Page 1

theweeklyreview.com.au

DECEMBER 14 - 20, 2016

WIN $2400 IN GIVEAWAYS

CELEBRATE! W I T H K A R E N M A R T I N I ● M I C H E L L E PAY N E ● S H A N E J A C O B S O N ● C L A R E B O W D I T C H

STONNINGTON & BOROONDARA

SEE YOU NEXT YEAR

Melbourne’s Best Property Guide


A HOME AS UNIQUE AS YOU

The Bordeaux 56 $760,000^

Come and see this exquisite new show home, and learn how we can customise every Signature by Metricon home to be as unique as you. Visit a show home | metricon.com.au | 1300 788 177

These beautiful Metricon show homes are now open Brighton East 241 Dendy Street Everyday 10am-5pm On show Bayville 49

Balwyn 90 Belmore Road Sat to Thurs 12-5pm On show Bordeaux 56

Burwood East 288 Burwood Highway Everyday 10am-5pm On show Doulton 56

Glen Waverley 672 High Street Road Everyday 11am-5pm On show Somerset 59

Glen Waverley 598 Blackburn Road Everyday 10am-5pm On show Sovereign 50

Wantirna South Harcrest Estate Everyday 12-5pm On show Metro 31

^Price based on Bordeaux 56 with facade as pictured. And includes $50,000 site cost allowance, plus Signature platinum specification. Image depicts items not supplied by Metricon and excluded from price namely landscaping, fencing, water feature, and path/paving. Driveway also excluded. DEC 2016


WIN!

rooftop revelry

+ Two tickets worth $195 each to the Together NYE 2017 five-course dinner

e v o l n i … t ou b a w g n i k l a t k e r ’ e w n k e e i w r T h is d t Ea

Where’s the best place to be this New Year’s Eve? At the Circa, where Together NYE 2017 is taking over the entire hotel. Founders Nick Russian and Darren Male are celebrating five years of the events series with a VIP sit-down, five-course dinner on the rooftop, which will be transformed into a luxe LA-style venue. ●

+ Together NYE 2017, December 31, from 5.30pm, Circa Rooftop Deck, Prince of Wales, 2 Acland Street, St Kilda + togetherevents.com.au

(ISTOCK)

compiled by Miranda Tay

mtay@theweeklyreview.com.au

win everything

christmas to a tea

on this page

Tea at the Windsor is a festive affair this Christmas season. Enjoy ribbon sandwiches filled with maple-glazed ham, turkey, brie and cranberry and egg mayonnaise. Top off with sweet delights, including Christmas yule log with gingerbread sponge or trifle of Christmas flavour with panettone. ●

+ To win the entire page of giveaways, worth $957.95, go to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

(SUPPLIED)

+ Book on 9633 6004 or thehotelwindsor.com.au

WIN!

+ Two vouchers for The Windsor’s afternoon tea worth $89 each. Valid until March 14.

EYE spy We can’t resist these stunning Flight Active sunnies, designed by local girl Bec Bennett, the force behind the trailblazing Eyetribe Group. The brand is all about embracing an active lifestyle with cutting-edge tech, superior optics and maximising UV protection – all the while staying comfy and cool. ●

I’LL GIN TO THIS! The new kid on the spirits block, Asahi’s Mist Wood Gin is just the thirst-quencher for a super summer soiree. Its refreshing take steers away from traditional tonic-based mixes. Instead, the English pot-stilled gin is matched with fruit, citrus and bitter flavours. ●

WIN!

+ Two cases of Mist Wood Gin, worth $110 each

+ Non-mirrored lenses $159.95; mirrored lenses $169.95 (SUPPLIED)

+ Mist Wood Gin, four flavours, $20 pack of four, $110 a case

(SUPPLIED)

+ Hotel Windsor, 111 Spring Street, Melbourne. Various packages for high tea and buffet lunch.

+ flightactive.com.au

WIN!

+ A pair of Flight Active mirrored lens eyewear, worth $169.95. DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 3


How to contact us GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300

Competitions

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to our Facebook page at

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview or to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, December 18.

GROUP EDITORIAL DIRECTOR \ EMILY L RAY LY RA NER erayner@theweeklyreview.com.au EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au DEPUTY EDITOR \ HARI RAJ hraj@theweeklyreview.com.au PICTURE DESK K \ KYLIE THOMSON kthomson@theweeklyreview.com.au PROPERTY PRODUCER \ ALEAH ESPANTA aleah.espanta@domain.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ ANDREW MAHON 9249 5233 \ amahon@theweeklyreview.com.au MANAGING DIRECTOR, DOMAIN VICTORIA & PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON \ tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 117,000 copies

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Karen Martini photographed by Michael Rayner STONNINGTON & BOROONDARA

YOUR R LOCAL REPORT R ER RT

Jemimah Clegg loves music, food, wine – and shoes! When she’s not putting pen to paper, Jemimah can be found feeding her shopping habit on Chapel Street. jclegg@theweeklyreview.com.au 0433 051 809

WORTH

WORTH

$93

$200

COUPLES PACK

WIN

Splashland, the inflatable water-slide park, is coming to Melbourne these school holidays. With 7000 square metres of slippery summertime fun for kids, Splashland will slide into Mornington until January 24. Splashland will have four slippery, sliding zones for kids aged 5-12, including Trippo, the world’s largest inflatable water slide and the six-laned Speed Racer. Here’s your chance to win one of six family passes (two adults and two children), valued at $93 each. ● splashland.com.au

WORTH

$75

WORTH

MASSAGE

WIN

Sense of Thai is giving readers the chance to experience a wonderfully relaxing massage at either of its two newly renovated studios in Port Melbourne and Richmond. Two readers will win a couples package that includes a one-hour massage and steam in its private retreat room, valued at $200. Three readers will also receive a single one-hour massage, worth $75 each. Sense of Thai’s quality massage services will rejuvenate your body, clear your mind and improve overall health and well-being. ● senseofthai.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from November 30: Stephen Fisher, Sandra Emms, Maria Molinaro, Merril Bolton, Paul Carter, Angelina Salih, Valentina Davis, Yvette Kennedy, Michael Carroll, Lois May, Daniel Kos, Meredith Buddington, Anna Joske, Kim Langley and Shanna McKenzie. Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

$349

WIN

Nescafe Dolce Gusto is giving you the chance to win a new-generation Eclipse capsule coffee machine, valued at $349. Outstanding performance meets sleek design in the Eclipse, which features an intuitive touch interface and an exclusive opening mechanism. It has been crafted to enhance the pleasure and ease of everyday coffee experiences. With more than 30 pod flavours, there’s one for everybody. ● dolce-gusto.com.au

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

CHRISTMAS SHOPPING

that’s Armadale

WIN $5,000

to spend on High Street Armadale! Simply spend $50 or more in any participating retailer on High Street Armadale to go into the draw. Starts 1 December 2016 until 25 January 2017. Visit our website for full Terms and Conditions.

Follow us or visit our website for all the latest information and upcoming events. /highstreetarmadale

4 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

@hsarmadale

@hsarmadale

www.highstreetarmadale.com.au


More to love U P DAT E D DA I LY \ T H E L AT E S T I N F O O D

T he editor’s desk

Jane

DRINK

»

EVENTS

»

REVIEWS

»

VIDEOS

FESTIVAL

HOLIDAYS SORTED

100 free things to do this summer

The Weekly Review is proud to partner with Melbourne’s hottest new music festival, A Weekend in the Gardens, featuring John Farnham and other greats of Australian music.

WIN A GOURMET HAMPER

(BRENDON THORNE \ GETTY IMAGES)

(ISTOCK)

A

nd so this is Christmas, and what have you done … so sang John Lennon in his 1971 classic. Yes, it’s that time of year when we tend to take stock of our achievements in the past 12 months. Reflecting on my own 2016, sadly I didn’t run the Melbourne marathon – I only ferried my kids to the MCG so they could run the 10-kilometre course. I didn’t find a cure for cancer – I just offered support and the odd homecooked meal for a friend who was sick. But perhaps it’s these kind of everyday gestures that add up to make the measure of a life. Not the big, remarkable events, rather the little things we say and do that help make the world go around. This week, we asked some of our favourite celebrities what they wanted for Christmas. What struck me was the sheer simplicity of their wishes – top of the list were good health and time with family. May your festive season be filled with such simple pleasures. We’ll be back next year. ●

»

THEWEEKLYREVIEW. REVIEW COM.AU REVIEW.

