the fire all but destroyed the original collection of books, as well as artworks by Sir William Dobell, OBE (1899-1970) and Thomas Gainsborough (1727-88).7 Richard Heathcote, the former Director of Carrick Hill (2004-17), observed that, “during their honeymoon ... they began to understand that their South Australian home would need to stand as a symbol of their own cultural origins and as a link with another life so geographically distant from the one into which they were born”. The Beaudesert sale allowed them to emulate the style of living and entertainment typical of upper class English households. It was a bold and extraordinary act to acquire fittings that dictated so forcefully the shape of the dwelling into which they would be incorporated. Bill and Ursula were the first to transport back to Australia sufficient doors, windows, fireplaces, oak panelling and a great staircase from one great English house around which to build a complete home. What better way for a couple with loyalties both in South Australia and Britain to bridge the vast physical distance between the two locations?8 While the main residence was under construction from 1937 to 1939, the Haywards purchased adjoining parcels of land from Springfield Real Estate in 1936 and 1938 respectively.9 This brought the total size of the Carrick Hill estate to 100 acres (forty hectares), including approximately sixty-four acres (twenty-six hectares) of native bushland. Ursula Hayward designed Carrick Hill’s inner formal garden, with the intention that its vistas and the extensive landscaped grounds echo those of her childhood home at Birksgate.10 She chose specific aspects of an arts and crafts Edwardian style garden to be part of her grand view at Carrick Hill, particularly in the use of hedges, lawn terracing and stone paving. The surrounding grounds, modelled on the English country park, featured groves of trees, including hawthorns, quinces, medlars and nut trees. Olive groves were planted along the west perimeter, and on the other slopes grew crepe myrtles, Irish strawberries and a Moreton Bay fig. Ursula Hayward was particularly fond of roses, and had rose beds planted along the entrance drive, and around the tennis court. In 1990, the Alistair Clark Rose Garden was created at Carrick Hill in tribute to Alistair Clark (18641949), one of Australia’s greatest rose cultivators. At the rear of the property, below the elm trees and between two flower gardens, is a feature unique in Australian garden design – the pleached pear arbour. The term ‘pleach’ is derived from the Latin plectere meaning ‘to plait’ or ‘weave together’. Pleaching is an ancient technique that was known to the Romans and much admired in mediaeval Europe. Hornbeam and lime were favoured, but the inspiration for using pear trees at Carrick Hill was possibly a result of the Haywards visiting Batemans (c.1634), the Jacobean sandstone manor house in East Sussex owned by Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936). During the Hayward’s time, a large team of gardeners and groundsmen were employed to look after the estate. One of those gardeners, Cliff Jacobs, began working at Carrick Hill in 1936 and retired in 1986, the year the property was officially opened to the public by H.M Queen Elizabeth II. > Derwent Lees (1884-1931), The Yellow Skirt (c.1914), oil on wood, 50.7 x 38.3 cm. (Collection of the Carrick Hill Trust, Adelaide, Hayward Bequest.)
Published on Dec 11, 2017
Published on Dec 11, 2017
BIG Trouble December 2017 - January 2018 FEATURES: EXCLUSIVE FOR A LIMITED TIME - ‘The Archer (after Chuang Tzu)’ by Shaun Gladwell, ‘Play O...