Page 1

17th Edition

PROPERTY AND WEALTH CREATION BUYING INTO SOUTH AFRICA

INFLUENCER MARKETING GET TRENDING

TRAINING YOUR STAFF CAN YOU AFFORD NOT TO?

MEET BONANG MOHALE – LIFT AS YOU RISE –


14 NOVEMBER 2019

Visit our website for more information: www.nationalbusinessawards.co.za


The National Business Awards and the associated Top

Performing Companies and Public Sector publication have become the definitive showcase for South Africa’s most successful companies across sectors. Through rigorous benchmarking and tracking of industry behaviour, Topco Media researches, identifies and celebrates sustainable growth and impact.

Contact Nadia Maritz at nadia.maritz@topperforming.co.za or call 086 000 9590


ON THE COVER

16

BONANG MOHALE An interview with CEO of Business Leadership South Africa Cover photo by Charlemagne Olivier

IN THIS ISSUE

LIFESTYLE South African celebreneurs in the spotlight

95

2

Top Performing 17 th Edition


CONTENTS

CONTENTS

80 UPFRONT 7

44

10

Featured clients Editor ’s letter

SECTOR OVERVIEWS 30 34 44 48 54 58 68 80 86

Mining Construction and engineering Energy Manufacturing ICT Financial services Training and education Tourism Transport and logistics

ARTICLES 22

G et trending Influencers are changing the face of marketing

52

B ig wins for small business Government grants, incentives and funding

66

B uying into South Africa Creating wealth through property investment

74

70

S kills development Can you afford not to?

74

P rivate Education and the National Skills Development Agenda

Top Performing 17 th Edition

3


CONTENTS

THOUGHT LEADERSHIP 12

Social entrepreneurship The business of doing good

13

The business of prosperity Creating growth that benefits all South Africans

15

Lessons in leadership Creating an inspiring culture breeds business greatness

INTERVIEWS 16

Bonang Mohale

AT THE BACK

12 RSA: R145.00 (INCL. VAT)

www.invalve.co.za Address: 33 Shaft Rd, Knights, Germiston, 1406 | Tel: +27 (0)11 822 1777

9

780620

– LIFT AS YOU RISE –

524063

MEET BONANG MOHALE

17001

ISBN: 9780620524063 17001

NOT TO? CAN YOU AFFORD

TRAINING YOUR STAFF GET TRENDING

INFLUENCER MARKETING BUYING INTO SOUTH AFRICA

PROPERTY AND WEALTH CREATION

Visit issuu.com

95 103 121

Lifestyle: SA celebreneurs in the spotlight National Business Awards SA’s Top Performing Companies

1 03

to download your business relationships.

It is the combination of these values that allows us to form lasting

ancillary equipment backed by service excellence around the globe. Invincible Valves is a proud supplier of quality valve products and

SINCE 1982

INVINCIBLE VALVES

noitidE ht71

digital version of Top

17th Edition

Performing Companies INVINCIBLE VALVES SINCE 1982

Invincible Valves is a proud supplier of quality valve products and

ancillary equipment backed by service excellence around the globe.

& Public Sector It is the combination of these values that allows us to form lasting business relationships.

PROPERTY AND WEALTH CREATION BUYING INTO SOUTH AFRICA

INFLUENCER MARKETING GET TRENDING

TRAINING YOUR STAFF CAN YOU AFFORD NOT TO?

ISBN: 9780620524063 17001 17001

Address: 33 Shaft Rd, Knights, Germiston, 1406 | Tel: +27 (0)11 822 1777 www.invalve.co.za

9

780620

524063

MEET BONANG MOHALE – LIFT AS YOU RISE –

RSA: R145.00 (INCL. VAT)

Top Performing 17 th Edition

5


THE NEW RANGE ROVER VELAR

ELEGANT REDUCTIONISM. NOW WITH A SPARKLING NEW FEATURE.

BOOK A TEST DRIVE IN THE 2018 WORLD CAR DESIGN OF THE YEAR Was it the elegant but striking silhouette that clinched it for the New Range Rover Velar? The clean, continuous waistline and floating roof? Or the undeniable overall presence? Yes, yes and yes. landrover.co.za


F E AT U R E D C L I E N T S

FEATURED CLIENTS

CREDITS

Amathuba Hub

108

ArcelorMittal

112

Armscor

106

ATNS

88–90

BSC Global

56–57

Cigfaro

64–65

Club Leisure

82–83

ContiPower

46–47

CTICC

11

Godimong Consulting Engineers

33

Hetzner

116

Invincible Valves

50–51, BC

Jaguar Land Rover SA

6

Mahamba Transport and General Enterprises 92–93

CEO Ralf Fletcher

Traffic Manager Daniel Bouwer artwork@topco.co.za

Group Editor Fiona Wakelin

Financial Manager Haley Fletcher

Project Manager Nadia Maritz Business Development Managers Theunis van Zyl Charlton Mouton

Research Manager Sandra Bock Researcher Nazreen Harris

TOPCO STUDIO

Proofreader Camilla Lloyd

Production Director Van Fletcher

Photographer Charlemagne Olivier

Features Editor Elske Joubert

Printers CTP Printers

Copy Editor Nicole Forrest

Images iStock

Designers Christine Siljeur Darren Rolls Fikile Lugogwana

Moove

118

Old Mutual Investment Group

60–62

Omni HR Consulting

78–79

Richfield Graduate Institute of Technology

72–73

Savino Del Bene

26–29

SMEC

94

Stanley Inspection

36–39, 41

The Maslow Hotel

8

Top Watch

4

Toyota

84–85

DISCLAIMER

Umso Construction

42–43

reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted, in any

Vitrovian

102

recording or otherwise, without the prior written consent of

Woodford Car Hire

IBC

No. 2011/105655/07. While every care has been taken when

Head Office Top Media & Communications (Pty) Ltd T/A Topco Media 14 Roodehek Street, Gardens, 8001 Tel: +27 86 000 9590 Fax: +27 21 423 7576

Email: info@topco.co.za Website: www.topco.co.za

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, Top Media & Communications (Pty) Ltd T/A Topco Media. Reg. compiling this publication, the publishers, editor and contributors accept no responsibility for any consequences arising from any errors or emissions. ISBN: 9780620524063 17001

Top Performing 17 th Edition

7


CONTRIBUTORS

Ran Neu-Ner In 2001, Ran Neu-Ner started The Creative Counsel, South Africa’s leading activations agency with an annual turnover of R500-million. In 2015 Ran concluded the biggest business transaction in the country when he sold The Creative Counsel to a French-owned international business, Publicis Groupe, for just over R2-billion.

