Issuu on Google+

Annual Review 2015-16


UKCISA Board of Trustees as at 1 August 2016

President

Lord Karan Bilimoria, CBE, DL

Chair

Prof Koen Lamberts, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of York

Members

James Kennedy, Director of the Office for Global Engagement, University of Warwick (Treasurer) Mark Allen, International Director, Sussex Downs College Tim Benford, Chief Executive, UWE Students’ Union Dr Sharon Bolton, Dean of Student Life, International Students’ House Mark Collier, Head of International Student Support, University of Sheffield Marianne Davies, Head of Immigration Services, University of Warwick Mario Di Clemente, Principal, CATS College London Kate Dodd, Academic Registrar, University of York Lizzie Huckle, Head of International Student Support, Imperial College London Alan MacKay, Director International Office & Deputy Vice Principal, University of Edinburgh Helen McClure, Head of Pathway Sales, Bell Educational Services Dr Sonal Minocha, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement), Bournemouth University Alex Proudfoot, Chief Executive, Independent Higher Education Mostafa Rajaai, International Students Officer, National Union of Students Paul Rossi, Head of Student Advice and Funding, University of the Arts London Niru Williams, Deputy Academic Registrar, University of East London

Cover photograph: Elaine Perks

Organisations with observer status: Association of Colleges, Association of International Student Advisers, British Universities International Liaison Association (BUILA), English UK, GuildHE, Universities UK Note from UKCISA This review formally covers the period April 2015 to March 2016 which is UKCISA’s financial year. It has, however, been brought up-to-date to include references to the most recent Annual Conference and the post referendum environment. A copy of UKCISA’s full annual report and accounts will be available shortly at www.ukcisa.org.uk/annual-report


Annual Review 2015-16

1

Introduction Professor Koen Lamberts President and Vice-Chancellor, University of York and Chair, UKCISA’s Board of Trustees

I assumed the position of Chair of UKCISA’s Board of Trustees on 1 July this year - and I was delighted to do so, as the next year or two may well be one of the most important and challenging periods for our sector.

Photograph: Kippa Matthews

As we know, there has been some evidence of a slowdown in UK recruitment, with the number of first year arrivals in 2015 falling by 3%. The referendum result will have major consequences, especially for students from the EU. A new government has been formed, and whilst we hope to see a more positive attitude to international students, cutting net migration will clearly stay a priority. There is turbulence in various parts of the world, and so it is even more important for students to have the opportunity to live and learn together and understand each other’s values and perspectives. For these reasons, I believe that UKCISA’s mission is more important now than ever before. We have to reach out and demonstrate our continuing commitment to openness, to partnerships and to the welcome and support we give to individual students from anywhere in the world. The UK has a very good story to tell in terms of international student satisfaction – as the International Unit’s March 2016 ‘Competitive Advantage’ report demonstrated – and much of that is the result of the commitment, dedication and skills of those in the UKCISA community. This review demonstrates, I believe, that we have a highly effective organisation dedicated to international students, which is well placed to help the UK meet these challenges.

‘I believe that UKCISA’s mission is more important now than ever before and a need for us all to reach out and demonstrate, more clearly than ever before, our continuing commitment to openness, to partnerships and to the welcome and support we give to individual students from anywhere in the world.’

In the last year: §§ 2,000 colleagues attended training, professional development, members’ forums, partnership events and conferences; §§ 7,000 queries were answered on its advice lines; §§ A weekly e-news service (and constantly updated newswall) kept over 2,000 colleagues up-to-date with rapidly changing rules and regulations; §§ A continuous and constructive dialogue was maintained with the Home Office – and a range of other Departments and agencies – raising and addressing areas of concern; §§ All website information for students was reviewed and transformed so that it could be accessed anywhere in the world on tablets and mobiles; §§ A major new grants programme was initiated, to encourage innovation in student support services; and §§ An extraordinarily successful annual conference was held, with inspirational keynote speakers - including our President, Lord Bilimoria and his co-chair


2

‘UKCISA is a highly effective organisation dedicated to international students and one which is well placed to help the UK meet these challenges.’

