Page 6




All the award winners pose for their annual photograph, wo tables made a big difference. The Irish Travel Industry Awards at the Round Room in the Mansion house reduced capacity by two tables this year. The idea was to improve manoeuvrability around the room for the 505 guests. And it worked. Maureen Ledwith and Edmund Hourican won the service to the industry award and deserve another award for delivering the shortest speech of any recipients so far. John Spollen and his team at Cassidy Travel and Mark Clifford and the tam at O’Hanrahan’s Travel in Monaghan were popular winners of the Travel Agency of the year. O’Hanrahan’s were last on the podium in 2013 when there was a

And the winners are: Four travel awards recipients make it nine years in a row

single category for travel agencies of all sizes. CWT and Atlas shared the corporate award. The individual awards went to Ann Mullins of The Travel Broker for leisure travel professional of the year and Cara Barry of CTM the corporate travel professional award. The coveted long haul airline award was won by Emirates for the third time after an Etihad four in a row. Rebecca Kelly, about to move from MSC to Princess, won supplier rep for the fourth time in five years, from a short

Award compere Miriam O’Calaghan

list that included 2013 winner Lee Osborne of Bookabed, Brian Hughes of United; Martin Penrose of Ifonly and Jeanette Taylor of Sunway. Karl Tyrrell’s Bookabed won the accommodation supplier award for the seventh time in eight years having ceded it three years ago. Amadeus regained the supplier support team award after five years, it was won last year by Bookabed and the previous two years by MSC. Five award winners were winning nine in a row, Aer Lingus in the best airline to Europe cat-

egory (they retained best airline to North America as well), Irish Ferries for best cruise company. Amadeus as the best technology provider and Lanzarote for best winter destination. The Spanish Tourist Board won its eighth successive award for best tourist board since it was introduced in 2012 Uniworld won the specialist cruise operator for the seventh time since the category was introduced in 2013. Barcelona has won or shared best European city destination for the eight years awarded,

Austria won the best ski destination for each the seven years awarded and Universal Orlando the world theme park award for each of its seven years it has been awarded. Wendy Wu, a first time winner last year, won two tour operator awards for long haul and specialist, and G Adventures followed up their success for best specialist tour operator last year to win best escorted tour operator. Las Vegas was a worthy first time winner, taking the spot won by New York for eight successive years.

The lubrication began, as with so many great nights in the city of Dublin, in Sam’s Bar where Sharon Jordan and The Travel Corporation team hosted the thirsty travel professionals of Ireland before the awards ceremony began. Afterwards it was back to Sam’s Bar in pursuit of the award for the last man or woman standing. Roll on 2020, back to the Round Room in the Mansion House and Miriam O’Callaghan, hopefully, imploring ciúnas. To paraphrase the Thomas Davis song, irrigation once again.

Service to the industry recipients Edmund Hourican and Maureen Ledwith

Profile for Travel Extra

Travel Extra March 2019  

Special awards issue of Ireland's most important source of travel information

Travel Extra March 2019  

Special awards issue of Ireland's most important source of travel information