CONTRIBUTORS Bonang Mohale Bonang Mohale was, until his new BLSA appointment, Vice President Upstream and the Chairman of Shell Downstream South Africa; Shell South Africa Holdings; Shell South Africa Refinery and South African Petroleum Refinery. He was awarded the Momentum Friendship Blazer in 2015 in recognition of being the first RSA Nation Building Champion. Bonang also took home both the country (RSA) and SADC Regional trophy for CEO Magazine’s Titans – Building the Nation award in 2014. He was conferred an honorary professorship in marketing management by the University of Pretoria, where he serves on their advisory council.

Jay Ramnundlall

Jay Ramnundlall is the CEO of Richfield Graduate Institute of Technology – the largest, registered private education provider in South Africa. Offering full higher education qualifications, Richfield operates higher education and further education campuses across major cities and rural areas in Southern Africa.

Michelle Marais

Michelle Marais is the Head of Campaign Design and Execution at R-Squared Digital, one of the fastest growing influencer marketing agencies in South Africa. Many of the largest and most recognised local and international brands partner with R-Squared Digital for their expertise in driving highly engaging and authentic content that will protect the brand equity.

He continues in his role of Co-CEO at The Creative Counsel Group, living by the philosophy “Brilliance or Nothing”.

Rishad Ahmed Rishad Ahmed is the CEO and cofounder of Incentives SA, a company that specialises in the acquisition of funding and finance from various financial institutions. The company has successfully raised over R1-billion for companies in South Africa. He is also involved in a number of projects, including saving the African honeybee. As an executive business coach and speaker, he advises companies and individuals on reaching their full potential.

Thuli Madonsela Professor Advocate Thulisile (Thuli) Nomkhosi Madonsela held the office of Public Protector of South Africa from 15 October 2010 until October 2016. She has been the recipient of a number of prestigious awards, such as the Law Society of South Africa’s inaugural Truth and Justice Award. In 2014, she was listed as one of TIME magazine’s top 100 most influential people in the world. Professor Advocate Madonsela currently holds the chair of social justice in the Faculty of Law at Stellenbosch University.

Xoliswa Daku

Xoliswa Daku, founder and CEO of the Daku Group of Companies, has always had a passion for developing women in business. She served as the National Chairperson for the South African Women Enterprise Network (SAWEN) and was instrumental in the formation of women empowerment institutions by national departments.

Top Performing 17 th Edition

9


EDITOR’S LET TER

In its latest report, the bank projected the economic growth rate for South Africa to be 1.7% in 2020. It takes a while to recover after being devoured from the inside out. For over a decade and a half, through the good times and the challenging ones, Topco Media has been celebrating success among South African businesses, government departments, organisations and individuals. We have a long view of the stamina, resilience, perseverance and active citizenry that characterise our country. Our front cover this year is graced by CEO of Business Leadership South Africa, Bonang Mohale (who described the Investment Summit chaired by President Ramaphosa as an embarrassing success), and our lead article is an interview with this dynamic South African whose book, Lift as you Rise, reflects his commitment to transformational leadership. In this the 17th edition of Top Performing Companies & Public Sector, R-Squared Digital looks at the growing trend of influencer marketing, and how, by having the correct alignment with your brand, you can grow your business in leaps and bounds. The health of the economy is directly linked to the burgeoning of the

A GROWING SENSE OF OPTIMISM

SME sector and Rishad Ahmed from Incentives SA has written a valuable overview of the government incentive packages available for startups. The winner of Top Entrepreneur of the Year at the National Business Awards in 2017, Xoliswa Daku, has penned an insightful article on property and wealth

There is a growing sense of optimism in South Africa, with President Ramaphosa tackling head on the corruption hydra that

creation. Jay Ramnundlall, CEO of Richfield Graduate Institute of Technology (National Business of the Year 2018), looks at the crucial contribution that private education makes to the National Skills Agenda.

nearly brought our country to its knees.

Is training your staff a worthwhile investment? Read the article on measuring

Supporting this road to recovery, Minister

the return you get from investing in your people. As Richard Branson said:

Mboweni delivered a no frills budget, tightening the collective belt. Ours will not be a heady meteoric catapult into doubledigit figures, rather it will be a steady journey, ensuring that we slowly but surely win the race. The World Bank forecasts that South Africa’s economic growth will accelerate to 1.3% in 2019 from an estimated 0.9% in 2018, citing the implementation of

“Train people well enough so they can leave, treat them well enough so they don’t want to.” Our lifestyle section turns the spotlight on celebreneurs – a fabulous collection of celebrities who have given full rein to the their entrepreneurial gees.

Heartfelt thanks go to our Advisory Committee, contributors and clients; and the amazing in-house production team: editors Elske Joubert and Nicole Forrest, designer Christine Siljeur and traffic manager Daniel Bouwer. I hope you enjoy the read as much as we enjoyed creating it.

structural reforms announced last year. FIONA WAKELIN GROUP EDITOR


Local Excellence Global Appeal

So much more than merely a multi-purpose So much more than merely a multi-purpose conference and exhibition destination, the iconic conference and exhibition destination, the iconic Cape Town International Convention Centre Cape Town International Convention Centre combines flexible venues, impeccable service, combines flexible venues, impeccable service, cutting-edge technology and the finest global cutting-edge technology and the finest global cuisine to transform your event into an extraordinary cuisine to transform your event into an extraordinary experience. So, whether your attendees are from experience. So, whether your attendees are from around the world, or around the corner, give around the world, or around the corner, give them world-class experience they deserve with the them world-class experience they deserve with the uniquely African flair they desire, at the CTICC. uniquely African flair they desire, at the CTICC. For more information, or to book your event, For more information, or to book your event, exhibition or convention at CTICC, call +27 21 410 5000, exhibition or convention at CTICC, call +27 21 410 5000, email sales@cticc.co.za or visit www.cticc.co.za. email sales@cticc.co.za or visit www.cticc.co.za.


