Page 13

Recent faculty honors and awards Lou Burgio was appointed to the administrative cabinet of the Outreach, Partnerships, and Implementation Science Program (OPIS) at the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research. Barry Checkoway received Campus Compact’s Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award in January. The award is given to one senior faculty member across the country each year for enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good through scholarship that advances students’ civic learning while meeting community needs.

U-M Photo Services: Scott Galvin U-M Photo Services: Lin Jones U-M Photo Services: Scott Galvin

Julie Ribaudo

Janie Paul was heard on Minnesota Public Radio’s “Midmorning” in December, discussing her work with the Prison Creative Arts Project. Beth Reed received the 2010–11 Distinguished Faculty Award for the School of Social Work. In selecting the recipient each year, the committee considers longevity of service to the School, national recognition, excellence in teaching/mentoring of students and faculty, outstanding service to the School/University, and contribution to the professional community.

Kathleen Coulborn Faller was named an Outstanding Service Award Winner for Lifetime Achievement from the National Children’s Advocacy Center.

Julie Ribaudo received the inaugural Professor of the Year Award from the SSW Student Union.

Joe Himle was quoted in a Chicago Tribune article in December regarding his research that shows that moderate doses of alcohol do not directly reduce social anxiety. He was also quoted in Psychology Today in January, stating that family history could be a risk factor for combined anxiety and depression. In January ABC News quoted Himle regarding the impact of paruresis, a social phobia commonly known as “shy bladder syndrome.” Berit Ingersoll-Dayton’s research on ways in which older people help their adult children was described in the AARP Bulletin in January.

Sean Joe

Daphna Oyserman has received a Humboldt Research Award by the German Humboldt Foundation for fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights that have had a significant impact on her discipline.

Jorge Delva, formerly founding co-director of the Curtis Center, was appointed by Dean Lein as the school’s associate dean for research, effective September 2010. His research centers on understanding substance use and mental health disorders among racial and ethnic minority populations, as well as crossculturally in the United States and Latin America.

Karla Goldman was quoted in an October Jerusalem Post article, “Whose Money is Kosher?” She commented on the term “self-hating” as a descriptor for Jews.

Barry Checkoway

Robert Ortega was awarded the 2011 National Association of Social Workers–Michigan chapter Lisa Putnam Award for Excellence in Child Welfare.

Daphne Watkins Jacobs was featured in a New Connections article, “Former Grantee Uses New Connections as Launching Pad,” in October. Sean Joe’s motivation for research on self-destructive tendencies among African American males was discussed in a December Chicago Tribune column highlighting a new book to which he contributed. In addition, he was selected to receive the 2011 Outstanding Educational Opportunity Program Alumnus Award from the Tri-State Consortium of Opportunity Programs in Higher Education.

Trina Shanks shared findings from her study, “Diverging Pathways: How Wealth Shapes Opportunity for Children,” with the Huffington Post in April. Luke Shaefer’s 2011 article “Transitions from private to public health coverage among children: Estimating Effects on Out-of-Pocket Medical Costs and Health Insurance Premium Costs” in Health Services Research (with Harold Pollack and Colleen Grogan) was featured on, “the world’s most up-to-date index of articles that matter in the daily lives of physicians and other healthcare professionals.” Luke Shaefer won the Klein Award for best 2009 Monthly Labor Review article by an author outside the Bureau of Labor Statistics for the following article: Shaefer, H. L. (2009). Part-time workers: Key differences between primary and secondary wage earners. Monthly Labor Review, 132(10), 3–15. Daphne Watkins Jacobs has been elected vice president of the American Men’s Studies Association and is the first woman to serve in this capacity in the organization’s 20-year history. She also received a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Health Disparities Loan Repayment Program award. Brad Zebrack received a Member Commitment Award from LIVESTRONG Young Adult Alliance, part of the Lance Armstrong Foundation, in 2010. Also, in November he was quoted in the Wall Street Journal article “‘Too Young for Cancer’ and Demanding Action,” on how young adults confront cancer.

Ongoing Winter/Spring 2011



Ongoing 2011 Winter/Spring  

Published biannually by the University of Michigan School of Social Work.

Ongoing 2011 Winter/Spring  

Published biannually by the University of Michigan School of Social Work.