Page 1

úvodní slovo Vážení přátelé, vítám vás v městské části Brno-Židenice, kde se nachází jeden z nejkrásnějších a nejudržovanějších židovských hřbitovů v Evropě. Původně skromný hřbitov byl založen proto, aby zde Židé, kteří se po čtyřsetletém vyhnanství začali v 19. století vracet zpět do Brna, mohli pohřbívat své mrtvé v souladu se svými tradicemi. Dnes rozsáhlý a výstavní areál je aktivně využíván od svého vzniku až do současnosti. Můžete zde navštívit hroby řady významných osobností, které nesmazatelně poznamenaly dějinnou tvář města Brna. Některé z nich dosáhly světové proslulosti. Aby vám prohlídku rozsáhlého areálu brněnského židovského hřbitova usnadnila, otevřela zde Židovská obec Brno od TIC ŽOB

ledna 2011 nové Turistické a informační centrum ŽOB. Centrum je po technologické stránce špičkově vybaveno. Informace nejen o židenickém hřbitově, ale i o nejdůležitějších památkách v Brně a všech významných židovských památkách regionu Jižní Moravy, vám poskytne prostřednictvím zvukového informačního panelu, přenosných audioprůvodců či webových stránek a propagačních brožur v pěti jazycích (česky, anglicky, německy, rusky, hebrejsky). Organizované výpravy si navíc mohou předem objednat prohlídku hřbitova i synagogy s průvodcem. Ve výstavním sále informačního centra můžete navštívit stálou expozici středověkých náhrobků a shlédnout film o kultuře, životě, úspěchu i  tragedii Židů moravského regionu. Ve vstupní místnosti centra je vám také bezplatně k dispozici počítač s připojením na internet. Židovský hřbitov v Brně-Židenicích je výchozím místem turistických okruhů po židovských památkách moravského regionu, které pro vás připravila Židovská obec Brno v úzké sou­činnosti s Turistickým informačním centrem města Brna. Vážení návštěvníci, přeji vám hodnotný kulturní i duchovní zážitek. Roman Vašina starosta Městské části Brno-Židenice


Vorwort Sehr geehrte Freunde, ich heiße Sie im Stadtteil Brno-Židenice herzlich willkommen. Hier befindet sich einer der schönsten und am besten erhaltenen jüdischen Friedhöfe Europas. Der ursprünglich bescheidene Friedhof wurde angelegt, damit die Juden, welche nach vierhundertjähriger Verbannung im 19. Jahrhundert begannen nach Brünn zurückzukehren, hier in Übereinstimmung mit ihren Traditionen ihre Toten begraben konnten. Das heute ausgedehnte schön gestaltete Areal wird seit seiner Entstehung bis in die Gegenwart aktiv genutzt. Sie können hier die Gräber einer Reihe von bedeutenden Persönlichkeiten, die unauslöschlich das historische Antlitz der Stadt Brünn mitgeprägt haben, besuchen. Einige von ihnen erlangten weltweite Berühmtheit. Um Ihnen die Besichtigung des jüdischen Friedhofs zu erleichtern, hat hier die Jüdische Gemeinde Brünn im Jahre 2011 ein neues Touristeninformationszentrum eingerichtet. Das Zentrum ist technologisch auf höchstem Niveau ausgestattet. Informationen nicht nur über den jüdischen Friedhof, sondern auch über die wichtigsten Gedenkstät-

ten Brünns und alle bedeutenden jüdischen Gedenkstätten der Region Südmähren bietet es Ihnen mittels eines Tonpults, portablen Audioführern sowie Webseiten und einer Broschüre in fünf Sprachen (Tschechisch, Englisch, Deutsch, Russisch, Hebräisch). Organisierte Exkursionsgruppen können darüber hinaus im voraus eine Besichtigung des Friedhofs sowie der Synagoge mit einem Führer bestellen. In der Ausstellungshalle des Informationszentrums können Sie eine ständige Ausstellung mittelalterlicher Grabsteine besuchen und einen Film über Kultur, Leben, Erfolg und Tragödie der Juden in Mähren anschauen. Im Eingangsraum des Zentrums steht Ihnen kostenlos ein Computer mit Internetanschluß zur Verfügung. Der jüdische Friedhof in Brno-Židenice ist Ausgangspunkt touristischer Exkursionen zu jüdischen Gedenkstätten der mährischen Region, welche für Sie von der Jüdischen Gemeinde Brünn in engem Zusammenwirken mit dem Touristeninformationszentrum der Stadt Brünn konzipiert werden. Sehr geehrte Besucher, ich wünsche Ihnen ein wertvolles kulturelles und geistiges Erlebenis.

Roman Vašina Bürgermeister des Stadtteils Brno-Židenice


By way of introduction Dear visitors, Welcome to Brno-Židenice, the district where you can visit one of the most beautiful and best-tended Jewish cemeteries in Europe. The initially smaller cemetery was founded by Jewish citizens, who – after four hundred years of banishment – started to gradually retu­rn to Brno in the 19th century and needed a place to bury their deceased according to their customs. The extensive and exquisite premises as we know them today have been continuously in active use since the cemetery’s foundation. The cemetery is a place where you can visit the graves of a number of notable personalities who left their mark in the history of the city of Brno; some of them even achieved world renown. To help you enjoy the sightseeing, the Jewish Community of Brno opened a new Tourist and Information Centre of the JCB at the cemetery in January 2011. The Centre features the best technical equipment. Information on the Jewish cemetery in Brno-Židenice along with infor­mation concerning the most important sights in Brno and also on all the key Jewish landmarks within the region of South Moravi­a are offered to our visitors via the means of an informational audio map, portable audio guides, an Internet portal and publicity brochures available in five languages (Czech, English, German, Russian, Hebrew). In addition, a guided tour of the Brno Jewish cemetery and synagogue is available to organised visitor groups upon appointment. Tourists can visit a permanent exhibit of medieval tombstones and view a film document on culture, life, success and tragedy of Jews in the region of South Moravia in the exhibition hall of the Centre. The Information Centre exhibition hall hosts a permanent exhibit

of medieval tombstones and offers a projection of a film document cove­ring the culture, life, successes and tragic fate of Jews in the regi­on of South Moravia. The Information Centre entrance room offers its visitors a free use of a computer connected to the Internet. The Jewish Cemetery located in Brno-Židenice is also the starting point for the sightseeing tours of the Jewish landmarks in the Moravian region that the Jewish Community of Brno offers in close cooperation with the Brno Tourist Information Centre. Dear visitors, let me wish you a rich cultural and spiritual experience. Roman Vašina Mayor of the Brno-Židenice district


www.jewishBRNO.eu

BRNO BRNO Výraznou dominantou druhého největšího města v České republice je hrad Špilberk s bohatou historií, který nabízí řadu výstav, a nelze opomenout ani známé kasematy s expozicí barokního pevnostního stavitelství a  vězeňství josefínské doby. Hrad byl založen ve 13. století na skalnatém ostrohu tyčícím se nad historickým centrem města Brna. Již z  této doby nacházíme i zmínky o židovském osídlení. Prosperující středověká židovská čtvrť se synagogou a hřbitovem zanikla vypovězením Židů z města roku 1454. Život brněnské židovské komunity se obnovil teprve s jejich postupným návratem v průběhu 19. století. Během 2. světové války bylo z Brna a okolí deportováno téměř 11 000 Židů. Navrátilo se necelých 700 osob. I z tohoto důvodu v současné době spadá pod správu Židovské obce Brno celá oblast jižní Moravy. Židenice Židenice, v jejichž katastru se nachází nejrozsáhlejší židovský hřbitov na Moravě a ve Slezsku, jsou dnes jednou z největších městských částí Brna. Původní obec vznikla na úrodné půdě na březích řeky Svitavy v místě staršího prehistorického osídlení. První písemná zmínka o Židenicích se nachází v listině o založení místního premonstrátského kláštera z počátku 13. století. V následujících stoletích se Židenice, až na svobodné dvory a vinice, po-

4


BRÜNN

BRNO

BRÜNN

BRNO

Die markante Dominante der zweitgrößten Stadt in der Tschechischen Republik ist die Burg Špilberk mit einer reichen Geschichte, auf der eine Reihe von Ausstellungen angeboten werden, Beachtung verdienen auch die bekannten Kasematten mit einer Exposition barocker Festungsbaukunst und des Gefängniswesens der Josephinischen Epoche. Die Burg wurde im 13. Jahrhundert auf einem sich über dem historischen Zentrum der Stadt Brünn erhebenden felsigen Landvorsprung gegründet. Bereits aus dieser Zeit liegen uns auch Erwähnungen über eine jüdische Besiedlung vor. Das prosperierende mittelalterliche Judenviertel mit einer Synagoge und einem Friedhof verschwand mit der Ausweisung der Juden aus der Stadt im Jahre 1454. Das Leben einer Brünner jüdischen Kommunität erneuerte sich erst mit deren allmählicher Rückkehr im Verlaufe des 19. Jahrhunderts. Während des 2. Weltkriegs wurden aus Brünn und seiner Umgebung fast 11 000 Juden deportiert. Es kehrten nicht ganz 700 Personen zurück. Auch aus diesem Grunde obliegt in der Gegenwart der Verwaltung durch die Brünner Jüdische Gemeinde ganz Südmähren.

Brno is the second largest city in the Czech Republic. One of its distinctive dominants is the Špilberk Castle famous for its long and rich history. Today, the castle offers a variety of exhibitions; and no visitor should miss its famous Casemates housing an exposition covering the baroque art of fortress building and prison service under the imperial rule of Joseph II. The castle surmounting the historical centre of Brno on a  prominent rocky hill was founded in the 13th century. The first preserved records of the Jewish settle­ment date back to the 13th century as well. What became a  prospe­rous medieval Jewish quarter with a  synagogue and a  cemetery however perished with the banishment of the Jews from Brno in  1454. The community started to thrive again with the gradual return of Jews to the city in as late as the 19th century. During WWII, nearly 11,000 Jews were deported from Brno and the neighbouring towns. Less than 700 survived from among the forcibly deported. That is one of the reasons why the Jewish Community of Brno is nowadays able to administer the whole region of South Moravia.

Schimitz (Židenice) Schimitz, in dessen Kataster sich der weiträumigste jüdische Friedhof in Mähren und Schlesien befindet, ist heute einer der größten Stadtteile Brünns. Die ursprüngliche Gemeinde entstand auf dem fruchtbaren Boden an den Ufern des Flusses Zwittawa (Svitava) an der Stelle einer älteren prähistorischen Ansiedlung. Die erste schriftliche Erwähnung von Schimitz befindet sich auf einer Urkunde über die Gründung eines Prämonstratenserklosters an diesem Ort Anfang des 13. Jahr-

Židenice District The Židenice quarter, within whose premises the biggest Jewish cemetery in Moravia and Silesia can be found, is one of the largest districts of Brno. The historic village of Židenice was originally founded on the ferti­le banks of the Svitava river, replacing older prehistoric settle­ ment. The first written record of Židenice – a record of the foundation of the local Premonstratensian monastery – dates back to 5


www.jewishBRNO.eu

BRNO stupně staly součástí klášterního panství. Klášter pak ovlivňoval dějiny Židenic až do roku 1784, kdy byl císařem zrušen. Budova kláštera od té doby slouží jako vojenská nemocnice. Židenice v průběhu staletí postihla mnohá neštěstí. Třicetiletá válka, zejména dvojí obléhání Brna Švédy v  letech 1643 a 1645, po sobě zanechala spálené a opuštěné usedlosti – včetně premonstrátského kláštera, v němž měl údajně hlavní stan obléhatel Brna, švédský generál Torstenson. V roce 1785 obec postihlo tak silné zemětřesení, že mnohé domy popukaly a pivovar se dokonce zhroutil. Na přelomu let 1805 a 1806 zde po vítězství u Slavkova odpočívala část Napoleonovy armády. Další pohromy se Židenice dočkaly v roce 1866 za války s Pruskem, kdy sem byla zavlečena cholera. Mnohé oběti epidemie z řad židovských spoluobčanů jsou pohřbeny na místním židovském hřbitově. Sem byli také za 1. světové války převáženi židovští vojáci, kteří zemřeli během hospitalizace ve vojenské nemocnici v bývalém premonstrátském klášteře. Stejně tak na počátku 20. století byly na židenický hřbitov převezeny pozůstatky židovských obětí pandemie španělské chřipky. Přes všechny tragické události však Židenice rostly a v roce 1910 se dokonce staly se 14 000 obyvateli největší vesnicí na Moravě a snad i v celém Rakousko-Uherském mocnářství. Dnes má městská část Brno-Židenice 21 000 obyvatel.

