Page 22

CHAMBER AWARDS Women Leaders, continued from page 20

The 2016 ATHENA Award was presented to Deborah Leydig of Norton’s U.S.A. Leydig started her career in fashion design working for Geoffrey Beene, Ellen Tracey and Jones of New York. During the 1980s she switched her focus to graphic design and sold gift wrapping paper to department stores under her designer label. In 1987, she began a professional acting career and after appearing in a play about the decline in American products; she opened Norton’s U.S.A in 2007 in Barrington to help the American worker and manufacturer. Her quest to save the American worker has led to a highly successful storefront and online business all dedicated to made in America products. In her community, Leydig is a loccal business leader and mentor, and has supported many local organizations.

The Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce’s Women’s Biz Net is a network of women empowering women. WBN offers monthly meetings and programs that bring relevant topics, networking opportunities and a forum for building relationships. WBN’s first ATHENA Leadership Award was presented to Joyce Palmquist, Executive Director of the Barrington Area Council on Aging (BACOA), in November 2012. The 2014 award was presented to Ellaine Sambo-Reyther, Director, Private Wealth Advisor, at BMO Harris Bank. The 2015 ATHENA recipient was Dr. Amy Derick of Derick Dermatology.

BACC AWARDS $3,500 IN SCHOLARSHIPS TO LOCAL HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS The Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce awarded $3,500 in scholarships to seven local high school students during its 39th annual “Spotlight on Barrington’s Stars Luncheon” on April 20 at the Marriott Northwest. “Each year BACC awards the Lauren Brown Memorial Scholarship to local high school students to help with expenses of higher education that builds future careers,” said BACC President/CEO Suzanne Corr. “The scholarship can be awarded to students attending universities, community colleges, vocational or trade school programs.” The scholarship is named after Lauren Brown, a lovely young woman who worked for the Chamber for several years and lost her battle with cancer at the age of 29. Winners of the 2016 BACC Lauren Brown Memorial Scholarship were: Griffin Bailey, Rachel Currie, Abigail Elo, Lance Gasher, Katharine Mena, Laura Mena, and Justin Spiegel. “The Lauren Brown Memorial Scholarships are funded by Chamber members through many Chamber events such as our BACC Golf Classic, our annual dinner and our Women’s Biz Net activities,” Corr said. ■

“The ATHENA Award was created in 1982

to illuminate inspiring women leaders that excel in their profession, give back to their communities, and most importantly, are role models to other women.



ILBARCW16 design.indd 22

8/11/2016 8:23:50 AM

Barrington Illinois Community Profile  

Barrington: a community rich in both cultural and geographic diversity, and a community that has been coined as “unique” by many of ourvisit...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you