Annual Review 2015-16

of the newly established All Party Parliamentary Group on International Students, Paul Blomfield MP. There is, we know, huge support for the economic, intellectual and cultural benefits of international students in Parliament, in our universities and colleges and, indeed, more widely throughout the UK. We are determined, especially at this time, to make that support more visible overseas. So, can I thank all our member institutions for their support – and indeed, can I particularly thank all those individuals who do so much to provide day to day support and advice to international students in universities and colleges throughout the UK, or who serve on our Board and Advisory Committees. I am also grateful to the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (with its education responsibilities now being moved to the Department for Education) and the Scottish Government, for their hugely valued financial support, which helps us to deliver such a wide range of activities and services. Finally, though, on behalf of us all, may I pay particular tribute to my substantive predecessor, Prof Paul Webley, who very sadly died in March this year, having chaired the Board for the last five years. Paul’s commitment to UKCISA and his vision for international education touched and inspired so many. We have established an award in his memory, with the first year’s winners featured in this Review. They will be the first of many, I hope, who will help us mark the exceptional contribution that Paul made to this organisation and to its mission. Koen Lamberts 1 August 2016


Annual Review 2015-16

3

Review of the year 2015-16

Immigration policy and practice ‘International students bring in up to £14bn directly or indirectly to the economy and are one our most important elements of soft power in the country.’ Lord Bilimoria

With the election of the Conservative government it was clear that, in the current year at least, it would not be possible to achieve any major change in the government’s approach to international students and/or their inclusion in the ‘net migration’ policy. However, we were able to highlight, and in some cases resolve, numerous areas of ambiguity, confusion or difficulty. Yet more rule changes were introduced throughout 2015-16. We produced special briefing summary papers for members and sought to clarify, question or challenge various aspects with the Home Office: §§

§§ §§

§§ §§

§§

§§

§§

Some concessions were achieved on the ‘maximum years of study’ rule and (modestly) on ‘established presence’ – but the Home Office only agreed to make very modest changes to the ‘academic progress’ rule (banning a student from studying a second or subsequent course unless it is at a higher level). There were further and very substantial restrictions imposed on students at further education colleges despite, as we pointed out, the likely lasting consequences for the sector as a whole. Working with sector partners we successfully opposed an increase in mandatory English language levels which the sector argued would be totally unnecessary; and the abolition of various concessions which help some international graduates move from Tier 4 (Study) into Tier 2 (Work). In September 2015 we produced a substantial analysis of questionable ‘credibility refusals’ which influenced the creation of a new UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) quality assurance team. We highlighted the barriers which Syrians under the Vulnerable Persons Resettlement (VPR) scheme might face in accessing ‘home’ fees or student support, helped to have the relevant rules changed in Scotland and obtained clarification from the Home Office on whether those seeking asylum were entitled to study. We sought evidence of any adverse impact on international students of the ‘Right to Rent’ pilot scheme, gave detailed comments on recently amended application forms and discussed the difficulties faced by many in paying the Immigration Health Charge with the Home Office. We contributed to consultations on fee status (post ‘Tigere’ judgement) resulting in the abolition of the age limit for those who had been in the UK unlawfully as children but who now had at least three years of ordinary residence. Finally, UKCISA colleagues in Scotland, supported by the central team in London, helped to present powerful evidence in support of the case to re-establish a Post-Study Work scheme in Scotland resulting in influential reports by both the Scottish Affairs Committee and the Scottish Parliament.


(e.g. voluntary ganisations)

211

88

Higher education members

Students’ Union members

Our year in numbers

4

Annual Review 2015-16

Advice, support and information for students and members

Advice lines, training and events

‘The adviser I spoke to answered all my questions education complex Students’ Union with is number of s members the I really umber of great patience. people trained at nderstanding appreciate her service ional courses and your team.’ en accessed

1 88 1,222 054

ar in numbers

45

n the past

pport and PhDinformation student, India training s and members national courses

With both the students’ and the members’ lines open virtually every weekday we answered a total of 6,680 queries during the year. This was roughly the same number as in the previous year for the students’ line but a slight reduction for the member’s line (as a result we believe of less discretion in the rules, improved website guidance and the growth of the Premium Account Manager service). On that basis, we decided that it was not necessary to offer additional sessions on the members’ line although we keep this under review. We delivered 45 training courses comprising immigration, fees and international student experience in five locations across the country; Bristol, Birmingham, Edinburgh, London and Manchester, attracting over 1,100 delegates.

3,752 2,928 1,222

is the number of people trained at

45

ree ms

calls to our students’ and general public line

national training courses

In October 2015, we revised all our immigration courses following changes to the Immigration Rules and evaluation, introduced a new course on EU law and arranged a half-day ‘Immigration Update’ for those working in further education colleges. Eight of UKCISA’s courses were also accepted for accreditation by the CPD Standards Office. In addition we ran eight in-house courses for individual institutions (for 175 delegates) and continued to support the UKCISA/University calls to our members’ line of Nottingham Postgraduate Certificate in International Student Advice and Support with the third cohort completing the programme during the year.

