Page 1

T h e U n i v e r s i t y o f D e l a w a re ’s i n d e p e n d e n t s t u d e n t n e w s p a p e r s i n c e 1 8 8 2 @udreview

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

VOLUME 145, ISSUE 3

udreview.com

MESSING UP MAIN

AND THE WINNER IS...

As this week’s essay contest winner argues, the are indeed Juuls in hell.

Chicken wasn’t the only thing on the menu in last week’s win 27-10 victory against Cornell.

NEWS Page 3

NEWS Page 5

SPORTS Page 14

An extensive contruction project will be hitting Main St. this spring

BIG RED GETS FED

Commencement at Delaware Stadium: the most exclusive party of the year VICTORIA ANASTASI Senior Reporter Vice President and secretary at the university Jeffrey Garland said he felt a sense of pride when he witnessed a basketball player meeting up with his grandmother at a commencement a few years ago. These are the moments that make graduation a day to never forget. Well, Grandma might not be able to come to the commencement this year. If she does, she may wind up watching from a projector. Due to renovations on Delaware Stadium and the soonto-be-constructed Whitney Athletic Center on South Campus, each member of the graduating class of 2019 was given a limit of three tickets for the university commencement. Typically, there is no limit on how many people can attend. The university used simple math to decide on the amount of tickets each student would be

given — the potential number of spectators divided by the seats that will be available at the stadium in May. “No matter when the construction began, it was going to have to affect at least one graduation,” Garland said. The construction will take a total of roughly two years. The particular stands that that will affect the commencement are planned to be finished before the 2019 football season. The Whitney Athletic Center is part of the Delaware First Campaign, the largest fundraiser in the university’s history. According to the Delaware First website, “This project will truly define what it means to be a Blue Hen.” All hope is not lost for those whose family members have already booked flights or could not stand to miss the milestone. There will be “alternative viewing areas” in places around the campus where the commencement will

KIRK SMITH/THE REVIEW

University approved internships-turned-scams leave students stranded

JENNIFER WEST Senior Reporter I didn’t think anything of it when the interviewer for my journalism internship with iConceptMedia said he couldn’t get his Skype camera to work. I’d done my research and checked Glassdoor for company reviews (there were none). No research could’ve prepared me for what would result in me threatening legal action, and the

legitimate: I sent in writing samples, answered questions, completed a Skype interview and was offered a contract. But once I’d signed on, the tone shifted and I was put into contact with “Bruce.” Bruce sent me new requirements, asking for at least four articles of 600 words per day rather than the original requirements of two articles of varying length, expected only on

CONTINUED ON PAGE 4

University falls in

national rankings, again

law prohibits companies from requiring personal social media usage). KATHERINE NAILS Managing News Editor Bruce’s shared document, littered After being rated the nation’s with typos, revealed the nature number one party school by the of the company. The document Princeton Review, the university’s listed 12 websites of varying national standing was at the topics and plans to create more. forefront of school discussion The websites were clickbait, with earlier this month. As the end URLs only one letter off from of September looms, Delaware’s trusted sites. Almost all the national ranking again returns to articles on each site had the public attention, but this time for byline revoked. its academics. That night, I sent Bruce an U.S. News and World Report email citing Delaware law, warned him against the publication of my articles and left the company. iConcept Media has since been flagged and removed from Handshake. When I shared this story, I learned of others who’d been offered illegitimate, seemingly universityapproved internships. Two years ago, senior Jedediah Hackett bought a plane ticket to New Zealand, ready to start an internship offered to him through the Department Morgan Brownell/THE REVIEW of Political Science and International Relations recently released its 2019 college canvassing for the Labour rankings, and the university Party. came in 89th — a drop from Courtesy of Jedidah Hackett Upon his arrival, he last year’s ranking, which put Hackett lived in a handmade cubicle with flimsy walls and no roof in a community building was shown his housing Delaware at 81st. (pictured here). accomodations: a This result follows a recent community building filled trend for the university. In 2015, thought that he was purposefully weekdays. If I didn’t meet the with rows of handmade cubicles UD ranked 75th, falling to 79th in hiding his face. requirements, I was terminated; assembled by other interns with 2016 and again to 81st in 2017. I’d applied to the unpaid upon termination, Bruce would flimsy walls and no roofs. Each “While we are pleased to internship through Handshake, remove the credit line from my barely had space for a twin bed. see our university once again a website recommended by the writing. Those who weren’t in the recognized among the top 100 by university where opportunities are The standards to avoid community building doubled up U.S. News and World Report, our posted specifically for university termination were nearly in temporary housing with rooms primary focus at the University students and alumni. Handshake impossible — writing more than built for one. Although it was of Delaware is to build lasting employers are approved by the 2400 words per day, pitching winter, the cabins didn’t have academic excellence and impact on our society,” university institution they’re recruiting and writing seven days per week power during the day. from. and posting a minimum of five No building on the site had wifi president Dennis Assanis in Everything about the articles daily on personal social access, so interns dug trenches an email statement said. “We want our students to have an application process appeared media (illegal, as Delaware to connect cable. CONTINUED ON PAGE 5 excellent experience while here

on campus, and also to prepare them for robust and productive careers beyond graduation. Several initiatives are currently underway at UD to enhance accessibility, affordability and diversity for all of our students.” Over the past decade, the university has remained relatively stagnant in the highly anticipated list of the nation’s top colleges. According to Public University Honors, a website that

tracks the rankings, Delaware’s average spot from 2008 through 2015 was 73rd, with its peak occurring in 2010 when it ranked 68th. The university also dropped from 33rd to 38th in “Top Public Schools” category. Its highest placement was its undergraduate chemical engineering program, which ranked 9th. According to its website, U.S. News and World report “[evaluates] colleges and universities on 16 measures of academic quality.” These include faculty resources, peer assessments, financial resources, student excellence and alumni giving.


2

SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

udreview.com

PENCIL IT IN

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 18

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 19

THURSDAY, FRIDAY, SATURDAY, SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 20 SEPTEMBER 21 SEPTEMBER 22 SEPTEMBER 23

Wellbeing on the Green, 10 a.m., South Green

ECE Fall Seminar Series: Yier Jin, University of Florida, 9 a.m., Evans Hall 204

Charlie Riordan: What is a Research University in the 21st Century? 10 a.m., Trabant MPR

History Workshop: Zara Anishanslin, 12:30 p.m., Munroe Hall 203 Roller Skate Disco, 6 p.m., Perkins Rodney Room Quizzo, 7 p.m., Perkins West Lounge “Lettice and Lovage,” 7:30 p.m., Center for the Arts, Studio Theatre

Tech Innovation Showcase, 1 p.m., Perkins Rodney Room and Gallery Blue Hen Bounty Food Pickup, 4 p.m., St. Thomas Parish HealthyU Cooking School: Cooking Eggs Like A Pro, 5 p.m., Willard Hall 204 Recovery Yoga, 7 p.m., Christiana Engagement Center Meeting Room B The API/A Vote, 7:15 p.m., Gore 102

Farmers Market, 11 a.m., Mentor’s Circle Gallery Talk by Zoë Wray: The Politics of Hunting in the Arctic, 12:15 p.m., Old College Hall Gallery Hospitality Business Management Paul Wise Distinguished Speaker Series: Paula Kelly, 3:30 p.m., Purnell Hall 115

OEI Workshop: Keys to Intercultural Communication, 10 a.m., Perkins Blue & Gold Room Department of Economics Seminar Series: Naoki Aizawa, University of WisconsinMadison, 11 a.m., Purnell Hall 450 Mechanical Engineerinng Seminar: Dr. Karen Thole, 11 a.m., Perkins Gallery Employer Mock Interviews for the Business Community, 1 p.m., One South Main “Lettice and Lovage,” 7:30 p.m., Center for the Arts, Studio Theatre

University of Delaware Softball vs. University of Maryland Baltimore County, 12 p.m., UD Softball Stadium University of Delaware Men’s Soccer vs. College of Charleston, 7 p.m., Stuart & Suzanne Grant Stadium “Lettice and Lovage,” 2 p.m., Center for the Arts, Studio Theatre “The Seafarer,” 7:30 p.m., Center for the Arts, Thompson Theatre

“Lettice and Lovage,” 2 p.m., Center for the Arts, Studio Theatre “The Seafarer,” 2 p.m., Center for the Arts, Thompson Theatre

MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 24 BME Seminar: Aileen Huang-Saad, 10:30 a.m., ISE Lab 322 ECE Fall Seminar Series: Ioannis Patis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, 11:15 a.m., Evans Hall 204 Issues in Global Studies Lecture Series: 21st Century Feminisms, 12:30 p.m., Gore Hall 103 The Public Launch of Spectrum Scholars, 3 p.m., Purnell Hall Courtyard Agriculture, Energy and Environment Meetup, 5 p.m., Trabant MPR

#TBT

EDITORIAL STAFF EDITOR IN CHIEF Caleb Owens

SPORTS Hannah Trader

EXECUTIVE EDITOR Brandon Holveck

COPY DESK Bridget Dolan Ryan Richardson Leighton Trimarco Jessica Leibman Rachel Milberg

NEWS Katherine Nails Mitchell Patterson Natalie Walton MOSAIC Olivia Mann Grace McKenna Leanna Smith Bianca Thiruchittampalam

