Page 1

2015/2016

explore

www.explore-st-andrews.com

St Andrews and East Fife

Anstruther, Ceres, Crail and Pittenweem

scotland’s secrET bunker

1

Visit Scotland’s best kept secret, travel deep beneath the ground to discover 24,000 sq ft of secret offices and accommodation. Had there been a Nuclear War, this is where Scotland would have been governed from. Unearth over 40 years of Cold War secrets! 27th Feb-1st Nov 2015. Open 7 days. Open 10am-6pm (Last admission 5pm). Situated only 7 miles from St. Andrews Tel: 01333 310301 www.secretbunker.co.uk 4

EXPLORE SCOTLAND’S OLDEST WORKING DISTILLERY

7

The Famous Grouse Experience at Glenturret Distillery is a five-star visitor attraction that offers a truly authentic whisky experience. Making whisky today the same way since 1775, visitors experience the handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies, By Hand and By Heart, at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Remember to visit our café and restaurant, Wilde Thyme at Glenturret, and our gift shop where you can Bottle Your Own whisky and purchase distillery exclusives.

www.thefamousgrouseexperience.com

WELCOME TO DRUMOIG GOLF HOTEL. For Golfers: Set in the spectacular Fife countryside, our 18 hole championship style, Par 73, golf course offers many challenging holes. The Hotel: All of our bedrooms are en-suite and have complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Six of our rooms have balconies providing residents with a spectacular view across the course. Contact: Drumoig Leuchars St.Andrews KY16 ODW Tel: 01382 541800 email reception@drumoiggolfhotel.com or visit our website at www.DrumoigGolfHotel.com

ST ANDREWS MUSEUM. Houses the permanent St Andrews A - Z exhibition telling the story of the town with objects and images from the museum’s collection, as well as changing displays in the Kinburn Gallery on various topics. The shop sells gifts, books and cards while the café provides light refreshments, every day inc. Sunday. Free admission. OPEN April to September 10am to 5pm. October to March 10.30am to 4pm. Kinburn Park, St Andrews. KY16 9DP Tel: 01334 659380 (Map Grid: A2)

3

ST ANDREWS BOTANIC GARDEN St Andrews

5

Botanic Garden provides beauty and inspiration through its spectacular collection of interesting and exotic plants. Childrens’ trails, activities and vast indoor plant displays are a delight in all weathers. Open daily all year. April – September 10.00am – 6.00pm, October – March 11.00am – 4.00pm. Coffee shop. Children free. A short walk or drive from the town centre. KY16 8RT Tel:01334 476452 www.st-andrews-botanic.org (Map Grid: A3)

Home to a vast array of some of the world’s most vivid creatures you can come face-to-face with. See the world’s smallest crocs, meet a family of seals and enjoy some magic with their mob of meerkats. Explore their newly revamped cold water area and have the p.p.p.perfect time with their waddle of penguins! You can even book your place to feed the seals, penguins or meer meerkats. OPEN DAILY from 10am. NEW On the coastline by The Scores KY16 9AS. FOR 2015 Tel: 01334 474786. COME AND SEE OUR (Map Grid: B1) BRITISH SHARKS & RAYS!

The Famous Grouse Experience, Glenturret Distillery, The Hosh, Crieff, Perthshire, PH7 4HA. Tel: 01764 656565

2

6

THE SCOTTISH SHOP Family name history point ‘Hall of Fame’. Made to measure ladies & gents kilts. Clan related shields, kiltpins, cufflinks, tartan blankets & wool clan & tartan scarves. Harris Tweed handbags. Arran knitwear. Selection of 40 lambswool scarves £7.99 each or 2 for £15. Souvenirs to suit all budgets. Mail order service. OPEN 7 days all year. 147 South Street KY16 9UN Tel: 01334 477170 www.thescottishshopdirect.co.uk (Map Grid: B2)

8

ST RULE’S TOWER. No other building in Scotland has proved so puzzling to architects and antiquaries. The dating of the 33m high tower is one of the great problems of Scottish medieval architectural history. It is generally considered likely to have been built around 1140 and would have been the main tower of a church, one of the largest in Scotland for its time. Views of the town and surrounding countryside are magnificent from the top of the tower. It is allegedly haunted by the ghost of Prior Robert Montrose. (Map Grid: D2)