WORTH

We wish

FEATURING: $810 ● A $300 Supremo Hamper from Fratelli Fresh ● Paul Wilson’s new Mexican cookbook, Taqueria ● Summer voucher from new Korean ice-creamery Milkcow ● Breville Smoking Gun food smoker ● A $200 Hopscotch meal voucher

20 Glen Street, Hawthorn Family luxury on exclusive Scotch Hill PROPERTY ID » 2013238674

Join the conversation FACEBOOK

TWITTER

I N STAG R A M

PINTEREST

GOOGLE+

YOUTUBE

www.facebook.com/ theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

theweeklyreview

The Weekly Review

www.youtube.com/c/ weeklyreview

Australian handcrafted fine jewellery 260 Collins Street St Collins Lane Centre (03) 9671 3285

cerrone.com.au

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 5


How will you spend Christmas this year? We have a tradition where we all go back to my dad’s at Ballarat. I think my sister Cathy (married to 2016 Melbourne Cup winner Kerrin McEvoy) won’t be there this year because it is her turn to go to her husband’s family in Streaky Bay, but there’s usually about 35 of us. The kids all have their meal earlier so they are a bit out of the way. Then we all have our meal around the table. It is so lovely because we don’t all get to see each other very often like that. What’s on the menu? Because life is pretty hectic, we keep it pretty simple and very traditional. There is always a turkey and a big ham. We all have our jobs. My job is to make the punch, so I get out of it pretty easily. I basically make it by taste and I am very particular to use good alcohol (Grey Goose vodka, Bundaberg rum) and good champagne (Mumm) and put in mango, peaches, nectarines, bananas and all different types of juice. The first year I made it a bit strong and everyone was complaining they pulled up with a bit of a headache.

(JOSH ROBENSTONE)

Michelle payne

e b l l ’ I

What was the best present you got as a kid? Because there were so many children, we didn’t get presents for Christmas or birthdays growing up. I think my sister Therese used to feel bad for us so she used to pretend she was Santa Claus. We would put our pillowcases at the end of our beds and she would put lollies in them. When we look back it was such a crap present, but we were so happy. It was so exciting for us every year. Even when I was about seven or eight and worked out there was no Santa, I kept quiet so I wasn’t cut out of the action.

She became the first female jockey to win the Melbourne Cup, overcame a critical injury and last month made racing history again as the first person in Victoria to win a race as both trainer and jockey. But, come Christmas, as the youngest of 10 children, she’s just one of the kids.

Most memorable Christmas? Every Christmas is pretty much the same. It’s a bit of a games fest and we always have a soccer match. We can’t get enough of the old stories of growing up. Someone will start on a story and it gets on a roll and all of our brothers-in-law laugh. Not that story again. They have to put up with it every year. All is want for Christmas is … I don’t really want for much. I am just glad to be healthy and happy. I am feeling really good and grateful to be back to full health. ● » Life As I know It, by Michelle Payne, with John Harms. Melbourne University Press, $32.95 » michellejpayne.com.au

HOME F R It’s been a busy year for the award-winning musician, social-enterprise founder, radio host and mum of three. High time, really, to sing and be merry over a prawn cocktail and a mince pie or two.

I decide to be very brave like Charlie in the Chocolate Factory saga, where he doesn’t get the gold ticket that first time around. I bite my lip, thank my brother James for the fish tie, and excuse myself so I can weep quietly in the bathroom. As I stand up to leave, my dear Papa Bear says, “Hello!? What’s this mysterious box hidden right behind the tree?” It had my name on it. I blink a lot as I open the mysterious box and there she is, Veronica Claudette, my first Cabbage Patch Doll! She is still my favourite, to this day. My heart gets hot when I think of all of that.

How will you spend Christmas? Same same, but delightfully so. My big sister Lisa will be putting on the Ritz for 20 of us over at her place (in Melbourne’s west). Gosh, does she spoil us. What’s on the menu? We’re talking prawn and lettuce cocktail, followed by a full ham, turkey and roast vegies spread, and then mum’s Dutch Christmas pud with custard for dessert. Then, that sugar-high unconscious eating that happens when you’ve just drunk a few too many reds and you just eat mince tarts because they’re there, alone, and you don’t want them to be lonely. How good does that sound? You guys should come!

All I want for Christmas is … More of the same. Bring it on! What an absolutely fabulous year of good health, new radio and almost finishing an album it has been. Next year, dear God, help me finally release this album (No.8). ● » Clare Bowditch presents Afternoons, 1-3pm, Monday-Thursday, on 774 ABC Melbourne.

The funniest present you’ve received? My brother James’ plastic fish tie from 1984 has never been surpassed for its Monty Python-esque absurdity. What’s an eight-year-old girl gonna do with a plastic fish tie? Just love it, that’s all. The most memorable Christmas of your childhood? I am eight. All I wanted was a Cabbage Patch doll. Just one. Present after present is unwrapped around me, and as they grow thin on the ground, I realise, no Cabbage Patch Doll for little Clarey.

6 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

» clarebowditch.com

(EDDIE JIM)

Clare bowditch

SARAH HARRIS asks some of our favourite personalities about their festive rituals & memories


Shane Jacobson

Favourite Christmas memory? Our favourite story to remind our mother of on Christmas day is the time she started to say a prayer – as she liked to do at Christmas and Easter – before we tucked into our Christmas lunch. This one year she began the prayer with for what we are about to “relieve” instead of saying, “for what we are about to receive”. This, of course, triggered immediate laughter from one and all, as well as the sarcastic responses that only a family can provide … well my family do, anyway.

The ever-popular actor, writer and director has two new movies, Nest and A Few Less Men,, due out next year, but at Christmas time the father of four is sticking firmly to a tried and true script. He even wants hankies. How will you spend Christmas? The same as I hope most people get the chance to do, which is with family. It’s a very loud affair, and if you’re really lucky, you can even get a word in.

Most memorable present? There was a dear old lady who wasn’t my nanna, but we called her Nanna Hogg – mainly because Hogg was her surname. She was a wonderful woman who played piano at my mother’s dance school. Every year, without fail, she would give me a hanky for Christmas. I’d always laugh at the fact that I would no doubt get another hanky from Nanna Hogg this year and, of course, I always did. But Nanna Hogg is no longer with us, and nobody buys me hankies any more, and truth be told, I have run out. I miss Nanna Hogg dearly and I miss her hankies too.

All I want for Christmas is … For everyone to enjoy the holiday as much as my family and I do. ● » Join Shane and a host of other stars for Carols by Candlelight. For tickets or donations to Vision Australia: » carols.visionaustralia.org » shanejacobson.com.au

(ISTOCK)

(SUPPLIED)

What’s on the menu? It is very traditional. Roast chicken and ham have been the regular guests on our dinner table for as long as I can remember. This year, the main difference is I will be playing head chef at our new home in Macedon after the old family home was sold.

The much-loved chef and founder of St Kilda landmark Mr Wolf is hugely looking forward to the festive break with her husband Michael Sapountsis and their two daughters. There’ll be a real tree and a choice pig’s ear for Rudi, the Hungarian vizsla. How will you spend Christmas? Because we are shooting My Kitchen Rules right up to a few days before, and we have moved out of our house while we’re renovating, we’re heading to my brother-in-law’s on the day. Then on Boxing Day we will do it all again with my family, the same combo but reversed, with about 20 people. What’s on the menu? Always, always salad a la russe. My grandmother is French Tunisian and she has always made this salad, with potato, beans, carrots and heavily dressed in mayonnaise. Over the years we’ve really dressed it up with crayfish, salmon roe, witlof and curly endive. I will take a grain salad with fresh and dried cherries, and maybe a little bit of a Middle Eastern feel with some mint or pomegranate molasses. That sort of thing really throws my mum. She is like, “cherries are for dessert”. What’s the most out-there present you’ve received? When I was 18 my mother gave me a white crocheted top and matching short, short

hotpants. They were both sheer. It was the most shocking gift. I was like, “What, they are for me?”. I think she was thinking, “You are young, you are fabulous and you should be able to wear that sort of thing”. I don’t think my father felt quite the same way. Most memorable Christmas? One year (in the late ’70s) we went to Bowraville, near Coffs Harbour. Coming from urban Melbourne, driving there in a small Peugeot 504 over three days, it was such an adventure. The radiator only blew up once and every hour we were asking, “Are we there yet?”. I remember we had young sweetcorn from a farm nearby. I’d not tasted anything like it, it was so sweet, tender and young. All I want for Christmas is … A few days off, some focused time with my family and the Australian Fish & Seafood Cookbook. And since you’re asking, I also wouldn’t go past a tiny pair of diamond earrings. ●

» Salads & Vegetables, By Karen Martini, Pan Macmillan Australia, $39.95. » Join the celebration as Mr Wolf turns 13 in 2017. mrwolf.com.au