VISUAL TEAM Casey Orledge Julia Silverman Minji Kong Xander Opiyo

FOR AD INQUIRIES, CONTACT ADSUDREVIEW@GMAIL.COM

DANIELLE LECCE


SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

udreview.com

Sewage blockage displaces 42 students JACOB BAUMGART Senior Reporter A sewage blockage in George Read South Residence Hall forced 42 students to immediately relocate to temporary housing on Monday. The sewage blockage came from the bathrooms on the second floor, and the ensuing leaks also damaged rooms below on the first floor, including the Resident Assistant (RA) office. “UD officials responded quickly, cleaning and sanitizing many of the rooms,” Andrea Boyle Tippett, director of external relations, said in an email. “Those who cannot move back yet, where the damage was greatest, are living temporarily elsewhere on campus.” Boyle Tippett said more than half of the displaced residents have moved back into their rooms. The amount of damage from the sewage blockage varied between rooms, depending on how severe the leak was in each location. Some of these rooms needed only sanitization to be habitable again, while others also required the installation of new drywall. The affected rooms are two suite-style bedrooms connected by a shared bathroom, which is where the leaks pooled. Hunter Wyrick, one of the displaced students whose bathroom needed new drywall, said the sewage entered through the shower of his shared bathroom and spread across the floor. “I came home [Monday], and I’m like ‘Aw dude what’s that awful smell?’” Wyrick, a freshman studying computer engineering, said. “My friend [said] ‘Oh, dude, it just started coming out of the shower.’” Wyrick said a puddle of water from the sewage leak sat in his shower when he came home Monday afternoon. He said the water was misty and had paper towels in it. Though the puddle contained no solid stool, Wyrick said he knew it was sewage because of its smell.

Wyrick said his roommate called for help with the leak and put a wet towel under the bathroom door to prevent the scent from spreading. Eventually, the towel could not block the aroma any longer, and Wyrick said the smell of the sewage spread into his room. “This rancid sulfur smell comes through the air, and it just starts growing, and then it starts coming in the room,” Wyrick said. “Then it just ends up getting bigger and bigger and bigger until it engulfs the entire room.” Wyrick said everybody from the affected rooms gathered in the building’s first-floor lounge while the building’s staff “… desperately [emailed] people to try to find information about what to do with [the residents].” Wyrick said the affected residents spent the night in the Courtyard by Marriott on North Campus on Monday night. Students who still needed temporary housing moved into Smyth Hall’s empty rooms on Tuesday night. Wyrick said the way the George Read staff handled the situation was “fantastic.” “They were very good about emailing us, and they moved us very quickly,” Wyrick said after he moved back into his room Saturday. As of Saturday afternoon, the RA office was still closed, and paper covered the flooring in one wing of the second floor hallway. As of 7:00 p.m. on Monday, the office of Residence Life and Housing had not provided any information about the leak and its effects on its social media and website. “Any affected students who have concerns are encouraged to call the Division of Student Life,” Boyle Tippett said.

3

Necessary spring construction could diminish Main Street economy Mitchell Patterson City Editor Newark’s Main Street will undergo large-scale construction for a period of approximately 18 months, according to acting city manager Tom Coleman. While many believe that this construction project is dangerously overdue, critics warn that restricted traffic will significantly impact local businesses. The Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) has determined that the layer of concrete beneath the surface of the road is past its usable life cycle and must be replaced. Beginning in the spring, reconstruction work will take place, moving east to west from Library Avenue to South Main Street. A pedestrian crosswalk will be built near Klondike Kate’s. The total construction budget is around $15 million, according to Joe Hofstee, a DelDOT consultant and senior project manager for the AECOM engineering firm. In active work areas, traffic is expected to be constricted to a single lane and many parking spaces will be unavailable until the project is completed. Bus stops may also be temporarily relocated during construction. The stop near Newark Deli and Bagels will be permanently moved closer to the intersection of Main Street and College Avenue. Hofstee argues that a full resurfacing and reconstruction is necessary. Simply repaving or patching the road will only prolong Main Street’s deterioration. “The concrete underneath the roadway needs to be replaced soon,” Hofstee said. “That’s what’s causing the cracks and the potholes that you’re seeing on the surface. The issue is that the existing roadway is so bad, you can’t just do an overlay. You’ve gotta do fulldepth reconstruction.” The construction project has garnered some controversy among those who believe the urgent need for the roadwork does not

outweigh the potential economic damage to Newark businesses. Originally, the project was scheduled to begin in June in order to minimize any effects on local businesses, who receive the majority of their revenue during the school year. “Frankly, I’m disappointed in DelDOT,” Jerry Clifton, the Newark City Council member representing District 2, said. “This project is desperately needed, we appreciate getting the work done, but it’s now going to be a huge inconvenience to residents. What sits deeper with me is the huge loss of revenue that’ll take place in the restaurant community, the businesses downtown.” Once construction concludes sometime in the summer of 2020, Hofstee predicts that similar projects will not need to be done again for another 50 years, although minor maintenance would occur each decade. DelDOT has not yet decided which company they will contract for the project. Once construction is underway, DelDOT and the City of Newark will have inspectors on site. They will be monitoring to ensure that progress is made on schedule and

according to specifications and regulations. In addition to roadwork, sections of brick will be installed on the sidewalk where they will extend, or “bump-out,” into existing parking spaces. These bump-outs are intended to make the road more safe for pedestrians and more accessible for the physically disabled. Bumpouts may be given bike racks and benches. Clifton is concerned that the loss of parking spaces in conjunction with greatly reduced foot and automobile traffic due to construction will decimate Newark’s businesses. He believes the economic damage in Newark will be comparable to the beach tourism revenue lost in Rehoboth if Route One was closed during the summer. “This scares me to death,” Clifton said. “If there’s something so compelling that DelDOT has no other choice than to do this during the semester, then they should make their case to the City, the university, the residents. I mean, we have a right to know, the stakeholders have a right to know, you’ve got a right to know. Anyways, good luck getting to class next year.”

KIRK SMITH/THE REVIEW The concrete under Main Street will be replaced soon.

Analysis: Interns finally getting paid to play JACOB WASSERMAN Senior Reporter For years, students have had to skip meals, wait tables and make major financial sacrifices to serve as an intern on a congressional staff. Due to recent developments, those things will not be as necessary — interns of the House of Representatives and the Senate are about to get paid. The “minibus” appropriations bill, H.R. 5895, which is also known as the “Energy and Water, Legislative Branch, and Military Construction and Veterans Affairs Appropriations Act, 2019”, among many things, allocates funds specifically for the purpose of paying interns. For many college students, like myself, who are considering a career in public service on Capitol Hill, congressional internships are coveted opportunities that give students more knowledge about, and a better chance of, landing jobs on a congressional staff after college. All congressional staffs offer internships in their Washington D.C. offices and in their district or state offices. While some offices do currently offer pay, a June 2017 study by Pay Our Interns, a nonprofit, found that a large

number of Senate offices and a vast majority of House offices do not offer payment. For reference, out of the congressional delegation from Delaware, Sen. Chris Coons (D-Del.) offers a wage for his summer interns, and Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.) offers a stipend. Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-Del.) does not offer any payment. Unless the intern lived around the D.C. area, they often had to pay for housing in D.C., even if just for a few months. Pay Our Interns estimates the cost of interning in D.C. to be approximately $6,000 for a single internship session, which usually lasts around three months. The system, in many cases, excluded those from less-thanaffluent backgrounds from getting congressional internships, as they simply could not afford them. Such exclusions made the pool of congressional interns less representative of the constituents that the members of the House and Senate represent. If someone is unable to get an internship (or two) during college, they are at a severe disadvantage when it comes time to applying for jobs once they graduate. The bill is now on its way to President Donald Trump’s desk, as it passed both chambers of

Congress this week. Trump is expected to sign it soon, as this fiscal year ends on Sept. 30. The bill allocates $8.8 million to the House of Representatives and $5 million to the Senate to pay interns. Each House office will be given $20,000, and each Senate office will be given an average of $50,000 (each Senator will be given a different amount based on their state’s size). This appropriation of funds certainly changes the game for many college-aged politicos, giving them that invaluable congressional experience. That is something that Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (R-Neb.), chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch, pointed out. “By leveling the playing field, we can attract a diverse range of interns with a deep love of country who may have had difficulty affording this opportunity in the past,” Fortenberry said. The original Senate bill included the pay for interns, which was advocated for by Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), while the original House bill did not. Rep. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), who is the ranking member of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch, pushed for intern pay to be included when

JACOB WASSERMAN that time came. “By providing this dedicated funding to help House offices pay their interns, we are moving to level the playing field and provide opportunities for young Americans who may not otherwise have the financial means necessary to dedicate a full semester or summer to an unpaid internship,” Ryan said in a press release. It is very promising to see such bipartisan agreement on

this subject, shown by the large majorities that passed this bill in both houses of Congress. The bill passed the Senate 92-5 and the House 377-20. This initiative, once the bill is signed by President Trump, will have to be renewed each year, but it is clear that this new initiative will make congressional offices much more diverse and give more college students the chance to follow their dreams.


