Issuu on Google+

Page 17 Oct. 12, 2009

University Chronicle

2009-10 Season Preview

Husky SPECIAL SECTION Hockey

2009-2010

Hockey Preview Huskies ready for new venue Logan Marxhausen Asst. Sports Editor Come October of 2013, the Husky hockey program and their fans will be enjoying the recently finished renovations of the National Hockey and Event Center. “We feel very fortunate in the existing facility and all its purpose it has served over the years,” Morris Kurtz, Director of Athletics, said. “We have been utilizing the original facility and we are now merely enhancing it. It was a challenging process, but we are excited about the National Hockey and Events Center and all it future potential.” The National Hockey Center was original finished in 1989. With the renovations that are in place, the new building will be able not only host hockey games, but will be capable of hosting concerts, theater productions, speakers, ceremonies and various other athletic events. “The current program is doing very well and we hope to maintain the status of the pro-

gram,” Kurtz said. “Along with all the renovations to fifth avenue, we think the renovations to the NHEC will serve its purpose well.” The Civic Center as well as the NHEC are considered the “anchors” to the extensive redevelopment of Fifth Avenue, which will include additional housing, and commercial and retail facilities. “The National Hockey Center has always been viewed as just a hockey facility,” Athletic Development Director Sara Granheim said. “With these renovations the current building will be able to hosts certain events with a greater capacity. It was definitely in need of an upgrade.” Granheim works with alumni and with athletics for scholarships and fundraising. “Right now we are in the quiet phase of the campaign,” Granheim said. “This project will cost over $30 million. We have received private gifts as well as 6.5 million from the state of Minnesota. The public kick off for the new NHEC will be in the Spring.” Mayor Dave Kleis, State

Rep. Steve Gottwalt, Governor Tim Pawlenty, State Rep Dan Severson and State Sen. Tarryl Clark attended the ceremony celebrating the signing of the bonding bill in 2008. JLG Architects of Alexandria, Minneapolis, Minn., Grand Forks and Fargo N.D., was selected to head up the renovations that will start in August 2010. JLG has had past experiences such as the $100 million Ralph Engelstad Arena and the Corporate Center in Grand Forks, civic centers in Bismarck and Fargo, N.D., the North Dakota Museum of Art, The Mississippi Master Plan for Elk River, Minn. with various other projects completed in the Upper Midwest. The main differences will include 20 to 30 luxury suites and additional general seating. The entrance ticketing, administration, pro-shop, concourse, restroom and concession areas will be upgraded. The total number of seats for an event will hold around 8,000. “It is a wonderful facility,” said Head Men’s Hockey Coach Bob Motzko.

“A lot of things have happened in 20 years. I think our fans and supporters will benefit greatly. It is for the University as well as the community. It is going to be fun for the overall experience. “I think we as sports fans are

happy. The XCEL Energy Center is a great place for hockey and the Gophers have the new TCF Bank Stadium for football. The sports enthusiast welcomes changes.” The new renovations are for enhancing the fan experience

and creating an event center for central Minnesota. “We are the state of hockey,” Motzko said. “We play in an aggressive league. Our school has been terrific as well as in need of an upgrade. The new NHEC benefits will be felt by many.”

photo courtesy of www.stcloudstate.edu

The proposed new National Hockey Center. Contstuction begins in 2010.

www.universitychronicle.com


2009-2010 Men’s Roster Husky Hockey 2009-2010

PAGE 18

09-10 Schedule Home games in red * Conference games

Oct. 16

John Ammerman

Sam Zabkowicz

Craig Gaudet

Nicholas Rioux

University Chronicle Monday, Oct. 12, 2008

Brett Barta

Garrett Raboin

Garrett Roe

Union College 7:07 p.m.

Oct. 17

Union College 7:07 p.m.

Oct. 23

Minnesota-Duluth* 7:07 p.m.

Oct. 24

2

3

4

5

6

7 (C)

9 (C)

Defense

defense

defense

defense

defense

defense

Forward

Ben Hanowski

Jared Festler

Travis Novak

Jordy Christian

Mitch Ryan

Nick Oslund

Aaron Marvin

10

11

12

13

14

16

17

Dec. 4-5

Forward

Forward

Forward

Forward

Forward

Forward

Forward

Dec. 11-12

Chris Hepp

Ryan Lasch

Ryan Peckskamp

Brian Volpei

David Eddy

Taylor Johnson

Oliver Lauridsen

Minnesota-Duluth* 7:37 p.m.