(MICHAEL RAYNER)

karen martini

CHRISTMAS DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 7


Ask the wine guy the perfect wine for Q What’s Christmas Day? I think Christmas Day is the perfect A occasion for wine. There’s no single wine that encapsulates the day, so it’s best to match wine with what you’re eating. There has to be sparkling to start the celebration, riesling for seafood and chardonnay for turkey. You won’t find a better match than rose to go with ham, while cabernet sauvignon is perfect with roast red meats. In true Christmas spirit, we’re giving away the wines featured here – six mixed cases to share with friends and family on Christmas Day. ● GOT A QUESTION? EMAIL \

bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au

win everything on this page

THE VINE W H AT T O D R I N K W I T H B E N T H O M A S

THE SCORE

● 100-95 OUTSTANDING

Stewart & Prentice Paradise Garage Brut NV (Gippsland) $26; 11.5% The Prentice mentioned in the label is Neil, who’s behind the excellent wines of Moondarra and Holly’s Garden. There’s the lightest hint of pink to this complex and refreshing methode Champenoise sparkling, with intense cherry, lemon, stonefruit and truffle flavours. ● Enjoy with \ Oysters Irvine Springhill Riesling 2016 (Eden Valley) $22; 12.8% The Eden Valley is one of our great riesling regions. Floral lime cordial and honeysuckle aromas lead to a racy palate of lime and grapefruit, with a powdery grip that makes the intense flavours linger with persistence. ● Enjoy with \ Cold, cooked prawns Juniper Crossing Chardonnay 2016 (Margaret River) $23; 13% Margaret River’s power and presence is on show, with melon, white peach and citrus aromas. It’s rich and textural, but with vibrancy and refreshment. ● Enjoy with \ Roast chicken and turkey

+ We’re giving away six mixed half-dozen boxes, containing each of this week’s featured wines, worth $160 each. To enter to go to: theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

● 94-92 MUST BUY ● 91-90 MUST TRY R RY

93 100

93 100

91 100

91 100

93 100

95 100

Penley Estate Electra Pinot Noir Rose 2016 (Coonawarra) $20; 12.5% Pinot noir makes for a great rose and there’s a great mix of cherry, watermelon and strawberry aromas hiding here. Texture, savoury, spicy berry flavours – the hallmarks of modern rose – are delicious. ● Enjoy with \ Honey-glazed ham Turkey Flat Butcher’s Block 2015 (Barossa Valley) $20 ; 14.8% This blend of shiraz, grenache and mataro, with its heady array of dark berry, liquorice and leather aromas, is a stunner. It’s a bargain, too. Rich blackberry, bittersweet chocolate and raspberry flavours seal the deal. ● Enjoy with \ T-bone steaks Fraser Gallop Estate Parterre Cabernet Sauvignon 2012 (Margaret River) $49; 14% Composed and measured, this smells of blackcurrant, bramble, vanilla and an old, wooden cigar box. It’s elegant, but with gentle driving power, great balance and structure, fine tannins, bright acid and length. ● Enjoy with \ Roast lamb

13208_10045828-02-a07Dec©MMP

Looking to host a part y? With the best cocktails this side of town, let us help you celebrate in st yle The Kilburn | cnr of Glenferrie rd and Burwood rd 348 Burwood Rd, Hawthorn VIC 3122 | 8528 6831 | www.thekilburn.com.au 8 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


THE FEED E AT

W I T H A L I C E Z A S L AV S K Y WWW.THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/EAT EA EAT

LET ’S DO LUNCH Small Victories ● 617 Rathdowne Street, Carlton North ● 9347 4064 ● smallvictoriescafe.com.au THE VIBE IBE \ This persistently popular eatery has a smooth, warm appeal that’s matched by the efficient and friendly service.

THIS WEEK I’M …

THE CROWD \ Discerning hipsters, lunching ladies and fine-dining folk. THE FOOD \ A full range of breakfast food, along with lunch and takeaway options. The brioche bun with 12-hour hot-smoked Sher wagyu brisket, mustard coleslaw and house-made barbecue sauce is a perfect example of the expertly combined flavours on offer.

CAULIFLOWER SCRAMBLED EGGS

HIGHER GROUND \ CITY

W

THE DRINK \ Coffee by Wide Open Road, beers, ciders and wines.

THE VERDICT

Rathdowne Village has plenty on offer, so it’s no small victory to be serving up food this memorable. ● EMMA HOUGHTON

(EMMA HOUGHTON)

WAGYU BRISKET BRIOCHE

hite walls, chalkboards and brunch queues … this city’s cafes can feel pretty “same, same”. If you’ve grown tired of groundhog granola, then head to the CBD and my new favourite “whenever, whatever” eatery, Higher Ground. This converted power station pumps out breakfast, lunch and even (Thursday though Sunday) dinner, with the uber-equivalent of a menu: disruptive and infinitely convenient. Plenty of green stuff both great and small; burnished peas with beach banana, and kale salad with hummus and puffed brown rice. Yet there’s no high-horse here; but rather a cockle-warming semolina pudding with blueberries, and even a chocolate cheesecake brownie. The one item that deserves to be on every docket in that kitchen – my brunch dish of 2016 – is the cauliflower scrambled eggs. House-made flatbread that’s fluffy in the middle echoes the fluffiness of the scramble itself; cauliflower, pureed and fresh, is offset with deep-fried curry leaves and aromats, serving up spicy subcontinental realness. If you happen to spy a particularly smug-looking character in tortoiseshell specs, be sure to give me a high-five. ● aliceinframes@theweeklyreview.com.au ● 650 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne ● 8899 6219 ● highergroundcafe.squarespace.com

WE LOVE …

A QUIET DINNER \\ My go-to is LAU’S FAMILY L LY KITCHEN in St Kilda. I love the mapo tofu and just about anything they suggest. It’s cosy, quick and offers great style and delicious food. TO SEE AND BE SEEN \ As I spend half my life at the moment in Bali, I hope you don’t mind if I mention DA MARIA, Maurice Terzini’s new ode to Amalfi on Petitenget. This beautiful restaurant is super hot right now and the room has some of the best people-watching you can imagine.

COOKING OOKING \\ There’s nothing better than serving up a roast chicken when friends come around, and we cannot go past the Sommerlad breed. They’re bigger than the usual and almost turkey-like in flavour, with the crispiest parson’s nose a gal could ask for. ●

READING EADING \\ In case I needed an excuse to tell you about Chaz Hutton’s seminal work, A Sticky Note Guide to Life (Harper Collins, $18.99), he gives me a whole chapter of Laugh Out Loud funny on Food & Drink. Make a note to stick it into every stocking this festive season. ●

SHRUB SODAS

I’m always on a need to know basis. Get in touch: @aliceinframes #TWREat

FLEXIBLE SEATING

L I N D S AY L O V E S …

BRUNCH \ I am not a real brunch person … I would prefer to wait another hour and have a proper lunch with wine. I don’t usually do cafes either which is, of course, way off-trend. The exception would be yum-cha. I love dumplings, particularly the xiao long bao (soupy dumplings) at HUTONG in Commercial Road.     A DATEE \\ Hands down my favourite for years is DI STASIO. I love the grilled oysters with horseradish, the maltagliati with radicchio and squid, and the white chocolate tart.

EATING \ New season cherries from Cherry Hill are the harbinger of chrismukkah cheer in our household. I like to pit and freeze them for easy cherry sorbet in the Thermomix. ●

DRINKING RINKING \\ Made with real cinchona bark, a natural source of quinine, Sin-ko-nah tonic syrup is lifting our G&T game swimmingly. I pair it with some buzzed Sodastream mineral water, because who has room for tonic bottles in the fridge? ●

ABOUT GEOFF A FANCY DINNER \ One of my favourite dining rooms is ROSETTA at Crown. I love the Pucci print and luxury of it all. I really appreciate the high levels of service and amenity with faultless uncomplicated food. A BIG GROUP \ Whenever I have a larger group, family with kids, maybe to watch the football, we head to THE GROSVENOR HOTEL in East St Kilda. It’s great for everyone, has the best steaks, a great wine list and plenty of beers on tap. It’s not expensive and very relaxed. ●

(SUPPLIED)

Chef’s Secrets G E O F F

(CARMEN ZAMMIT)

THE DECOR \ Timber highlights set off a welcoming and relaxed split-level design. Banquette seating on the upper level caters for lounging with multiple coffees.