4

SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

udreview.com

Call for Nike boycott met with mixed student reactions KEVIN TRAVERS Senior Reporter “Believe in something, even if it means sacrificing everything.” This well known quote appears time and again on inspirational classroom posters and in political campaign slogans without much thought. It’s used so often it’s become un-attributable. But when a politicized poster child appears with the slogan, who embodies the sentiment that one should stand up for one’s beliefs, regardless of consequence, the intended inspiration takes a much more controversial turn. Nike incited an ongoing viral storm last week when the company launched a new ad campaign featuring Colin Kaepernick. The ex-49ers quarterback protested police brutality and racial injustice by kneeling during the national anthem before many NFL games. Kaepernick’s teammates followed his example in a wave of protests. After comments from Houston Texans owner Bob McNair and President Donald Trump degraded the protestors, players and coaches linked arms in solidarity for a week during the 2016 season. In the two years since he began protest, Kaepernick has been awarded by the American Civil Liberties Union and Amnesty International. No longer an NFL athlete, Kaepernick opted out of his contract in March 2017 and has yet to sign with an NFL team. Kaepernick is suing the NFL for what he sees as collusion between coaches to not sign him to a team to stop his kneeling. Fighting an ongoing legal battle, Kaepernick has again captured public attention as the face for Nike. The campaign set a subset of Twitter into a frenzy. Users posted videos of Kaepernick jerseys

burning, called for boycotts and even posted videos of burning Nike shoes and branded socks. Those outraged see kneeling during the anthem as disrespectful to American veterans. Brendan Laux, a senior, respects both sides of the controversy, but takes issue with people twisting Kaepernick’s

and Lebron James, as well as amateurs training for their chance at winning big. Though many support the move by Nike, public outcry continues. When questioned students responded with support for Kaepernick, but also empathy for those that are offended.

Courtesy of Alan Nakkash Students respond to Nike’s decision to launch a campaign featuring Colin Kaepernick. protest away from his intentions. controversy surrounding the ex- Cora Vasquez, a senior human In Laux’s opinion, Kaepernick professional athlete. services major who was sporting kneeling during the anthem to Since the picture’s initial a pair of Nikes, said she liked the protest police brutality is a right release, it has appeared on commercial. Vasquez said she afforded to all citizens. billboards across the nation, along would not be boycotting Nike and “I have no problem with it. with a video ad. that burning sneakers is a waste. I think the point he’s making The video aired during the U.S. “People who are burning their is valid,” Laux said. “What I do Open and the NFL season opener Nikes, it’s their right to protest,” have problem with is a public Sept. 6, encouraging athletes to she said. “Colin Kaepernick uses official entering the speech of an dream big. It featured world-class his platform for something he individual.” athletes such as Serena Williams believes in, so let him live.”

Commencement at Delaware Stadium: the most exclusive party of the year

be streamed for the overflow of people present. Students did not seem to be very aware of the potential viewing areas, however. “My mom, dad and sister will probably be the three people from my family to attend, but I have other siblings and two grandparents who I wish could have come as well,” senior Amanda Harding said. “My grandparents made arrangements and booked a hotel back in June so they could be there, and because of the ticket limitation, they are no longer coming.” When the exact numbers become more clear of who will be walking in the ceremony, more tickets may be allocated to the families of students. Garland also said students can trade tickets among themselves. “Attaining our degrees is the reason why we are in college, so graduation day is the most important moment in this journey,” senior Haley Reid said. “Adding on to the stress of finding hotel accommodations for our

Trump has long been a critic of Kaepernick’s protests. Last week he tweeted, “What was Nike thinking?” to show his disapproval of the ad. The ad is a full close-up on Kaepernick’s face in black and white overlaid with the new slogan. The image’s simplicity and stark contrast mirror the polarized

Continued from Page 1

families and other things related to the day seems unfair.” “No one feels good” about the situation at hand, Garland said. The individual college convocations will not be affected by the new commencement ticket policy. Additionally, the university is planning on moving towards ticketed commencements like many other universities in the future, Garland said. According to Garland, there are no other venues large enough in Delaware to host commencement.

Students also believed in the right for those who boycott Nike to do so. Junior Jamie Wechsler understands how Nike is alienating a part of the population, but is most concerned with polarization in America. She said that as a Christian she seeks to address controversies with a clear head instead of ignoring any side that she doesn’t agree with. “A lot of people have lost respect for [Kaepernick] and what he stands for — it’s shown in the burning of Nike sneakers, people are upset,” she said. “We’re sliding deeper and deeper into people not seeking to understand each other.” Freshman Carly Mcgonagle believes it’s good that Kaepernick is standing up for himself. Mcgonagle said the American flag represents the freedom to protest, but finds the Nike burning a waste of time. “I think it’s kind of dumb, it’s not gonna prove a point,” she said. “No matter what no one’s going to stop buying Nikes.”

Roots Natural Kitchen briefly closed last Monday due to grease spill Mitchell Patterson City Editor Roots Natural Kitchen, the popular restaurant on East Main Street, was closed for a period of 24 hours on Sept. 10 following a massive grease overflow. Employees immediately left the building without injury, and cleanup crews responded promptly. A pump in the restaurant’s grease trapper, a

plumbing device designed to filter grease out before it can enter the wastewater disposal, failed for unknown reasons around 5 p.m. This caused a mixture of mostly water and some grease to spill into the kitchen and out to the parking lot. Residents living nearby complained about a foul stench which persisted for a full day. Christine Colalillo, a junior political science major living in

the apartments behind Roots, claimed the smell of grease permeated into her room. “It wasn’t dangerous,” Andrew Baroncelli, the director of operations for Roots, said. “People could come in and out of the building safely. It is technically a biohazard, so we closed down and had the cleaning crew come out. It looked crazier than it really was, to be honest.”

Mitchell Patterson/THE REVIEW Roots is a resturaunt on Main Street that offers popular health foods.


SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

udreview.com

5

Newark Community Day brings University approved internships-turned-scams together residents, students leave students stranded Continued from Page 1

LIV ROGAL Senior Reporter In front of Memorial Hall, a band plays while the audience sits on hay bales, arms full of goodies gathered from tents spread across The Green. In front of Wolf Hall, a team from Tristate Athletics in New Castle showcases their skills, jumping through hoops and performing gravity-defying flips. On Sept. 16, The Green turned into an exposition of all the Newark community has to offer. Now in its 47th year, the event run by the Parks and Recreation Department brings together nonprofits, campaigns, local businesses, food vendors, government agencies, artists, university groups and more. “I think this is a good event that not only recognizes the variety of businesses and organizations in Newark, but also things like the university and Christina School District,” Paula

at the event to expose the community to the direct services available at their Newark and Wilmington locations. The organization promoted their work in transitional housing, economic empowerment, sexual assault, domestic violence, entrepreneurship, youth development and racial and social justice for overall well-being. “In order to access our services, the community needs to know about them,” YWCA director Troy Farmer said. “We’ve enjoyed connecting with individuals, potential clients and [the] University of Delaware so we’re really happy for this rich experience.” The event engages students not necessarily from the Newark community. Junior student Danielle Trongone is from New Jersey, but has been coming to Community Day for all three years she has been at the university. As a club softball player, her team

Emily Morgan/THE REVIEW Local business oweners like The Bread Man use Community Day as a point of entry for new customers Martinson Ennis, the deputy director of Newark Parks and Recreation Department, says. “It opens to everyone what’s in the community as well as the students to see what Newark is all about.” Local business owners like Denise Beltran of MJ Bell jewelry boutique use this event as a point of entry to engage new customers. “This is my first time out at an event like this as a business, and it’s been great. There are a lot of people here. The setup is great and everything is so versatile,” Beltran said. YWCA Delaware was

volunteers at community events as they use Newark facilities for practice and games. “As a student coming here, it’s easy to forget there’s people living in Newark outside of campus,” Trongone said. “It’s so nice seeing everyone come together.” Other students attended the event to promote their organizations beyond the student body context. Alexa Georgetown, fundraising chair for Kappa Alpha Theta sorority, was at a table to advocate for their philanthropy Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) and promote a 5K they have coming up.

“We were there solely to campaign, but on the site we were expected to help cook, clean, dig trenches to provide internet access … fill up the generators that powered the cabins, go get the gasoline, build the cubicles, help landscape, make sure the bathrooms were stocked, make sure we had enough cold medicine in case someone had something wrong,” Hackett says. And something did go wrong. “The day I got there was the end of a whooping cough outbreak because there were some French interns there who had not been vaccinated,” Hackett says. Everyone was under the impression that the program would have 30 interns. By the end of the program, more than 90 were present. The Labour Party never approved the internship, and other interns who questioned supervisors found out that funding primarily came from a private donor. Interns questioned their supervisors and soon learned that the Labour Party’s

head office had rejected the program unless there were only 15 interns. Supervisors slowly began to disappear, and interns contacted the official Labour Party. Hackett returned home after a month and wrote a letter to the university about his experience. He never received a response. However, the university did add a line to internship emails warning students to accept at their own risk, even if the internships appear to be approved by the university. According to Lynn SydnorEpps, Associate Director of the Career Services Center (CSC), there is a vetting process for every employer on Handshake conducted by both Handshake and the university. Employers must have an active business license, valid intent, career pages and no required payment for students. “Sometimes things leak through,” Sydnor-Epps says. “It happens, unfortunately. Any case that comes to us we deal with it

directly and provide support for the student.” The university receives about 30,000 potential Handshake listings per year, and sometimes CSC can’t handle the volume. “Because of the number of fraudulent employers we have the policies that indicate or try to help students identify what might be identified as a fraudulent employer,” Sydnor-Epps says. But when jobs and internships are offered by departments through email, the vetting process occurs in-house. Here, diligence in determining fraudulent offers may rest heavily upon students.

