St. Michaels Points of Interest 22. AMELIA WELBY HOUSE - Amelia Coppuck, who became Amelia Welby, was born in this house and wrote poems that won her fame and the praise of Edgar Allan Poe. 23. TOWN DOCK RESTAURANT - During 1813, at the time of the Battle of St. Michaels, it was known as “Dawson’s Wharf” and had 2 cannons on carriages donated by Jacob Gibson, which fired 10 of the 15 rounds directed at the British. For a period up to the early 1950s it was called “The Longfellow Inn.” It was rebuilt in 1977 after burning to the ground. 24. ST. MICHAELS MUSEUM at ST. MARY’S SQUARE - Located in the heart of the historic district, offers a unique view of 19th century life in St. Michaels. The exhibits are housed in three period buildings and contain local furniture and artifacts donated by residents. The museum is supported entirely through community efforts. Open May-October, Mon., 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., Fri., 1 to 4 p.m., Sat., 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Sun., 1 to 4 p.m. Other days on request. 410-745-9561 or www.stmichaelsmuseum.com. 25. KEMP HOUSE - Now a country inn. A Georgian style house, constructed in 1805 by Colonel Joseph Kemp, a revolutionary soldier and hero of the War of 1812.
Don’t Get Left Behind! Stand-Up Paddle Boards Available At...
EASTON CYCLE AND SPORT www.eastoncycleandsport.com
723 Goldsborough St.