9

ST ANDREWS PRESERVATION TRUST MUSEUM AND GARDEN. An independent social history Museum in a 17th century house located in the heart of the old fisher quarter. Exhibitions change regularly. OPEN daily 2pm-5pm: Easter fortnight, late May – Sept and St Andrews week (Nov). Entry free. Pre-booked tours available outside opening hours. 12 North Street KY16 9PW Tel:01334 477629 www.standrewspreservationtrust.org.uk (Map Grid: C2)

OPEN 7 DAYS

Enjoy Responsibly • www.drinkaware.co.uk

www.explore-st-andrews.com

1


St Andrews This St Andrews Historic Trail will guide you around St Andrews, by number to the most noteable sites,which makes St Andrews what it is today. The historic Trail takes you through the centre of St Andrews where you will find an abundance of shops, restaurants and cafes to tempt you.

10

CROMARS FOR CLASSIC FISH AND CHIPS. Scotland’s best fish and chips, cooked in traditional beef dripping for a light crispy batter served with tasty chips and homemade mushy peas. Also grilled or breaded. Daily specials. Chargrilled ‘Minicks’ steak burgers and great coffees. OPEN early ‘till late on the corner of Market Street and Union Street, KY16 9PQ by Tourist Office. Tel: 01334 475555 www.cromars.co.uk (Map Grid: C2)

11

MAISHA AUTHENTIC INDIAN AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT “Voted Top 5 in Scotland” by Scottish Curry Awards 2013. OPEN 7 days Mon to Sat 12noon - 2.30pm, Dinner 5pm to midnight. Takeaway Service Tel: 01334 476666 5 College Street KY16 9AA www.maisharestaurant. co.uk (Map Grid: B1)

Refer to the numbers 9 on the St Andrews map in the centre pages of this guide for directions. 1 St Andrews Harbour had an important role in the development of St Andrews. Hundreds of vessels from all parts of the Continent used to crowd into the harbour. The pier, built in 1656, replaces a wooden pier. 2 St Andrews Cathedral Founded in 1160 taking 100 years to build by successive Bishops. Parts collapsed in 1409 and 49. The Scottish Parliament authorised use of its stones to fortify the town in 1649. 3 St Rules Tower The oldest tower in St Andrews built between the c4th & c9th. It is 108 ft high, with an internal stairway giving excellent views over St Andrews. Tokens for access can be purchased from the Cathedral museum.

20% OFF A LA CARTE WITH THIS VOUCHER. EXCLUDES DRINKS

12

PLAYFAIR’S RESTAURANT AND STEAKHOUSE A family run restaurant with an outside dining terrace serving meals using quality, locally sourced, fresh Scottish produce. Choose from chargilled steaks cooked to perfection, one of our delicious seasonal dishes or a selection of desserts made in-house by our team of chefs. Open for lunch, dinner and drinks. 2 Playfair Terrace, North Street, KY16 9HX Tel: 01334 472970 www.playfairsrestaurant.co.uk (Map Grid: B1)

13

LUVIANS BOTTLESHOP 66 Market Street, St Andrews, KY16 9NU. Scotland’s finest range of Old & New World wines, over 800 malt whiskies, 400 craft beers, spirits from around the globe & a great selection of Cuban cigars. Frequent tasting events & a great selection of single malts under £30. Open until 10pm every day. LUVIANS ICE CREAM PARLOUR 84 Market Street, St Andrews, KY16 9PA. Award-winning ice cream, a cosy café & a humidor bursting with Cuban cigars! Open until 6pm every day. www.luvians.com (Map Grid: B1)

14

TAILEND RESTAURANT - TAKEAWAY - DELI - FISHMONGER. 70 seater air conditioned restaurant & conservatory. Enjoy Fish & Chips at their very best! Specials include: Fish of the Week/ OAP & Take Away Menus. OPEN 7 days 11.30am - 10pm. 130 Market Street, St Andrews, KY16 9PD Tel: 01334 474070 www.thetailend.co.uk (Map Grid: B2)