THOUGHT LEADERSHIP PIECES FROM OUR ESTEEMED ADVISORY COMMITTEE

SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP THE BUSINESS OF DOING GOOD BY THULI MADONSELA

W

hen the architects of our democracy drafted the Constitution, I think they had in mind a society similar to that which exists in Massachusetts. One where

the government makes a concerted effort to create an enabling environment; one that is predicated on social justice, where people believe that cruelty is wrong and kindness is the ethos. I won’t pretend it’s a perfect system, but what I love about it is that the people who live there have a conscious desire to do good and make other people feel good about themselves. It is a society of

conscious good-doers constantly looking to eliminate social injustice. Our Constitution – one of the best in the world – with its particular focus on equality, human dignity and freedom, has all the ingredients of a society similar to the one in Massachusetts. However, we face the triple challenges of poverty, inequality and unemployment, all of which need to be addressed in ways that resonate with the spirit of our Constitution. In addressing the issue of unemployment in South Africa, human solidarity is going to be extremely important. An emerging industry in the US is social entrepreneurship. In South Africa, we need to find a way to provide services to communities; this means that government and companies offload some of their corporate social investments to genuine social enterprises. This, in turn, becomes another source of employment and adds value to humanity. Social entrepreneurship at Harvard is no longer seen as something reserved only for bored housewives or good-hearted rich people. It’s seen as a niche area for alternative employment in which value can be added to society. You get a sense of feeling good for doing good and, at the same time, you’re improving employment, poverty and inequality.

12

Top Performing 17 th Edition


A DV I S O R Y C O M M I T T E E E D I T O R I A L

THOUGHT LEADERSHIP PIECES FROM OUR ESTEEMED ADVISORY COMMITTEE

THE BUSINESS OF PROSPERITY CREATING GROWTH THAT BENEFITS ALL SOUTH AFRICANS BY BONANG MOHALE

I

n his 2018 State of the Nation Address, President Cyril Ramaphosa committed to set South Africa on a new growth path towards inclusive

development. “As we pursue higher levels of economic growth and investment, we need to take additional measures to reduce poverty and meet the needs of the unemployed. This year, we will be initiating measures to set the country on a new path of growth, employment and transformation,” he said. This statement is a direct challenge to the conventional belief that we have achieved progress thanks to growth. The evidence is much more nuanced. As a matter of fact, Tabea Kabinde, Chairperson of the Employment Equity Commission, launched a devastating report in June 2018 that demonstrates a deterioration in the representation of blacks in positions of leadership from 14.4% in 2017 to 14.3% in 2018. This, at a time that the country and Business Leadership South Africa (BLSA) are calling for the redoubling of efforts, is not only disappointing but sad, tragic and regrettable. Statistics like these defeat nation-building and prolong the journey towards social cohesion. Countries that succeeded in achieving high levels of human development, from Scandinavia to South Korea, did so because of purposeful restrictions on the growth-at-all-costs model. They pursued income and wealth redistribution, protected families and communities, guaranteed a good work–life balance and invested heavily in social welfare.

Top Performing 17 th Edition

13


THOUGHT LEADERSHIP PIECES FROM OUR ESTEEMED ADVISORY COMMITTEE

The simple fact of massive inequality

structural underpinnings, prosperity

compels us to rethink the conventional

for all will remain a mirage. The role

growth path. But what does inclusive

of BLSA is to be a conscientious voice

growth mean? Obviously, the idea

of business, responsible citizenry,

that the ‘pie’ can grow indefinitely is

patriotic capital, thought leadership

alluring. It means everybody can have

and partner of choice – doing

a share without limiting anybody’s

everything in our power to

greed, which is the underlying driving

ensure that this ANC-led

force of modern societies. A rising tide

government is a capable

lifts all boats: while the rich get richer,

state.

the poor are also expected to benefit from what trickles down.

In our ‘Contract with South Africa’, launched

The reality, however, is that very little

in September 2017, we

trickles down from the wealthy to the

recommitted to creating

poor. The reason is that the poor, who

jobs and investing in the

struggle to operate in the new ‘growth

acceleration of small business

economy’, where everything has a

development because SMEs

price and money dominates social

create jobs in large numbers.

relations, are kicked out of the system.

Business cannot flourish when

What is needed instead of benign neglect is an agreement that rewarding employment for a full spectrum of people should be a fundamental goal of business and government. Indeed, with that objective as a starting point, it will be necessary to develop ways to increase both the competitiveness and the inclusiveness of the economy. A new growth path is needed. This includes forms of business that reconcile human needs with production processes, investment models that emancipate people from passive roles as consumers, and systems of social organisation at the local level that reconnect individuals with their communities and their ecosystems.

the rest of South Africa is failing. Business cannot stand as an island of prosperity in a sea of poverty. Equally, business should be at the nexus of socioeconomic development. Instructively, no country has seen prosperity where business is pushed to the sideline. Thus, the role of business extends to constructively engaging with all key stakeholders including government, labour, communities and civil

This will be an important step

societies. Business

forward. If we do not help business

success is positively

to transform and address the skewed

linked to social

distributional effects and their

cohesion.

14

Top Performing 17 th Edition


A DV I S O R Y C O M M I T T E E E D I T O R I A L

THOUGHT LEADERSHIP PIECES FROM OUR ESTEEMED ADVISORY COMMITTEE

LESSONS IN LEADERSHIP CREATING AN INSPIRING CULTURE BREEDS BUSINESS GREATNESS BY RAN NEU-NER

A

s a 25-year-old, multi-

80% in a single year. In my arrogance,

how employees behave in the absence of

degreed founder of a fast-

I attributed the high turnover to the very

a leader, particularly in tough times.

growing and highly profitable

thing that made us successful: our high-

business, it never occurred to me that I might be my own worst enemy.

performance culture.

If a team can win consistently without the involvement of the leader, the leader has

I used to liken business to football, a game

truly succeeded in their role. The absence

I was highly driven, competitive

where every player needs to play at 100%

of the leader in daily tasks alludes to the

(especially with myself), obsessed

for the full 90 minutes of every match. One

reliance on a management layer that is

mistake could cost you the game and if you

empowered and makes decisions in the

made mistakes, you simply couldn’t be kept

moment that are aligned with the culture

on the field or the team.

that the leader has inspired.

After one particularly heated management

Every organisation needs a good mix

meeting, I agreed to hire a consultant to

between leaders and managers.

with winning and high on success. I knew every detail of every part of my business and made sure that no move was made without my approval. And, if the staff couldn’t do something the way I wanted it, I believed that I could do it faster and better. Pitches won, staff hired and, of course, money in the bank were the only metrics that mattered. It seemed to be a winning formula. The harder we worked, the higher we scored on each metric. The Creative Counsel was the industry disruptor and quickly became the biggest advertising agency in South Africa; in fact, at one point we had over 50% market share in our industry. We built a business with a highperformance culture. We worked harder than anyone else, handed over brilliant work at all costs and always delivered more than our clients expected. But what were the real costs of this strategy and the

take a deep look into our business and assist us with correcting our course. We couldn’t keep losing our staff in batches. We were spending our lives hiring and training new staff all while trying to run a successful business.

