Page 112

Easton Points of Interest 11. TALBOT COUNTY COURTHOUSE - Long known as the “East Capital” of Maryland. The present building was completed in 1794 on the site of the earlier one built in 1711. It has been remodeled several times. 11A. FREDERICK DOUGLASS STATUE - 11 N. Washington St. on the lawn of the Talbot County Courthouse. The statue honors Frederick Douglass in his birthplace, Talbot County, where the experiences in his youth ~ both positive and negative ~ helped form his character, intellect and determination. Also on the grounds is a memorial to the veterans who fought and died in the Vietnam War, and a monument “To the Talbot Boys,” commemorating the men from Talbot who fought for the Confederacy. The memorial for the Union soldiers was never built. 12. SHANNAHAN & WRIGHTSON HARDWARE BUILDING 12 N. Washington St. It is the oldest store in Easton. In 1791, Owen Kennard began work on a new brick building that changed hands several times throughout the years. Dates on the building show when additions were made in 1877, 1881 and 1889. The present front was completed in time for a grand opening on Dec. 7, 1941 - Pearl Harbor Day. 13. THE BRICK HOTEL - northwest corner of Washington and Fed-

Easton’s UNIQUE Fine Art

& Craft Gallery and Silver Jewelry Working Studio

SHOP smart SHOP local

Open Mon–Sat: 10–5 Occasional Sunday: 11–3 Always First Saturday Gallery Walk 19 Goldsborough Street Easton, MD 21601 410 • 822 • 1199 cottagestudioandgallery.com

Painting by Jane Hill

110

September 2013 ttimes web magazine  

Tidewater Times September 2013

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you