52 2,928

ents’ blic line

calls to our members’ line

‘An excellent conference that I will be recommending. Very well organised, interesting sessions – highly motivating and enjoyable. Great balance between learning and fun.’ Delegate 2016

Following our Annual Conference at the University of Sussex in July 2015 with 398 colleagues, our 2016 Conference at the University of Sheffield was even larger, attracting nearly 425 colleagues. It also featured the largest and most senior representation from the Home Office and featured powerful keynote

The 2016 Annual Conference The 2016 Annual Conference was less than a week after the EU Referendum result and was seen as a vital opportunity to reflect on its implications. The threeday conference provided a space for colleagues to comment on future policy and to consider what additional advice and support might be required for international students, many of whom, be they from the EU or elsewhere, were clearly worried about its implications.

Paul Blomfield MP

Lord Bilimoria spoke passionately about the need for the government to reconsider its student visa policies including, in particular, an expansion of post-study work opportunities. Paul Blomfield MP – a member of various Parliamentary Committees who have recommended excluding students from net migration targets – urged all, in the post-referendum environment, to work with their local communities to reassure all international students that each and every one remained valued and welcomed in the UK.


Annual Review 2015-16

5

speeches from UKCISA’s President, Lord Bilimoria and Sheffield MP Paul Blomfield.

I N

Immigration Compliance Network

Our three Members’ Forum events (in Edinburgh, Manchester and London) attracted 200 members enabling them to meet local colleagues and hear direct feedback from a panel of international students. A wide range of issues relating to all aspects of the international student experience were discussed and debated. We also supported over a dozen external conferences and events and provided the secretariat for other events arranged by the Association of International Student Advisers (AISA) and the Immigration Compliance Network (ICN). In total, therefore, nearly 2,000 people attended UKCISA and UKCISAsupported events.

Resources, projects and good practice Our online training toolkit ‘Understanding International’ was revised and updated in June 2015. The ‘International Student Calculator’ (www.studentcalculator.org/ international) was revised, updated and rebranded. We also gave additional support to the hugely successful ‘Prepare for Success’ website.

Developed by the University of Southampton, ‘Prepare for Success’ is an interactive learning tool for international students. The site launched in 2008 to help international students prepare for life in the UK. Visits are increasing substantially each year, with a total of 1.4 million students visiting the site to date. Students from more than 150 countries are accessing the site each month, with Philippines, China, USA, India and the UK in the top five. The site features interactive resources for students, including tests about language, study skills and managing assignment deadlines. UKCISA has invested in Prepare for Success further in 2016 to enable the team to make technical improvements to ensure more students can access and use the resource. www.prepareforsuccess.org.uk

One of our most significant new initiatives of the year, however, has been our new £40,000 Research and Pilot Projects scheme. This has enabled our members to explore relevant research or initiatives in their institutions which benefit the international student population as a whole. Nearly 60 applications were submitted, of which 17 were supported with grants of £5,000, £3,000, £2,000 or £1,000 and all were considered for the newly-established Paul Webley Award for Innovation in International Education.


6

Annual Review 2015-16

UKCISA Grants Programme and Paul Webley Award UKCISA is largely known for its advice on regulatory aspects – such as visas and fee status – but an essential part of our mission is to work with colleagues to enhance the UK welcome and the quality of the international student experience. In early 2015 we launched a new grants programme aimed at encouraging and enabling innovation in some aspect of international student services – either pilot projects in institutions or relevant research. The Paul Webley Award presented to Sheffield Halllam University by Lord Bilimoria

Each project (see www.ukcisa.org/grants-scheme2015-16) has now been completed and detailed reports will be available by October 2016 so that all colleagues can benefit from what has been learned and achieved. Once the Paul Webley Award for Innovation in International Education was established in March 2016, all projects were considered as contenders. Plymouth University’s extensive analysis of the needs and challenges of providing counselling services to international students was highly commended with the overall award presented to Sheffield Hallam University for their project on the sensitive, but essential, topic of sexual health awareness.

Communications

UKCISA website sessions Country

2015-16

2014-15

UK

1,240,294

1,113,917

United States

106,292

95,700

India

99,660

84,321

Malaysia

35,295

31,586

Pakistan

31,353

31,586

Nigeria

28,438

25,173

Canada

27,266

25,874

Hong Kong

25,998

20,169

Singapore

20,913

18,563

United Arab Emirates

18,553

14,196

We raised our profile in the UK and international media, regularly commenting on international student issues and generated good coverage on a number of topics from English language levels to credibility interviews. We produced and distributed a new Briefing for Students’ Unions, the first of a new series of Occasional Papers on wider policy issues and commissioned a major new good practice guide to Tier 4 Compliance. The number of unique visitors to our website continued to increase from 1,325,537 between April 2014 and March 2015 to 1,428,903 between April 2015 and March 2016. Those accessing the site were largely from the UK’s most important markets. The number of sessions also increased from 1,941,949 to 2,155,715. Since the launch of our responsive students’ site we’ve seen an increase in returning users so we anticipate the number of sessions to continue to rise. Launch of new students’ site Following research with international students we launched a new responsive students’ site in February 2016. It can be easily accessed from tablets and mobile phones which we know the majority of students are using. The site