Weekly essay contest winner

Senior Sarah Harlan was there representing WVUD, trying to promote both student and community involvement in the radio station. “I think as students our role could be a lot stronger in the community than it is,” Harlan said. “Our club is community and student-based. It would be cool if students could be more community-based since UD is such a huge part of the city.” The Parks and Recreation Department puts on several events throughout the year, both on campus and around the city, such as the upcoming drive-in movie night on Saturday, Sept. 29, at the university Athletic Complex. “Community events provide information, education, knowledge and share the valuable community experience,” Farmer said. “People have an opportunity for whatever background they’re from to come together, which is what a community is made up of: diversity as well as eclectic and collective thoughts.”

Prompt: Are there Juuls in hell? Explain

Boys who like to fight, boys who are too soft to smoke a cigarette, boys who want to do anal but won’t eat ass, boys who wear vests, boys who work in equities in Miami, boys with a Pulp Fiction poster, boys who use empty liquor bottles for décor, boys who watch the Masters on their computer on the floor next to their feet during lectures, boys who tell you who their dad is within the first 10 minutes of meeting you, boys who shotgun, boys who drink Busch, boys who wear beanies, boys who use a shoelace for a belt. This non-exhaustive list presents boys who are presumably going to hell, and since they will certainly bring their Juuls with them, you best believe there are Juuls in hell, sweetie.

Essay by: “Georgia Springs,” a student at the University of Virginia

Start the campus conversation by participating in new weekly essay contests Looking for opportunities to write outside the classroom? Want to say something provocative? Have some really strange ideas that nobody else will publish?

This week’s prompt:

Which came first, the Blue Hen or the egg?

We might have just the thing for you. This fall, The Review is introducing weekly essay contests, designed to push conversation and creativity in new directions. This isn’t a place for predictable political grumbling or sappy columns. We don’t care if you’ve been “published” in the Odyssey, and you can spare us the stale Black Sheep humor. This is a place for your writing and ideas to come alive. To prove to the campus community why you, more than your peers, deserve to be heard.

So how exactly can you do that? Each week, you can submit an essay of no more than 500 words in response to the week’s prompt. That’s pretty much the only rule. Nothing too profane, obscene or defamatory, of course, but otherwise it’s yours to make your own. Deadlines for submission will be 12:00 p.m. on Saturdays, and all college students in the mid-Atlantic area are invited to participate.

Essays will be reviewed by The Review’s editorial board and evaluated on the basis of ingenuity of thought and quality of writing. The winning essay will be published in the week’s print edition. Already bursting with ideas? All submissions can be sent to essaycontest@udreview.com.Have at it.


6

SEPTEMBER 18,2018

udreview.com

EDITORIAL

Mad about graduation tickets? Students can fix it When Facebook photos of graduation pop up online each spring, there’s normally more than three friends or family members present. It’s a big deal, graduating, the culmination of four years of sleeplessness and tears and up to $100,000. But this year, parents or family friends flying from afar — people who booked hotels a year in advance and began making plans for your graduation when you were a sophomore — may find themselves barred from watching you walk at commencement. That is, if they aren’t one of the lucky three that you choose to attend your graduation. This year, the university is only granting three tickets to graduates, citing the need to limit attendance as the football stadium undergoes renovation. According to the university, no other venues have the capacity to host commencement, and the three-ticket solution was necessary, however unfortunate. Whether all of that is true, we don’t know. And whether the $60 million renovations are in any way beneficial or necessary to the university is yet to be determined — this may be the first of many prices that students and the university pay for the project. But what we do know is that the three-ticket policy isn’t going anywhere, and that there’s something you can do to ensure that that special moment in June remains special for people. Each spring, for every couple of students who are excited about commencement, there are several others with no interest in attending. Of course, this isn’t entirely unreasonable, as sitting through a fluffed up speech in the heat hardly seems desirable on its surface. Once the convocations wrap up, students consider themselves graduated and move into the real world. But for many, whether to

students or their friends and family members, commencement is special, a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Particularly for firstgeneration college students, or for students whose education didn’t come easy, those graduation pictures amount to more than a couple of Facebook posts. For these reasons, The Review is calling upon this year’s graduating class to take action and make those memories possible for people, if the

university won’t. You all have three tickets — some of you need more, some need less, some have no use for any tickets at all. To ensure that the people who need them get them, we propose an organized method of exchanging graduation tickets, ensuring that the limited circulation gets to those who need them most. Facebook groups or other online discussion boards come to mind. Here, students would be able to state their needs, and

CAMPUSRENTALS@webtv.net Homes for 2 to 8 persons for 2019/20 $$sensible prices$$ Convenient locations just steps to UD. To request listings, email or leave message (302)369-1288 UDRENTALZ.COM

House for rent 4 bedrooms, up to 5 people $1,900 plus utils. rooms for rent $475 plus utils. 46 Benny Street Newark, DE 19711, off street parking, large living room, kitchen available immed. call 302-740-6858 or 302-530-8758. Also available for one year lease starting 6/1/2019.

free to begin with, is the last thing that anybody needs after purchasing plane tickets and four years of college. So, lend your classmates a hand, and prove that the class of 2019 is as special as the university will say it is.

TAYLOR NGUYEN /THE REVIEW

CLASSIFIEDS UDel Campus Houses for Rent 2019-2020 School Year Houses Available June 1, 2019 Great UDel Locations Call or Text Doug at 610-400-3142 Or email at GUDoug59@comcast.net

others could provide. But, this seemingly generous and innocuous system could easily get out of hand. Some students, without a need for graduation tickets but with an eye for profit, could find a lucrative enterprise in selling graduation tickets, exploiting the helplessness of those who need them. We also ask that the tickets, at all costs, remain free. An unnecessary financial burden, from something that should be

ALL ADS WILL ALSO APPEAR ON UDREVIEW.COM PLEASE CALL (302)-831-2771 OR EMAIL UDREVIEWCLASSIFIEDS@GMAIL. COM IF INTERESTED IN PLACING A CLASSIFIED AD.

BENNY STREET: Rooms avail. at $495/m + util. or whole unit is avail. for $1900/m+util. 4br, 1ba,lr,kitchen, a/c. Menaquale Prop. Mgt. (302)530-8758. annemenaquale@gmail.com

Mondays & Thursdays 6:45am – 9:00am $25 / day unloading truck Haines Street

USE CAUTION WHEN RESPONDING TO ADS ORCHARD ROAD LARGE 3 BR, 1 BATH. WALK TO CAMPUS. LIVING RM., DINING RM. + EAT IN KITCHEN. HARDWOOD FLOORS, FIREPLACE, WALK IN ATTIC AND SCREENED IN FRONT PORCH. ALL APPLIANCES. PLENTY OF PARKING.** YARD CARE INCLUDED ** $1800/ MO + UTILITIES. DEPOSIT. AVAIL JUNE 1, 2019 YEAR LEASE. PICTURES OF HOME ON FACEBOOK UNDER WILLIAM WHITMAN. CALL BILL 302-547-5986

CLASSIFIED AD RATES $1/ LINE UD AFFILIATED $2/ LINE NON-UD AFFILIATED $2 BOLDING /$5 BOXING $7 BOTH (ONE TIME FEE)

The Review cannot research the reputability of advertisers or the validity of their claims. Because we care about our readership and we value our honest advertisers, we advise anyone responding to ads in our paper to be wary of those who would prey on the inexperienced and naive. Especially when responding to Help Wanted, Travel, and Research Subjects advertisements, please thoroughly investigate all claims, offers, expectations, risks and costs. Please report any questionable business practices to our advertising department at 831-1398. No advertisers or the services or products offered are endorsed or promoted by The Review or the University of Delaware.


8

SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

udreview.com

Be sure to follow The Review on social media to stay up to date on breaking stories. Edtools

Name:

/udreview

Date:

Issue @udreview

Across 1. 27-10 2. on fire

3

Down 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9.

Limited tickets You got played Delaware lawyer Average time is 3 years Now paid! Sacrifice Everything Jibbitz Fullbright Blue hen of the week

Key

For more free tools visit http://edtools.mankindforward.com

Across 1. delawarefootball 2. roots

file:///Users/review/Downloads/Edtools.webarchive

/udreview

Down 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9.

graduation scam georgeread construction internship nike crocs eyelashes joewalker


MOSAIC

SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM

THE REVIEW

From Brooklyn, to Croatia, to the university: Professors reflect on 9/11

Peter Kraus (literally) took my breath away JENNIFER WEST

RACHEL MILBERG Senior Reporter

No matter where one was at 8:46 a.m. on Sept. 11, 2001, there is a story. And while most students are too young to have clear memories of that shocking day, university professors remember it as if it were yesterday. Their different 9/11 experiences echo the chaotic, confusing and heartbreaking emotions of the time, a moment that changed the U.S. forever. David Suisman is an associate professor of history at the university. On Sept. 11 he was working as a DJ on his radio show until six in the morning, and fell asleep as soon as he got back to his home in Brooklyn. He was woken up by his girlfriend, panicked and confused, and the two sat in front of the television, awestruck before moving to their roof to watch the horror unfold. “We watched as the first tower fell,” Suisman says. “We were watching from the roof looking at it, and we could see the tower implode. Watching the one tower fall before my eyes was deeply upsetting and filled me with grief, and fear and confusion and questions. There was an awareness that this was a pivotal moment in my lifetime, in history — that things were going to be different afterwards. There was a sense of, ‘This is a moment I will never forget.’” As a history professor, Suisman reflects on what has changed for young people since the attacks, noting that students in his classes are often very hungry for information about recent history, eager to understand the complex nature of our country. “I think one of the

things that changed for young people was having a sense of vulnerability that many young people did not have before the attacks,”

