Page 2

COMMODORE’S CORNER

Grosse Pointe Yacht Club Officers Ilja J. Vreeken, Commodore Gary H. Gonzalez, Vice Commodore Gary F. Marowske, Rear Commodore Jason J. Grobbel, Treasurer Brian L. Fish, Secretary

Directors

Peter G. Beauregard, Director William J. Dillon, Director Bruce G. Knapp, Director Graham C. Korneffel, Director J. James Morrow Jr., Director David M. Schaden, Director Robert V. Weiland, Director

Staff, Committees Work Together to Make GPYC ‘Your Club for All Seasons’

Fleet Officers

Greetings Members,

Richard J. Lueders Fleet Captain/Power Daniel C. Bracciano Fleet Captain/Sail Dr. Mariann Channell Fleet Surgeon Reverend Walter A. Schmidt Fleet Chaplain Paul D. Mattes Fleet Measurer Stacy T. Spondike Fleet Quartermaster

Front Desk

Trish Kamensack & Alison Trombley (313) 884-2500 switchboard@gpyc.org

Editorial

Information for this publication should be submitted to: Communications Manager – Anna Swartz aswartz@gpyc.org

Staff Emails

General Manager – Aaron Kessler Wagner awagner@gpyc.org Membership Director – Susan Hughes, CMP shughes@gpyc.org Executive Chef – Colby Newman cnewman@gpyc.org Chief Financial Officer – Jim DeMasse jdemasse@gpyc.org Food & Beverage Director – Joe Hooge jhooge@gpyc.org Catering Director – Barbara Walkowski bwalkowski@gpyc.org Catering Coordinator – Karleen Bacha kbacha@gpyc.org Special Events Director - Kathy VandeLaare kvandelaare@gpyc.org Membership Administrator - Claire Rundquist crundquist@gpyc.org Harbor Master – Alex Turner aturner@gpyc.org Sailing Director – Wally Cross wcross@gpyc.org Bowling Director – Gordy Woods gwoods@gpyc.org Tennis Pro – Dmitri Diakonov tennispro@gpyc.org Front Gate Security – Solomon Corley scorley@gpyc.org Grosse Pointe Yacht Club © 2019 - all rights reserved. This publication is the property of the GPYC, for member use only. No unauthorized use, sale or dissemination of information herein shall be made for commercial, personal or other purposes without the written permission of the GPYC.

It has been a busy time in and around the Club. The inaugural Christmas Eve Buffet was a resounding success with well over 200 attendees. Kudos to the staff for this new Club tradition and their relentless drive to make GPYC our Club for all seasons. January started off with a bang - the Icy Hot! Ladies Fashion Show sold out early and will surely be the hot ticket for next year. The Winter Festival has become a can’t miss event with fun activities for all ages throughout the weekend. In the coming months, keep checking The Mast and The Weekly Buzz for information about newly added events and be sure to sign up early! The Club has a scheduled housekeeping shutdown from February 18 through March 14. The Bowling Recreation Center and Marine Activity Center will remain open. General Manager Aaron Wagner, along with his staff, are working on food and beverage alternatives during this time, as employees and contractors will be busy throughout the Club working on refurbishing chairs/tables, cleaning carpets, upgrading the kitchen and much more. A club reciprocation list is available on page 6 should you wish to visit an alternative venue during this time. We will reopen for dinner on Friday, March 15, followed by the Back to the Club Party on Saturday, March 16. On your next visit to the Club, I hope you will take time to welcome Special Events Director Kathy VandeLaare who recently joined the GPYC team. Kathy brings a wealth of experience to her position and is already planning new events to enhance our membership experience. Welcome aboard, Kathy! Special thanks to our member volunteers who are working diligently on club committees. From harbor upkeep, new events, club heritage awareness, new member recruitment, and facilities improvements to legal and financial oversight, committees are an essential part of our vibrant club culture. Committee members’ efforts support and ensure our Club continues to evolve and flourish. See you around the Club, and I look forward to writing you again in the Spring. Respectfully

Commodore Ilja J. Vreeken

2

Profile for towar

February March Mast  

February March Mast  

Profile for towar