6


BRÜNN

BRNO

hunderts. In den folgenden Jahrhunderten wurde Schimitz bis auf freie Höfe und Weinberge allmählich Teil der Klosterherrschaft. Das Kloster beeinflußte in der Folge die Geschichte von Schimitz bis zum Jahre 1784, in welchem es vom Kaiser aufgelöst wurde. Das Gebäude des Klosters dient seither als Militärspital. Schimitz wurde im Laufe der Jahrhunderte von vielem Unheil ereilt. Der dreißigjährige Krieg, namentlich die zweifache Belagerung Brünns durch die Schweden in den Jahren 1643 und 1645, hinterließ niedergebrannte und verlassene Anwesen – dies betraf auch das Prämonstratenserkloster, in dem der Belagerer Brünns, der schwedische General Torstenson sein Hauptquartier gehabt haben soll. Im Jahre 1785 traf die Gemeinde ein so starkes Erdbeben, daß viele Häuser barsten und die Brauerei gar einstürzte. An der Wende 1805–1806 machte hier nach dem Sieg bei Austerlitz ein Teil der Armee Napoleons Rast. Weitere Katastrophen ereilten Schimitz im Jahre 1866 während des Krieges mit Preußen, der ihr die Cholera brachte. Viele Opfer der Seuche aus den Reihen der jüdischen Mitbürger liegen auf dem hiesigen jüdischen Friedhof begraben. Hierher wurden während des 1. Weltkriegs auch die jüdischen Soldaten gebracht, die während ihrer Hospitalisierung im Militärspital im ehemaligen Prämonstratenserkloster verstorben waren. Ebenso wurden Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts die sterblichen Überreste der jüdischen Opfer der pandemischen Spanischen Grippe überführt. Trotz aller tragischen Geschehnisse wuchs Schimitz jedoch und wurde 1910 mit 14 000 Einwohnern sogar größtes Dorf in Mähren und vielleicht sogar in ganz k.u.k. Österreich Ungarn. Heute hat der Stadtteil Brno-Židenice 21 000 Einwohner.

the beginning of the 13th century. The village of Židenice became a part of the monastery estates in the 15th century. Since then the monastery had a heavy influence on the history of the village, until the Emperor closed it down in 1784. The monastery premises have hosted the Brno Military Hospital ever since. Many disasters were inflicted on the village of Židenice over the centuries. The Thirty Years‘ War and mainly the double siege of Brno by Swedes in 1643 and 1645 have left the manor-houses and farmsteads burnt down and abandoned – including the Premonstratensian monastery, which the besieger, Swedish general Torstenson, allegedly used as his headquarters. In 1785, an earthquake afflicted the village. It was so strong that many of the houses cracked and the brewery collapsed. Then a part of Napoleon’s Great Army rested in the village area after its victory at Austerlitz at the start of 1806. Another disaster befell Židenice when the Prussian soldiers brought a  cholera epidemic to Brno during the Austro-Prussian War in 1866. Many of the Jewish citizens who fell victims to the epidemic were buried at the local Jewish cemetery. Jewish soldiers who died while treated at the military hospital in the former Premonstratensian monastery during WWI were buried at the Jewish cemetery of Brno as well. Also the remains of Jewish victims to the Spanish Flu at the beginning of the 20th century were moved to the Jewish cemetery in Židenice. Despite all the tragic events the village of Židenice kept growing and having reached a population of 14,000, became the largest village in Moravia and perhaps in the whole Austria-Hungary in 1910. The current population of the Brno-Židenice district is 21,000. 7


www.jewishBRNO.eu

BRNO Synagogy Z původních čtyř brněnských synagog se dodnes zachovala již jen funkcionalistická synagoga v ulici Skořepka 13. Postavena byla podle projektu architekta Otto Eislera v letech 1934–1936 ortodoxním spolkem Agudas achim. Je tak nejmladší synagogou na Moravě a  ve Slezsku, dnes jedinou v rámci celého regionu, která slouží původnímu účelu. Velkou synagogu z roku 1855 vypálili nacisté v roce 1939; Nová synagoga z  roku 1906 byla zbořena v  letech 1985 až 1986 a dnes ji připomíná již jen pamětní deska na domě Ponávka 8. Obdobně byla asanována i  budova bývalého Polského templu na Křenové 22 užívaná pro náboženské účely od roku 1883 do dvacátých let minulého století. Z budov ostatních židovských institucí dosud stojí někdejší sídlo Židovské náboženské obce na tř. Kpt. Jaroše 31, židovské gymnázium na Hybešově 43, starobinec na Štefánikově 54 a sportoviště Makkabi na Riviéře, byť dnes již převážně v držení jiných vlastníků a s jiným určením. Židovský hřbitov Židovský hřbitov se nachází v  Nezamyslově ulici č. 27 ve čtvrti Židenice, 2,5 km východně od centra. Byl založen roku 1852, několikrát rozšířen a dnes se člení na 40 sekcí. Na ploše tří hektarů tu stojí téměř 9 000 novodobých náhrobků v pestré škále typů – od prostých stél po honosné rodinné hrob-

8


BRÜNN

BRNO

Die Synagogen

Synagogues

Von den ursprünglich vier Brünner Synagogen ist bis heute nur die funktionalistische Synagoge in der Skořepka-Straße 13 erhalten geblieben. Erbaut wurde sie in den Jahren 1934–1936 von dem orthodoxen Verein Agudas achim nach einem Entwurf des Architekten Otto Eisler. Es handelt sich um die jüngste Synagoge in Mähren und Schlesien, um die einzige innerhalb der gesamten Region, die dem ursprünglichen Zwecke dient. Die Große Synagoge aus dem Jahre 1855 brannten die Nazis 1939 nieder, die Neue Synagoge von 1906 wurde in den Jahren 1985–1986 niedergerissen und es erinnert an sie heute nur noch eine Gedenktafel an dem Haus Ponávka-Straße 8. Ebenso wurde auch das Gebäude des ehemaligen Polnischen Tempels in der Křenová-Straße 22 beseitigt, die von 1883 bis in die zwanziger Jahre des vergangenen Jahrhunderts zu religiösen Zwecken genutzt worden war. Von den Gebäuden der übrigen jüdischen Institutionen stehen heute noch der einstige Sitz der Jüdischen religiösen Gemeinde in der Kpt.  Jaroše-Straße 31), das jüdische Gymnasium in der Hybešova-Straße 43, das Altersheim in der Štefánikova-Straße 54 und die Sportstätte Makkabi an der Riviera, wenn auch überwiegend im Besitz anderer Eigentümer und mit einer anderen Bestimmung.

Out of the original four synagogues in Brno only a Modern Movement style synagogue at 13 Skořepka St. has prevailed. The temple was built according to a project by Arch. Otto Eisler by the orthodox congregation Agudas Achim between 1934 and 1936. It is the most recently built synagogue in Moravia and Silesia, and the only one in the whole region which is still used for its initial devotional purpose. The Synagogue Maior built in 1855 was burnt down by the Nazis in 1939. The New Synagogue from 1906 was torn down in 1985–1986 and is now commemorated only by a  memorial plaque mounted on the wall of the house at 8 Ponávka Street. Another building demo­lished in a  similar fashion was the former Polish temple at 22 Křenová Street, which had been in use for religious purposes from 1883 till the 1920s. Of the buildings of other Jewish institutions the headquarters of the former Jewish Religious Community at 31 Kpt. Jaroše Street, the Jewish Grammar School at 43 Hybešova Street, the old peoples home at 54 Štefánikova Street and the Makkabi sports ground at Brno Riviera have been preserved, although they mostly have other current owners and are used for other purposes.

Der Jüdische Friedhof

The Brno Jewish Cemetery is situated at 27 Nezamyslova Street in the Židenice district, 2.5 km south of the city centre. Founded in 1852, its area was expanded several times and nowadays is divided into 40 sections. Its 7.4-acre premises comprise nearly 9,000 recent tombstones of various types, from simple steles to splendid family tombs. The cemetery is a place where you can visit 9

Der Jüdische Friedhof befindet sich in der Nezamyslova-Straße 27 im Stadtviertel Židenice, 2,5 Kilometer östlich des Zentrums. Er wurde 1852 angelegt, einige Male erweitert und gliedert sich heute in 40  Abteilungen. Auf einer Fläche von drei Hektar stehen hier fast 9  000  neuzeitliche Grabsteine verschiedenartigsten Typs

The Jewish Cemetery


www.jewishBRNO.eu

BRNO ky. Pochována je zde řada významných osobností z oblasti politiky, kultury, vědy a  hospodářství, např. rabíni Baruch Placzek a Richard Feder, novinář Hieronymus Lorm, mecenáš Heinrich Gomperz a herec Hugo Haas. Při vstupu na hřbitov stojí novorománská obřadní síň z  roku 1900 od stavitele Josefa Nebehostenyho. V její předsíni jsou do zdi zasazeny zlomky nalezených středověkých židovských náhrobků. Za obřadní síní se nachází památník obětem holokaustu odhalený v roce 1950. V letním období (duben až září) je hřbitov přístupný neděle až čtvrtek, 9–17 hod., v pátek 9–16 hod. V zimním období (říjen až březen) se hřbitov uzavírá vždy o hodinu dříve. O sobotách a židovských svátcích není vstup na hřbitov povolen. V  budově Turistického a  informačního centra ŽOB u vstupu do hřbitova je k dispozici volný přístup na internet. Kontakt: Židovský hřbitov Brno a  TIC ŽOB, Nezamyslova 27, Brno-Židenice, tel.: +420 544 526 737, www.jewishbrno.eu. Památky Vila Tugendhat – památka světové moderní architektury zapsaná na seznamu světového kulturního dědictví UNESCO. V objektu je umístěna stálá expozice o historii budovy. Kontakt: Muzeum města Brna – Vila Tugendhat, Černopolní 237/45, Brno-Černá pole, tel.: +420 515 511 015–016; www.tugendhat.eu. Otevřeno: úterý až neděle, 10–18 hod.

10


BRÜNN

BRNO

– von schlichten Stelen bis hin zu prunkvollen Familiengrabstätten. Begraben liegt hier eine Reihe bedeutender Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, z. B. die Rabbiner Baruch Placzek und Richard Feder, der Journalist Hieronymus Lorm, der Mäzen Heinrich Gomperz und der Schauspieler Hugo Haas. Am Friedhofseingang steht eine neuromanische Trauerzeremonienhalle aus dem Jahre 1900, erbaut von Josef Nebehosteny. In ihrer Vorhalle sind Bruchstücke entdeckter mittelalterlicher jüdischer Grabsteine eingelassen. Hinter der Trauerzeremonienhalle befindet sich ein 1950 enthülltes Denkmal für die Holocaustopfer. In der Sommerzeit (April bis September) ist der Friedhof sonntags bis donnerstags von 9 bis 17 Uhr und freitags von 9 bis 16 Uhr zugänglich. In der Winterzeit (Oktober bis März) schließt der Friedhof jeweils eine Stunde früher. An den Samstagen und jüdischen Feiertagen ist das Betreten des Friedhofs nicht erlaubt. Im Gebäude des Touristen- und Informationszentrums der Brünner Jüdischen Gemeinde (TIC ŽOB) am Eingang des Friedhofs steht zur Verfügung freier Internetzugang. Kontakt: Židovský hřbitov Brno a TIC ŽOB, Nezamyslova 27, Brno-Židenice, T: +420 544 526 737, www.jewishbrno.eu.

the graves of a number of notable personalities who distinguished themselves in politics, culture, science and economics, such as rabbi Baruch Placzek and rabbi Richard Feder, the journalist Hieronymus Lorm, the benefactor Heinrich Gomperz and the actor Hugo Haas. A  Romanesque Revival hall of farewell from 1900 by the builder Josef Nebehosteny is situated next to the gate to the cemetery. The masonry of its antechamber wall is set with fragments of mediaeval Jewish tombstones. A Memorial to the Victims of the Holocaust, unveiled in 1950, is situated behind the hall of farewell. During the summer season (April to September), the cemetery is open Sunday through Thursday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Fridays from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM. During the winter season (October to March) the cemetery closes one hour earlier. It is closed to public on Saturdays and on Jewish holidays. The Tourist and Information Centre of the Jewish Community of Brno located at the cemetery entrance also offers its visitors a  free-of-charge access to the Internet. Contact: Židovský hřbitov Brno a  TIC ŽOB, Nezamyslova 27, Brno-Židenice; www.jewishbrno.eu; Tel: +420 544 526 737.

Gedenkstätten

Landmarks

Die Villa Tugendhat – ein Denkmal moderner Architektur von Weltrang, eingetragen in die Liste des internationalen Kulturerbes der UNESCO. In dem Objekt ist eine Dauerausstellung zur Geschichte des Gebäudes installiert. Kontakt: Muzeum města Brna – Vila Tugendhat, Černopolní 237/45, Brno-Černá pole; www.tugendhat.eu; T: +420 515 511 015–016. Öffnungszeit: dienstags–sonntags, 10 bis 18 Uhr

The Tugendhat Villa is a modern architectural landmark or worldwide significance listed as the UNESCO World Heritage Site. The building hosts a permanent exposition covering the history of the Tugendhat Villa. Contact: The Brno Museum – Vila Tugendhat, 237/45 Černopolní St.; Brno-Černá pole; www.tugendhat.eu; Tel: +420 515 511 015–016. Opening hours: Tuesday–Sunday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM. 11


www.jewishBRNO.eu

BRNO V Kapitulní síni augustiniánského kláštera na Mendlově náměstí 1, visí monumentální plátno „Jeruzalém z  hory Olivetské“ (8x2 m). Autorem je židovský malíř a brněnský rodák Ludwig Blum. V prostorách augustiniánského opatství lze též navštívit expozici zakladatele genetiky a  opata augustiniánského kláštera Johanna Gregora Mendela (1822–1884), který zde působil. Pamětní deska, připomínající deportace židovských obyvatel za druhé světové války, je od roku 1965 umístěna na průčelí školy na Merhautově 37. Vily nad výstavištěm – dříve Úřednická čtvrť, v  roce 1925 přejmenována na Masarykovu čtvrť. Přesný obvod Masarykovy čtvrti není vymezen. Předmětem zájmu je širší rámec obytné zóny a zeleně rozkládající se na Žlutém kopci, včetně Wilsonova lesa a Kraví hory, vymezený ulicemi Úvoz, Pivovarská, Hlinky, Žabovřeská, Horova, Minská, Veveří a Konečného náměstím. Brněnská architektura ve 20. a 30. letech 20. století hrála klíčovou roli nejen v rámci Československé republiky, ale i v kontextu tehdejší Evropy. Osobnosti a zajímavosti Brno je rodným městem řady židovských osobností z oblasti kultury, umění, politiky a podnikání, např. filozofa Theodora Gomperze (1832–1912), spisovatele Ernsta Weisse (1882– 1940, Paříž), skladatele E. W. Korngolda (1897–1957,

12


BRÜNN

BRNO

Im Kapitelsaal des Augustinerklosters, Mendlovo nám. 1, hängt die monumentale Leinwand (8x2 m) „Jerusalem vom Ölberg aus“. Autor ist der jüdische Maler und gebürtige Brünner Ludwig Blum. In den Räumlichkeiten der Augustinerabtei kann man auch eine Ausstellung über den Begründer der Genetik und Abt des Augustinerklosters Johann Gregor Mendel (1822–1884), der hier wirkte, besuchen. Eine Gedenktafel zur Erinnerung an die Deportation der jüdischen Einwohner während des zweiten Weltkriegs befindet sich seit 1965 an der Fassade der Schule Merhautova-Straße 37. Die Villen über dem Messegelände – früher das Beamtenviertel, wurden im Jahre 1925 in Masarykviertel (Masarykova čtvrť) umbenannt. Der genaue Umfang des Masarykviertels wird nicht abgesteckt. Von Interesse sind der weitere Rahmen des Wohngebiets und die Grünflächen, die sich auf dem Gelber Hügel (Žlutý kopec), einschließlich des Wilson-Waldes, sowie dem Kuhberg (Kraví hora), begrenzt von den Straßen Úvoz, Pivovarská, Hlinky, Žabovřeská, Horova, Minská, Veveří und Konečného-Platz befinden. Die Villen über dem Messegelände sind ein typisches Beispiel für die Brünner Architektur der zwanziger und dreißiger Jahre des vergangenen Jahrhunderts, als diese eine Schlüsselrolle nicht nur im Rahmen der Tschechoslowakischen Republik, sondern auch im Kontext des zeitgenössischen Europas spielte.