Suisman explains. “There was a sense of the United States never having suffered a great terrorist attack on their soil. I think people sensed the nation changed as a result of Sept. 11, and that was very visible on college campuses and among young people.” Television played a large role in the communication of information during the chaotic moments of the attacks. Families, students and strangers crowded around their screens absorbing anything they could to piece together what was going on. Without that constant stream of

news, it would have been impossible to comprehend what was happening. Emily Davis, an English professor at the university, was traveling in Croatia during the attacks, with limited access to television and news. She was sitting at a restaurant at the time of the attacks, being a tourist, exploring a new country. She explains that it was an earlier moment for cell phones, so she didn’t have the ability to connect with her loved ones at home. “It was strange, because people from other countries would start talking immediately about the U.S. as an imperial power, or things like that — things that would have been considered very unpatriotic to talk about immediately after 9/11,” Davis says, reflecting on her interactions with people from other countries during the time. “There’s a desire to strike at the United States, which, when you’re having this emotional response, is very strange.” Davis’s fascinating perspective brings about this notion of unexpected patriotism that she began to feel in the days following the attack. “It was a moment where I felt sort of more American than I was accustomed to thinking about myself because I was having this immediate response of, ‘Oh my gosh, all these people have died, people at home are suffering,’” Davis says. “I did feel disconnected, but there was also this incredible way in which I felt like the world was connected in a way I wouldn’t have seen otherwise — like when they had the moments of silence in Switzerland, and people were stopping in the streets, knowing they weren’t going to be seen by Americans at home.” But here, at the university, different events were unfolding. Alan Fox, a professor of Asian and comparative philosophy and religion, was walking through Trabant University Center when he saw people crowded around the televisions after the first plane had hit the first tower. “While we were watching, the second plane hit, and it became clear that it wasn’t an accident,” Fox says. “It became clear that this was an operation, and at that point pretty much everything shut down — the university, everybody went home, and then we just spent the rest of the day wondering what the rest of our lives was going to

CROCS FOR JOCKS?

Even on the individual level, avoiding food waste can make a difference.

/ PAGE 10

Senior Reporter

CREATIVE COMMONS

be like.” As a parent of young children, Fox remembers feeling this overwhelming sense of uncertainty, wondering how the lives of himself and his children would be altered and shifted as time progressed. And as a professor of religion, he noticed that all of a sudden, everyone was very interested in Islam. “It’s rearranged some of the priorities of the curriculum,” Fox says. “I try to make sure I get to Islam each semester because that’s the one thing I think people are most misled about. Part of my job as a philosophy professor is to challenge prejudged ideas and prejudiced ideas, and there are two things I think that cause these kinds of issues and they go together: ignorance and fear. To me, that has become the mission in the classroom — to combat ignorance and the fear that arises from ignorance” These stories reflect a shared sentiment: that 9/11 changed the face of the U.S. permanently, bringing fear and confusion, but also bringing the nation together, connected by shared pain and desire to help. Reflecting back, 17 years later, it’s vital to remember the stories told, the impact of such trauma and to never forget the countless innocent lives lost. But they also remind that, even in the midst of tragedy, there is understanding. “There was a sense of something shared among the people who were not in the towers,” Suisman says. “People struck up conversations in New York and elsewhere with perfect strangers” Suisman says. “People talked to their neighbors in ways that they hadn’t before—a sense of commonality and of unity.”

MOSAIC TRIES SOMETHING NEW Stick and pokes are no joke.

/ PAGE 11

water. Kraus mainly focused on squats and lunges, using planks to “rest” in between. Well-knowing that his audience may not have been there for just a workout, Kraus cracked a few jokes about college girls and butts, spurring yelling and laughter from his fully engaged audience. A few students joined Kraus on stage to demonstrate the workout, displaying their intimidating burpee form. But by the time Kraus started the third interval, I decided that laying down was much more enticing than mountain climbers.

When I found out Peter Kraus, runner-up to Rachel’s season of “The Bachelorette,” would host an intense 50-minute workout in Bacchus Theater, I signed up before I remembered I have asthma. The event promoted TTi Fitness and encouraged university students to visit their table at the Fall Career & Internship Fair hosted by the Career Services Center. After waiting for about 20 minutes in line listening to the reverb of upbeat music from inside, representatives from TTi Fitness let me and five others into the event. I stumbled over to survey stations that promoted Kraus and TTi Fitness before noticing the dark, humid club that was once Bacchus Theater. I found my way into a dark corner to shield Kraus said, myself encouragfrom the ing as ever view and despite my potential complete judgment lack of of Peter physical Kraus ability. himself. During I was the fifth anxious and final to get interval, through I decided whatever that pushrigorous ups were JENNIFER WEST/THE REVIEW workmuch betKraus and TTi Fitness turned Bacchus out the ter without Theater into a dark, humid sports club. certified the pushpersonal ing up trainer part. Kraus and noticed my “Bachelorette” fan favorite resistance and gave me a had in store. However as warm high-five, marking the soon as I spread my mat second time he rewarded on a giant puddle of water me for failure. that I can only assume was Finally, the workout from a leak, I knew that this ended and TTi representawould be a tortuous 50 min- tives herded the sweaty, exutes. hausted crowd upstairs for Kraus began by blast- free Viva Bowls that were all ing Cardi B and warning snatched by the time I was that this is “not yoga,” beable to drag myself up a fore beginning our stretches flight of stairs. with downward dog and But I did not leave child’s pose. empty handed — I was able to snag a seven-dollar-off coupon for Viva Bowls and a quick photo with the instructor himself, Peter Kraus.

“How ya doin’ back there. I see you. If you need a break, it’s okay,”

“Don’t always do what I do, do what I say,” Kraus said, granting me advice that I will surely use before doing something stupid in the future. The workout took place in 10-minute intervals, with a few seconds in between to rest and drink

NASIR ADDERLEY Looking to the future but living in the moment.

/ PAGE 14


10

SEPTEMBER 18, 2018 udreview.com

Get Down to Earth : Join this co-op to learn clean living NIC PIRHALLA Staff Reporter

Dining hall food got you down? Looking for a democratic community which will provide you with an alternative to the American food industry that wastes 33 million tons of food each year? Down to Earth Food Coop (DTE) is an independent food co-op based in the heart of Newark, devoted to facilitating the development of practical skills such as cooking and farming for its members and increasing access to healthy and organic food. Members of the DTE come together on Saturdays to socialize and enjoy a fresh dinner prepared by other members throughout the day, from farm to table. A few members wake up bright and early to volunteer on Coverdale Farm in Greenville, Del. In exchange for their labor, they receive fresh produce from the farm. Afterward, other members volunteer to take shifts planning the meal, cooking it and cleaning up.

“Weekly dinners are awesome because they’re a break from common busy life to sit down and share a meal,”

Staci Pinkowitz, DTE’s historian and acting farm coordinator, says. “The cooking shifts are awesome because you’re hanging out with four people who are all frantically chopping things and figuring out how to get this

NIC PIRHALLA DTE operates out of Coverdale Farm in Greenville, Del., pictured here.

meal ready in time, and then you get to serve a whole group of people who are really excited to eat what you just made.” Not only do they feed themselves well, but DTE members hold monthly community potlucks that are open to anyone. People bring dishes and their own reusable plates. Guest speakers are invited as well to inform the community

on how to be more active in their local food system.

“It’s important that you know where your food is coming from

an individual joining DTE should be open-minded to learning about the food system, how to prepare food that you wouldn’t be typically exposed to and open-minded

to others as we are; a co-op that is all inclusive no matter your race, creed, sexual orientation or age,” Liam Warren, DTE’s community outreach coordinator, says. While DTE is composed mostly of university students, it is not a registered student organization (RSO). “When I joined DTE, I felt like I found a community of people who cared about our place in the world the same

way I do,” Pinkowitz says. “I feel empowered by DTE and I feel excited that I can exert agency in what I do rather than just following a complacent lifestyle within capitalism.”

Album Review: “Rosebudd’s Revenge 2: The Bitter Dose” DYLAN GERSTLEY Senior Reporter In an age where mumble rap is roundly criticized for its lack of substance and varied lyrical content and song subject matter, Long Island rapper Roc Marciano proves that rapping doesn’t have to be all about deep meaning and enlightening topics. The former Flipmode Squad rapper and producer spits with the nonchalance fitting for a successful pimp grizzled by years in the game. Roc Marci has been crafting songs about the ruthless and eternal pursuit of money around soul samples for years now. “Rosebudd’s Revenge 2: The Bitter Dose” (RR2) is no different, and the sequel to the stellar 2017 release shows Roc sharpening his tongue on the rocks of content he always has. “Respected” opens the album with a skit declaration: “I want to be highly respected amongst everyone. Dudes from New York, Dudes outside of New York,” setting up the listener for another crime-filled journey to making cash. And as Roc comes in, one can’t help but but feel a certain satisfaction, a satisfaction so deep that it makes the head nod as the realization of a perfect marriage is at hand. “Fox fur on my evening coat / I gave these heathens hope” is grimly delivered over the ominous piano, at once highlighting the unmistakable internal and slant rhymes Roc is known for. “Tent City” continues the project in a much more upbeat

