Page 1

1

Hope


2


1

(The end is) Quixotic Produced by Level Three BA(Hons) Graphic Design Students at The University of the West of England, Bristol Š 2012 theendis.co.uk typenowhere.com To find out more about the process visit blog.theendis.co.uk 02 Talking or Predicting 04 Legitimate or Coincidence? 06 Divination 08 Quixotic Workshop 13 Utopian or Dystopian 26 The End Is


2

Talking or Predicting The year 2012 holds many connotations: the end of the world, the Olympic games and the end of many students’ university education. The future has become the central theme for many events, with the design world in particular picking up on its significance. Well-renowned design festivals all over the world are engaging in discussion and debate as to how design can be used to improve our collective futures. .

P R O B A B LY P O S S I B LY L I K E LY S O M E W H AT Much of this ‘future talk’ relies upon the use of qualifiers.


3

An assertion, or statement, by definition, ought to be a clear solid expression of fact, but the use of qualifiers widely discredits the claims, and the reputation of the futurologist using them.

2001: A Space Odyssey, Stanley Kubrick, 1968

Many futurologists have predicted dates for the end of the world, and these dates have peacefully passed without incident. Yet futurologists continue to predict and the public continue to believe. For example, futurologists have used the Mayan calendar to predict the end of the world on the 21st December 2012, and many wait in anticipation. The natural human instinct of anxiety, caused by the insecurity of uncertainty, causes people to become obsessed by predictions. This inspired discussions on the imperfections of talking about futurology and investigation into the ambitious routes to predicting the future.

If you want to know what the world might actually be like in 2050 you’d do better to browse in the science fiction and fantasy section of your local online retailer. Will Self, Professor of Contemporary Thought, Brunel University. Metropolis, Fritz Lang, 1927


4

E

R

S

E Legitimate or Coincidence? The futurologist, John Elfrith Watkins, was a nineteenth century American civil engineer that predicted what life would be like in the year 2000. Of his list of twenty-nine in-depth predictions, ten were correct and the rest seem eminently possible in the very near future. “These prophecies will seem strange, almost impossible,” stated Watkins, whose predictions were published in ‘The Women’s Home Journal’- a magazine by no means scientifically regarded. Unlike Watkins who took an educated approach to his predictions, many futurologists have taken a more spiritual, un-factual based approach. Sixteenth century physician and astrologer, Nostradamus predicted the future through a combination of astrological study and divine inspiration. Exceedingly Idealistic When examining Watkins’ predictions that are yet to come true, one that stood out in particular was the obsolescence of the letters C, Q and X. Searching for a word that contained all three letters, resulted in the word ‘Quixotic’, defined as exceedingly idealistic, unrealistic and impractical. This seemed highly fitting to the investigation into futurologists and the notion of making predictions. Using Watkins’ sense of confidence and Notradamus’ sense of belief, a set of predictions for the next one hundred years have been generated by the graphic design students through a futurologist workshop.

“Persons and things of all kinds will be brought within focus of cameras connected electrically with screens at opposite ends…” John Elfrith Watkins, Women’s Home Journal, 1900


5

1555

The Prophecies

French Revolution

1789

1666

London Fire

Princess Diana’s Death

1997

Kennedy Assassinations

1963

2001

Twin Towers

1945

Atomic Bomb

1889

Birth of Hitler

“Earthshaking fire from the center of the Earth Will cause tremors around the New City. Two great rocks will war for a long time, Then Arethusa will redden a new river.” Nostradamus, Les Propheties, 1555


.XIX

6

. XXVI

.XVI

.I .XXI .VIII .III

.XVIII

.XVII

.XXVII

.XXVX

Divination by means of:

.XXV

Ailuromancy Alectormancy Anthomancy Anthracomancy Astragalomancy Astromancy Capnomancy Cartomancy Chirognomy Axinomancy Batraquomancy Belomancy Bibliomancy Dririmancy Enoptromancy Halomancy Hydromancy Enoptromancy Cleidomancy Rhabdomancy Oomancy Ophidiomancy Dactyliomancy Conchomancy Lithomancy Urimancy Myomany Metopomancy Osteomancy Cromnyomancy Selenomancy

.XIV

.XXII

.XX

.IV

.XXVIII

.V

.XXIV

I II III IV V VI VII VIII IX X XI XII XIII XIV XV XVI XVII XVII XVIII XIX XX XXI XXII XXIII XXIV XXV XXVI XXVII XXVIII XXVIV XXVX

.XXIII

.VII

.X

.VI

.II .XII .IX

.XI .IV .I

.I

.XXVIV .XIII


7

A

B

mn

uvw t s r

op q u

Pred

hij k l

To d yo ay is ul oo the kf orw tomo ard rrow to

efg

ic t i v e D

III

METHODS

.X

Bibliomancy

C

.IX

CHOSEN

a b cd z y x


8

A. The Vessel

I.

