Page 1

Feb – april 2012

The Tricycle goes Nuclear

Photo: Keystone/Getty

Box Office 020 7328 1000 

|  www.tricycle.co.uk


The Tricycle goes Nuclear A festival of plays, films, talks and exhibitions.

THE BOMB -

a partial history

in two parts (5 plays in each part) A political history of the Nuclear Bomb and its proliferation from 1940 to the present day - comprising plays by Lee Blessing, Ryan Craig, John Donnelly, David Greig, Amit Gupta, Zinnie Harris, Ron Hutchinson, Diana Son and Colin Teevan.

FIRST BLAST: PROLIFERATION It is the first year of World War II, and in Whitehall two émigré Jewish scientists are waiting for a meeting to get the British establishment to take their nuclear research seriously. The following plays then trace the history of the Labour party wrestling with the decision to build the Atomic Bomb, China’s war with India and the subsequent development of India’s bomb, the break-up of the Soviet Union and the unilateral disarmament of Ukraine.

SECOND BLAST: PRESENT DANGERS A contemporary take on the non-proliferation debate looking at Israel and Iran’s nuclear capability, the “axis of evil” speech and its affect on North Korea, the U.K.’s continuing reliance on Trident in the post Cold War era, through to the current negotiations with Iran and weapons inspections there. Director: Nicolas Kent Designer: Polly Sullivan Lighting: Howard Harrison Sound: Tom Lishman AV Designer: Douglas O'Connell Dramaturg: Jack Bradley Assistant Director: Tara Robinson Associate Producer: Zoe Ingenhaag Assisted by Hal Scardino

Weekdays: One part £14 Both parts £25 Weekends: One part £16 Both parts £29 Early Bird Tickets £9 First Blast: 9, 10, 11 Feb  |  Second Blast: 16, 17, 18 Feb Limited number available.


NUCLEAR FILM FESTIVAL A collection of compelling films offering an international perspective on nuclear issues including: investigative documentaries Countdown to Zero and Nuclear Tipping Point; cult classics like Stanley Kubrick's Dr. Strangelove and French drama Hiroshima Mon Amour ; and historically groundbreaking cinema with Oscar winner The War Game and 1950s propoganda compilation The Atomic Café.

SPECIAL EVENTS A series of discussions including a lecture on How to Split the Atom (no equipment needed and no scientific knowledge required! ); an evening exploring events around the Cuban Missile Crisis and the American blockade; a panel discussion, led by Baroness Shirley Williams surrounding The Trident Debate; and an event at Asia House on Peace and Security in Asia. Plus a night of comedy and politics curated by WMD Awareness, and a Nuclear Classical Concert led by acclaimed violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen.

In the Gallery Weapons Drawn (6–26 Feb) Political cartoons by artists including Ralph Steadman giving a satirical slant on the history of nuclear warfare. Nuclear Café (27 Feb – 1 April ) Photographs by artist Judy Goldhill who was granted extraordinary access inside nuclear power stations around the UK. The season is sponsored by The Kobler Trust with support from the National Theatre Studio and National Lottery funding through Arts Council England.


The Tricycle goes Nuclear Thurs 9 Feb

1st Blast

8pm

Fri 10 Feb

1st Blast

8pm

1st Blast

4pm

1st Blast

8pm

Sat 11 Feb

Sun 11 March

9 Feb – 1 April 1st Blast

2.30pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Mon 12 March

Cuban Missile Crisis Event 8pm

Tues 13 March

1st Blast

Sun 12 Feb

no performance

Mon 13 Feb

no performance

Tues 14 Feb

no performance

Wed 15 Feb

Nuclear Comedy Night 8.30pm

Thurs 16 Feb

2nd Blast

8pm

Fri 17 Feb

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

3.30pm

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

2.30pm

Mon 19 March Talk at Asia House 8pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Tues 20 March

Sat 18 Feb Sun 19 Feb

8pm

Thurs 15 March

1st Blast

8pm

Fri 16 March

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

3.30pm

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

2.30pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Sat 17 March Sun 18 March

1st Blast

Wed 21 March 2nd Blast Mon 20 Feb

1st Blast

2.30pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Tues 21 Feb

no performance

Wed 22 Feb

no performance

Thurs 23 Feb

1st Blast

8pm

Fri 24 Feb

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

3.30pm

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

2.30pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Sat 25 Feb Sun 26 Feb

8pm

Wed 14 March 2nd Blast

Thurs 22 March Fri 23 March Sat 24 March Sat 24 March Sun 25 March

1st Blast

8pm 8pm 8pm

Nuclear Film Festival 2nd Blast

8pm

Nuclear Film Festival 1st Blast

3.30pm

Nuclear Film Festival 2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

2.30pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Nuclear Film Festival Mon 26 March Trident Debate 8pm

Mon 27 Feb

How to Split the Atom 8pm

Tues 27 March

Tues 28 Feb

1st Blast

8pm

Wed 28 March 2nd Blast

8pm

Wed 29 Feb

2nd Blast

8pm

Thurs 29 March

1st Blast

8pm

Thurs 1 March

1st Blast

8pm

Fri 30 March

2nd Blast

8pm

Fri 2 March

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

3.30pm

1st Blast

3.30pm

2nd Blast

8pm

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

2.30pm

1st Blast

2.30pm

2nd Blast

7pm

2nd Blast

7pm

Sat 3 March Sun 4 March

Mon 5 March

Nuclear Classical Concert 8pm

Tues 6 March

1st Blast

8pm

Wed 7 March

2nd Blast

8pm

Thurs 8 March

1st Blast

8pm

Fri 9 March

2nd Blast

8pm

1st Blast

3.30pm

2nd Blast

8pm

Sat 10 March

Sat 31 March Sun 1 April

1st Blast

8pm

1st Blast 2nd Blast Special Events Film Festival

For full details including the complete schedule of events, please visit our website.

Tricycle Theatre, 269 Kilburn High Rd, London NW6 7JR

Box Office 020 7328 1000 

|  www.tricycle.co.uk

The Tricycle Goes Nuclear  

A season of plays, films, exhibitions and talks

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you