Annual Review 2015-16

513

7

Total number of members

180

34

Further Education members

Other members (e.g. voluntary and corporate organisations)

288,623

Students’ Union members

Advice, support and information for students and members

potential views

6,054

is the number of times Understanding International courses have been accessed online in the past year

website users

88

Higher education members

Our year in numbers

Our tweets had

1,428,903

211

continues to be developed with regular blogs and content about the student experience as well as immigration and fees.

1,222

is the number of people trained at

Further developments to the institutions, students and members’ site, including content and functionality will now be led by our new Web and Communications Manager who started in January. national training

45

courses

175

166 Attendees at three members’ forums

People trained at bespoke in-house courses

Internationally, UKCISA presented at or supported the NAFSA: Association of International Educators conference in Boston, the British Council’s Going Global conference in London, the European Association for International Education (EAIE) conference in Glasgow and the ISANA: International Education Association conference in Australia.

3,752 2,928 calls to our students’ and general public line

calls to our members’ line

Membership 206

34

88 Students’ unions

183

31 March 2015

34 Other

50

31 March 2016

67

100

Higher education

150

Further education

200

180

211

250

0 (Additionally, UKCISA had 17 courtesy associates, nine subscribers and seven honorary life members.)

Membership continues to include every university in the UK, the majority of further education colleges which are active internationally and a wide range of advice centres, agencies and sector bodies. Under tighter Home Office rules, some publicly funded further education colleges have found it too difficult to recruit international students, and have withdrawn. Others, however, joined and following renewed efforts we recruited substantially more students’ unions. Our total number of institutional members has increased to well over 500 in addition to our special membership categories.


8

Annual Review 2015-16

Financial overview

Where our income came from in 2015-16 UKCISA’s total income in 2015-16 was £1,438,780, an increase of £60,005 (4.4%) on the previous year. As in previous years, UKCISA has maintained a good balance of its different income sources. The Grant-in-Aid from the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (£330,000) and the grant from the Scottish Government (£46,000) represented an increase of £20,000 and £6,000 respectively from the levels of the previous year. Taken together, they represent approximately 26% of UKCISA’s total income and make an important contribution to UKCISA’s financial stability. UKCISA’s own activities generate approximately 74% of its total income. Membership subscriptions were £648,024 in 2015-16, an increase of £31,703 (5.1%) on the previous year. Overall membership numbers were slightly up on the previous year, but this was accounted for by an increase in Students’ Union membership, the majority of which was in the category for which UKCISA makes no charge. For the first time in many years, the increase in fee levels was above inflation in order to take account of the significant increases in pension and National Insurance costs taking effect in 2016. In addition, an increase in international students at member institutions also contributed to the overall net increase in subscription income. Income from the training programme and annual conference was £392,880 in 2015-16, an increase of £11,916 (3.1%) on the previous year.

Membership subscriptions £648,024 45%

Training and conferences £392,880 27%

BIS Grant-in-aid £330,000 23%

Scottish Govt £46,000 3%

Other income £21,877 2%


Annual Review 2015-16

9

How we spent our money in 2015-16 UKCISA’s total expenditure in 2015-16 was £1,403,670, an increase of £109,835 (8.5%) on the previous year. As in previous years, staff costs represented the largest cost category – £855,990, or 61% of total costs. These represent the whole staff cost of all of UKCISA’s activities: advice, delivery of training, conference organisation, representation and internal organisation. Training and conference costs were £186,730 in 2015-16, but represent only the direct, non-staff costs of these activities. Establishment costs were £258,545 in 2015-16 and cover all the non-staff direct operational costs including: premises, IT infrastructure, travel and office equipment. UKCISA made an operating surplus of £35,111 in 2015-16, a decrease of £38,390 on the previous year. As in previous years, the operating surplus will be added to reserves to continue to provide a sound financial base for UKCISA’s future activities.