Candidate No 34 Alex Mander II.

Candidate No 51 Rebecca Gibbs III.

Candidate No 73 Jack Franklin

C.


9

T

Workshop e h

Quixotic

B.

In order to create a set of predictions content was gathered through a series of workshop tasks, which were carried out by Level Three BA(Hons) Graphic Design students. They utilized a variety of prediction methods including the ‘End of the World’ questionnaires, fortune cookies, dice and a ouija board. This provided a collection of information, which was then deconstructed to predict and visualise the future, an exceedingly idealistic, unrealistic and impractical task. Subsequently, a series of graphical responses based on innovation and originality were created by the students. In keeping with the spirit of the design course which encourages thinking beyond the obvious, engaging with debate, looking past what is already being said and taking risks to produce work that communicates strong ideas.

D.


10

*


11

*

having

wonderful

Slip No 12, Table C

Such things are having the most wonderful time

Through rigorous content analysis we filtered through all the findings to discover and align predictions.


12


13

Th

ediction r P e s

Quixotic

We have provided both a utopian and dystopian perspective across all predictions. Use accordingly.


14

IN

A P P R O X I M AT E LY

– « 2 6 2 · 6 9 7 0 2 » Y

E

A

R

S

D

E

~ A

>

O

R

R

E

D

~ R E P U B L I C

W

I

L

~

L

B

E

E S T,

RESULTING

IN

THE

CREATION

OF AN

UNDERWELT Underwelt* — *Underworld


15

Numbers

~

156.868421

+

156.868421

331.2

+

448.06842

192.15

+

680.21842

467.6

+

1,147.81842

165.66667

1,313.48509

~

μ = 262.69702

Words

Wonderful world When Stage of maturity To In the

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Hanging Most Wonderful Time Of Wunderwelt Wenn Reifestadium Zu Im Movements Particle Machine Wormhole Technology Future Outside Where Thought Enemy Said What Zorola Still Out Read Such Come Of Legend This Home A Take Across Republic Blind

WUNDERWELT Wunderwelt* — *Wonderful world

Utterly And Off This Path And Finding The Ordered Forward Can A With To Level Better A An Costume


16


17


18

Toast Not Plum Natural Toast Thought-properties To Bodies That See Is This Diversity Than Extraordinary Foster Surface Finally Agressive Eyrie Or Consideration Channel Bird Ceremonial Gefahr Die Technik Annahmen Rechtsgeschichte Digkeit Epiphanies Kid The Players Knee Almost Tray John Diswasher Barware Clouds With LED Suitable Use Make They At Trip To Avotralva Fly With

«

« «

«

«

«

«

« «

T, J, Q , G, U, B, M, G, Z, A, R, P

6 Letter Words:

5 Letter Words:

Abrupt Gazump Muggar Quartz Tambur

Burqa Gamut Gramp Grump Jurat Pruta Quart Rumba Tramp Trump Umbra


19

Extraordinary thought-properties lead to suitable fuel

Petroleum is not suitable they almost die


20

Oklahoma Pounds House Gorden End Here By Chuck Rescue Hold Number Sixteen Person Nor Their Not

Single What If Wrong Washing Over Frozen It Men Trees Decorations Cooking Gift Women Should 1441 Figure The Sound expression Camal Applies Stroke You Your Line From May The Wise The

Tenderness People Independence Stood Room Untied United

In the future, all transportation systems will be owned by one international corporation. The global infrastructure will become united in order to support economic growth and maintain social structure. In the future, the transportation infrastructure will collapse. The combined problems of population increase, dependence on diminishing fossil fuels and widespread natural disasters will have a detrimental effect. The strands holding the infrastructure together will gradually untie, causing widespread panic and economic collapse.


21


22

is that you want whether there resembling is thing a sociation questions chemical used gemini boston wormhole away see to this products range for brands sony tenderness people independence stood room both version direction think polish

We’ve got you Covered and Protected ‥

In the future, America will have full control of the centre of Europe via Poland. This will allow a missile cover of more than 98% guaranteeing the continent safety from those who may attack.

is that you want whether there is thing a used away see to this for stood room both resembling sociation questions chemical gemini boston wormhole products range brands sony tenderness people independence version direction think polish


23

Covered by Missiles questions chemical boston range people independence version direction polish

‥

In the future, America will have full control of the centre of Europe via Poland. This will allow a missile cover of more than 98% resulting in Europe becoming a forced ally, resembling a dictatorship.


