Issuu on Google+

ANNUAL REVIEW 2011 – 2012

THE END OF AIDS?


TABLE OF CONTENTS Foreword and letter from our Director and Chair 1

Timeline 2011-12 2 Why join? 3 Our membership 3

BUILDING EVIDENCE FOR GOOD PRACTICE Our Stocktake Report 4 Investing in Communities to Achieve Results 4 David Cairns: a tribute 4 Value for money in the AIDS response 5 Highlights from the Working Groups 5 Care and Support Indicators 5

GUIDING POLICY Producing policy papers to understand and engage with the UK Government: Girls and Women: Mainstreaming HIV and AIDS into DFID’s strategic vision; Fighting TB/HIV co-infection: realising commitments through integrated programming; Past Due: Remuneration and social protection for caregivers in the context of HIV and AIDS 7

LOBBYING

CAMPAIGNING

Financial report and Word from our Treasurer 11

Holding the UK Government to account: our response to DFID’s Position Paper on HIV and AIDS 8

Supporting the International Response: The Global Fund in crisis 9

People 11

Engaging with global leaders: the High Level Meeting on AIDS (HLM) 8

The All Party Parliamentary Group on HIV and AIDS (APPG) 8 Annie Lennox meets Andrew Mitchell on World AIDS Day 8

World AIDS Day 1.12.2011 9 Highlighting an historic opportunity: The End of AIDS film 9 Fighting for Access to Medicines 10 Real story: Mohammed Barry 10

Keeping faith with HIV 5 Providing online resources: HIV Code of Good Practice and the AIDSPortal 6

PROMOTING AN EFFECTIVE GLOBAL RESPONSE TO HIV AND AIDS BEST PRACTICE

POLICY

LOBBYING

CAMPAIGNING


FOREWORD AND LETTER FROM OUR CHAIR AND DIRECTOR

Thank you for all you have done in 2011-12. We very much look forward to working with you in 2012-13. Mike Podmore, Chair Ben Simms, Director

ENGAGE WITH UK DONORS

LIVING PROOF

POLICY PAPERS

THE END OF AIDS

ONE VOICE

MONTHLY BULLETINS

REGULAR CONTACT WITH UK PARLIAMENT

CONSULTATIONS WITH DFID

ACTION

JOINT PROJECTS

People often express surprise when they learn that the staff team is just four people – and I hope you feel this as well. It is of course, a reflection of how much you and the wider membership contribute, a reminder of how much can be achieved when we dedicate ourselves to working together to maximise the benefit for people living with HIV in the developing world.

ACCESS TO MEDICINES

GALVANIZE SUPPORTERS THEMATIC MEETINGS

BEING HEARD AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL

APPG ON HIV AND AIDS

And yet, rather than galvanise us, there is a risk that the opposite will happen: that UK Government and UK civil society will react with complacency in the mistaken belief that the challenges of HIV and AIDS are behind us. At this very moment of opportunity, the global response to HIV and AIDS has become uniquely vulnerable, and so too has the Consortium. Our funding from DFID is coming to an end, and our members are finding it harder and harder to raise the funds to sustain their membership contributions.

Michael Sibidé Executive Director of UNAIDS, July 2012

CAMPAIGNS

STOPAIDS

Prime Minister David Cameron, March 2012

it is priceless.

WORKING GROUP MEETINGS

SHARING RESOURCES

see the beginning of the “ We end of the AIDS pandemic.

end of AIDS is not free. “ The Nor is it expensive,

INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCES

LEADING THE UK RESPONSE

In 2011, for the first time in history, we started using the phrase “the beginning of the end of AIDS” in our advocacy and campaign work. This phrase, 30 years in the making, is above all a reward for the activism and intelligence of people living with HIV and their allies. It renews our hope that the promises made in our name by our Government and by the organisations we work for, will be fulfilled.

Ironically, we have never been busier, or our Working Groups better attended. This Annual Review gives insight in to this, and you must be the judge of whether our work is still of value. For our part, we resolve to continue to work tirelessly, and we look to do this in partnership with you, drawing on the full force of our growing membership of 80 UKbased organisations.

The global response to HIV and AIDS is at a crossroads and as a result, the Consortium and its Stop AIDS Campaign has never been busier or more necessary.

