Page 132

St. Michaels Points of Interest lanterns were hung in the trees to lead the attackers to believe the town was on a high bluff. The houses were overshot. The story is that a cannonball hit the chimney of “Cannonball House” and rolled down the stairway. This “blackout” was believed to be the first such “blackout” in the history of warfare. 23. AMELIA WELBY HOUSE - Amelia Coppuck, who became Amelia Welby, was born in this house and wrote poems that won her fame and the praise of Edgar Allan Poe. 24. TOWN DOCK RESTAURANT - During 1813, at the time of the Battle of St. Michaels, it was known as “Dawson’s Wharf” and had 2 cannons on carriages donated by Jacob Gibson, which fired 10 of the 15 rounds directed at the British. For a period up to the early 1950s it was called “The Longfellow Inn.” It was rebuilt in 1977 after burning to the ground. For more info. visit www.towndockrestaurant.com. 25. ST. MICHAELS MUSEUM at ST. MARY’S SQUARE - Located in the heart of the historic district, offers a unique view of 19th century life in St. Michaels. The exhibits are housed in three period buildings and contain local furniture and artifacts donated by residents. The museum is

Justamere Trading Post

Native American Jewelry · Crafts & Other Unique Gifts Unusual Spices & Seasonings · Bulk Herbs Teas From All Over the World Flute Circle - 2nd Tuesday, 6 p.m. - Free 2 Locations

1110 S. Talbot Street, #9 & 404 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels 410-745-2227 www.justamereherb.com 132

April 2016 ttimes web magazine  

Tidewater Times April 2016

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you