Vietnamese vanguard, chef and owner of Dandelion, Elwood, and Saigon Street, Bali; popping up in Lorne at The Crab Club this summer. ● @thecrabclub

STILL HUNGRY? CHECK OUT GEOFF’S KILLER CHILLI MUD CRAB RECIPE ONLINE. DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 9


this week make sure you T H E B E S T I N E N T E R TA I N M E N T W I T H M Y K E B A R T L E T T

of smoky-voiced female singers, they cover classic tracks from punk and post-punk bands such as the Dead Kennedys, Joy Division and The Cure in a laid-back bossa nova style. It would be easy to dismiss the group as a novelty act, but founding member Marc Collin insists they’ve always been sincere. “The simple idea was to show people that you can take a song from Echo & the Bunnymen or The Cure, play it very simply, with just guitar or piano and it’ll still sound good,” Marc says. “I was fed up with the idea that those groups didn’t know how to write songs, that it was just attitude or sound.” The group has certainly proved the doubters wrong. Marc imagined its 2003 debut would be bought by people like him who were old enough to remember the original acts. But in recent years, that audience has been taken over by a younger crowd, who stumbled on Nouvelle Vague’s songs without realising they were covers. “In two years our YouTube audience grew to 50 million, which is amazing,” Marc says. ● mbartlett@theweeklyreview.com.au

wat c h \ So Frenchy So Chic

(SUPPLIED)

S

ummer is here, which means outdoor festivals galore. Depending on your musical bent, chances are you’ve already snaffled tickets to Falls, Laneway or Sugar Mountain. But if you’re after something a little more sophisticated, then it’s hard to go past So Frenchy So Chic. Returning for its sixth year to Werribee Park Mansion on the outskirts of Melbourne, this celebration of all things Gallic offers a fresh serve of food, wine, fashion and music. Thanks to a strong family-friendly focus, even the littlest Francophiles will be entertained. Topping the music roster are Parisian group Nouvelle Vague. As suggested by their name, a play on the perennially cool French New Wave cinema, the band embody a certain Gallic chic and glamour. Employing a roster

GOING OUT

» So Frenchy So Chic, Werribee Park, Melbourne, January 15, $83, under 12s free. sofrenchysochic.com.au

NOUVELLE VAGUE

CAROLS \ CAROLS AT COMO PARK Rhonda Burchmore hosts this much-loved local carols concert, featuring a stellar line-up of performers, including Bobby Fox (Jersey Boys), Amy Lehpamer (Sound of Music), and Verity Hunt-Ballard (Mary Poppins). Bring a picnic and celebrate Christmas under the stars with a spectacular riverside fireworks display. ■ December 18, 7.30-9.30pm. Como Park, Williams Road, South Yarra. Cost: free. Inquiries: stonnington.vic.gov.au

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

MUSIC

SUNSET SOUNDS – DEBORAH CONWAY & WILLY ZYGIER The 2017 Sunset Sounds series of free concerts kicks off with folk duo Deborah Conway and Willy Zygier. Their latest album, Everybody’s Begging, is a delightful stream of catchy, acoustic ballads that explore their spiritual sides. They will be supported by Sal Kimber and her band The Rollin’ Wheel, playing a lineup of country, folk, rock and pop. Go along to listen to some great music as the

(SUPPLIED)

AMY WINEHOUSE TRIBUTE One of Australia’s finest and most versatile vocalists, Atlanta Coogan (Black Sorrows, Bjorn Again), takes you on a musical journey through the life and music of Amy Winehouse. Along with the Back to Black Band, Atlanta will perform all of Amy’s hit songs, including Valerie, Back to Black and Rehab. Don’t miss this chance to enjoy the music of one of the 21st century’s most talented singers. ■ December 16, 6.30-11pm. Marquee Restaurant Bar, 445 Toorak Road, Toorak. Cost: $30 or $65 for dinner and the show. Inquiries: marqueerestaurant.com.au sun goes down, while trying culinary delights from some of Melbourne’s best food trucks. ■ January 8, 6pm. Victoria Gardens, High Street, Prahran. Cost: free. Inquiries: stonnington.vic.gov.au SPORT KOOYONG CLASSIC The Priceline Pharmacy Kooyong Classic is back with an all-star line-up, including

Aussie star Bernard Tomic, 2016 Kooyong champion and world No. 12 David Goffin of Belgium, and world No. 10 Richard Gasquet of France. Be sure to get along to the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club to join in the fun, which includes the chilled atmosphere of the Kooyong Common, featuring food trucks, live music and delicious drinks. ■ January 10-13. Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club, 489 Glenferrie Road, Kooyong. Cost: tickets start at $34. Inquiries: kooyongclassic.com.au

SLAM VOLLEYBALL FESTIVAL Players, novices and spectators alike can head down to this beach volleyball competition for “babes, beers, bangers and a good time” – and, of course, volleyball. Participants get a show bag, and there will be an after-party with sweet drink specials. Suitable for over-16s. ■ December 17, register from 9am; competition starts 10am. St Kilda foreshore, St Kilda. Cost: $40 to play. slamfestival.com  COOKING GINGERBREAD DECORATING AT THE MARKET Whether you’re looking for a creative activity, a Christmas-eve bribe for Santa, or just really love the spicy goodness that is gingerbread, this children’s workshop is a great idea. Best of all, your gold coin donation goes to The Salvation Army or Sacred Heart Mission. ■ December 21, 9am-noon. Neff Market Kitchen, Stall 90, Cecil Street, South Melbourne. ● COMPILED BY JEMIMAH CLEGG

WANT YOUR EVENT LISTED? To be considered for a listing email \ goingoutSTB@theweeklyreview.com.au 10 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


HOT TIX DAVID WALLIAMS’ MR STINK, ARTS AR CENTRE, APRIL 1-9, AGES 6-12, $26-$39 AR SCENTREMELBOURNE.COM.AU ART

ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STOR RY Where last year’s Star Wars FILM revival flirted with nostalgia, Rogue One looks set to surrender to it. From the trailers (Disney is keeping details firmly under wraps), there’s a sense of returning to a childhood treasure from an adult perspective, armed with the scale and spectacle modern blockbusters enjoy. Set before the 1977 original, Rogue follows a team of rebels attempting to steal the plans for the Death Star. And look, there’s Darth Vader! ■ Opens December 15, rated CTC, 134 minutes, starwars.com

THEATRE

THE BEST OF SUMMER

MUSICAL

WHITE CLOUD His little brother has been busy lighting up the Sydney Opera House, but Tim Finn is no slacker himself. Following on from this year’s The Fiery Maze for Malthouse, Tim’s musical Ladies In Black is making a return next March and he’ll be back onstage

THE BOOK OF MORMON Musical fans have been waiting for this one as fervently as some devout folk await the second coming. Created by South Park’s Trey Parker and Matt Stone, this irreverent dig at the Church of Latter Day Saints, in which two naive missionaries embark on a tour of wartorn Uganda, has been a Broadway and West End smash. Even the Church seems to like it. January shows for the Australian premiere are already sold out, but March is looking promising. ■ Princess Theatre, Melbourne. Opens January 18, tickets from $50.68. bookofmormonmusical.com.au

ROOM ON THE BROOM There can be few kids’ bookshelves that aren’t graced with a copy of Julia Donaldson’s The Gruffalo. Gruffalo Room on the Broom is less well known, but this local adaptation should prove equally popular as a holiday treat. In it, a witch and her cat load up their broomstick with hitchhikers until the stick can’t take it anymore. Just when things look bad, a dragon turns up. A fun and slightly scary musical for ages three and above. ■ Arts Centre Melbourne, January 4-15, $26-$39, cdp.com.au KIDS

ROCKWIZ LIVE! THE CHRISTMAS(ISH) SHOW GIG Say goodbye to 2016 with (surviving) rock royalty at this seasonal shindig from the makers of SBS’s RocKwiz. There will be Christmas carols (presumably more in the vein of Fairytale of New York than Little Town of Bethlehem), curly questions and comedy gold. Hosted by Julia Zemiro, the show will feature Vika and Linda Bull plus six secret guests. As always, there’s a chance for every guest to join the team onstage as a contestant. ■ Palais Theatre, December 17, $79.90-$120, rockwizlive.com.au

before then in White Cloud. In this very personal show, Tim tours his family tree through journals, letters and memoirs, accompanied by home movies shot by his father. There will, of course, be songs aplenty. ■ Arts Centre Melbourne, January 13-15, $65, artscentremelbourne.com.au

77 Burnley Street, Richmond, VIC

TAKE A PHOTO OF THIS AD FOR 5% OFF INSTORE* View instore items at milandirect.com.au/showroom *Valid until 28/02/17 on orders over $99. Excludes presale items and non stock items. Sale code: MDWEEKLYS1

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 11


LOCAL LOWDOWN

OH!

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

O V E R H E A R D … 10am, Thursday @ Glenferrie Road, Kooyong “Already-popped bubble wrap is one of life’s great disappointments.”

L U C Y WAT T S

I love Ashburton

(DANIEL POCKETT)

After observing her father’s struggles with movement due to multiple sclerosis, Lucy Watts came up with the idea for CountUp, an app that helps people who need physical rehabilitation. “I became aware of how difficult ongoing rehab is, and how to keep motivated, particularly when you have a chronic disease,” she says. Although there were already plenty of fitness apps available, Lucy says none focused on rehabilitation and incremental movement such as standing up or squeezing hands. Lucy lives in Ashburton, which she loves for its many bike paths and parks. Where do you go to buy the perfect gift? The Leaf Bookshop is a new bookshop on High Street that has a beautiful collection of books and stationery that make great gifts. For a great cup of coffee? Mr Brownstone is perfect for a coffee after school drop-off.