Oct. 30-31

Michigan Tech* 6:07 p.m.

Nov. 13

North Dakota* 7:37 p.m.

Nov. 14

North Dakota* 7:07 p.m.

Nov. 20-21

Wisconsin* 7:07 p.m.

Nov. 27-28 Denver*

8:37/8:07 p.m. Alaska Anchorage* 10:07 p.m. Colorado College* 7:07 p.m.

Jan. 2-3

Brown University 6:07 p.m.

Jan. 8

Michigan Tech* 7:07 p.m.

18

19 (A)

20

21

22

24

25

Michigan Tech* 5:07 p.m.

Defense

Forward

Forward

Forward

Forward

Defense

Defense

Qunnipac 6 p.m.

Tony Mosey

Drew LeBlanc

Mike Lee

Nate Hardy

Dan Dunn

Bob Motzko

Jan. 9

Jan. 15-16 Jan. 22

Minnesota* 7:07 p.m.

Jan. 23

Minnesota* 5:07 p.m.

Jan. 29-30

Colorado College* 8:37/8:07 p.m.

Feb. 5-6

Alaska Anchorage* 7:07/5:07 p.m.

27

29

30

36

41

Head

Forward

Forward

goaltender

goaltender

goaltender

Coach

Feb. 12-13

North Dakota* 7:07 p.m.

Feb. 19-20

Wisconsin* 7:07 p.m.

Mar. 5

Minnesota State-Mankato* 7:07 p.m.

Huskies to write their own story Senior defensemen Garret Raboin thinks this years Huskies are unique Tyler Ohmann sports editor

As freshmen Garret Raboin and Ryan Lasch got their first taste of the NCAA Tournament. That year Husky hockey notched 22 wins thanks in large part to the freshmen Lasch. Lasch had 39 points on the season, but the Huskies were upended in the first round of that NCAA tournament losing 4-1 to Maine. As sophomores they were once again disappointed, as they could not take home an NCAA tournament victory. As seniors, they are hoping to change that this season. “It’s definitely some motivation, in the fact that this is your senior year and you want to go out on top like that,” Lasch said. Raboin is thinking along the same lines.

“I think every year were going in it looking to win, but seeing as it’s the last time around definitely has a different tone to it than it has the last three years,” Raboin said. SCSU head coach Bob Motzko looks at it a little differently. “They’ve had three cracks at the NCAA tournament been in it twice, and to say they have opportunity to play in it three out of four years, there is not a lot of players that have that opportunity in college hockey,” Motzko said. “I think that’s our goal right now, find out how good we can be, move forward and become a very good WCHA team and if we do that it takes care of our business.” Before their season opener against the Red Hawks of Miami (Ohio), the Huskies played an exhibition match against the University of Lethbridge at the National Hockey Center.

St. Cloud State Huskies Coach: Bob Motzko 2007-08 Record: 18-17-3 (13-13-2 WCHA) Rank: 5

Key Returners: Ryan Lasch, F; Garrett Roe, F; Garret Raboin, D Key Losses:John SwansonF/D; Michael Olson, F;Jase Weslosky, G Newcomers: Ben Hanowski, F; Mike Lee, G

They came out with a win besting the Pronghorns 4-3 thanks to two goals from highly recruited first-year player Ben Hanowski. “He’s very talented, obviously in his first game he gets to show off his offensive talents and gets a couple goals. I wish I could sit here and tell you it’s going to be that easy all year, but our league is just not that way,” Motzko said. “He’s awful talented and he’s a hard worker to match that and a terrific kid and were just looking forward to him having an outstanding freshmen season.” Scoring the other two goals for the Huskies in the game was junior Brian Volpei. The victory did a couple of things for the Huskies according to their coach. “I think its just one step to get started and that’s the big thing, were able to pull the jerseys on and maybe get some of the nervousness out, get on the rink,” Motzko said. Raboin and Lasch are fitting into their leadership roles quite comfortably. “I Just try to bring energy to the rink everyday, try pass on things that I’ve learned in my three years here so far that might help make the road a little easier to travel for the younger guys,” Raboin said. “We have some confidence you know knowing we have an older group from last year. If we put some wins together here that’s always going to improve our confidence,” Lasch said. They both agree though that the young guys are still going to be key, they hope they will follow the lead of the seniors. “They got some talent you know, they came in they were working hard for us early in