At one stage, our staff turnover was

(leader) spends hours in training, drills and scenarios, communicating his/her creating the culture.

after just two weeks in the business. His conclusions were clear and direct. There was only one thing wrong with our business: its founder. He wasn’t a leader – he was a manager on steroids. In fact, he was often a micromanager.

On game day, though, the leader is not on the pitch with the team, but inspiring from the sidelines. The game is in the hands of the captain (manager) and the team. If the leader has played their role, his/her inspiration will be seen in every move the

After months of engagement with an

team makes – including when they raise

executive coach, I was humbled and

the trophy at the end of the match.

realised the true definition and importance of leadership and the clear line between

As the business grew, cracks began to

of high-calibre staff we could attract.

for the full 90 minutes. The coach

thought process to the team, thereby

CHARACTERISTICS OF GREAT LEADERSHIP

bad employer, which limited the number

the ones that perform at their peak

the consultant called a meeting with me

leadership and management.

had developed a reputation for being a

analogy after all: the best teams are

Despite committing to a four-week project,

focus on the metrics I had chosen?

show. We struggled to retain key staff and

I may have been right in my football

The Creative Counsel began bringing home the trophies, winning every business award that the continent has to offer, including a National Business Award. But the success came only after

The only role of the leader is to create

I was humble enough to accept that

and inspire the culture of the team and

I needed the guidance to understand

the organisation. Ultimately, the culture of

that my role was to inspire through

a team or organisation can be gauged by

compassion, empathy and example.

Top Performing 17 th Edition

15


# BUSINESS BELIEVES


#BUSINESSBELIEVES EDITORIAL

A

fter studying at Wits Medical School, Bonang Mohale spent 10 years in the pharmaceutical industry building his wealth of

business and management knowledge. Since his beginnings as a sales representative, Bonang’s business acumen has taken him to the helm of some of South Africa’s biggest companies. Now, he’s the head of Business Leadership South Africa (BLSA), an independent association that encourages business leaders and key players in South Africa to exchange ideas in the national interest. “We believe that business and government must commit to creating the conditions necessary for South Africa to succeed, so the economy can grow. As a result, we promise that we will do all we can to ensure this happens.

We s p e a k to B o n a n g M o h a l e a b o u t h i s p a s s i o n fo r S o u t h Africa, Business Leadership S o u t h A f r i c a , h i s b i g fi ve a n d w h o h e wo u l d i nv i te to d i n n e r.

“At BLSA, we love our country. We believe in South Africa’s future. We share the values set out in its Constitution. And we say humbly: we want to play our part in ensuring that South Africa works for everyone. “That’s why, on 23 August 2017, we signed a contract with South Africa, to commit to playing

B Y F I O N A WA K E L I N

our part in creating a South Africa of increasing prosperity for all by harnessing the resources and capabilities of business partnerships with government and civil society to deliver economic growth, transformation and inclusion.”

Top Performing 17 th Edition

17


Why has BLSA chosen the clauses set

the end of World War II, and our

out in its contract with South Africa?

own ‘new dawn’.

Business really believes in South

We have to work with the private

Africa and that, with very little

sector because the private sector

effort, we can get the type of

has a disproportionate voice and

double-digit growth numbers we

disproportionate resources. For

see in the rest of the continent.

instance, of the 15 million people

Business is heavily invested in this

that are gainfully employed,

country and, as said in the contract,

13.5 million of them are employed

we are going to create jobs, grow

by the private sector while the state

the economy and, in particular,

directly employs 1.3 million. If you

invest in small and medium

expand it to provinces and local

enterprises. Because that is where

municipalities, it is still less than

jobs are created in large numbers.

2.3 million.

Secondly, we will continue to

The 17 million people that are on

invest in young people, black

social security will only come out

executives in particular, as well as

of that self-perpetuating cycle of

the communities in which we have

abject poverty when we create

a presence. This is the notion of

jobs and when the economy grows.

shared faith. It is business that

And, indeed, when our people have

must ensure that we pay our people

gained self-worth and self-respect,

decent wages so they can afford

and they are able to fend for

the goods and services we as South

themselves and their families.

Africans make. We say all of these things with the intention to lift the lower end of the economy into the middle class, because if we did that all of us would sleep better at night.

BIG 5

BONANGMOHALE’S MOHALE’S BIG FIVE BONANG

Bonang Mohale firmly believes that South Africa is open for business. However, to ensure we are not only open, but booming, five burning issues need to be addressed:

How do we ensure the private and public sector work together to ensure inclusive socio-economic growth? No economy, anywhere in the world, has ever attempted the type of social experiment we are attempting without the public and

What five tips do you have for aspiring business leaders? First and foremost, if you are an aspiring businessperson, before you worry about finance and fulfilling an existing need, I would say develop a product or service that the world needs so that you can name your price. Secondly, you need to have access to the value chain of big companies – like our members – because that’s

1. Governance

private sectors working hand in

2. The defeat of state capture

glove. From Roosevelt’s new

3. Reduction of debt

deal in response to the Great

4. Fixing state-owned enterprises and

Depression of the 1930s to the

Thirdly, of course, you need a

Marshall Plan that helped rebuild

sellable and sustainable idea that

western European economies after

the banks will be able to fund if

reducing the size of the civil service 5. The South African educational system

18

Top Performing 17 th Edition

where at least 40% of the economic value and utility is concentrated.


#BUSINESSBELIEVES EDITORIAL

you are thinking of scaling up. It doesn’t matter where you operate from – whether it’s from a garage, an old RDP house or the boot of your car.

AND LASTLY, IT DOES HELP TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN INCOME AND CASH, AND UNDERSTAND THAT YOU NEED TO INVEST FOR GROWTH, REINVEST FOR JOBS AND REINVEST FOR SCALING UP. Most small and medium enterprises do not scale, and some of the companies that are founder-run or managed do not necessarily scale because all of us get married to the things we’ve created; we don’t want to let go. So when you do grow, let go. Go and get yourself an absolute professional who’s passionate about what you do, allow them to innovate and watch your business fly.