15

THE BYRE THEATRE AND CAFÉ BAR Byre Café Bar Opening hours: Tue-Sat 8.30am - late, Sun 10am-4.30pm. For restaurant bookings call 01334 468807. NEW SUNDAY CARVERY from 12 noon £9.95pp. www. byretheatre.com Tel: 01334 475000. Follow us on Facebook/Twitter/YouTube. THEATRE, DANCE, FILM, ART, BAR, COMEDY and KIDS. (Map Grid: C2)

4 The Pends The word is Scots for ‘arch over an entry’. It was the principal entry to the Priory dating from 1340 and its purpose was to control entry. 5 St Andrews Castle Built by Bishop Roger in 1200, it was the St Andrews Episcopal Palace for 400 years. The Sea Tower contains a bottle dungeon, and there is also an excellent example of a mine and counter mine dating back to 1547. 6 The Swilken Burn Bridge Golfers cross the famous Swilken Burn Bridge on their way to play the 18th green on the Old Course. It is probably one of the most photographed golf sites in the world. The little stone bridge of Roman design was originally built to allow the town’s folk to cross the burn. The Swilken Burn is the only water hazard on The Old Course.

7

St Salvator’s Tower The highest spire in St Andrews, 124 ft (38m) high, built in 1550. It is the entrance to The University of St Andrews. St Salvator’s College. The French took a cannon up the tower to bombard St Andrews Castle in 1547. 8 West Port One of the best surviving examples of an Old Scottish City Gate, dates from the early 1500’s. King David I on horseback is carved on the west side and St Andrews Coat of Arms is on the east side of the arch.

9 Blackfriars Chapel Today you can see the surviving part of the Chapel built in 1525, by Dominican Friars known as Blackfriars. It suffered at the hands of the mob, after John Knox’s sermon on the 11th June 1559, who pulled it down.

See something you love then tell us about it!

10 St Andrews University Founded in 1413 is Scotland’s oldest University, only preceded by Oxford and Cambridge in England.

Crail

(10 miles from St Andrews)

Crail Historic Trail (1-2hrs) is the oldest village in the East Neuk. Granted Royal Burgh status in 1310 by King Robert the Bruce. Crail was the gateway to European riches, thriving on trading with Europe’s Low Countries. Its stone-built buildings show the influence of this European trade. Marketgate became one of largest market places in medieval 1 Europe. The Mercat (Market) Cross, the town’s symbol of Royal Burgh status, stands in the Marketgate. 2 Crail Museum & Heritage Centre gives insight into this ancient Royal Burgh. Open Easter week, weekends in May and daily from June to Sept: Mon to Sat 11am - 4pm. Sun 1pm to 4pm. T:01333 450869. The c16th Tolbooth shows the Dutch influence in its design; also notable for a 1520 Dutch bell. It contained the council chamber, the court room and the gaol. 3 Crail Harbour dates from the c16th when the curved pier was built, the straight West Pier was added in 1826. The 1690s white Custom House dominates the harbour. 2

4 5 6

7

8

Crail Castle, built by King David I, stood on the cliffs above the harbour. It fell into ruin in the c16th. Priory Doocot (pigeon house) has an unusual cylindrical design from the c16th. At one time pigeons were an important source of year-round food. The Blue Stane (stone) a large boulder at Crail Church entrance. Legend has it that the Devil flung it here from the Isle of May to demolish the church when it was being built. The dark blue markings are said to be the Devil’s thumb print. 19th Century Morthouse is located in the churchyard of Crail Parish Church. Here bodies were stored for several weeks prior to burial. This rendered them useless to the body snatchers who sold corpses to University anatomists. Crail Parish Church, consecrated in the c13th, has considerably altered through the centuries. By 1517 it had nine alters and was rich in ornamentation, vestments and books. In 1559, John Knox preached here resulting in the destruction of its ecclesiastical heritage. Within the church lobby you will find a 9th Century sculptured cross.

www.explore-st-andrews.com


Crail Head towards KINGSBARNS 16

16

KINGSBARNS DISTILLERY. Conveniently located between St Andrews and Crail, the Kingsbarns Distillery and Visitor Centre sits in a charming c18th farm steading and features an exhibition, distillery tours, whisky tastings, shop and cafe. Open 7 days a week. Visit the website for more information, to sign up for our newsletter or to book a tour. www.kingsbarnsdistillery.com