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM

style as Roc impresses behind “Bed Spring King,” where Marci I said we was pimps, everything the boards as well as he does lays his smooth bars over the that I said I meant / I’m a man behind the mic. His flow is creak of a mattress. and you a b---- so we can’t settle impeccable, mixing in coughs The first half of the album this like men” makes it clear in a somehow catchy way that is nearly flawless, and while the that even over more mournful could be compared to Migos ad second half doesn’t deliver the production, Roc doesn’t play libs. same level of quality in each around. “Bohemian Grove” has “Kill You”and “67 soul-drenched production Lobby,” unfortunately, from Animoss and features snap the listener out of Knowledge the Pirate, a the beautiful feel of the frequent Roc collaborator, second half of the project. who contributes his first of Each track contributes a two stellar performances jarring instrumental in on the album. “Food on comparison to the more the table, coke on the melancholic production of stove / With that secret the preceding and following society Bohemian Grove,” tracks, which really stinks is a stirring hook to say because “Muse” is equally the least. Roc adds in his as somber and gratifying as own flavor the stand out “Happy Endings.” track: “Knew I was gully The “Pimp Smack Skit” is since the youngin’ with the a nice cut of a soul sample runny nose / Even though and throwback soulful we drove here in luxury it vocals in a short track that was a bumpy road.” repeats, “Jesus is watching “Corniche” features you.” another excellent guest “Power” ends the contribution, this time album in a fitting way. from fellow New Yorker Roc flows confidently Action Bronson, who and purposefully while delivers his rhymes with maintaining his irresistible a similar ease as Marci, wordplay and sound. “When though without the the waters got choppy I was inescapable feeling that in the driver’s seat / steer my you’re listening to a total family out of poverty / now badass. my links entwined within “Saks Fifth” features my taco meat,” showing production from Roc how Roc did his dirty work DYLAN GERSTLEY/THE REVIEW himself and it is possibly It sounds good. Over and over and over again. to provide a future for my favorite instrumental himself and his family. on the album. “Major The chilling addition of League” features another the classic passionate soul killer verse from Knowledge the track, it changes the sound to singing at the end is a perfect Pirate, who works his rhymes feature more introspective and ending to an album near perfect into drug dealing word play with melancholic soul loops. in its execution. Major League Baseball teams. The transition begins with Details and nuance aside, Interesting (and hilarious) “Happy Endings,” a track with a the most glowing compliment I production can be found on low, looped ‘ooo’ sample. “Yeah can give Roc Marciano and “RR2”

is that it just sounds good. Over and over and over again. The amazing and layered production never fails to make my head nod and Roc’s effortless ability to make catchy rhymes and quotable one-liners is something that will never grow stale.


SEPTEMBER 18, 2018 udreview.com

11

Mosaic Tries Something New: Stick ’N Pokes BIANCA THIRUCHITTAMPALAM Column Editor

Getting a stick and poke tattoo defies every aspect of common sense. Detractors of the do-it-yourself art form claim that without using proper tools, one cannot get a proper tattoo. The internet is littered with threads of stick and pokes that got infected, and everyone’s friend of a friend has a story of a stick and poke design gone awry. However, the art form persists. There is a special fascination surrounding it, especially with teenagers. Perhaps it is the inexpensiveness of stick and pokes, how the unprofessional nature allows minors to brand themselves with (sometimes regrettable) designs or the popular idea circulating around the internet that stick and pokes do not technically last “forever.” Whatever it is, it is reason enough for people to keep poking, even when every source of authority is staunchly opposed to it. After seeing so much talk about stick and pokes on social media and among my friends, I ,knew I wanted to try it. Initially, I was nervous, but my excitement outweighed my apprehension. On a Thursday night, I tried my hand at the trend that everyone had seemingly dipped their toes into.to The design I chose held no special meaning to me whatsoever. Knowing that I had limited artistic ability, I knew I wouldn’t be able to go for .the aesthetically pleasing Eflowers, animals and human figures that populate stick nand poke tags on Instagram oand Tumblr. I settled for a avery basic flower bud on a nstem with two leaves — some-

thing so small and basic that I was positive it it could not be messed up. In terms of supplies, everything I used could be procured in a craft store for under ten dollars. Websites dedicated to the art of stick and poke recommend using India ink; it is non-toxic and said to be the best alternative to real tattoo ink. I was able to pick up from my local Michaels. Many websites also advise readers to attach a sewing needle — the makeshift tattoo needle — to a pen or a pencil for stability, which I did using thread and tape. A lighter or match is also necessary to sterilize the needle, a crucial step that marks the difference between a safe stick and poke and a potentially harmful one. Lastly, paper towels and water are always handy in case of ink spills. I drew my design using a fine-tipped black pen, and immediately re-

gretted it since my ink was black as well. As I began poking, I became worried that I was either poking too deep or not poking deep enough. However, I quickly figured out through experience and a peek on the internet that when the skin gives a slight bit of resistance as one pulls the needle back up, it typically means that one she or he hass poked deep enough. In an answer to the obvious question, yes, it hurt. However, the pain was not quite as bad as I expected, probably due to my choice of stick and poke location. I tattooed the area about two inches above my ankle, where the skin was fleshy enough to provide some sort of cushion for the needle. A few BIANCA THIRUCHITTAMPALAM/THE REVIEW pokes left me Bianca’s stick and poke tattoo, pictured here, held no special meaning to her. wincing and wiping tiny droplets of blood, but for the most part, it felt like being

repeatedly pinched.

Surprisingly, the experience was not as difficult and excruciating as I had anticipated. While . Wmy finished stick and poke did not quite measure up to the delicate tattoo I had idealized, I was still happy with it. I was proud that I hadn’t completely botched the tattoo, and that it had come out more or less resembling what I originally intended. It was a little rough, but in my opinion, that gave it a raw and authentic quality. For aftercare, I wiped off the excess ink and I covered it with a bandage. Most websites agree it is important to leave a stick and poke alone while also keeping it moisturized and clean, a plan I will adhere to in the following days. Admittedly, there was a social quality missing from my experience. The activity brings to mind groups of friends giving each other stick and pokes as mementos of their unbreakable bond. Splayed out on the destroyed carpet of my floor at ten o’clock on a Thursday night, completely and entirely alone as I repeatedly stabbed myself with a needle attached to a pen — there is no tactful way to say it — I initially felt more than slightly pathetic. However, as time wore on and I became more invested in the tattoo, I had a change of heart. There was a bit of an empowering quality to giving myself a stick and poke: I was both an “artist” and a “canvas.” Will I regret my stick and poke years from now? Only time will tell, but even though it’s fresh, I’m thinking the answer is a solid no.

Maybe she’s born with it, maybe it’s eyelash extensions

LEANNA SMITH Creartive Content Editor Long, full eyelashes have been a beauty ideal for years, and traditionally people use mascara to achieve the look. Although cheap and accessible, mascara can be irritating to the eyes, difficult to remove and time-consuming to apply. Some students are opting to replace mascara with eyelash extensions, a beauty service that can cost upward of 200 dollars. Although eyelash extensions were first patented in 1911, according to NPR, the trend has become prevalent on campus over the past two years, according to Kasey McCrossen, an executive stylist and lash technician at Gloss Salon on Main Street. “I have a lot of girls that come in seasonally,” McCrossen says. “A lot of the girls who go to school here are from New York, New Jersey — I call it boujee town — and I feel like a lot of my clients who get them come from there. It’s a very trendy thing now.” Lash extensions are an enhancement of the eyelashes where individual false lashes are glued on top of natural lashes. For the first set, each eye gets about 70 to 90 lashes, depending on how many eyelashes the client has, according to Emily Shapow, a junior accounting major and certified lash technician. The process of applying

Campus trend: Flashy lashes

lashes is precise and tedious, and can take anywhere from one and a half to two hours. “The process was actually really relaxing, it feels like tiny touches on your eyelids,” Julia Granberg, a junior nursing major, says. “And you obviously have to keep your eyes closed, so you’re just laying on your back and they are behind your head reaching over to apply the lashes. I usually end up dozing off.” The extensions fall out according to the growth cycle of your natural lashes, so most people get a fill every two to four

the extensions doesn’t cause any damage to the growth or the cuticle of the natural lash. “A big misconception is that they cause damage, because when you let them fall off or get them removed the difference in your appearance is so drastic,” McCrossen says. “People think ‘Oh my gosh all of my eyelashes fell out,’ when really, this is just what you looked like before you had them.” Locally, the price for a full set of lashes at a salon will be between $150 and $220 and a fill will cost between $40 and $55. If a salon charges more

Shapow, who took a fivehour lash certification course over the summer and now works from her home, charges $75 for a full set and between $38 and $55 for a fill. Although there may be some variation in prices between individually run businesses and salons, McCrossen warns against choosing the cheapest option available. “Some nail salons charge like $20 for a full set of lashes and there’s a reason for that,” McCrossen says. “It is probably because it is a cheaper glue and things like that that could be

COURTESY OF JACEY HANSON Tape is placed under Jacey Hanson’s eyes to help with precision during the application of her eyelash extensions.

weeks depending on how fast their lashes grow and how oily their skin is. The falling out of

for the full set they will likely charge less for a fill, and vice versa, according to McCrossen.

There are many reasons why students decide to start getting eyelash extensions. After she started getting frequent eye infections from her mascara during high school, Jacey Hanson, a sophomore exercise science major, was annoyed with the process. After her freshman year suitemate talked about how much she liked eyelash extensions — Hanson was convinced to give them a try. “It was the one thing I splurged on, and it made it so easy to get up and get out of the house,” Hanson says. “I didn’t have to spend any of the time that I usually would applying makeup. I just felt like I looked better than I normally would.” Granberg decided to get eyelash extensions this summer, before she spent two weeks at a beach house as a way to treat herself and avoid the annoyances of mascara and water. “I definitely do know that people might be more quick to judge somebody for spending money for personal things for that,” Granberg says. “Like yeah, it is crazy to spend 200 dollars on your eyelashes, but if it’s what you want to do then do it. It’s about what makes you happy, not what other people think.”

damaging. So I tell people to read into that stuff before you go and spend just $20.”