BONANG MOHALE’S TIMELINE 1 994–1996 Sandoz Products (now Novartis)

Member of Executive Committee, Head of Public Affairs and Communications Department

1994

1996–2000 Otis (Pty) Ltd – Managing Director and member of management team for South Europe, the Middle East and West Africa Area

1996

1997

1 997 Otis (Pty) Ltd wins Black Management Forum’s Progressive Company of the Year Award Named Black Management Forum’s Manager of the Year

2001–2002 Sanlam – Chief Executive,

Corporate Marketing; Member of the Executive Committee

2001 2001 South African Airways – Executive Vice President, Strategic Alliances, Network Management and Global Sales Presidential Award for Servanthood in South African Industry and the Economic Empowerment of Previously Disadvantaged Individuals

Top Performing 17 th Edition

19


Your book, Lift as You Rise, has an interesting title considering you are businessman operating in a capitalist environment. Can you give us some insight as to what’s on the inside? “Lift as you rise” is an African adage that says you don’t have to wait until you are king, queen, MD, CEO or president to be beneficent. As you take two steps forward, extend a hand. Lift as you rise because that’s what contributes to the well-being of the community, and the well-being of society. We have to reinvest in the communities that made us who we are. Lift as you rise is a commitment, a call to action, that says we can make a huge difference if all of us made our own contribution. It reminds me of the parable of the loaves and fish: we have more than the world needs but are holding it and keeping it to ourselves. The world will be a better place if ubuntu is normalised into daily practice. If you could choose six people to ask for dinner, past and present, who would they

enterprise and did a good job of it. The

Lastly, being a wannabe writer, I would

second would be Mrs Redientse ‘Redi’

like to spend some time with the young

Tlhabi. I just love the way her mind works.

Rekgotsofetse Chikane, the leader of

Third is Dr Reuel Khoza, who had

the #EverythingMustFall movement

temerity in the assessment of his facts

(not just the fees must fall). There is

to put an absolutely honest message on

intersectionality between race, class,

the annual report of Nedcor about the

gender and Fees Must Fall, and even

type of leadership we have and to look

though all of us are worried about

at the trouble that this leadership has

the continuance and the success of

plunged us into.

our student class, our perception is a negative one.

The next is Eusebius McKaiser, an

be and why?

Oxford graduate and talk show host

I think the first person I would love to

articulate patriotic who raises issues

For dessert (because I’m trying to be

have dinner with is Ms Phuthi Mahanyele,

sharply and forces South Africans to

healthy), I would have a fruit salad with

the young lady who ran the Shanduka

look at themselves in the mirror.

a little bit of homemade custard.

What would you have for dessert?

who wears his heart on his sleeve, an

B o n a n g M o h a l e ’s T i m e l i n e c o n t i nu e d 2002–2017 Sanlam Chief Executive: Shared Services & Associated Companies

2002

2004–2008 Drake & Scull FM SA – CEO and member of the Executive Committee

2004

2006

2006 Hollard Insurance

– Company Director

20

Top Performing 17 th Edition

2007 South African Facilities Management Association Personality of the Year

2009–2014 Shell – Chairman and Vice President: Sales and Operations Downstream

2007

2009

2007–2017

Marketing Association of South Africa – Chairman


#BUSINESSBELIEVES EDITORIAL

BUSINESS LEADERSHIP SOUTH AFRICA’S

CONTRACT WITH SOUTH AFRICA CREATE JOBS BY GROWING

INVEST IN COMMUNITIES

THE ECONOMY

Business owes it to South

Between 1993 and 2015, South

Africans to do more to ensure

Africa’s private sector created

the communities in which they

2.65 million jobs. Our aim is to

operate thrive and prosper.

create even more jobs.

SUPPORT SMALL

ENCOURAGE AND EMPOWER

BUSINESSES

SENIOR BLACK LEADERSHIP

They should be the lifeblood

Ultimately, the best way to close

of our economy, but too often

the opportunity gap is to invest

they struggle. It is our duty

in more businesses owned by,

to help them succeed by

run by and employing black

financing new businesses

South Africans. We pledge

and training and mentoring

to grow a new generation of

entrepreneurs for success.

black business leaders and

CONDEMN AND ROOT OUT

entrepreneurs.

CORRUPTION

INVEST IN SOUTH AFRICANS

Corruption and state capture

South Africa can only meet

are the cancers that are eating

the challenges of the future

away at our society. They must

with a highly skilled workforce.

be rooted out, crushed and

We will train South African

punished where we find them

managers and workers for the

in the public or private sector.

challenges ahead.

2012 Institute of People Management CEO of the Year Conferred Honourary Professorship in Marketing Management by the University of Pretoria

2012

2013

2013–2017 South African Travel Centre – Chairman Black Management Forum – Non-executive Director

2014 South African and Southern African Development Community Titans: Building the Nation Award

2014 2014–2017 Shell – Vice President Upstream

2017 – PRESENT Business Leadership South Africa – CEO

2015

2017

2015 Momentum Friendship Blazer: Republic of South Africa Nation Building Champion

Top Performing 17 th Edition

21


GET TRENDING INFLUENCERS ARE CHANGING THE FACE OF MARKETING

I t ’s ra re to fi n d c o n s u m e r s w h o s t i l l t r u s t o n l y t ra d i t i o n a l m e d i a a n d a d ve r t i s i n g fo r m a t s. Wi t h t h e d e m o c ra t i s a t i o n o f k n ow l e d g e i n t h e a g e o f s o c i a l m e d i a , u n d e r s ta n d i n g h ow to u s e t h e s e p l a t fo r m s to e n g a g e w i t h a u d i e n c e s i s o f v i ta l i m p o r ta n c e .

BY MICHELLE MARAIS

A

s consumers use the internet and social media to research almost everything marketed to them,

companies are realising the importance of social media in communicating to their audiences – both existing and emerging – more effectively. The shift from traditional marketing models to those that use influencers has profoundly impacted brands and companies. The reality is, however, that most marketers still don’t understand how to incorporate influencer marketing into their overarching brand strategy. While the concept still eludes many brands, it can provide a nearly 800% return on investment, making it one of the most important tools in a marketer’s box. WHAT IS INFLUENCER MARKETING? Influencer marketing focuses on creating awareness on an individual level by word-ofmouth marketing. Influencers have credibility and influence over a large network of people. These individuals have a significant impact on vertical markets and/or social media platforms. Brands and agencies partner with influencers in order to create authentic engagement and awareness around products and services.