17

CRAIL HARBOUR GALLERY AND TEAROOM set within a c17th fisherman’s cottage, original oak beams, flagstone floor and exposed stone walls. An excellent reputation for freshly ground speciality coffees, handmade cakes, panini, salmon, herring and crab salads. Local artists, exclusive cards, prints & gifts. Courtyard with spectacular open sea views. OPEN 7 days KY10 3SU (Phone/Web Dec/Jan) Tel: 01333 451896 www.crailharbourgallery.co.uk

18

CAMBO GARDENS, KINGSBARNS. Renowned for snowdrops, a traditional walled garden with inspiring herbaceous displays, drifts of bold perennials and grasses and ‘outrageous’ annual potager. Stunning winter garden and North American prairie. Masses of bulbs, wonderful collection of roses. Woodland walks to sea. Pigs to feed. OPEN daily all year. 10am-5pm. Adults £5.50, Children free. 6 miles from St Andrews on A917 KY16 8QD. Tel: 01333 450054. www.camboestate.com

18

A917 towards St Andrews

Tolbooth

The Blue Stane

17

Crail Castle

Remember to visit www.explore-st-andrews.com for the latest special offers in St Andrews

Crail Parish Church

Pittenweem

(10 miles from St Andrews)

Pittenweem, now famous for its 10 day arts festival which takes place in August, was granted the status of a Royal Burgh by James V in 1541, giving it the right to self govern and the right to trade with other countries in return for paying taxes to the crown. By 1587 Pittenween ranked as the twelfth richest town in Scotland. The harbour is the busiest of all the East Neuk ports, where most mornings the fish catches are sold in the covered fish market on the quay. Situated 11 miles south of St Andrews. 1 The Mercat cross, the symbol of the burgh’s right to hold markets and fairs, stands at the East end of the High Street.

21

22

19 20

Kellie 2 Lodging. In 1651 the town entertained King Charles II to a meal on his way to Anstruther. The meal was served outside Kellie Lodging. Until recently it was known as King’s Halt in recognition of this occasion. It was the town house of the Earls of Kellie.

3

The Tolbooth at the top of the High Street had a prison on the ground floor while the council chambers were on its upper floor.

4

St Fillan’s Cave. Traditionally St Fillan lived and taught the Picts here during the c7th. Obtain the key from the Cocoa Tree.

Discover a vibrant range of funky and bespoke ceramics and art, created by Karen, including hand-painted ceramic tiles, bowls and vases, striking prints, notecards and stationery, exciting ‘statement’ pieces for your home, truly unique gifts and personalised, bespoke commissions for your loved ones, special occasions or as a special treat for yourself! Summer Opening: Mon-Sat 11am to 5pm (except Wed) Wednesday 12 midday to 5pm - Winter Opening: Thurs, Fri, Sat 11am to 4pm Pop in to the shop to get your hands on a fantastic, one of a kind, Funky Scottish memento 41 High Street, Pittenweem, KY102PG Tel: 01333 312 567 www.funkyscottish.com

5

Gyles House was built in the c17th for Captain James Cook who took Charles II to France after his defeat at the battle of Worcester in 1651.

6

The harbour is home to one of Scotland’s last remaining fishing fleets. The outer pier is the oldest. Building probably commenced in the c16th and the tower on the outer pier was built in 1864. A fish market is held most weekday mornings.

7

West Shore. Here the fishermen lived in homes much smaller than the sea captains’ houses at East Shore.

KELLIE CASTLE & GARDEN (NTS) C14th castle with superb plaster ceilings, fine furniture and mural by Phoebe Anna Traquair. Late Victorian garden with old-fashioned roses and herbaceous borders. Tearoom, plant sales and shop. Castle OPEN 12.30 - 5pm (4pm Oct), 1st April - 31st May: Sat - Wed; 1st June - 31st Aug: Daily; 1st Sept - 31st Oct: Sat-Wed. Garden open all year. Tel: 0844 493 2184. On B9171, 3mls. N of Pittenweem. KY10 2RF