To catch up with friends? Mr Burton has great coffee and lovely all-day breakfasts. They also do dinner and cocktails in the courtyard. For a great bottle of wine? Vintage Cellars has a good selection. For some me-time? I love to walk our dog along the Ferndale Trail – sometimes we stop for coffee along the way. For a fantastic meal? The kids and I love to catch up with their grandparents at Freshly Baked for cake and a cup of tea after school. For dinner, my husband and I like Preserve Kitchen. To get some exercise? I enjoy going to The Swedish Pilates Studio on Glen Iris Road. ● JEMIMAH CLEGG CountUp is available for Apple products on the app store. countup.com.au

The Leaf Bookshop 3/283 High Street. Ashburton. 9885 1900 ● Mr Brownstone 1 Welfare Parade, Ashburton. 9885 3030 ● Mr Burton 199 High Street Ashburton. 9885 0439 Vintage Cellars 261 High Street, Ashburton. 9885 1609 ● Ferndale Trail starts at Summerhill Park, Prosper Parade, Ashburton ● Freshly Baked 172 High Street, Ashburton. 9885 3787 Preserve Kitchen 32 High Street, Glen Iris. 9885 4869 ● The Swedish Pilates Studio 4/108 Glen Iris Road, Glen Iris. 0414 725 932

A N I L L U M I N AT E D L I F E

131 - 141 Church Street, Hawthorn

Your new lifestyle starts here. Situated high on the hill of Church Street, close to St James Park and the Yarra River, find 4 luxurious penthouses and 18 stunning residences. Perfect for the modern downsizer.

D I S P L AY S U I T E N O W O P E N

131–141 Church Street, Hawthorn Thurs 4–6pm, Sat & Sun 11am–1pm by appointment F O R A P P O I N T M E N T S C O N TA C T

Scott McElroy 0411 889 972 Neil Corke 0421 794 355 Frank Troost 0418 884 733

12 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

Artist Impression

P R O U D LY B R O U G H T T O YO U B Y

L U M I N A RY H AW T H O R N . C O M . A U


RETAIL THERAPY F L AT I R O N \ K E W

F I N D U S AT

SALES PITCH

72 Willsmere Road, Kew. 0421 053 094 flatironmelbourne.com.au

“We’re always sourcing new things and we’ll always look for things that are not mainstream.” – Sam Scally, co-owner.

Just-opened Flatiron is a beautifully curated and designed lifestyle shop, selling homewares, gifts, clothing and accessories. Who’s behind the counter? Sisters Penny Duggan and Sam Scally had an interior styling business for 10 years, working for private and commercial clients. They fell in love with a building in Willsmere Village – affectionately known by locals as “the Flatiron building”. “We thought this space would be really nice for an office for our business, but then we realised there’s such a need in this area for beautiful pieces,” Sam says. Their shop, which opened two months ago, was designed and handcrafted by designer Ben Bangay. Sam says they plan to open a wine bar at the back of the building next year. “It will be a real destination,” she says. What’s in store? Their own range of clothing, called Sam Brown Collection, along with staples from local designers, including Organic Crew and Frances Hendrie. “We’ve also got homewares from Denmark, a beautiful range of Italian perfumes called Orto Parisi, and we’ve hand-picked a lot of other things,” Sam says.

Our pick These gorgeous Paul Bangay candles come in three garden-inspired scents. $70

“If we love it, we’ll share it – so we have to really love it.” Who’s buying? “We just love the local customers,” Sam says. “They’re so lovely – a lot of them have lived in the area for a while.” They also get customers coming from across town who’ve been drawn to the shop by its social media pages. ● JEMIMAH CLEGG

Unique: Sam Scally and Penny Duggan in the Flatiron store. (MICHAEL RAYNER)

THE CONTACT LENS FOR YOUR EAR

NOW OFFERING 100% INVISIBLE HEARING AIDS 100% Invisible - Sits deep in the ear canal, completely invisible. 24/7 Wear - Wear for months at a time. Designed for all daily activities - showering, sleeping, exercising. Hassle-Free - No batteries to change, no daily insertion or removal. Natural Sound - Designed to work with your ear’s anatomy to deliver exceptional sound quality.

CALL FOR A FREE 30MIN CONSULTATION

1300 761 667 www.ear-hearing.com.au

Kew • Camberwell • Malvern • Ashburton • Melbourne CBD • Hawthorn East • Surrey Hills • Canterbury • Ivanhoe • Reservoir • Docklands • Toorak • Ashwood • Balwyn DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 13


A time for giving

kids

com piled by jem i m ah Clegg

Skip Hop Giraffe Zoo backpack at David Jones \ $29.95 davidjones.com.au Make going back to school fun with this quirky backpack. Adairs Santa Sack at Home HQ Nunawading \ $14.95 nunawadinghomehq.com.au Bring the magic of Christmas to the little ones.

Fuji Instax Mini 8 camera at Officeworks $88 \ officeworks.com.au Forget Snapchat, this camera takes instant pics to create collages, scrapbooks and more. Adairs 3 in 1 Playtime Easel at Home HQ Nunawading\ $129.95 nunawadinghomehq.com.au Give the kids hours of creative fun.

14 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

Dear Little Letterbox \ $41.95 dearlittledesigns.com This magical letterbox comes with notepads, stickers and pencils, and encourages kids to write to family, the fairies and even Santa.


Adairs pineapple pool toy at Home HQ Nunawading \ $39.95 nunawadinghomehq.com.au Stay cool in the pool with floating fruit.

Picabooki Who’s in the Jungle? personalised story book \ $24.95 \ picabooki.com Add your own photos to the colourfully illustrated pages of this special story book.

Eat4Fun Animos Hippo and Froggie cutlery set \ $15 petersofkensington. com.au

Beats Solo2 headphones at Officeworks \ $297 officeworks.com.au Listen wherever you go with these Bluetooth headphones.

Gizmotots plates \ $19.99 \ gizmotots.com.au These brightly coloured silicone plates grip any flat surface, meaning less mess at mealtimes.

Designed for little hands, this fork and spoon set makes eating fun. Micro scooters at David Jones \ $139 davidjones.com.au Get around on this lightweight scooter with intuitive steering.

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 15


A time for giving

her

com piled by jem i m ah Clegg

Catherine Manuell Aqua Gloss Flowers wallet \ $69.95 catherinemanuelldesign. com This head-turning wallet has eight credit card pockets and a zipped coin section.

Copper Mono Bamix \ $379 bamix.com.au The classic kitchenhand now comes in oh-so-fashionable copper for the stylish chef.

Nude Footwear Silence heels in rose gold at Lana Berg \ $195 lanaberg.com.au With a comfy block heel, these are bound to be your go-to party shoe. Diamond studs at Michael Wilson Diamond Jewellers \ From $635 michaelwilson.com.au

Cristina Re Rose Gold Quartz teacup $49.95 \ cristinare.com

These sparkling beauties will last a lifetime. They come in four sizes ranging from 0.2 to 1 carat.

Have yourself a high tea at home with this 24-carat gold embellished china.

Christmas Family Day featuring

MEET SANTA @ THE WELL

STREET ENTERTAINMENT & LIVE MUSIC for the whole family

DEC 10, 17, 24 10AM – 2PM

SANTA’S LITTLE HELPERS giving out reindeer antlers FREE RIDES ON SANTA’S ANTIQUE FIRE TRUCK and other fun activities for the kids BALLOON ARTISTS & FACE PAINTERS

DEC 17 - FROM 11AM - 2PM DE

FIND RUDOLPH IN THE CAMBERWELL SHOPPING PRECINCT TO

CHRISTMAS PHOTO BOOTH @ THE WELL DEC 16-21 11AM – 2PM

MARKET FAMILY DAY DEC 3

ENTER THE COMPETITION ONLINE AT CamberwellShopping.com.au

For all these and more fun Christmas events visit CamberwellShopping.com.au 16 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


Tory Burch Eau de Parfum at David Jones. \ $195 davidjones.com.au Koko Black pencil tin \ $16.50 \ kokoblack.com The fashion designer’s first fragrance is floral with notes of grapefruit and crisp citrus.

Filled with delicious milk and white chocolate snowmen and stars – yum!

Angela Caputi bangles \ $79 each \ intermix.net.au The perfect addition to your summer outfit. Silk Magnolia eye mask at The Bedspread Shop \ $39.95 thebedspreadshop.com.au Coco Chanel – The Illustrated World of a Fashion Icon from David Jones \ $29.99 \ davidjones.com.au

For the woman who has everything – give the gift of a good night’s sleep.

Megan Hess’s swoon-worthy illustrations tell the story of the celebrated fashion designer.