22

Top Performing 17 th Edition


GET TRENDING EDITORIAL

In its ‘Trust in Advertising’ report, Nielsen

Engagement is essentially an interaction

is definitely posing a problem for today’s

stated that 92% of consumers trust

that the target audience has with your

marketer. “As consumers, our attention

recommendations above all other forms of

content, whether it’s favouriting a tweet,

is divided across different screens and

advertising, and of those, 83% take action

commenting on a post or visiting your

multitasking so the fight for our attention

as a result of recommendations. As a

website. This metric is more relevant

is tougher than ever,” he says.

result, marketers who are using influencer

to measure the effectiveness of your

content see a massive difference between

communications as it indicates how many

Influencer marketing is based on people

the performance of brand content and

people are actually interested in the

talking to people. The personalised

influencer content.

content or product you’re selling.

messaging is tailored to the influencer’s audience, which means different audiences

CHOOSING THE RIGHT INFLUENCER Ask yourself the following questions

Reach, on the other hand, is only a

in the same target market might see

reflection of how many times a post

completely unique content and messaging

appears on a consumer’s feed –

for the same campaign depending on the

regardless of whether they see it or scroll

influencers they’re following.

straight past it. Conventional marketing as a stand-alone

to establish whether a particular influencer would be the right fit for

The percentage of an influencer’s

your brand or business:

followers who interact with a post is

• Which platform would be the most effective for my needs? Is the influencer active on this platform? • What does this influencer usually promote? • Do their ideals align with those of my brand or business? • Are their followers real or are there many bots? • What is this influencer’s reach? • How much engagement do they usually generate with a post?

the most reliable indication of how well your post is received. • Under 1%: Disappointing

strategy just doesn’t work as well as it used to. “The preference consumers have towards traditional advertising has more to do with digital. The reason consumers don’t see the value is that it’s not personalised or relevant. That

• Between 1 and 2%: Good

relevancy creates an affinity,” says

• Between 2 and 3%: Very good

Adobe Managing Director: Australia and

• Between 3 and 6%: Excellent • Above 6%: Exceptional

New Zealand, Paul Robson. That doesn’t mean that brands or companies can’t communicate their

INFLUENCER VS TRADITIONAL MARKETING The biggest difference between conventional marketing and influencer marketing is the method of delivery. While conventional marketing offers

The paradigm has shifted from mass

a generic campaign message to a

marketing to understanding the market

static audience, influencer marketing

and pinpointing the influencer who

involves personalised content directed

speaks directly to your audience. When

at a specific audience. These content

influencers speak with passion about

creators deliver a unique message that

your product or service, it can create

will be relevant to their followers.

virality and cause your brand message to be spread to a large audience of

Audiences are constantly fed advertising

potential customers. While it is tempting

messaging. Academic Director of Market

to only look at the reach – how many

Research and Consumer Behaviour at

people see your content – that an

the IE School of Human Sciences and

influencer can enable, what is more

Technology, Jaime Veiga Mateos, confirms

important to consider is engagement.

that the growing number of distractions

authenticity via internal management of influencer marketing. However, you do need to have the right skillsets at your disposal. If the right tools aren’t available, it can lead to your influencer marketing looking scripted and inauthentic, which reduces the impact and lessens the value of the marketing campaign.

G R E AT I N F L U E N C E R M A R K E T I N G CA M PA I G N S D O N ’ T LO O K L I K E A DV E R T I S I N G. T H E Y ’ R E S TO R I E S A R O U N D B R A N D S T H AT YO U R I N F L U E N C E R S S H A R E O R GA N I CA L LY. Top Performing 17 th Edition

23


To run effective campaigns internally,

as brand ambassadors and as industry

you need to:

experts. All three of these methods

• Define the influencer marketing strategy

require that the influencer and their

• Select the correct influencers for a

audience are perfectly matched with

specific message or brand based on a deep understanding of your target audience • Translate your influencer marketing strategy to influencers clearly and concisely, ensuring that your agency or brand integrity and reputation is increased • Manage your campaigns and

a brand. The influencer will create articles, post images or take over the social media platforms of the brand, leveraging their own reach to increase the reach of the company.

THE PRIMARY TYPES OF INFLUENCERS WHO SPEAK TO THE B2B MARKET 1.

Content creators

to completion.

2.

Brand ambassadors

3.

Industry experts

as though they lack authenticity and put

Select influencers creating original content

a dent in your brand’s credibility with your

can make your brand stand out from the

audience. As an example, Microsoft was

crowd in a parity market. As a result, these

convinced it had the ultimate influencer

campaigns have the potential to make a

marketing campaign when it contracted

huge impact by generating impact and

Oprah Winfrey. The irony? Oprah’s tweet

engagement, and ultimately creating lead

extolling the virtues of the new Microsoft

and revenue opportunities.

Surface were sent from Twitter for iPad. The digital space is dynamic and INFLUENCER MARKETING FOR B2B

provides many ways in which to

COMPANIES

communicate your brand messaging.

In the B2C environment, it’s easy to

You can incorporate influencer

engage audiences using influencers.

marketing into your B2B enterprise

YouTubers and Instagrammers creating

through blog posts, e-books and

video footage around the usage and

live question-and-answer sessions.

application of cosmetics, for example,

Employees can also be great conduits

are typically an easy sell compared to

for brand advocacy; after all, who knows

the B2B audience.

your company better than the people who work there?

B2B marketers know that engaging with potential buyers during the prospection

There is no one-size-fits-all approach;

process and anticipating their

the most important factor to focus on is

requirements are imperative to building

that your brand messaging, identity and

a trust relationship, and through that, to

personality are aligned with those of

becoming a preferred vendor.

your influencers. An influencer marketing strategy that ensures your target

Influencers can speak to a B2B market

audience is the focus of your promotions

in three primary ways: through content,

is the key to a successful campaign.

Top Performing 17 th Edition

AMBASSADORS short interactions with brands, but will rather establish relationships with non-competition clauses and perpetual rights for content and remarketing.

2

AUTHENTICITY IN ENGAGEMENT Influencers will endorse products

it can cause your influencers to appear

24

1

BUILDING LONG-TERM BRAND Influencers will no longer have

influencer content from inception

When the strategy isn’t conveyed correctly,

10

INFLUENCER MARKETING TRENDS

because they believe in them, not just as a result of being compensated.

3

PRESENTING TO TARGETED DEMOGRAPHICS PER SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNEL The opportunity to speak to your direct audience and the ability to measure real return on investment (ROI) will continue to reduce the effectiveness of traditional media channels.

4

INFLUENCERS WILL BEGIN TO UNDERSTAND THEIR ROLE IN THE MARKETING CYCLE Influencers, like Nadia Jaftha of Birdline Blog and Aisha Baker of Baked Online, reflect how honest opinions can create monetising

5

possibilities. INFLUENCER CONTENT CREATION Brands will see a drop in brandcreated content and a growth in sharing and remarketing of influencer-created content, especially using original photos and videos.