A monumental painting (8x2 m) titled “Jerusalem from the Olivet Mountain” is situated in the chapter hall of the Augustinian monastery at No. 1 Mendel Square. Its author, the Jewish painter Ludwig Blum, was born in Brno, too. The premises of the Augus­tinian monastery host a permanent exhibit covering the life and work of the founder of genetics and an Augustinian abbot Gregor Johann Mendel (1822–1884), who worked here. A memorial plaque, mounted on the front wall of the school at 37 Merhautova Street in 1965, is a reminder of the deportations of the Jewish citizens during WWII. Villas above the Brno exhibition grounds – a  quarter formerly called Úřednická (Clerk Quarter) and renamed Masaryk quarter in 1925. The exact area of the Masaryk quarter is hard to delimit. What deserves attention is the wider scope of the residential area and the verdure spreading over Žlutý kopec, including Wilsonův les, and over Kraví hora, limited by the streets Úvoz, Pivovarská, Hlinky, Žabovřeská, Horova, Minská and Veveří and the Konečného Square. The architecture of Brno in 1920s and 1930s played a key role not only in the context of the Czechoslovak Republic, but also in the context of the then-Europe.

Persönlichkeiten und interessante Informationen Brünn ist die Geburtsstadt einer Reihe von Persönlichkeiten aus Kultur, Kunst, Politik und Unternehmertum, z. B. des Philosophen Theodor Gomperz (1832–1912), des Schriftstellers Ernst Weiss (1882–1940 in Paris), des Komponisten E. W. Korngold (1897–1957

Personalities and Further Information Brno is the birthplace of many notable Jewish personalities once active in culture, arts, politics and enterprise such as the philosopher Theodor Gomperz (1832–1912), the writer Ernst Weiss (1882–1940, Paris), the composer E. W. Korngold (1897–1957, Hollywood), the violin virtuoso H. W. Ernst (1814–1865, Nice) and the painter Anna Ticho (1894–1980, Jerusalem). 13


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Boskovice Hollywood), houslového virtuóza H. W. Ernsta (1814–1865, Nice) a malířky Anny Ticho (1894– 1980, Jeruzalém). BOSKOVICE Boskovice jsou malebné městečko vzdálené asi 40 km severně od Brna. První písemné zmínky o zdejších Židech pocházejí z roku 1343. Židovská obec zde byla ustavena v polovině 15. století, po vyhnání Židů z královských měst. Na přelomu 18. a 19. století tu působila slavná ješiva a středisko talmudského bádání. V polovině 19. století zde žily 2 000 Židů, což představovalo více než třetinu obyvatel města. Po 2. světové válce již obec nebyla obnovena. Židovská čtvrť Židovská čtvrť se nachází mezi zámeckým areálem a historickým jádrem města. Původně sestávala ze 13 ulic a 138 domů, z nichž 79 jich dosud stojí. Zachovala se někdejší škola v Bílkově ulici 7, lázně U koupadel 8, špitál Ve špitálku 10, rabinát v Plačkově 45, mikve v suterénu domu U templu 5, brána do ghetta a kašna. Domy barokního a klasicistního původu propojuje od roku 1999 naučná stezka židovskou čtvrtí, osvěžení zde návštěvníkům poskytne několik stylových restaurací. Synagoga s muzeem Barokní synagoga v Traplově ulici z roku 1639 je dílem italského stavitele Sylvestra Fioty z Chiavenny. Roku 1698 k ní

14


BOSKOWITZ

Boskovice

in Hollywood), des Geigenvirtuosen H. W. Ernst (1814–1865 in Nizza) und der Malerin Anna Ticho (1894 – 1980 in Jerusalem).

BOSKOVICE

BOSKOWITZ Boskowitz ist ein malerisches Städtchen, etwa 40 Kilometer nördlich von Brünn gelegen. Die erste Erwähnung hiesiger Juden stammt aus dem Jahre 1343. Eine jüdische Gemeinde wurde Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts, nach der Vertreibung der Juden aus den königlichen Städten gegründet. An der Wende des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts gab es hier eine berühmte Jeschiwa und ein Zentrum der Talmudforschungen. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts lebten hier 2000 Juden, was ein Drittel der Einwohner der Stadt ausmachte. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg wurde die Gemeinde nicht erneuert.

Das Judenviertel

Boskovice is a picturesque town located some 40 km north of Brno. The first written record testifying to the presence of Jews in Boskovice dates back to 1343. The Jewish Community of Boskovice itself was established in the mid-fifteenth century, after the banishment of the Jews from the royal cities. A  famous yeshiva and a  centre of Talmudic studies were run in Boskovice at the turn of the 19th century. The Jewish population of the town reached 2,000 by the mid-19th century, amounting to over one third of its entire population. The Jewish Community was not restored after the end of WWII.

Jewish Quarter

Das Judenviertel befindet sich zwischen dem Schloßareal und dem historischen Stadtkern. Ursprünglich bestand es aus 13 Straßen und 138 Häusern, von denen heute noch 79 stehen. Erhalten geblieben ist die einstige Schule in der Bílkova-Straße 7, das Bad U koupadel 8, das Spital Ve špitálku 10, das Rabinat Plačkova 45, die Mikwa im Souterrain des Hauses U templu 5, das Ghettotor und der Brunnen. Die Häuser barocken und klassizistischen Ursprungs werden seit 1999 von einem Lehrpfad durch das Judenviertel miteinander verbunden, dem leiblichen Wohle dienen hier einige stilgerechte Restaurants.

The Jewish quarter is situated between the castle grounds and the historical centre of Třebíč. The quarter initially comprised 13 streets and 138 houses, 79 of which have been preserved. Among the preserved houses are: a former school at 7 Bílkova St., a bathhouse at 8 U koupadel Street, a hospital at 10 Ve špitálku Street, a rabbinate at 45 Plačkova Street, a mikvah in the basement of a house at 5 U templu Street, a ghetto gate and a fountain. Since 1999, the baroque and classicist houses have been presented as part of an educational trail winding through the Jewish quarter; the tired traveller can also pay a refreshing visit to one of the stylish restaurants.

Die Synagoge mit einer Museumsausstellung

Synagogue and Museum

Die barocke Synagoge in der Traplova-Gasse aus dem Jahre 1639 ist das Werk des italienischen Baumeisters Sylvester Fiota aus Chiavenna,

The baroque synagogue located in Traplova Street was built by the Italian builder Sylvester Fiota from Chiavenna in 1639. The syna15


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Boskovice byla přistavěna boční loď. V letech 1991–2001 zde byla po rozsáhlé rekonstrukci umístěna muzejní expozice o  historii a památkách zdejší židovské obce. Stálá výstava je přístupná sezónně od dubna do října, v  pondělí od 13 do 17 h., úterý až pátek od 9 do 17 h., v sobotu od 10 do 16 h. a v neděli od 12 do 17 h. Mimo uvedenou dobu po předchozí telefonické domluvě. Kontakt: pan Janík, tel. +420 608 305 987. Židovský hřbitov Hřbitov ve svahu pod zámeckou oborou byl založen nejpozději v 16. století. Nalézá se zde 2 400 náhrobků, z nichž nejstarší pochází z roku 1670. Pohřbeny jsou zde významné osobnosti, mj. učený rabín Samuel ha-Levi Kolin, řečený Machacit ha--Šekel (1724–1806), rabín Abraham Placzek (1799–1884). Uprostřed areálu stojí trosky obřadní síně z roku 1763 s kamennou deskou s textem modlitby Kadiš. Hřbitov je v období od dubna do října volně přístupný návštěvníkům. Osobnosti a zajímavosti Boskovice jsou rodným městem očního lékaře Abrahama Alberta Ticho (1883–1960, Jeruzalém) a  spisovatele Hermanna Ungara (1893–1929, Praha). Každoročně se zde druhý víkend v červenci koná kulturní festival, jehož výtěžek je určen na záchranu a obnovu židovské čtvrti.

16


Boskowitz

Boskovice

1698 wurde ein Seitenschiff angebaut. Zwischen 1991 und 2001 wurde hier nach umfangreichen Rekonstruktionen eine Museumsausstellung zur Geschichte und zu den Denkmälern der hiesigen jüdischen Gemeinde installiert. Die Ausstellung ist saisonal von April bis Oktober montags von 13 bis 17 Uhr, dienstags bis freitags von 9 bis 17 Uhr, samstags von 10 bis 16 Uhr und sonntags von 12 bis 17 Uhr geöffnet. Außerhalb der angeführten Zeiten nach vorheriger telephonischer Vereinbarung. Kontakt: Herr Janík, T: +420 608 305 987.

gogue was extended with a side aisle in 1698. After a comprehensive reconstruction in 1991–2001, the synagogue nowadays hosts an exhibit covering the history of the local Jewish Community and featuring the preserved relics. The exhibit is open to public from April to October: Mondays from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM, Tuesday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM and Sundays from 12:00 AM to 5:00 PM, at other times upon a prior appointment by phone. Contact: Mr. Janík, Tel: +420 608 305 987.

Der jüdische Friedhof Der an einem Hang unterhalb des Schloßwildparks gelegene Friedhof wurde spätestens im 16. Jahrhundert gegründet. Es befinden sich hier 2 400 Grabsteine, von denen der älteste aus dem Jahre 1670 stammt. Begraben liegen hier bedeutende Persönlichkeiten, u. a. der gelehrte Rabbiner Samuel ha-Levi Kolin, genannt Machazit ha-Schekel (1724–1806), der Rabbiner Abraham Placzek (1799–1884). Inmitten des Areals steht die Ruine der Trauerzeremonienhalle von 1763 mit einer Steintafel, auf welcher der Text des Kaddischgebets geschrieben steht. Der Friedhof ist in der Zeit von April bis Oktober für Besucher frei zugänglich.

The Jewish Cemetery

Persönlichkeiten und interessante Informationen

Personalities and Further Information

Boskowitz ist die Geburtsstadt des Augenarztes Abraham Albert Ticho (1883–1960 in Jerusalem) und des Schriftstellers Hermann Ungar (1893–1929 in Prag). Jeweils am zweiten Wochenende im Juli veranstaltet die Stadt alljährlich ein Kulturfestival, dessen Erlös der Bewahrung und Erneuerung der Judenstadt gewidmet ist.

Boskovice was also a hometown of the noted ophthalmologist Abraham Albert Ticho (1883–1960, Jerusalem) and the writer Hermann Ungar (1893–1929, Prague). Annually, the Boskovice Festival takes place the second weekend in July; the profit is used to support saving and reconstructing the Jewish quarter.

The local Jewish cemetery situated in Potoční Street was founded no later than the 16th century. There are buried some notable personalities at the cemetery, such as learned rabbi Samuel ha-Levi Kolin, called Machzit ha-Shekel (1724–1806) or rabbi Abraham Placzek (1799–1884). At the centre of the area there are the ruins of a house of mourning from 1763 with the Kaddish prayer carved into a stone board. During the tourist season public from April to October, the cemetery is open to public at all times.

17


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Holešov Nedaleká chráněná krajinná oblast Moravský kras patří mezi nejvýznamnější krasové oblasti ve střední Evropě. Na celém území je známo více než 1 100 jeskyní, z nichž čtyři jsou přístupné veřejnosti: ■■ Punkevní jeskyně s možností plavby na podzemní říčce

Punkvě spojené s prohlídkou dna propasti Macocha, ■■ Kateřinská jeskyně s unikátními hůlkovými stalagmity, ■■ jeskyně Balcarka s bohatou a barevnou krápníkovou výzdobou, ■■ Sloupsko-šošůvské jeskyně tvořené mohutnými chodbami a podzemními propastmi. Informace na tel.: +420 516 413 575; +420516 410 024. HOLEŠOV Město Holešov, vzdálené asi 80 km od Brna, leží na rozhraní Valašska a Hané. Je zmiňováno již ve 12. století. O židovském osídlení lze hovořit od 16. století. Zdejší židovská obec byla centrem kultury a vzdělanosti, jednou z nejdůležitějších na Moravě. V polovině 19. století zde Židé tvořili asi třetinu obyvatel města. Neblahé důsledky zanechaly pogromy v letech 1774, 1899 a 1918. Po druhé světové válce byla židovská komunita krátce obnovena, v šedesátých letech minulého století jako samostatná zanikla a administrativně byla přiřazena k židovské obci brněnské. 18


holleschau

Holešov

Das unweit gelegene Naturschutzgebiet Moravský kras (Mährischer Karst) gehört zu den bedeutendsten Karstgebieten Mitteleuropas. Auf dem gesamten Territorium sind mehr als 1 100 Höhlen bekannt, von denen vier der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind: ■■ Die Punkevní-Höhle mit der Möglichkeit einer Bootsfahrt auf dem unterirdischen Flüßchen Punkva, verbunden mit einer Besichtigung des Grundes der Macochaschlucht, ■■ die Katherinenhöhle, die für ihre einzigartigen stabförmigen Stalagmiten bekannt ist, sowie die Balcarka-Höhle mit reichen und farbenprächtigen Tropfsteinverzierungen, ■■ die Sloupsko-šošůvská-Höhle, die aus gewaltigen Gängen und unterirdischen Schluchten besteht. Informationen unter T: +420 516 413 575; +420516 410 024.

