Page 1


Swimming Meets – CLOSING DATES Div 1, Meet 3 – WEDNESDAY 27th JUNE, 9am 12&O Div 2, Meet 3 – Wednesday 4th July, 9am 11&U JX, Meet 3 – Wednesday 4th July, 9am South Coast Carnival - Noarlunga Entries close Online, 9am Monday 9th July 2012. Please refer to the SwimmingSA website, Calendar of Events for this meet. 4 individual swims per competitor. This is the last chance meet to obtain a qualifying time for the State Championships in August. State 13-18 SC Championships – Wednesday 1st August, 9am State Open SC Championships – Monday 13th August, 9am (Please have your nominations to Sandy BEFORE these closing dates.) Congratulations to all the swimmers who have competed to date in the Div 1, Div 2 and 11&U JX meets. Div 2 and JX meets are on this weekend. Good luck to all our swimmers: Connor Clancy, Harry Gibbs, Isabelle Thomas, Roxy Harris, Sam Royal, Hilarie Yu, Samuel Rijken, Mitchell Brice, Elouise Larkin, Lara Wakeham, Fatima HayKleven and Chelsea Robinson.

2012 AGM & PRESENTATION NIGHT - 1/6/2012 Thank you to all members who were able to attend the recent Unley AGM on Friday 1st June 2012. It was heartening to see so many parents and swimmers interested in the management of this swimming club, and keen to ensure its ongoing success. Thank you to our Committee members, coaches and volunteers for the work they have done in the past 12 months in the running of the club. Their efforts are appreciated and should be applauded. I would like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing President, David Wilkinson, who has been at the helm of the club for the past 2 years, thank you. Congratulations are also in order for Martin Lewis who has taken on the role of Club President for the next 2 years. I would like to see all our members support Martin in this role. All of the existing Unley Committee remain in place for the coming year, a couple in new roles. The Committee for Season 2012/13 is as follows: President: Vice President: Secretary: Treasurer: Registrar: Fundraising: Committee:

Martin Lewis Vince Cobiac Karen Pike Sandy Jones Martin Lewis Francesca Wakeham Witold Petrusewicz Peter Hibbert

email: email: email: email: email: Lisa Brice Heather Brown

Please feel free to approach at the pool or contact any of the above Committee if you have any questions regarding Club processes on how to do things from entering carnivals to ordering uniforms to offering suggestions on improvement or providing volunteer assistance. Coaching Team Head Coach Assistant Coach

Craig Jones Brad Thomas

email: email:

2012/13 CLUB CAPTAINS, LIFE MEMBERS AND TROPHY WINNERS. Club Captains: Life Members: Mayors Trophy:

Ethan Rump and Madeleine Larkin Craig Jones, Frank Carlino, Heather Brown Karen Pike

Congratulations to all Season 2011/12 award winners, who were presented with their trophies and awards at our AGM and Presentation Night. Each swimmer should be congratulated for their enthusiasm and commitment to training and competition performance, which was reflected in their overall improvement. The following swimmers were presented with Perpetual Trophies: Leane Trophy: Gil Langley Trophy: Stocker Vaux Trophy: Vostatek Trophy: Jones Trophy: Dr Barden Trophy: Mashford Trophy: Peter Nelson Trophy: Beringen Trophy: Goodwood Cup: Forestville Cup: Winter Div 1: Winter Div 2: 11/U JX Series:

Ethan Rump Annabel Lampard Madeleine Larkin Oscar Petrusewicz Abbey Jones Oscar Petrusewicz Millie Lewis Patrick Cobiac Karina Leane Jackson Pike Isabelle Thomas Ethan Rump Oscar Petrusewicz Jackson Pike

Details of Trophies can be found on the Unley website: We have some AGM & Trophy Presentation booklets available for those who did not attend. Please see Craig at training if you would like one of these booklets.

Unley Club Championship Winners 2011/12 Female 8&U 9/10yrs




1st 2nd 1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd

Lara Wakeham Caitlin Farrelly Leah Jones Fatima Hay-Kleven Charlotte Farmer Elouise Larkin Anneka Kidd Chelsea Robinson Millie Lewis Abbey Jones T J Rump Annabel Lampard Brittany Ellis

1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd 1st 1st 2nd 1st

Alex Wakeham Cooper McCulloch Hayden Butler Jackson Pike Oscar Petrusewicz Charlie Hibbert Samuel Rijken Ethan Rump William Fares Patrick Cobiac

Male 9/10yrs


12/13yrs 15/16yrs 17/29yrs


If you require a club polo or jacket please advise Craig at swimming training. Craig has a selection of these for you to try on and purchase. Club polos are $45.00 and jackets $60.00. We currently have no swimming caps available and Sandy Jones is in the process of ordering new personalised swimming caps. Cost per named cap will be $15 each - minimum 2 per name so this will cost each swimmer $30. We encourage all swimmers to wear the club uniform at meets while you are representing the Unley Swimming Club. Selection of Photos from the 2011/2012 AGM & Presentation Night.

Unley News June 2012