GET TRENDING EDITORIAL

6

ENGAGEMENT VALUED MORE THAN REACH An increase in demand for quality metrics will reveal the real return on investment of influencer marketing

AHEAD OF THE CURVE Influencer marketing has outranked organic search and email marketing as the most cost-effective and fastest-growing online acquisition channel. It’s a vital tool for brands to integrate into their marketing strategies.

campaigns. In-depth metrics and

92% of consumers

insights will indicate how effective campaigns are against the key performance indicators.

7

CROSS-CHANNEL MARKETING

VIDEO

TRUST RECOMMENDATIONS

is the most powerful tool to increase sales

The audience will define the selection of platforms utilised for cross-channel marketing; this will require deep analytical insight of each influencer during the influencer selection process.

8

INSTAGRAM STORIES AND TV

Bloglovin’ research showed that

67%

OF MARKETERS

Instagram is experiencing phenomenal growth in user numbers, with Stories and the newly launched Instagram TV on a meteoric rise. According to HubSpot, there was a 197% increase in influencer marketing

surveyed think influencer marketing campaign helped them reach a more targeted audience

and

83% TAKE ACTION

as a result of recommendations

$7.65 ROI FOR EVERY $1 of influencer marketing paid media

on Instagram in 2017.

9

• 92% OF INFLUENCERS prefer Instagram

GUIDELINES REGARDING DISCLOSURE OF REIMBURSEMENT The appearance of #ad or #sponsored tags in social media posts reveal reimbursement. All influencers should disclose that they’ve been reimbursed for their content. This creates authentic messaging and builds trust with the influencer’s audience.

10

LARGER POOLS OF INFLUENCERS We see a move away from restricted

INSTAGRAM is the most popular influencer marketing platform

Knock-on effects of influencer content creation include: • Lower costs of brand content production • More authentic content • Higher engagement rates

• 95-MILLION PHOTOS AND VIDEOS uploaded daily • 4.2-BILLION LIKES per day

UTM and URL TRACKERS , PROMO CODES and branded HASHTAGS are important to ensure campaigns are effective and deliver on key performance indicatiors (KPIs).

pools of influencers on platforms and a search for the most appropriate influencer per campaign, regardless of whether they’re listed on a specific platform or not.

According to Launchmetrics, 78% of marketers who launched influencer marketing campaigns in 2016 worked with influencers for at least 1 year

01 YEAR

Top Performing 17 th Edition

25


INNOVATIVE & COLLABORATIVE INTERVIEW WITH SAVINO DEL BENE SOUTH AFRICA MANAGING DIRECTOR, KOBUS MAREE

S a v i n o D e l B e n e h a s b u i l t a re p u ta t i o n ove r t h e p a s t 1 0 0 ye a r s a s a re l i a b l e p a r t n e r fo r b u s i n e s s e s re q u i r i n g s h i p p i n g a n d t ra n s p o r ta t i o n s e r v i c e s, o p e ra t i n g i n 5 4 c o u n t r i e s w i t h fa c i l i t i e s i n A m e r i c a , A f r i c a , A s i a , E u ro p e a n d Au s t ra l i a . Fo u n d e d o n i n n ova t i o n a n d a d e te r m i n a t i o n to d e l i ve r, i t s b u s i n e s s a c t i v i t i e s a re fo c u s e d o n p rov i d i n g a to ta l l y i n te g ra te d l o g i s t i c s s e r v i c e .

Please give a brief summary of the

This approach enables us to offer

and respond to them positively. We

company, its products / services and

a personalised service with the

believe that with this attitude it is possible

markets.

understanding of what needs to be

to turn challenges into opportunities. We

Savino Del Bene South Africa is part of a

delivered. We are able to offer strategic

focus on the delivery of a solution rather

worldwide corporate network, specialising in

recommendations based on data and

than spending energy on the problem.

global logistics, freight forwarding, clearing

intelligence gathered in the process.

and supply chain management.

In summary, our value proposition in

Savino Del Bene, established in Florence

processing and analysing data is used to

in the early 1900s, has more than 5 000

create business intelligence. This allows

employees in a network of over 285

us to implement global best practice as

commercial offices. The company offers

part of a truly intelligent, integrated

advanced shipping services, customs

end-to-end supply chain.

clearance, warehouse management and a wide range of logistics support products.

Running a company can be quite

The company’s expertise extends to the

such positive results?

following industries: automotive and tyre,

We follow a very structured approach with

fashion, food and beverages, fresh fruit

clear business drivers and core values to

and vegetables, marble and ceramics,

implement the Savino Del Bene Way – the

pharmaceuticals and healthcare, and

culture that exists within the company. We

project cargo.

continuously strive to uphold and improve it.

challenging – how have you achieved

We identify the culture in four terms: What distinguishes Savino Del Bene from its competitors – what differentiates you?

• Excellence – We don’t accept mediocrity and strive to be perfect in all things. • Partnering – Having a mutually beneficial

• No surprises – We strive to meet all expectations. How important do you regard innovation in business? Our business activities are focused on providing a totally integrated logistics service. Therefore, innovation is of primary importance, contributing 87% to the company’s growth. Labour and capital represent the balance. This is why we create and live by innovative transformational strategies. We follow a methodology presented by Anthony W. Ulwick, in his book Jobs To Be Done Theory To Practice, to analyse possible improvement while leading

We differentiate ourselves by focusing

relationship with everyone involved.

the market in technology and customer

on developing a close and personal

Externally, this means that our clients and

service. The basic precepts are:

relationship with each customer:

our suppliers are our partners. Internally, it

• Learn from mistakes

• We develop an intimate knowledge of

means that everyone in the company, as

• Give ideas credit

well as the rest of the Savino Del Bene

• Look beyond the immediate context

the client’s business • We analyse all the client’s business process data available to us. • We introduce and integrate operations to transform the client’s supply chain to realise maximum efficiencies.

26

Top Performing 17 th Edition

Group, is our partner. • Execution – Complete each task to the last detail. Do what you say you will do. Don’t procrastinate. • Positive attitude – We accept challenges

• Encourage learning • Inspire acceptance of the challenge • Set a quality standard in service delivery and ensure continuous improvement • Understand the job to be done


S AV I N O D E L B E N E

INTERVIEW

From left: Mr. Munesh Maharaj, National Sales Manager and Mr. Kobus Maree, Managing Director. Photographer: Maryke Beukes

It is hard enough to attract good talent,

them with the knowledge and skills they

trade route that connects China, India and

let alone retain it – please elaborate on

need to successfully transition from the

Europe with Africa.

strategies that worked.

education system to the formal economy.