1

WORLD BANK VALUE FOR MONEY QUARTERLY MEETINGS


WORKING TOGETHER AS A NETWORK

2

membership with the “ Our Consortium is helping us to raise the profile of Harm Reduction with the wider international HIV/AIDS sector. The Consortium always strives to ensure it is meeting the needs of its members by providing opportunities to meet with donors, building relationships with new partners and advocating for the concerns of the membership. We are looking forward to continuing our work together.

“

Maria Phelan, Harm Reduction International

Who is the Consortium? What does it do? The Consortium is a network of over 80 not-for-profit, faith-based and academic agencies. Based in the UK, with strong links to governments, international and multilateral agencies, the Consortium has been working at the heart of the response to HIV and AIDS since 1986.

Our vision is to promote an effective global response to HIV and AIDS. Our mission is to encourage, initiate and support collective action by UK civil society.

We work with urgency to maintain UK leadership in the response to HIV and AIDS. With 7 million people still living without access to treatment, and funding declining our message has never been more urgent or necessary.

The Consortium achieves its impact through its membership, which works directly with more than 130 million people worldwide, and by engaging decision-makers across the governmental, non-governmental and private sectors.


TIMELINE 2011-12

3 DECEMBER

Evidence

JUNE

Policy

Launch of Consortium Stocktake Report

Lobbying Campaigning

APRIL

APR

AUGUST

OCTOBER

Launch of TB/HIV Working Group

A United Voice paper completed

Stop AIDS Campaign hits World of Music Arts and Dance (WOMAD)

Student Stop AIDS Speakers’ Tour

International Conference on AIDS and STIs in Africa takes place in Ethiopia/Addis Ababa

UNGASS High Level Meeting on AIDS in New York

MAY Death of David Cairns MP Chair of the APPG on HIV and AIDS

JUL

AUG

JULY Value for money meeting with DFID and the World Bank at Birkbeck College

SEPT

OCT

SEPTEMBER Gareth Thomas MP speaks at our AGM

NOV

The World Bank

EU-India Free Trade Agreement protest

Stop AIDS Campaign website launched

Quarterly meeting focuses on Harm Reduction

JUN

MAY

FEBRUARY Investing in Communities to Achieve Results seminar with World Bank and DFID

Faith Working Group Lambeth Palace Conference and Keeping Faith publication

DFID publish Position Paper on HIV/AIDS

The Consortium leads UK civil society engagement at the United Nations General Assembly Twenty-sixth Special Session (UNGASS)

World AIDS Day focuses on the End of AIDS messaging

Johnson & Johnson targeted

Quarterly meeting on HIV and AIDS in prison.

Gender Working Group Advocacy paper

Novartis demonstration

DEC

JAN

FEB

JANUARY

David Cairns Foundation appeal for SMUG hits £10K

The UK Consortium becomes host of the HIV Code of Good Practice for NGOs responding to HIV and AIDS

Understanding Communities’ Contribution Paper release

Launch of the new Consortium website Comic Relief present to members as part of our Donor Dialogue series

APR

MARCH

NOVEMBER Faith Working Group focuses on faith healing

MAR

Stop AIDS Campaign day of action focuses on GlaxoSmithKline Launch of 3 Policy briefs Girls and Women: Mainstreaming HIV and AIDS into DFID’s strategic vision, Fighting TB/HIV Co-infection, and Past Due: Remuneration and social protection for caregivers in the context of HIV and AIDS Completion of phase 1 of the indicators project

Why join? Our members share a desire to increase knowledge and understanding of HIV and AIDS and to add their weight to the collective effort to bring about an end to the epidemic. By uniting with others, Consortium members are able to access decision-makers, Government and

multilateral agencies. They are also able to support a strong UK advocacy voice for Universal Access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support. The Consortium offers great scope for professional development.

