__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

.' •

I


FOREWORD Are worn-out football uniforms worth $ 10 each? Instead of $10 in cash as initiation fee to start an athletic club? No, decided 26 men, who apparently had $10 apiece, and out they marched from a meeting in Columbia Hall on Portland's First Street, early in February, 1891. Only a day or so passed until the next meeting, and the next. Fifty, soon a hundred, were meeting with them. "The more sensible among the workers in this movement", the press observed, "recognize the fact that only in union is there strength." And only cash was apt to pay the rent. It was not only the $10 that these men brought to their new venture. They had ideas expressed very clear1 y, in Articles of Incorporation drawn up in the name of Multnomah Amateur Athletic Club on February 26, 1891: " The object, business and pu,-suit of this corporation is to promote and develop the physical and mental capacities of its members, and to promote social intercourse among its members, and to stimulate interest in outdoor and indoor sports, and the advancement of pure and manly athletics; and to that end this corporation shall have power to organize, support, manage, control, maintain and carry on a clubhouse or clubhouses ... boat houses .. gymnasiums .. grounds (for) baseball, cricket, football, la-crosse, tennis courts, race tracks and other places for the holding of indoor and outdoor sports and the carrying on of athletic games, sports and amusements." By Article III they were down to reality: " This corporation has at this time no property or money excepting its record books; and the sources of revenue and income of this corporation shall be initiation fees, dues and fines collected from members, admission fees charged for exhibitions and entertainments and such rents and income as may be received from its gymnasiums, clubhouses, athletic grounds or other property." How these young Portlanders rose from assets zero to the affluence of clubhouses and athletic fie!ds is the story of Multnomah Athletic Club, 1891- 1966.¡ .._ Northwest c?ampio':'s, 1895 (rack and field men ¡ were Jack Kmg, tramer, Frank Coyne, A. L. Pop Fuller, Harry Rosenberg; center W . C. Brown, Bert K errigan, Robert Farrell, Eugene White, George Nichols; back, Wa lter B. Ho neyman, Frank Watkins, F. H. V. Andrews, W. E. Tallant, Lawrence Driggs, A.]. Barzee,Edward E. Morgan.


~-~a "Growing like a weed" was the business report and forecast for Portland on New Year's Day, 1891, according to The Oregonian's 32-page edition. In this city, chartered only 40 years earlier, there had been 605 new buildings begun or completed, over $8 million in construction if you counted the efforts of East Portland and Albina as well. Look, for instance, at the corners of Sixth and Morrison. It seemed rather far uptown when the federal government built there in 1875 the Pioneer Place Post Office Building. Now the Portland Hotel was nearing completion west of Sixth Street, and beside it on the north side of Morrison the Marquam Grand Opera House would open soon. Over at Third and Main, foundations were laid for a new City Hall, and before long the imposing Union Station would be completed. Two bridges, the Morrison and the Steel Railroad bridge, spanned the Willamette. Five ferries dodged back and forth amid increasing river traffic. A population of nearly 50,000 was served by 23 city railway lines constituting it was insisted "the best and most complete rapid transit service in the United States." Visionaries claimed that all street railways would in time be electrified. Wires had already replaced the horses for the run up Washington Street, but most of the lines relied on sturdy teams to pull cars out Second Street to Fulton Park, over the Waverly-Woodstock line, or east to that new land development called Sunnyside and Mt. Tabor. Nags had their faults, such as occasional runaways, but consider the alternative: might not the entire city be set ablaze if this unsightly network of overhead wires were ignited in a lightning storm? Three cable lines were steam powered, and one made it so convenient to reach the hills southwest of town, via Jefferson Street through Goose Hollow and then up that towering Chapman Street trestle to Spring Street and the end of the line at 22nd Street. 5

"W South of the Madison Bridge, opened in 1891, St. Mary's Academy was a land¡ mark in one of Portland's chief residential areas. A few adventurous families were choosing East Portland homesites.

Homes on the Heights were becoming fashionable, even accessible, by carriage up winding Montgomery Drive and, since 1890, by the cable cars from downtown up Chapman Street trestle to Spring Street.


In the beautiful Willamette River, Portlanders swam, raced in single or double sculls or the eight-oar shells, dove from bridges or just drifted a lazy rowboat on the clear water. Members of Portland Rowing Club were also MAC men, among them two champions of the early 1900s, Ed Glos and Art Allen.

Portland was not taking a back seat to any city. There had been telephones since 1878, only two years after Mr. Bell's patent, and electric lights on the downtown streets since 1885. Remember, please, the first long distance transmission line in the entire United States was opened in June, 1889 from Oregon City to Portland, Stump town indeed! Even the streets were, in much of the downtown area, paved with those Belgian blocks that came in ships' ballast and there were over 100 miles of sidewalk, board of course and elevated above street level to escape the spring rise of the river. Newspapers were far from provinciaL Front pages of The Oregonian and the Evening Telegram were confined to national and world news, the deliberations of the 52nd Congress and a public spat between Queen Victoria and the Prince of Wales outspacing a local scandaL A local issue was the annexation of Albina and East Portland (this came to pass in 1891) and even the bridging of the Columbia River to Vancouver (that took a bit longer, until 1917). There were 21 grammar schools, and Portland High School was a many-spired temple of learning between 14th and Lownsdale, Morrison and Alder. Twenty-one banks and over 80 church congregations appeared in the city directory. And what was the news of sports? There was talk, participation, even some organization. Portland Rowing Club, founded in 1879 by J- N. Teal, T. B. Wilcox, G. Scott Brooke and a few others, and the Willamette Rowing Club attracted oarsmen to the beautiful river. Portland Social Turn Verein combined gymnastic exercises with Germanic fellowship and song. Company G, First Regiment, Oregon National Guard, held track and field meets in the Armory. Teams were getting together to play this new game, baseball, over at The Oaks at East Second and Belmont. In the Mechanics Pavilion at Second and Clay there were races for watching and wagering-races on foot, on roller skates, on bicycles. Tennis? Yes, though courts were few. The first in Portland was laid out in 1880 at the H. D. Green home. Illuminated with gas lights, it was said to be the first in the country where tennis could be played at night. In 1882 J- L Wickersham had set up a tennis net on the depot platform at the Southern Pacific carshops, though it probably held little interest at the time for his three year old son Brandt, who would later become one of the all-time greats of MAC and Oregon tennis. Honored from ancient days in Greece, the sports of boxing and 6


wrestling were in the 1880s and 90s dominated in the United States by professional pugilists, and "club" suggested more often than not a gathering place for "the swells" to exchange bets on the bare-knuckle bouts between men who were "paid to perform like dancing bears". Those who h ad learned these gentlemanly sports in college had little opportunity to pursue them in Portland, or elsewhere in the country. In two notable cases elsewhere athletic clubs had been formed and maintained a high repute and dedication to amateur athletics. In San Francisco, a group of gymnasts had in 1860 founded The Olympic Club. Soon after its inception the New York Athletic Club had in 1868 held the first indoor track meet in the United States, permitting only amateurs to compete. When some of the British residents and their friends could find an opposing team among crews of ships in the river, they played a new and rather strenuous game called football. The ball was round. Rules did not permit touching the ball or other players with hands or arms. Rugby rules were infiltrating however, and the American collegiate game was known to faculty of the Bishop Scott Academy, men who had attended eastern colleges. In the fall of 1890, Prof. J. W. Garvin, with W . A. Montgomery as coach, had organized an Academy team to challenge the Portland Football and Cricket Club, which had assembled itself in the spring of that year. Will Lipman, who had played football at Princeton, coached the club men, practicing on the river flats and out in the Sunnyside suburbs, but the Academy had the more experienced players and won Portland's first football game on Thanksgiving day, 1890. The papers reported attendance of 1550. In February, 1891, the Portland Football and Cricket Club called a meeting in Columbia Hall of all who wished to form a permanent athletic club. An encouraging number of young business and profession al men appeared, and quickly arrived at a difference of opinion. Funds would be needed, some insisted at least $10 from each member as an initiation fee. That's when some of the football players offered to contribute their uniforms instead of $10, the meeting broke up, and the young men who preferred to open a bank account with cash instead of canvas vests and quilted knickers settled down to choosing officers and trustees and a name, Multnomah, probably from the Indian word for "down river," already a respected place name in Multnomah County. 7

On the 1891 football team were, front, W. L . K endall, A . M. Ells· worth, C. E. M cDonnell, M ark Brooke; center, R ay Green, W. A . Montgomery, john Gavin,]. R. Savage (captain), R. L. Glisan, W. A. H olt, H m·old Fiske; standing E. P. Dosch, A. JJ. M cA lpin , Courteney L 11wis, T. Scott Brooke (manager). W. H. Chapin, W. F. Lipman. T en served then 01· later as officers or tmstees of the Club.


First club rooms were the third floor of the Willamette Block on Second Street. First man to represent MAC in track was W. L. Murray, at Spring Ga"!es of 1891. With him and jack King, professional trainer, were ]. P. Lombard, Lansing Stout, W. C. Brown, A . L. Stephens, joseph Smith, R. M. Townsend, W. B. Lasswell,]. H. Graham and john Latta. Murray in 1893 became swim instructor.

Who were the charter members? Names of the 26 insurgents were not recorded, and the names of all 200 who had pledged their enthusiasm and their $10 to the new club by mid-March (before raising the fee to $25) cannot be verified. The eleven men who, as first officers and trustees, signed the Articles of Incorporation were A. B. McAlpin, president; H. E. Judge, vice president; George L. Bickel, treasurer; W. H. Chapin, secretary; J. W. P. McFall, R . Patterson Effinger, W. F. Lipman, B. L. Hutchins, L. Goldsmith, Herbert Wilson, Bruce Carr. All resigned, mid-May, to permit the larger membership to choose its officers. Except for Mr. Hutchins who was leaving the city and was replaced by J. W. Paddock, . as vice president, all were reelected as the first Board of Trustees. These were Multnomah men, participants in many sports. None were champions, all were eager to test the competition. None had wealth then, some never did. Typical of the founders, McAlpin was 35 years old, already with the bearing for which he was called "The Colonel". He was born in Pennsylvania, soon taken by his parents to California, and in 1884 arrived in Portland with his camera to record the faces and scenes of Portland and the northwest. The Club's first president was also its faithful photographer, when he was not suited up for football, swimming, rowing, handball, tennis-he was on the courts until well past his 80th birthday, and had been an alert and active employee for nearly 20 years prior to his death in 1947. Football and a sober regard for paying their own way had drawn them together, but the enthusiasm of the 200 men who considered themselves Charter members was equally directed to the indoor exercises of boxing and wrestling, skill on the rings and parallel bars, with the foils and in gymnastic feats. Finding a suitable location for these endeavors was an immediate problem in fast-growing Portland. For clubrooms, the third floor of the Willamette Block on Second Street, between Morrison and Yamhill Streets, was rented at $75 a month. The sawdust and lathes of the former tenant, a chairmaker, were replaced by 48 lockers and three shower baths in the 65x55 foot gymnasium, a billiard room and a reading room each 27x22 feet. Electric lights were in every room, members proudly informed their friends. Two hundred and fifteen members admired this evidence of their success at the opening of the rooms on April 4, 1891. Sound finances, abundance of applications, eager participation-at the age of two months, that was MAC's outlook for the future. 8


(

A shipment of gymnasium apparatus, $800 worth, arrived from Chicago in May- traveling and swinging rings, a vaulting horse, single trapeze and suspending horizontal bar, tug of war outfits, wall machines, rowing machines, Indian clubs, wooden and iron dumbbells. A full assortment of boxing gloves, fencing foils and equipment for baseball, football and rowing was already at hand. To preside over this well-equipped gymnasium there came the Club's first instructor, Professor Herman Boos. Far from being a professional pugilist, which skeptics still insisted would associate with an "athletic club", the Professor was identified as a "graduate of one of the best athletic schools in the East" and had been gymnastic instructor at both Bishop Scott Academy and Portland Turn Verein. If there remained any doubt as to the future course of this club, it must have faded entirely at the Board's next action. By formal amendment of the by laws, the " freedom of the gymn~sium" was extended on Saturday mornings to the sons and brothers under 18 years of age of all members. Ban on professional athletes' membership was strict, and continued for many years. As late as 1910, the Board was insisting that any member who played in a professional team would be dropped from the rolls (though Oregon Agricultural College declined in 1906 to play the "old pros" of MAC football) and for some years the Club wouldn't permit the local baseball club to practice on its amateur field. Incorporated as "Multnomah Amateur Athleti~ Club", the club's legal title has never changed, though since 1937 the by laws have permitted it to be "known as Multnomah Athletic Club". Proudest boast of the new club, from its earliest days and repeated at every opportunity to convince Portlanders of its "virtuous moderation" was the vow that no liquor and no gambling would be allowed in the club. There was not a bottle of liquor opened in the clubhouse for 45 years. Officially, that is. Unofficially-well, there are stories lold by some of the old timersThe red M with wings of white was worn on many a black sweater in 1891, in track meets at the Armory, at The Oaks in baseball games, on the river by oarsmen. Autumn, and the formation of MAAC's first football team was most eagerly awaited. A first game was lost to Bishop Scott Academy on October 31. After defeating Tacoma Athletic Club 30-8 on Thanksgiving Day, the team accepted an invitation for a return match on New Year's 9

That's Ed Morgan winning 120 yard hurdles, Bert Kerrigan on his way to 6'2" high jump, Bill Tallant breaking the Coast mile record in 4:31 .4, in MAC's victory over Olympic Club June 27, 1896. Bob Edgren, far right, warmed up to win hammer throw from Club's Ed Flanagan. Cricket and cycle racing were other Multnomah Field diversions. Spire in background is that of Zion Lutheran Church.