Staff £855,990 61%

Establishment £258,545 18%

Projects

Training & conferences

£65,221

£186,730 13%

5%

Legal professional & financial £37,184 3%


10

Annual Review 2015-16

Members and subscribers

Higher education ‘The annual conference is great as a general induction as I am new to the role.’ Conference delegate

Aberystwyth University Al-Maktoum College of Higher Education American Institute for Foreign Study (UK) Amity University [In] London Anglia Ruskin University Anglo-European College of Chiropractic Arcadia University, The College of Global Studies Arts University Bournemouth Aston University Bangor University Bath Spa University Birkbeck College (University of London) Birmingham City University Bishop Grosseteste University Boston University British Programmes Bournemouth University BPP University LTD British School of Osteopathy Brunel University Buckinghamshire New University Cambridge Theological Federation Canterbury Christ Church University Cardiff Metropolitan University Cardiff University City University Conservatoire for Dance and Drama Cornell/Brown/Penn UK Centre Courtauld Institute of Art Coventry University Coventry University College Cranfield University De Montfort University Edge Hill University Edge Hotel School Edinburgh International College Edinburgh Napier University EUSA Falmouth University FIE: Foundation for International Education Florida State University London Glasgow Caledonian University Glasgow School of Art Glyndwr University Wrexham Goldsmiths College (University of London) Grinnell College GSM London Guildhall School of Music and Drama Harlaxton College Harding University Harper Adams University Heriot-Watt University Heythrop College, University of London HIC

Hult International Business School Imperial College London Institute of Cancer Research Institute of Ismaili Studies International College Portsmouth International College Wales Swansea Ithaca College Keele University Kensington College of Business King’s College London (University of London) Kingston University Lancaster University Leeds Beckett University Leeds College of Art Leeds Trinity University Liverpool Hope University Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts Liverpool John Moores University Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine London Business School London Brunel International College London Metropolitan University London School of Business and Management London School of Commerce London School of Economics and Political Science London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine London South Bank University Loughborough University Manchester Metropolitan University Middlesex University Millennium City Academy Newbold College Newcastle University New College of the Humanities Newman University Northumbria University Norwich University of the Arts Nottingham Trent University NYU in London Oxford Brookes University Pepperdine University Plymouth University International College QA Higher Education Queen Margaret University Queen Mary, University of London Queen’s University Belfast Ravensbourne Regent’s University London Richmond - The American International University in London Roehampton University Rose Bruford College Royal Academy of Music Royal Agricultural University Royal Central School of Speech and Drama Royal College of Art Royal College of Music


Annual Review 2015-16

‘I found the whole day very useful. Challenging and informative.’ Training delegate

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Royal Holloway (University of London) Royal Northern College of Music Royal Veterinary College School of Advanced Study (University of London) School of Oriental and African Studies (University of London) Sheffield Hallam University Southampton Solent University Sparsholt College Hampshire St George’s, University of London St Mary’s University Staffordshire University Swansea University Syracuse University Teesside University The Aga Khan University International The Institute of Contemporary Music Performance The London Film School The Open University The Robert Gordon University The University of Birmingham The University of Law The University of Northampton The University of Sheffield International College The University of the Highlands & Islands Trinity Laban Tufts in London UCFB Ulster University University College London University College Plymouth St Mark & St John University for the Creative Arts University of Aberdeen University of Abertay, Dundee University of Bath University of Bedfordshire University of Bolton University of Bradford University of Brighton University of Bristol University of Buckingham University of California Education Abroad Programme University of Cambridge University of Central Lancashire University of Chester University of Chichester University of Cumbria University of Derby University of Dundee University of Durham University of East Anglia University of East London University of Edinburgh University of Essex University of Exeter University of Glasgow University of Gloucestershire University of Greenwich University of Hertfordshire University of Huddersfield University of Hull University of Kent University of Leeds University of Leicester University of Lincoln University of Liverpool University of Manchester University of Maryland University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill University of Nottingham University of Oxford University of Plymouth

11

University of Portsmouth University of Reading University of Salford University of Sheffield University of Southampton University of South Wales University of St Andrews University of Stirling University of Strathclyde University of Suffolk University of Sunderland University of Surrey University of Sussex University of the Arts London University of the West of England University of the West of Scotland University of Wales: Trinity Saint David University of Warwick University of West London University of Westminster University of Winchester University of Wolverhampton University of Worcester University of York West Dean College West London College Writtle College York St John University

