Page 1

SUMMER 2015

M A G A Z I N E

NATURAL SKIN SAVERS

how to

THROW A BACKYARD TAPAS-STYLE PARTY

ARE

ARTIFICIAL SWEETENERS

MAKING YOU FAT?

PERREY REEVES E X C L U S I V E

THE ENTOURAGE STAR TALKS ABOUT HER HOLISTIC LIFESTYLE AND HOW SHE STAYS CALM AMIDST THE CHAOS OF HOLLYWOOD

WHY SUNSCREEN IS KILLING THE CORAL REEFS

PM42709013

VIVA Cover.indd 1

2015-06-24 11:52 AM


SUMMER

CONTENTS 21 S U M M E R

28

66

2 0 1 5

In every issue 12

Editor’s Letter

14

Contributors

15

Viva Experts

16

Balanced Living

17

Behind the Scenes

18

Giveaway

21

Eco Chic

73

Grocery Basket

78

Inspired Living

82

Horoscope

Departments BEAUTY & FASHION 26

Get the Look

28

More Than Skin Deep How vitamins and nutrients impact your skin from the inside out.

30

Hot Hues Colour makes a natural comeback with summer.

36

Summer Lovin’ Beachwear trends.

42

Beauty Terminology

HEALTH

10

60

46

Health News

56

Health Cabinet

48

Breaking Down Dealing with chronic inflammation.

58

Balanced Health Laura Vandervoort

59

50

Natural Fertility Boosters Natural solutions for infertility.

Balanced Health Mariana Klaveno

54

Sweet Deal? Find out if sugar substitutes are good for your health.

FOOD 66

Instant Summer Classics New barbeque favorites to add to your party repertoire.

72

What’s in Your Fridge? Damon Runyan

COVER STORY

YOUR LIFE

60

76

It All Starts with Fabric

80

Travel Upstate New York

A Blissful Life Perrey Reeves

VIVAMAGONLINE.COM / SUMMER 2015

VIVA_TOC.indd 10

2015-06-24 3:09 PM


V I VA

/

E D I T O R ’ S

L E T T E R

THE PASSION OF BALANCED LIVING®

MAGAZINE

Founder/Publisher Olivier Felicio Editor Nancy Ripton Art Director Scott Jordan West Coast Entertainment Director Bonnie Siegler Junior Designer Kaitlin Yep Editorial Intern Corrina Mosca

WOES & WORRIES Working as a health writer and editor has made me a hypochondriac of sorts. There’s only so many times you can research the signs of cancer, allergy triggers and memory loss before every spot, sniffle and loss for words makes you turn to Dr. Google in a state of panic. Luckily, over the years, I’ve learned to tone down my nonsensical fears and focus more on the things I can do to actually make a difference in the health of my family and myself. One of the main things I keep coming back to time and again is inflammation. While inflammation starts out as your body’s way of trying to protect itself, longterm or chronic inflammation seems to be at the root of everything from asthma and arthritis to heart disease and cancer. Chronic inflammation happens when your body’s inflammatory response fails to heal the ailment that it was originally set out to. Instead, your inflammatory system starts to attack healthy tissues and, over time, can lead to disease and illness. Inflammation tends to persist when you’re under undo stress and have poor sleep. The risk of inflammation is also much higher if you eat poorly and/or are overweight. In addition to taking regular yoga classes and trying to get some shuteye, I’ve turned to omega-3 fatty acid supplements as a way to decrease my chances of suffering from chronic inflammation. According to research published in Brain, Behavior and Immunity, regular intake of omega-3 fatty acids helps to reduce chronic inflammation and reduce stress levels. Students in the study saw a 20 per cent reduction in anxiety levels when they took an omega-3 supplement. Plus, keeping your omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids in check (we tend to have more of the latter in our diets) is one of the best ways to prevent your body from going into a chronic state of inflammation. To learn other ways you can reduce inflammation naturally, turn to “Breaking It Down” (page 48) and take smart steps to get in control of your health, rather than sweating the small stuff.

