Page 130

St. Michaels Points of Interest lanterns were hung in the trees to lead the attackers to believe the town was on a high bluff. The houses were overshot. The story is that a cannonball hit the chimney of “Cannonball House” and rolled down the stairway. This “blackout” was believed to be the first such “blackout” in the history of warfare. 23. AMELIA WELBY HOUSE - Amelia Coppuck, who became Amelia Welby, was born in this house and wrote poems that won her fame and the praise of Edgar Allan Poe. 24. ST. MICHAELS MUSEUM at ST. MARY’S SQUARE - Located in the heart of the historic district, offers a unique view of 19th century life in St. Michaels. The exhibits are housed in three period buildings and contain local furniture and artifacts donated by residents. The museum is supported entirely through community efforts. For more info. tel: 410745-9561 or www.stmichaelsmuseum.org. 25. GR ANITE LODGE #177 - Located on St. Mary’s Square, Granite Lodge was built in 1839. The building stands on the site of the first Methodist Church in St. Michaels on land donated to the Methodists by James Braddock in 1781. Between then and now, the building has served variously as a church, schoolhouse and as a storehouse for muskrat skins. 26. KEMP HOUSE - Now a country inn. A Georgian style house, constructed in 1805 by Colonel Joseph Kemp, a revolutionary soldier and hero of the War of 1812. For more info. visit www.kemphouseinn.com. 27. THE OLD MILL COMPLEX - The Old Mill was a functioning flour mill from the late 1800s until the 1970s, producing f lour used primarily for Maryland beaten biscuits. Today it is home to a brewery, distillery, artists, furniture makers, and other unique shops and businesses. 28. CLASSIC MOTOR MUSEUM - Located at 102 E. Marengo Street, the Classic Motor Museum is a living museum of classic automobiles, motorcycles, and other forms of transportation, and providing educational resources to classic car enthusiasts. For more info. visit classicmotormuseum.org. 29. ST. MICHAELS HARBOUR INN, MARINA & SPA - Constructed in 1986 and recently renovated. For more info. visit www.harbourinn.com. 30. ST. MICHAELS NATURE TRAIL - This 1.3 mile paved walkway winds around the western side of St. Michaels starting at a dedicated parking lot on South Talbot Street. The path cuts through the woods, San Domingo Park, over a covered bridge and ending in Bradley Park. The trail is open all year from dawn to dusk. 128

November 2017 ttimes web magazine  

Tidewater Times November 2017

November 2017 ttimes web magazine  

Tidewater Times November 2017