22

FUNKY SCOTTISH - Studio - Gallery - Boutique

21

THE PITTENWEEM CHOCOLATE COMPANY provides a charming year-round haven for coastal visitors, locals and chocolate lovers! In the cosy COCOA TREE cafe, indulge in their signature Belgian hot chocolates and chocolate cake. Also enjoy gourmet paninis, refreshing teas, infusions and Bei Nannini coffee. In their chocolate shop, choose a gift of artisan world chocolates, including their own speciality selection, handmade in Pittenweem. Whether you’re unwinding after a seaside walk, spending a day with friends or escaping for ‘time out’, The Pittenweem Chocolate Company is an idyllic, all-season retreat on Scotland’s beautiful east coast. OPEN 7 days. Free WiFi. Child Friendly. Tel: 01333 311495. Discover more about their chocolate shop and cafe-or browse online at www.pittenweemchocolate.co.uk 19

20

ST ANDREWS FARMHOUSE CHEESE COMPANY. Fife’s only artisan farmhouse cheese maker produces a range of award-winning cheeses (Anster, Red Anster and St Andrews Farmhouse) with milk from their own herd. A 4 star visitor attraction with viewing gallery and licensed cafe selling quality local products to compliment the cheeses. OPEN 7 days Apr to Sep 9.30am-4.30pm, Oct to Mar 10am-4pm, Sun 11am-4.30pm. Falside Farm, Pittenweem Tel 01333 312580 KY10 2RT www.standrewscheese.co.uk

www.explore-st-andrews.com

3


St Andrews West Sands

Links Clubhouse

St Andrews Aquarium

The Old Course Hotel The Old Course

British Golf Museum

The R&A Golf Club

Witch Lake

4

Martyrs Monument

Tom Morris House

Swilken Burn Bridge

6

Library

C

Admissions Reception

D 12

m

Fro

ars

ch

u Le

ee

nd

u dD

n

ra

pa

u ,C

Playfairs Terr

Ellis Place

McIntosh Hall

A

11

19

Chemist

University

Kinburn Park

Students Union

Bus Station

B

13 14

Victory Memorial Hall

St Andrews Museum

Holy Trinity

3 6 9 Blackfriars Chapel

8 West Port

ss Kinne Burn

St Andrews Botanic Garden

4

5

www.explore-st-andrews.com

Lounden Close

Madras College


s Town Map Historic Trail

1

University Buildings

A

Chemist

Castle

5

University

Cash Machines

ÂŁ

Eating Out

1

Shops

1

Sport

1

Places to Visit

1

St Salvtor’s Tower

7

Younger Hall

E

St Mary on the Rocks

9 Preservation Trust Museum

10

Priory Wall Cathedral

2

Harbour

8 St Rules Tower

The Pends

4

1

3

Tom Morris Graves

St Leonards School

15 F

Parliament Hall

Precinct Wall

Town Hall St Marys College

Kinness Burn

Fr

om

www.explore-st-andrews.com

Cr

ai

l&

An

st

ru

th

er

5


Anstruther

(9 miles from St Andrews)

Anstruther (pronounced ‘Enster’) and Cellardyke are very popular with visitors. Fishing dues were granted to the monks on the Isle of May by King William I.

1 2 3

24

They personally purchase only the freshest prime quality seafood direct from the local quayside every morning and offer a large variety of other locally sourced produce to provide you with “a true taste of Scotland”. OPEN 11.30am - 10pm daily. 42/44 Shore Street Anstruther, Fife. (Next to the Scottish Fisheries Museum) Tel 01333 310518 www.anstrutherfishbar.co.uk

Wightman’s Wynd. Charles Wightman, merchant and smuggler, provided refuge to defeated clansmen after the Battle of Culloden. Thomas Chalmer’s birthplace. Raised in Anstruther, in 1843, Chalmers joined 400 other Church of Scotland ministers to begin the Free Church and was it’s first moderator. Cunzie House. Robert Louis Stevenson, stayed in Cunzie House in 1868.

23

ANSTRUTHER FISH BAR AND RESTAURANT UK Fish and Chip Shop of theYear Winner Visit Scotland ‘Taste our Best’ Award 2014/2015 Scotland’s ‘Takeaway of the Year’ 2014/15 “No visit to Fife is complete without a visit to the multi-award winning Anstruther Fish Bar!” (Mail on Sunday).

