale Taylor, Eugene K. Taylor, Lynn L. Taylor, Wayne r. Thomas, Bruce H. Thomas, Charles Thomas, John J., Jr. Thrush, Neil H. Timko, John H. Valle, William F. Waddell, Newell R. Waddell, Walter Wagoner, Harry L., Jr. Wagner, Jack D. Wallace, Andrew S. Wallace, George Wallace, James A. Walsh, Howard W. Warﬁeld, Walter C. Watts, Sherwood F. Weaver, Paul B., Jr. Weidner, Lester Weiser, Richard C. Wells, Wendell H. Wentz, Henry W. Wertz, Nellie Wertz, Millard E. Wilson, Harold I. Wilson, James L. Wilson,William S. Winters, Theodore Wistrand, Robert B. Wolfe, Donald H. Wolfe, Harold C. Wolfe, Henry H., Jr. Wolfe, Jack D. Wolfe, Robert L. Wolfensberger, James O. Wolff, Norman E.
Wrightstone, C.E. Wrightstone, Robert Yoder, Charles R. Young, Dice L. Young, Harry Young, Marion Zarker, Jean Zeigler, William Zimmerman, Gerald R. Zimmerman, Raymond, Jr. * Killed This may not be a complete list, but it is the best known as of 2005 Additional World War II Names 1945 Lemoyne Glenn Blumenstein Eugene Bowser Donald Bretz Charles Crow Gordon Engle Kenneth Erb Karl Etshied James Fanon Robert Farver William faust Donald Fawber Max Fisher Eugene Kirsch Charles Kohler Wesley Leisenring John Lyter Arthur Masonheimer James Masonheimer Harold Miller Marion Miller Barry Miner Parker Peterman Bradley Rhodes Nevin Schenck Paul Snoke Lee Stumbaugh Walter waddell Robert Wrightstone Raymond Zimmerman Jr.
The history of any Community is not complete without reference to the basic reason for its prosperity – the business and industry which create employment and dispense ﬁnancial aid in the form of wages, taxes and purchases from other local sources…In most cases the persons owning or managing these ventures are local residents and thus theirs is a very vital contribution to the welfare of the community…Such were, and are, the businessmen and women of Lemoyne, and this is their story. Glancing at the record, we discover that George Sloth owner established the town’s ﬁrst grocery store in a building on the present site of Dr. J. D. Graham’s dental ofﬁce on Third Street....As agricultural manufacturing plant that made various types of farm implements, buggies and wagons was Lemoyne’s ﬁrst industry and was located near the present site of Manbeck’s Bakery on Bosler Avenue....Those who can remember when a nickel bought a heaping dish of homemade ice cream will recall that Alan Ross operated the ﬁrst ice cream parlor....The Ryder Brothers, Anthony and Newell, sold the ﬁrst bottled milk in the borough and delivered it in an express wagon, but Englehart Eichelberger had the honor of being the town’s ﬁrst milkman.... He served his customers from a huge tin tank with a brass spigot, which was hauled about in an old-fashioned farmer’s market wagon.
master and located the headquarters on Bosler Avenue near Third Street…Another ﬁrst was the Musselman Funeral Parlor and Furniture Store, which still serves the West Shore in the former capacity…Lewis Bricker was the town’s ﬁrst baker, and Jeffrey Newcomer conducted the ﬁrst real estate ofﬁce…Lemoyne’s ﬁrst and only facilities for shoeing horses and furnishing blacksmithing in all its phases was that well-known place of business on Herman Avenue run by William Fetrow…The ﬁrst coal yard and grain and feed business was established by Charles Willis, while Samuel B. Leach owned and operated the ﬁrst cement block and building supply business in the borough…And if you happened to be there the day the ﬁrst trolley car ran between Lemoyne and New Cumberland, you would have paid your ﬁvecent fare to Robert Sweeney, the conductor, while William Sherman, the ﬁrst motorman, handled the control levers. The same company that owned the trolley line also furnished the ﬁrst electricity for home and industrial use on the West Shore… and last, but not least, was our ﬁrst community banking institution, the Cumberland Valley Bank, established by Robert L. Myers, John F. Dapp and G.C. Hall…Today this ﬁnancial institution continues to grow with and serve Lemoyne and all of the West Shore. Quite possibly and probably there are more ﬁrsts in this particular part of Lemoyne’s history, but when you look back across a half century there are always some things that have been forgotten. As our town continued to grow, more and more business places opened…Here are a few, gleaned from memory and old records. The chain factory in the big brick building along the old Cumberland Valley Railroad at Third and Bosler, later occupied for many years by the E.K. Frazer Lumber Mill and
If you missed Mr. Lichtenberger, you could always go to the home of Will Kummel or a Mr. Taylor, both of whom would sell you any amount of milk or cream you desired on a strictly cash – and – carry basis… another early dairy was one operated by Samuel Bowers, at the rear of his home on Market Street at Fourth. The ﬁrst barber shop was opened by Edward Knoll, who charged the outrageous price of 15 cents for a haircut and ﬁve cents for a shave…When Uncle Sam decided to give Lemoyne a post ofﬁce, he named Daniel Harro ﬁrst post-
Continued on next page.
Yard, and presently by the Beetem Lumber Company…A canning factory on a site near what is now Fifth and Bosler…The Heights Bicycle Shop, which manufactured and sold bicycles for a number of years before turning to the repair and maintenance of the newfangled horseless carriage…A dress factory in the old frame building on Market Street, which later became Jacob Probst’s Lemoyne Hotel and ﬁnally was turned into ofﬁces and apartments. A fact not generally known is that castings for valves controlling the ﬂow of water in and out of the huge locks of the Panama Canal were made right here in town by the Lemoyne Brass and Bronze Foundry, which still does business at the same old stand….And some folks have forgotten that Barber John Stoos not only cut hair and shaved faces in his establishment, but would also sell his patron a refreshing plate of homemade ice cream…By this means he supplemented his somewhat limited income…Harry Witman and George Leach has early grocery stores, but the Witman Store served folks over a longer period of years and probably would still be operating had it not been for the ill health and death of Mr. Witman and his two sons over a brief span of time, in recent years…Many other food stores were scattered throughout the town, among them the ones run by Oscar Wolfensberger, who later became postmaster William Simmon’s place on Bosler Avenue which retained its quaint furnishings far into recent years: George Rice’s General Store, Steinhauer’s Store, Jonas Smith’s Grocery: Simmons’ Butcher Shop, Fanny Entzweiler’s Candy and Ice Cream Store and Park Bentzel’s Emporium on Hummel Avenue. Along about 1907 there was a meat packing and processing plant in operation between Bosler Avenue and the railroad, near Fifth, while a plaster manufacturing plant stood adjacent to the tracks below Third….Across the railroad were the car barn and ofﬁces of the Valley Traction Company and Opposite them on the other side of the Carlisle Pike stood Baker’s Carriage Works, which was destroyed by ﬁre in 1912…Nearby, below the traction company property, stood the grain elevator of the Paxton Flour and Feed company, now occupied by Shaull Equipment & Supply Company. Rigs and teams could be hired at the livery stables of Al Thumma and Harry Rice, and a drayage service was performed by John Russell and Rich Witmer….George Palmer was the town plumber, and Kunkle’s Tin Shop sold stoves, rooﬁng, spouting and heating plants over a long period of years….Rev. L.C. Smiley, Lemoyne’s ﬁrst jeweler and watchmaker, resided in a combination store and home on the southwest corner of Third and Hummel. In later years Mr. Smiley moved to Market Street where he continued his business until his death a few years ago. Although an or-
dained minister, he did not follow his profession, preferring to carry on his religious duties on a part-time basis….It is said that Mr. Smiley owned the ﬁrst family auto in Lemoyne and that Park Bentzel, the ﬁrst motor truck…After Harry Witman built his big brick building on the southeast corner of Third and Hummel, a Mr. Beam opened the town’s ﬁrst family shoe store in the old Whitman building on the opposite side of the street, which he operated until his death many years later. About 1906, a Mr. Roland had a saddle and harness shop in one of the frame houses that stood on the site of the present Dutch Pantry, but he sold out several years later to a Mr. Shoemaker, who continued the same line of business at that place until his death about 1920…Right across the street, next to the Lemoyne Trust Company, William Sheaffer erected his large hardware store, which continues in business to this day….Farther up the street on the opposite side was Tony D’Agostino’s Shoe Repair Shop. Lemoyne had three ice cream plants that can be classed as commercial…Only one remains today, operated by Anthony Ryder and known as Ryder’s Dairy…The other two, operated by the Nebinger family and the 3 – B Dairy, respectively, discontinued business during depression years…Several bakeries besides Bricker’s and Manbeck’s were located here…Park Grissinger, Raymond Reneker and the Gardner family specialized in cake and pie baking, but all discontinued during the intervening years, the Gardner Bakery being the last to close…In concluding this review, we must not forget Opperman’s Greenhouses, Minnich’s Abattoir, the United Electric Company, Bushey’s Bicycle Shop and the Lemoyne Quarry…Undoubtedly there are more places of business that have inadvertently been missed, and for these omissions we offer sincere apology. Lemoyne of 2005 boasts a diversity of businesses. Music shops such as Wray’s and Tripple R Guitar, several print shops like Holmes DR Lettershop, Penn Valley and Haas Printing, Temp Star Employment, West Shore Vacuum, Keystone Stafﬁng, Becker Chiropractic, C. W. Fritz, Johnson Duttle, Penmatic Business Machines, Ziderellies Subs, Subway, and various other businesses occupy the Market Street corridor.
Development in Lemoyne Since 1980 Since 1980’s, many new homes have been built. The developments are White Oaks, Riverview, and Bridgeport. All are located on the North Side of Lemoyne. Of course numerous houses have been built in other areas during this time in limited spaces around town. Despite all the building, the population has remained around 4,000. Most of the streets are maintained by the borough and resurfaced on a regular basis. They are in top shape and are the best on the West Shore. Lemoyne does have a number of streets that are maintained by the State of Pennsylvania. These streets we resurfaced in the 1980’s. Needless to say, they need some work. Hopefully, in 2005, the state will resurface several of those streets. Lemoyne is fast reaching its maximum growth. Plans are in progress to build over 80 townhouses on 12th Street. Also, plans are being laid for another multi-town house development on the East end of Walton Street facing Harrisburg. There remains a few acres along North 12th Street for ofﬁce development. After that area is utilized only a lot here and there remains for development. However, some areas of Lemoyne are open for redevelopment. In the 1980’s and 90s, the area on North 12th Street has been turned into an ofﬁce building area. Many new ofﬁce structures have replaced the forest area that was so prevalent at one time. Also a large ofﬁce building has been completed on the by-pass in 2002. For one reason or another, the federal government located the new Camp Hill Post Ofﬁce on the borderline of Lemoyne thus using Lemoyne Streets as its only access to the building by the public. Lemoyne is ever changing as it is the center of the West Shore. Interstate 83 goes through Lemoyne and Pennsylvania route 581 (The Capitol City Beltway) also goes through Lemoyne. In the 1930’s, 40s, and 50’s, Lemoyne had its trafﬁc ﬂow problems and some relief came with I-83. Now on the drawing board, some major changes to I-83 may again cause trafﬁc problems in Lemoyne with the closing of many ramps. Written by Bob Farver December 9, 2004
“Ever have a penny? It’s hard to get a penny” That was the familiar greeting from Dick Gase, known as “Hard to Get a Penny”. Dick was known for his love of Coca-Cola, kicking telephone poles as he walked down the street, and his mathematic ability. Dick once watched a freight train roll past as a math teacher wrote down the car numbers. When the train passed Dick had a total of the numbers and when the teacher totaled up the numbers written down – Dick’s total was correct! Oscar Squire once asked Dick why he only asked people for pennies, why not a nickel. Dick replied, “Nobody will give you a nickel, but everybody will give me a penny and I’ll have a nickel soon enough”
West Shore Lions Club The West Shore Lions Club represents Lemoyne-Wormleysburg areas for 2005. Previously it represented the entire West Shore. Established in 1941, the Lions have been active as Lemoyne its hub. In the past 25 years, the West Shore Lions has purchased most of the playground equipment for Negley and Memorial Parks. They have continuously sponsored Little League Baseball in Lemoyne since 1948. The club has purchased eye glasses for needy people living in Lemoyne. Membership to the club comes from the West Shore. The club is active in state and national programs such as eye research, leader dog, drug awareness, hearing research, diabetes research, and many more. The club major fund raiser is selling Christmas Trees. In 1951, the club purchased a 100 acre farm near Duncannon for the purpose of raising their own Christmas trees for their own Christmas tree sales. A by-product of this farm is a great outdoor playground for recreationers, ﬁsherman and hunters. A few By Scouts have used the Tree Plantation for over-night camps. Membership is under 50 at the present time. In its peak the West Shore Lions had over 125 members. The club holds its meetings once a month at a local restaurant on the second Monday. You are welcome to join.
First House on Indiana Avenue John William and Annie Coulsan built the ﬁrst house on Indiana Avenue around 1906. This was a home purchased out of the Sears and Roebuck catalog. The home still stands at 818 Indiana Avenue, currently owned by the David F. Craft family formerly of Mississippi. Next to the front couch are several stone piers. These were the supports for and elevated water tank for Riverton water Company and Annie Coulson would monitor the level in the tank and report it to the water company.
Wilbur Corpman Wilbur relates memories of his youth when he would split Cherry wood for Simmons Butcher Shop that was used to smoke meats. Wilbur and other boys were recruited by Hempt Farms. when horses would arrive by rail and would be unloaded at the Spur where Shaffers Hardware Warehouse was located. Usually two carloads at a time would arrive from the West consisting of 18 – 20 horses. The boys were needed to assist in driving the horses until they crossed the Reading R.R. at 18th Street where Hempt people could manage on their own. The boys received 10 cents each for their efforts.
At the beginning of the School Year we received a handbook. The following was located inside the front cover. I hope you enjoy reading it again. Good Memory Rules Forget each kindness that you do as soon as you have done it; Forget the praise that falls to you the moment you have won it; Forget the slander that you hear before you can repeat it; Forget each slight, each spite, each sneer, whenever you may meet it; Remember every kindness done to you whate’er it measure; Remember praise by other won and pass it on with pleasure; Remember every promise made and keep it to the letter; Remember those who lend you aid and be a grateful debtor; Remember all the happiness that comes your way in living; Forget each worry and distress, be hopeful and forgiving; Remember good, remember truth, remember heaven’s above you; And you will ﬁnd, through age and youth, that many hearts will love you.
Congratulation Lemoyne Robert O’Hara Jean O’Hara Shandelmier
Congratulations for 100 Years WM.F. Ritter Real Estate 282 Lowther Street Lemoyne (717) 774-3332
History of Lemoyne School District The Lemoyne School District was established 23 May 1905, making it co-existent with the establishment of the Borough of Lemoyne. The ﬁrst Lemoyne High School, located in the Herman Avenue Building, was a two-year system, graduating the ﬁrst class in 1907. A three-year high school, established in 1916-1917 was followed by a four-year version in 1917-1918. The ﬁrst four-year graduating class consisted of three students trained by a faculty of one principal and two teachers. In 1925 with the completion of the new building at 7th and Market Streets Lemoyne, nearly 200 students and eleven teachers comprised the ﬁrst six-year educational institution on the West Shore. The Years 1930 and 1936 witnessed the addition of two annexes to the structure. In 1952 after forming a jointure with Wormleysburg and Lower Allen Township, the name West Shore High School replaced Lemoyne High School. To more annexes we added in 1955 and 1957 to accommodate increased enrollment. With the ﬁnal jointure action in 1959 embracing New Cumberland, four units in York County, and the West Shore organization, the West Shore Joint School system was completed. The year 1959, sadly, signaled the changeover of the Lemoyne-West Shore High School to a Junior High School. During all these years of growth, the curriculum of 1905-1906 consisted of English, Social Studies, Mathematics, Foreign Language, Science, Art, and Music, was broadened to include Health, Physical Education, Home Economics, Industrial Arts, Commercial Subjects, Guidance, Psychology, and Library Instruction. Extra-curricular activities were also expanded to include not only football and basketball, but also baseball and track teams. A brief history such as this involves many memories. A truly meaningful review would require the recall of many incidents, triumphs, defeats, joys, and sorrows. It would also pay tribute to a host of persons-administrators, teachers, school board members, Parent-Teacher groups, community leaders, and all the citizens who supported and paid for public education in the area. The years from 1978 to 2004 brought many changes to Lemoyne Middle School. New federal and state mandates relating to education and the introduction and integration of computer technology changed the face of education at Lemoyne and across the United States. Despite changing times, Lemoyne Middle has held ﬁrmly to its mission of providing a strong foundation for students as they prepare to move to Cedar Cliff High School. As one of three middle schools in the West Shore School District in 1978, Lemoyne adopted a uniﬁed curriculum that matched the other two middle schools, New Cumberland MS and Allen MS. Emerging research about students age 11 to 13 (typical age of middle schoolers) helped to shape the curriculum to address the unique learning styles of adolescent children. In 1982, the West Shore School District hired a new superintendent to replace the outgoing Dr. Wentzel. Dr. Larry A. Sayre became the superintendent and assumed the role for the next 22.75 years. The District’s student population began to climb around that time and peaked at 8,600 students in the late 1980’s. Lemoyne was “bursting at the seams” during this growth period. Students as far away as Lewisberry were traveling long distances to attend school. The District covered portions of two counties (Cumberland and York) and avenues to address the District’s needs were discussed. After completing a feasibility study, the District embarked on a construction program to address a number of areas. A West Shore Natatorium was added at Red Land High School to compliment the West Shore Stadium behind Cedar Cliff High School. Additionally, a new elementary school was built in the York County area to address the growth occurring in that portion of the District. The purchase of a new administrative building in York County consolidated school operations, maintenance, and transportation services in one location. The ﬁnal step was the construction of a new middle school in York County which was completed in 1993 to alleviate the crowed conditions at Lemoyne and the other two middle schools. With the opening of a fourth middle school, Lemoyne’s student population went from a high of 675 to approximately 500. The additional space provided for the establishment of computer labs and other education opportunities and pro-
grams. It also created attendance boundaries which helped to reestablish the neighborhood “feel” of Lemoyne. Presently, the school serves the communities of Lemoyne and Wormleysburg, as well as parts of Lower Allen Township and Fairview Township. It also provides special programs for students from a number of other communities. Lemoyne has seen a number of building level administrators during the last twenty-ﬁve years. Some names are familiar; others are not. Charles Ryder, a name mentioned earlier, was principal in 1978 and was followed by Joseph Marcin in the early to middle 1980’s. Dr. Jean Dyszel followed and headed Lemoyne from late 1908’s to 1993. Dr. Dyszel subsequently moved to the central administrative ofﬁce where she presently serves as Assistant Superintendent. In 1993, Mr. Barry Houser assumed the principalship at Lemoyne moving from his assistant principal’s position at Red Land High School. He served as principal until 1997 when he was replaced by Mr. Jeff Hughes. Mr. Hughes remained at Lemoyne for a few years before moving to Cedar Cliff High School and was replaced by Mrs. E. Fox and then by Mr. Mark Maldet. It was during Mr. Maldet’s tenure that the school underwent another extensive renovation (one of six over the course of its history) to upgrade facilities, retroﬁt windows, address federal standards for accessibility, and improve the overall appearance of the building without changing its charm and classic styling. Lemoyne still maintains its stately appearance facing Market Street and is every bit the educational institution it was intended to be when it was built in 1926. In 2003, Mr. Maldet moved to Cedar Cliff, and Mr. Joseph Gargiulo became the principal at Lemoyne. Mr. Gargiulo, originally a New Yorker, has lived in Lemoyne with his wife and family since 1982. He is happy to be at Lemoyne and is proud of his ties to the community. These come through his mother-in-law, a graduate of Lemoyne High School, Mrs. Muriel (Spragg) Kost, 43. Mr. G. (as his students call him) hopes to bring back a sense of the community school with a community principal. In August 2004, Dr. Sayre retired as Superintendent of Schools for the West Shore School District. Dr. Richard J. Domencic became the District’s new superintendent and a new era began for the District. The future of Lemoyne Middle School and the West Shore School District is indeed promising, and there’s no doubt the educational program offered at Lemoyne will continue to evolve as the needs of the students change and evolve as well.
Lemoyne on your ďŹ rst
100 years! Hetley Associates, L.P. 3833 Pamay Drive Mechanicsburg, PA 17050
Athletic Trivia In 1910, the ﬁrst ﬂoor rear room of the Herman Avenue Building was used for the playing of basketball, despite the fact that it was no larger nor higher ceilinged than a regular class room. The ﬁrst football team was in evidence in 1913-14. This team was coached by Ernest Doepke who, although not a student or a teacher, played the game with the students. This was a part necessitated by the fact that there were only ten student players available. The team practiced under the street lights at Fifth and Herman Avenues. The suits were borrowed and no one had a complete outﬁt. Lemoyne played just one game this year – Thanksgiving Day. The team did not play another school, but played the Enola railroad Y.M.C.A. When the score became 70 – 0 favoring Enola, both sides decided they had enough and quit before time elapsed. In the Early 1920’s, Lemoyne High had baseball and track teams. These teams, as was true of the other sports, were coached by anyone who was interested. Girl’s basketball was inaugurated in 1926-27 with Mrs. Catherine Etsheid as Coach. In 1928 the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association had been established requiring that coaches also be faculty members.
Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame Lemoyne Inductees 1983 – Richard Shipp Robert Wrightstone 1985- Henry “Shorty” Gasull 1986- Dr. James Blacksmith 1989- Dr. Samuel R. Mowery 1992- Gary Cooper 1994- Bobby Moorehead 1999- Wayne Hostetler
Parks and Recreation Areas Lemoyne has four major parks with playground facilities and two natural areas and a historical park. Negley Park – Located just off Cumberland Road. This park is our oldest park. Originally it was part of the Lemoyne School District until 1959. At that time it was retained by the borough when the school district merged into the West Shore School District. This is probably one of the ﬁnest parks in the area. It overlooks the Pennsylvania State Capitol, the City of Harrisburg and the Susquehanna River. In the 1980’s the tennis courts were rebuilt and a new pavilion was added to the existing one. Since 2000 we have removed many of the old trees and replanted it with maples, oaks and small decorative trees. We have added a walking path and numerous benches which overlook the marvelous view. Most of the playground equipment has been replaced with more safety oriented equipment. However, the large swing set and the slide remains from the 1930’s. Much of this equipment was donated by the West Shore Lions Club which is based in Lemoyne. There is one baseball/softball ﬁeld in excellent condition and is used by the youth baseball league and the church softball league. Memorial Park – This Park was created with federal funds in the 1970’s. It is the borough second largest park and is located at the east end of Hummel and Herman Avenues. Although this park does not have the great view of Harrisburg as Negley Park, it does have everything needed for an excellent playground and park. There are two tennis courts, a youth baseball ﬁeld (named Cawthern Field), a Pavilion, a walking path, an outside basketball court and many pieces of playground equipment (Most of which were donated by the West Shore Lions Club). At this time there is a tree line along the eastern border of the park. In 2005, the NorfolkSouthern Railroad is building a railroad connector on the southeast corner of the park. It is planned that they provide the borough with a bike way from the bottleneck area of Market Street to Bosler Avenue. Adjacent to the park is the Lemoyne Community Swimming Pool. This was built and paid for by the Lemoyne American Legion in the 1970’s. After several years of operation by the Lemoyne Legion, it was donated to the Borough of Lemoyne for their use and operation, the pool is exactly the same as it was built except the diving boards were removed in favor of a water slide. The building has been updated in the 2000’s and a pavilion has been added. Although the pool is borough owned it has been self supporting as there is a fee charged to cover the costs of maintenance and operation. The Lemoyne American Legion retains the candy vending operation at the pool. Schell Park – This is a small playground and park located south of Washington Terrace and at the North End of Third Street. Many People of Lemoyne do not know of its existence. This park has swings, seesaws, and other playground equipment. However, there are no picnicking facilities in this park. It is one of Lemoyne’s best kept secrets. Maple Street Park – This is the Borough of Lemoyne’s latest creations for a park system. It is located on the west side of Maple Street next to the Lowther Street Athletic ﬁelds. In the 1990’s, it was the West Shore School District Property (originally Lemoyne School District property) and sold back to the borough for one dollar. The borough has planted trees in the area as well as installing several large pieces of playground equipment and building a pavilion. Several older pieces of playground equipment, a rough tennis court and basketball court remain from the 1980’s. The West Shore Lions again purchased some playground equipment for the park. This is the borough’s showcase in the southern side of town. Frazer Park – this is a conversation area north of Washington Terrace and east of 5th Street. Some call it the hole in the wall. It is a wide strip of grass with woods on three sides. This once contained a dance hall in the 1920’s and was to be a college which never happened. There was a little picnic area here. Woodside Street Park – this is a small area between North Fifth and Woodside Street. A stream passes through this area. It is now a water run off for the recently built Washington Heights School Building. It is a lovely and well maintained, but has no recreational equipment on it. Fort Couch – This is our Historical Park from the Civil War. It is located at 8th and Indiana. Other Civil War areas in Lemoyne have been used for home sites. There is a Historical Marker in place. Stop by and take a look.
Do You Know? Back in the 1930’s, there was 15 gasoline stations in Lemoyne. In 2005, there is only one gas station and three convenience stores with gas pumps. Back in the 1940’s, there was three drug stores with fountain service. In 2005 there are none. However, there are 2 chain drug stores with prescription drug service. Back in the 1930’s, Lemoyne had 16 mom and pop grocery stores. In the 1940’s many of these stores disappeared in favor of three large chain grocery stores. In 2005, there is only one major grocery store and three convenience stores. In the last 25 years, Lemoyne went from one music store to four music stores. In the last 25 years, Lemoyne went from 2 fast food services to 20 fast food services. In the 1930’s and 40s, there were 2 pool halls. Today there are none. In the 1930’s, Lemoyne was a wet town (alcohol permitted). It went dry in the late 1930’s after an alcohol related death occurred. In the 1950’s the West Shore Plaza was built. During the past 50 years there have been numerous changes in the building appearance and retail stores, but it is doing well. In the 1990’s, there was built a Cancer Clinic by John Conroy, who is a major sponsor for out 100th Anniversary Program. Lemoyne was never known for many restaurants. Normally, throughout the early years there were two. Most people ate at home. In the 1980’s, restaurants increase to more than eight. In 2005, Lemoyne has 5 full service restaurants. In 1992, Lemoyne gave up its police department and ﬁre departments to join the West Shore Police Department and the West Shore Fire Department. In the 1930’s, Lemoyne had a high 5 auto dealearships. In 2005, only L.B. Smith Ford remains. They are a sponsor of the 100th Anniversary. We do have 3 used car dealerships. Did you ever hear of Hudson, Terraplane, Packard, Studebaker, Dodge, Plymouth, Nash, Chevrolet, Oldsmobile, Chrysler, Ford? They were sold in Lemoyne during the past 100 years. In 2003, Lemoyne had its ﬁrst retirement center for Senior citizens at 12th next to our centennial sponsor John Conroy’s Cancer treatment center. In 2003, Lemoyne had storage sheds made available to home owners. In the 1950’s, Lemoyne gave up its school systems with a merger with other communities into the West Shore School District. In the 1950’s, Lemoyne built its sewer plant and sewer system. It is now paid for. However, changes in environmental regulations sees a new plant being built in the next few years. The current sewer plant was built with a neighboring community sharing the costs.