Further education Abbey College Birmingham Abbey College Cambridge Abbey College Manchester Abingdon & Witney College Access to Music Activate Learning Albyn School Ashbourne College Ashton Sixth Form College Barnet and Southgate College Barnsley College Basingstoke College of Technology Bath Academy Bath College Bedford College Belfast Metropolitan College Bell Educational Services Bellerbys College Brighton Bellerbys College Cambridge Bellerbys College London Bellerbys College Oxford and Embassy CES Bexhill 6th Form College Blackburn College Blackpool and The Fylde College Boston College Bournemouth & Poole College Bracknell & Wokingham College Bradford College Bridgwater College Brockenhurst College Bromley College of Further and Higher Education Brooke House College Burton and South Derbyshire College Cambridge Centre for Sixth-form Studies Cambridge Regional College Cambridge Ruskin International College Cambridge Tutors College Cardiff and Vale College Carmarthenshire College Cayman Prep and High School


12

‘Clear explanations and examples for each of the different fee frameworks. I now feel more confident assessing more complicated cases.’ HE fees framework delegate

Annual Review 2015-16

Central Bedfordshire College Chelmsford College Chichester College City and Islington College City College Brighton and Hove City College Norwich City College Plymouth City of Bristol College City of Glasgow College City of Westminster College Colchester Institute Coleg Cambria College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London Cornwall College Croydon College DLD College London Doncaster College d’Overbroeck’s College Dudley College Dumfries and Galloway College Dundee & Angus College East Berkshire College Edinburgh College English National Ballet School Epping Forest College Exeter College Farnborough College of Technology FootballCV Academy Forth Valley College GIA (Gemological Institute of America) London Glasgow Kelvin College Gloucestershire College Gower College Swansea Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education Grwp Llandrillo Menai Grwp NPTC Group Guildford College Harrow College Hartlepool College of Further Education Hartlepool Sixth Form College Hartpury College Havering College of Further and Higher Education Henley College Hereford College of Arts Highbury College, Portsmouth Hilderstone College Hull College International School of Creative Arts INTO Manchester Itchen College John Leggott College Kaplan International College Bournemouth Kaplan International College London Kensington and Chelsea College King Edward VI College Kingston College Lancaster and Morecambe College Leeds City College Leeds College of Music Leeds English Language School Leicester College Lewisham Southwark College Lincoln College Loughborough College Lowestoft College Mid Kent College Milton Keynes College MPW London NESCOT New College Durham New College Lanarkshire New College Nottingham Newcastle College

Newcastle-Under-Lyme College Newham College of Further Education North East Scotland College Northampton College Northbrook College Sussex North Warwickshire & South Leicestershire College Oaklands College ONCAMPUS London Oxford Tutorial College Pembrokeshire College Peterborough Regional College Plymouth College of Art Queen Mary’s College Richard Huish College Richmond Adult Community College Rochester Independent College Sandwell College Schumacher College Shrewsbury Colleges Group Solihull College Somerset College of Arts & Technology South Cheshire College South Devon College South East Essex College South Gloucestershire and Stroud College South Lanarkshire College Southport College SRUC St Brendan’s Sixth Form College St Clare’s, Oxford St Edmund’s College St Helens College Stratford-Upon-Avon College of Further Education Suffolk New College Sunderland College Sussex Coast College Hastings Sussex Downs College Swindon College Telford College of Arts & Technology The College of Richard Collyer The Isle of Wight College The Liverpool School of English The Manchester College The Oldham College The Purcell School The Sheffield College Tower Hamlets College Tresham College of Further & Higher Education Truro College University College Birmingham Uxbridge College Varndean College Wakefield College Walsall College Warwickshire College West College Scotland West Kent and Ashford College West Herts College West Thames College Westminster Kingsway College Weymouth College Wiltshire College Wirral Metropolitan College Worcester Sixth Form College Worthing College Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth I College Yeovil College York College


Annual Review 2015-16

Students’ unions

‘The networking opportunities that UKCISA membership creates are invaluable.’ UKCISA member

AAberdeen University Students’ Association Aston Students’ Union Aylesbury College Students’ Union Bath Spa University Students’ Union Beds SU Birmingham City University Students’ Union BPP University Students’ Association Bradford College Students’ Union Cambridge University Students’ Union City University London Students’ Union Coventry University Students’ Union De Montfort University Students’ Union Limited Dundee University Students’ Association Edge Hill Students’ Union Edinburgh University Students’ Association Harper Adams University Students’ Union Hartpury Students’ Union Heriot Watt University Student Union Heythrop Students’ Union Hull University Union Imperial College Union Keele University Students’ Union King’s College London Students’ Union Lancaster University Students’ Union Leeds Beckett Students’ Union Leeds University Union Liverpool Hope Students’ Union Liverpool Students’ Union London School of Economics & Political Science Students’ Union Loughborough Students Union Luther King House Student Body Middlesex University Students’ Union Napier Students’ Association New College Durham Students’ Union Oxford Brookes Students’ Union Oxford University Student Union Queen Mary, University of London Students’ Union QE Students’ Union Reading University Students’ Union Royal Conservatoire of Scotland’s Students’ Union Royal Veterinary College Students’ Union School of Oriental and African Studies Students’ Union Sheffield Hallam University Union of Students Solent Students’ Union Staffordshire University Students’ Union Students’ Union at Bournemouth University Students’ Union Royal Holloway University of London Swansea University Students’ Union The Union, MMU UEA Students’ Union Union of Brunel Students University College London Union University of Aberystwyth Guild of Students University of Bath Students’ Union University of Birmingham Guild of Students University of Bradford Students’ Union University of Bristol Students’ Union University of Central Lancashire Students’ Union University of Derby Students’ Union University of Durham Students’ Union University of Essex Students’ Union University of Glasgow SRC University of Gloucestershire Students’ Union University of Kent Students’ Union University of Leicester Students’ Union University of Lincoln Students’ Union University of Newcastle Union Society University of Northampton Students’ Union University of Nottingham Students’ Union