23

4 Old School House. John Martin was schoolmaster from 1734. His son David, a renowned artist, painted statesman Benjamin Franklin, whose portrait hangs in the White House in Washington DC. 5 Captain Roger’s House. Captain Alexander Roger of Cellardyke. Went to sea age 19. He commanded the first ship of any size to sail from Glasgow to an Australian port. He led an expedition of Cellardyke fishermen to the goldfields of Australia and invested in the fast new ‘clipper’ ships for use in the China tea trade. With his clipper ship Taeping, he won the 1866 tea race from Foochow to London, by 20 minutes.

24

THE SCOTTISH FISHERIES MUSEUM “It’s Bigger than you think”, with 20 galleries, 18 boats, the age of steam and much more. The home of the St Ayles skiff. The tearoom offers great value light lunches. OPEN 7 days Apr to Sep 10 to 5.30pm Sat & Sun 11 to 5pm. Oct to Mar 10 to 4.30pm Sat & Sun 12 to 4.30pm. Acc. Children free (max.5). Tel:01333 310628 By the harbour. KY10 3AB www.scotfishmuseum.org

CYCLE ROUTES IN FIFE. The Tourist Information Centre has a series of maps for cyclists, covering the Kingdom of Fife. Many of the routes are offroad, circular, recreational routes, urban routes or forest routes produced in partnership with the Forestry Commission. St Andrews itself has a flat terrain, with East and West Sands a short distance cycle-ride away. If you do not have your bike, why not hire one .

Ceres (8 miles from St Andrews)

THE WEMYSS WARE STUDIO. This world famous pottery has been made in Ceres for twenty eight years. Every item is individually made and hand painted on the premises using traditional techniques and these pieces are sure to become collectables. Commissions are welcomed. Finding the Pottery is easy. Just come to Ceres and look for the Parish Church which dominates the village skyline from all possible directions, and it is adjacent to it on Kirk Brae. The Pottery, a four star Visitor Attraction with a Visitor Centre where the potters and painters can be seen at work, occupies the beautiful eighteenth century stone buildings which once formed the outbuildings of the original church manse. Shop and Visitor Centre is OPEN from 10am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday and 12.30pm to 4.30pm Saturday and Sunday. Tel; 01334 828273 website; www.wemyss-ware.co.uk KY15 5ND 25

A: Short walk through Ceres - From the Car Park, walk carefully across the old cobble setts of Bishops’s Bridge and up into the High Street. B: Fife Folk Museum - see above right. C: Next you will come to The Cross, where many old tracks converged in ancient times making it a hub of activity and trade. Look out for the Provost of Ceres, a Toby-jug figure of the Rev. Thomas Buchanan, minister of Ceres from 1578 to 1599. Have a bite to eat or a mug of drink at the Ceres Inn. D: Further down Main St you can find a rebuilt c18th house, Plum Tree Cottage. In the lane behind is a hand-pump dated 1850. E: Take a right and you will find the present Kirk, believed to be the site of a church established by Celtic missionaries. The Kirkyard contains some interesting vaults and gravestones. F: Further down the road, you will find Mansefield, built in 1788 as a new manse.

6

FIFE FOLK MUSEUM Ceres. Housed in the 17th-century Weigh-House and a row of weavers’ cottages, the Museum celebrates working and domestic life in rural Fife. Exhibits include domestic items, clothes and accessories, agricultural implements and much more. OPEN every day 1 Apr-31 Oct, 10.30-4.30. Adults £4.00, Conc. £3.00, pre-booked groups £2.50pp, acc. children free. Tel: 01334 838180 www.fifefolkmuseum.org

26

B939

25

From St Andrews F E

Main Street

D

From Cupar

C

£

G

Bow Butts

H

26

B

A

From Largo B939

From Kirkcaldy

G: Cross it to Find Spout Well. The local minister in 1840 (who lived to 90) advised: ‘If you want to live long in Ceres, drink daily at the Spout Well.’ H: Follow the path to the Village Green and view the Bannockburn. Memorial: Commemorating Ceres residents who fought under the Earl Marshall of Scotland from Struthers Castle on Midsummer’s Day 1314.