~:~;i:.::;r.'.'!·, r

When Multnomah men set out from the clubhouse at Tenth and Yamhill to parade or pknic, it was a sight worth watching. So were their football games at Multnomah Field. This 1898 , team of G. Villa, Fred Hamilton, Arthur Downs, Ed Davey, Will Sinnott, H . Smith, Karl Lively, Spike Young, Bert Oliver, George McMillan, L aConie Stiles, Frank Harmar, and Captain W. B. Fletcher defeated University of Oregon 21-0.

Day and, accompanied by a hundred or more rooters, startled Tacoma with its street parade on arrival, appearance en masse at a theater on New Year's Eve, and 24-0 triumph on the field. From that first season, for 35 years until MAC football teams put away their uniforms in 1926, the score stood at 138 games won, 22 tied, only 58 lost. Indoor athletics were in the spotlight at a formal opening of the club rooms November 27, 1891. By then the address h ad changed to 170Y2 Second Street with the addition of three more rooms to serve the membership of over 300. Entertainment on this "brilliant social occasion" included gymnastics, fencing, a trapeze solo ·by George F. Holman, foils by Master Berger and Master HilL Football, baseball and trackmen sought a field of their own and found it just at the head of Morrison Street, a natural arena of level bottom land along Tanner Creek, south of the Exposition Building, between the Chapman (18th) and Stout (20th) Street embankments. The sizable stream was to be confined, by 1892, in a new sewer line that would extend clear up to the City Park. It was a historic spot, for here Daniel Lownsdale had in 1846 built a tannery, first one west of the Mississippi and north of Mexico it was said, utilizing the tannin of the hemlock trees that grew so densely along the creek. Lownsdale's tannery, along with the nearby Canyon Road through the Tualatin mountains to the rich valley lands, h ad been a major factor in Portland's growth as farmers and merchants and trappers dealt in the beaver-hide currency. The tannery, later operated by King and Riley, had disappeared in 1887 beneath another "biggest and best"-the Exposition Building, largest covered arena on the Coast, Portlanders insisted. Agricultural and mechanical fairs, stock shows and carnivals, were held there. It faced on Burnside Street and, Morrison then not extending west of Chapman (18th), the rear of the building adjoined Multnomah Field. · Another pioneer of the vicinity was Zion Lutheran Church which had in 1888 moved from its first quarters to a new building at Chapman and Salmon, a street which then was not opened between 14th and 18th, through the Kamm property. Carriages turned from Chapman west up Salmon over a long trestle bridging the Tanner Creek ravine. In 1892, the five acres south of the Exposition Building was rented by the Club and, on Multnomah Field, there was soon built a small locker house, a running track, 120 yard cinder straightaway, banked 10


bicycle track around the football, baseball and cricket grounds. First event on the new field was the Second Annual Fall Games of MAAC on Oct. 1, 1892. By then, gym apparatus costing another $1000 was arriving at the Second Street club rooms and it was apparent that larger quarters were needed. W. S. Ladd, one of Portland's wealthiest men and one deeply impressed by this young club's solvent, serious and sober attitude, spent $60,000 to build a clubhouse at the corner of Tenth and Yamhill (the public library now stands there) and leased it to MAC for $3,000 a year. Opening of the clubhouse on October 18, 1893 disclosed elegant social rooms, reading and billiard rooms, four bowling lanes, a swimming pool, 350 lockers, showers and T urkish Bath, a covered court for tennis and h andball, gymnasium with running track. H appy days in that clubhouse were long recalled to members, for after MAC moved to its own property in 1900, Mr. L add's building was relocated a t 13th and Hall where it served Portland Academy, then Quig-Jewell and Gabel schools, then St. Helen's Ha.ll until it was replaced in 1954 by a new pre-school building. These spacious rooms, brightly illuminated an<}. so richly decorated in scarlet velours, were appropriate to more and more entertainments, an<;I to a larger membership. Who were most eager to become wearers of the winged M? The ladies, to be sure, for invitations to Multnomah Ladies' Night had been prized since 1891. Instead of merely watching, what fun it would be to p in one's hair more tightly and venture into the gymnasium in those daring bloomers of blue serge and middy blouses. A fencer's pose does show a pretty ankle to advantage, don't you think? On April 3, 1894, the first 42 members of the Ladies' Annex were elected to membership, with permission to use athletic facilities at strictly regulated hours. More junior activity was possible too, and boys between 10 and 20 years of age were now eligible for regular membership at dues of $6 a year, though sons of members were exempt from the $5 initiation fee. Rope climbing, wand drill, fancy Indian Club swinging, somersault throwing, handicap potato race, boxing by Max Wood and Rei Colby were features of the First Annual Gymnastic Exhibition and Contests of junior members on April2l , 1894. 11

Cocked Hat bowling champions of northwest in 1896-97 were Fred Harlow, Elmer Mallory, Otto Bu rkhardt, H arry Idleman, Dr. Franklin Cauthorn holding trophy, Shorty Gumpf. Ladies' basketball team of 1896 included Margaret Fenton (Mrs. A. C. Spencer) lar left; center in white bibs, Mrs. Buffum, H enrietta Coleman, Sallie Beck; Lena Burkhardt at left and Sarah Dukehart at right in front row. The patient coach: M. N. H amilton.


Those who belonged to the Club during the Tenth Street years, 18931900, had cause to talk of the "good old days", for good times and ¡triumphs were many and in retrospect seem to have a flavor lost to the accelerating 20th century. The track and field team was champion of the northwest in 189394-95-most glorious the defeat in 1896 of the Olympic Club. Olympic Club was a prime foe and congenial friend. The Thanksgiving Day football game in 1899 ended in a scoreless tie, settled to some extent when the local boys captured the game ball in a postgame fight. The Californians stayed over for a sportsman's weekendthey won in boxing, MAC took the handball matches, wrestling was a draw. Fierce local rivalry with Portland Athletic Club ended at PAC's final year, 1898. Not all the action was between the goalposts-it seems the PACers once bought out one of the local music halls anticipating a victory celebration that evening. Instead the Multnomah men (no one was named, in print at least) called attention to their victory by acquiring some double-headed Dutchman strings in Chinatown, then "sneaked behind a tier of boxes in the Louvre and tossed fireworks into the mournful group". The bowling team was champion of the northwest in American Cocked Hat championships in 1895. The less accomplished "potato squad" competed for oyster suppers and had just as much fun and exercise - they were judged "jolly good fellows but awfully poor bowlers" when they lost to the ladies in an 1898 match. Candy for the winners, potato peelings for the losers. Other games with Arlington Club, Astoria and YMCA teams were recounted in stirring detail in the press. "A strike will win, Dick, yelled an excited Multnomah man". Basketball and fencing and graceful gymnastic feats were the choice of the ladies, and a daring venture of 1899 was their minstrel show, replete with such knockout lines as "she suffered from stage fright, not enough to kick the bucket, but enough to turn a little 'pale'". 13

-w

Black tights and red v elveteen trunks were worn by gymnasts performing at 1891 dedication of first club, and were required junior costume until 1910.

"The Only joe Smith - football, baseball, te~mis, track, boxing, billiards, chess - he excelled in all".


"The Hawaiian King ProTem!' arid his ministers, the Roman soldiers of "Mr. and Mrs. Cleopatra", were all Multnomah men, in spring shows at the Marquam Grand. Wheelmen of 1895, known as Early Birds, included George Foss, C. A. Monell, F. ] . Raley, A. B . McAlpin. Will Lipman; back, unknown, Dr. A. E. Mackay, Adrian Epping. First tennis court on Multnoman Field opened in 1898.

Chief performers on the stage, however, were the men who committed a series of productions identified as "farcical, spectacular, terpshichorean musical burlesque". J. D. Malarkey and R. T. Platt were simply stunning as Sir Rowland and Lady Macassar, and Jack Savage, the football captain, played A Dreadful Child in the 1893 "Babes in the Woods". Act II was briefed in the program as "Miss Jones' situation no sinecure, and no sign o'cure for it". Costuming was lavish, so was response of critics and audience, for Mr. and Mrs. Cleopatra in 1894, Hawaiian King Pro Tern in 1895, The Wizard of the Nile in 1903 (the program was die cut in the sphinx' design) and The Ameer in 1904 (the opening night review spoke of "enough flowers handed over the footlights to supply a church wedding"). Musical direction for all was by W. H . Boyer, ballet of the last two was directed by Professor Robert Krohn. A glee club and mandolin club flourished in the 90s. Portlanders were coming in ever greater numbers to watch football, rugby, cycle races, the Merchants' Carnival, the spring games of Portland High School Athletic Association-all on Multnomah Field. A tennis court was laid out in 1898 and the following summer a second court was made playable for the first tennis championship of the state of Oregon. W. A. Bethel defeated Walter Goss for the Fisk trophy. Two men of this era rose to such individual fame that they were, for years to come, acclaimed alternately as "greatest MAC athlete". Some said Joseph Harker "The Only Joe" Smith was the man-"football, baseball, tennis, track, boxing, billiards, chess, he excelled in all", and had the special touch of the champion, to come through with the points when most needed. In later years, the "greatest" tag most often applied to Edward E. Morgan, possibly because of his long association with the Club as a member, until his death in 1965. He was a standout in football, baseball, boxing, wrestling and the decathlon of track and field events. Northwest champion in both hurdles, he scored in hammer throw, shot, pole vault, high jump, broad jump, sprints to distance races in the years 1893-99. Entering Stanford in 1897, he competed in track and football. The wheelmen-now they had found the sport for everyone. Bicycling became the rage, there's no other word for it, in the middle 90s. Everyone took to the wheels- the Victoria, Queen of the Safeties, the 14


Eagles with the aluminum rims, the Columbia, Clevelands and Crescents. Assembling at the clubhouse on a Saturday morning, gay companions pedaled across the Madison bridge, out the Powell Valley R oad (avoid the Foster for even in summers it was the worst in the county) perhaps to a strawberry fete at Gresham, or beyond to Lusted's Butte for a chicken dinner at Au Ben's, or with picnic baskets to the Sandy River. First of the memorable Low Jinks that would continue intermittently until 1924 began with a bicycle trek to Stansbury Grove in 1896. More formal entertainment, balls and receptions in the clubhouse, merited a full column of description in the newspapers. Any committee that has transformed a gymnasium into a ballroom (e. g. MAC prior to De~mber 1965) will appreciate the "wilderness of palms and potted plants" through which one danced a pathway to the punch bowl in the center of the room beneath festoons of cedar and smilax. Such merriment brought more members, accompanied by a serious thought: in 1900 the lease with Mr. Ladd for the clubhouse would expire. Why not build a new home, on the Club's own property? Multnomah Field, rented since 1892, leased since 1895, was the ideal site and the five acres was purcha:sed for $33,000 from the Scottish American Investment Company which then loaned $25,000 for clubhouse construction. The new clubhouse facing on Chapman, about at the head of Yamhill Street, was opened to 1,479 members on July 21, 1900. This handsome building contained a swimming pool, gymnasium, billiard room, bowling, Turkish Bath, handball court, 700 lockers, and social rooms. What did Portland think now of this athletic club, almost ten years old? On the occasion of the formal opening of the clubhouse on September 28, 1900, an editorial noted that it was " preeminently a social event but its meaning is much deeper", and continued: " Fate has been kind to this organization of the best young men, widening its scope from purely athletic ideals to social ways that make for dignity and grace of character. If we sought for the causes we should find them in a combination of favorable circumstances not the least potent of which has been the ban upon liquor and gamb ling." T here are, in 1966, members of the Club who shared the ten eventful years in the Chapman Street clubhouse. If not one of them, perhaps you 15

This Chapman (18th) Street building was home from 1900 to July, 1910. Road through arch at left angled down to Multnomah Field. H andball courts in narrow structure, Exposition Building at far left, lower photo. "ln summer, you could sit on the balcony, and Parsons' orchestra would be playing over there for dancing ..."


lAwis .... Clark Ceotlllllial f.xpositioa

=

IP'm.ÂŤJltgm.A:OO

=

of Lewis ond Clark Athletic CaJHs and Contesu

Flycasting, fencing, lacrosse, cricket, yachting, golf, and an automobile day were programmed for Lewis and Clark Exposition under MAC d irection, along with traditional field and aquatic sports. Of the same era was this 1905-6 basketball team, Carl N eff, Vivian Dent, Harry Livingston in f ront, Arthur A . Allen, Dan Bellinger, Prof. Robert Krohn, Hal Rasch, A. H. Allen, Charles S. Barton.

