Page 1

EPSCoR in Iowa:

Harnessing Energy in the Biosphere


“As one of the leading wind energy-producing states in the nation, Iowa is well-positioned to play a central role in the world-wide transition from fossil fuels to renewable energy sources.”

Innovating Iowa’s Future

Harnessing Energy in the Biosphere

Training the Next Generation

The Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) is aimed at building research capacity and increasing competitiveness for the state through investments in infrastructure and human capital. Through partnerships with Iowa’s three public universities, industry, private and community colleges, school districts, and government agencies, the program stimulates lasting research infrastructure improvements for the State of Iowa. (http://iowaepscor.org/)

The vision of a 5-year, $20M EPSCoR project funded by the National Science Foundation is to establish Iowa as a leader in the world-wide transition from fossil fuels to harnessing renewable energy sources in the biosphere. The project is composed of four distinct platforms: Bioenergy, Wind Energy, Energy Utilization, and Energy Policy.

Wind Energy Resource Characterization An outdoor laboratory will be established to collect reliable wind speed and turbulence data for use with computational models of wind turbine systems.

The Wind Energy platform of the project will employ advanced engineering principles — including fluid dynamics, machine design, and control theory — to improve the reliability of wind turbines.

Drivetrain Design Optimization Reliability-based design optimization (RBDO) will be employed to enhance design of wind turbine drive trains.

Through partnerships with industry, community colleges, private colleges, and school districts, this project will strengthen the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) pipeline across Iowa to support the next generation of scientists and educators. The goal of these efforts is to create a highlyskilled workforce that will meet the demands of Iowa’s emerging green economy and will continue to attract new industries to the state.

Blade Performance and Reliability Blade health monitoring diagnostics will be coupled with structural optimization and failure analysis to advance rotor blade performance.

Green Energy Grids Highly adaptive, decentralized electric grid management techniques compatible with wind power systems will be developed.


Contact us Jordan Cohen State Governance Committee Chair VP for Research and Economic Development University of Iowa jordan-cohen@uiowa.edu Robert Brown Project Director Director, Bioeconomy Institute, Iowa State University Mechanical Engineering rcbrown@iastate.edu P. Barry Butler Wind Platform Leader Co-Project Director Executive Vice President and Provost, University of Iowa Mechanical & Industrial Engineering patrick-butler@uiowa.edu

Resource Characterization

Blade Performance and Reliability

Drivetrain Design Optimization

James Buchholz Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa james-h-buchholz@uiowa.edu

Dionysios Aliprantis Electrical and Computer Engineering, Iowa State University dali@iastate.edu

Michael Kessler Materials Science and Engineering, Iowa State University mkessler@iastate.edu

Kyung Choi Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa kyung-choi@uiowa.edu

Ganesh Rajagopalan Aerospace Engineering, Iowa State University rajagopa@iastate.edu

Shaoping Xiao Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa shaoping-xiao@uiowa.edu

Song Zhang Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Iowa State University song@iastate.edu Olesya Zhupanska Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa olesya-zhupanska@uiowa.edu

Green Energy Grids Yong Chen Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa yong-chen@uiowa.edu

Christopher Anderson Agronomy, Iowa State University cjames@iastate.edu

Soura Dasgupta Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Iowa soura-dasgupta@uiowa.edu

James Buchholz Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa james-h-buchholz@uiowa.edu

Pavlo Krokhmal Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Iowa pavlo-krokhmal@uiowa.edu

Andrey Petrov Geography, University of Northern Iowa andrey.petrov@uni.edu

Raghuraman Mudumbai Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Iowa raghuraman-mudumbai@ uiowa.edu

Gene Takle Atmospheric Science, Iowa State University gstakle@iastate.edu


EPSCoR in Iowa: Harnessing Energy in the Biosphere  

Building Sustainable Energy Systems

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you