Ceres Village Heritage Trail. This excellent trail guide (£1 from local shops) will take you round the ancient village of Ceres, full of historical buildings and places of interest. The guide has a pictorial map of the village, with 20 separate places of interest on the trail. Allow 45-60 min for this 1km (3/4 mile) walk. The stonework shown on the Guide cover can be found at the Cross in Ceres and shows the Toby-jug figure of Rev Thomas Buchanan, minister of Ceres 1578 to 1599, known as ‘the Provost of Ceres’. Beneath him is a panel that shows either a Pictish hunt or the battle of Bannockburn.

www.explore-st-andrews.com


Shop

Visit

Sport

Eating out

On the move? Visit us at: www.explore-st-andrews.com on your mobile, tablet or social media pages! HILL OF TARVIT MANSIONHOUSE AND KINGARROCK GOLF COURSE A fine Edwardian mansionhouse with a splendid collection of antiques, furniture and paintings. Play lawn games & try out the 9-hole hickory club golf course. Grounds open all year. HOUSE OPEN: 1pm - 5.00pm (4pm Oct). 1st April - 31st May: Thurs–Mon; 1st June to 31st Aug: Daily; 1st Sept to 31st Oct: Thurs–Mon. KY15 5PB Off A916, 2 mls South of Cupar. Tel: 0844 493 2185

27

BARBARAFIELD RIDING SCHOOL Come along to Barbarafield Riding School and have a go at horse riding. Hacking and lessons on over 300 acres of farmland. Trail rides for adults. 1/2 hour rides for children aged 5yrs and over available - riding hats to borrow. During the Easter, Summer and October school holidays, Fun Days are organised for all standards of children Craigrothie, Cupar, Fife, KY15 5PU Tel: 01334 828223 www.barbarafieldrs.co.uk

28

CAIRNIE FRUIT FARM AND MEGA MAZE. 20+acres of Pick Your Own fruit, farm shop with ready-picked fruit, local produce, specialty foods, gifts and cards. Tearoom boasts the best homebaking in Fife! 6 acre Mega “Maize” Maze and Funyard to explore. Tearoom and Funyard. OPEN 7 days 21st March to 31st of October. Mega Maze Open July to October Tel: 01334 655610 Cupar KY15 4QD www.cairniefruitfarm.co.uk

29

BALMERINO ABBEY was founded in 1229 by King William the Lion’s wife, Queen Ermengarde, who was buried here in 1233, in front of the high altar. This location was probably chosen as it was a ferry crossing point, on the pilgrimage route between St Andrews and Arbroath. The buildings are undergoing stabilisation work and can be viewed from the grounds which contain one of the oldest chestnut trees in the country. OPEN all year. Off A92, SW of the Tay Bridge. DD6 8SB

30

THE LAING MUSEUM. Discover a treasure on the Tay. This small local history museum was built with money bequeathed in 1896 by local banker, Alexander Laing. It houses his museum collection and fine reference library as well as exhibits about Newburgh’s history from medieval burgh to maritime and industrial town. For opening hours contact St Andrews Museum on Tel: 01334 659380. Free entry. High St, Newburgh. KY14 6DX

31

32

ST MONANS SALTPANS, established in 1771, with nine saltpans, a settling tank and windmill pump. Salt was Scotland’s third most important export in the C17th. The Forth basin, with abundant coal supplies and direct shipping routes to Northern Europe, was ideal for production. Site OPEN all year - free entry. Windmill OPEN The public can borrow keys (small deposit) from the local Spar or Post Office, Park in St Monans. Walk along shoreline towards Pittenweem. Fife Museum Service Tel: 01334 659380

ABERNETHY ROUND TOWER. This tower & a similar tower at Brechin in Angus are the only two round towers of the Irish Celtic type in Scotland. The romanesque windows of the belfry suggest that the tower was built in the latter part of the 11th C. Long before this, Abernethy was important as a principal seat of the Pictish kingdom & a seat of a Celtic bishopric. Malcolm Canmore & William the Conqueror met at Abernethy in 1072 - possibly here! Admission: collect keys from Abernethy Museum, just beyond the tower. Tel 01738 850889 off A913

34

TENTSMUIR POINT NATIONAL NATURE RESERVE. Here the sediment from the mighty River Tay (Britain’s largest river) swirls in currents & tides forming the Abertay Sands. The shoreline grows five metres each year. Enormous value for wildfowl & waders between autumn & spring: pink feet geese, bar-tailed godwits & more. As many as 2000 common & grey seals sit on the sands. 2.5 miles E of Tayport or 1.5 miles N of the Forestry Car Park.