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM


12

SEPTEMBER 18, 2018 udreview.com

Is there anybody out there? Many students unaware of campus media outlets Matthew McKee Senior Reporter

At the university, some of the most interesting and accessible services provided are the multiple student-run public media sources. These are not only free to access for students who wish to follow campus news and be entertained, but also organizations that any undergraduate can become a part of if they so choose. Despite this, there is still the possibility that these rare college opportunities are falling on deaf ears. Here, we attempt to answer the question: Do most students actually know about these student media? And of those who do know, how many of them actually use them? For the sake of answering these questions, I put my focus on three different media organizations that are kept up and run on campus in the same ways as any other university organization. These are WVUD, STN 49 and The Review, of course. For those out of the loop WVUD is the public radio station on campus, where students are invited to sign up and host their own shows to be heard across Newark. STN 49 is the university’s television station, where students can produce their own shows related to news, sports and more. To gauge student awareness, I set out to ask random students around campus how familiar they were with these different media entities and how often they engage with them. The results were less than stellar. Students were the most familiar with The Review, and

those who were not quickly learned about it as they were being interviewed for The Review. The location of newspapers all across campus and the prominence of the offices in Perkins Student Center seemed to be the main contributing factor to this. When it came to actually reading the paper, most students expressed that they had at least read something in the past, most commonly using the website as stories would occasionally appear in their social media feed. WVUD was almost as wellunderstood as the newspaper, the large sign on the side of Perkins again being a main reason for this. Though it seemed that most students knew what the radio station was, most could not say they ever went out of their way to listen. “I knew it existed because I lived on Academy for a while and the building was right there,” senior Dylan Leh says. But Leh had no experience listening to WVUD before, and this was much of the same from other students asked around campus. Students interviewed seemed to have the lowest awareness of STN 49. When asked for ideas on how to make them more interested in a university television station, students had a few interesting ones. Sophomore Mariah Mallis suggests that STN 49 could give students “a rundown of what’s happening” to keep them informed, similar to WVUD. Another common idea was to implement comedic programming, such as skits or

GRACE MCKENNA/THE REVIEW

Do you know about the student media sources available to you at the university? sketch comedy. However, such a show already exists. The Biweekly Show, premiering live every other Tuesday on STN 49, has been popular on the station for many years. From all the interviews, there seems to be some disconnect when it comes to student awareness of university

media. Whether this is the fault of the media outlets or the students is unknown, but both could probably do better.

‘The Perfect Blend’ of sweet and savory: a review of Main Street’s waffle cafe CHRISTINE MCINTOSH Staff Reporter The Perfect Blend is named this way for a very good reason. The atmosphere, food, drinks and people create a charming, welcoming and friendly location to satisfy your sweet tooth and coffee cravings. We were met by two lovely ladies, whose smiles made us feel welcome and immediately at home, much like the interior design choices of the rooms. The menu on two large chalkboard walls added a lovely touch of artistry and childish glee as we decided which of the many options would make the best combination of tastes for the Belgian Waffle. I am partial to M&M’s, apple butter and honey so my waffle was going to encompass all three. The options available ranged from fruits to bacon. Regardless of your taste in sweet or savory, you are guaranteed to find something you will enjoy immensely. We decided to add a cappuccino to the order, which we received first. It was the perfect blend of coffee, foam and heat to make our stomachs thank us for the decision to order them. The waffles themselves were a magical experience, but I admit that my sugary choices left me

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM

struggling to finish. The waffle itself was not too sweet. Because of this, it was a perfect base to build a meal, snack or dessert on. The breading of the waffle was a perfect blend of a fluffy interior and an ideal amount of crustiness on the exterior to make sure there wouldn’t be a sticky mess while chewing. While I wished the plates and cups would have been reusable, it is understandable that a small, family-owned place like this would prefer the compostable versions in order to focus their energy on making these delicious fares. Their focus on making each and every plate the perfect combination of ingredients that the customer desires is obvious in the details of the shop, attitudes and food. The perfect blend of service, tastes and ambiance makes The Perfect Blend a one-of-a-kind destination on Main Street.

BIANCA THIRUCHITTAMPALAM/THE REVIEW

Regardless of your taste in sweet or non-sweet, you are guaranteed to find something you will enjoy immensely.


SEPTEMBER 18, 2018 udreview.com

Croc shoc: The latest trend EMILY GRAY Staff Reporter

Crocs: comfy, customizable and collectively despised. Or are they? Since their advent in the early 2000s, Crocs have polarized shoe wearers across America. While many considered the “foam clog shoe” to be a fashion disaster, others praised it for its comfort and ease. Now, 16 years since Crocs were first introduced, the footwear appears to be back in trend. This development can trace its roots to last October, when Crocs collaborated with the Spanish fashion company Balenciaga to create a pair of fashion-forward platform clogs priced at $850. This collaboration marks a renaissance of the shoes’ popularity, which persists despite the closure of all Crocs manufacturing plants in August. While I have yet to see platform Crocs worn by the general public, standard Crocs have become a common sight on my morning commute to class.

13

“I see so many frat boys wearing Crocs now,”

Emerson Page, a sophomore at the university, says. “They think they’re being quirky.” It seems that many people who wear or enjoy Crocs do

so with an ironic attitude.

footwear only adds to the appeal of Crocs.

“I applied [to Crocs] as a joke and then they called me back and the offer was great,” says Grace Simmons, a former Crocs employee and firstyear student at Immaculata University. “Working there was what really sparked my love for them because they’re so comfy!” However, not all Crocs lovers make a mockery of the footwear. “They’re easy to slip on, fit well to your feet and are very comfortable,” Katie Giardinelli, a first-year student at the university, says.

“While I agree that they’re ugly, shoes aren’t always entirely about style. The accessibility and comfort of Crocs allow busy people to remain on their feet without having to stop their day to tie laces.” With this in mind, it is easy to see how Crocs would be an ideal shoe for on-thego college students. Both Simmons and Giardinelli also discussed an appreciation of Jibbitz, the rubber charms that can be added to the

CREATIVE COMMONS Does this mean I can’t make fun of my Dad for wearing Crocs? holes in Crocs. These accessories contribute to the shoe’s “quirkiness,” endearing them to their kooky fan base. For many, Crocs may

remain “acceptable only when gardening” as first-year student Manesvi Malpeti put it. Yet, for some, the novelty of wearing such distinct

Join The Review as a weekly cartoonist for our comic strip

“Chicken Scratch.” Go to udreview.com/join to apply. TAYLOR NGUYEN/THE REVIEW

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM


SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

S P O RT S

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM

THE REVIEW

JOE WALKER, DEFENSE SHINE IN DELAWARE WIN AGAINST CORNELL DANIEL ZABORSKY Senior Reporter

Joe Walker dazzled as Delaware dispatched the Cornell Big Red, 27-10, Saturday. Cornell took the opening possession and drove down to Delaware’s red zone. Following a bend, but don’t break mantra, the Hens gave up three points following a 13 play, 64 yard drive. They were the only points allowed by the Blue Hens first team defense. “As the game went on, it was evident to me that our defense was not gonna give up many points,” head coach Danny Rocco said. The defense allowed 232 total yards of offense, and didn’t give up a touchdown until there were 26 seconds left in the fourth. Seniors Malcolm Brown, Troy Reeder and Ray. Jones stood out, they combined for 26 total tackles. In perhaps the best game of his Blue Hens career, Joe

MEAGAN MCKINLEY Semior Reporter It started with a dream, like it does for so many kids. Nasir Adderley is a senior now, looking towards graduation and life after college football. And, as he comes off the practice field on an early season Thursday evening, he may also be looking towards a professional football career. His gaze rarely drifts backwards. He’s not seeing the stats and All-Conference awards from his time at Great Valley High School. His focus isn’t on the district title he won with his team his senior year. It’s not on turning down a scholarship to Wake Forest to keep to his commitment to Delaware and how that’s worked out for him. He mentions his past seasons only briefly. Adderley was one of two true freshmen to start all 11 games in his first collegiate season. He was part of a unit that ranked in the top five in the CAA and 24th in NCAA in total defense, ranking third and 22nd in scoring defense. He’s earned All-CAA honors, first as a cornerback his sophomore year (third team) and then as a a safety his junior year (first team). He seems too humble to dwell on past accomplishments. Asking about his senior season doesn’t bring up the preseason AllAmerican honors he and senior linebacker Troy Reeder earned. It doesn’t bring up the home opener loss to Rhode Island, or the Blue

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM

Walker racked up 154 yards on 6 catches, including a 14yard touchdown catch. His 154 yards are the most since Michael Johnson recorded 168 against Wagner in 2013. The redshirt senior

in a career. “As a former quarterback, he understands the coverages, when you call the play, he knows he has a shot at the route he’s running,” quarterback Pat Kehoe said.

Walker’s breakout lends an explosive play passing option that the Hens have lacked in recent years. Walker blew past Cornell’s defensive backs on many of his catches, including three that went for

LOUIS MASON/THE REVIEW Delaware celebrates following their 27-10 victory against Cornell Saturday.

became the first player in Delaware history to earn 100 rushing yards, 100 receiving yards and 200 passing yards

“He does a great job creating separation and and he’s a big target to put it out there for him.”