are fortunate enough to know someone who will tell you more of these people and pleasantries: That zealot of physical fitness, Robert Krohn, who was MAC's instructor from 1901 until 1913 when he confined all his remarkable talent to public school supervision, led the boys on hikes, coached men's field events, and "had full authority to discipline juniors", including the 99 little girls who became members in 1900. Portland Rose Association held a floral exhibit on the field, rent free, in 1904. An important social event, it was a forerunner of the annual rose show. Three years later rose-laden carts, even a few of those new motor cars, assembled on the west side of the clubhouse to begin a parade of the downtown streets, another first on the field. Society Circus, presented with aid of Portland Hunt Club and Oregon National Guard, was a social and financial success. The ladies were earning recognition as members. Their basketball games made money, it seemed only fair to invest in a hair dryer for them. The gym floor was being especially cleaned prior to their classes, and hours were even allocated to them in the Turkish Bath ("How many baths will t:he ladies take?" was a question before the Board in 1903) . But leniency had its limits, and a 1906 ruling made it clear that only men members would watch football games from the veranda. Guy Thompson came to work as an alley boy in 1900, a good one, too, for his pay was raised the next year to $30 a month. David Campbell, Portland's fire chief, who had been a great man in the ring himself, was boxing coach from 190 l to 1904, followed by Prof. Rennick. Joseph Acton coached the wrestlers, among them a famous champion, H erbert Greenland. T he Club's fame in these sports was enhanced by participation of such men as Edgar Frank, who was adept in the ring, became Pacific Coast wrestling champion, chairman of both sports from 1904 until 1914, a. club trustee for seven of those years, ¡president of the Pacific Nor thwest AAU. In 1892. the Amateur Athletic Union of the United States, founded the year before, consisted of five Associations-Metro politan New York, Atlantic, New England, Central and Pacific. The latter consisted of 12 California clubs, and MAC. Club members led in the formation of a Pacific Northwest Association in 1905, and other Multnomah men saw to the separation of an Oregon Association in 1935. Athletic events of the Lewis and Clark Exposition of 1905-06 were 16


consigned to Club supervision, with H. W. Kerrigan as chairman. If that name sounds familiar, it should, for Bert Kerrigan was first of MAC's 21 athletes on Olympic Games teams. In 1906 at Athens, Bert placed third in the high jump. That he competed at all was noted with respect, for he was originally ticketed to Athens as a member of the United States committee, and it had been ten years since he amazed the sports world by jumping nine inches higher than his own height. This 6 foot 2 inch leap was a Pacific Coast record. Torches flared and bands played in August, 1908, when winged M (and Oregon) athletes returned from the 1908 Olympics, and were paraded from Union Station to Multnomah Field for a grand welcome. Forrest Smithson set a world record, 15 seconds, in winning 100 meter high hurdles. A. C. Gilbert won the pole vault. Dan Kelly was second in running broad jump but did not place in the hundred, for which he long held the 9.6 world record. Sam Bellah, fifth in the pole vault, missed the homecoming parade. Cocked Hat bowling had declined, but the new game of Tenpins was very popular on two converted alleys, with 8 teams in intra-club matches. Tennis, on four courts, attracted throngs of spectators, and top competitors came from California to test local experts such as Walter Goss, Dan Bellinger, Brandt Wickersham, Fred Andrews in state and northwest championships. A champion in the MAC tradition was the great Goss, state titlist in 1900, 1906, 1918, a tournament player for years thereafter. T he Winged M Chat, Vol. l , No. l, appeared in February 1907, with news of football, billiards, basketball and other sports. T he editor hoped gossip items would "ginger them up some". A year later that had happened, terminating The Chat. The arts were not neglected. J . N. Teal sent back from Europe the marble head of young Augustus, Chas. F. Swigert presented the bronze Mercury to his club. Field and clubhouse were often free to civic activities, and new firemen practiced leaping into a net from the cross walk between main club and the handball courts. Occasionally one balked at the 30-foot drop, and Jordie Zan or some other clubhouse kibitzer would show him how. Knocked the gold watch right out of his vest pocket, Guy Thompson recalls. 17

Frank W atkins and Ben T renkman were doubles handball champions in 1901. Suited up for the 1905 baseball season, on steps of the 18th Street clubhouse, were ]ordan Zan, Percy Blanchard, Plowden Stott, M. H . Whitehouse, Floyd Cook in the front row; behind them, unidentified, Chester Murphy, team manager Dave H oneyman, Brandt Wickersham, R oy Dobie, Mike Dolph.


By 1908 there were 2004 members, and President George McMillan urged the need of a new clubhouse, leaving the present one for ladies and juniors. A boosters group talked, the next year, of raising $150,000. Raleigh Trimble was chairman, other influential members were Tom Cleland, Walter Gearin, Edgar Frank, Frank Watkins, Walter Smith, Irving Huesner, George Eastman, Frank Harmar, Martin Pratt, Sam Holbrook, Jordan Zan, Arthur 0. Jones, Dr. George Ainslie, Henry MacKenzie, Ben Holladay, A. B. McAlpin. Whitehouse & Fouilhoux, architects, were asked to draw plans for a clubhouse on Salmon Street, between Chapman (18th) and Stout (20th) at the south end of the field, the Club's newest property. This was the King tract of about four acres, where Chinese gardeners had been living in shacks below the Salmon Street grade, peddling downtown and on the Heights the green vegetables from their gardens on the rich Tanner Creek fiat. A row of poplar trees separated gardens from the athletic field, and there were frequent excursions into the beanfield for lost baseballs or footballs. Pitcher Fred DeNeffe used to recall that earnest pantomines were performed to explain these forays to irate Oriental gardeners. The price of that four acres was $60,000. The club ended 1909 with a $38,000 mortgage to Hibernia Bank for its previously acquired property and clubhouse, and a $58,000 mortgage to the Kings. Away went the vegetable gardens. Two more tennis courts were added, a total of six. Urgency of major repairs to the old building and for construction of a new one increased. The west porch needed replacement, handball players cried for a new court. Meantime a February to June membership campaign featured reduction of fee from $40 to $25 to increase the number of dues-paying members. On the morning of July 14, 1910, the several problems of MAC re19 .._ Portland markets and housewives lost their favorite supply of fresh vegetables in 1909 when MAC bought this land between its original field and Salmon Street, moved out the Chinese gardeners to build two tennis courts, later a new clubhouse. C. S. j ackson home was at con1er 20th and Salmon.

On july 14, 1910, fire destroyed a seven-block area including Multnomah's clubhouse and grandstand across the field, the Exposition Building with its Fashion Stables. Members rescued trophies, some records, furniture. Sailors from HMS Yorktown aided Fire Chief David Campbell and his men.


Scaffolding was erected amid foundations of new clubhouse to support the cornerstone for dedication by Theodore Roosevelt April 5, 1911. Walt er Holt, MAC president, donned silk hat for the occasion. Teddy praised club for permitting women to belong, for aim to have every m ember exercise.

solved into one. Both clubhouse and grandstand burned to the ground in a fire still remembered as one of Portland's greatest and gaudiest, which originated in that famous Exposition Building. Explosion of gasoline in the small garage next to the livery stables was blamed. A few pieces of furniture, some records, and 200 pounds of carpet scraps were saved by valiant members. Within hours the Board had called a membership meeting and spread out the plans, quickly approved, to build the new clubhouse on the high ground at the edge of Salmon Street. Issue of $250,000 in bonds was authorized. All donations would be accepted but none solicited. They collected insurance of $46,645, sold the scrap iron from the ruins, elected life members (there was no fear of Multnomah's future) and accepted the many offers of temporary exercise facilities at YMCA and YWCA, the Portland Academy, Lincoln High School and elsewhere. The Macleay home, also known as the Kerr property, on the block bounded by Lownsdale (15th), 16th, Taylor and Yamhill, was rented at $150 a month as temporary clubJ:wuse. To tide the handball players, over, one court was quickly put u p behind the house at a cost under $1000, with H andball Chairman McAlpin supervising the crew. While the architects were speeding plans to completion (they collected no fee, the Board of Trustees recorded) willing advisers were appearing in print. W. R. King, a local consulting engineer, envisioned a covered stadium where football and baseball could be played in any weather, the great dome opening to the sky on fair days. Thomas H awkes, a landscape architect, committed his vision to a drawing of clubhouse, auditorium, na tatorium and stadium between Salmon and Morrison Streets. Surely the Club could not be so selfish as to retain just for itself the use of its magnificent property? Well, it could and did, and Mcinnes and Reed was building the new club by early spring, 1911. A cornerstone was hastily prepared for dedication by ex-President Theodore Roosevelt on April 5, 1911. Almost every member and 10,000 other citizens (attendance was generously estimated, no doubt) swarmed about the roped-off excavation, on the field, up trees and light poles to cheer Teddy and Old Multnomah. The cornerstone, placed later where you can see it now near the main entrance, contains in a stout copper box the history of the club, pictu:r:e of the 1910 fire, a list of members, copies of Portland newspapers and the club by laws. 20


The Salmon Street clubhouse opened at the annual meeting February 27, 1912. Members heard President Walter A. Holt picture the sturdy finances of MAC: The 30-year first mortgage bonds, $250,000, had been oversubscribed, most of the 5-year gold note issue of $50,000 was taken. Property included nine acres of land, a grandstand which cost $29,000, a clubhouse $212,000, furnishings and equipment at $48,000. Not a bad start for a 20-year-old. The real assets of MAC, Holt asserted, were its members, now 2,960 in all including 1,151 seniors paying $2 a month, later that year $2.50. Life memberships, then numbering 459, were limited to 500, price $250. To visualize the 1912 clubhouse, restore to the present entry the pillars and portico above the circular drive, ample in width for the carriages and even the automobiles which so many members now were driving. Inside one proceeded into the spacious lobby and lounge. Only the furnishings are changed today. There was no "front desk". The billiard room occupied the entire eastern flank, the library the large room at the west end of lobby (later incorporated in main dining room, converted in 1966 to junior activity room). Second and third floor rooms were all occupied by residents - so many applied that a drawing was held to allocate space when the clubhouse opened. There were four bowling lanes on the lower level at the east side, in what later became men's locker room. South part of the east annex was completed in 1912 for handball courts, the north portion added in 1917 and in later years converted to badminton. And for the information of newcomers, that east annex disappeared in 1964 to make room for the new building. A 1926 addition was the west annex. In 1966 it is occupied by old squash courts and billiard room. U se of other areas changed frequently over the years as new interests and more members were served. What was it like, that first year in the new building? The opening ball on May 14, 1912 was a highlight. Absolute capacity crowd turned out for a Hallowe'en party. Thursday night musical entertainments charmed members and their guests. Club talent and artists from the local vaudeville circuits were featured at smokers. The football team won every game and claimed a profit of $4,000. Over 100 men played baseball in Sunday Morning Leagues, won by Del O 'Hanlon's Agitators. Six tennis courts were crowded, another was surely needed to encourage juniors. Bill Johnston came up from California to win the state singles, but Irene Campbell claimed the women's title for MAC. 21

Opened at annual meeting February, 1912, the fourth clubhouse seroed membersh!P of nearly 3,000. Parking was soon a problem, at least these cars dzdn't scrape fenders on columned entry. Five tennis courts, later seven, flanked the field. That's A. N. King home at 20th and Salmon Street.


Olympia oyster stew at 25¢, Sunday chicken dinner for 60¢ were menu inducements in 19JJ dining room. Em·nest young man right foreground was Eddie Oakley, boxing and wrestling coach.

Four men exchanged winged-M jerseys for the emblem of the U. S. Olympic Games team: Martin Hawkins was third in the high hurdles at Stockholm, Sam Bellah fifth in pole vault. Walter McClure, 1500 meters, and George Philbrook, shot put, were others. Swimming had become suddenly "the" sport for men, and ladies too, since Professor Arthur Cavill joined the staff in 1909. One of the famous Australian family credited with perfecting and popularizing the Australian crawl, Cavill was an aquatic Pied Piper in Portland leading everyone off to Gearhart for mid-winter plunges in the ocean, into the Willamette River for races and swim games and lessons, into the pool for "social swims". R ather daring when started in 1910 in the old club, these were now an accepted part of the club activity in the new pool. Cavill, remembered for many an escapade-he swam the bar at T illamook, dove in with hands and feet tied from an Astoria dock, sought and took any dare and died in cold Elliott Bay in a winter race- was also determined that children must learn to swim. All the boys, he insisted, should take h alf an hour's swim instruction before gym class. Two new handball courts were a joy to Chairman C. P. Osborne and such devotees as W. W. Banks, A. 0. Jones, 0. B. Coldwell, Henry Mackenzie, George Eastman, Herbert Greenland, A. C. McMicken, and the youthful champion Ferd Smith. Four squash courts offered members their first experience with an indoor racq ue ts game, and Chairman Hamilton Corbett by the end of his term declared eight courts were needed to absorb the waiting list. The basketball team won the city championship in 1912. Ten teams of men and boys were now playing this still new game. A "serene and profitable" year for 332 members of the Ladies' Annex was ackn owledged by President A.M. Ellsworth, thanks to Mrs .. F. H. Ransom and her committee members. There were gymnastic classes for women, girls, boys and men. Boxing, wrestling, bowling, billiards (eight billiard and four pool tables) , the Turkish Bath, the library- the club member of 1912 h ad many diversions. What more could h e want? Food for the hungry athletes was a real need. After some cautious deliberation a dining room was opened, as a concession, on an experimental basis. The master of this new department was introduced as " Professor James Manley, experienced in dining and private car provisions." So much was going on, the good news should reach all the members, 22


and it did in Vol. 1 No. 1 of The Bulletin, November 1913. L. H. Gregory, editor, defined its purpose: "a bulletin board, to bring the club into closer touch with its 3000 members." No subscription was charged, no advertising accepted. This magazine, several times changed in format, now known as The Winged M, has been published continuously ever since. Rather an agreeable practice began in 1913. Members signed their names as they entered the clubhouse, making it convenient to see who might be around for some bowling (much more popular, now that the mineralite balls had arrived) or the new game, squash. Going to the football games was becoming more popular all the time, especially when the teams from Eugene and Corvallis came to town. It hurt to admit this, but the crowds were larger for games of University of Oregon and Oregon Agricultural College than for Multnomah's men. The new grandstand on the Stout (20th) Street side was an inducement for the ladies to attend. Society columns began to take note of what furs and feathers were being worn, along with the yellow chrysanthemum of the University or the red and white streamers of Multngmah. Spectators at football games were receiving more serious attention. Multnomah's team manager, Plowden Stott, and Hugo Bezdek, Oregon coach, ventured a trial of this new idea, numbering the players. It had been tried by a couple of eastern teams, but most coaches abhorred the idea. Even the fans were dubious. Why bother to match the number tied on a player's back with the names on the scorecards handed out at the gate, when there was Martin Hawkins running up and down the sidelines with a megaphone, relaying the names and results of each play? After the trial game, however, it began to seem like a better idea. The coaches didn't object, perhaps they would do this again some day . . . More and more cars were parking in front of the club. The brightly painted iron jockey, who had stood at Tenth and Yamhill, then on Chapman Street, was set in the new cement sidewalk on Salmon Street in 1916, but there weren't too many bridles for him to accept in his outstretched hand. The ice hockey team in its first season, 1914-15, defeated University Club, Waverley Country Club, Harriman's and Portland Rowing Club squads to take the city title. The game was dropped during war years, but resumed from 1925 untill930 when Dr. Gordon Leitch, Dr. Rus23