The nearby natural park Moravian Carst is one of the most important carst regions of the Central Europe. There are over 1,100 caves within the region, four of which are open to public: ■■ The Punkva Cave, where visitors can take a motor boat ride down the underground river of Punkva and visit the bottom of the Macocha Abyss; ■■ The Kateřinská Cave, famous for its unique stick-shaped stalagmites; ■■ The Balcarka Cave with its varied and colourful dripstone decorations; ■■ The Sloupsko-šošůvské Caves comprising of massive corridors and underground abysses. For more information call +420 516 413 575; +420516 410 024.

HOLLESCHAU Die etwa 80 Kilometer von Brünn entfernte Stadt Holleschau liegt an der Grenze zwischen der Walachei und der Hana. Sie wird bereits im 12. Jahrhundert erwähnt. Von einer jüdischen Ansiedlung kann seit dem 16. Jahrhundert gesprochen werden. Die hiesige jüdische Gemeinde war ein Zentrum von Kultur und Bildung, als solches eine der wichtigsten in Mähren. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts stellten die Juden etwa ein Drittel der Einwohnerschaft dar. Verhängnisvolle Folgen hatten Pogrome in den Jahren 1774, 1899 und 1918. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurde die jüdische Kommunität für kurze Zeit wiederbelebt, in den sechziger Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts hörte sie auf, als eigenständige Gemeinde zu existieren und wurde administrativ an die Brünner jüdische Gemeinde angegliedert.

HOLEŠOV The town of Holešov is located some 80 km from Brno at the boundary of Valašsko and Haná regions. The first record of Holešov dates back to as early as the 12th century and the records of a local Jewish settlement to the 16th century. The Jewish Community of Holešov became one of the most important Jewish settlements in Moravia, a true centre of culture and education. The Jews comprised one third of the town’s population by the mid-19th century. The pogroms in 1774, 1899 and 1918 left the community diminished. It was restored for a short period after the end of WWII but has not been an autonomous community since the 1960s when it was formally merged with the Jewish Community of Brno. 19


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Holešov Židovská čtvrť Holešovská židovská čtvrť leží severozápadně od náměstí. Z celkem 103 původních domů se do současnosti zachovalo 45 budov, mezi nimi škola v č.p. 123, náboženská studovna Bet ha-midraš v č.p. 134 a špitál v č.p. 260. Nová synagoga v historizujícím slohu z let 1891–1893 od architekta Jakoba Gartnera byla vypálena nacisty roku 1941 a zbořena. Stará synagoga v Příční ulici, zvaná Šachova, byla postavena roku  1560 v  renesančním slohu. Při úpravě ve třicátých letech 18.  století získala výtvarnou výzdobu s  cennou ornamentální výmalbou s  hebrejskými liturgickými texty, která je dílem polských židovských imigrantů. Po komplexní obnově v letech 1956 až 1964 je uvnitř umístěna muzejní expozice „Židé a Morava“. Židovský hřbitov Na okraji židovské čtvrti, asi 200 m severně od náměstí, v  Hankeho ulici, leží židovský hřbitov. Založen byl pravděpodobně v  16. století. Nejstarší čitelný náhrobek pochází z roku 1647. Na ploše hřbitova stojí nejméně 1 000 náhrobků, mezi nimi cenné kameny barokního a klasicistního typu. Pochovány jsou zde významné osobnosti, např. spisovatel Max Winder (1855–1920). Ze zde pochovaných rabínů byl nejvýznamnější Sabataj ben Meir ha-Kohen (1621–1663) z Vilna, zvaný Šach, podle spisu Siftei Kohen. Jeho tumba,

20


holleschau

Holešov

Das Judenviertel

Jewish Quarter

Das Holleschauer jüdische Viertel ist nordwestlich des Hauptplatzes gelegen. Von den ursprünglich 103 Häusern sind bis auf den heutigen Tag 45 Gebäude erhalten geblieben, darunter die Schule mit der Ortsnummer 123, der religiöse Studiensaal Bejt ha-midrasch Nr. 134 und das Spital Nr. 260. Die in einem historisierenden Stil 1891–1893 von dem Architekten Jakob Gartner erbaute Neue Synagoge wurde 1941 von den Nazis niedergebrannt. Die Alte Synagoge in der Příční-Straße, auch Šachova genannt, wurde 1560 im Renaissancestil erbaut. Bei Umbauten in den dreißiger Jahren des 18. Jahrhunderts erfuhr das Interieur eine barocke künstlerische Ausgestaltung mit wertvoller Ornamentenmalerei und hebräischen liturgischen Texten – das Werk polnischer jüdischer Immigranten. Nach einer komplexen Restaurierung in den Jahren 1956–1964 befindet sich nunmehr im Innern die Museumsausstellung „Die Juden und Mähren“ (Židé a Morava).

The Jewish quarter in Holešov is located northwest of the Square. Of the original 103 Jewish houses 45 buildings have been preserved – among them, a school at No. 123, a house of religious study Beit Ha-Midrash at No. 134 and a hospital at No. 260. The new synagogue built in 1891–1893 in the Historicist style by architect Jakob Gartner was burnt down by the Nazis in 1941 and torn down. The old synagogue, called Shah’s, in Příční Street, was built in renaissance style in 1560. During the alterations in the 18th century, the interior obtained a uniform artwork decoration of valuable ornamental illumination and Hebraic liturgical texts, the work of Jewish immigrants from Poland. Following a complete reconstruction in 1956–1964 the synagogue houses the exhibit “Moravia and The Jews” (Židé a Morava).

Der jüdische Friedhof Am Rande des Judenviertels etwa 200 Meter vom Hauptplatz entfernt, liegt in der Hanke-Straße der jüdische Friedhof. Angelegt wurde er wahrscheinlich im 16. Jahrhundert. Der älteste lesbare Grabstein stammt aus dem Jahre 1647. Auf der Fläche des Friedhofs stehen mindestens 1 000 Grabsteine, darunter wertvolle barocken und klassizistischen Typs. Begraben liegen hier bedeutende Persönlichkeiten, wie z. B. der Schriftsteller Max Winder (1855–1920). Von den hier beerdigten Rabbinern war der bedeutendste Sabbataj ben Meir ha-Kohen (1621–1663) aus Wilna, genannt Schach, nach der Schrift Siftei Kohen. Seine inmitten des Rabbinerbezirks stehende

The Jewish Cemetery The Jewish cemetery at Hankeho Street on the outskirts of the Jewish quarter is situated approximately 200m north of the Dr. E.  Beneš Square. It is believed to have been founded in the 16th century, the oldest legible tombstone dating back to 1647. The cemetery has at least 1,000 tombstones, valuable baroque and classicist tombs among them. There are graves of several notable personalities such as the writer Max Winder (1855–1920). The most noted among the Holešov rabbis was Sabbatai ben Meir ha-Kohen (1621–1663) from Vilna, called Shah according to the Siftei Kohen tract. His tomb situated at the centre of the rabbinical section is the destination of pilgrims from the all over the world. The tomb was built in 1663, the year of his demise, and altered 21


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Ivančice stojící uprostřed rabínského okrsku, je cílem poutníků z celého světa. Byla vystavěna v  roce jeho úmrtí, tedy 1663, a  upravena roku 1817. Při vstupu na hřbitov stojí obřadní síň z roku 1903, která uvnitř skrývá pamětní desku obětem nacistické rasové perzekuce. Hřbitov je návštěvníkům volně přístupný. Zajímavosti Ve městě se každoročně na přelomu července a srpna koná festival „Týden židovské kultury“. Za návštěvu rozhodně stojí Baťův kanál. V  současné době je využíván pouze jako turistická vodní cesta. Délka kanálu je 60 km, z Otrokovic do Sudoměřic. Rozdíl výšek na této vodní cestě vyrovnává 13 zdymadel (plavebních komor). Na trase je 13 jezů. Šířka Baťova kanálu je v průměru 12 m. Na cestě je postaveno 50 mostů, mnohé jsou unikátní technickou památkou. Provoz je zde od května do konce října. Kontakt: Baťův kanál, o.p.s., Zámecká 2, Veselí nad Moravou, tel. + 420 518 325 330. Otevřeno: pondělí–pátek, 8–16 hod. IVANČICE Necelých 30 km jihozápadně od Brna leží město Ivančice. Místní židovské osídlení existovalo snad již od 13. století a patřilo k nejstarším a nejdůležitějším na Moravě. Do roku 1840 zde působila ješiva a řada významných rabínů. Židov-

22


Eibenschitz

Ivančice

Tumba ist das Ziel von Pilgern aus der ganzen Welt. Sie wurde in seinem Todesjahr, also 1663 errichtet und 1817 umgestaltet. Am Friedhofseingang steht die Trauerzeremonienhalle aus dem Jahre 1903, in der sich eine Gedenktafel für die Opfer der nazistischen Rassenverfolgung befindet. Der Friedhof ist für Besucher frei zugänglich.

in 1817. A house of mourning dating from 1903 is located by the entrance to the cemetery, where a memorial plaque to the victims of Nazi racial persecution is mounted. The cemetery is open to visitors at all times.

Interessante Informationen

Every year, the festival “Týden židovské kultury“ (Jewish Culture Week) takes place in Holešov around the turn of August. One of the Holešov must-see sights is the Bata Canal. The Canal is nowadays used as a waterway for tourist purposes only. The canal’s length is 60 km, from Otrokovice to Sudoměřice. The differences of water levels on this waterway are compensated by means of the 13 sluices (lock chambers). The waterway also features 13 water-raising dams. The Baťa Canal is 12 m wide on average. There are 50 bridges spanning over the waterway, many of them unique technical landmarks. The Canal is available to public from May till the end of October. Contact: Baťův kanál, o.p.s., Zámecká 2, Veselí nad Moravou. Tel: + 420 518 325 330. Opening hours: Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.

Jedes Jahr an der Monatswende Juni August findet in der Stadt das Festival „Woche der jüdischen Kultur“ statt. Einen Besuch ist zweifellos der Baťa-kanal wert. In der Gegenwart wird er nur touristisch genutzt. Länge des Kanals beträgt 60 km, von Otrokovice nach Sudoměřice. Die Höhenunterschiede auf diesem Wasserweg gleichen 13 Schleusen aus. Auf der Strecke gibt es 13 Wehre. Die Breite des Baťa-kanals beträgt durchschnittlich 12 m. Auf der Strecke sind 50 Brücken gebaut worden, viele stellen ein einzigartiges technisches Denkmal dar. Verkehr gibt es hier von Mai bis Ende Oktober. Kontakt: Baťův kanál, o.p.s., Zámecká 2, Veselí nad Moravou, T: +420 518 325 330. Geöffnet: montags bis freitags, 8 –16 Uhr.

EIBENSCHITZ Nicht ganz 30 Kilometer südwestlich von Brünn ist die Stadt Eibenschitz gelegen. Eine lokale jüdische Ansiedlung hat es wohl schon seit dem 13. Jahrhundert gegeben. Diese gehörte zu den ältesten und wichtigsten in Mähren. Bis 1840 gab es hier eine Jeschiwa und es wirkten hier eine Reihe bedeutender Rabbiner. Die im zweiten Weltkrieg vernichtete jüdische Kommunität wurde nach dem Kriege für kurze Zeit wiederbelebt.

Further Information

IVANČICE The town of Ivančice is situated less than 30 km southwest of Brno. The local Jewish settlement, which had probably existed since as early as the 13th century, was among the oldest and most important ones in Moravia. Until 1840, a yeshiva was run in Ivančice with a number of noted rabbis. The Jewish Community of Ivančice was restored for a short period of time after the end of WWII. 23


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Ivančice ská komunita, zničená za 2. světové války, byla po jejím konci nakrátko obnovena. Židovská čtvrť V severní části městského jádra se prostírá bývalá židovská čtvrť, dnes ulice Josefa Vávry, Jana Schwarze a Ve fortně. Z původních 73 domů je dochováno 52 budov, mezi nimi lázeň v č.p. 100 a škola v č.p. 42. Pozornost upoutá malebné prů­čelí domu v č.p. 98 s kovaným zábradlím balkonu z roku 1818. Synagoga Roku 1853 byla na místě starší svatyně, v  dnešní ulici Josefa Vávry 26, postavena synagoga v pozdně klasicistním slohu. Půlstoletí sloužila jako skladiště, od roku 2008 se opravuje, aby mohla být využívána ke kulturním účelům města. Židovský hřbitov Severně od náměstí najdeme v  Mřenkové ulici židovský hřbitov. Založen byl nejpozději v 16. století. Stojí zde kolem 1  000  náhrobků, přičemž nejstarší čitelný pochází z  poloviny 16.  století. Hřbitov obsahuje velmi cenné náhrobky renesančního, barokního a klasicistního typu s pozoruhodnou symbolikou, která se vztahuje k rodu, jménu, povolání a vlastnostem zemřelého. Pohřbeny jsou zde též významné místní osobnosti. Při vstupu zaujme pozornost obřadní síň eklektického architektonického výrazu z roku 1902. Návště-

24


Eibenschitz

Ivančice

Das jüdische Viertel

Jewish Quarter

Im Nordteil des Stadtkerns erstreckt sich das einstige Judenviertel, heute die Straßen Josefa Vávry, Jana Schwarze und Ve fortně. Von ursprünglich 73 Häusern sind 52 Gebäude erhalten geblieben, darunter das Bad Nr. 100 und die Schule Nr. 42. Die Aufmerksamkeit zieht die pittoreske Fassade des Hauses Nr. 98 mit einem schmiedeeisernen Balkongeländer aus dem Jahre 1818 auf sich.