Andrew jacobson/ Staff Photographer

SCSU denfensmen and senior captain Garret Raboin skates to stop in an exhibition against Lethbridge early this season at the National Hockey Center. the fall during the lifts and everything and you can see their hard working paying off for us out on the ice, so hopefully they can keep up the hard work,” Lasch said. Raboin echoes Lasch’s optimism about the new guys. “I think they are coming along well, Raboin said. “We know they are going to contribute for us, and they are good guys, they are falling into some roles on the team and I think they are going to do a nice job for us.” The team this year is

missing what they thought would be a large part of their success—goaltender Jase Weslosky. “Jase Weslosky played a lot of minutes for us, and so those minutes are up for grabs,” Motzko said. “We really like our goaltending right now, with Dan Dunn returning in his junior year; these guys are going to battle hard, were going to throw them in there and replace those minutes.” “We’re fine with the situation that we’ve got right now,

we’ve got good goaltenders and they are going to battle out for the job this year and it’s going to be exciting to see,” Lasch said. Raboin thinks that this year’s team is different than any other he has played on. “I think were going to be our own team. It’s not going to be like any other teams, we are unique in the players we have, were going to write our own story,” Raboin said. The Huskies hope that story includes an NCAA victory.


Husky Hockey 2009-2010

Meet the 2009-10 Women’s Hockey

University Chronicle Monday, Oct. 12, 2009

Katie Allen

Jenaca Fredheim

Diana Karouzos

Holly Roberts

PAGE 19

Ashlan Lambert

Alecia Anderson

09-10 Schedule Home games in red * Conference games

Oct. 23

Minnesota* 2:07 p.m.

Oct. 24

2

4

5

6 (A)

8

10

Defense

Defense

Defense

Forward

Defense

Forward

Courtney Josefson

Felicia Nelson

Brittany Toor

Meaghan Pezon

Danielle Hirsch

Kelly Meierhofer

Minnesota* 4:07 p.m.

Oct. 30-31

North Dakota 7:07 /2:07 p.m.

Nov. 6-7

Minnesota-Duluth* 7:07 p.m.

Nov. 13-14

Bemidji State* 7:07/2:07 p.m.

Nov. 20-21

Wisconsin* 2:07 p.m. 11

13 (C)

14

15

16 (A)

17

Forward

Forward

Forward

Forward

Defefnse

Defefnse

Haylea Schmid

Katie Kemmerer

Ellie Sitek

Lisa Martinson

Jocelyn Zabrick

Caitlin Hogan

Nov. 27-28

Brown University Noon/11 a.m.

Dec. 4

Minnesota-State Mankato* 7:07 p.m.

Dec. 5

Minnesota-State Mankato* 7:07 p.m.

Dec. 11-12

Ohio State* 2:07/1:07 p.m.

Jan. 2

Providence 3:07 p.m.

Jan. 3

19

20

21

22

24

25 (A)

Forward

Forward

Forward

Defense

Defense

Forward

Mercyhurst 3:07p.m.

Jeff Giesen

Jaclyn Daggit

Tayler VanDenakker

Anna Donlan

Ashley Nixon

North Dakota* 7:07/4:07 p.m.

Jan. 15-16 Jan. 22-23 Wisconsin* 2:07 p.m.

Jan 29-30

Bemidji State* 7:07 p.m./2:07 p.m.

Feb. 5

Head

27

29

30

37

Coach

Defense

Goalie

Goalie

Goalie

Minneosta-State Mankato* 2:07 p.m.

Feb. 7

Minnesota State-Mankato* 3:07 p.m.

Feb. 12

Minnesota* 7:07 p.m.

Feb. 13

Minnesota* 2:07 p.m.

Feb. 19-20

Ohio State* 6:07/1:07 p.m.

Four captain the Husky ship Huskies decide four captains is better than three to lead the determined Huskies. Katharine Blum Staff Writer The Huskies are looking forward to a strong 2009-2010 season led by an impressive senior class, boasting eight exceptional players. The team will rely on the senior class to step up and lead the team throughout the season. “It is really important that the seniors and team leaders are doing things the way we want them done and better than everyone else. That way, the freshmen see how things are accomplished and can see what Husky hockey is all about,” Head Coach Jeff Giesen said. Giesen agreed that there are additional things the team anticipates from the veterans. “Obviously there are added expectations of the seniors. They know what is supposed to happen and how things are supposed to work. They need to carry those skills with them at all times,” Giesen said. “If they are working as hard as they can, and doing the things they need to do, then it all works out in our favor.” Out of eight seniors, four players, instead of the usual three, were awarded the privilege of wearing a “letter” on their jerseys. Giesen declared, “The vote was that close. Our team voted, and obviously they picked 4 great leaders. I did not have any problem with having the extra captain.” Claiming the “C” is senior Felicia Nelson. Nelson, a St. Paul native, transferred from Minnesota State after one season to play for St. Cloud State. Last season, Nelson played in 33 games tallying 21 points (8 goals, 13 assists). In her career, she has played in a grand total of 71 games, scoring a total of 46 points (23 goals, 23 assists). Picking up one of the Alter-