Membership is open to all UK-based civil society organisations that are concerned about issues of HIV/AIDS and international development. If you wish to become a member, contact the Consortium Secretariat at angela@aidsconsortium.org.uk


BUILDING EVIDENCE FOR GOOD PRACTICE

In 2011-2012 the Consortium facilitated dozens of regular meetings with the Working Groups, became the host of the HIV Code of Good Practice, and maintained the AIDSPortal. We produced a Stocktake Report, partnered the World Bank on the community response to HIV, started an ambitious project to develop globally recognised care and support indicators and pur sued our work on value for money.

the UK Consortium undertook extremely useful. The section on resource flows in particular, was directly relevant to my work with the Inter Agency Task Team on Children Affected by AIDS that was looking at mechanisms for improving the flow of resources to community based organisations Stuart Kean, World Vision International

Investing in Communities to Achieve Results Our Stocktake Report At the beginning of the year the Consortium published A Stocktake Report to inform UK engagement at the UN High Level Meeting (HLM) on AIDS in June 2011. Featuring the work of many Consortium member agencies, the report is both a celebration of what has been achieved by our members, and a reminder of why it is so important that we maintain our focus and follow-through on the commitments we have made. Published to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the identification of the HIV virus and with the 25th anniversary of the Consortium, the publication articulates the strengths and comparative advantage of the UK civil society response to HIV since 2001 and provided a basis on which to organise our advocacy messages at the HLM.

More than 70 people gathered in London on February 15th/16th to study the findings of a ground-breaking evaluation into the impact communities have on the HIV and AIDS response. Spearheaded by the World Bank in partnership with DFID and the UK Consortium, the evaluation took place over three years and included 11 studies from eight countries. Its aim was to test the hypothesis that a strong community response contributes to a stronger national AIDS response and improved AIDS-related outcomes. The Consortium is now working with delegates to ensure the findings are utilised effectively by donors, multilateral agencies and civil society itself. We are especially keen to draw the links between the research and the UNAIDS Strategic Investment Framework. Investing in communities videos: http://bit.ly/Un9npG

David Cairns: a tribute Early 2011 was a time of sadness at the Consortium. David Kato of Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG) was brutally murdered in March and in May David Cairns MP, chair of the APPG on HIV and AIDS, died of acute pancreatitis. David’s partner, Dermot Kehoe, worked tirelessly to establish the David Cairns Foundation and adopted SMUG as one of its first beneficiaries. More than 150 people attended the Foundation Thanksgiving dinner. The Speaker of the House, John Bercow, introduced our End of AIDS campaign video, talking movingly about the work of SMUG and David Cairns’ support for LGBT rights. £10,000 was passed by the Foundation to enable SMUG to establish the first-ever medical facility for the LBGT community in Kampala.

was an outstanding advocate “David for people living with HIV and someone we got to know well through his work as Chair of the APPG on HIV and AIDS. He inspired support from all corners of parliament. The AIDS community has lost one of its most talented parliamentary leaders exactly at a moment when such energy and leadership is needed most. We will miss him deeply. Ben Simms, Director, UK Consortium on AIDS and International Development

the Evaluation of the Commu“ Inityfound Response to HIV and AIDS that

Our membership benefits the lives of over 130 million people worldwide and is an outstanding source of expertise on health and international development. In partnership with members and external agencies, and through hosting online platforms that provide resources for best practice, the UK Consortium is at the forefront of developing evidence-based responses approached across its membership. In Focus

4


BUILDING EVIDENCE FOR GOOD PRACTICE

Andrew Mitchell UK Secretary of State for International Development

Value for Money (VfM) in the AIDS response The deepening global economic recession has made the need to reflect on the value for money of HIV/AIDS programming of UK NGOs an even greater imperative. The Consortium in partnership with the International HIV/AIDS Alliance initiated several meetings on VfM. In July 2011 a meeting focused on the structuring of VfM discussions around the UNAIDS Strategic Investment Framework, with the emphasis on community mobilisation as a critical enabler. Experts on VfM methodology, donors and programme managers debated and assessed costing and measurement challenges. The Consortium together with the UK Mission to the UN hosted a VfM side event meeting at the June 2011 High Level meeting in New York where the Consortium’s Director spoke alongside Minister Stephen O’Brien. In November, the “Making NGO development HIV/AIDS data more accessible” meeting aimed at encouraging NGOs to become more transparent and making their data available to both donors and beneficiaries.

PREVENTION WORKING GROUP

on getting value for money in aid.