The Jewish quarter is situated in the north part of the city centre, today comprising streets Josefa Vávry, Jana Schwarze and Ve fortně. From the original 73 Jewish houses 52 still remain, a bathhouse at No. 100 and a school at No. 42 among them. What arrests visitors’ attention is the picturesque front face of the house at No. 98 with a forged balcony railing from 1818.

Der jüdische Friedhof

Synagogue

Den jüdische Friedhof finden wir nördlich des Hauptplatzes in der Mřenková-Straße. Angelegt wurde er spätestens im 16. Jahrhundert. Es stehen hier etwa 1000 Grabsteine, wobei der älteste aus der Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts stammt. Auf dem Friedhof gibt es sehr wertvolle Grabsteine des Renaissance-, Barock- sowie klassizistischen Typs mit beachtenswerter Symbolik in Bezug auf Abkunft, Namen, Beruf und Eigenschaften des Verstorbenen. Es sind hier auch bedeutende hiesige Persönlichkeiten begraben. Am Eingang zieht die Aufmerksamkeit die Trauerzeremonienhalle aus dem Jahre 1902 eklektischer architektonischer Gestaltung auf sich. Ein Besuch des Friedhofs ist nach Vereinbarung möglich. Kontakt: Zdena Dvořáčková, Mřenková 24, T: +420 546 437 280.

The synagogue at 26 Josefa Vávry Street was built in late Classicist style at the site of an older temple in 1853. Since 2008 a comprehensive historical reconstruction of the synagogue has been under way in order to enable use of the building for the town’s cultural needs.

Persönlichkeiten und interessante Informationen Eibenschitz ist die Geburtsstadt des Musikwissenschaftlers Guido Adler (1855–1941 in Wien) und des Komponisten Hugo Weisgall (1912–1997 in New York) Eine Gedenktafel am Haus Krumlovská 1 erinnert an die Stelle, wo sich 1938–1942 ein Durchgangs- und da-

The Jewish Cemetery Founded no later than in the 16th century, the Jewish cemetery is situated in Mřenková Street, north of Palacký Square. The area comprises 1,000 tombstones, the oldest readable of which dates back to mid-16th century. Some very valuable tombs can be found at the cemetery: baroque and classicist style tombs with remarkable symbolism refer to the families, names, professions and characters of the deceased. There are also graves of a number of notable personalities. A hall of mourning from 1902 by the cemetery entrance built in eclectic architectonic style arrests a visitor’s attention. A visit to the cemetery is possible upon a prior appointment. Contact: Zdena Dvořáčková, Mřenková 24, Tel: +420 546 437 280. 25


www.jewishBRNO.eu

MIKULOV va hřbitova je možná po dohodě. Kontakt: Zdena Dvořáčková, Mřenková 24, Ivančice, tel. +420 546 437 280. Osobnosti a zajímavosti Ivančice jsou rodným městem muzikologa Guido Adlera (1855–1941, Vídeň) a hudebního skladatele Hugo Weisgalla (1912–1997, New York). Pamětní deska na domě v Krumlovské 1 připomíná místo, kde byl v letech 1938–1942 umístěn tranzitní a poté internační tábor židovských obyvatel. Ivančice jsou známé také jako rodné město světově proslulého grafika a  malíře Alfonse Muchy (1860–1939, Praha) a  herce Vladimíra Menšíka (1929–1988, Brno). Oba tyto umělce připomíná expozice v  Muzeu Alfonse Muchy a  Vladimíra Menšíka. Kontakt: Palackého náměstí 4/9, Ivančice, tel.: +420 546 451 870. MIKULOV Téměř na hranicích s  Rakouskem, asi 50 km od Brna, leží malebné město Mikulov. Již z dálky upoutá pohled zámek, pod nímž se nachází židovská čtvrť. Nejstarší písemná zmínka o Židech v Mikulově se vztahuje k roku 1369. Postupně zde vznikla vůbec nejpočetnější židovská komunita na Moravě – v polovině 19. století ji tvořilo 3 700 osob v rámci 620 systemizovaných rodin, tj. 39% obyvatel města. Mikulov v minulosti představoval duchovní, kulturní a poli-

26


Nikolsburg

MIKULOV

nach ein Internierungslager für jüdische Einwohner befunden hatte. Eibenschitz ist auch als Geburtsstadt des weltweit berühmten Graphikers und Malers Alfons Mucha (1860–1939 in Prag) und des tschechischen Schauspielers Vladimír Menšík (1929–1988 in Brünn) bekannt. An diese beiden Künstler erinnert eine Ausstellung im Alfons Mucha und Vladimír Menšík-Museum. Kontakt: Palacký-Platz 4/9, T: +420 546 451 870.

Personalities and Further Information

NIKOLSBURG Fast an der Grenze zu Österreich, etwa 50 Kilometer von Brünn entfernt liegt die malerische Stadt Nikolsburg. Schon aus der Ferne fesselt der Anblick des Schlosses, unter dem sich das jüdische Viertel erstreckt. Die älteste schriftliche Erwähnung von Juden in Nikolsburg geht auf das Jahr 1369 zurück. Allmählich entstand hier die an Mitgliedern größte jüdische Kommunität in Mähren überhaupt – Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts bestand sie aus 3 700 Personen im Rahmen von 620 planmäßigen Familien, d. h. es handelte sich um 39 % der Stadtbevölkerung. Nikolsburg stellte in der Vergangenheit das geistige, kulturelle und politische Zentrum der mährischen Juden dar. Seit Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts bis 1851 war es Sitz der mährischen Landesrabbiner. Diese Position bekleideten Jehuda Löw ben Bezalel, genannt Maharal (wahrscheinlich 1525–1609), Menachem Mendel Krochmal (1600–1661), David Oppenheimer (1664–1736), Samuel Schmelke Horowitz (1726–1778) und Mordechaj Benet (1753–1829). Die hiesige Jeschiwa erlangte in ganz Europa Berühmtheit. Die im 2. Weltkrieg vernichtete jüdische Gemeinde, wurde nach dessen Ende noch für kurze Zeit erneuert.

The town of Ivančice is the birthplace of the musicologist Guido Adler (1855–1941, Vienna) and the composer Hugo Weisgall (1912–1997, New York). A memorial mounted on the wall at 1 Krumlovská Street commemorates the place where a transit and interment camp for Jewish citizens was located in 1938–1942. Ivančice is also well-known as the birthplace of the world renowned graphic artist and painter Alfons Mucha (1860–1939, Prague) and the famous Czech actor Vladimír Menšík (1929–1988, Brno). They are commemorated by a dedicated exposition in the Alfons Mucha and Vladimír Menšík Museum. Contact: 4/9 Palacký Square, Tel: +420 546 451 870.

MIKULOV The picturesque town of Mikulov is situated some 80 km from Brno almost at the Czech-Austrian frontier. The Jewish quarter is situ­ ated under the Mikulov castle, which catches the eye from afar. The first written record of the presence of Jews in Mikulov dates back to 1369. The local Jewish community kept growing until it became the largest one in Moravia – in the mid-19th century it comprised 620 systemized families of 3,700 individuals, i.e. 39% of the then city’s population. Historical Mikulov was a spiritual, cultural and political centre of Moravian Jews. From the mid-16th century to 1851, Mikulov was the residential city of the Chief Rabbis of Moravia. This rabbinical position was successively held by Judah Loew ben Bezalel, widely known as Maharal of Prague (c. 1525–1609), Menachem Mendel Krochmal (1600–1661), David Oppenheimer (1664–1736), Shmuel Shmelke Horowitz (1726–1778) and 27


www.jewishBRNO.eu

MIKULOV tické centrum moravských Židů. Od poloviny 16. století do roku 1851 byl sídlem moravských zemských rabínů. Toto postavení zastávali Jehuda Löw ben Becalel, zvaný Maharal (c. 1525–1609), Menachem Mendel Krochmal (1600–1661), David Oppenheimer (1664–1736), Šemuel Šmelke Horovic (1726–1778) a Mordechaj Benet (1753–1829). Zdejší ješiva získala evropský věhlas. Židovská obec, zničená za 2. světové války, byla po jejím konci ještě krátce obnovena. Židovská čtvrť Původní židovskou čtvrť tvoří rozsáhlý areál na západní straně Zámeckého vrchu, dnes ulice Husova, Zámecká, Alfonse Muchy, U staré brány a Na jámě. Z původních 317 domů se jich po asanacích dochovalo 90, včetně budov židovských škol v Husově ulici 4 a 48, starobince v Husově 52 a cisterny pro rituální lázeň v suterénu domu v Husově 8. Některé z domů, ještě s renesanční a barokní dispozicí, obsahují zajímavé architektonické detaily, např. rohová loubí. Všechny památky propojuje od roku 2000 naučná stezka židovskou čtvrtí. Synagogy Stavba původní Horní synagogy z roku 1550 v Husově ulici 13 byla dále rozšířena v  roce 1689. Po požáru obdržela v letech 1719–1723 nový barokní rozvrh (snad za účasti zámeckého architekta Christiana Alexandra Oedtla). Čtveřice

28


Nikolsburg

MIKULOV

Das Judenviertel

Mordecai Benet (1753–1829). The local yeshiva had a Europe-wide outstanding reputation. The Jewish Community of Mikulov was restored for a short period of time after the end of WWII.

Das jüdische Viertel bildet ein ausgedehntes Areal auf der Westseite des Schloßberges, heute die Straßen Husova, Zámecká, Alfonse Muchy, U staré brány und Na jámě. Von den ursprünglich 317 Häusern sind nach Assanierungen 90 erhalten geblieben, darunter auch von institutionellen Gebäuden – der jüdischen Schulen Husova 4 und 48, des Altenheims Husova 52, und der Zisterne für das rituelle Tauchbad im Souterrain des Hauses Husova 8. Einige der Häuser, noch mit Renaissance- und Barockdisposition, enthalten interessante architektonische Details, z. B. Eckarkaden. Alle Denkmäler verbindet seit dem Jahre 2000 ein Lehrpfad durch das jüdische Viertel.

Die Synagogen Die Obere Synagoge in der Husova-Straße 13, ursprünglich ein Bauwerk aus dem Jahre 1550, wurde 1689 erweitert. Nach einem Brand erhielt sie in den Jahren 1719–1723 (wohl unter Beteiligung des Schloßarchitekten Christian Alexander Oedtl) eine neue barocke Baugliederung. Die vier Kuppeln wölben sich zu einem viersäuligen Pfeiler in der Mitte der Halle herab und bilden so das Lesepodium – den Almemor. Es handelt sich um den letzten erhaltengebliebenen Tempel polnischen bzw. Lemberger Typs in der Tschechischen Republik. Heute dient die Obere Synagoge kulturellen Zwecken, im Innern finden wir eine Museumsexposition über die Geschichte und Gedenkstätten der jüdischen Gemeinde. An der Fassade wurde 1995 eine Gedenktafel für die Holocaust­ opfer enthüllt. Von den einstigen 12 Gotteshäusern sind noch die Bausubstanz der Michelstädter Synagoge von 1697 (ursprünglich

Jewish Quarter The Jewish quarter is an extensive area situated at the western side of the Zámecký Hill, whose streets are nowadays called Husova, Zámecká, Alfonse Muchy, U staré brány and Na jámě. Out of the original 317 Jewish houses 90 have been left after demolitions, including the following buildings of former Jewish institutions: two Jewish schools at No. 4 and No. 48 Husova Street, an old people‘s home at 52 Husova Street and a cistern for the ritual bath in the basement of the house at 8 Husova Street. Some of the buildings, still with the renaissance and baroque disposition, feature interesting architectonic details such as corner archways. Since 2000, all the attractive sights have been presented as part of an educational trail winding through the Jewish quarter.

Synagogues The Upper Synagogue at 13 Husova Street, built in 1550, was later expanded in 1689. After the fire, the synagogue received a new baroque design in 1719–1723 (perhaps with the contribution of the magistrate architect Christian Alexandrer Oedtl). The four cupolas of the synagogue are vaulted together into a four-column pillar in the middle of the hall creating a rostrum – almemar. The synagogue is the last surviving temple of the Polish or Lviv design in the Czech Republic. Nowadays the Upper Synagogue serves as a cultural facility hosting an exposition covering the history of the 29


www.jewishBRNO.eu

MIKULOV kupolí je sklenuta do čtyřsloupového pilíře uprostřed haly a vytváří tak řečniště – almemor. Synagoga je posledním dochovaným templem polského či lvovského typu v  České republice. Dnes slouží Horní synagoga kulturním účelům, uvnitř najdeme muzejní expozici o  historii a  památkách židovské obce. Na jejím průčelí byla v roce 1995 odhalena pamětní deska obětem holokaustu. Z někdejších 12 modlite­ ben zůstala ještě zachována hmota Michlštetrovské synagogy z roku 1697 (původně ve dvoře domu v Husově ulici 52, dnes součást hotelu Templ) a  torzo Aškenázské synagogy z roku 1675 (ve dvoře domů v ulici Alfonse Muchy 18–20); ostatní byly v průběhu 150 let funkčně zrušeny a zbourány. Židovský hřbitov Hřbitov na severním okraji ghetta, na svahu Kozího hrádku, byl založen již v 15. století. Na ploše dvou hektarů se nalézá kolem 4 000 náhrobků, z  toho nejstarší čitelný pochází z roku 1605. Jedná se o mimořádně cenné pohřebiště. Na rabínském vršku jsou pochováni věhlasní učení moravští zemští rabíni – jejich hroby jsou cílem poutníků z celého světa. Na ploše ještě nalezneme památník vojáků padlých v první světové válce a pomník 21 maďarských Židů zavražděných v roce 1945. Při vstupu stojí obřadní síň z roku 1898 od architekta Maxe Fleischera s muzejní expozicí věnovanou židovskému Mikulovu a pohřebnímu ritu.

