Page 2

MONDAY, MARCH 18, 2013 |

YOUR GUIDE TO UBC EVENTS + PEOPLE

WHAT’S ON

this week, may we suggest...

2

PICS OF THE WEEK

MONDAY 18 WASTE MANAGEMENT: HITLER’s BATHTUB 6– 8 p.m. @ LASSERRE 102

The department of art history, visual art & theory presents photographer and journalist Lee Miller’s work from World War II.

TUESDAY

19

KARAOKE

9 p.m. @ the gallery

There are only a few weeks left to belt it out in front of all your peers at the Gallery. So take that awesome voice of yours (we know it’s beautiful) and head on down to your local campus watering hole. Oh, and support your student society by drinking.

WEDNESDAY 20 TIME MANAGEMENT WORKSHOP

5:30–7 p.m. @ IKBLC

With finals around the corner, now is the best time to get a little help managing your time. This workshop will help you take control of your time and be the most efficient student you can be. Register at spac.science.ubc.ca.

IN THE KNOW

Did you know that The Ubyssey editorial staff elections are in less than three weeks? To be eligible to vote, you must make three contributions to the paper (which can include proofing, editing, writing, photographing, etc.) as well as attending the next three staff meetings, held at 2 p.m. on Fridays. If you have any questions regarding editorial elections, please contact coordinating editor Jonny Wakefield at coordinating @ ubyssey.ca or elections administrator Colin Chia at cchia@ubyssey.ca.

Video content Make sure to check out Tyler McRobbie’s latest cooking show, airing now at ubyssey.ca/videos/.

U The Ubyssey

editorial

Senior Lifestyle Writer Justin Fleming jfleming@ubyssey.ca

Coordinating Editor Jonny Wakefield coordinating@ubyssey.ca Features Editor Arno Rosenfeld Managing Editor, Print features@ubyssey.ca Jeff Aschkinasi printeditor@ubyssey.ca Video Editor David Marino Managing Editor, Web video@ubyssey.ca Andrew Bates Copy Editor webeditor@ubyssey.ca Karina Palmitesta News Editors copy@ubyssey.ca Will McDonald + Art Director Laura Rodgers Kai Jacobson news@ubyssey.ca art@ubyssey.ca Senior News Writer Graphics Assistant Ming Wong mwong@ubyssey.ca Indiana Joel ijoel@ubyssey.ca Culture Editor Anna Zoria Layout Artist culture@ubyssey.ca Collyn Chan cchan@ubyssey.ca Senior Culture Writer Rhys Edwards Videographer redwards@ubyssey.ca Lu Zhang lzhang@ubyssey.ca Sports + Rec Editor Webmaster CJ Pentland Riley Tomasek sports@ubyssey.ca webmaster@ubyssey.ca

STAFF Bryce Warnes, Josh Curran, Peter Wojnar, Anthony Poon, Veronika Bondarenko, Yara Van Kessel, Catherine Guan, Ginny Monaco, Matt Meuse, Hogan Wong, Rory Gattens, Brandon Chow, Joseph Ssettuba. Tyler McRobbie, Sarah Bigam, Stephanie Xu, Natalya Kautz, Colin Chia, Kim Pringle, Geoff Lister

MARCH 18, 2013 | Volume XCIV| Issue XLViI BUSINESS

CONTACT

Business Manager Fernie Pereira fpereira@ubyssey.ca

Editorial Office: SUB 24 604.822.2301

Ad Sales Ben Chen bchen@ubyssey.ca Accounts Tom Tang ttang@ubyssey.ca

Business Office: SUB 23 604.822.1654 604.822.6681 Student Union Building 6138 SUB Boulevard Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1 Advertising Inquiries

Online: ubyssey.ca Twitter: @ubyssey

LEGAL The Ubyssey is the official student newspaper of the University of British Columbia. It is published every Monday and Thursday by The Ubyssey Publications Society. We are an autonomous, democratically run student organization, and all students are encouraged to participate. Editorials are chosen and written by the Ubyssey staff. They are the expressed opinion of the staff, and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Ubyssey Publications Society or the University of British Columbia. All editorial content appearing in The Ubyssey is the property of The Ubyssey Publications Society. Stories, opinions, photographs and artwork contained

herein cannot be reproduced without the expressed, written permission of The Ubyssey Publications Society. The Ubyssey is a founding member of Canadian University Press (CUP) and adheres to CUP’s guiding principles. Letters to the editor must be under 300 words. Please include your phone number, student number and signature (not for publication) as well as your year and faculty with all submissions. ID will be checked when submissions are dropped off at the editorial office of The Ubyssey; otherwise verification will be done by phone. The Ubyssey reserves the right to edit submissions for length and clari-

ty. All letters must be received by 12 noon the day before intended publication. Letters received after this point will be published in the following issue unless there is an urgent time restriction or other matter deemed relevant by the Ubyssey staff. It is agreed by all persons placing display or classified advertising that if the Ubyssey Publications Society fails to publish an advertisement or if an error in the ad occurs the liability of the UPS will not be greater than the price paid for the ad. The UPS shall not be responsible for slight changes or typographical errors that do not lessen the value or the impact of the ad.

josh curran photos/the ubyssey

Members of the UBC varsity nordic ski team train at Cypress Mountain last weekend.

March 18, 2013  
March 18, 2013  

March 18, 2013 | The Ubyssey

Advertisement