More bench More storage More style More features More finishes

More choice More experience More kitchen Less $$$$$ Free Quote

Showrooms open 7 Days 9-5

n e i ia d Ma ctor Vi

* Oakleigh Rowville

1430 Dandenong Rd 889 Wellington Rd

9530 4777 9755 4888

Member of HIA, NKBA & CMA, RPB (Registered building practioners) www.smithandsmith.com.au

Custom made kitchens made direct from own workshop

Beautiful bespoke Kitchens at friendly prices

Lifetime Warranty

Australia’s biggest kitchen showroom* © Copyright Smith & Smith Cabinet Makers Pty. Ltd. 2009 Reproduction in any form is prohibited, all rights reserved

G4866443AF-dp18Apr

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 17


LENO, SIMPLY SPANISH 513 ELIZABETH ST

Queen Victoria Market Melbourne´s Marketplace CORNER OF ELIZABETH & VICTORIA STREET, MELBOURNE


A time for giving

him

com piled by jem i m ah Clegg A Spot at the Bar – Welcome to The Everleigh at David Jones \ $45 davidjones.com.au Michael Madrusan & Zara Young from Fitzroy hot spot The Everleigh share stellar cocktail recipes.

Gents Hardware manicure kit at Schots Home Emporium \ $49.95 \ schots.com.au Everything you need to keep those nails in shape.

Jaquet Droz Grande Seconde Off-Centered Onyx watch at Monards \ $14,350 monards.com.au

Peter Jackson ruby linen shirt \ $120 peterjacksons.com These casual yet smart shirts are made from breathable fabric – perfect for summer.

The dapper man in your life will love this timepiece featuring 18-carat white gold applied rings and a stainless steel case. Crumpler Great Thaw backpack \ $95 crumpler.com.au

Montblanc Urban Spirit wallet \ $420 montblanc.com

This versatile backpack has a laptop sleeve and two front pockets.

For the stylish gent, this cowhide wallet features Montblanc Shield technology in the lining to protect your cards.

Peace on Earth and in your living room. /mth

for 24 months Min cost $2,565

HOTTEST ENTERTAINMENT BUNDLE ON nbn™ • 1000GB/mth home data • Foxtel from Telstra Entertainment Package • $0 iQ2 (valued at $75) for new Foxtel customers • Telstra Air® compatible Gateway modem for new Telstra Home Broadband customers

PLUS VALUE EXTRAS • Choose your gift and redeem 3 months free of either Sports HD Package or Drama and Movies Package • Free Telstra Air until March 27, 2017

Telstra Store Camberwell 829 Burke Road, Camberwell 03 8689 9988 Near the Well shopping centre THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW: Min cost includes an $89 activation fee for new Telstra Home Phone or Broadband customers and a $100 Foxtel from Telstra standard install fee. Service Availability: nbn™ and Foxtel from Telstra services not available to all areas or homes and require a suitable TV. Standard Installation: Our standard installation includes self-installation of Telstra’s gateway, minimum eligibility criteria apply. Extra charges may apply for non-standard or professional install of Foxtel, Telstra or nbn co equipment and for premises in new developments. Foxtel from Telstra: You will receive SMS instructions on how to redeem your 3 months free Sports HD or Drama and Movies Package. Offer expires after 30 days if not redeemed. After 3 months normal charges apply unless you change packages earlier. Telstra Air: Free Telstra Air until your home data allowance expires. Compatible gateway and broadband service required. Foxtel marks are used under licence by Foxtel Management Pty Ltd. All rights reserved. nbn™, nbn co and other nbn™ logos and brands are trade marks of nbn co limited and used under licence. The spectrum device and ™ are trade marks and ® are registered trade marks of Telstra Corporation Limited, ABN 33 051 775 556.

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 19


S PAC E S

URBAN SPACES ORABEL

The selling point The ultimate bayside lifestyle with leading contemporary design by internationally recognised Hachem Architecture in an outstanding natural coastal environment.

special promotion

(SUPPLIED)

A

just-released Seaford beach development is set to redefine waterfront living in Melbourne, offering the ultimate bayside lifestyle with water on two sides. Orabel has Seaford’s five-kilometre stretch of pristine white, sandy beach on one side and the native wetlands of Kananook Creek Reserve on the other, creating an outstanding natural environment offering water, beach and parkland activities. Its low-rise buildings have been designed by internationally recognised Hachem Architecture to nestle into native beachside and wetland landscaping that will take up nearly two-thirds of the site. Buyers have the choice of beach and bay, creek reserve or native garden outlooks from Orabel’s 140 apartments in one, two, three and four-bedroom layouts. Prices start at $379,000. Orabel Apartments is the new flagship development for Resimax Property Group. Sales director Ken Dodds says more than 500 prospective buyers registered interest before the early December launch. “Orabel is attracting downsizers, families, first-home buyers and even people looking for a highly convenient weekender and holiday residence in an extraordinary setting. “Seaford is one of Port Phillip Bay’s cleanest beaches and it is often deserted in the front of Orabel. There’s very limited public parking; however, Orabel residents will have 90 car spaces beyond council requirements.” Orabel’s design optimises the site’s extraordinary, direct views west across the

REAR FACADE AND CREEK FRONTAGE LANDSCAPING

bay and east over waterfront parklands. Hachem Architects director of architecture Brendan Shannon says the building’s design, materials, colours and textures take inspiration from the surrounding natural environment. A lightweight steel wave curves softly over the roof, creating a stylish coastal landmark as well as summer shade. Internal living areas range from 50 to 130 square metres with private outdoor terraces or balconies from eight to 147 square

metres. All apartments have at least one car space and storage bay and two bike racks and more than half of the 100 two-bedroom apartments will have two car spaces and storage bays. Orabel emphasises its lifestyle opportunities and will offer beach volleyball and other activities during summer. Completion is anticipated in early to mid-2019. ● LIZ MCLACHLAN lmclachlan@theweeklyreview.com.au

Location, location Orabel directly overlooks the bay and Kananook Creek Reserve and is 36 kilometres south-east of the CBD and five kilometres north of Frankston. It’s a 12-minute walk to Seaford station, a five-minute drive to the M3 freeway, and a minute to Seaford’s shops. Seaford Primary School and Patterson River Secondary College are a three to fiveminute drive.

THE BUILD Address \ 78-83 Nepean Highway, Seaford Developer \ Resimax Property Group Building & interior design \ Hachem Architecture Landscape design \ John Patrick Landscape Architects Sales \ Ken Dodds 1300 783 144 or 0433 773 299 Display \ 78-83 Nepean Highway, Seaford

LIFESTYLE

NATURAL ENVIRONMENT

DESIGN

Open \ Noon-5pm Tuesday to Friday; 10am-4pm Saturday and Sunday

Residents can enjoy beach walks, bay swimming, long boarding, sea kayaking, boating, bay or pier fishing and dolphin-watching. Or walk, cycle and canoe the 7.5-kilometre Kananook Creek Reserve following the creek from Frankston Pier or walk and cycle through the Seaford Foreshore Reserve. Also nearby are shared trails through the Seaford Wetlands and the 49-kilometre Bay Trail from Seaford to Brighton. Patterson Lakes Marina is a five-minute drive. Shops, cafes and restaurants are a minute away in Seaford or a few minutes further in Frankston and Patterson Lakes. ●

Landscape architect John Patrick is replicating and restoring local indigenous flora to create a natural coastal and wetlands environment on nearly two-thirds of Orabel’s 9253-square-metre site. Sand dune vegetation will continue into Orabel’s deeply setback frontage, mirroring the Seaford Foreshore Reserve, which is one of Port Phillip Bay’s few remaining substantial strips of rare coastal vegetation. At the rear, Orabel’s 10 to 40-metre creek frontage will restore indigenous vegetation and extend the natural habitat for local fauna. Filtration ponds will filter stormwater prior to its release. ●

Orabel’s facade features timber-grained precast concrete and timber-lined balconies with clear glass balustrades. Windowed walls open up the design and, along with strategic garden enclosures, create natural ventilation, drawing in sea breezes to help regulate building temperature. Generous landscaping will provide visual barriers for bedrooms, living areas and private outdoor spaces. Inside, apartments optimise natural light and views and are carefully planned to maximise space and storage. Timber floors flow through living areas, which also feature timber veneer cabinetry, stone benchtops and glass splashbacks. ●

» orabel.com.au Living area \ 50-135 square metres Outdoor living \ 8-147 square metres Facilities \ Basement parking and storage cages, bike racks, audio-visual intercom Pricing guide \ One-bedroom Two-bedroom

from $379,000 from $420,000

20 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


Amber got this framed for me as a 40th birthday present. This is my late dad (Phil) and me in my first show, Oliver, in Oliver Oliver, in 1972, and it includes a little note from him to me on the back. He was Fagin and I was the Artful Dodger.