30


Nikolsburg

MIKULOV

im Hof des Hauses Husova 52, heute Teil des Hotels Templ) und der Torso der Aschkenasischen Synagoge von 1675 (im Hof der Häuser Alfonse Muchy 18–20) erhalten geblieben, die übrigen wurden im laufe von 150 Jahren in ihrer Funktion aufgelöst und abgerissen.

local Jewish Community and featuring the preserved relics. A memorial plaque to the victims of the Holocaust was mounted on its front wall and unveiled in 1995. Out of the original 12 Jewish temples the mass of the former Michlštetrov Synagogue from 1697 (initially situated in the courtyard of the house at 52 Husova Street, nowadays a  part of the Templ Hotel) and a  torso of the Ashkenazy Synagogue from 1675 (in the courtyard of the houses at the No. 18–20 Alfonse Muchy Street) have been preserved; the other synagogues were closed down and dismounted in the recent 150 years.

Der jüdische Friedhof Der Friedhof am Nordrand des Ghettos an einem Hang unter der Burgruine Kozí hrádek wurde im 15. Jahrhundert angelegt. Auf einer Fläche von zwei Hektar befinden sich etwa 4000 Grabsteine, davon der älteste leserliche aus dem Jahre 1605. Es handelt sich um eine außergewöhnlich wertvolle Bestattungsstätte. Am Rabbinerhügel liegen die berühmten gelehrten mährischen Landesrabbiner begraben – ihre Gräber sind das Ziel von Pilgern aus der ganzen Welt. Auf der Fläche des Friedhofs finden wir auch noch ein Denkmal für die im ersten Weltkrieg gefallenen Soldaten und ein Denkmal für 21 im Jahre 1945 ermordete ungarische Juden. Am Friedhofseingang befindet sich die 1898 von dem Architekten Max Fleischer erbaute Trauerzeremonienhalle mit einer dem jüdischen Nikolsburg und dem Begräbnisritual gewidmeten Museumsexposition.

Persönlichkeiten und interessante Informationen Nikolsburg ist die Geburtsstadt des Juristen und Schriftstellers Josef von Sonnenfels (1733–1817 in Wien) und des Dichters Hieronymus Lorm (1821–1902 in Brünn), mit bürgerlichem Namen Heinrich Landesmann, der auch als Autor des Lormschen Tastalphabets für Taubblinde bekannt ist. Von 1935 bis 1938 siedelte in Nikolsburg das Jüdische Museum für Mähren-Schlesien.

The Jewish Cemetery The Jewish cemetery located at the north edge of the Mikulov ghetto stretching over the slope of Kozí hrádek was founded as early as the 15th century. The area, almost 5 acres large, consists of around 4,000 tombstones, the oldest readable of which dates back to 1605. The necropolis is extremely valuable. At the Rabbis’ Hill the noted learned chief rabbis of the land are buried – their graves are the destination of pilgrimages from all over the world. The area also contains a memorial to the soldiers killed in WWI and a memorial to 21 Hungarian Jews murdered in 1945. A hall of mourning in eclectic design built by the architect Max Fleischer in 1898 is situated at the gate to the cemetery, hosting an exposition covering the Jewish Mikulov and the Jewish burial rituals.

Personalities and Further Information The town of Mikulov is the birthplace of the jurist and novelist Joseph von Sonnenfels (1733–1817, Vienna) and the poet Hiero31


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Slavkov u brna Osobnosti a zajímavosti Mikulov je rodným městem právníka a  spisovatele Josefa von Sonnenfelse (1733–1817, Vídeň) a  básníka Hieronyma Lorma (1821–1902, Brno), vlastním jménem Heinricha Landesmanna, také známého jako autora Lormovy dotykové abecedy pro hluchoslepé. V letech 1935–1938 v Mikulově sídlilo Židovské museum pro Moravsko-Slezsko. Naučná vinařská stezka Vinnou révu v  okolí Mikulova vysazovali již obyvatelé ve 3. stol. n. l. Na ně pak navazovaly vinařské cechy, jež se zasloužily, že se již v 16. století mluví o Mikulovské vinařské oblasti. Značka Víno Mikulov – Sommelier Club je řadou, v jejímž rámci jsou nabízena nejlepší vína z Mikulovské vinařské oblasti. Ve městě je řada sklípků, které poskytnou nejen odborný výklad, ale také ochutnávku svých produktů. SLAVKOV u BRNA Ve městě, proslaveném bitvou Napoleona s  rakouskými a ruskými vojsky v roce 1805 a světu známém pod jménem Austerlitz, je židovská komunita doložena již k roku 1343. Sídlo se v židovské literatuře nazývalo Ir Laban, tj. Bílé město. Vrcholu dosáhl počet obyvatel židovského vyznání ve Slavkově v polovině 19. století, poté nastává stálý pokles z důvodu

32


AUSTERLITZ

AUSTERLITZ

Weinbaulehrpfad

nymus Lorm (1821–1902, Brno) alias Heinrich Landesmann, the author of the Lorm Finger Alphabet for the deaf-blind. The Jewish Museum for Moravia and Silesia resided in Mikulov in 1935–1938.

Weinstöcke wurden in der Gegend um Nikolsburg von den Bewohnern schon im 3. Jahrhundert u. Z. angepflanzt. An diese knüpften dann lokale Winzerinnungen an, die sich darum verdient machten, daß man bereits im 16. Jahrhundert von dem Nikolsburger Weinbaugebiet sprach. Die Marke Víno Mikulov – Sommelier Club ist eine Serie, in der die besten Weine der Nikolsburger Weingegend angeboten werden. In der Stadt gibt es eine Reihe von Weinkellern, die nicht nur fachliche Erläuterungen, sondern auch „Verkostungen“ ihrer Produkte anbieten.

AUSTERLITZ In der durch die Schlacht Napoleons mit russischen und österreichischen Heeren im Jahre 1805 in der Welt als Austerlitz bekannten Stadt ist eine jüdische Kommunität bereits 1343 belegt Die Ansiedlung hieß in der jüdischen Literatur Ir Laban, d.h. Weiße Stadt. Ihren Höhepunkt erreichte die Anzahl der Einwohner jüdischen Glaubensbekenntnisses in Austerlitz Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, danach setrzte eine ständige Abnahme aufgrund einer Migration in die großen Städte ein. Die eigenständige jüdische religiöse Gemeinde hörte 1942 infolge der nazistischen Verfolgung auf zu existieren.

Das Judenviertel. Das historische Judenviertel in Austerlitz erstreckt sich westlich des Hauptplatzes und wird von den Straßen Úzká, U synagogy und Koláčkovo-Platz gebildet. Von den ursprünglich 77 Häusern

Educational viticultural trail The inhabitants of the Mikulov region already planted grapevine in the 3rd century. The tradition was later carried on by local guilds of winegrowers, thanks to which the Mikulov region was already known for its wine as far as in the 16th century. “Víno Mikulov – Sommelier Club” is the brand of the top wine yielded by the Mikulov viticulture region. The city features a number of wine vaults where wines are presented professionally and where wine-tasting evenings can be booked.

SLAVKOV U BRNA In the town of Slavkov known to the world as Austerlitz and famous for the battle Napoleon fought against Austrian and Russian armies in 1805, the record of a Jewish community dates back to as far as 1343. The settlement is in the Jewish bibliography called Ir Laban, the White Town. The Jewish population in Slavkov peaked in the mid-19th century, after which a continual decline followed due to the migration of citizens into large cities. The Nazi persecution ended the autonomous Jewish Religious Community in 1942.

Jewish Quarter The historical Jewish quarter of Slavkov is situated west of the main Square and it comprises the streets Úzká, U synagogy 33


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Slavkov u brna migrace do velkých měst. Samostatná židovská náboženská obec zanikla v roce 1942 důsledkem nacistické perzekuce. Židovská čtvrť Historická židovská čtvrť ve Slavkově se prostírá západně od hlavního náměstí; tvoří ji ulice Úzká, U synagogy a Koláčkovo náměstí. Z původních 77 domů se jich dochovalo 36, mezi nimi škola s rituální lázní v č. p. 664, kde je umístěna stálá muzejní expozice o historii a památkách židovské obce. Synagoga Synagoga se nachází uprostřed areálu v  ulici U  synagogy. Byla postavena na místě starší svatyně v letech 1857–1858 v novorománském slohu se dvěma odstupňovanými štíty na průčelí. V letech 1994–1998 byla obnovena pro účely okresního archivu. Při slavnostním otevření v roce 1998 byla na průčelí odhalena pamětní deska místním obětem holokaustu. V předsíni synagogy zaujme pozornost menší muzejní expozice rovněž věnovaná osudům zdejší židovské komunity. Židovský hřbitov Nový židovský hřbitov leží severně od náměstí v zákrutech silnice vedoucí směrem na Rousínov. Založen byl v roce 1744. Na jeho ploše nalezneme asi 300 náhrobků, přičemž nejstarší pomníky z let 1735–1736 sem byly přeneseny ze starého hřbitova, který se nacházel jižně od města při říčce Litavě.

34


AUSTERLITZ

AUSTERLITZ

sind 36 erhalten geblieben, darunter die Schule mit dem rituellen Bad in der Nr. 664, wo sich eine ständige Museumsausstellung zur Geschichte und den Denkmälern der jüdischen Gemeinde befindet.

and Koláčkovo Square. From the original 77 Jewish houses 36 still have survived, a school with a ritual bath at No. 664 among them, where a  permanent exposition covering the history of the local Jewish community and featuring the preserved relics can be visited.

Die Synagoge

Synagogue

Inmitten des Areals in der Straße U synagogy befindet sich die Syna­ goge. Sie wurde an der Stelle eines älteren Tempels in den Jahren 1857–1858 in neuromanischem Stil mit zwei abgestuften Giebeln an der Fassade erbaut. Ein halbes Jahrhundert lang wurde sie als Lagerhalle genutzt, in den Jahren 1994–1998 wurde sie für das Kreisarchiv renoviert. Bei der feierlichen Eröffnung 1998 wurde an der Fassade eine Gedenktafel für die lokalen Holocaustopfer enthüllt. In der Vorhalle verdient eine kleinere, ebenfalls dem Schicksal der hiesigen jüdischen gemeinde gewidmete Museumsausstellung Aufmerksamkeit.

The synagogue is situated in the centre of the Jewish quarter in U synagogy Street. It was built at the site of an older temple in Romanesque Revival style with two stepped gables in its front face in 1857–1858. In order to serve as the county archive, the building was restored in 1994–1998. During the ceremonial reopening in 1998, a  memorial plaque to the victims of the Nazi racist genocide mounted on the south wall of the building was unveiled. A small exposition in the entrance hall of the synagogue, also dedicated to the fate of the local Jewish community, arrests a visitor’s attention.

Der jüdische Friedhof

The Jewish Cemetery

Der neue jüdische Friedhof liegt nördlich des Hauptplatzes in den Windungen der nach Rousínov führenden Landstraße. Angelegt wurde er 1744. Wir finden hier etwa 300 Grabsteine, wobei die ältesten aus den Jahren 1735–1736 stammenden vom alten Friedhof hierher gebracht worden sind, der sich südlich der Stadt am Flüßchen Litava befunden hatte. Begraben liegen hier eine Reihe gelehrter hiesiger Rabbiner. 1994 wurde auf dem Friedhofsterritorium ein Denkmal für die zerstörte jüdische Gemeinde installiert. Der Friedhof ist nach Vereinbarung zugänglich. Kontakt: Jaroslav Klenovský, T: +420 544 509 608.

Founded in 1744, the new Jewish cemetery is situated north of the main Square by the road winding its way towards the village of Rousínov. The area consists of c. 300 tombstones; the oldest stones from 1735–1736 came from the old cemetery, which was located south of the city by the Litava creek. The cemetery is a place where you can visit the graves of a number of local learned rabbis. A memorial to the uprooted Jewish community was erected in the middle of the cemetery area in 1994. The cemetery is open to public upon appointment. Contact: Jaroslav Klenovský, Tel: +420 544 509 608. 35


www.jewishBRNO.eu

TŘEBÍČ Pochována je zde řada místních učených rabínů. Uprostřed plochy byl v roce 1994 instalován památník vyvrácené židovské komunitě. Pohřebiště je přístupné po dohodě. Kontakt: Jaroslav Klenovský, tel. +420 544 509 608. Osobnosti a zajímavosti Slavkov je rodištěm architekta Maxe Katschera (1858–1918, Vídeň). Na počest obětí Napoleonovy vítězné bitvy u  Slavkova (2. 12. 1805) byl v nedaleké obci Prace vybudován památník Mohyla míru. Je dominantou i přirozeným středem chrá­něné památkové zóny Slavkovské bojiště. V renovovaném muzejním objektu sousedícím s  památníkem mohou návštěvníci shlédnout novou, netradičně pojatou multimediální expozici „Bitva tří císařů – Slavkov/Austerlitz 1805“. V areálu památníku probíhá každoročně na přelomu listopadu a  prosince pietní akt k uctění padlých, jako vyvrcholení vzpomínkových akcí k výročí bitvy. Otevřeno celoročně, tel.: +420 544 244 724. TŘEBÍČ V půvabné Třebíči, vzdálené asi 60 km západně od Brna, se nachází patrně nejzachovalejší židovská čtvrť v Evropě, která byla společně s  bazilikou sv. Prokopa v  roce 2003 právem zapsána – jako jediná památka tohoto druhu na světě – do prestižního seznamu světového kulturního dědictví UNESCO.

36


TREBITSCH

TŘEBÍČ

Persönlichkeiten und interessante Informationen

Personalities and Further Information

Austerlitz ist der Geburtsort des Architekten Max Katscher (1858– 1918 in Wien). Zu Ehren der Opfer der siegreichen Schlacht Napoleons bei Austerlitz (2. 12. 1805 wurde in der unweit gelegenen Gemeinde Prace das Denkmal Mohyla míru (Grabhügel des Friedens) errichtet. Es ist die Dominante und das natürliche Zentrum der unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Zone „Schlachtfeld von Austerlitz“. In einem neben dem Denkmal gelegenen renovierten Museumsobjekt können die Besucher die neue, untraditionell verstandene multimediale Ausstellung „Schlacht dreier Kaiser – Slavkov/Austerlitz 1805“ besichtigen. Im Areal der Gedenkstätte findet alljährlich an der Monatswende zwischen November und Dezember ein Pietätsakt zu Ehren der Gefallenen als Höhepunkt der Gedenkfeiern anläßlich des Jubiläums der Schlacht statt. Geöffnet das ganze Jahr über, T: +420 544 244 724.