Otto Maut he paced runners training for junior track meets. High point buttons in 1922 went to Carl Dahl, Champ Spencer, Gordon. Winning girls were H elen Macintosh, Gladys Bateman, Ann R ea.


Encumbered by yards of fabric, ladies sprang about tennis courts (Irene Campbell Leslie, 1912 state champion), climbed mountains, plunged into Gearhart surf. Over 100 members went by train for April, 1912 weekend of bonfires, dinners, dances. Art Cavill, submerged in center of group.

sell Kaufman, Toots Bissett, Sandy Sandberg, Bob Leslie were on the ice for MAC. Financially things were in fair shape during the first decade in the new clubhouse. Those gold notes were reissued in 1916 for another four years and paid off in 1920, but the sinking fund intended to retire the $250,000 mortgage usually was needed for current improvements. Of the already overcrowded athletes,_ handball players had best response to their pleas, in two courts added at $7000 cost in 1917. (This was in the wood building at the north end of the original east wing, later converted to badminton courts, razed in 1964.) F. E. Harrigan and Ray Watkins were champions that year. Before the Great World War had ended, there were 1,065 stars in the service flag. Members wrote from far away to say that The Bulletin had reached them-Albion Gerber, Joe Fearey at Advance Ordnance Depot No. 4, Eddie Sammons, Bob Fithian, Lawrence Edwards and many others "6000 miles between here and the big fireplace at the club." A war-substitute membership campaign was briskly promoted, resulting in 1,020 new members many of whom remained after the war. One stirring plea that "Portland must do its bit for Multnomah Club" was written by J ames J. Richardson, then sporting editor of The Oregonian. A night gymnasium class for members of the women's annex was initiated in 1918 at Professor 0. C. Mauthe's suggestion. The Professor was giving d ancing lessons, teaching the Tickletoe and the Liberty Trot, "all the dances will have the military characteristic". 1918 was the year of the First Annual Exhibition, a display of dances, daring acrobatics and gymnastic agility by men, women, boys, and girls presented on the stage of the public auditorium and atte nded by admiring Portlanders. These performances continued for n early ten years. For those who wished to test their strength and endurance, there were the mountains, now accessible by motor car more readily than by horse and wagon (but not much). Twenty-three members climbed Mt. Hood on July 4, 1918, several of them veterans of the 1914 St. Helens climb and a later trek to Adams' summit. When the boys came home from the war, there were even more handball and tennis and squash players (and not enough squash balls for all the eager participants). 24


The dining room was enlarged in 1919. Professor J. A. Hollingsworth's Glee Club was in good voice. Intermediate members, among them Don and Bill Peek, Ron Honeyman and Harlan Gram, entertainment chairman, were busy with their own activities. Harry Dorman was scouting for football opponents, hoping to line up games with Olympic Club and Los Angeles Athletic Club. The colleges seemed ready to pass up the old rivalry with MAC. Aquatic champions wrote a big chapter of Club history in 1920. Jack Cody, who had been coach since 1913, had guided the winged M triumphs of Norman Ross (while he was a Portlander), of Constance Meyer, Helen Hicks, Virginia Pembroke and many others. Now his two prize divers went all the way to the Olympic Games of 1920 in Paris, Thelma Payne to third place and Louis '"Hap" Kuehn to the gold medal. Back home the water polo team claimed the Buchanan trophy by winning its third Pacific Northwest championship. The team made it to Victoria for the title match only because Joe Riesch and his entertainment committee raised travel funds at a benefit dance on the riverboat "Bluebird". That entertainment committee had welcome problems. Such crowds came to dance on Saturday nights to music of George Olsen and Herman Kenin that alternate Saturdays were reserved for senior members only. The lively intermediates could attend on other dates and had parties of their own as well. Windemuth was a favorite retreat for dancing and swimming, just take the launch from the foot of West Morrison to the dance hall and dock on Ross Island. Collie Wheeler, Ed Humphrey and other "River Rats" made the whole river their highway by canoe from Eugene to Astoria. Tennis chairman Walter Goss reported 1920 events with mixed emotions of pride, in the Pacific Northwest No. 1 ranking of Phil Neer then only 18, and of chagrin, that the poor condition of Club courts caused removal of the state championships, held for¡23 years at Multnomah, to Irvington Club. The city meet, on Club courts, was won by Catlin Wolfard, state champion the previous year. A. S. Moody and Charles P. Osborne competed in the national handball tournament in Los Angeles, returning with advice that, if club handball players hoped to measure up in the big time, the courts must 25

Gymnastic classes required strict attention and erect posture, especially in practice for Annual Exhibitions, club members' show at auditorium 1918 through 1927. juniors tumbled, marched and danced, boxed and wrestled. Adults displayed talents in weight lifting, swinging Indian clubs.


"Fresh water is better tha11 pink tea for broadening the mind", Constance Meyer asserted. Quotable and photogenic, Mrs. Meyer learned to swim just a year before jack Cody became MAC's coach in 191), soon was diving champion. Swim meets were held in river.

be remodeled to regulation smaller dimensions. Wrestlers acquired a new coach in Ted Thye, and Tom Louttit replaced Eddie O'Connell as boxing instructor. Volleyball, little known a year or two before, now had 100 men in house league teams. Another undertaking new to most men was lifting of weights. Owen Carr conducted Sunday morning classes, in a corner of the "rub room". Baseball, bowling, basketball, billiards, track, gymnasium had enthusiastic followers. The annual entertainment was viewed by an audience of 3000 in the Auditorium, reported Dr. R. J. Chipman, gym chairman. President C. H. Labbe, at the 1921 annual meeting, urged mem¡b ers to face up to the need for more facilities. He visualized a second clubhouse at the former Chapman Street location for men members, leaving the Salmon Street building for women and juniors. Another project had been deferred but not forgotten, and the first winged-M golf tournament played by 86 men at Eastmoreland in 1921 just reminded golfers of plans they first made six or seven years earlier. It seemed that spring, at the Salmon Street clubhouse, always brought resignations from golfing members who intended to devote their summers to the course of Portland Golf Club, newly opened on the Scholls Ferry Road, or to old Waverley's riverside greens. Automobiles made it even easier than by electric train to reach the first tee, and one could always return in the fall during MAC's fee-waived membership drives. T. Morris Dunne, J. 0 . Dad Convill and other Multnomah men had then studied sites and actually saw their goal accomplished, but by the Portland park bureau, in the opening July, 1918 of Eastmoreland Golf course, Portland's first and one of the nation's best public links. Now it was time for Multnomah to act, the golfers said. By 1924 committees had studied 17 tracts, and the membership approved purchase for $118,000 of 227 acres between Canyon Road and the Bertha Beaverton highway, about five miles from the clubhouse. Construction began under guidance of Paul Keyser, Omar Spencer, Harry Banfield and Rudie Wilhelm. Art Hosfeldt headed a greens committee, J. Henry MacKenzie the one to hire the pro. The beautifull8-hole course opened in June, 1925. Dr. 0 . F. Willing and Mel Smith defeated Rudie Wilhelm and John Junor in the exhibition match. Boyd Bustard was the pro, Verne Perry his assistant and caddymaster, A. B. McAlpin the manager, Andrew DeHaan the greenskeeper. Monthly dues were $5, for 553 senior members, 39 women. 26


The old farmhouse on the property served as clubhouse until 1927. The clubhouse then built was later used as the Gabel School. Originally membership in MAC was a prerequisite for golf privileges, and a portion of monthly dues went to the parent club. Within a year this was an evident handicap in competition with the new golf clubs such as Alderwood, Columbia, Riverside and Oswego, and Multnomah Golf Club became independent in operation. There were too many pressures, and depressions, and the record shows that on November 1, 1935, L yda l\1. O'Bryan, assignee, took over and liquidation was completed in April of 1938. Not long after, there were news items of homesites being developed. Thirty years later, there's a little patch of cattails to mark one water hole, many a MAC membership name on the mailboxes along the beautiful streets, and the old clubhouse, now administration building_ of Washington County School District #48. Former golf club members had a reunion in 1955, and these were a few of the names recalled in a golf club history prepared for the occasion by Ferry Smith: Claude Starr donated the first trophy, Harry Sargent another. Frank Harmar was chairman of the House Committee; Zinc Wise, Ed Weiss, Howard Ferguson and Morrie Dunne the handicap committee. George J anes made the first hole in one, in October 1925, on No. 13. Howard Charlton followed on No. 4. Mrs. Harold Blake scored the first by a woman, also on the fourth. Plowden Stott was first president of the club, continuing through 1927. J. C. Settle served the next year, followed by Percy W. Lewis for the remaining seven years. AI Zimmerman became Boyd's assistant and when he went off to play in big California tournaments in 1930, brother Emery was on the job. For $1 you could buy a big box of Gravenstein apples from the golf club trees, "the boys will put them in your car". Some of the surplus acreage along Canyon -and Beaverton roads was offered for sale in 1928 at $1500 an acre. Lighting the putting green in 1928 was quite an attraction, but dry greens were not. A deep well for irrigation cost over $9,000. Ray Wiggins defeated Dale Belford for the club championship, Jean Plagemann defeated Mrs. Ray Hunt for the ladies' title- in 1935, last of the Multnomah Golf Club years. 27

O..ign of New Multnomah Golf <A>une

Mu ltnomah Golf Club members will gladly describe each tee and trap of the 6,690 yards, designed by Wil¡ liam Lock. Longest hole was 500-yard first, shortest the 150-yard fourth , above. Howard Charlton made first hole-in-one there, skipping ball across creek.


CHAPTER FOUR

If you have a few acres of pasture and let your boys and the neighborhood kids play ball there, pretty soon there are teams showing up from across town, and if they're good enough people will come to watch them. So you put a fence around the field and collect some money, for the teams and the owners too, and fix a better place for these people, now called spectators, to sit down. Before you can figure out quite how this happened, they're calling your old pasture a "stadium" and wondering why you don't build a larger one. Oversimplified, that's more or less the story of Multnomah Field from its earliest use in 1892 through the construction in 1926 of Multnomah "Civic" Stadium on the property of a private athletic club. Originally acquired for club track and field, football, baseball and cricket grounds, Multnomah Field became the place-it was the only one of such size and convenience in the city, or for miles aroundwhere parades began or ended, where presidents (Taft in 1909, H arding in 1923) addressed the massed citizenry, where college football teams sought the attention of the most alumni. By 1921, inadequacy of the grandstands was evident. Only 3,300 of the 12,000 who attended a Washington State-California game could be seated in the main grandstand. Dilapidated north bleachers had been replaced by planting of Scotch broom, which did not survive trampling spectators for even one season. George Schalk's property committee tended its assignment well, and by 1923 the Morrison Street corners had been purchased, enabling the Club to build a north grandstand of 6,000 seats at a cost of $ 18,000. With the west stand and other bleachers, capacity reached 15,000. So the football crowds grew even larger. Over 20,000 saw the OregonCalifornia game in 1925. A remarkable innovation (would it cut into the attendance?) was installation by KGW of a microphone in front of the grandstand, and on October 10, 1925 Alexander G. Brown described the game between MAC and Pacific University, the northwest's first "live" football broadcast. All this accomplished was to develop 29 -.. By 1912 Multnomah Club provided a grandstand on west side of field for JJOO spectators. Overshoes and umbrellas sheltered many others, even on stormy days. Pre-game paraders gained sideline parking, but without isinglass curtains those stylish touring mrs weren't much protection.