Rocco said. Prior to this year, redshirt junior Pat Kehoe hadn’t thrown a pass for the Blue Hens. The Cheshire Academy product has now produced over 200 yards passing in three straight weeks. T he 6’4”, 240-pound quarterback stayed active on his feet too — he rumbled for 23 yards and a touchdown. D espite a top 15 preseason ranking, the Hens ended the first part of their schedule 2-1. Next week, D e l a w a r e travels to North Dakota State to face the numberone-ranked FCS powerhouse. T he Bison sit pretty atop the country, opening the season 2-0. F ollowing a trip to Fargo, Delaware faces the rest of their conference schedule.

35 yards or more. “When we get him the ball deep down the field, that’s really changing the game,”

NASIR ADDERLEY: “IN THE MOMENT” Hens the blowout win over Lafayette the next week. “I’m trying to really stay in the moment and focus on winning every game,” Adderley said. “I know the better we do going into each week, everyone’s individual goals will prosper as the team wins.” What he’s carried forward from previous seasons isn’t the awards or personal successes. Instead it’s knowledge, particularly in his game day routine. “As I’ve matured I’ve learned how to take care of my body,” Adderley said. “That’s how I spend my game day, making sure I’m rolling out, stretching, getting the proper treatment I need just to endure a game. So that’s mainly the only thing, and then leading up to the game, I listen to slower music just to calm my mind down. And then right before I go out, I get all hype and just get all crazy, go win.” He adds that while he listens to a wide a variety of music, and likes fellow Philadelphian Meek Mill, right before he goes out, he prefers gospel music earlier in the day. His favorite might be “Never Would Have Made It” by Marvin Sapp. The focus on the present is so intense that when he’s asked about plans for after graduation this spring, his eyes go wide. “I can’t even believe it’s here,” Adderley said about his senior season. “Hopefully I can play professionally, but I also want to start working towards a second career and possibly open up a gym with personal training.”

Majoring in Health and Behavior Science, Adderley interned with the university’s strength and conditioning department this past summer under Chris Stewart. “I loved it,” Adderley said. “He knows so much about personal training and just fitness in general. I actually feel like he’s one of the best in the business; I learned so much from him. And it made me a better football player and just prepared me to be able to help others.” He also added that he thinks the internship helped him to prepare, hopefully, for the NFL Scouting Combine. When prompted, he dares to look far, and shares that while opening a gym in his hometown area of Philadelphia would be nice, as he’s “looking to do [personal training] worldwide.” “I want to have many different locations,” Adderley said. “I’m looking to work with anybody, not necessarily athletes, but anyone looking to gain weight, lose weight, whatever that goal may be.” On one hand, he’s setting himself up for a solid career after college, as every student hopes to do. But he’s also an athlete. He’s not staring off into the distance, looking for a future. His gaze now is sharp, focused on the here, the now, the present. Adderley does get a wistful smile when he’s asked which he would play for if he could go anywhere professionally. The Eagles, of course.

LOUIS MASON/THE REVIEW No. 23 defensive back Nasir Adderley ready to defend at Saturday’s game against Cornell.

“It’s a blessing, I’m just grateful for it all,” Adderley said. “It’s just something I always dreamed about, being watched by scouts. It just makes me go harder — it’s just all

motivation. But I truly try to stay in the moment; you can’t get too consumed with that, or it’s, like, going to deter from your potential.”


udreview.com

ELENA DELLE DONNE:

DELAWARE’S GREATEST ATHLETE TYE RICHMOND Senior Reporter Is Elena Delle Donne the best player to ever come out of Delaware? That’s been a question for quite some time now throughout the state of Delaware. On Wednesday, Sept. 19, her Delaware legacy grew a little bit more when the university announced its Athletics Hall of Fame inductees, with Delle Donne leading the new members. It’s not that hard to see why she was inducted into the Blue Hens’ Hall of Fame. A three time CAA Player of the Year, Delle Donne is the alltime leading scorer in Delaware basketball history. She is also the school leader in three point field goal percentage and blocks. As a senior, Delle Donne averaged 26 points (2nd in nation) and 8.5 rebounds. In the 2013 NCAA tournament, she became ninth player in women’s NCAA history to score over 3,000

15

career points. She and the other Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at an invitation-only induction ceremony Oct. 26 at the Carpenter Center and featured at halftime of Delaware’s home football game against Towson on Oct. 27. Before attending the university, Delle Donne attended Ursuline Academy in Wilmington, where she was a three-time Gatorade Player of the Year in Delaware. Out of high school she was ranked No. 1 in the ESPN 100 for the Class of 2008. Delle Donne went on to be selected by the Chicago Sky with the No. 2 overall pick in the 2013 draft. “If somebody told me that in five years I would be the No. 2 draft pick going to the Chicago Sky to play my professional career I would have told you you were crazy,” Delle Donne said to The News Journal when talking about the night of the WNBA draft and reminiscing on her five years at Delaware. “When I left Connecticut I told myself that basketball’s not

professional athletes that going to be in my future. It’s been such a growing experience for me.” Now, she is a five-time all star, an MVP and an Olympic gold medalist. Delle Donne has between 5-10 years left of professional basketball if she can stay healthy. In that time, she could break WNBA records and win quite a few WNBA championships as well. She may even be the first person born and raised person from Delaware to COURTESY OF DELAWARE ATHLETICS go into the professional Basketball Hall of Fame. Her legacy isn’t Former Blue Hen and current WNBA player for the Washington Mystics, Elena Delle finished yet, but the amount of success she has Donne, on her home court at Delaware. had in such little time is incredible. She played high appreciate about Delle Donne school basketball in Delaware is that she doesn’t forget where are from Delaware currently. and was the best player in the she came. She visits Delaware Maybe one of them can surpass state for over three years. She every offseason, spending her the legacy of Delle Donne in stayed home and continued time training at her former their sporting career. Or there to play basketball for the high school, Ursuline Academy is a kid right now, that nobody university and led them to during the winter. She also runs knows of, who we will be heights the Blues Hens hadn’t fundraisers and basketball talking about like how we now yet seen. camps during the offseason to talk about Delle Donne. Time Even though now she is give back to the community. will tell. a basketball superstar what I There are plenty of

DELAWARE’S FALL SPORTS OPEN SEASONS WITH MIXED RESULTS DYLAN PHILLIPS Senior Reporter

one of the strongest rating percentage indices in the The first few weeks of the nation. Competing fall semester don’t just once with schools in again introduce classes, books major athletic and studying — they also bring programs such as back Delaware athletics. From the ACC, PAC-12, Big Head Coach Danny Rocco’s East, MAC and Ivy Fightin’ Blue Hens football League conferences team to the 2016 field hockey will prove to be national champions, here’s challenging yet a look at all things Blue Hen beneficial. athletics. A p p l y i n g experience from Football tough competition Starting the season off and employing it in with a promising 2-1 record a “very strong CAA,” following Saturday night’s coach Hennessy COURTESTY OF DELAWARE ATHLETICS 27-10 victory against Cornell, Senior Greta Nauck scored one of two goals for the No. 13 Blue Hens on Sunday against No. 5 and his Blue Hens Delaware football and Head will look to post Cornell. Coach Danny Rocco will look their fourth CAA to sustain their early-season North Dakota State next Saturday. coach, the team finds themselves championship appearance in momentum throughout the year. off to a favorable 6-6 record, five years. Following a rocky Rebounding strong after losing already surpassing their 2017 1-5 start to kick of the year, the to Rhode Island in their season- Volleyball win total in just 12 games under team will need to heed their early opener, the squad bounced back Entering her second year as Matthews’ helm. season downfalls if they wish with a combined total of 57 Delaware’s head volleyball coach, to compete for the CAA title points the following two weeks, Sara Matthews looks to improve Men’s Soccer and, conceivably, a berth in the including 37 in a shutout win following a 5-21 debut season Similar to field hockey Head national tournament. against Lafayette. that saw various personnel Coach Rolf van de Kerkhof Two weeks, two wins. Danny changes, youth and collective and his team, head coach Ian Field Hockey Rocco and his team will attempt inconsistency. Hennessy and the Hens began The Blue Hen field hockey to continue their hot streak at In her sophomore season as their 2018 season campaign with team is no stranger to hot

streaks. Finishing ninth in national rankings to conclude last season only means increased expectations this year for head coach Rolf van de Kerkhof. “Our players group is always up for a challenge,” van de Kerkhof told assistant athletic communications director Maggie Hayon. “We look back on the strong growth of their understanding, abilities and preparation this past spring, which will allow them to be confident facing a very competitive 2018 game schedule.” The eight-year head coach will certainly need to keep the same focus as his team holds the 11th nationally ranked strength of schedule this year, according to fieldhockeycorner.com. Currently 4-4 and with six returning starters from last season, Delaware will look to compete for their sixth consecutive conference title and a chance to make a run in the national tournament.

BLUE HEN OF THE WEEK: JOE WALKER LOUIS MASON/THE REVIEW Red shirt senior wide receiver Joe Walker had a standout career performance with the Blue Hens 27-10 win over Cornell. Walker not only had an outstanding six catches for 154 yards and a touchdown, he also made Delaware history being the first Blue Hen to have a 200-yard passing game, a 100-yard rushing game and a 100-yard receiving game in their career.

WWW.UDREVIEW.COM


Danielle Lecce

BLUE HEN SPOTLIGHT

September 18, 2018 - Issue 3, Volume 145  

The latest from the campus of the University of Delaware.

September 18, 2018 - Issue 3, Volume 145  

The latest from the campus of the University of Delaware.

Advertisement