Slavkov is the birthplace of the architect Max Katscher (1858–1918, Vienna). The Peace Monument, Mohyla míru, was erected in the nearby village of Prace to honour the victims of Napoleon’s victorious Battle of Austerlitz (fought on 2 December 1805). Situated in its centre, the monument genuinely dominates the state-protected historical area of the Austerlitz battleground. An inventively conceived multimedia exhibit called “The Battle of the Three Emperors – Slavkov/Austerlitz 1805” can be visited in the renovated museum building neighbouring the monument. The annual series of events commemorating the battle anniversary culminates with a piety act held within the monument grounds at the turn of December and honouring the people fallen in the battle. Open yearly, Tel: +420 544 244 724.

TREBITSCH

The picturesque town of Třebíč, situated c. 60 km west of Brno, is famous for what might be the best-preserved Jewish quarter in Europe. As the only of its kind in the world, the extremely valued urban complex was rightly listed as the UNESCO World Heritage Site – along with the St. Prokop Basilica. The first written record of the presence of Jews in Třebíč dates back to 1338. The autonomous Jewish Religious Community of Třebíč was founded in the second half of the 15th century. With 260 families of 1,700 members evidenced in the records, which represented a whole quarter of the city’s population in the mid-19th century,

In Trebitsch, das an sich schon eine reizvolle, etwa 60 Kilometer westlich von Brünn gelegene Stadt ist, befindet sich das wohl am besten erhaltengebliebene Judenviertel in Europa, das zu Recht gemeinsam mit der St. Prokop-Basilika 2003 in das prestigeträchtige Verzeichnis des Weltkulturerbes der UNESCO eingetragen wurde. Die älteste schriftliche Erwähnung von Juden in Trebitsch stammt aus dem Jahre 1338. Eine eigenständige jüdische Gemeinde kon­ stituierte sich in der zweiten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts, vor 1850 war sie der Anzahl nach eine der größten in Mähren (1700 Mitglie-

TŘEBÍČ

37


www.jewishBRNO.eu

TŘEBÍČ Nejstarší písemná zpráva o Židech v Třebíči pochází z roku 1338. Samostatná židovská obec byla ustavena ve druhé polovině 15. století; před rokem 1850 byla jednou z nejpočetnějších na Moravě (1 700 členů 260 povolených rodin tvořilo v  polovině 19. století celou čtvrtinu obyvatel města). Židovská komunita byla, tak jako v jiných místech, těžce postižena během nacistické okupace. Po 2. sv. válce byla židovská obec krátce obnovena a poté administrativně začleněna pod židovskou obec brněnskou. Třebíč historicky představovala jedno z důležitých kulturních center moravských Židů. Židovská čtvrť Na levém břehu řeky Jihlavy, v údolí pod zámkem a v sousedství historického městského jádra, se rozkládá v malebné poloze mezi řekou Jihlavou a  kopcem Hrádek židovská čtvrť. Dvě hlavní páteřní ulice, Blahoslavovu a L. Pokorného, zde propojuje čtrnáct úzkých příčných uliček a vnitřní veřejné domovní průchody. Čtvrť je vzácně dochovaná, z původních 123 domů ghetta v Zámostí byly zbourány pouze čtyři. Z budov bývalých židovských institucí stojí např. radnice v  ulici L. Pokorného 8, rabinát na Tichém nám. 4, škola v L. Pokorného 15, špitál v Pomezní 23 a chudobinec v Blahoslavově 23. Dispozice domů jsou ještě renesanční a  barokní a  obsahují řadu zajímavých architektonických detailů, např. rohová loubí. Častým jevem je tzv. kondominium, tj. rozdělení domu

38


Trebitsch

TŘEBÍČ

der von 260 bewilligte Familien stellten Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts ein Viertel der Stadtbevölkerung dar). Die jüdische Gemeinde wurde wie auch andernorts während der nazistischen Okkupation schwer getroffen. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg wurde die jüdische Gemeinde für kurze Zeit wiederbelebt, dann administrativ der Brünner jüdischen Gemeinde angegliedert. Trebitsch stellte historisch eines der wichtigsten kulturellen Zentren der mährischen Juden dar.

the local community had grown into one of the most populated in Moravia by 1850. The community was, like Jewish communities elsewhere, heavily afflicted during the Nazi occupation. It was restored for a short period of time after the end of WWII; later it was assigned under the administration of the Jewish Community of Brno. In the past, Třebíč was one of the important cultural centres of the Moravian Jews.

Das Judenviertel

Jewish Quarter

Das Judenviertel am linken Ufer des Flußes Jihlava, im Tal unter dem Schloß und in Nachbarschaft des historischen Stadtkerns erstreckt sich in malerischer Lage zwischen dem Fluß Jihlava und dem Hügel Hrádek. Das Rückgrat bilden die beiden Hauptstraßen Blahoslavova und L. Pokorného, die 14 enge Quergassen und öffentliche Hausdurchgänge miteinander verbinden. Das Viertel ist selten gut erhalten geblieben, von den ursprünglich 123 Häusern des Ghettos im Stadtteil Zámostí sind nur vier abgerissen worden. Von den Gebäuden einstiger jüdischer Institutionen stehen z. B. das Rathaus Pokorného-Straße 8, das Rabbinat Tiché nám. 4, die Schule L. Pokorného-Straße 15, das Spital Pomezní-Straße 23 und das Armenhaus Blahoslavova-Straße 23. Die Häuser verfügen noch über Renaissance- und Barockdispositionen und eine Reihe interessanter architektonischer Details, z. B. Eckarkaden. Eine häufige Erscheinung ist ein sogenanntes Kondominium, d.h. die Teilung des Hauses vertikal und horizontal in einige reale Teilbesitzer. Alle Denkmäler werden durch einen Lehrpfad durch das jüdische Viertel miteinander verbunden, stärken kann man sich in einigen Restaurants mit entsprechendem Ambiente.

The Jewish quarter spread in the valley under the castle and in the vicinity of the historical centre is situated on the left bank of the river of Jihlava in the picturesque location between the river and the Hrádek Hill. Fourteen narrow streets and public passages through the houses interconnect its two main streets Blahoslavova and L. Pokorného. The quarter is uniquely preserved; out of the original 23 houses of the ghetto in Zámostí only four were torn down. Of the buildings which used to house Jewish institutions a Jewish council house at 8 L. Pokorného St., a rabbinate at 4 Tiché Square, a school at 15 L. Pokorného St., a hospital at 23 Pomezní St. and a workhouse at 23 Blahoslavova St. have survived. Some of the buildings still have the renaissance and baroque disposition and feature many interesting architectonic details such as corner archways. There are condominiums among the buildings, i.e. houses divided vertically and horizontally into sections with several different owners. All the sights are presented as part of an educational trail winding through the Jewish quarter; the tired traveller can also pay a refreshing visit to one of the several stylish restaurants. 39


www.jewishBRNO.eu

TŘEBÍČ vertikálně a horizontálně na několik reálných dílových vlastníků. Všechny památky propojuje naučná stezka židovskou čtvrtí, osvěžení lze nalézt v několika stylových restauracích. Synagogy Přední synagoga na Tichém náměstí 12 byla postavena na místě starší dřevěné svatyně v letech 1639–1642 v barokním slohu. V  letech 1856–1857 byla upravena v  novogotickém stylu a mezi lety 1953–1954 pak byla adaptována na modlitebnu husitské církve. Je to nenápadná budova standard­ního synagogálního rozvrhu se sálem krytým neckovou klenbou. Budova je přístupná v době bohoslužeb nebo po dohodě s farním úřadem CČSH. Kontakt: p. Pražan, tel.: +420 568 841 632. Zadní synagoga v dnešní Blahoslavově ulici 43 byla postavena v roce 1669 jako barokní stavba. Její stěny a klenby obdržely během větší opravy v letech 1705–1707 stylovou výmalbu s rostlinnými a ornamentálními motivy v kombinaci s hebrejskými liturgickými texty. Budova byla dále upravena v roce 1737 a přesně o sto let později byla přistavěna ženská galerie. Od dvacátých let minulého století sloužil objekt světským účelům – jako skladiště. Památková obnova synagogy ke kulturním účelům proběhla v  letech 1994–1997, včetně zrestaurování cenné vnitřní výzdoby. V  interiéru se dnes nachází muzejní expozice o historii a památkách zdej-

40


Trebitsch

TŘEBÍČ

Die Synagogen

Synagogues

Die Vordere Synagoge auf dem Platz Tiché náměstí 12 wurde an der Stelle eines älteren hölzernen Tempels in den Jahren 1639–1642 im Barockstil erbaut. Sie wurde in den Jahren 1856–1857 neugotisch umgestaltet, zwischen 1953 und 1954 wurde sie dann als Gebetshaus der hussitischen Kirche eingerichtet. Es handelt sich um ein unauffälliges Gebäude nach dem Standartbauplan einer Synagoge mit einem Saal mit Muldengewölbedecke. Das Gebäude ist während der Gottesdienste oder nach Vereinbarung mit dem Pfarramt der Tschechoslowakische Hussitische Kirche (CČSH) zugänglich. Kontaktperson: Herr Pražan, T: +420 568 841 632.

The front synagogue at 12 Tiché Square was built at the site of an older temple in 1639–1642 in baroque style. The temple was rebuilt in Gothic Revival style in 1856–1857 and then converted into a Hussite Church chapel in 1953–1954. It is a discrete building of standard synagogual design featuring a hall with a trough vault. The chapel is open to public during the service or upon appointment with the parish of the Hussite Church. Contact: Mr. Pražan, Tel: +420 568 841 632.

Die Hintere Synagoge in der heutigen Blahoslavova-Straße 43 wurde als Barockbau im Jahre 1669 gegründet. Ihre Wände und Gewölbe erhielten während einer größeren Renovierung in den Jahren 1705–1707 stilvolle Bemalungen mit Pflanzen und Ornamentikmotiven in Verbindung mit hebräischen liturgischen Texten. 1737 wurde das Gebäude weiter umgestaltet, genau hundert Jahre später wurde eine Galerie für die Frauen angebaut. Seit den zwanziger Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts diente das Objekt weltlichen Zwecken – als Lagerhalle. Eine Denkmalsrestauration der Synagoge einschließlich der wertvollen Innendekoration zu kulturellen Zwecken wurde in den Jahren 1994–1997 vorgenommen. Im Interieur befindet sich heute eine Museumsausstellung zur Geschichte und den Denkmälern der hiesigen jüdischen Gemeinde. Die Synagoge ist das ganze Jahr über täglich von 10.00–12.00 und 13.00–17.00 zugänglich. Telephonischer Kontakt: +420 568 610 023.

The rear synagogue at 43 Blahoslavova Street was founded as a baroque-style building in 1669. Its walls and vaults were historically decorated with floral and ornamental motifs and Hebraic liturgical texts during a larger reconstruction in 1705–1707. The building was again altered in 1737 and exactly one hundred years later a women’s gallery was annexed. Since the 1920s the synagogue was used for profane purposes – as a storehouse. A historical reconstruction enabling the use of the synagogue as a cultural facility, which also involved restoring the valued interior decoration, was carried out in 1994–1997. Nowadays the synagogue hosts an exposition on the history of the local Jewish Community featuring the preserved relics. The synagogue is open to public daily from 10:00 AM to 12:00 AM and from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM. Tel: +420 568 610 023.

The Jewish Cemetery The Jewish cemetery is situated in the Hrádek Street north of the ghetto in the slope above a stream. Unlike the Jewish cemeteries 41


www.jewishBRNO.eu

TŘEBÍČ ší židovské obce. Synagoga je přístupná po celý rok denně od 10 do 12 hod. a od 13 do 17 hod. Tel.: +420 568 610 023. Židovský hřbitov V ulici Hrádek, severně od ghetta ve stráni nad potokem, se rozprostírá židovský hřbitov. Narozdíl od jiných hřbitovů v místech zaniklých židovských komunit je dodnes udržován ve vynikajícím stavu. Založen byl ve druhé polovině 15. století a v roce 1888 doznal rozšíření. Na ploše 1,2 hektaru se nalézá asi 3 000 náhrobků, z  nichž nejstarší čitelný pochází z roku 1625. Na hřbitově se nacházejí cenné náhrobní kameny renesančního, barokního a klasicistního typu, pohřbeny jsou zde významné místní osobnosti, např. rabín J. J. Pollak (zemř. 1879). Při vstupu na hřbitov stojí obřadní síň eklektického pojetí z roku 1903 s intaktně dochovaným interiérem. Na volné ploše dále za ní jsou instalovány památníky obětí 1. a  2. světové války. Tato jedna z  nejpůsobivějších památek funerálního umění u nás je veřejnosti přístupná denně mimo soboty, v  období květen–září od 8 do 20 hod., listopad–únor od 9 do 16 hod., říjen a březen od 8 do 18 hod. Kontakt: Zdeněk Malášek, tel.: +420 568 827 111. Osobnosti a zajímavosti Třebíč je rodné město orientalisty Wolfganga Wesselého (1801–1870) a  literárního kritika Kurta Beera-Konrada

42


Trebitsch

TŘEBÍČ

Der jüdische Friedhof

of other perished Jewish communities, the Jewish cemetery of Třebíč has been kept in a great shape. It was founded in the second half of the 15th century and later expanded in 1888. The 3-acre cemetery comprises circa 3,000 tombstones, the oldest readable of which dates back to 1625. The cemetery holds some valued renaissance, baroque and classicist tombstones. You can take the opportunity and visit the graves of some noted personalities of the region, such as rabbi J. J. Pollak (deceased 1879). At the gate to the cemetery an eclectic hall of farewell was built in 1903; its interior has been preserved intact. Memorials to the victims of WWI and WWII are situated further in the open area. The cemetery, one of the most impressive landmarks of the funeral art in the Czech Republic, is open to public daily except Saturdays, from May to September between 8:00 AM and 8:00 PM, from November to February between 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM, October and March from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM. Contact: Mr. Zdeněk Malášek, Tel: +420 568 827 111.