CONTRIBUTORS Michelle Book • Pascal Frochisse • Steve Hanson • Nancy Jambazian • Joyce Johnson • William MacDonald Nicole Kirk • Cristina Meffe • Kimberly Metz Steve Ozanich • Devan Rajkumar • Louis Robert Dale Sproule • Paula Wilson COVER PHOTOGRAPHY Elisabeth Caren Photography Assistants Liz Bretz and Corey Deguia Cover Hair Travisean with Aim Artists Cover Makeup Justin Tyme with Solo Artists Cover Stylist Emilie Pereira and Laura Francis

President Olivier Felicio General Manager Melanie Seth email: subscribe@vivamagonline.com telephone: 416-203-7900 or send your cover label and new address to: VIVA Magazine, 1235 Bay St., West, Suite 400, Toronto ON, Canada M5R 3K4 ADVERTISING INFORMATION Olivier Felicio 416.203.7900 x6107 olivier@vivamagonline.com Donna Murphy 416-203-7900 x6135 donna@vivamagonline.com Antoinette Giacobbe 416-203-7900 x6137 antoinette@vivamagonline.com

CMCA AUDITED

VIVAMAGONLINE.COM 12

For daily health, beauty and food updates visit us on Facebook

PHOTO: NICOLE KIRK

On Cover: Jumpsuit: Zuhair Murad Shoes: Jimmy Choo Earring & Rings: Neil Lane Makeup by Kayleen McAdams for CK One Color Cosmetics at The Wall Group Hair by Kylee Heath using Serge Normant at The Wall Group

Published by Rive Gauche Media Inc. Canada Post Canadian Publications Mail Sales Product Agreement No. 42709013. The publisher does not assume any responsibility for the contents of any advertisement and any and all representations or warranties made in such advertising are those of the advertiser and not of the publisher. The publisher is not liable to any advertiser for any misprints in advertising not the fault of the publisher and in such an event the limit of the publisher’s liability shall not exceed the amount of the publisher’s charge for such advertising. No portion of this publication may be reproduced, in all or part, without the express written permission of the publisher. All rights reserved. ©Copyright 2014 Rive Gauche Media Inc. VIVA Magazine is pleased to review unsolicited submissions for editorial consideration under the following conditions: all material submitted for editorial consideration (photographs, illustrations, written text in electronic or hard copy format) may be used by VIVA Magazine Inc. and its affiliates for editorial purposes in any media (whether printed, electronic, Internet, disc, etc.) without the consent of, or the payment of compensation to, the party providing such material. Please direct submissions to the Editor, VIVA Magazine.

VIVAMAGONLINE.COM / SUMMER 2015

VIVA_EditorsLetter.indd 12

2015-06-24 1:26 PM


V I VA

/

C O V E R

S T O RY

A BLISSFUL LIFE PERREY REEVES HAS FOUND SERENITY AMONGST THE CHAOS OF HOLLYWOOD BY STAYING TRUE TO WHO SHE IS AND TAKING TIME TO RELAX AND ENJOY WHAT’S IMPORTANT IN LIFE. BY BONNIE SIEGLER PHOTOGRAPHY BY ELISABETH CAREN

ollywood may be known for celebrating youth, however there is beauty in age. “I’m far more comfortable with myself now than I was when I was younger,” says actor Perrey Reeves. An East Coast native who lived with her family in France and Italy growing up, she reflects on her life today. “I’m in the world of Hollywood,” says the 43-year-old. “Looking at myself as a product is a weird thing. You have to build your life with interests, friends and activities that support another aspect of you or I don’t know how one can survive.” Those are also the things that keep you comfortable in your own skin. Simple things like going for a walk with the dog, watching a movie, doing meditation and yoga help to ground the star. “When I feel good then I’m ready to conquer whatever needs to be conquered that day.” What’s on her radar now is promoting the movie version of 60

Entourage. For 11 years, Reeves has played super agent Ari Gold’s strong-willed wife Melissa. This movie is a chance to take all of the characters we have grown to love to the big screen. PREVENTION MATTERS With her busy Hollywood schedule, staying healthy is a must. A pound of prevention is by far the best policy for staying healthy. “If you walked into my kitchen, you’d say: “Holy moly! How do you swallow all those supplements?” Reeves explains how her father was a physician, but his goal was to prescribe medicine as a last resort. She has always focused on prevention and following a holistic lifestyle, partially because of him. “When patients would come to my dad with a migraine, he would eliminate certain foods and encourage them to eat other foods. He would try to get them in better balance. If an ailment persisted, only then would he prescribe medicine,” says Reeves.