33

ST ATHERNASE PARISH CHURCH “The 2nd finest piece of Norman work in the whole of Great Britain”. Built in 1187 by a Crusader, Saier de Quince. Much of the exterior, the arcades, arches and great rounded apse remain as the masons left them over 800 years ago. This church attracts hundreds of visitors every year; please remember it is in use by the parish and is not just an ancient monument. It receives no grants towards maintenance, please leave donaltions. Situated in Leuchars NW of St Andrews

35

FALKLAND PALACE AND GARDENS (NTS) Dating from the 16th century, this was the country retreat of the Stuart monarchs, including Mary, Queen of Scots. The palace is famed for its Renaissance architecture and beautiful gardens. OPEN 1 Mar to 31 Oct, Mon to Sat 11-5pm. Sun 1-5pm. Gift Shop also OPEN: Nov, Dec, Jan and Feb. Falkland Village, KY15 7BU on A912. 20 miles from St Andrews. Tel: 0844 493 2186

36

Falkland (20 miles from St Andrews)

FALKLAND is steeped in history, originally built around an ancient castle. King James IV (1501 to 1513) built his Royal Palace here, from which he enjoyed hunting in nearby forests. In 1642, Charles I constituted the Scots Guards at Falkland. Falkland is of enormous interest: not only does it retain its medieval burgh layout but was also spared much of the 19th Century ‘modernisation’. Many of the houses are over 300 years old. THE BRUCE FOUNTAIN (1856), located in the centre of Falkland, is classed as Victorian Gothic architecture. A gift of Falkland’s 19th century benefactor Tyndall Bruce who inherited the estate and position of keeper of Falkland Palace in 1826. Heraldic lions guard two corners with the Burgh Crest on the other corners. On the roadway near the fountain you will find a cross of cobbles marking the spot of the Royal Burgh’s right to trade, the Mercat (Market) Cross.

THE READING ROOM of 1850. Originally two houses each with two rooms. It is said that a family of 13 once lived in the upper story. In around 1850 the lower story was used as a reading room. Here Thomas Drysdale, a local stonemason would read to local people of the Burgh the newspapers, pamphlets and books. A plaque on the outside gives a brief history of this 18th Century building.

THE HUNTING LODGE One of two 17th Century Houses, opposite the massive 16th century Falkland Palace gatehouse and elegant Renaissance frontage. On the left is Moncrieff House. On the right the Hunting Lodge, its doorway was remodelled in the 19th Century. It has three seperate decorated panels, one with the date 1607. The first floor windows have the original mouldings and there is an inscriptive panel expressing the loyal sentiments, from Nicol Moncrieff, the King’s Averiman.

MONCRIEFF HOUSE, built in the 17th Century, has Falkland’s only remaining thatched roof. Over the doorway is a marriage lintel with the initials of Nicoll Moncrieff, ‘King’s Averiman’, and his bride, dated 1610. To its right is a ‘Praise and Thanks’ stone. You will find many dated marriage lintels as you ramble the streets of Falkland.

www.explore-st-andrews.com

7


8

www.explore-st-andrews.com

7

To Edinburgh

Round Tower

34

The Famous Grouse Experience The A85 Perth to Crieff Road

Falkland Palace

36

Laing Museum

31

see page 7 for details

28

29

27

Hill of Tarvit

Cairnie Fruit Farm

Barbarafield Riding

30

Balmerino Abbey

see page 6 for details

St Michaels Golf Course

2

Drumoig Golf

35 St Athernase Church

32

1

16

see page 3 for details

Cambo Gardens

18

see page 6 for details

see page 2+3 for details

see pages 1-2 for details Torrance & Kittocks Courses

Secret Bunker

Kingsbarns Distillery

se

our

22

tle C

Farmhouse Cheese Co.

Cas

Saltpans

21

Kellie Castle

33 Tentsmuir

Explore St Andrews 2015/2016 Guide  

Explore St Andrews 2015/2016 Guide

Explore St Andrews 2015/2016 Guide  

Explore St Andrews 2015/2016 Guide

Advertisement