Throughout the year, our Working Groups addressed core thematic areas

HIV PREVENTION IN PRISONS SPEAKERS FROM POSITIVELY UK, HARM REDUCTION INTERNATIONAL, THE NATIONAL AIDS TRUST, LASS AND LOCAL PRISONS

THE INFLUENCE OF FAITH HEALERS WORK WITH AHPN AND THE LONDON MAYOR’S OFFICE

FAITH WORKING GROUP

PUBLICATION OF KEEPING FAITH REPORT

STOP AIDS WORKING GROUP

PILOT INDICATORS PROJECT CARE AND SUPPORT FUNDED BY DFID WORKING GROUP

Coalition Government is taking a “ This tougher, more hard-headed approach

5

TB/HIV WORKING GROUP SAVE A MILLION LIVES EVENT

GENDER WORKING GROUP

LOBBYING THE UK GOVERNMENT TO INCLUDE HIV IN THEIR CURRENT FOCUS ON GIRLS AND WOMEN

GENDER WORKING GROUP PAPER FOR DFID

THE IMPACT OF THE GLOBAL FUND CRISIS ON WOMEN AND FAMILIES

CHILDREN AFFECTED BY AIDS WORKING GROUP ACTIVITIES ON PMTCT

Care and Support Indicators The Care and Support Indicators project is part of the long-standing involvement of the Care & Support Working Group (C&S WG) in the development of quality indicators on care and support. The project is funded by DFID and The Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund. The set of indicators will cover all components of comprehensive care and support, caregivers, OVC and palliative care, and be used at national, regionally and global level. The project is in two phases – the first (completed in March 2012) uses a blanket approach to assess current indicators – the second will seek to pilot test a set of indicators.

Keeping faith with HIV The report – Keeping Faith with HIV was launched at a conference at Lambeth palace on October the 10th attended by HIV experts from both faith-based and secular organisations, including: Progressio, CAFOD, Christian Aid, INERELA+, International HIV Fund, Islamic Relief, Tearfund, DFID and the World Bank. Keeping Faith is a confident assertion of the contribution made by faithbased organisations (FBOs) to the challenges of combating stigma and increasing access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support. http://bit.ly/RQQNX8


BUILDING EVIDENCE FOR GOOD PRACTICE In July we were proud to become the host of the HIV Code of Good Practice for NGOs responding to HIV/AIDS. Developed by NGOs for NGOs and with 478 signatories, the Code helps guide NGO work by providing a framework to which they can commit and be held accountable. Drawing on 20 years of knowledge and experience, the Code sets out key principles, practice and evidence base required for successful responses to HIV. This Code can be used to inspire organisat ional change, provide a framework for collaborative partnerships, inform the development, implementation and evaluation of evidence-informed programmes and advocacy. http://www.hivcode.org/

Providing online resources

The AIDSPortal The AIDS Portal is a global initiative that aims to facilitate greater knowledge sharing and networking among organisations involved in the response to HIV and AIDS. The portal strives to promote a more efficient and effective global response to HIV and AIDS. With content available in more than 50 languages, averaging 20,000 unique visits each month, the AIDSPortal website is flourishing under the moderation of Richard Walker and with technical support from Kwantu. http://www.aidsportal.org/

greatly values the contribution “DFID the UK Consortium has made in leading strategic civil society engagement to advance important issues including strengthening the evidence base on the community response, sharpening the focus on value for money, and integrating HIV and SRH. The ability of the Consortium to harness the expertise, energy and voices of a range of partners greatly enriches the global response to HIV.

“

The HIV Code of Good Practice

6

Anna Seymour, DFID


GUIDING INTERNATIONAL POLICY

In Focus In the past year, we broke new ground in developing collective decisions to use policy to understand and engage with the UK Government’s strategic vision and current priorities. We produced three policy papers focusing on integrating HIV within broader health and human rights responses. We have since been working with DFID’s staff to look at how these papers inform the delivery and monitoring of their commitments.

Producing policy papers to understand and engage with the UK Government Girls and Women: Mainstreaming HIV and AIDS into DFID’s strategic vision This paper demonstrates programmatic approaches which DFID’s gender team could include in the implementation of their Strategic Vision programme of work to ensure an effective HIV and AIDS response is mainstreamed into their objectives. These priority areas are: delay the first pregnancy and support safe childbirth; get economic assets direct to girls and women; get girls through secondary school and prevent violence against women and girls.