24

es oc Pr

Fu tu ed

s

ict in gt he

ve ati Cre

THE END IS

re

Quixotic

Pr

The End Is ‌ How do you cope with the complex unpredictability of the world around you? The impulsiveness of the creative process is quixotic, the volatility of the decision-making procedure impacts on change. A future is strived for until it all runs out. Everything will eventually come to an end, our course, the day, this life, maybe even this world.

.......


25

Produced by Level Three UWE Graphic Design Students Š 2012 Peter Adams peteadamsdesign.co.uk

Katie Marie Davidson katiedavidsongraphicdesign.co.uk

Sudarat Makeshine smakeshine.com

Edward Tolkien edtolkien.co.uk

Riya Aris Fadzilah riyaaris.com

Alex Mander alexmander.com

Alexander Tye alextye89.tumblr.com

Lee Armitage leearmitage.co.uk

Andrew Duncan theduncan.co.uk Suzie Eland suzieeland.co.uk

Callum McHugh callummchugh.com

Mim Van Der Waal mimvanderwaal.com

Ben Atkin benatkin.co.uk

Engy Elboreini engyelboreini.com

Christina Melo cristinamelo.com

Andrew Veale andyveale.co.uk

Duncan Bambridge cargocollective.com/db-designdunks

Jack Franklin iamjackfranklin.co.uk

Azlif Mohamed axlif.com

Thamsoontorn Veerachat verachat007.tumblr.com

Charlotte Bard charlottebard.co.uk

Celia Gennetay designed-curiosity.com

Shaun Ogden shaunogden.com

Abbie Vickress abbievickress.co.uk

Harry Beeson harrybeeson.com

Rebecca Gibbs rebeccagibbs.co.uk

Rebecca Penmore rebeccapenmore.co.uk

Thomas Walker tomwalker.tw

Thomas Bennett cargocollective.com/thomasjamesdesign

Magnus Hearn magnushearn.co.uk

Yoke Wah Poon behance.net/stephaniepoon

James Ward jim-ward.co.uk

Tom Bird tombirddesign.co.uk

Ryan Hegarty ryanhegarty.co.uk

Gerald Pudijiono grld.net

Grace Watling gracewatling.co.uk

Sebastian Bland sebastianbland.co.uk

Louise Iddon boojou.co.uk

Jangir Rashid gt9.co.uk

Amy White amywhitedesign.co.uk

CJ Brown cj-browndesign.com

Koyuki Inagaki koyoox.com

Amber Reyland amberreyland.com

Samantha Williams samwgraphics.blogspot.co.uk

Vickie Burns vickieburns.com

Edmund Ion eddieion.com

Liam Roberts LiamRobertsDesign.co.uk

Katherine Wood katewooddesign.co.uk

Ani Bushry cargocollective.com/anibushry

Laurie Jackson laurieguy.co.uk

Stewart Ruffle stewartruffle.co.uk

Violetta Wyszynska thesilkdesign.com

Noah Campeau noahcampeau.com

Callum Jepps caljepps.com

Jane Sheppard janesheppard.co.uk

Rosie Canning rosiecanning.com

Kanika Jindal kanikajindal.com

Josh Sherwood joshsherwood.co.uk

Holly Catford catford.com

Helen Kidwell helenkidwell.co.uk

Luke Smith lukesmithdesign.com

Woon Chien Ch’ng woonteddy.wordpress.com

Emma Kilvington emmakilvington.com

Sam Stefan samstefan.co.uk

Ian Chong Jia Han ianchong8.tumblr.com

Suet Lee Yee behance.net/suey-vinie

Zheng Joo Tan cargocollective.com/cautionarytale

Yan Wai Chan tiffanyanwai.tumblr.com

Yee Hong Lim cargocollective.com/isohigh

Harrison Tanner harrisontanner.co.uk

Huey May Chong behance.net/hueymay

Sheila Lui Pak Yu wix.com/pakntat/sheilala

Lin Wei Teoh viviteoh.wordpress.com

theendis.co.uk info@theendis.co.uk

Nathan Clark nathanclarkdesign.co.uk

Fai Mak www.futurist.hk/fai_portfo Ka-Wing Cary Mak carymak.tumblr.com

Ellen Thomas ellen-thomas.co.uk

typenowhere.com

Ben Curliss cargocollective.com/bencurlissdesign

Sam Thomas samphillipthomas.co.uk


26

less

Talk About The Future Has Never Been More Hope/Less  

Talk About The Future has been produced by Level Three BA (Hons) Graphic Design Students at The University of the West of England in Bristol...

Talk About The Future Has Never Been More Hope/Less  

Talk About The Future has been produced by Level Three BA (Hons) Graphic Design Students at The University of the West of England in Bristol...

Advertisement