(STEPHEN McKENZIE) E)

PHOTO

PERSONAL SPACE

MORE INSPIRATION? SEE MORE OF DAVID’S

A T H O M E W I T H D AV I D H O B S O N

T

ouring frequently as he does, David Hobson finds there’s a real sense of coming home to Glen Iris. “It’s not so much the house itself as the street,” the tenor and composer says. “We know everyone on the street, we have parties, golf days, barbecues. We have thought about moving many times, but how can we leave this street?” When David and his wife Amber bought the solidly reassuring 1930s brick house in 2003, it was in need of light and love. A large indoor-outdoor extension by builder Damian Canny provides the Hobson family with a convivial, airy space. An impressive glass and timber sliding door, which echoes a Japanese shoji screen, gives great flow between the original bungalow and main living area. It often comes into play when David is rehearsing. Is

it to keep sound in or out? “I guess it depends which side of the door you are on,” David says, laughing. ● SARAH HARRIS sharris@theweeklyreview.com.au » Join David and a host of stars for Vision Australia’s Carols Carols by Candlelight Candlelight at  at The Sidney Myer Music Bowl and televised by Channel Nine on Christmas Eve from 8pm. Tickets and donations: carols.visionaustralia.org

SCULPTURE

FOOTY

TEAPOTS

My grandfather Andrew Graham kicked seven goals in his local footy grand final in 1925. I think it was for Auburn Football Club. That was also the year Hawthorn entered the VFL and he was picked to join them.

I am a tea guy. I don’t drink alcohol or coffee. I used to get annoyed when I’d go out and friends would get a marvellous coffee and they’d wave a bag over a cup of hot water for me. It’s getting better; more places are using good quality leaf.

This was a wedding present from the Andrianakis brothers, who owned a studio where David Hirschfelder (fellow musician and composer) worked for about a year and a half. Peter Andrianakis is a sculptor and this is his work.

CHAIR & DOG Milly, illy, one of our two dogs, is very adept at getting into photos and useful for mopping the floor. This chair is one of two Victorian grandmother chairs my wife Amber was given by her mother. Amber used it as a ballet prop when she was a child. It used to be mustard velvet, but she had it recovered. DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 21


IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

MELBOURNE’S BEST

PROPERTIES domain.com.au EDITORIAL SUBMISSIONS PROPERTY ERTY PRODUCER \ ALEAH ESPANTA aleah.espanta@domain.com.au M \ 0435 822 047 ADVERTISING INQUIRIES REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ MATTHEW MAASDIJK matthew.maasdijk@domain.com.au M \ 0417 307 710 The real estate cover story (right) has been visited by a TWR journalist. Agents’ Choices and Out of Town are promotions provided by the selling agent.

DOWNLOAD MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTY APP FIND YOUR NEXT HOME, ANYWHERE, ANY DEVICE 22 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

PURE CLASS ON SCOTCH 20 GLEN STREET, TREET HAWTHORN, 3122 TREET, AGENT Marshall White 9822 9999 PRICE $2.8 million + AUCTION December 17 at 10.30am OFI December 14, 12.30pm; December 17, 10am SCHOOL ZONES + Glenferrie Primary + Auburn High + Scotch College FAST FACTS Five-bedroom, two-bathroom house; formal and informal living areas; contemporary kitchen. see more domain.com.au PROPERTY ID 2013238674

HAWTHORN 9km from Bourke Street


CAMBERWELL \ 5 RANGE STREET

E

xclusive Scotch Hill must be a contender for most liveable precinct in our much-vaunted world’s most liveable city. The riverside pocket of Hawthorn, most readily associated with the elite school that bought its vast Yarra site in 1914, has an aura of affluence, influence, desirability and unshakeable value. It starts with gorgeous streetscapes and landscape: wide tree-lined residential streets, grand heritage houses mixing with modern architecture, sports grounds, Fairview Park and river access. It sits in a transport hub, just above the freeway that takes you to the city or to your Mornington Peninsula beach house. Kooyong station and the bike path are at the bottom of the hill, and trams run north-south as well as east-west through Richmond to the MCG, CBD and Docklands. The easy access to elite schools cements its merit as a family area. This privileged oasis might be shielded from the rough and tumble, but there’s plenty of action on Scotch Hill’s doorstep. In five minutes you can be in a top-end Toorak Village restaurant, boutique shopping at Camberwell Junction, chilling at a boho Swan Street bar, or dropping into Lido Cinemas, a bookshop, or the lunch spot du jour further up Glenferrie Road, an area enlivened by Swinburne University. On the way you will have tripped over more cafes than you could count. Property in Scotch Hill sells itself, an example being this wellbalanced modern house, built in 1993 on a 607-square-metre block with a west-facing back garden. The vendors moved in five years ago with their three sons and now plan to downsize. They renovated the kitchen, powder room and bathrooms, recarpeted, gave the beautiful oak parquetry a richer stain and painted the interior in a neutral palette. No structural work was necessary because the flowing floor plan is one of its assets. For formal occasions, there’s a carpeted living/dining zone to the right of the front door. Being open to the central hall, opposite the study and staircase, it feels connected to the entire house. The living area, under a double-height ceiling, has two pairs of street-side windows plus an arched window to the north, while the dining space is cosier, with a lower ceiling. Timber-tread stairs curve up to the sleeping quarters. The main bedroom, facing tree-lined Glen Street, has a corridor lined with mirror-front wardrobes to an oversized en suite with walk-in shower, dual marble vanity and a modern version of a clawfoot bath under a black lampshade. Four children’s bedrooms share a central TV/study area, bathroom and separate toilet. Double doors can close off their domain to heat or cool it efficiently or to isolate noise. The same premise applies to double doors directly below, separating the formal and casual living zones. An inviting sitting area on the right has a brass-framed fireplace flanked by shelves. The kitchen, on the left of the parquetry-floored family room, was fitted on the footprint of the original two years ago. It has a stainless-steel Falcon stove, DeLonghi wine fridge, walk-in pantry and Silestone island bench. The small meals area has a conservatory air, with a view of the garden and pool through full-height windows. It is the vendor’s favourite spot for afternoon tea. ● JACQUI HAMMERTON property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “AN IMPRESSIVE FAMILY HOUSE ENHANCED BY SUPERB FORMAL & INFORMAL LIVING

AGENT Kay & Burton 8862 8001 PRICE $2.3 million + AUCTION December 14 at 6pm OFI December 14, 5.30pm SCHOOL ZONES + Camberwell South Primary + Camberwell High + Melbourne Grammar see more domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID 2013237209

13km from Bourke Street

4

3

2

WE LOV E IT

AGENT RT Edgar 8888 2000 PRICE $1.9 million + AUCTION December 17, 2.30pm OFI December 15, 1pm; December 17, 2pm SCHOOL ZONES + Birralee Primary + Koonung Secondary College + Genezzano FCJ College see more domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID 2013224076

SCOTCH HILL.” JAMES TOSTEVIN – AGENT 19km from Bourke Street

2

3124

MONT ALBERT NORTH \ 2 W WATSON AVENUE

AREAS, PERFECTLY POSITIONED IN

5

A lagoon-style pool in native gardens makes the backyard of this property feel particularly peaceful. Inside, there’s more space than expected. You’ll find a 600-bottle cellar, study, and the main bedroom with walk-in wardrobe and en suite off the foyer. Living and dining areas form the heart of the house, divided by a half-wall with a fireplace to the dining area. The kitchen has stone surfaces and stainless-steel appliances. Glass doors in the meals area open to the backyard. Out here, you can lounge in the rock-pool spa listening to bird song and imagining the city far away. The upstairs arrangement of bathroom and two bedrooms gives older children privacy. ● KAY KAY KEIGHERY

Modern architecture and earthy finishes combine beautifully here. A decked walkway leads to the front door of the two-storey house. There’s a study and a large lounge. The open-plan hub begins with a kitchen with a 900-millimetre Baumatic oven. Double doors in the meals area reveal a home theatre, and concertina doors merge the interior with the deck. This covered deck has cafe blinds and a built-in barbecue. You can slip into the tiled pool, or loiter on seats in the shallows. A gazebo adds another shaded spot, while a waterfall feature makes for a dramatic backdrop. Video intercom, solar electricity and ducted vacuum are among the inclusions. ● KAY KAY KEIGHERY

3129

4

2

2

2 DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 23


24 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


think results

Blackburn 100 South Parade 9894 1000

woodards.com.au

AUCTION THURSDAY BALWYN NORTH 29A MAUD STREET Art Deco delight! An exciting locale, walking distance to North Balwyn Village shops, 48 tram, local schools and parklands makes this charming 1930s Art Deco semi-detached residence a tantalizing opportunity for owner occupiers and investors. This tastefully modernised and exceptionally well presented home comprises; entrance hallway, high ceilings, two double bedrooms, generously proportioned separate living and dining rooms (open fire place), central family bathroom, separate second toilet, fully equipped kitchen leading to a long northern rear yard. Features: heating, polished floorboards, landscaped gardens and single garage with extra off street parking.

2

1

1

470 (approx.)