Fighting TB/HIV Co-infection: realising commitments through integrated programming

POLICY BRIEFING

March 2012

FIGHTING TB/HIV CO-INFECTION: REALISING COMMITMENTS THROUGH INTEGRATED PROGRAMMING

© RESULTS UK

CONTENTS Executive summary 2 Introduction 2 Rationale for TB/HIV 3 integration 3 Challenges to TB/HIV integration Opportunities for greater integration

4

International commitment 6 towards integration DFID commitment towards 7 TB/HIV integration DFID progress 10 measurements Summary and 11 recommendations to DFID

This policy paper is directly targeted at the UK Department for International Development (DFID) country programme managers and policy officials. In recent years, DFID has made great steps towards the goal of universal access and has played a pivotal role in driving forward the response to HIV, including TB/HIV integration. The aim of this document is to highlight the rationale for TB/HIV integration, illustrate how DFID is supporting such integration at policy and country programming level and to make recommendations for how DFID could further enhance this role – illustrating how this will ultimately deliver results across DFID’s strategic priorities by: • Strengthening health systems • Reaching the poorest and most vulnerable • Delivering value for money • Saving the lives of women and girls • Reinforcing DFID as a leader in international development and research agendas

SUPPORTED BY UKaid FROM THE DEPARTMENT FOR INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

In 2010 TB caused an estimated 350,000 deaths among people living with HIV, yet funding commitments for TB and HIV are not being met. Published to coincide with World TB Day, the policy paper highlights the rationale for TB/HIV integration and illustrates how DFID is supporting such integration at policy and country programming level. It also makes recommendations on how DFID could further enhance its role and thus deliver results across DFID’s strategic priorities.

Past Due: Remuneration and social protection for caregivers in the context of HIV and AIDS

POLICY BRIEFING

March 2012

PAST DUE: REMUNERATION AND SOCIAL PROTECTION FOR CAREGIVERS IN THE CONTEXT OF HIV AND AIDS

© Target TB

CONTENTS Executive summary 1 Who are the caregivers? 2 What do caregivers do? 4 The impact of the work 5 of caregivers 6 The economic and social costs of unpaid caregiving The personal, social 6 and political value of performing a caring role 7 The changing profile of community caregivers in the HIV response Models of compensation 7 for caregivers Value for money 12

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY In sub-Saharan Africa, an estimated 90% of care for people living with HIV and AIDS is done in the home by family or community-based caregivers.1 2011 brought groundbreaking advances in HIV prevention and treatment,2 which, if fully implemented, hold the hope that we can reach the goal of an AIDS-free generation. Community mobilisation and service delivery have been identified by the UNAIDS Investment Framework and its Treatment 2.0 agenda as central strategies in realising this goal. Family and community caregivers have been at the heart of the community response to HIV since the beginning of the epidemic. Evidence has shown that the services they provide have played a significant role in helping to scale up antiretroviral (ARV) treatment and tuberculosis (TB) therapy, as well as linking patients to care and testing.3

Recommendations 14

SUPPORTED BY UKaid FROM THE DEPARTMENT FOR INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

In sub-Saharan Africa, an estimated 90% of care for people living with HIV and AIDS is done in the home by family or communitybased caregivers. The policy paper considers who caregivers are and the impact that their work has at a personal, community and global level. The briefing suggests models of remuneration that donors, national governments and NGOs can use to compensate caregivers.

The policy paper developed by the Care and Support Working Group this year consolidated our position on the issue of remuneration, enabling us to engage policy and decision-makers on a global stage with our message that care workers should not be exploited for the vital work that they do. It is a fabulous example of how members can use the Consortium to increase their impact.

Consortium members play a leading role in formulating policy. Our publications reflect positions developed through our network of Working Groups and serve as a springboard for engaging decision- makers in the UK and globally. We are a partner to members and other agencies in the dissemination of policy findings and evidencebased research.