VIVAMAGONLINE.COM / SUMMER 2015

VIVA CoverStory 4pages.indd 60

2015-06-24 12:22 PM


SOME DAYS LOVIN TOP; BLAQUE LABEL SKIRT; MIU MIU SHOES; D’ORAZIO RING; GABRIELA ARTIGAS NECKLACE

VIVA CoverStory 4pages.indd 61

WANT TO SEE MORE? FOR EXTRA CONTENT DOWNLOAD VIVA’S DIGITAL VERSION

2015-06-24 12:22 PM


When Perrey suffers from a common headache she turns to meditation. “It helps with any kind of pain or suffering – emotional and physical. Then I turn to yoga for its breathing techniques and visualization,” she says. “Still, every now and then, an Advil helps.” You can use medicine; just don’t rely on it all the time. So what supplements does Reeves keep in her cabinet? “There are two types of digestive enzymes to help with my GI tract and overall digestive system, plus a few other enzymes. Also acidophilus and quercetin to help with allergies.” Tumeric and black pepper supplements can also be combined with cooking. “The benefits of these two are immense,” says Reeves. They’re great for fighting chronic inflammation and for your heart health. Inflammation is at the root of most diseases, so if you want good health it’s crucial to get a handle on it. BUILDING THE PERFECT RETREAT “I feel like I’m my own science experiment,” says Reeves. “I’m totally interested in health and wellness and part of that was building a retreat centre that caters to that.” Reeves started her personal meditation practice in 1992 and started going to an Ayurvedic physician a year later. In 1994 she started practicing yoga. “All these practices came to me from different directions and they have really been a major influence in my life.” In wanting to bring these benefits to others, Reeves co-founded The Sanctuary at Two Rivers in 2012. The Costa Rican yoga retreat is a place where people can escape the stresses of modern life and focus on healing and rejuvenating their body. The 100 per cent solar-powered, eco-resort boasts a full array of wellness services including massage, skin care treatments, acupuncture, yoga, meditation and holistic nutrition coaching. The menu serves organic vegetarian and vegan foods such as kale and fennel salad and Thai soup. 62

Guests are encouraged to connect with Mother Nature and relax. “The houses are very Zen and high up in tree levels,” says Reeves. You are literally surrounding yourself with nature. YOGA FOR LIFE Reeves recently reflected on the last 20 years of her yoga practice and realized that she has gone in and out of several phases. “For a long time I practiced with teachers and did trainings, but now it’s solely a personal practice,” she says. “Sometimes I’ll do yoga six days week and others I’ll do three or four. It depends on my work schedule, my day and how I’m feeling. As we get older, balance and stretching are things that help us age well. If you can stretch, if you can bend over and do those things at 90, you’ll be in great shape. I’m looking at yoga as a lifestyle, as a future and not just an athletic adventure.” IT’S A FRIENDS AND FAMILY AFFAIR “As a family we lived in a big house in New Hampshire and then had to get rid of a lot of stuff to move to Europe,” says Reeves. “We were each told to take one suitcase. My family shunned TV in favour of reading and exploring literature.” She learned at a young age to collaborate with family and friends as a way to manage stress and maintain a sense of calm. “I’ve been good at letting the things that used to stress me out, roll off my back now,” says Reeves. “I’ve realized that all the energy I put into stressful situations is wasted.” The actor feels that she’s in a really good place. “Sure, I’ve got stress; I mean I’m getting married in June. However we’re collaborating with friends and making it something really fun. I don’t want to compete with Hollywood-type weddings. We’re making it fun for us. At another time in my life I think it might have been a stressful situation. Now it’s just fun!” VM

VIVAMAGONLINE.COM / SUMMER 2015

VIVA CoverStory 4pages.indd 62

2015-06-24 12:23 PM


SUNRISE OR SUNSET?

R. DALAMAL TOP; CYNTHIA VINCENT DRESS; RAG AND BONE BOOTS; BELT (STYLIST’S OWN); BARE EARRINGS; GABRIELLA ARTIGAS NECKLACE; BORGIONI RING AT D’ORAZIO PR

While Perrey admits she and her fiancé Aaron Fox love a beautiful sunset, she also loves when she happens to be up when the sun is rising. “I find if I do things in the morning, then I have the rest of my day free. I like to meditate and do my yoga in the morning, enjoy my green or white cup of tea, take the dog out and sit outside. It’s just a nice way to start the day.”

FALL 2014 / VIVAMAGONLINE.COM

VIVA CoverStory 4pages.indd 63

63

2015-06-24 12:23 PM


VIVA MAGAZINE IS NOW DIGITAL

NOW ON

Want more of Viva?

IPHONE 5 AND UP!

Get your digital version

PACKED WITH EXTRA CONTENT! Look for this icon

on the Appstore or Google Play store

WWW.VIVAMAGONLINE.COM

VIVA Digital Ad.indd 1

2015-06-24 1:21 PM

VIVA Magazine - Summer 2015  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you