Page 14

campus news

American Indian Honoring Ceremony

As May 10 approached, students delivered senior seminar presentations and finished final papers. Fourteen graduating studio art majors shared their work at Post Vortex, the 2014 senior art exhibitions. Eighty-two students from 28 disciplines discussed their creative and scholarly pursuits during the 14th annual Undergraduate Research Symposium. Faculty and staff thanked new retirees for their years of service and congratulated award-winning colleagues at the annual Recognition Dinner. American Indian graduates were recognized at the annual American Indian Honoring Ceremony the day before Commencement. Scholarship and award recipients were commended at the Honors and Awards ceremony later that evening. After gathering with classmates for a final farewell, more than 375 graduates processed onto the floor of the P.E. Center Gymnasium. They listened as 2014 Curtis H. Larson Award recipient Molly Donovan ’14, Minneapolis, and author/community leader Peter Bell urged them to speak up—for themselves and for the people and places they love. Once their degrees were conferred, the newest members of Morris’s alumni family were welcomed by UMM Alumni Association President Donnay Green ’05. Photos and video are available at and

Student Leadership Awards

Honors and Awards Ceremony

Faculty and Staff Recognition Dinner Back: Judy Kuechle, associate professor of secondary education; Jennifer Zych Herrmann ’00, associate director of student retention and success, Academic Staff Award; Dale Michealson, lead copy center operator, Outstanding Support Staff Award (Teamsters); Tom Rach, carpenter; Stephen Burks, associate professor of economics and management, University of Minnesota, Morris Faculty Distinguished Research Award. Front: David Raths, building and grounds worker; Jane Harstad, senior building and grounds worker; Lisa Harris ’09, associate administrator of facilities management, Outstanding Support Staff Award (Civil Service); Sandy Bouta Kill ’86, interlibrary loan manager; Outstanding Support Staff Award (AFSCME); Roger Boleman, director of instructional and media technologies, Mary Martelle Staff Award. 12

University of Minnesota, Morris: a renewable, sustainable education.


Fall 2014 edition of the University of Minnesota, Morris alumni magazine.