Savino Del Bene adheres to the following fundamental strategies in order to attract

Our people expect that we:

and retain staff:

1. Act like leaders

• Focusing on the experience of the

2. Give them hope for a better future

employee by monitoring and improving the employee experience on the job and the organisational culture • Shifting responsibilities and increasing accountability of employees • Shifting ownership of engagement

will to make it happen. To prove this point, Savino Del Bene has

4. Give them direction

24 000 m² on the R21 between OR Tambo

5. Give them the opportunities to learn and grow Please identify six key points for someone embarking on fulfilling a

engagement conversations

CEO’s post 1. Define direction – have a vision

workforce by implementing a high-

2. Decide priorities

quality training and development

3. Acquire, develop and align resources

strategy that governs learning activities

4. Drive action

in the organisation

5. Foster learning

• Creating and implementing a substantial

have the knowledge, skills and political

3. Give them a sense that we know what we are doing

to leaders and encouraging frequent • Building competence within the

Africa is the continent of the future – we

built a state-of-the-art facility of International Airport and Tshwane to facilitate the future. What are your key social responsibility initiatives? Savino Del Bene has achieved B-BBEE level 2 status with 125% preferential procurement recognition. Savino Del Bene’s commitment to diversity in the supply chain and logistics industry

6. Motivate and build confidence

incorporates 26% black women equity.

What message do you have for potential

Savino Del Bene contributes to the EDI

overseas investors looking to invest?

trust which develops disadvantaged

These learners also undergo orientation

South Africa is the gateway to Africa due

communities.

and work-readiness programmes to equip

to its strategic location. It is a strategic

number of learnership programmes for young people

Top Performing 17 th Edition

27


S AV I N O D E L B E N E P R O F I L E

2 0 1 9 : A B E N C H M A R K Y E A R F O R S AV I N O D E L B E N E S O U T H A F R I C A Savino Del Bene South Africa is benchmarking

ocean carriers in order to provide the highest

2019 for becoming a leader in its field, having

quality and flexibility services at the most

chalked up top honours in the recent National

competitive rates for customers.

Business Awards as the 2018 winner in the transport and logistics category and embracing

Savino Del Bene South Africa, as a

a new expanded headquarters* this year.

successful, growing business, contributes to

Savino Del Bene South Africa is part of Savino

and assists in raising the standard of living for

Del Bene – a global company specialising in

all South Africans through trade facilitation.

logistics and supply chain management, offering

We build excellent facilities and provide

a variety of services in the form of ocean, air

skills upgrades to our employees so they can

and truck shipments around the world. The

contribute to their communities.

parent company founded more than 100 years ago has 5 000 employees, 172 own branches

wealth creation in South Africa, provides jobs

The company has achieved B-BBEE level 2

and 113 subsidiary offices.

status with 125% preferential procurement

The company offers advanced shipping

to diversity in the supply chain and logistics

services, customs clearance, warehouse

industry incorporates 26% black women equity.

recognition. Savino Del Bene’s commitment

management and a wide range of logistics

Photographer: Maryke Beukes

KOBUS MAREE Managing Director: Kobus Maree Financial Director: Juanita Maree Human Resources Director: Elvera Pitt National Sales Manager: Munesh Maharaj

CONTACT DETAILS Physical address: Eastport Logistics Park, Cnr R21 Expressway and R25, Witfontein Ext. 75, Glen Marais, Kempton Park

support products. We constantly strive to

* State-of-the-art facility of 24 000 m² on the R21

enhance our relationships with core air and

between OR Tambo and Pretoria.

Telephone: +27(0)11 437 3000 Email address: headoffice.jhb@savinodelbene.com Website: www.savinodelbene.com

C O M PA N Y S TAT I S T I C S / DEMOGRAPHICS / HISTORY

Africa (BUSA) and the South African

EMPOWERMENT STATUS

Association of Freight Forwarders (SAAFF)

Empowerment rating: Level 2

Founding members:

BUSINESS & FINANCE

Preferential procurement

Kobus and Juanita Maree

Turnover: R1.12-billion

Employees: 426

Financial year-end: December

Branches: Johannesburg, Cape Town,

Holding company: SDB Benelux SA

Durban and Port Elizabeth

Bank: Nedbank

Trade affiliations: Business Unity South

Auditors: Ernst & Young

Year founded: 1996

Black women equity: 26% recognition: 125%

AWARDS & RECOGNITION AWARDS: • Transport & Logistics Award 2018 • Freight & Logistics Company Award 2017

TRAINING & CSI

• Logistics Achievers Silver Award 2015

• Training programmes: Learnership programme, mandatory trainings such as firefighting,

• Logistics Achiever Platinum Award 2013

first-aid, forklift and reach operator, CRM, business intelligence • Employee incentive schemes: Commission-based for sales & KAM staff, finder and placement incentives • Empowerment initiatives: EDI empowerment trust • CSI initiatives: SA Cares for Life – Nutribands, Project Flamingo, Operation Healing Hands, Karos, Kambro Men’s Ministry in Eersterust

RECOGNITION: • Institute for Quality: ETD Recognition Award 2016 • Top Performing Companies 2007 & 2018 Top Performing 17 th Edition

29


TO PURCHASE FULL VERSION OF THE PUBLICATION CONTACT DANIEL BOUWER EMAIL: artwork@topco.co.za

THE FULL DIGITAL VERSION CAN BE PURCHASED ON MAGZTER CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO PURCHASE http://www.magzter.com/search/top%20500


14 NOVEMBER 2019

B O O K YO U R S E AT N O W

For more information on nominations, contact Aisha Crombie at aisha.crombie@topco.co.za or call 0860 00 95 90


Travelling Abroad? Book with Woodford Car Hire and Pick-Up in London.

PA

ANDS NR YI

Book with www.woodford.co.za. Pick-Up in over 1000 Destinations Worldwide.

South Africa’s largest independent car hire company.


INVINCIBLE VALVES SINCE 1982

Invincible Valves is a proud supplier of quality valve products and ancillary equipment backed by service excellence around the globe. It is the combination of these values that allows us to form lasting business relationships.

ISBN: 9780620524063 17001 17001

Address: 33 Shaft Rd, Knights, Germiston, 1406 | Tel: +27 (0)11 822 1777 www.invalve.co.za

9

780620

524063

RSA: R145.00 (INCL. VAT)

Profile for Topco Media

Top Performing 17th Edition (Preview)  

Visionary top companies in South Africa and government departments seek to partner with empowered, high performance companies. These partner...

Top Performing 17th Edition (Preview)  

Visionary top companies in South Africa and government departments seek to partner with empowered, high performance companies. These partner...