Page 1

The 2016-2017 Hill Concert Series is sponsored by Meijer Corporation

HALLOWEEN CXNCERT KENNETH KIESLER, Artistic Director Sunday, October 30, 2016 Hill Auditorium 4:30 PM March of the Little Goblins

Adam Glaser Current Mortal Status: Missing since March

Slava! A Political Overture for Orchestra

Leonard Bernstein (1918–1990)

Cause of Death: Bear Attack Rotem Weinberg, conductor

Overture to The Barber of Seville Gioachino Rossini (1792–1868) First Cause of Death: Shaving Accident... Resuscitated Shortly Thereafter Stefano Flavoni, conductor

Largo al factotum

Gioachino Rossini Final Cause of Death : Barbershop Quartet Turf War

Mr. Trump, Secretary Clinton & Thennek Relseik, conductors

César Franck

Le Chasseur maudit (The Accursed Huntsman)


Cause of Death: Ranch Hotdog Victor Minke Huls, conductor

The Infernal Dance from The Firebird Suite

Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971)

Cause of Death: Bird Flu Niklas Tamm, conductor

A Grand, Grand Festival Overture Malcolm Arnold (1921–2006) Cause of Death: Operating Vacuum 7 from Samsung Chelsea Gallo, conductor

Modest Mussorgsky

Promenade—Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks from Pictures at an Exhibition

(1839–1881) arr. Maurice Ravel

First Emergency Room Visit: Run over by a Hatch-Back Jotaro Nakano, conductor

Cum Mortuis in Lingua Mortua—Baba Yaga Modest Mussorgsky from Pictures at an Exhibition arr. Maurice Ravel Second Emergency Room Visit: Believed he could fly Tal Benatar, conductor

Modest Mussorgsky

Great Gate of Kiev from Pictures at an Exhibition

arr. Maurice Ravel

Cause of Final Death: Framed and Hung Kenneth Kiesler, conductor



Halloween Concert Productixn Staff ARTISTIC ASSISTANT / CONCERT COORDINATOR Chelsea Gallo

PERSONNEL Niklas Tamm Rotem Weinberg


EQUIPMENT ASSISTANTS Ryan McDonald Derek Mitchell Joseph Swift


LIBRARIANS Saralyn Klepaczyk, lead Anna Berntsson Thomas Hawthrone Cassandra Mullenix Anna Thompson Margaret Tigue Kelsee Vandervall Madeline Warner Rebecca Williamson PUBLICITY Brandon Monzon PROGRAMS Tom Erickson

Please join us for our

upcoming concerts UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY & PHILHARMONIA ORCHESTRAS Tuesday, November 15, 2016 at 8:00 PM Hill Auditorium

UNIVERSITY PHILHARMONIA ORCHESTRA Sunday, December 11, 2016 at 7:00 PM Hill Auditorium

UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA & CHOIRS Tuesday, December 13, 2016 at 8:00 PM Hill Auditorium

Unless otherwise indicated, all events are free, no tickets required. Please visit for more information.

BECOME A FRIEND OF THE ORCHESTRAS If you enjoyed this concert, please consider making a donation to support the orchestra programs at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance! To make a gift, please return this form, visit, or contact Tess Eastment at or 734.764.5613. Enclosed is my gift of $________ for the Friends of University Orchestras Fund (308429) Name: _________________________________________ Phone: __________________ Address: ________________________________________ City: _________________ State: _______ Zip: _________ email: __________________________________________ o My check payable to the University of Michigan is enclosed. o My employer matches gifts to higher education. (please include matching gift form) Return to: Development Office, 2005 Baits Drive, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2075

ME: 1016

UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA Kenneth Kiesler, Director of Orchestras

VIOLIN **Michael Acosta **Teagan Faran **Reuben Kebede *Emily Acri *Stuart Carlson Anna Berntson Nathan Bieber Melodi Hess Benjamin Jackson Chihiro Kakishima Tiffany Kang Michelle Kim Brian Kosiadi Janet Lyu Bram Margoles Tobiah Murphy Clayton PenroseWhitmore Sofia Pokrzywa Harry Rayner Cara Schlecker Paula Su Julie Takeda Amelia Taylor Loi Vo Jecoliah Wang Chase Ward Yu Chao Weng Tiffany Wilkins Diane Yang Kristina Zlaterva