Der jüdische Friedhof erstreckt sich an der Hrádek-Straße nördlich des Ghettos an einem Hang über einem Bach. Er wird, im Vergleich mit anderen Friedhöfen an Orten nicht mehr existierender jüdischer Gemeinden, langfristig in einem ausgezeichneten Zustand gehalten. Angelegt wurde er in der zweiten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts und 1888 erfuhr er eine Erweiterung. Auf einer Fläche von 1,2 Hektar befinden sich etwa 3000 Grabsteine, von denen der älteste lesbare aus dem Jahre 1625 stammt. Auf dem Friedhof befinden sich wertvolle Renaissance-, Barock- und klassizistische Grabsteine, begraben liegen hier bedeutende hiesige Persönlichkeiten, z. B. der Rabbiner J. J. Pollak (gestorben 1879). Am Friedhofseingang steht eine Trauerzeremonienhalle eklektischen architektonischen Charakters aus dem Jahre 1903 mit einem gut erhaltenen Interieur. Des weiteren sind hinter ihr auf freier Fläche Denkmäler für die Opfer des 1. und 2. Weltkriegs installiert. Der Friedhof ist eines der beeindruckendsten Denkmäler seiner Art, er ist der Öffentlichkeit täglich außer samstags, von Mai bis September 8.00–20.00, von November bis Februar von 9.00–16.00, im Oktober und März 8.00–18.00 zugänglich. Kontaktperson: Zdeněk Malášek, T: +420 568 827 111.

Persönlichkeiten und interessante Informationen Trebitsch ist die Geburtsstadt des Orientalisten Wolfgang Wessely (1801–1870) und des Literaturkritikers Kurt Beer-Konrad (1908–1941 in Dresden). Jedes Jahr Anfang August füllt sich die Stadt mit Teilnehmern des Trebitscher jüdischen Festivals.

Personalities and Further Information Třebíč is the birthplace of the orientalist Wolfgang Wessely (1801–1870) and the literary critic Kurt Beer-Konrad (1908–1941, Dresden). The annual Třebíč Jewish Festival, taking place at the beginning of August, gives the city a dose of new life each year. A memorial to the victims of the holocaust has been erected in front of the Třebíč Grammar School building, where the transports to Terezín were dispatched from. The travellers can also pay a visit to the St. Prokop Basilica, one of the jewels of the European architecture. The national landmark 43


www.jewishBRNO.eu

Další tipy na výlety (1908–1941, Drážďany). Každý rok na počátku srpna zaplňují město účastníci Třebíčského židovského festivalu. Před budovou gymnázia, odkud byly vypravovány transporty do Terezína, je instalován památník obětem holokaustu. V těsné blízkosti židovské čtvrti je možno navštívit románsko-gotickou Baziliku sv. Prokopa ze 13. století, která patří ke klenotům evropského stavitelství. V roce 2003 byla zapsána společně s židovskou čtvrtí na seznam světového kulturního a přírodního dědictví UNESCO. Kontakt: Zámek 1, Třebíč, tel.: +420 568 610 022; +420 777 746 982. Další tipy na výlety Připravili jsme pro vás i další tipy na výlety. Nabízíme jak návštěvy jednotlivých míst, tak turistické okruhy po Brně a jižní Moravě. Výlety zabezpečuje TIC Brno. Kontakt: Radnická 8, Brno, tel. +420 542 427 152, www.ticbrno.cz. Kompletní nabídku těchto zájezdů, včetně mnoha dalších informací, najdete na adrese www.jewishbrno.eu, případně se s ní můžete seznámit osobně v Turistickém a informačním centru ŽOB při vstupu na židovský hřbitov v Brně. Kontakt: TIC ŽOB, Nezamyslova 27, Brno-Židenice, tel.: +420 544 526 737, www.jewishbrno.eu. Přejeme vám mnoho zajímavých a příjemných zážitků při putování po našem regionu!

44


Weitere Ausflugstipps

TOUR tips

Vor dem Gebäude des Gymnasiums, an der Stelle, von der die Transporte nach Theresienstadt abgeschickt worden waren, befindet sich ein Denkmal für die Holocaustopfer. In unmittelbarer Nähe des Judenviertels kann die romanisch-gotische St. Prokop-Basilika aus dem 13. Jahrhundert besucht werden, die zu den Kostbarkeiten der europäischen Baukunst zählt. Im Jahre 2003 wurde sie gemeinsam mit dem Judenviertel auf die Liste des Weltkultur- und Naturerbes der UNESCO gesetzt. Kontakt: Zámek 1, 674 01 Třebíč, T: +420 568 610 022; +420 777 746 982.

was built in Romanesque-Gothic style in the 13th century and is situated in the close vicinity of the Jewish quarter. Together with the Třebíč Jewish quarter, the Basilica has been listed as the UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2003. Contact: Zámek 1, 674 01 Třebíč, Tel: +420 568 610 022; +420 777 746 982.

Weitere Ausflugstipps Wir haben für Sie auch weitere Ausflugstipps ausgewählt, wir bieten sowohl Besuche einzelner Orte, als auch touristische Rundreisen durch Brünn und Südmähren an. Die Ausflüge organisiert das Touristische Informationszentrum TIC Brno. Kontakt: Radnická 8, 658 78 Brno, T: +420 542 162, www.ticbrno.cz. Das komplette Angebot dieser Exkursionen sowie viele weitere Informationen finden Sie unter der Adresse www.jewishbrno.eu, oder Sie können sich auch persönlich im Touristischen Informationszentrum der Brünner Jüdischen Gemeinde (TIC ŽOB) am Eingang zum jüdischen Friedhof in Brünn informieren. Kontakt: Nezamyslova 27, Brno-Židenice, T: +420 544 526 737, www.jewishbrno.eu.

Sightseeing tours tips: The Tourist Information Centre of the Jewish Community also offers tips for sightseeing tours, both excursions to individual sights and round trips in Brno and South Moravia. The sightseeing trips and tours are provided by TIC Brno. Contact: 8 Radnická St.; 658 78 Brno; Tel. +420 542 427 152; www.ticbrno.cz. The complete offer of the sightseeing tours, including further information, can be found either online at www.jewishbrno.eu or at the Tourist Information Centre of the Jewish Community of Brno situated next to the entrance to the Brno Jewish Cemetery. Contact: Nezamyslova 27, Brno-Židenice; Tel: +420 544 526 737, www.jewishbrno.eu.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viele interessante und angeneh- We wish you a plenty of interesting and pleasant me Erlebnisse beim Wandern durch unsere Region! experiences from the travels in our region! 45


TIC ŽOB

www.jewishBRNO.eu

Turistické a informační centrum Židovské obce Brno – TIC ŽOB

Projekt Brno židovské V průběhu čtyř staletí, po něž byli vyhnáni z Brna, se Židé usazovali v jeho blízkém okolí a v menších městečkách kraje. Stavěli zde své domy, synagogy, zřizovali hřbitovy a vytvářeli si podmínky pro naplnění svého života. Díky nim nacházíme spoustu památek židovské architektury, které se zachovaly a dotvářejí tak celkový obraz života Židů na jižní Moravě. Jedná se nejméně o dalších 16 míst, k jejichž návštěvě vás zveme. Pro lepší orientaci jsme pro vás připravili návrh 11 turistických okruhů, jež vám podle času, který máte k dispozici, nabídnou další zajímavé zážitky. Můžete využít služeb TIC Brno, nebo se vydat sami, podle rady pracovníků TIC ŽOB, či se inspirovat na www.jewishbrno.eu, kde najdete nejen trasy pro výlety, ale i  podrobnosti o  zajímavých místech jižní Moravy spojených s židovskou historií.

Nezamyslova 27, 615 00 Brno E-mail: tic@jewishbrno.eu Tel.: +420 544 526 737 Web: www.jewishbrno.eu Nabídka služeb TIC ŽOB: ■■ Volná prohlídka hřbitova. K zapůjčení je v kanceláři TIC ŽOB zdarma audioprůvodce. ■■ Volná prohlídka výstavní expozice, zhlédnutí filmu Brno židovské, recepce TIC ŽOB. ■■ Prohlídka hřbitova s průvodcem, pouze pro organizované výpravy, výlety po památkách v okolí Brna – turistické balíčky, objednat lze v TIC Brno. ■■ Brno židovské – filmový dokument a výstavní expozice s výkladem, prohlídka synagogy a hřbitova s průvodcem, pouze pro organizované výpravy, objednat lze ve VKC ŽMP Brno. ■■ Volný přístup k počítači s internetem v recepci TIC ŽOB. ■■ Bezdrátové připojení k internetu, kód v recepci TIC ŽOB. 46

Pro skupiny návštěvníků Brna a jižní Moravy doporučujeme několik zajímavých tras. Časový harmonogram a cena jsou individuální. Objednat je může­te v Turistickém a informačním centru města Brna: TIC Brno

Radnická 8, 658 78 Brno Tel.: +420 542 427 150–152 E-mail: info@ticbrno.cz Web: www.ticbrno.cz


TIC ŽOB

www.jewishBRNO.eu

Touristisches Informationszentrum der Jüdischen Gemeinde Brünn – TIC ŽOB

Projekt: Jüdisches Brünn

Nezamyslova 27, 615 00 Brno E-Mail: tic@jewishbrno.eu Tel.: +420 544 526 737 Web: www.jewishbrno.eu

Angebot der Dienstleistungen des TIC ŽOB: ■■ Freie Besichtigung des Friedhofes. Im Büro des TIC ŽOB kann kostenlos ein Audio-Führer ausgeliehen werden. ■■ Freie Besichtigung der Ausstellungsexposition, Anschauen des Filmes Jüdisches Brünn, Empfangspersonal des TIC ŽOB. ■■ Geführte Besichtigung des Friedhofes, nur für organisierte Gruppen, Ausflüge zu Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Umgebung von Brünn – touristische Pakete, beim TIC Brünn bestellen. ■■ Jüdisches Brünn – Dokumentarfilm und Ausstellungsexposition mit Kommentar, geführte Besichtigung der Synagoge und des Friedhofes, nur für organisierte Gruppen, bei VKC ŽMP Brünn bestellen. ■■ Freier Zugang zu Computer mit Internet am Empfang des TIC ŽOB. ■■ Drahtlose Internetverbindung, Passwort am Empfang des TIC ŽOB.

Im Laufe der vier Jahrhunderte, in denen die Juden aus Brünn vertrieben waren, ließen sie sich in der nahen Umgebung und in kleineren Städtchen der Region nieder. Sie bauten dort ihre Häuser, Synagogen, errichteten Friedhöfe und schufen Bedingungen für die Erfüllung ihres Lebens. Dank ihnen finden wir eine Menge Denkmäler der jüdischen Architektur, die erhalten geblieben sind und somit das Gesamtbild des Lebens der Juden in Südmähren prägen. Es handelt sich um mindestens weitere 16 Orte, zu deren Besuch wir Sie einladen möchten. Zur besseren Orientierung haben wir für Sie einen Vorschlag von 11 Touren – touris­tischen Paketen – vorbereitet, die Ihnen je nach der Zeit, die Sie zurVerfügung haben, weitere interessante Erlebnisse bieten werden. Sie können den Service des TIC Brünn nutzen, oder sich allein auf den Weg machen, sich von Mitarbeitern des TIC ŽOB beraten lassen oder sich bei www.jewishbrno.eu inspirieren, wo Sie nicht nur Ausflugsrouten, sondern auch Details über interessante Orte Südmährens finden, die mit der jüdischen Geschichte verbunden sind.

Für Gruppen von Besuchern von Brünn und Süd­ mähren empfehlen wir einige interessante Routen. Der Zeitplan und der Preis sind individuell. Bestellen können Sie bei TIC Brno: TIC Brno

Radnická 8, 658 78 Brno Tel.: +420 542 427 150–152 E-mail: info@ticbrno.cz Web: www.ticbrno.cz

47


TIC ŽOB

www.jewishBRNO.eu

Tourist & Information Centre of the Jewish Community of Brno – TIC ŽOB

The Jewish Brno Projekt

Nezamyslova 27, 615 00 Brno E-Mail: tic@jewishbrno.eu Tel.: +420 544 526 737 Web: www.jewishbrno.eu

Services offered by TIC ŽOB: ■■ Individual free tours of the cemetery. An audio-guide can be collected from TIC ŽOB for free. ■■ Individual free tours of the exhibition, viewing the film Jewish Brno, TIC receptionist. ■■ Guided tours of the cemetery – for groups only, trips to sights in the vicinity of Brno – tourist packages, to be ordered from TIC Brno. ■■ Jewish Brno: a documentary and a guided tour of the exhibit, a guided tour of the synagogue and the cemetery, for groups only, to be ordered from VKC ŽMP Brno. ■■ Free internet at TIC ŽOB reception. ■■ Wireless internet, access codes to be collected at TIC ŽOB reception. 48

During the four centuries of their banishment from the city of Brno itself, Jews kept settling down in its vicinity and smaller towns around the region, building their houses, synagogues, establishing cemeteries and striving for fulfilment. They have left us a umber of Jewish sights from which we can learn about the history of Jewish settlement in South Moravia. These include at least 16 places of interest we can invite you to visit. To facilitate your travel, we can offer you a list of 11 itineraries – tourist packages which can bring you further enlightening experience. There are several possibilities: you can take advantage of the services offered by TIC Brno or set out on your own or follow the advice of TIC ŽOB staff – or just get some inspiration at www.jewishbrno.eu. The web pages will inform you not only of possible trip destinations but also of details on the places of interest in South Moravia associated with the history of Jews in the region.

Field-trips and sightseeing tours for the visitors to Brno and South Moravia The schedule and prices are subject to negotiation. To be ordered from TIC Brno:

TIC Brno

Radnická 8, 658 78 Brno Tel.: +420 542 427 150–152 E-mail: info@ticbrno.cz Web: www.ticbrno.cz

brno židovské brožura židenice cz en ge  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you