VIEW

Wed 1.00 - 2.00pm & Thurs from 6.30pm

AUCTION

Thurs 15th December - 7.00pm

EPR

Please contact Agent

C O N TA C T

Joshua Brinkhuizen 0426 826 994 Maurice Di Marzio 0419 182 276

OFFICE

Balwyn/Hawthorn 9830 7000

hockingstuart.com.au

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 25


AUCTION THIS SATURDAY

341 Riversdale Road Hawthorn East Positioned minutes from the bustling cafes and shopping precinct of Camberwell Junction, this graceful Edwardian exudes yesteryear charm alongside updated amenity, delivering a relaxing low-maintenance lifestyle. The single-level two bedroom plus study/ dining layout affords generous flexibility with zoned living areas for peaceful enjoyment, including leafy north-facing outdoor living and easily accessible secure parking for two cars via a rear ROW. Surrounded by lush parklands and Melbourne’s best schools, with trams at the door and easy convenience to the Monash freeway and CBD. AUCTION Saturday 17th December at 12.30pm (Unless Sold Prior) VIEW Thursday 10.00-10.30am & Saturday from 12.00pm

Rachael Fabbro 0412 547 690 | Glen Coutinho 0409 779 399 | Maria Xu 0411 491 089 rtedgar.com.au 26 The weekly review \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


AUCTION THIS SATURDAY

2 Watson Avenue Mont Albert North Enter a sanctuary of calm and serenity in this luxurious four bedroom plus study home, a tranquil retreat from a busy life. Within walking distance to Koonung Creek, the leisurely lifestyle is further bolstered by utmost convenience to Belmore Height’s shopping village, with easy access to transport, recreation and Melbourne’s best schooling. A transcendent ambiance descends from lush gardens to warm, Balinese-influenced styling across four spacious living zones and sun-drenched outdoor entertaining with heated magnesium pool. Overflowing with lavish amenity and luxurious extras for a relaxed, peaceful lifestyle. AUCTION Saturday 17th December at 2.30pm (Unless Sold Prior) VIEW Thursday 1.00-1.30pm & Saturday from 2.00pm

Eva Gyorodi 0411 850 171 | Glen Coutinho 0409 779 399 rtedgar.com.au

4-6 Tanderra Street Rye 3

1

6

AUCTION VIEWING CONTACT

kayburton.com.au DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 27


24 Alexandra Avenue, Canterbury

24alexandraavenue-canterbury.com Auction Saturday 17th December at 11.30am Inspect Wednesday 11.45-12.15pm & Saturday from 11am 0408 004 766 0412 336 266 0405 054 888

28 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


11 Cromwell Road, South Yarra

11cromwellroad-southyarra.com Auction Sunday 18th December Inspect Wednesday 12-12.30pm & 6-6.30pm & Saturday 10-10.30am 0418 537 973 0414 799 343 0419 883 136

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 29


153 Mont Albert Road, Canterbury

153montalbertroad-canterbury.com Auction Saturday 17th December at 12noon Inspect Wednesday 2-2.30pm & Saturday from 11.30am 0434 588 664 0417 003 333

10 Creswick Street, Hawthorn

10creswickstreet-hawthorn.com Auction Wednesday 14th December at 6.30pm Inspect Wednesday 11-11.30am & from 6pm 0434 588 664 0417 003 333

30 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


20 Glen Street, Hawthorn

20glenstreet-hawthorn.com Auction Saturday 17th December at 10.30am Inspect Wednesday 12.30-1pm & Saturday from 10am 0417 003 333 0434 588 664 0431 713 205

61A Hawksburn Road, South Yarra

61ahawksburnroad-southyarra.com Auction Saturday 17th December at 1.30pm Inspect Wednesday 2-2.30pm & Saturday from 1pm 0412 360 667 0414 701 983 0411 873 913

DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 31


32 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 33


34 The weekly review \ DECEMBER 14, 2016


HAWTHORN EAST 98 VICTORIA ROAD PICTURE THE POTENTIAL 1st time offered in over 60 years on a large 15.85 x 42.67 (676sqm) approx. North-facing allotment, this site is primed to be redeveloped, either to families who want to build the home of their dreams in this superb location or potential for unit development (STCA) A. A)

www.dinglepartners.com.au

2 Auction Inspect

Contact

1

1 This Saturday at 12 noon Thursday 15th December between 12.00-12.30 pm Saturday 17th December prior to Auction from 11.30 am Robert Eggers 0412 329 340

9614 6688 DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 35


The Real Estate Institute of Victoria Ltd

FRANKSTON (OLIVERS HILL)

“Tower House” 10-12 Somme Avenue

WORLD CLASS WATER VIEWS ON MAJESTIC GROUNDS

SPECTACULAR WATER VIEWS & YOUR OWN PRIVATE BEACH 40 beautiful waterfront acres & immaculately presented home with all the luxuries, for under a million dollars! Incl:- off grid power system, polished timber floors, front/rear decks, tree-lined driveway, orchard, chicken coup and a DBL garage + much more. The perfect place to sit back and enjoy the island lifestyle with a glass of local pinot, whilst watching the birdlife, or the boats in the bay.

CENTURY 21 HOME PORT 03 5979 3555 CENTURY21.COM.AU 36 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

E.O.I. CLOSING 31/01/17 VIEW CONTACT AGENT AGENT Phil Bock 0438 497 715 Chris Watt

3a

2b

0417 588 321

2 c

FRENCH ISLAND 65 Fifth Avenue SMARTER. BOLDER. FASTER.

Dramatic sunsets and postcard views are framed at every turn against a magnificent backdrop of this 1920s elegant architectural property. The clean lines of the voluminous open-plan living and dining with sleek streamlined Italian “poliform” kitchen is designed for entertaining with Miele appliances including a coffee machine and butler's pantry with servery windows to the gardens. Four bedrooms and three bathrooms include ground-floor guest accommodation and palatial main bedroom suite with a glassed waterfront retreat with breathtaking views. Approximately 3075 sqm. FOR SALE: Inspect: Inspect By Appointment Price: POA TERRY SPARKS 0425740851

68 Mt Eliza Way Mt Eliza

9787 4411

13261_G9120786AA©MMP www.tjsparks.com.au


DECEMBER 14, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 37


THE HOME DIRECTORY TREE DOCTOR Frank Duke

Total tree care, including reshaping or removals. Third generation owner, 56 years experience. Complete customer satisfaction with individual assessment

BATHROOM RENOVATIONS

BLINDS

Pioneering Bathroom Designs

A/P Shutters & Blinds Highest quality

Melbourne Design Awards 2011 Winner

blinds and Timber Plantation Shutters at

and 2012 Melbourne Design Awards Shortlisted. Let us transform your tired/ outdated bathroom into a modern and innovative design. With over 20 years

Contact: Paul 9509 4768

1213971-LN04-16

CLUTTER RESCUE Total-E-Tailer

Sold your home, renovating or wanting to get rid of unwanted goods? Clean up with my help. Let me help you sell your unwanted goods and turn it into $$$$. We sell used furniture, kitchens, bathrooms and home décor. Contact me to give you a free appraisal. Contact: 0425 329 247.

simonehayman@gmail.com 1142471-PB28-14

KITCHENS Smarter Kitchens

Live in the kitchen you love. Transform the home you love with a complete design, build and project management service. Call Melbourne’s leading Bathroom and Kitchen renovator and your designer will make it easy for you. Get started today. Contact: 1300 662 838.

Showroom 77 Salmon Street, Port Melbourne www.smarterkitchens.com.au

12323958-ACM39-16

GARDEN SERVICES Groundswell Design & Management * Regular garden maintenance * Garden design and plant * Garden clean ups and Renovations Garden management solutions and professional service. Contact: 0433 766 923

www.groundswelldesigns.com.au 1235733-ACM30-16

HOME IMPROVEMENTS Click4Trades

CLEANING SERVICES

Melbourne’s best prices. Specialising in all other window furnishings including Holland Blinds, Sun Screens, Awnings,

experience, we specialise in all aspects of

Venetians, Romans and Curtains.

bathroom renovations. Registered Builder.

Contact: 9818 1133.

Email: sam@pioneeringbathroomdesigns.

www.ap-shutters.com

com.au

Contact Rosita for further details on:

www.pioneeringbathroomdesigns.com.au

in designing quality window coverings for

0434 039 542 or SMS 0404 060 070. E: info@campeones.com.au

the home, office or builders/architects on

www.campeones.com.au

time and within budget. Showroom:

CONCRETING

391 Camberwell Rd, Camberwell, or let us

Concrete Warrior Specialising in exposed aggregate, plain concrete, stencil work, form work and street footing. All concrete work. Fully licenced and insured. Call now for a free quote. Contact: Mazen 0424 430 334.

BATHROOMS Smarter Bathrooms Escape to a beautiful bathroom with a complete design, build and project management from Melbourne’s

come to you.

smartest bathroom renovator. Guaranteed

Contact: 1300 884 838 or 9882 3332.

start and finish dates or we pay you. Call

www.brackenblinds.com.au

now for an award winning interior designer to visit you.

BLINDS & SHUTTERS

COURIER SERVICES

Contact: 1300 662 838

Page Doors & Blinds Roller blinds.

Showroom 77 Salmon Street, