7 Page 14
Thursday, June 6, 2013
Area Museums to Visit You’ve fished, floated the rivers, and hiked the trails, and are now looking for some inside activities. There are several museums in the area. A museum in Patterson is open one Saturday a month. The Reynolds County Museum in Ellington has a treasure-trove of historical items. The historic Bunker Union Church and Timber Museum is open every Saturday.
Wayne County Historical Society Museum Located on the second floor of the old school at Patterson Open seasonally, March through October, the second Saturday of each month 1-4 p.m. The museum offers visitors several rooms of artifacts and historical documents related to Wayne County. There is also a genealogy library. Admission is free, but donations are appreciated. Reynolds County Museum The Reynolds County Museum is located in Ellington on Second Street across from the Post Office and First Baptist Church. Its hours are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and on the second Saturday of the month. The museum is operated by the Reynolds County Genealogy and Historical Society Inc. The museum is a spacious new building constructed in 2010 with $500,000 from the Missouri State Neighborhood Assistance Program and $93,000 from the Taum Sauk Tourism and Economic Development Fund. In addition to a large display room (including four window display rooms), the museum has a gift shop, an historical and genealogical research library (with past census books and other research books for sale), and a large board meeting room for rent to the public. In addition to a vast display of historical artifacts, the museum also has a wide collection of old photographs of the people and area through the past 170 years. Most of the items in the museum are family heirlooms on loan to the historical society.
Battle of Fredericktown Museum 156 S. Main St., Fredericktown, Mo. 63645 May-October: Sat., 1 p.m.-4 p.m.; Other times by appointment only. Latitude: 37° 33’ 30”, Longitude: -90° 17’ 40” The museum offers visitors several rooms of exhibits and information related to the Civil War, The Battle of Fredericktown, and other events of local historic significance. Admission is free, but donations are appreciated. Berry-Glenn Historical Museum 302 S. Route 51, Puxico, Mo. 63960 • Phone: 573-222-6951 BerryGlennMuseum@att.net Sat., 11 a.m.-4 p.m.; or by appointment Latitude: 36° 56’ 53”, Longitude: -90° 9’ 38” Housed in the historic 1904 Frisco Railroad Depot, the museum features photographs, newspapers and memorabilia depicting the rich history of Puxico and the surrounding area. Look for the bright red caboose located next to the depot. Free admission. Bollinger County Museum of Natural History 207 Mayfield Drive, Marble Hill, Mo. 63764 Thurs.-Sat., noon-4:30 p.m.; first Sunday of each month, noon-4:30 p.m. Latitude: 37° 18’ 31”, Longitude: -89° 58’ 28” The museum makes its home in the Art and Science building on the campus of the former Will Mayfield College, overlooking the foothills of the ancient Ozark Mountains. Supported entirely by private funding and dedicated volunteers, the museum began operation in 2000. Exhibits include a life-size model of the Missouri dinosaur, hypsibema missouriense, discovered in Bollinger County; a fossil preparation lab; Will Mayfield College memorabilia; Civil War ballistics; American Indian artifacts; digitized presentation of historic local photographs; wireless radio development; and artifacts from the wreck of the Steamboat Montana, which sank on the Missouri River near St. Charles. Admission: $2; ages 18 and younger, $1. Iron County Historical Museum 630 Route 21, Arcadia, Mo. 63621 April-Oct., Mon.-Sat., 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun., 1 p.m.-4 p.m.; December-March, Fri.-Sat., 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun., 1 p.m.-4 p.m. Latitude: 37° 34’ 27”, Longitude: -90° 38’ 6” The museum is housed in the restored 1941 Ironton-Arcadia Depot. It contains an extensive collection of Arcadia Valley and Iron County artifacts, genealogy records, and photographs. The collection includes a Union battle flag from the Civil War battle of Pilot Knob. Historic Bunker Union Church and Timber Museum Bunker was a company town built around 1907 as a railroad stop and lumber mill for the Bunker-Culler Mill which harvested virgin pine and oak from the area. The historic church was the first, and only, church in the town for many years free to be used by all denominations as long as they did not attack each other. The 100-year-old church has been totally restored and stands proudly on Main Street in Bunker as an ongoing reminder of the faith and resilience of the Bunker community. Special services and weddings can still be conducted in the spacious old building. Connected to the old church is the Timber Museum, begun in 2010 and completed in 2012. The large room contains relics of the old days when the timber industry dominated the town and area. Museum hosts are on hand to help with historical and genealogical information on the Bunker area. Hours for the museum and church are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each Saturday.