Issuu on Google+

14 February 26, 2014

f e r r i s s tat e to rc h

OPINIONS FERRIS STATE TORCH

OPINIONS Get involved Don’t regret not taking full advantage of what we pay so much to be a part of. Evan Pazkowski

Guest writer See page 14 for story

FERRIS STATE TORCH

The Ferris State Torch is published on 27 Wednesdays throughout the academic year. This student-run newspaper is printed by

VOICES Student Recreation Center 102 Ferris State University Big Rapids, MI 49307 www.fsutorch.com/letter-to-the-editor/

The Pioneer Group.

STAFF Editor in Chief ******

ALEX WITTMAN (231) 591-5978 TORCH@FERRIS.EDU

Business Manager ******

LAURA ANGER (231) 591-2609 TORCHADS@FERRIS.EDU

News Editor ******

TAYLOR HOOPER

Lifestyles Editor

The Ferris State Torch welcomes comments on topics of interest to the general readership. Letters should not exceed 300 words in length and The Torch reserves the right to edit for length. Letters will not be edited for grammar, punctuation or spelling. The Torch will not print letters deemed to be libelous or obscene. All letters must be signed by their authors and include his or her phone number. Unsigned editorials appearing on this page are the opinion of The Torch and do not necessarily represent the opinion of the university’s administration, faculty or staff. Signed columns represent the opinion of the writer. Inquiries regarding editorial content should be directed to the editor in chief at 591-5978 or the newsroom at 591-5946.

******

TYLER HANAN

Sports Editor ******

HARRISON WATT

Opinions Editor ******

Photo Editor ******

ERIC TRANDEL

Photographers ******

OLIVIA ODETTE VICTORIA THOMAS MELANIE RONQUILLO

Reporters ******

JUSTIN AIKEN ASHLEY BRADSTREET SARAH FORCE LINDSEY HOGAN RICHARD MEAD BEN RETTINHOUSE MEGAN SMITH GEORGIA THELEN

Interim Reporters ******

Copy Editors ******

OLIVIA ADAMS ADAM CIESLINSKI

Production Manager ******

CAILEY PAWLUK

Production Assistant ******

KAILA PARENT

Ad Layout Manager ******

EMILY NOFFSINGER

Ad Layout Assistant ******

EMILY LUEKEN

Multimedia Editor ******

BROCK COPUS

Distribution ******

TAYLOR FRIEND NATHAN PRYTULA

Advertising Reps ******

ANA CORNELIA TAYLOR WILKINSON

Office Staff ******

JESSICA SMITH

Advisor ******

STEVE FOX (231) 591-2529 STEVENFOX@FERRIS.EDU

Letter From The Editor

Unusual news Alex Wittman Editor-in-Chief

With so many things going on around campus, you might ask how the Torch decides on its content every week. What exactly makes a story newsworthy? Many factors contribute to a story’s newsworthiness, including timing, significance, proximity, prominence and human interest. Along these same lines, the Torch staff likes to say: if it’s unusual, it’s news. When deciding if a story is newsworthy, the Torch takes into consideration the frequency with which similar events occur on campus. In the last month, the Torch has given significant coverage—both online and in print—to the Feb. 1 Venlo shooting and the stabbing in Brophy Hall on Feb. 23. Some readers have asked why we’ve “made such a big deal” out of events that occur frequently in other parts of the state. In cities like Flint and Detroit, shootings and stabbings may not even make the news let alone front page headlines. So, why have these violent acts dominated our content this month? Simply put, folks, this isn’t Flint. Readers, we attend Ferris State University in Big Rapids. Up until a few weeks ago, the most violent thing happening around here was someone accidently slamming his/her tray down at the dining hall. Okay, that may be an exaggeration, but all in all, we’re fortunate to go to school in a safe community. We’re fortunate to live in a place where shootings and stabbings aren’t the norm. Based on the safety standards set by our community and university, law enforcement and media responded to these incidents appropriately. If this type of violence was more common, perhaps the response would have been different. For the sake of this community and my fellow students, though, I hope we never have to find out. I hope when violence occurs at Ferris it always makes headlines because that means it’s unusual.

Torch File Photo

Every spring students gather as part of the Big Event to help with tasks such as cleaning yards and houses. This event is held every spring as a way for Ferris and its students to give back to the community and lend a helping a hand.