Massive stage on three levels, mid-field, was for R ose Festival pageant "Rosaria" in 1927, written and directed by Doris Smith. Tents were set on tennis courts for costume changes by 3,000 Persians, Greeks, knights, pilgrims, pioneers. Club boilers puffed steam for curtain .


Fourth of July address by President Warren Harding in 1923 was heard by thousands (thanks to amplifiers) in grandstand, on field . Gymkhana of 1922 Rose Festival featured Vancouver Barracks men, school girls, and Portland Hunt Club's 24 riders directed by ex-Governor Os West.

new football fans who wanted to see what this game was all about. Rose Festival officials were making desperate sounds early in 1925, and at their own expense put up 8000 temporary seats for "Rosaria". Construction ideas had been taking shape for several years in the minds of club men, civic leaders, even college presidents, and by November, 1925, a committee of four club members: J. C. Ainsworth, J. R. Bowles, _0. B. Caldwell and C. C. Colt was preparing a recommendation, including plan for selling $100 plaques, each good for a free ticket at each stadium event for five years. President John A. Laing cited the club's sturdy financial condition, a location "at the hub of the city, traffic radiating in all directions" and other compelling reasons for launching this civic endeavor. At the 1926 annual meeting order of the membership was prompt and direct: Build the stadium, with civic cooperation as planned. Henry Corbett, T. H. Banfield and C. P. Keyser were named to work with the architects on final plans. Omar Spencer, W. Lair Thompson, J. Henry MacKenzie and Frank E. Watkins were assigned to plan and recommend personnel of Multnomah Civic Stadium Association. Incorporated March I, 1926, the Association consisted of these 17 men: Nathan Strauss and C. D. Bruun, Chamber of Commerce; Charles F. Berg, retail merchants; J. 0. Freck, American Legion; Hopkin Jenkins, public schools; George L. Baker, city of Portland; Henry L. Corbett, music; Homer D. Angell, University of Oregon; A. G. Sieberts, Oregon Agricultu,ral College; T. Morris Dunne, Boy Scouts; Clay S. Morse, Rose Festival; A. J. Bale, civic clubs; B. W. Sleeman, labor federation; W. W. Banks, Frank J. Lonergan, J. R. Bowles and J. C. Ainsworth, MAC. Homer Angell was elected president, T. Morris Dunne secretary. A contract between the Club and the Association authorized these men to proceed with plaque sales, subject to 90-day termination if adequate- funds were not obtained. If the stadium were built, the Association would administer it for ten years. Jack Benefiel, Oregon's graduate manager, became executive secretary of the campaign. Dean Vincent was general chairman of over 400 team members. Let the headlines brief the two-month plaque selling: March 10Club Will Build Winged M Bowl; March 25-Stadium Drive Nets $101,600; April 9-Bowl Funds Grow, $272,500 on Hand; April 23Stadium Fund Grows Slowly; April 28- New Plan for Stadium Pends. 32


That new plan was submitted to MAC members at a special meeting May 5. With only one dissenting vote, the membership authorized the mortgaging of all property and assets of the club, at 6% for 20 years, for an amount not to exceed $550,000. Contract to Hansen Hammond Company was signed May 7 and a week later Homer Angell with a shovel and Mayor Baker at the donkey engine presided over ground-breaking ceremonies. Crews worked from 6 a.m. to midnight, and the bond salesmen worked still harder. Early in August, a total of $530,000 gold bonds had been sold, to cover refinancing of the Club's existing $231,000 mortgage, leaving the remainder to add to the plaque receipts for stadium construction-and leaving responsibility for the ultimate retirement of the bonds to Multnomah Athletic Club. October 9, 1926 it was dedicated, before 24,338 spectators, "the largest assemblage of persons ever in one place in this state". Enoch Bagshaw's Huskies defeated¡ Oregon 23-9, but otherwise it was a perfect day for the proud Portlanders. It was a good season, thanks more than a little to 65,000 who saw high school games comprising the bulk of the 36-game schedule. B. F. Irvine, editor of the Oregon Journal, had a year-end message of cheer: "The members of the club, who maintain this great clearing house of health and good citizenship,¡ mortgaged themselves to complete the great bowl. It is one of the club's great services to Portland and in time the bonds will be wiped out." Happiness was a new stadium in 1927 for the Rosaria pageant, a Fourth of July celebration staged by American Legion, a greeting to Col. Lindbergh on September 15, a football season of 28 high school and four college games. T he season's net income of $22,389 was enough to pay interest on the bonds allocated to stadium. "A disappointing but not discouraging year," as John Laing, MAC stadium chairman described 1927, pointed to the need for a promotion minded manager. James J. Richar.dson, in June 1928, brought the zest and salesmanship a new stadium required. Hunt for new tenants turned up what appeared to be a hot prospect in Portland Baseball Club. John Shibe, then part owner of Philadelphia Athletics and majority owner of Portland Baseball Club, was here to admire the new stadium and negotiate, but shied away from those plaque commitments. Giving away over 2000 first-choice seats for every game through the 1931 season didn't appeal to very many JJ

Months of training in Portland schools culminated, for the attentive and fairly agile child, in 1930 Rose Festival drill with Indian clubs, wands, dumbbells at Multnomah Field. Robert Krohn preserved order in the ranks and, almost, among Maypole dancers.


Familiar sight, 1933 through 1955 sumuu¡rs, was parade of greyhounds past judges' stand. Another spectacle, last seen in stadium in 1960, was assembly of Rose parades, final cunying of horses, floats, riders.

tenants as a matter of fact. (At least the tennis players were relieved when the deal fell through, left and center field would have wiped out their six remaining courts). In the meantime it was fortunate that high school games drew so well, while Bobby Grayson was setting scoring records for Jefferson, and the prep league was piling up attendance records. Only six Coast Conference football games were played in 1928-29-30, instead of the three each season promised in 1926 agreements. Promotion, however, was yielding varied results, including night football, under lights paid for with receipts from two games promoted by Wade Williams, Lincoln High School coach; Jack Dempsey against four two-round opponents in 1931; six-day bicycle racing, "direct from Madison Square Garden" but a dud in Portland; in 1930 an attendance record of 35,266 at the Oregon-Washington game. Even amateur soccer, with MAC fielding a team in local league, drew pretty well. Plaque obligations were fulfilled at the end of the 1931 season. But interest on the first mortgage bonds was due, and the bank loans and members' donations could go only so far. Bondholders were asked to turn in their December and June, 1932 coupons for a six-year deferment, and over three-fourths of the owners complied promptly. A temporary bondholders' committee of H. V. Alward, T. H. Banfield, Louis G. Clarke, Aaron M. Frank and Frank H. Ransom was named. At the end of 1932, C. B. Stephenson faced the bondholders with only half of the $17,000 interest then due. He and other Club trustees challenged and won the right to continue MAC operation. Bondholders named a permanent committee of C. Henri Labbe, T. B. Wilcox, Harry Stone, Leslie Werschkul, R. B. Stinson, H. W. Cockerline of Albany and James H. Kane of Seattle. Right about then, when bleak was the word for both club and stadium future, a very interesting series of events took place. Parimutuel betting was legalized by the state legislature early in 1933. On May 23, 1933, greyhounds ran on a track speedily installed around the stadium field, initiating the 23-year tenancy of Multnomah Kennel Club. Dogs like Fawn Warrior and the responsible management of Murray Kemp were among the ingredients of success. The first year rental of $21,000 made it possible to pay 3% interest to bondholders. Even the tennis players were happy, for the Kennel Club replaced two doubles and one singles court at the corner of 18th and Salmon. 34


People found money to buy football tickets, and over 20,000 had their money's worth on October 21, 1933-they saw the famous 0-0 encounter of Oregon State's Iron Men and the USC Trojans. Over 33,000 saw the Oregon-Oregon State game on Armistice Day. Curiosity brought 12,000 to inspect pro football on February 3, 1935, between Steve Mara's New York Giants and Paul Schissler's allstars, mostly from his Chicago Cardinals. At $1 and 50c admission, the sponsoring Rose Festival Association didn't make enough to ¡repeat the venture. The northwest's first Golden Gloves boxing tournament was an August, 1935 event. Ed Sammons, Colin Livingstone, Plowden Stott and others were in negotiations with the bondholders (some interest payments were resumed) and their efforts resulted between 1937 and 1939 in a series of agreements which extended maturity date of bonds to December 1, 1952, reduced interest to 2% , canceled whatever interest was unpaid prior to December I, 1937. Annual rent of $5,000 to the Club was to begin that date, provided anything was left after expenses and interest had been paid. The money could then be used only for clubhouse repairs and improvements, turning any unused amount back to the trustee for purchase and retirement of bonds. The Stadium Association was reorganized to consist of six trustees, three of whom must represent bondholders. All the revenue that old Multnomah Field could produce was then channeled, after bare operating costs and interest payments were met, to the purchase and retirement of bonds. Many friends and members of the club served without recognition in bringing about the happy conclusion: in December, 1948, all available bonds had been retired and $68,100 was deposited with the trustee to continue interest payments and redeem bonds that owners wished to retain until December 1952 maturity. For the first time in its 57 years, MAC property was debt free. As of December I, 1950, Stadium Association and Club arrived at a new 20-year lease. While all those tense financial problems were being solved, stadium gates and turnstiles continued to spin the crowds in and out for such diverse events as these: Summer symphony concerts of 1937 and 1938, in a concert shell built by WPA and with the cooperation of Musicians Local No. 99 (the idea was to make jobs for the men, the stadium collected no rent), 35

As ski jumpers plunged from platform 155 feet above south end of field, 1951 Festival officials noted attendance of over 55,000 at two.n ight toumey won by Christian M ohn. jum ps repeated in 1953,1960.


Portland Baseball Club played its first game in Multnomah Stadium on April 27, 1956. Beavers had over 300,000 paid admissions that year. Field dimensions: 389 feet to center field, 305 left, 335 right.

were successful and replete with incident-soloist Lauritz Melchior helped stagehands haul the tympani up under the roof when it rained. High school jamboree, from 1933 until its final year 1957, was one of the nation's prep spectacles. Remember the eight bands and eight teams on the field, the explosive sounds of eight cheering sections, as opponents were drawn to play the first quarter of the first game of the season? Over 34,000 crammed in for the 1952 game. When the number of high schools increased and enrollments shot upward, the jamboree was at an end. Wartime brought bond shows and rallies, a campaign for shipyard workers, a Kennel Club series of fund-raising nights for USO, semipro football by a northwest league. Since 1948, a late summer game between all-star teams of players just graduated from Portland and upstate high schools has continued to reap benefits for Shriners' Hospital for Crippled Children, another rent-free stadium event. Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, Billy Graham, Holiday on Ice, the Shrine Circus, Elvis Presley (in 1957, why he's an old man now!) -if the show was a big one, it was in the stadium. Rose Festival features, in addition to queen selection and start of the floral parade, ranged from rodeo to Aquacade (you never saw such rain that year!), ski jumps in 1951, 1953, 1960 from a 155-foot tower, Queen for a Day and Ed Sullivan. In 1961, the Rose Festival, and the ice shows and circuses and touring singers, were under cover in the new Memorial Coliseum. Professional football, ventured by a brave young promoter, Harry Glickman, was just what 29,000 fans wanted to see (Los Angeles Rams 24, Chicago Cardinals 14) in 1952 and every year: thereafter. Sportwriters used to make a lot of copy out of the old sawdust field, though George Howie was acknowledged to be an expert and treasured a letter from USC's Howard Jones complimenting him on his technique and timing with a pre-game load of sawdust. By 1947, the high school teams were playing most games on their own fields, instead of all at Multnomah, and the old field was treated to a drainage system and a fine green turf. A new setting of Merion blue grass was laid down in 1958 on the football field portion south of the baseball infield, which was subject to compacted soil and twice-yearly transplanting of turf.

In 1955 the proposal which had recurred more than once in the 36


1930s and '40s, to move Portland Baseball Club into the stadium, was at last accepted. Appeals to serve the "great American game" instead of dog races and the related wagering, carried weight. Purchase of the Goldhammer property, the "old garage" on 18th Avenue, had been accomplished a few years earlier, making possible extension of a left field and construction of east side sections. Baseball became summer tenant of -the stadium in the 1956 season, the attendance at day-night opening games on April 27 totaling 34,500 for a Pacific Coast League record. That was in 1956. By 1959 and 1960 the owners of Multnomah Field had new circumstances to consider. Fortunes of baseball were proving variable; the two state universities were preparing to build larger stadia in Corvallis and Eugene in order to keep their students on campus, and entice the alumni and football fans down there; the new freeways made such excursions easy; and property tax assessments, first applied to the field in 1946, continued to increase. It was evident that Multnomah Field would soon become an expensive luxury to its long-time owner. Studies over a period of years culminated in a proposal by the Club trustees, presented to members in a 36-page "1965 Report: What Is the Future of the Stadium Property?" The Board's recommendation was approved by the membership at the 1966 annual meeting, to offer 7.09 acres and the concrete stadium for sale, for $2,100,000, first to the city or county or, if such sale did not occur during 1966, to other buyers. The City chose to place this offer on the ballot at the November, 1966 general election. The vote was 79,753 to 64,028 in favor of the purchase, and in 1967 ownership as well as use of historic Multnomah Field would become "civic."