13

University of Plymouth Students’ Union University of Portsmouth Students’ Union University of Sheffield Students’ Union University of Southampton Students’ Union University of Stirling Students’ Union University of Strathclyde Students’ Association University of Sunderland Students’ Union University of Sussex Students’ Union University of Teesside Students’ Union University of the Arts London Students’ Union University of Warwick Students’ Union University of West London Students’ Union University of Westminster Students’ Union University of Wolverhampton Students’ Union University of York Students’ Union UWE Students’ Union Walsall College Students’ Union Worcester Students’ Union York St John Students’ Union

Other organisations and individuals Anglo Educational Services Association of American Study Abroad Programmes (AASAP/UK) Association of Colleges Association of Commonwealth Universities British Accreditation Council for Independent Further & Higher Education British Council Cambridge Education Group - Head Office Carter Thomas Solicitors Chapter 1 DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) Endsleigh Insurance Services Ltd English UK Ltd ETS Global UK Eversheds LLP Goodenough College GuildHE Hansard Society Philip Henry Christine Humfrey IFSA-Butler Immigration Law Practitioners’ Assocation Institute for the International Education of Students Institute of Japanese Studies International Society Manchester International Students’ House National Union of Students Northern Consortium UK Office of Educational Affairs, the Royal Thai Embassy Penningtons Manches LLP Pestalozzi International Village Trust Scottish Social Services Council Timothy Seller Trinity College Dublin Study UK UNIAC United Arab Emirates Embassy Universities and Colleges Admissions Service Universities UK US-UK Fulbright Commission Zebra Housing Association


14

Annual Review 2015-16

Looking ahead Priorities and targets for 2016-17

1. Represent the interests of international students and those working with them through our membership of the Home Office’s Education Sector Forum and liaison with other government departments, on any proposed changes to policy as a result of the EU referendum, the Syria/refugee crisis and any other geo-political changes. 2. Monitor, influence and advise on any forthcoming changes to the rules for international students. In particular on progression to work in the UK following the Scottish Affairs Committee and Scottish Parliament reports on Post-Study Work and the January 2016 recommendations by the Migration Advisory Committee on changes to Tier 2. 3. Support a range of new public affairs initiatives to promote the interests of international students and recognition of their value to the UK in Parliament, with the British Council, with major research centres and other partner bodies. 4. Support and encourage good practice by offering, for a second year, a programme of UKCISA grants for research projects and institutional initiatives designed to focus on or improve key aspects of mobility or the international student experience. 5. Maintain our extensive national training programme of 45 courses throughout the year in Birmingham, Bristol, Edinburgh, Manchester and London attracting over 1,000 delegates. 6. Provide additional professional development opportunities through support to the University of Nottingham/UKCISA Postgraduate Certificate, UKCISA’s online ‘Understanding International’ self access programme and our Annual Conference at the University of Sheffield in the summer of

2016 with over 60 sessions (including keynote policy presentations) for more than 400 delegates. 7. Offer a dedicated daily advice line service for members and a second, free, advice line for students and members of the public, typically responding to some 7,000 calls during the year. 8. Increase by at least 10% the number of visits to our new and expanded website for students, introduce new features or initiatives for students’ unions, and review and develop all print and digital communications to ensure members receive up to date, accurate and relevant advice, guidance and information in the most appropriate format. 9. Provide administrative and professional support to related networks for staff including the Association of International Student Advisers (AISA) and the Immigration Compliance Network (ICN). Continue to support improvements to two UKCISAfunded external websites for students – ‘Prepare for Success’ and the ‘International Student Calculator’. 10. Expand our publications with a new good practice guide to ‘Immigration Compliance’ and manage a major project to replace the current 800-page printed UKCISA Manual with a fully searchable online resource which can updated throughout the year. (As agreed by the Trustees in February 2016)


