Page 14

upstater

5 THINGS WE LEARNED FROM THIS ISSUE

EDITORIAL EDITOR

Susan Piperato susan@luminarymedia.com ART DIRECTOR

Jim Maximowicz jmaximowicz@luminarymedia.com

fs sometimes Even professional che er the und il fo tin put forget to r Oat Crumble. nde ave y-L err ckb Bla

1.

CARTOON EDITOR

Carolita Johnson carolitajohnson@gmail.com PROOFREADER

Peter Aaron

CONTRIBUTORS

2. A piece of soil

the size of a lima bean contains up to a billion microorganisms.

Peter Aaron, Sari Botton, Debra Bresnan, Chloe Caldwell, Jason Cring, Marie Doyon, Brooke Fitts, Elissa Garay, John Garay, Roy Gumpel, Kandy Harris, Hillary Harvey, Jenny Jimenez, Peter D. Martin, Matthew Novak, Ash Oat, Karen Pearson, Giselle Potter

PUBLISHING FOUNDERS & PUBLISHERS

Amara Projansky & Jason Stern CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Amara Projansky

EDITORIAL DIRECTOR

Brian K. Mahoney CHAIRMAN

David Dell Upstater is a project of Luminary Media.

3. John Cage wrote 4’33” to teach us, among other things, that we ourselves contain music.

ADVERTISING SALES (845) 334-8600 X106 DIRECTOR OF PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT & SALES

Julian Lesser julian.lesser@luminarymedia.com ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE

Ralph Jenkins rjenkins@luminarymedia.com ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE

Anne Wygal awygal@luminarymedia.com MAR KETI NG D I R ECTOR

Brian Berusch brian.berusch@luminarymedia.com

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR OF EVENTS & SPECIAL PROJECTS MANAGER

Samantha Liotta samantha@luminarymedia.com OFFICE MANAGER

Phylicia Chartier phylicia@luminarymedia.com BOOKKEEPER

Molly Rausch accounting@luminarymedia.com

PRODUCTION PRODUCTION MANAGER

Sean Hansen sean@luminarymedia.com PRODUCTION DESIGNERS

4.

5.

Using a blowtorch to char local forest off-cuts of wood shou sugi ban style makes lovely material for a headboard.

12 upstater

/ u p s t a t e r.c o m

aled are is repe If Obamac rumpcare, T h it w ed and replac l “A. native Car Vancouver New e th f o an C.” Newm ers if he hers wond Pornograp and move his family should take anada. back to C

Kerry Tinger Marie Doyon

LUMINARY MEDIA 314 Wall Street, Kingston, NY 12401 (845) 334-8600 | fax (845) 334-8610 luminarymedia.com All contents © Luminary Media Inc. 2017 For extended coverage of the upstater lifestyle, join us at upstater.com. Founded in 2011, Upstater magazine and Upstater. com present the Hudson Valley as a state of mind, and act as a guide for visiting and living in the region. Our writers, artists, staff members, and featured personalities have hearts, mortgages, and legacies in the Hudson Valley.

Upstater Summer 2017  
Upstater Summer 2017  
Advertisement