37

Final c~apte_r i~ Club ownership of Multnomah Stadium was about to close w1th s1gmng of contract for sale on December 28, 1966 by Edward H. Look, MAC president, center with Mayor T erry Schrunk, right, Auditor Ray Smith, left. Other MAC participants were Norval Grubb, secretary; Stewart Tremaine, trustee and attorney, Ralph W alstrom, Property Committee chairman.


CHAPTE R FIVE

Whatever was the club coming to-the 1924 Low Jinks had been the last of these boisterous stag excursions by riverboat. T he annual picnic was now for families, at Crystal Lake Park, with a decorous program of games and food and d ancing. And only a week after dedication of the new stadium on October 9, 1926 another football game was played on Multnomah field marking an end rather than a beginning. Defea ted 55-0 by Gonzaga University, the Club team was disbanded. College teams now h ad the best players, the best games, the biggest crowds. Multnomah men were now spectators rather than participants in the game that had brought the club into being. Those who had watched Multnomah plunge down the field would long retell the feats of George McMillan and Frank Harmar, Frank Lonergan, Dom Callicrate, Bill Sclimitt (those Notre Dame men were a ways welcome), Dudley Clarke, Jack Hickson, Martin Pratt, Pruny Francis, Clipper Smith, Dick Faville, Bill Steers, Dad Convill, Plowden Stott, Duck Holmes and Cack Hubbard, Billy R einhart, the broth ers Jacobberger. R emember the score of 35 years: 138-58-22. Spectators at football perhaps, but inactive the Multnomah members were not. T hey were swimming, boxing, wrestling, playing squash, h andball, basketball, billiards, volleyball, ice hockey, bowling, fencing, baseball and tennis on their own six courts. Jack Rhine brightened the 1927 tennis scene by winning the PNW junior crown. Henry Gray, Dr. .J. B. Bilderback, Walter Goss and Rogers MacVeagh were trading veterans' titles back and forth (and some of the younger fry were finding them hard men a t the net) . Nation al competition was becoming more important, and to meet costs of showing the winged Min distant meets an AAU and Olympic Games Fund was collected at $1 a year from each senior member. First athlete to benefit from the new fund was a 118-pound wrestler, Cyril Mitchell, who placed second in 1925 at Stillwater, Oklahoma. Next year he won the n ational title, and in 1929 became MAC wrestling coach. 39 .._ Gymnasium equipment was one of the first requirements of MAC in 1891, and popularity of trapeze performances continued in 1893 and 1900 clubhouses. I n the Salmon Street club, cork-surfaced running track, ladders, rings, pulleys and fHtrallel bm¡s marked well- furnished gym.

Paddy wagon, policemen and cameramen at Sixth Street side of H otel Portland were ingredients of good promotion, employed by j immy Richardson (in clutches of Sgt. Short) and on his right Eddie Smith and Aaron Frank, grasped by Officer Madden: Their Challenge Day activity for 1930 Oregon-Washington game set attendance record of 35,266, good until 36,885 saw Oregon State-USC game in 1957.


To welcome members at front door, membership directory was installed in 1929, cigar shop moved to entry. In the name of progress, the reproachful moose, severe benches and brass spittoons vanished from lobby in late 'JOs.

Famous wrestlers were already strong in the MAC tradition, for in 1924 Olympic Games at Paris the lightweight finalists were Robin Reed, the winner, and his MAC teammate, Chester Newton. That allMultnomah match has been repeatedly featured in "believe it or not" sports cartoons. Another name showed up on the staff about this time: Albert P. Tauscher, assistant to Prof. Mauthe since 1923, became director of physical education in 1928. Tumbling and track meets, tap and ballroom dancing, trapeze and Indian club drills were junior activities, and the May Fete in the gym became the annual showcase of young talent. Squash players rejoiced in two squash tennis courts in the west annex completed early in 1927 at a cost of $15,000. They relished the new courts even more after the Board relented on its original bargain: collect all the outstanding stadium plaque pledges if you want the courts, the squash players had been told. News was not all of sports in the mid-20s. George Weber's orchestra played every Saturday night for dancing in the gym, there was a formal dance each month, and a Multnomah cruise on the riverboat "Swan" with Cole McElroy's band aboard was something to remember. So were the Christmas parties, arranged by bacheloF residents for needy children. So were the teas and dances, on the terrace overlooking the field and courts, to fete the visiting Californians at state and northwest tennis tournaments. What happened in the stadium concerned Club members. There h ad been enough revenue in 1927 to pay interest on bonds, but it was obvious that a promotion-minded manager was needed, and club officials commended the Stadium Association when James J. Richardson, already one of the best known sports figures on the Pacific Coast, came to work in June, 1928. He had been boxing commissioner of the Olympic Club, often brought its great teams on northern conquests, traveled the coast as manager of A. G. Spalding Bros. Before that, he was graduate manager at Oregon Agricultural College, manager of Seattle Baseball Club, still earlier a Portland newspaper man and an agent here for his father's steamship line. He became manager of the Club in September, 1928. Promotion was the word for 1929. There was something new almost every week. Right inside the front door, a big membership board was installed, with every man's name displayed and his arrival and de40


parture noted by Charlie Kall. A Gulch Days party claimed attendance of 2000, KGW's 9-piece dance band led by Del Milne was "on the air" each Wednesday night from the main lounge. The baseball team made a trip which today is commonplace-~n 1929 it was astounding. At the invitation of the Baseball Council of Australia, a winged-M squad of Harry Dillon, Fred Helmcke, Kenneth Sax, Ralph Davis, Dinty Moore, Buck Grayson, Brian Mimnaugh, George Sherrett, Vince Jacobberger, George Story, Robert Grayson and William R. Smyth steamed off to Honolulu, to Sydney and home by way of Pago Pago and Suva. They won 11 of the 16 games. No one was about to contradict baseball chairman Bert Gooding's assertion that this was the longest trip ever taken by any private athletic club team. Not a word appeared, in annual reports for I 929, about the condition of the national or local economy, but a year later President T. Morris Dunne had ample reason to describe 1930 as "a troublesome year in the business world," and not too smooth at the old clubhouse, either. A June loan from the banks to meet bond interest was repaid just in ·time to borrow again for the December interest. Members were signing personal notes for $150, payable at $5 a month, to be filed at the bank as collateral. There were only 800 senior men, among the 3,659 members in 1930, and the roster was to skid in 1937 to a low of 2760. But those scrambling years were also times of much activity and many days to remember. Smokers in the gym were well attended, and -they were "smokers", according to a participant who vows that he coughed for a week after each one. Sidewalk superintendent s saw completion of the Town Club, and a long-awaited opening of Salmon Street between 14th and 18th through the Kamm property. A year earlier, 18th had been widened from Morrison to Jefferson. Drivers who parked cars carelessly were reprimanded in The Bulletin. Archery and skiing were newly promoted for Multnomah members in 1930. MAC was a leader in Portland Winter Sports Association, which staged a winter carnival to encourage Mt. Hood skiing. Basketball players traveled too-Coach Ray Brooks led a tough squad of Franny Andrews, Jerry Gunther, Dale Cherry, Johnny Inglis, Harry Leeding and Ray Smith on a winning (5-l) tour of Vancouver Island. 41

On 1923 basketball team were Clarence Twining, Bus Douglas, Milo M civer; standing Harry Fischer, Skin R eynolds, Gus Clerin,X. Clerin, Dick Stinson, Charles Barton. 1912 handball players still on court in 1926 included, front,]. H . Mac· Kenzie, W. W. Banks, Herb Green· land, 0. B. Coldwell; center, A. 0. ]ones, Bud ]ames, A. B. McAlpin, Dr. George Ainslie, Andy Lampert; standing, A. C. McMicken, A. H. H aflenden, A . H . Kreul, A. S. Moody,]. C. H enkle, Capt. H omer Shaver, Guy Thompson, Tom Cleland, Frank Harmar, C.P. Osborne, F. E. Harrigan, Dr. ]. B. Bilderback.


In Seattle for 1931 OregonWashington football game, via private railroad car, wen~ these MAC folks plus Bishop Walt er Taylor Sumner and Tommy Luke representing Mayor Baker. From left, Wilbur Hood, unidentified, John Laing, Omar Spencer, C. B. Stephenson, Union Pacific man, Luke, unidentified, Ferry Smith, Sumner, Lloyd Smith, A. C. Spencer (then MAC president and Union Pacific attorney). Robert Krohn Jr., Earl Perry. Family appeal of Club was emphasized by Father and Son dinner initiated in 1931. This is '34 scene.

A Father and Son dinner in 1931 initiated this popular annual event. Carl Dahl was chairman of Pacific Northwest Handball championships held in 1933 at MAC. John Cebula won the singles, joined C. J. McAllister for doubles title in a MAC-sweep. It was Cebula's fourth PNW crown in the last five years. If you could afford to travel, you could visit 31 different reciprocal clubs. The list had been growing for more than ten years. A friend in need, was the role of the Club in March 1933, when members crowded swimming pool and courts, weight room and gym to divert themselves from the gloomy day of the bank closings. A charge system was hastily set up to tide them over the "no cash" days. Members' nights featured Archie Loveland and his ten-piece orchestra. Rod Norwood, entertainment ch airman, scheduled a novel attraction, motion pictures courtesy of United Air Lines of an airplane trip from New York City to San Francisco. The first squash racquets championship-that game was gaining on squash tennis-was won by Peter Schwabe in 1933. Four pages, size 6 by 9 inches, was the extent of The Bulletin in 1933, but it still showed up each week crammed with news and bolstered by a few loyal advertisers: Portland Laundry, John Helmer Inc., The Keystone Press and Milt Frohman Ford. That year, 1933, represented both the bottom of the ladder and the first step back. The payroll was cut for the third time in less than three years, and a $2 assessment was made to all members. Even the staunch creditors such as Mr. Graziano and Portland Laundry needed a little money to apply on a 13-month bill. But there was a cheering note. Four hundred forty new members were trapped in a campaign (R. B. Stinson won a trophy for the most applicants) , and to keep them interested the athletic departments remained open all summer. A classification for young men, 21-25 years of age, was offered. Senior Family memberships in 1932 represented a new idea in club usage and, though married women and children were still accepted for individual memberships until 1940 the "family club" tradition and interest was then firmly established. A most realistic decision finally was made in 1936, when fixed initiation fees put an end to the fee-waived campaigns which made it easy to resign and return. Life memberships, for which men who joined prior to this time were eligible, had rewarded the constancy of those who stayed aboard for 20 years without interrupti'on. 42


Family swim was scheduled during 1933 as an experiment "until further notice." Though President Lloyd Smith had ample cause to describe the club as "battered but still in the ring and fighting bravely" at the end of 1934, MAC was indeed on the way up. Everything was being promoted- all-sports dinners, handball and squash tournaments, Sunday baseball leagues, and dances honoring new members, exercises in the solarium (that was the grassy bank off the northwest corner of the building), bridge lessons, horseback riding and the restorative attention of Dr. W. J. MacMahon in the massage department. AU this activity was wearing out the place, and by 1935 the Bondholders' Committee (for its concern, see the Stadium chapter) granted diversion of $14,000 for some essential repairs. The lobby floor covering was replaced with the same tile you're walking on in 1966. A new kitchen, dining room and library (later the Crystal Room) were admired by 3000 at an open house. Sports competition has always been for everyone, not just the champions. This thought plus a scheme for still another activity promotion led to the first of the Inter-Club meets with Washington Athletic Club on March 16, 1935. Fifty-four MAC members rode the train north, returned with the Totem Pole trophy which was contested annually in alternate cities through 1941. Prohibition had been repealed in 1933-but not at Multnomah Club. Tradition of the founders was strong, but within the next few years it was evident that club members, as well as the times, were changing. A vote by members in 1936 revealed that 376 favored amending the by-laws to permit liquor in the clubhouse, only 137 were opposed. Guarded references to a "Get Together Room" to be prepared "with a fund which will be gathered from members supporting the plan" appeared in The Bulletin. Then a Senior Night was announced for November 10, 1937, promising "tavern service in the recreation room". The first bar was in the remote southwest corner of the main floor. T he women's cocktail lounge, by then so named in print, was a 1937 addition. Bowling, one of the Club's earliest diversions, just withered away in MAC interest in 1935. The alleys were converted to a recreation room and a meeting place for American Legion Post No. 94, named for two members killed in World War I, Ralph Hurlburt and Elijah Worsham. 43

Foursome photographed in 19M had been on tennis court together since 1930s. Center pair, Dr. ] . B. Bilder¡ back and H. B. Cooper, were partners in 1919 state tourney, joined later by Edmund Hayes, Russell Colwell. Bowling; popular in earlier years, departed club scene in mid-30s.