nate Captain positions is fellow senior, Danielle Hirsch. Hirsch is from Bloomington, Minnesota, and played hockey in high school at Shattuck St. Mary’s. In her career, she has played in 107 games notching 40 points (3 goals, 37 asssists). In 2008, she earned the WCHA Defensive Player of the Week and set the Husky single season record for defenseman assists with 18. Clinching another Alternate spot is St. Cloud native, Holly Roberts. Before becoming a Husky, Roberts played for Warroad High School where she was a five-time letter winner for hockey. A key player for SCSU, Roberts has scored 77 points (33 goals, 44 assists) in 112 career games. Last season, she was tied for team lead in penalties with 54 penalty minutes. Along with Hirsch and Roberts, senior Caitlin Hogan also sports an “A” on her jersey. The Oakdale, Minnesota local led the team with 136 shots and earned WCHA Scholar Athlete honors last season. In a total of 112 games, Hogan has tallied 84 points (34 goals, 50 assists) in her career at SCSU. Although having four strong recognized leaders, Coach Giesen does not expect them to carry all the leadership roles on the team. “I don’t get too hung up on having a letter. I expect all of our seniors to lead, whether it is Meaghan Pezon, Katie Kemmerer, or Felicia Nelson. Just because you do not have a letter does not mean you cannot be a leader. All of our players are expected to do things to help lead the team,” Giesen said. However, it is extremely beneficial to the team to have a strong core of accomplished players leading the team. “Player ability helps leadership because when the other players see how highly skilled

players work, and how much effort they put into the game, they think, ‘I want to be like that’ The leaders have to perform and bring everyday- they cannot really take a day off when everyone is looking up to them,” Giesen said. Leadership is not the only thing the Huskies value. The team has placed a huge emphasis on team chemistry and unity on and off the ice. “Our first and foremost core values as a team are community and unity. All the decisions I make are based off of what is best for the team. The girls know that they need to put the team before everything else. We try to facilitate some things so the girls get to know each other and become that unit, but they do a good job of accomplishing it themselves. They have found over the past few years how important it is to get along and to have a good relationship with everyone else,” said Giesen. “The girls are definitely friends off the ice. They have a lifelong friendship that carries on even after they graduate.” Despite being in the most competitive conference in the United States, Coach Giesen expects nothing but the best from his team. He said, “It is not even a question that the WCHA is the toughest conference in the country. There is a reason they have won 11 straight national championships. Regardless, I think we are headed in the right direction. We found out our first weekend that you cannot just play one game of the series and not the next. I have high expectations and I think the players have high expectations, so hopefully that will carry over.” The Huskies will return home to the National Hockey Center to play conference rivals, University of Minnesota, Friday, Oct. 23 at 2:07 pm.

File Photo

Senior and alernate captain Caitlin Hogan awaits a pass in a game last season. She is one of the leaders on this senior-dominated Husky squad.


Husky Hockey 2009-2010

PAGE 20

University Chronicle Monday, Oct. 12, 2009

WCHA standing predictions 1 Expert 7 Panel Picks Colorado College Tigers

Denver Pioneers

Coach: Scott Owens 2008-09 Record: 16-12-10 (12-9-7 WCHA)

Coach: George Gwozdecky 2008-09 Record: 23-12-5 (16-8-4 WCHA)

Key Returners: Joe Colborne, F; Anthony Maiani, F; Patrick Wiercioch, D; Marc Cheverie, G Key Losses: Patrick Mullen, D; J.P Testwuide, D

Newcomers: Drew Shore, F; Matt Donovan, D

North Dakota Fighting Sioux

2

Coach: Dave Hakstol 2008-09 Record: 24-15-4 (17-7-4 WCHA)

Kevin Allenspach- hockey writerSt. Cloud Times 1. Denver 2. Wisconsin 3. Minnesota 4. North Dakota 5. St. Cloud State

6. Minnesota-Duluth 7. MSU-Mankato 8. Colorado College 9. Alaska Anchorage 10. Michigan Tech

Key Returners: Richard Bachman, G; Brian Connely, D; Bill Sweatt, F Key Losses: Chad Rau, C; Eric Walsky, F Newcomers: Mike Boivin, D; Scott Winkler, F