Exploring the value of being active on campus Tuition.io recently published an article discussing the top ten biggest regrets of college graduates, and the results aren’t surprising. Within the list, four of the top 10 regrets deal with not being involved on campus or taking advantage of the services provided to students while still in college. In college, we students strive to find the best excuse not to be involved on campus or in campus activities even though experience in our respective fields is handed to us via registered student organizations, campus

Evan Pazkowski Guest Writer

jobs, events and internships. Being involved while in college as opposed to the “real world” is easy and affordable. I have been a proud Bulldog now for almost three years and have tried my hardest to be as involved as possible, acting as the Ferris Fest Coordinator, a Finance Division voting member, a member of the American Marketing Association, as the host of Ferris Out Loud and a regular on Ferris Trolls. In my

first semester, my involvement on campus felt so rewarding that I stopped focusing on my classes and ended with a lessthan-stellar GPA. After a long talk with my mother, who’s awesome, we decided I needed to learn the valuable skill of time management…for the most part, we succeeded. Throughout my nearly three years at Ferris, I have seen a lot of friends and students lounge around constantly waiting for something to do or indulging in a 13-hour Netflix run. This is fine; I also have a loving relationship with my Netflix account, See Involvement on Page 16

QUOTE OF THE WEEK

“A compliment is something like a kiss through a veil.” -Victor Hugo


15

OPINIONS FERRIS STATE TORCH

February 26, 2014

CLASSIFIEDS Classified Ad deadline is by NOON the Friday prior to publication date Contact the Advertising office at 231591-2609, 231-591-3617 fax, or torchads@ferris.edu Classified Ads are posted online at no additional charge. PLEASE USE CAUTION WHEN RESPONDING TO CLASSIFIED ADS. SOME MAY REQUIRE FEES OR CHARGES. THE TORCH IN NO WAY ENDORSES ANY SELLER OR PROVIDER.

ANNOUNCEMENTS STORY HOUR IS ON WEDNESDAYS @ 10:30 am. Come join us for stories, songs and crafts. Big Rapids Community Library. Program now held at Big Rapids City Hall, 226 N. Michigan Ave. during Library renovation. 231796-5234 or www.bigrapids.lib.mi.us – Like us on Facebook!

FOR RENT Apartments & Houses on the student corridor. Walk to Campus! Walk to Downtown! Call 231-527-5000 {F12}{9/18-4/30}

Available Fall 2014 - $ Bedroom Homes, Washer Dryer included on site. Only $1000 per month. Call John or Nancy. 231-796-2361 {S14}{2/19-3/26} 3 Bedroom – Clean and well maintained. Washer and dryer. Close to campus. Available in August. No Pets. References. Call Joyce: 760-469-7042 {S17}{2/26-3/5} Available beginning Summer semester: 2 rentals – 3+ Bedroom with Washer & Dryer, 2 Bedroom. Both have new carpets and are newly remodeled. Located at 520 South Michigan Ave. Please leave a message: 231-349-1030 {S19}{2/26-3/5} Available May 2014. 4+ Bedroom house only 2 Blocks from campus! Washer/ Dryer and carport, finished basement. Located at 317 Ives. Please leave a message: 231-349-1030 {S18}{2/26-3/5} 2 Units Available – Move in over summer! Lower Unit is 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath - $280 per person plus utilities. Upper Unit is 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath - $320 per person plus utilities. They are both very clean and in a quiet area. Both units have a Washer and Dryer. Pets are welcome for an additional fee. Located at 104 Division. Call 616-875-7479 or 616-214-1613. {S16}{2/26-3/26}

Why pay $400 - $500 per person? Pay Only $250 - $350 per month. 2, 3, & 4 Bedroom Apartments shown by appointment. Let’s Compare! Call 231796-3483 or gac194854@yahoo.com Cox Rentals {S15}{2/19-3/19} 931 Fuller – 3 Bedroom Duplex available Aug 2014, 1.5 bath, Laundry, Air. Walking distance. Call Mark 616262-6951 {S11}{2/5-4/2} ChapmanHousing.com - Voted Favorite Landlord for the last 3 years! Largest Selection in Town! {F11}{9/18-4/30} House Available May 2014. A 4 – 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 baths, Washer, Dryer, Dishwasher. Cable, Snow and Lawn service included. $425 per room, Utilities Included! Country setting, about 4 miles from campus, newer home. Call 231-796-3239 and ask for Jeff. {S03}{01/-4/30} NOW LEASING for Summer/Fall. 4 Bedroom Houses & Apartments. Located near campus. Prices include ALL utilities! Call 231-598-1395 {S13}{2/19-4/30}

TORCH

BULLDOG

BABBLE March is Women’s Rights Month. How do you respect women? By Olivia Odette, Photographer

“Being supportive of their choices even if you don’t agree with them.”