A . B. McA lpin, first president of MAC, cut its 50th birthday cake, with jack Luihn's guidance, at the 1941 celebration. A team of girl swimmers, principally Mary Anne Hansen, Bren.da Helser, Suzanne Zimmerman and Nancy Merki, occasioned many other celebrations as Cody Kids of 1939¡1949,

Post commander was Joseph L. Fearey, vice commander Floyd C. Lynch. The ping-pong room adjoining main lounge on the east was remodeled for a women's lounge. Were sports of diminishing interest? By no means, for a new game called badminton first viewed by the members in 1'931 was finally housed in 1937 in a regulation court, replacing handball court no. 3. A committee of Sam Lee, chairman, Mackey Thompson, John Logan and Gil Jubitz arranged exhibition games by six players of the Oswego Badminton club to open the court. Exercise with weights gained more popularity with the advent of Joe Loprinzi in 1937. More members, more income and encouraging progress toward meeting the bond obligations made it possible in 1938 to set a priority for improvements-the main lounge suffered from heavy use and venerable furnishings (the moose and elk heads must go), a larger cocktail lounge was needed, a men's locker room should replace the recreation room now in former bowling alley space, new steam and hot rooms and showers were essential, the weight room could take over those non-regulation squash racquet courts and the squash tennis courts could be reduced to the popular racquets size. Those important locker floor changes were made in 1940 with a Rehabilitation Loan Fund of $15,000 borrowed in $100 units from members. They were completed, and materials laid by for rebuilding the men's bar early the next year, just before World War II deferred all other plans. A new chapter in MAC sports history began in 1939 when Swim Coach Jack Cody escorted four entries to the national AAU championships in Des Moines. A 13-year-old minnow named Nancy .Merki won the high point trophy, she and Brenda Helser and Joyce Macrae and Anne Cooney almost won the team title. Along with Suzanne Zimmerman, Mary Anne Hansen and others, they were the "Cody Kids" whose long tenure in American records and national titles is still one of the great success stories for swim fans. Members of the 1948 Olympic Games team, Nancy and Suzanne were still swimming and winning another national team title for MAC in the spring of 1949, Cody's last year at the Club. Fiftieth anniversary of the Club was celebrated at a dinner in the gym in 1941, with Gov. Charles Sprague and Mayor Earl Riley joining 44


in salute to the winged M. A dinner for 400 was then q11ite a production from the small kitchen and, as for similar functions, Jack Luihn was summoned with his crew from Sealy-Dresser. In that year, just before everyone's life was changed by World War II, these were memorable events of MAC: Tommy Moyer coached by Tom Louttit won the national AAU boxing championship at 135 1bs., the only one of MAC's many fine boxers to gain a national title. Mixers Parties were the big membership promotion events, yielding a spectacle of 300 men in sombreros or cowboy hats or school boy clothes. A men's glee club, was organized (the last one had faded in 1920) under Paul Hutchinson's direction, soon to be combined with a women's chorus when most of the baritones and tenors went off to war. AI Richen was handball champion, Vern Dimond squash racquets champion, and Ferry Smith squash tennis champion-he first won that title in 1926, held on each year until Lou Coulter bested him in 1940, regained the crown for the 15th time. It was the last tournament in the fine old game, for the courts were by 1942 converted to squash racquet dimensions. Dr. J. B. Bilderback and Sam Lee won tennis doubles, Les Werschkul the singles, Renee Flynn women's singles. Eldon Jenne retired the veterans' tennis trophy, and Sam Lee took permanent possession of the historic Katz Cup first offered in 1909. The annual picnic was at Avalon Park, Friday night dinner dancing was popular, 340 came to the Christmas Formal. Donna Mae Lyons was queen of the May Festival for juniors, Margaret Othus reigned the following spring over the last of these junior productions. By 1942 physical fitness was the watchword, for boys and men and women too, when the ladies were not sewing or driving for the Red Cross, and AI Tauscher's first rifle classes were well attended. So was the junior commando training. Ed Cheney's dance classes were a welcome diversion. The Inter-Club trips to Seattle were replaced by Play Day, intra-club athlet~c competition so popular it was held twice in 1942. Ask Ed Casey or Lyle Palmer about the famous Street Car Scene. Before the war ended, nearly 700 men held service membership, without dues, but with club privileges for their wives and children. They wrote letters "From the Firing Line" to say they missed the Club - among them, Roland Davis in the Pacific, ¡ Martin Sichel in Italy, 45

Verne Perry, right, was Multnomah Golf Club's assistant pro, Howard Bonar and Lynn ]ones members. Back at MAC in 1949 as manager, he was feted in 1964 by "his presidents", Mel Goodin, E. D. Smith ]r., Perry, judge Carl Dahl, H enry Baldridge, Franklin Drake; back Harold Weiss, Sam Lee, Harold Phillips, james Swindells, William j ewett, Harvey Benson.


Among tennis players photographed in May, 1952 were some all-time stars in squash, badminton, tennis. Front, Leonard Clark, Stan Anderson, Spencer Ehrman, Thayer Bliss, Bill Babson; back, Jim Brink, Emery Neale, Sam Lee, Dudley Starr, Claude Hockley.

Fred Fisher in Germany. Ted Jensen, an army major, somehow became involved with the navy in Honolulu long enough to win the CINCPAC handball tournament. There was no dearth of members right here in Portland, and all senior classifications plus the Associate Woman membership (in 1940 this was limited to single ladies) were closed with waiting lists for long periods. Jammed was the word for courts, bar, dining room, Saturday dances (remember b.y.o.L?) but the employee roster grew a bit lean at times. John Howie met the material shortages with baling wire, Marie Stevens was occasionally at the kitchen range and dining room cash register on the same day, and the day only one waitress could be found she had assistance from early arrivals at the round table-Harry Holgate, Claud Lilly, Phil Buebke, Charlie Richards. A Survey Committee headed by George Beggs in 1944 made a list of things it would be nice to do (other than plan a whole new building) and some were accomplished. The gymnasium was made more snug for dancing parties by clever rigging of dark red draperies-voila! The Fuchsia Room! The swimming pool decks were retiled, the only repair work for which materials were available. Newcomers about this time were Jack Pobochenko as instructor of swim beginners and The Balladeers under the direction of Chet Duncan in 1945, Roy Durst in 1948 as boxing coach. Plans were ready for the great changes on the main floor as soon as¡ the war ended, and President Sid Woodbury presided over opening of a new dining room and kitchen in 1947, a new cocktail1ounge the next February. Two private dining rooms opened on the second floor. With these evidences of better days and more to come, Manager Jimmy Richardson alerted the Board to the fact that one man could no longer do justice to the increasing demands of the Club and to the necessary tasks of stadium management, and resigned after 20 years as Mu1tnomah chief. He continued until 1956 as stadium manager, returned to help out for a couple of later years. A colorful and lively chapter of Portland's and the Club's past ended with his death in 1965. Funds were on deposit in 1949 to complete payment of all stadium bonds. Immediately a Building and Finance Committee began to study long range plans for new construction, the Building Fund was established in 1950. Right at this time an important ingredient of MAC's building years was added, in the arrival of Verne Perry as manager. It was sort of a 46


homecoming for him, and for many members who remembered him as the skinny kid who was Boyd Bustard's assistant golf pro and caddy master at Multnomah Golf Club when it opened in 1925. Since then he had been manager of country dubs-Clark County, Peninsula, Columbia-Edgewater, Portland. Now in 1949, this was another case of the right man at the right time and place, one with enthusiasm and talent in equal parts for promotion of new activities, economical operation, and saving the resulting funds for a new clubhouse. The neighborhood was building up- King Tower in 1950, Portland Towers in 1951, and in 1952 a new Lincoln High School on the site of the old Kamm house on 14th Avenue, adjoining the athletic field the Cardinals had been using for years. Parking space along the streets was at a premium. In 1951 the first of the MAC parking lots, free then and ever since to club members, was built at the corner of 18th and Salmon Streets for 50 cars. It eliminated three tennis courts, but two were completed later that year at the northwest side of the building. From 1950, as from any year, you could choose memorable occurrences such as these: The ladies held a Hi Jinks party and were allowed to Close the Clubhouse to Men. Perhaps as compensation, a fashion show later featured men members as models with Bob Mautz as commentator. Junior boys had a softball team, for the second season, and a men's team in city league was coached by Earl Redd, with Bob Dodd as chairman. Bob Mitchell coached the basketball squad to a city league title. Bob Schoning was again northwest and state handball champion, Sandy Wollin joined him for state doubles title. Quite a few men members showed up on January 1 at the pool to swim around big cakes of ice. They called themselves Polar Bears and elected George Birnie King Bear I. Play Day, with Bill Hutchison as chairman, ended with dancingthe Hokey Pokey was the latest step. Old Time Athletes met for the first time, and Kickoff Dinners were now on the regular calendar for handball, squash and badminton players. ¡ There was a new assistant manager, one with a handsome head of curly blond hair, Bob Johannesen. The Presidents' Ball was a new event, in January 1951 honoring 47

Logistics of providing cocktails, dancing and dinner at 363 tables on the stadium field for 2500 members caused some weary hours, but Sixtieth Anniversary Party was huge success. President Tom Stoddard cut the birthday cake, Balladeers sang from clubhouse balcony.


Eighty junior members attended first ski school, 1952, at Summit ski area on Mt . H ood. School is annual activity, adjourned only once (no snow). Enrollment once reached 408, now is 175 at Ski Bowl.

President and Mrs. E. D. Smith Jr. and featuring a grand march led by all past presidents and their ladies. Sixtieth Anniversary Party was called Portland's largest-2,500 members and guests dining at 363 tables on the stadium field. After watching a parade of 60 birthday cakes and hearing a reminiscent program of music and memories, they d anced on a 60 by 90 foot platform beneath a thousand balloons. Slug Palmer was chairman. "Firsts" of 1952 were the junior ski school at Mt. Hood attended by 80 boys and girls, NFL pro football in the stadium, and television in Portland-the main lounge was packed by World Series fans. First Nighter parties began that year, one featuring "South Pacific", fresh from Broadway. What had been the library turned into the Crystal Room, where the big round of beef served from a specially designed hot table was the most talked-about luncheon in town. With the addition of the Gold and Colonial Rooms on the second floor, there were four private dining rooms. A Club tour to Hawaii made J anuary 1953 a memorable month for about 30 members, and a December bus ride to Corvallis for basketball games-this was the Swede H albrook era, you recall-began the many popular charter trips down the valley to sports events. AI Tauscher was guest of honor at a stag party marking h is 30th year on the staff, and Billy Arnold became head chef. Basebail, not softball, was the summer team activity for boys. Dubiously, approval was given to women members to exercise in the bodybuilding department two mornings a week. Would they care for the "weightlifting" and bicycle riding and the rest of the gear that Joe Loprinzi and Owen Carr prescribed? Would they! In 1954 a swimming squad of women members, 25 years or older, challenged Aero Club and soon Columbia Athletic Club also to swim races. The tri-club contests continued for several years, resulting in the permanent activity of MerryMacs. Junior sports awards for both boys and girls were presented at one big family dinner party in the gym- the Treve J ones' Nancy and the J. Clinton Davis' Peter were high point winners. Fritz Ritter and his cohorts sizzled steaks on the nor th terrace for the Flying M ranch party. Remember? Everyone was charcoal broiling everything that summer. 48


Waiting list was started in the fall of 1954 for the Senior Family memberships, limited to 1900. New furnishings in the main lounge, a remodeled lobby shop, and in 1955 a sprinkler system throughout the building were vital improvements. And that was the year the original porte-cochere was replaced by the more navigable entrance you see today. The Bob Hargreaves and Oran Robertsons chaperoned and cooked for 30 MAC boys on a San Juan Island cruise. Summer spectacle of 1956 was the view of Beaver baseball games from the north terrace, as Portland Baseball Club became the summer tenant of the stadium. Its opening day attendance of 16,929 daytime and 17,521 evening fans set a Pacific Coast league record. Other sports events kept MAC in the headlines that year: The World Series of Babe Ruth Baseball was held in the stadium, with Bob Johannesen as chairman. It was an Olympic Games year, and MAC's tradition of sending athletes to the U.S. teams was upheld by Maureen Murphy in swimming, Lee Allen in wrestling. Volleyball, dormant for some years, was r~viving. Preston Holt's team won a three-team house league, and the man credited with putting the game back in favor, Francis Moon, was on the winning squad. So were Charles Crookham, Charles Dimon, John D. Scott, Tom Wrightson. Fuchsia Room draperies were holding up pretty well, for the Carnival Capers, Neapolitan Nights, My Fair Lady, the three lavishly decorated productions by the General Activities Committee. But everyone relished the vision of a new clubhouse, at least a major addition for which the Building and Finance Committee had been making plans these last few years. Drawings appeared in October, 1956. Plans were out for bid the next spring, and abandoned when loan terms on the "tight money market" were deemed unwise. To compensate, some redecorating was done, and to the amazement of women members those old showers north of the swimming pool were completely remodeled. Swimmers composed a water ballet for the program celebrating this welcome event, and The Rhythmettes are successors to that group. Crowded schedules in the swimming pool, in courts, even in the gym made it difficult for men to have a noon or late afternoon workout. Why not come early in the morning? Early Bird hours were offered as an experiment on June II, 1957, attended by 80 charter members. 49

Out{i.t ted in uniforms, helmets, faceguards and other protective gear that their predecessors in 1891 never anticipated, Multnomah boys have been competing since 1958 in the Pop Warner football league.


Carolyn Wood, 14, was surrounded by happy teammates on return from 1960 Olympic Games in Rome, sharing freestyle relay title and new world record. Club's other aquatic champion at Olympics was Louis "Hap" Kuehn, fancy diving winner in 1920 at Antwerp.