Annual Review 2015-16

15

UKCISA staff

Dominic Scott OBE

Chief Executive

Duncan Lane Christopher Benjamin Deepa Chadha Victoria Everett Kate Handforth Laurence Keir-Thomas Sarah Rimmington

Director of Advice and Training

Photograph: Elaine Perks

Julie Allen So-Ha Au Will Burton Arne Sjรถgren Jennie Twydell Jane Woodley John Tuck FCA Florence Lubega Ben Miller Williams Judy Theophanous

Advice and Training Officer Advice and Training Officer Advice and Training Officer Advice and Training Officer Advice and Training Officer Advice and Training Officer Director of Policy and Services Membership and Web Assistant Training Administrator Web and Publications Officer Membership Officer Web and Communications Manager Director of Finance and Resources Receptionist and Publications Assistant Finance and Resources Officer Finance Administrator


16

Annual Review 2015-16

UKCISA training Find out what training courses are most appropriate for you, cost and booking details at www.ukcisa.org.uk/training.

Training

Date

Location

Tier 4 basics

Thursday 20 October 2016

London

HE fees

Tuesday 25 October 2016

London

Residence requirements

Tuesday 15 November 2016

London

Credibility refusals

Friday 25 November 2016

London

Assigning CAS: all you need to know

Tuesday 29 November 2016

London

Tier 4 applications

Tuesday 6 December 2016

London

HE fees

Tuesday 13 December

Manchester

Tier 4 compliance

Wednesday 18 January 2017

London

Basic advisory skills

Thursday 19 January 2017

London

HE fees

Thursday 26 January 2017

London

Tier 4 basics

Tuesday 7 February 2017

London

Preparing for enrolment

Wednesday 8 February 2017

London

Fees Scotland

Thursday 9 February 2017

Edinburgh

Tier 4 applications

Tuesday 14 February 2017

London

HE fees

Thursday 16 February 2017

Birmingham

Tier 4 compliance

Friday 17 February 2017

Manchester

Residence requirements

Wednesday 22 February 2017

London

HE fees

Friday 3 March 2017

London

Training for trainers (two-day course)

Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 March 2017

London

Tier 4 refusals

Tuesday 14 March 2017

London

Credibility refusals

Thursday 16 March 2017

Edinburgh

Orientation

Wednesday 22 March 2017

London

Tier 4 applications

Friday 24 March 2017

London

Tier 4 basics

Friday 31 March 2017

London

Assigning CAS: all you need to know

Wednesday 5 April 2017

Birmingham

Enhanced skills

Wednesday 5 April 2017

London

Mental health

Thursday 6 April 2017

London

Residence requirements

Wednesday 12 April 2017

Birmingham

Compliance: common problems

Thursday 20 April 2017

London

Recruitment and marketing

Wednesday 26 April 2017

London

Stop Press: recent changes and issues

Friday 5 May 2017

Manchester

Stop Press: recent changes and issues

Thursday 11 May 2017

Edinburgh

Stop Press: recent changes and issues

Thursday 18 May 2017

Birmingham

Stop Press: recent changes and issues

Wednesday 24 May 2017

London

More training is available throughout the year, including our Annual Conference from 28-30 June 2017.


The UK Council for International Student Affairs is the UK’s

national advisory body serving the interests of international students and those who work with them.

It does so through research, print and web-based publications, a national training programme, dedicated advice lines

for students and advisers, and liaison and advocacy with institutions, agencies and government. Its aims are to:

§§ increase support for international education and raise awareness of its values and benefits

§§ promote opportunities for, and identify and work to reduce obstacles and barriers to, greater student mobility

§§ encourage best practice, professional development and

the highest quality of institutional support for international students throughout the education sector

UKCISA’s membership includes: §§ every university in the UK

§§ the majority of publicly funded higher and further education colleges which are active internationally

§§ a number of independent schools and private colleges and

§§ a range of specialist and representative bodies


The UK Council for International Student Affairs is the UK’s national advisory body serving the interests of international students and those who work with them.

UKCISA 9–17 St Albans Place London N1 0NX T +44 (0)20 7288 4330 F +44 (0)20 7288 4360 www.ukcisa.org.uk @ukcisa UKCISA is a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales (Company Number: 4507287) and a charity registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales (Charity Number: 1095294). Its registered office is at 9 –17 St Albans Place London N1 0NX.

UKCISA gratefully acknowledges the financial support it receives from the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, and from the Scottish Government.


UKCISA Annual Review 2015 16