Page 114

Easton Points of Interest Oswald Tilghman, great-grandson of Lt. Col. Tench Tilghman. (Private) 18. TRINITY EPISCOPAL CATHEDR AL - On “Cathedral Green,” Goldsborough St., a traditional Gothic design in granite. The interior is well worth a visit. All windows are stained glass, picturing New Testament scenes, and the altar cross of Greek type is unique. 19. INN AT 202 DOVER - Built in 1874, this Victorian-era mansion ref lects many architectural styles. For years the building was known as the Wrightson House, thanks to its early 20th century owner, Charles T. Wrightson, one of the founders of the S. & W. canned food empire. Locally it is still referred to as Captain’s Watch due to its prominent balustraded widow’s walk. The Inn’s renovation in 2006 was acknowledged by the Maryland Historic Trust and the U.S. Dept. of the Interior. 20. TALBOT COUNTY FREE LIBRARY - Housed in an attractively remodeled building on West Street, the hours of operation are Mon. and Thurs., 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., Tues. and Wed. 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Fri. and Sat., 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., except during the summer when it’s 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday. For more info. tel: 410-822-1626 or visit www.tcf l.org. 21. MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AT EASTON - Established in the early

112

July 2015 ttimes web magazine  
July 2015 ttimes web magazine  

Tidewater Times july 2015