As hundreds of men have since discovered, the morning workouts and breakfast originally two, now three, times a week, have proved to be a highly successful "experiment". Bill Babson and Emery Neale shared in the nation al squash racquets team championship, as members of the 5-man Pacific Coast squad_ 1958 was the year of origin for Pop Warner football for junior boys, for account numbers, for " Duffer" badminton classes. The annual celebration of St. Patrick's Day over· plates of Chef Arnold's famous corned beef and cabbage, and of Bavarian Buffet (later Oktoberfest) began in 1959. Oregon's Centennial that year was observed by an Old Fashioned Fourth of July party. These were years when little was spent on current finery, for the Building Fund was being fattened for a new clubhouse. Some may wonder in future years why a new folding chair was pictured on The Winged M cover. Those who had survived the perils of the old wood chairs at main lounge parties appreciated this boon. Trampoline in the gym, ice skating lessons at the new Lloyd Center were junior class additions in 1960. But the big sports headlines were for Olympic Games in Rome. Lee Allen again competed in wrestling. Carolyn Wood powered the United States women's swimming relay team to Olympic Games championship and a world record. Single, Associate Women and Senior members got together for frequent social activities, taking the name of SAWS. 1961 was an anniversary year- the 50th for the clubhouse cornerstone, the 70th for the Club itself- both celebrated at parties. What of a new clubhouse? Plans, surveys and studies· of what might be best for the Club in the future had been pondered by the Board and Building Committees ever since construction was deferred in 1957, and delayed further in 1958 by knowledge that one route proposed for the stadium freeway would go right through MAC property. Whether, in the face of decreasing attendance at baseball games and of proposals for a new stadium elsewhere in Portland, the Club's ·ownership of so large a downtown property was justified, was a major study. In 1960 the City of Portland was asked officially if it were interested in buying the stadium or even all of the Club property. By 1962 it was concluded that the city had no interest, and progress toward new clubhouse on the same site became more rapid. Building Committee of Ralph Walstrom, chairman, Franklin Drake, Elon Ellis, Robert Hall, William Kinsey, Harold Phillips, Oran Robertson was meeting weekly. 50


The few members who had been taking their exercise in lonely circuits of the third floor track now heard the patter of many big feet as jogging was discovered. Charts for recording mileage (22 laps to a mile) were posted in June, 1962 and soon covered all the walls at the entrance to the bodybuilding department. Bill Reiner was first to complete 100 miles and receive the Hundred Mile plaque, Chas. J. John¡ son the first to run past a thousand miles. Three years later the ladies were collecting plaques for 50 miles. Swimmers showed up on other charts with a 50-mile goal, rewarded by American Red Cross gold pins. MelloMacs, a chorus of women members, began rehearsals in 1962 under Bruce Kelly's direction and soon made their presence known with concerts, charter flights to New York, San Francisco and fundraising - remember that pancake breakfast when everybody who bought a benefit ticket really came for breakfast? A noon-hour shuttle bus began its daily run that summer. October 12, 1962-anyone in Portland that day has his own story of the storm, of winds gusting to ISS miles an hour, of devastation rep¡ resenting millions of dollars in lost forests, homes, utilities. It was a day to remember at MAC, as some of the stadium roof went north in big patches, some fell back into the stands where 35,000 were expected the following day to see the OSU-Washington football game. Stadium, club and college officials and employees and friends met at dawn, had the place cleaned up in time for the game to go on before a crowd of over 30,000. Hungry and thirsty football fan members arrived in the usual swarms to be confronted by a "clubhouse closed" sign-no lights, no hot coffee, nothing but flickering candle light and cold showers for the football teams. First-time activity of 1963 included duplicate bridge, the Lunch and Learn and Theater Arts Unlimited programs for women, a sauna, track and field for juniors, lights on the tennis courts, and more privileges for boys and girls of high school age thtough HiMACS. At their parties they were dancing, to use the term loosely, the Stomp, the Pony, the Bird. Big news of the year was publication in June of plans for the new clubhouse. From then on, progress was swift. Bids were called early in ~964, a contract signed with Hoffman Construction Company, and demolition of the old east annex-two badminton courts, two handball courts, boxing room, rifle and archery range and the barber shop 51

Beautiful sight for members, in the summer of 1964, was progress of their new building adjoining east wall of the 1912 clubhouse. H andball and squash courts at left, cavity at right was for 50-meter pool.


On December 5, 1965, over 4,000 members toured all 120,000 square feet of their new clubhouse, all six levels of courts and pools, locker rooms, bar, ballroom and dining room. Most impressive sight proved to be the first glimpse from balcony of the 50-meter swimming pool.

-began March 17. A 'month later the new building was taking shape, in a huge excavation. Spectator delights included rumble of piledriver, the dexterity of crane operators delivering one pipe or a load of ready-mix or a 73-foot concrete beam. The construction months caused no lull in the clubhouse. On the contrary, the gymnasium absorbed all the badminton ¡schedule and boxing classes in addition to the usual volleyball, ba~ketball, children's tumbling and trampoline, women's exercise classes. Anticipating the larger clubhouse soon to be completed, family memberships then limited to 2000 were edged up to 2200, initiation fees increased from $300 to $400. A waiting list grew longer as members eagerly sought to share the club's exciting future with their friends. For the growing membership, data processing systems for club accounts were adopted late in 1964, and though at times it seemed otherwise nobody was permanently and electronically folded or stapled or lost. Another "first" was a charter flight to Europe in April, 1965 for 145 members. Snowed out, the Christmas formal dance was held in May by the entertainment committee, with decorated Yule trees at the entrance to perplex the passers by. The basketball team won city and state championships, and Cyril Mitchell's wrestling team won the national AAU title. The day to remember was December 5, 1965, when the new clubhouse was opened to the membership. Four thousand members toured up stairs and down through all 120,000 square feet of courts and locker rooms, past swimming pools, and the luxurious main floor of ballroom, dining room, bar and cocktail lounge. The new kitchen was in action the next morning, and so was the entire new building except for women's locker room and pool's which required finishing touches. Congratulations were many for the Board of Trustees, the PropertyBuilding Committee, architects Newberry Roehr & Schuette, Hoffman Construction Company and the interior design firm of Cannell & Chaffin. Best of all the whole big beautiful package was paid for, in cash, with a $2.6 million Building Fund accumulated in the past 15 years from club operations, and capital improvement assessment of the membership. First party in the new ballroom was the holidayluncheonofwomen's 52


activities committee, next the beautiful Gold and White Ball. President Frank Nash presided over the annual meeting of February 8, 1966 in the ballroom, an event made memorable not only by the agreeable setting but more so by the formal vote of the membership, 887-75 authorizing sale of the seven acres north of the clubhouse, the "stadium property." Action concurred with the recommendation of the Board, Property Committee and an Ad Hoc Committee of members, that continued ownership of so lar.ge a "downtown" property was economically unsound and that the stadium should be made available first to the city of Portland andfor Multnomah county or, lacking the affirmative action of either within the current year, to other buyers. City voters approved purchase for $2,100,000. On February 26, 1966, just 75 years had passed since Articles of Incorporation for Multnomah Amateur Athletic Club were signed. At the 75th Anniversary Ball that night, there was a champagne toast to the past and future years, in a ballroom larger than all the space first occupied by the club three quarters of a century ago. Ten thousand nine hundred members share the Multnomah Athletic Club of 1967. There are 5000 men including over 1000 nonresident members, 3000 women, 2800 children. Those who choose MAC for its social activities are outnumbered by those who seek its recreational diversions for themselves arid their children. The best of them are winning national and regional championship trophies, the greatest number of all ages are participating for the pleasure of the sport. Both pursuits of excellence are in the Multnomah tradition.

CREDITS: "A H istory of Multnomah A mateur Athletic Club". Copyright 1967 by M ultnomah Athletic Club, Portland, Oregon. Editor: Louise R . Godfrey. Design: Charles S. Politz & Associates. Photographs from University of Oregon Library, A ngelus Collection 4, upper 15, 32; Oregon H istorical Society 5; Multnomah Kennel Club upper 34; Oregon Journal lower 27, tennis 14; Photo Art Commercial Studios 40, 41, upper 44, 54; William Grand 56, 58, badminton 55, decks 57, color plates, end sheets; Dave Kennerly 49, swim 57; Allan deLay 35; Dave Falconer 37; Mel Junghans 47; Roger Jensen 52, handball 55; R alph Vincent 36, group 42, group 45, 50, 51, 53, squash 55. Others from Multnomah Athletic Club Collection, including A ngelus Studios 22,30-31, and A. B. McAlpin, M cAlpin & Lamb, 2, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 17, 21, 25. T ypography set in 10 point Roman and 8 point Italic Baskerville M erganthaler Linotype by Portland Linotyping Company. f:ithographed on Hamilton Starwhite. substa.nce 80 text a.nd Hamilton Carousel W hzte substance 80 cover by Sweeney, Knst & Dzm m . Embossm g die and embossing by Fine Arts Engravers. 53

Seventy-five years of Multnomah A mateur A thletic Club history was marked by Anniversary Ball February 26, 1966 in new ballroom. T oast was proposed by President Edward H . L ook (M rs. L ook, left) to completion of 75th year, its president Frank E. Nash, Mrs. Nash.


-路 路- -路

An end and a beginning are significant in photo of Club property Oct.ober 23, 1965. Some say Oregon-Washington football game will not be played again on historic Multno路 mah Field, and the field itself, occupied since 1890s by Club, was sold to city in 1966. In the meantime another half-block has been paved for club parking, and the new building, phase 1 of construction that will in time replace the 1912 clubhouse, has been in use since December, 1965. Here there are four new courts for handball, three for squash, three for badminton (plus three nets in old gym, two old squash courts). Two tennis courts are lighted. Athletic facilities not pictured include running track, gymnasiums for exercises, volleyball, basketball, bodybuilding, boxing, wrestling, locker rooms, steam rooms and saunas. o@

\ I


Center of social activity in new clubhouse is dining room, left, surrounded by cocktail lounge, ballroom and bar on main floor. Private dining TOOl/IS 011 second floor open to a sheltered deck, also popular for summertime luncheons. A sun deck is bonus at third floor social pool, reserved for adult members' recreational swimming. Learning to swim marks beginning of long and happy years at MAC for many members. j udy Cornell DeRego, in 1950 a winged-M national swim champion, is now one ofl4 athletic instructors.


1891 .A. :B. ..Mc.Afjin

1916 .A, .M, :Eftswortfi

t#t

18!)2 .A. :E .Macfiay

1917 W W 13ank5 1918 W W :Banfls 1919 W. 'W '13anks 1920 . C Henri .La66e 1921 '}{,.A. Sargent 1922 '}(.A. Sargent 192J X .A, Sargent

t91f2

t89J .A.:13 .McA(pin 1894 fdward Cookingham 1896

Jrerbert £ Jwfge J?.odneg £., GG.san

1897

Gug q, Wiftts

1895

t898 W ..M. Cake 1899 J .¥ !Jta{ 1900 W, .M, Cakt

tqot 7 A .Kitch8 1902 7: .A. Kitclig t90J :R, 7, Prae( t90it Dan J, Atoore 1905 W J(, Chapin 19011 George W Simons 1907 (jeorge 'W, Alc.Mi ffan 19o8 Gtorge W, ..Mc.Mf{(an 1909 James '7. 'Ewing 1910 'WaCter A , JCo{t

'Walttr .A, Jfo(t '9'2 A, .M. £{f.swortli '9'J (itorge 'W Simons 1911

tgu,. il, 'W, wd6ur 1915 :It W, wd6ur

t911t

~wden Stott"

1925 {Jolin A ..Uing 1926 Joftn A ,.£aing

1921 £ CSammons 1928 'frank 'E 'Watkins 1929 'frank !E, 'Watkins '9JO 7 .Monis !Dunne '931 .A. C Syencer 1932. Jl. C Syencer '93J C :A Steylienson '934 tJoga Jt Smi tli 1935' (ieorge 13(acf Jr, 1936 Zina .A. Wise 1937 :Donaf-d ']{ :Bate5 1938 Ca(vin K. Souther 1939 1ferman q, (fretn 19.t,o Jl, ~- Adams

t91fJ

t94't t9},f

1t (1 J(onegman 'Dud(e!f crari 'lerfJ Smith !Robert 7: .Mautz'Wili"iam J, Coffins

19;o .Mifton W. !Rice tqJ,7

Sid 'l WooafuQJ

tql,S ..M ifo J( .Me Jver 191,9 Car( .II. :.Dali( '95t' 'E 'D. Smith Jr, 1951 .K 'llios. Stoaaanf

'952 'KenYJ :E 13a(aritfge t9fJ (jeorge !Ka({fng 19f4 James q, Swinaerrs 1955 1faro{i{ .A. Weiss 1956 .Me( 4oodin '957 %alaeus P,, :.Bruno '958 'Kaflltg £ 2en5t'n t9)9 Wiffiam 'W Jewett196o 1Ul roGf.M. 1'fii(tiJ's 1901

:Robert At. Xaft

£{on f. £llis f9C1J Franklin q 1Jmft

1902

t9bJ, Smmu(l.Jt

'9<'5 ~ani 'E..Kash 1¢.6 £tiwarl1£i.Pof


Profile for Multnomah Athletic Club

A history of the multnomah amateur athletic club 1891 1966  

A history of the multnomah amateur athletic club 1891 1966