Page 1

TM

In This Issue: EWCHEC-Hutto Campus Opening Placement Testing & Assessment Financial Aid Workshop & Appreciation Luncheon College Preview & Open House New Faces © Published by Texas State Technical College Waco . August 2011 Issue

TechTalk A Newsletter for Counselors and Teachers

WELCOME

TSTC Waco would like to welcome you back to school! EWCHEC-Hutto Now Open! TSTC’s Certificate Programs

. Air Conditioning & Refrigeration . Combination Welding . Electrical Construction . Culinary Arts . Industrial Systems Mechanic . Radio Communication Electronics

(offered in Taylor)

As always, we appreciate all you do. A new school year is an exciting time and brings with it changes, new challenges and rewarding accomplishments. We want to keep you informed of some of the exciting things happening at TSTC. New Programs Available in East Williamson County

Residents in East Williamson County now have an exceptional educational opportunity available in their own backyards. TSTC Waco is partnering with Temple College to offer college courses in Hutto, at a temporary location at Veterans’ Hill, located at 555 Limmer Loop in Round Rock. TSTC will provide the technical program instruction while Temple College offers the traditional academic courses. TSTC is a participating member of the East Williamson County Higher Education Center (EWCHEC), a regional higher education center for East Williamson County with the goal of preparing students for college and workforce readiness. For more information about touring, financial aid or enrolling at TSTC, contact our new EWCHEC Enrollment Services Coordinator Jeff Pyeatt at 512-759-5602 or visit www.tstc.edu/higher. Classes will begin this fall on Monday, Aug. 29.

FYI: New TSTC Waco 2011-2012 Catalog Save time and quickly find everything you need to know about TSTC Waco and its program offerings with the 2011-12 catalog, now available online!

Jeff Pyeatt, EWCHEC-Hutto Enrollment Services Coordinator

To find information on academic programs, course descriptions, campus information and more, go to www.waco.tstc.edu/catalog.


Page 2

A Newsletter for Counselors and Teachers

Workshop & Appreciation Luncheon for Counselors & Teachers Find out about the new financial aid updates and then let us treat you to an appreciation luncheon on Thursday, Dec. 8, from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Financial Aid Workshop / JBC Auditorium 8:30-11:30 a.m and 1-3 p.m. Appreciation Luncheon / ITC Atrium 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

! S U N JOI

Register now at www.esc12.net for Session #36956.

Contact US! Chris Gropp, Director of Recruiting Services chris.gropp@tstc.edu . 254.867.4806 Autumn Outlaw, Coordinator autumn.outlaw@tstc.edu . 254.867.2026 Nanette Torres, Admissions Advisor nanette.torres@tstc.edu . 254.867.4835 Kacey Darnell, Admissions Advisor kacey.darnell@tstc.edu . 254.867.2249 Verna Lastrapes, Admissions Advisor verna.lastrapes@tstc.edu . 254.867.3373 Kenny Bosher, Admissions Advisor kenny.bosher@tstc.edu . 254.867.4813 Roger Hinojosa, Admissions Advisor roger.hinojosa@tstc.edu . 254.867.2364 Eric Watson, Admissions Advisor eric.watson@tstc.edu . 254.867.2367 Vicky Long, Staff Assistant vicky.long@tstc.edu . 254.867.2005

NEW FACES

TSTC welcomes three new Admissions Advisors to our staff. From left, Roger Hinojosa, Kenny Bosher and Eric Watson.

Annual College Preview & Open House Our annual College Preview & Open House is scheduled for 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Friday, March 30, and Saturday, March 31. This is a great time to bring a group of students to tour the college, meet with financial aid, housing and representatives and visit our industry-standard labs.

If you’d like to schedule a tour on another date or have questions about our College Preview, please contact Autumn Outlaw at 254-867-2026 or autumn.outlaw@ tstc.edu. To register online for the event, go to www.waco.tstc.edu/preview.

Test Scores Matter We want your students to be successful in their college courses, so a college placement test is an important first step. Students’ test scores will determine where they start on their path to success at TSTC. Placement testing before registering for classes includes Accuplacer, Asset, Compass and THEA. TSTC offers testing for both the Accuplacer and THEA onsite and Success Coaches to help students prepare for their placement tests in advance. Students may qualify for testing exemptions if they have certain scores on TAKS, ACT or the SAT. For more information on placement tests and the accepted scores, visit www.waco.tstc.edu/assessment.

Tech Talk August 2011  

TSTC Waco Recruiting Services newsletter for counselors and teachers.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you