7

Claire Morris, Help the Hospices, Co-chair of the Care and Support Working Group

Michael Gwamba

Bringing TB/HIV Policy papers to life: Michael Gwaba Michael Gwaba from Zambia is 43 years old and lost both his fiancée and son to AIDS-related illnesses within 6 months of each other, one of which was due to TB in 1999. In 2000 he tested HIV+ and was put on antiretroviral treatment but relied on family funding until he found free treatment from a government hospital in 2005. Now in good health, Michael is a member of the communities delegation of the Global Fund board and ambassador of their Here I am Campaign, and travels around the world advocating governments to replenish the fund. Michael accompanied members of the TB-HIV Working Group to a meeting with DFID where he used his own experience to highlight the findings of the TB/HIV Co-infection policy paper.


LOBBYING TO KEEP AIDS ON THE POLITICAL AGENDA

In Focus The Consortium works tirelessly to engage decisionmakers and secure sustained UK leadership in the response to HIV and AIDS globally looking in particular at human rights and gender, HIV and broader health, the role of communities and access to medicines.

Engaging with global leaders: the 2011 High Level Meeting on AIDS (HLM) The Consortium and its members played a prominent role at the HLM, which brought together 3,000 delegates including 30 Heads of State, Government and Vice Presidents at the UN. The Consortium formulated member-wide messages; took a seat as part of the official UK delegation; cohosteda side-event with Minister Stephen O’Brien on Value for Money; and completed the Stocktake Report examining the contribution of UK civil society over the past ten years. Consortium members had much to celebrate when world leaders, including the UK Government, recommitted to getting 15 million people on treatment by 2015.

Holding the UK Government to account: our response to DFID’s Position Paper on HIV and AIDS In May, the Consortium engaged DFID on the drafting of Towards zero infections: The UK’s position paper on HIV in the developing world, surveying members to establish clear messages and providing a platform for discussions with the DFID AIDS & Reproductive Health Team. The paper, which outlines the impact DFID aims to achieve through its bi-lateral and multi-lateral funding, is the main tool for the Consortium in monitoring DFID’s role as the world’s second largest donor on HIV and AIDS. Paper available at: http://bit.ly/Nfgpvi

Holding the UK Government accountable

Membership contributions are used to partfund the APPG on HIV and AIDS, a backbench cross-party group of MPs and Peers in the UK Parliament at Westminster. We have held 9 public meetings with the APPG on topics including the Global Fund, HIV/TB coinfection, PMTCT and the challenges of building a new nation in South Sudan. APPG members have been highly active in defending the rights of key populations, in particular speaking out against the abuses of sexual minorities in Uganda.

© Lindsay Mgbhor, DFID

Annie Lennox meets Andrew Mitchell on World AIDS Day Memory Sachikonye (i-Base), Chris Bain (CAFOD) and Annie Lennox met with Andrew Mitchell on behalf of the Stop AIDS Campaign and Act V, calling on the UK to lead the effort to bring an end to AIDS. They presented a letter endorsed by over 30 organisations, as well as individuals such as Desmond Tutu and Elton John.

UK Consortium on AIDS and “ The International Development plays a unique and critical role in bringing together a diverse range of organisations to ensure that HIV does not become yesterday’s story and remains on the agenda of policy makers. As Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group on HIV and AIDS, I have greatly appreciated the expertise of the Consortium and its working groups in highlighting the key issues affecting people living with HIV across the world.

We recognise that we are entering a crucial stage in the AIDS response. Innovations in science, evidence-based programming and financial investment have all reaped benefits. More than 8 million people are now receiving treatment yet some nine million people still don’t have access to it. With international attention shifting away from HIV and funding decreasing, the role of the Consortium in keeping HIV on the political agenda has never been more important.

8

Pamela Nash MP, Chair of the APPG on HIV and AIDS


CAMPAIGNING Through our Stop AIDS Campaign, the Consortium harnesses the leadership of people living with HIV, our members, trade unions and students across the UK, to raise awareness about the global epidemic and campaign for urgently scaled-up international action.