VIOLA *Caitlin Adamson *Zoie Hightower *Lindzy Volk Sarah Cornett Hsuan Lee Patrick Marsh Aimée McAnulty Ryan McDonald Erin Napier Caroline Swanson Madeline Warner CELLO *Thomas Barth †Kayla Mathes †Andrew Plaisier Nicole Chung Anita Graef Victor Huls Julia Lefond Jin Nakamura Hanna Rumora Leo Singer Lucas Song Kelsee Vandervall Nathan Walhout DOUBLE BASS *Tommy Hawthorne *Kai West †Lauren Rodewald †Jacob Warren Conor Flynn Pablo Melcher-Ordonez Alice Schmitz Marlo Williams

FLUTE Melissa Mashner Ayana Terauchi Anna Thompson Paulina Tsao OBOE Tsukumo Niwa Jeremiah Quarles Aaron Robinson Laurel Wellman CLARINET Jordan Kauffman Jakob Lenhardt Danny Mui Weily Shay SAXOPHONE Jeffrey Siegfried BASSOON Alex Carlucci Trevor King David Pendock Joseph Swift Matthew Wildman TRUMPET Christi Baker Bret Magliola Amanda Ross Katherine Stephen

TROMBONE Skye Dearborn Scott Watson BASS TROMBONE Derek Mitchell TUBA Evan Zegiel PERCUSSION Griffin Harvey Patterson Mckinney Karl Ronneburg Casey Voss Christopher Weber HARP Kristin Quint ASSISTANT CONDUCTORS Niklas Tamm Victor Minke Huls Rotem Weinberg Chelsea Gallo Jotaro Nakano Tal Benatar Stefano Flavoni

HORN Michaela Clague Arun Mangrulkar Christopher Nichols Carrie Rexroat Evan Wright

 **Concertmaster,*principal, and †associate principal string players rotate positions during the season. Wind players rotate positions during the concert.

UNIVERSITY PHILHARMONIA ORCHESTRA Oriol Sans, Associate Director of Orchestras

VIOLIN **John Bian *Anita Dumar Isabella Amador Alyssa Campbell Nathaniel Cornell Malhar Kute Matthew Lamb Christine Lee YeJoo Lee Alexandra Levatter Tiffany Loe Anna Nordmoe Rebecca O’Brien Landon Oja Leah Pernick Michele Ripka Rebekah Ruetz Abigail Schneider Sarah Catherine Straw Amy Tang Allison Taylor Iris Wu VIOLA *Samuel Koeppe Justin Bak Joseph Chung Julia Foran Alice Risov Arian Shaw-Obasogie Amy Tan Max Tsao Chris Young

CELLO *Allison Rich Lydia de Leeuw Joshua DeVries Emily Camras Tim Edwards Madeline Endres Wesley Hornpetrie Jessica Hu So Young Jang Annamarie Kasper Braden McConnell Cullen O’Neil Helen Peyrebrune Pedro Sanchez Cecelia Sha Lindsey Sharpe Kamyron Williams YeRim Yoo Daniel Yucra

FLUTE Cassandra Huerta Cassandra Mullenix Ellen Sauer

DOUBLE BASS *Margaret Hasspacher George Barnhouse Nathaniel Gualtieri Daniel Kumapayi Maxwell Lipari Jack Zanone

TRUMPET Andrew Gilliam Kyle Mallari Michelle Riechers

OBOE Nicole Joslin Mickenna Keller Thomas Lacy

TROMBONE Scott Hankins Luis Rangel BASS TROMBONE Austin John Muusse TUBA Joseph McDonnell

CLARINET Margaret Albrecht Emily Ji Theresa Zick

PERCUSSION Conner Darling Chase Lancaster Colin McCall

BASSOON John Byrne Peter Ecklund Adam Jank Audrey Shepherd

HARP Celisa Gutierrez Melody Stein

HORN Rebecca Epstein-Boley Lauren Liebman Spencer Schaefer Christine Stinchi

 **Concertmaster,*principal, and †associate principal string players rotate positions during the season. Wind players rotate positions during the concert.


You had better read this No flash photography is allowed, as it spooks the witches! (Anyway, unauthorized use of cameras and/or recording devices is useless since the vampires won’t appear on film). Children unable to sit quietly through the performance will be fed to the werewolves! Please do not fold programs into paper airplanes and sail them across the auditorium. Don’t even THINK about it. People who disregard these rules will be escorted to the dungeons by the zombies (A.K.A. the ushers).

The University of Michigan is a smoke-free campus. Smoking is not permitted in University buildings or on University grounds. Smoking is permitted only in personal vehicles or on the sidewalks of major thoroughfares.

Halloween Concert 2016  

Program for the 2016 Halloween Concert presented by the U-M SMTD University Orchestras on October 30, 2016 in Hill Auditorium

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you