MSU-Mankato Mavericks

8

Coach: Troy Jutting 2008-09 Record: 15-17-6 (11-13-4 WCHA)

Tyler Ohmann- University Chronicle sports editor 1. Denver 2. Minnesota Key Returners: Chris VandeVelde, F; Brad Eidsness, 3. Wisconsin G; Chay Genoway, D Key Losses: Brad Miller, D; Andrew Kozek, F; Ryan 4. SCSU Duncan, F 5. North Dakota

Newcomers: Joe Gleason, D; Andrew MacWilliam, F

3

Wisconsin Badgers Coach: Mike Eaves 2008-09 Record: 20-16-4

6. Colorado College 7. Alaska Anchorage 8. Minnesota-Duluth 9. MSU-Mankato 10. Michigan Tech

Mike Doyle- color commentatorHusky Productions 1. St. Cloud State 2. Denver 3.North Dakota 4. Wisconsin 5. Minnesota Duluth

6.Alaska Anchorage 7. Colorado College 8. MSU-Mankato 9. Michigan Tech 10.Minnesota

Key Returners: Kurt Davis, D; Geoff Irwin, D; Kael Mouillierat, F; Austin Lee, G Key Losses: Mick Berge, F; Mike Zacharias, G Newcomers: Evan Mosey, D; Tyler Pitlick, F

9

Alaska Anchorage Seawolves Coach: Dave Shyiak 2008-09 Record: 14-17-5 (9-14-5 WCHA)

Marty Sundvall- SCSU hockey stat crew

(14-11-3 WCHA) Key Returners: Brendan Smith, D; Jamie McBain, D; 1. Denver Derek Stepan, F 2. North Dakota Key Losses: Shane Connelly, G; Tom Gorowsky, F 3. Wisconsin Newcomers: Justin Schultz, D; Craig Smith, F

4. Minnesota 5. Colorado College

Minnesota Golden Gophers

4

Coach: Don Lucia 2008-09 Record: 17-13-7 (12-11-5 WCHA)

Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs

6

Aaron Bjorkstrand- play-by-playHusky Productions 1. Denver 2. North Dakota 3. Minnesota 4. SCSU 5. Wisconsin

Key Returners: Jay Barriball, F; Alex Kangas, G; Ryan Stoa, F; Jordan Schroeder, F Key Losses: Justin Bostrom, F; R.J Anderson, D Newcomers: Seth Helgeson, D; Zach Budish, F

Coach: Scott Sandelin 2008-09 Record: 22-13-8 (10-11-7 WCHA)

6. Colorado College 7. Minnesota-Duluth 8. MSU-Mankato 9. Alaska Anchorage 10. Michigan Tech

Kyle Stevens-University Chronicle opinions editor 1. Denver 2. North Dakota 3. Minnesota 4. Wisconsin 5. Minnesota-Duluth

6. SCSU 7. MSU-Mankato 8. Colorado College 9. Alaska Anchorage 10. Michigan Tech

Jordan Weinand-ice side reporter Husky Productions

1. Denver 2. North Dakota 3. Minnesota 4. SCSU Key Returners: Justin Fontaine, F; Mike Connolly, F; 5. Wisconsin Jack Connolly, C Key Losses: MacGregor Sharp, C; Josh Meyers, D Newcomers: Dylan Olsen, D; Dan DeLisle, F

6. SCSU 7. Minnesota Duluth 8. MSU-Mankato 9.Alaska Anchorage 10. Michigan Tech

6. MSU-Mankato 7. Minnesota-Duluth 8. Colorado College 9. Alaska Anchorage 10. Michigan Tech

Note: Rankings are based on the average of all the panelists. SCSU’s information can be found on page 18.

Key Returners: Kevin Clark, F; Paul Crowder, F; Josh Lunden, F; Jon Olthuis, G Key Losses: Mat Robinson, D; Brian Bales, F Newcomers: Daniel Naslund, F

Michigan Tech Huskies

10

Coach: Jamie Russell 2008-09 Record: 6-25-7 (2-19-7 WCHA)

Key Returners: Drew Dobson, D; Jordan Baker, F/C; Brett Olson, C Key Losses: Alex Gagne, C; Geoff Kinrade, D; Rob Nolan, G Newcomers: Anthony Schooley, F; Tommy Brown, D


Hockey Preview October 12th 2009 Issue