Sewers Lemoyne’s sewer system was designed in 1949 and construction commenced in 1950. Most out houses were gone by that time and sewage was handled in Septic tanks. To this Day septic tanks and cisterns still exist in some yards. Several years ago 2 women on Bosler Avenue became trapped as her back walkway collapsed into an abandoned septic tank. Our treatment plant today is over 30 years old. It has treated our sewage as well as that from the boroughs of Camp Hill and Wormleysburg consistently, meeting and exceeding the stringent standards set by the Department of Environmental Protection. As DEP regulates standards to meet new challenges, particularly the rehabilitation of the Chesapeake Bay, a new plant is on the horizon. The Lemoyne Municipal Authority is currently working on a 537 study to anticipate our needs for the future. We will then construct a modern efﬁcient plant to handle our long term water treatment needs.
The following are dates and scheduled activities: May 18th-21st – Carnival, Fair, Shows, Exhibits and Crafts May 21st – Six Band Parade May 21st – Fireworks May 22nd – Evening Church Program May 25th – Ofﬁcial Charter Day Program May 28th – Ofﬁcial Banquet at the Penn Harris including the Lemoyne High School All Class Reunion.
Lemoyne Lassies Rose Lemke(Donny) related this story of their train trip to Wichita: The girls only had enough money for one birth so the shared it. They lost the ďŹ rst game they played and had to return home early. Knowing Rose Lemke, this editor can assure you that they had a lively trip home in spite of loosing.
t c a
Lawrence A. Rand, O.D., M.S. Doctor of Family Optometry
833 Market Street Lemoyne, PA 17043 (717) 761-2460
A History of Lemoyne Senior Citizens, Inc. November 1974, people desiring a senior citizens group met informally in the Lemoyne American Legion Building. April 1975, Lemoyne Senior Citizens, Inc. ofﬁcially organized. They elected Charles Galley elected president, and adopted Bylaws. May 1975, ofﬁcers met with Lemoyne Borough Council regarding senior use of the borough building. Council approved the request and charges no rent. Our men made storage cabinets – still in use today. Our women made crafts and sold them at a bazaar procuring funds for the project. Ruth Ritter initiated Tuesday card-playing luncheons. In addition to Pinochle and Rummy, Mary Brehman and Romayne Harry taught Contact Bridge. December 1975 the ﬁrst annual Christmas dinner. January 1976 monthly newsletter began publication: informing seniors about legislation, humor and our events – card games, birthday parties, craft workshops, covered dish dinners, Christmas events, dinner plays at Allenberry Playhouse, travel cruises and trips. April 1976, Articles of Incorporation approved by the 30 members. We raised further funds to furnish the Borough community room with air conditioning and drapes; we purchased a stove and refrigerator for the kitchen. We’ve donated to the Borough, it’s Centennial and local charities. Weekly we play Bridge and Pinochle on Tuesday afternoons. Annually, we hold an “Everybody’s Birthday Party” and a Christmas luncheon with entertainment. Traveling continues to Allenberry Playhouse and Ladore. The purpose of the organization is to serve the senior citizens residing in Lemoyne, Pennsylvania, and the West Shore communities, to operate a nonproﬁt unit, and provide recreational and educational activities and health and welfare services to the aged. According to the Constitution and Bylaws, any person who is at least 55 years of age will be eligible for membership in the organization upon compliance with the admission requirements. Our $4 annual fee pays for the newsletter.