Page 114

Easton Points of Interest 17. FOXLEY HALL - 24 N. Aurora St., Built about 1795, Foxley Hall is one of the best-known of Easton’s Federal dwellings. Former home of Oswald Tilghman, great-grandson of Lt. Col. Tench Tilghman. (Private) 18. TRINITY EPISCOPAL CATHEDRAL - On “Cathedral Green,” Goldsborough St., a traditional Gothic design in granite. The interior is well worth a visit. All windows are stained glass, picturing New Testament scenes, and the altar cross of Greek type is unique. 19. INN AT 202 DOVER - Built in 1874, this Victorian-era mansion ref lects many architectural styles. For years the building was known as the Wrightson House, thanks to its early 20th century owner, Charles T. Wrightson, one of the founders of the S. & W. canned food empire. Locally it is still referred to as Captain’s Watch due to its prominent balustraded widow’s walk. The Inn’s renovation in 2006 was acknowledged by the Maryland Historic Trust and the U.S. Dept. of the Interior. 20. TALBOT COUNTY FREE LIBRARY - Housed in an attractively remodeled building on West Street, the hours of operation are Mon. and Thurs., 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., Tues. and Wed. 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Fri. and Sat., 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., except during the summer when it’s 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on

Tandem Antiques & Fine Arts Center, LLC

Children’s Toys & Books

John Haley Bellamy Eagle

Late 1800s, original paint, Authenticated by Sotheby’s An Elite Collection of Dealers Offering Top Quality Merchandise

18th & 19th Century Furniture · Accessories Ho Jewelry · Folk Art · Prints Tues.-uSrs: 1 Paintings · Silver · China Sun 0-5 at. . 114 Fine Art & Decoys 8614 Ocean Gateway, Easton E. of Chapel Rd., 1/8 mile on the right

7 S. Washington St., Easton

410-829-3559 · 410-770-4464

tandemantiqueseaston.com tandemantiquesandfineartscntr@yahoo.com

410-822-7716

112

September 2013 ttimes web magazine  

Tidewater Times September 2013

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you