In focus This year we have consistently battled to keep HIV at the heart of the UK’s international development agenda. We commiss- ioned the End of AIDS video, part icipated at key international events and championed the role of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria.

www.stopaidscampaign.org

9 World AIDS Day 1.12.2011

Supporting the international response: The Global Fund in crisis The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria fell into crisis, when a lack of donors’ cash forced it, for the first time in its ten year history, to cancel a new round of funding (Round 11). Unable to scale up AIDS, TB or malaria services until 2014 and currently undergoing major reforms, the impact of the crisis on lives could potentially be counted in the millions. The UK government is one of the few donors to have paid up what they committed to deliver. However, despite the ‘very good value for money’ rating the institution received in the Multilateral Aid Review (MAR), a decision on a significant increase in the UK contribution is yet to be announced. We maintained regular meetings with Simon Bland, the Chair of the Fund, organised a mass lobby of parliamentarians via the Student Stop AIDS Campaign and submitted written evidence to the Inter national Development Select Committee. Through campaigning, links with parliamentarians, and by working closely with other groups including ONE and Malaria No More, the Consortium is putting pressure on the UK government to increase its contribution to the fund with urgency.

Coordinating with colleagues from the USA we pushed to replicate the Obama administration’s commitment to the new approach with the UK government. A positive meeting with DFID Secretary of State, Andrew Mitchell, resulted in a strong World AIDS Day message from Deputy PM Nick Clegg. When Prime Minister David Cameron travelled to the USA to meet with President Obama in March 2012 they noted that with “a renewed commitment to the lifesaving work of the Global Fund for AIDS, TB and Malaria, we see the beginning of the end of the AIDS pandemic.”

Highlighting an historic opportunity: The End of AIDS film Our Stop AIDS Campaign Coordinator travelled with Trunk Films to South Africa, thanks to the support of the Open Society Foundation, to make a campaign film highlighting the historic opportunity to end AIDS within a generation. The powerful film gives voice to people involved in a trial which builds on the new evidence of treatment as prevention. Those set to directly benefit from the results tell the story. http://stopaidscampaign.org/campaign/end -to-aids/

World AIDS Day 2011


CAMPAIGNING

10

a member I have greatly “ Asappreciated the leadership that the Consortium has brought particularly on the issue of access to medicines. This has embraced discussing policy issues (e.g. with DFID) and implementing some very innovative campaigns directed at pharmaceutical companies to encourage them to enter into negotiations with the Medicines Patent Pool. In direct follow-up discussions that I have had personally with representatives from pharmaceutical companies they have expressed how impactful these campaigns have been – more so than from any other country.

David Deakin, Tearfund

Die in at Novartis

Real Story: Mohammed Barry, 20, Gambia

Patent pool Day of action March 2011

Protest against EU-India Free Trade Agreement

Fighting for Access to Medicines Our campaigning efforts to deliver equitable access to affordable medicines continued to be fought on many fronts. With coordinated efforts from international allies, MSF and Sir Elton John, our network of student activists supplemented incredible efforts. Work on the Medicines Patent Pool continued with the progress made when Gilead signed the first licensing change, balanced by Johnson & Johnson’s refusal to join negotiations. The EU-India Free Trade Agree ment (FTA) continues to loom on the horizon, with European Commission negotiators continuing to press for terms which would unde- rmine India’s ability to produce generic versions of life-saving HIV drugs. These battles and others continue and the campaign looks ahead into 2012 with a determination to ensure that the UK and the world do not allow the chance to begin the end of the epidemic to slip away.

EU India Free Trade Agreement (press coverage)

Protest outside Johnson & Johnson

After a playground injury at the age of 7, Mohammed was infected with HIV through a blood transfusion. Today, he portrays the young face of the AIDS epidemic in Africa, advocating openly for both access to treatment and the protection and promotion of the rights and welfare of People Living with HIV in Africa. He is a Co-founder of the Gambian Treatment Action Group and serves on other international treatment boards. During the annual Stop AIDS Campaign Speaker tour, Mohammed explained how his experiences have empowered him to lobby and advocate for social justice. He also spoke about the inequalities in treatment access and urged pharmaceutical companies to join the Medicines Patent Pool.


FINANCIAL REPORT AND WORD FROM OUR TREASURER

The Department for International Development (DFID), The Monument Trust, The Open Society Institute, The Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund, the European Commission and GNP+.

This summarised statement of income and expenditure for April 2011 – March 2012 is extracted from the full annual accounts for this period and does not contain sufficient information for a full understanding of the financial affairs of the Consortium. The full version, and an Independent Examination report can be obtained from the Consortium.

