Page 8

2012 C-USA Postseason Awards Major C-USA Awards C-USA Most Valuable Player QB- Rakeem Cato, So., Marshall C-USA Offensive Player of the Year RB- Zach Line, Sr., SMU C-USA Defensive Player of the Year DB- Kemal Ishmael, Sr., UCF C-USA Special Teams Player of the Year KR- Quincy McDuffie, Sr., UCF C-USA Freshman of the Year RB- Kevin Grooms, Marshall C-USA Newcomer of the Year RB- Vintavious Cooper, Jr., ECU C-USA Coach of the Year Bill Blankenship, Tulsa All-C-USA First Team - Offense QB- Rakeem Cato, So., Marshall RB- Zach Line, Sr., SMU RB- Latavius Murray, Sr., UCF RB- Darrin Reaves, So., UAB OL- Jacolby Ashworth, Sr., Houston OL- Brian DeShane, Sr., Tulsa OL- Jared Grigg, Sr., Tulsa OL- Chris Hubbard, Sr., UAB OL- Jordan Rae, Sr., UCF TE- Vance McDonald, Sr., Rice WR- Ryan Grant, Jr., Tulane WR- Justin Hardy, So., East Carolina WR- Tommy Shuler, So., Marshall All-C-USA First Team - Defense DL- Jamie Collins, Sr., Southern Miss DL- Troy Davis, Sr., UCF DL- Cory Dorris, Sr., Tulsa DL- Margus Hunt, Sr., SMU LB- DeAundre Brown, Sr., Tulsa LB- Ja’Gared Davis, Sr., SMU LB- Phillip Steward, Sr., Houston DB- Phillip Gaines, Jr., Rice DB- D.J. Hayden, Sr., Houston DB- Kemal Ishmael, Sr., UCF DB- Dexter McCoil, Sr., Tulsa All-C-USA First Team - Special Teams K- Cairo Santos, Jr., Tulane P- Richie Leone, Jr., Houston KR- Quincy McDuffie, Sr., UCF PR- J.J. Worton, So., UCF LS- Billy Johnson, Gr., Tulane UCF’s All-C-USA Second Team members QB- Blake Bortles, So. OL- Torrian Wilson, So. DB- A.J. Bouye, Sr.

Team Notes BOWLIN’ ON THE BAY • All of the hard work in 2012 has paid off with a journey into the bowl season as UCF will rumble with Ball State in the Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl in St. Petersburg Dec. 21 at 7:30 p.m. • Ticket information is available by calling (407) UCF1000 or by visiting • The Knights will be playing in their fifth bowl game in the last eight seasons. • UCF’ bowl game results: Year Bowl Game Opponent Result 2005 Sheraton Hawaii Bowl Nevada L, 48-49 (OT) 2007 AutoZone Liberty Bowl Miss. St. L, 3-10 2009 St. Petersburg Bowl Rutgers L, 24-45 2010 AutoZone Liberty Bowl Georgia W, 10-6 • The Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl is one of 10 this year which features two teams with at least nine victories. MEMORABLE EVENTS AT TROPICANA FIELD • Along with UCF’s 2009 bowl game vs. Rutgers, here are a few key moments that have taken place at Tropicana Field: -March 3, 1990 - Opened to the public as Florida Suncoast Dome -Aug. 11, 1990 - Largest crowd in building history as 47,150 appeared at a concert featuring The New Kids on the Block -Nov. 30-Dec. 2, 1990 - The 79th edition of the Davis Cup draws 53,150 attending the three-day event -June 19, 1993 - Arena League’s Tampa Bay Storm shattered their own attendance record for a regular season game with 28,746 vs. the Orlando Predators -Oct. 9, 1993 - Stadium renamed ThunderDome -April 23, 1996 - A then-record NHL crowd of 28,183 attended Game Four of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals between the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Philadelphia Flyers -Oct. 4, 1996 - Renamed Tropicana Field -March 31, 1998 - The Tampa Bay Devil Rays host the Detroit Tigers for their first MLB game in front of a capacity crowd of 45,369. -March 27-29, 1999 - The 1999 Final Four, featuring Duke, Ohio State, Michigan State and eventualchampion Connecticut, drew capacity crowds of 40,632 and 39,113 -Aug. 7, 1999 - Wade Boggs records his 3,000th career hit and becomes the second player in MLB history to hit a HR for hit No. 3,000 -Oct. 22, 2008 - The Tampa Bay Rays host Game One of the 2008 World Series. -July 26, 2010 - Matt Garza pitches a no-hitter for the Tampa Bay Rays

UCF’s All-C-USA Honorable Mention members OL- Jordan McCray, Jr. TE- Justin Tukes, So. WR- Rannell Hall, So. UCF’s C-USA All-Freshman Team members WR- Breshad Perriman DL- Deion Green UCF’s C-USA All-Academic Team members LB- Ray Shipman, Sr.


Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl - Dec. 21, 2012

DIVISION TITLES • During its tenure in Conference USA, UCF claimed four East Division titles in eight seasons (2005-12). • UCF’s division titles: Season Overall Record Conference Record 2005 8-5 7-1 2007 10-4 7-1 2010 11-3 7-1 2012 9-4 7-1 NO. 200 • The Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl marks George O’Leary’s 200th career game as a head coach. • Coach O’Leary stands at 111-88 overall, including a 59-55 record in nine years at UCF and a 52-33 mark in six seasons at Georgia Tech. • He will be coaching in his ninth bowl game this year, and has the second-most wins by a UCF head coach (Gene McDowell had 86 from 1985-97). • More details can be found in Coach O’Leary’s bio on pages 46-47. KEEPING PENALTIES TO A MINIMUM • UCF is currently averaging just 4.00 penalties per game, which is tied for the school record. • Fewest penalties per game Season Penalties/Games Average 2012 52/13 4.00 2009 52/13 4.00 2006 55/12 4.58 2004 55/11 5.00 2010 71/14 5.07 • Before head coach George O’Leary’s first year at UCF, the Knights were averaging 7.54 penalties per game from 1979-03. • Under O’Leary’s guidance from 2004-12, UCF is now averaging 5.19 penalties per contest. • The Knights’ top five years for fewest penalties per game have all come under O’Leary’s watch. • Conversely in 2012, opponents have been whistled only 49 times for an average of 3.77 per outing, the fewest in UCF history. • UCF’s last four winning seasons all witnessed the Knights rank in the top 23 in the FBS in penalties: Season Average-Rank Season Note 2007 5.29-18th C-USA Champs/Liberty Bowl 2009 4.00-3rd St. Pete Bowl 2010 5.07-23rd C-USA Champs/Liberty Bowl 2012 4.00-8th Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl

Social Media Facebook UCF Football



Profile for UCF Knights

2012 UCF Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl Guide  

Official media guide for the Knights' trip to St. Petersburg for their fifth bowl game in the last eight seasons.

2012 UCF Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl Guide  

Official media guide for the Knights' trip to St. Petersburg for their fifth bowl game in the last eight seasons.