Page 88

Year in 1995 and Christine Hornak was the Player of the Year in 1997. Softball also captured four straight Big South Tournament championships in 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997.

Men’s soccer player Eddie Radwanski, the first two-time All-American in the program’s history, was the first pick in the Major Indoor Soccer League draft in 1985. Alejandro Under Michael Parker’s direction, the men’s soccer team became the first in NCAA history to win three consecutive national championships, in 1985, 1986 and 1987.

In just its fourth season, baseball claimed the Big South title and won two games in the 1994 NCAA Regionals. Mike Gaski was named Big South Coach of the Year.


On April 15, 1995, men’s tennis captured the Big South Championship. On April 18, 1995, men’s and women’s golf sweep the Big South Tournament. Becky Morgan was named the league’s Player of the Year.

In February of 1987, the University announced the elevation of the athletic program from Division III to Division I, an unprecedented move in NCAA history.

Men’s basketball claimed back-to-back Big South regular season titles in 1995 and 1996. On March 2, 1996, men’s basketball knocked off Liberty, 79-53, to claim the Big South Tournament Championship and advance to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in Division I. The Spartans lost to Cincinnati in the NCAA Tournament, 66-61. The five seniors from the team had their numbers honored. Scott Hartzell finished his career as the mens basketball’s all-time leading scorer with 1,539.

The women’s basketball team finished third in the nation after entering the NCAA Tournament unranked in 1988. The Division II era began in 1988-89 and women’s soccer was added to the program. The team wa ranked No. 13 nationally before ever playing a game. The men’s soccer team was runner-up in the 1989 Division II national tournament and Jason Haupt led all divisions in scoring.


The men’s and women’s soccer team were ranked No. 1 nationally in Division II at the same time in 1990.

Jay Joseph

The women’s volleyball and basketball teams made Division II playoff appearances in 1990-91. Women’s golf returned to the athletic program and baseball was added in 1990-91. UNCG Soccer Stadium, a $3.6 million facility, opens for its first game on September 7, 1991, as the men’s team defeated Campbell, 3-1. Four days later, the Spartans stunned No. 2 NC State, 2-1. Men’s soccer’s Mike Gailey led all Division I players in scoring in 1991.

On April 15, 1996, women’s Golf wins the Big South Tournament. Becky Morgan was once again named the league’s Player of the Year. One day later, the UNCG men’s golf team won the Big South Tournament. Michael Way was the league’s Player of the Year.

Women’s golfer Becky Morgan earned her third straight Big South Player of the Year award in April 1997. Women’s tennis captured the 1997 Big South Women’s Tennis championship on April 19, 1997.

UNCG joined the Big South Conference in 1992, ending a four-year period as an independent.

On May 18, 1997, the UNCG baseball team won the Big South tournament championship with a 14-5 victory over Charleston Southern. Mike Gaski was named Big South Coach of the Year. Baseball earned a bid to the NCAA South I regional, and finished with a school-record 45 wins, including one at the NCAA regional. Pitcher Jason Parsons led the nation with 15 wins and was named third-team All-America.

Softball claimed the 1993 Big South regular season title. Brian Moehler became the first Spartan to sign a professional baseball contract after being drafted in the sixth round of the 1993 Major League draft by the Detroit Tigers. He made his “big league” debut in 1996, and pitched the first game ever in Comerica Park in 2000.

Wrestling, in its first year in the Southern Conference , tied for the 1997 SoCon title. Joe Stanton became the first and only three-time NCAA qualifier in UNCG history.

Men’s soccer won the 1993 Big South championship. Shawn Mahoney was named the tournament’s MVP. Women’s golf was ranked in the Top 20 nationally in the fall of 1993.

Women’s Soccer won its first Southern Conference Championship in 1997, while outscoring opponents, 24-0, in the SoCon Tournament. The team earned its first NCAA win with a 3-1 overtime upset of fifthseeded Duke.

Men’s soccer claims its second straight Big South championship on Nov. 5, 1994. Larry Feniger was named the tournament MVP. Women’s basketball claimed five straight Big South regular season titles in 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997. Vickie Henson was named the league’s Player of the Year in 1993.

In 1997, Siggi Eyjolfsson becomes the first First-Team All-American in UNCG men’s soccer Division I history.

Volleyball won the 1995 Big South regular season championship with a record of 7-0. Liz Gremillion was named the league’s MVP.

UNCG women’s basketball defeated top-seeded Georgia Southern, 75-68, in the SoCon Tournament and earned its first-ever NCAA Division I Tournament bid in 1998.

Softball captured three consecutive Big South regular season titles in 1995, 1996 and 1997. Erin Chandler was named the Player of the 88 • 2005-06 UNCG Men’s Basketball Media Guide

Becky Morgan

In 1998, UNCG men’s soccer turned in its best season ever at the Division I level, claiming both its first SoCon title and its first-ever NCAA Division I

Profile for UNCG Athletics

2005-06 UNCG Men's Basketball Media Guide  

2005-06 UNCG Men's Basketball Media Guide

2005-06 UNCG Men's Basketball Media Guide  

2005-06 UNCG Men's Basketball Media Guide

Profile for uncgsid