Trustees are pleased with the financial “ The performance of the Consortium this year. GRANTS AND CONTRACTS 75%

S 3% TION DONA

INCOME

CONTRIBUTIONS FROM MEMBERS AND OBSERVERS 22%

Turnover for this period was £467,757.

EXPENDITURE ACTIVITY

TOTAL SPEND (£)

APPGA

32,665

CARE & SUPPORT

80,812

UNHLM

16,675

STOP AIDS CAMPAIGN

112,215

AIDS PORTAL

82,715

USING THE LESSONS FROM HIV RESPONSE

51,880

EVALUATION OF THE COMMUNITY RESPONSE

21,578

GOVERNANCE

1,800,

This includes funds from grant making trusts and national government. Monies from Membership fees accounted for 22% of total income, showing a small increase from the previous year. Total expenditure for this period was £472,147.

The ability of Consortium staff to fully spend the restricted grants that have been received meant that reliance on unrestricted sources of income to fund activities has been reduced and enabled general reserves to be increased this year. Indeed, the deficit of £4k reflects the fact that restricted income received in previous years was fully expended this year. The significant fall in both income and expenditure this year is due to the end of the successful AIDSPortal project in the early part of the year. The Trustees are pleased that the continued hard work of all of the staff was successful in building new and diversified forms of funding from a variety of sources. Income from memberships was in line with budget, significant funds were brought in from consultancy and new grant relationships continued to be devel oped. With the ending of the DFID core funding during the year, it is important that these sources of income are maintained and strengthened. The Trustees are also pleased that expenditure on staff and office costs was in line with the budget. Looking ahead, whilst the positive financial performance in 2011-12 has allowed investment to be made in the new financial year, we are still operating in a very chall enging environment and as such it is crucial that fundraising efforts continue to be a priority for all at the Consortium.

We would like to express our thanks to the following for the confidence they showed in supporting our work in 2011-12:

11

400, 340 MEMBERSHIP SUPPORT & ADVOCACY

71,807

TOTAL SPEND

472,147

Phil Robinson, Treasurer


PEOPLE

12 TRUSTEES

Follow us on Twitter: @UKConsortium

Rhon Reynolds IAVI Resigned February 2012

TRUSTEES

Dieneke ter Huurne (Chair) IPPF Until September 2011

Mike Podmore (Chair) HIV/AIDS Alliance Elected 2010

Dermott McDonald (Treasurer) Mildmay International Until September 2011

Nikki Jeffrey (Vice-Chair) Target TB Elected 2010

Catherine Muge UNICEF Until September 2011

Nina O’Farrell Christian Aid Elected 2010

EXTERNAL STAFF

INTERNS

Heather Alcock, Policy Adviser All Party Parliamentary Group on HIV and AIDS

Rebecca McDowall

Please note that the Consortium hosts the APPG on HIV and AIDS legally and is pleased to support part of its operating costs.

Join us on Facebook: /aidsconsortium

Eleanor Jeffreys Jessica Hopf Jessica Drury Philippa West Marie-Ophélie Sarrade

Eunice Sinemeyu AHPN Resigned December 2011 Design: Jessica Drury

STAFF TRUSTEES

Ben Simms, Director

Ian Govindir AIDS Orphan Elected September 2011

Diarmaid McDonald Stop AIDS Campaign Coordinator

Jessie Waldman Restless Development Elected September 2011 Robin Gorna mothers2mothers Elected September 2011 Silvia Petretti Positively UK Co-opted September 2011 Phil Robinson (Treasurer) Co-opted September 2011

Samantha Wilkinson Office Manager (until Novermber 2011) Sophia Sahli Office Manager (from Novermber 2011) Richard Walker Communications Manager (until August 2011)

We would like to thank Marie-Ophélie Sarrade for her outstanding in project managing the production and writing of this Annual Review. We would also like to express our thanks to Nick Keeble, who undertook a six months consultancy with the Consortium during this year.

Joanna Allan Working Group Coordinator (September – December 2011) Deborah Laycock Working Group Coordinator (from January 2012)

UK Consortium on AIDS and International Development The Grayston Centre, 28 Charles Square, London N1 6HT Tel: 020 7324 4780 www.aidsconsortium.org.uk www.stopaidscampaign.org.uk Registered Charity No: 11113204


UK AIDS Consortium Annual Review 2011-2012