WEEKLY TORCH POLL

Brittany Smith Junior Psychology

Last week’s poll: Will it ever stop snowing in Big Rapids? No, let’s rename Ferris “Narnia State University.” 52% Yes, spring is in the air. 40% Maybe, but just in case, I’m buying snow tires. 8%

“Respect their decisions even if I don’t agree.” Thaddeus Wilcome Sophomore Manufacturing engineering

Total Votes: 25 “I respect women 100 percent. I wouldn’t disrespect them; why would you anyways? They’re more important.”

The Torch asked students to respond to last week’s poll.

Will Krafcheck Junior Energy systems engineering

Autumn Waldron Sophomore, architecture “Yes. Like now, if it could.”

Nick Hanson Freshman, PGM “I hope so. Now. ASAP. Which ever’s faster.

Erica Moose Sophomore, nursing “I hope it stops snowing tomorrow.”

“I think it’s a priority that both men and women should have. Not just men, but women about other women and themselves.” Brian Cross Junior Music industry management

This week’s poll: How did you first learn about the Sunday, Feb. 23 stabbing?

“I call people out when they make sexist jokes.”

Vote online at www.fsutorch.com

Check us out on our website

www.fsutorch.com

Kaitlyn Smith Freshman Forensic biology

“By empowering them instead of being demeaning and bitter.” Talesha Wright Freshman Music industry management


16

OPINIONS FERRIS STATE TORCH

February 26, 2014

Award season

Graphic by Cailey Pawluk

Why you should care about rich people congratulating each other Next Sunday, the 86th Academy Awards will air at 7 p.m., with Ellen DeGeneres serving as our upbeat and relatable guide through a ceremony overripe with the stodginess of history and tradition. Many millions of Americans will tune in to the ceremony. Millions more will be force fed the ceremony on every social network, without exception. And they will scream at the sky, “Why do we care?” On the surface, this seems a fair question. A few hundred super rich people hang out in nice clothes and congratulate each other for a few hours. Like many other things about which we question the signifi-

Tyler Hanan Lifestyles Editor

cance, awards season is important because… well, because it is. Millions of people care about, and are in some way affected by, what happens in that room. Regardless of what is happening in that room, that thing now matters by sheer forces of will and mass. Beyond that, though, movies shape our perceptions of life. We know they’re not real, but we’re affected by them regardless. We wish high school had been like “The Breakfast Club.” We want to meet our Ryan Gosling or

Rachel McAdams. From a young age, millions of Americans take away deeply held beliefs or desires from the big and small screens, even if they don’t realize it. Then these awards ceremonies tell us which movies we should be watching and taking things away from. This is why these awards ceremonies matter. They say they’re important, and tens of millions of people believe them. So when the (largely old, white, and male) Academy recognizes a film, that matters. Or if they were to, say, shy away from a grueling masterpiece that turns over a rather ugly rock of American history in favor of a fun heist film…that matters.

INVOLVEMENT from Page 14

Being involved beats laying around but with the world at our fingertips and a small fortune of things to do on campus, it seems like a colossal waste of time to sit in an 11 by 14-foot dorm room and collect dust on your brand new Ferris hoodie. Nowadays, a college degree and a friendly face are expected of people applying for jobs. Directly out of school, employers are looking for unique experiences that set you apart by showing leadership, drive and time management. You can’t put a Gamerscore on a resume. I’m not saying video games and movies are a waste of time, but they should be played and watched in moderation, especially when there are more productive things to do. When people get involved with things in which they are interested, they achieve goals that wouldn’t have been possible while melting into a futon. Some of the best things that can come of getting involved are making friends, advancing professional development, meeting networking connections and maybe even finding a pretty good looking significant other to melt on the futon with in your spare time. Being involved on campus can improve you as person. No one is saying you have to take part in every opportunity you see, but being a part of at least one RSO, club sport, or event is something worth feeling great about. Don’t regret not taking full advantage of what we pay so much to be a part of.

INTERNATIONAL FRATERNITY OF DELTA SIGMA PI PROFESSIONAL CO-ED BUSINESS FRATERNITY

BRAND AND DRESS, MARKET TO SUCCESS Featuring guest speakers LOS ELLIS & BRON AUSTIN DEAL

• How to identify and influence your online brand • What is professional, business casual and smart casual dress • Strategies to develop and enhance your personal and digital brand • How to apply your brand in personal and professional settings

FREE EVENT, OPEN TO THE PUBLIC! Williams Auditorium March 4th, 2014 @ 7pm This event is free and open to the public thanks to Student Activity Fees as allocated by the Finance Division of Student Government. Anyone with a disability who needs special accommodations to attend this event should contact Jgi jgi Muhammad (231) 591-2685 or jgijig@gmail.com at least 72 hours in advance.


02 26 14 opinions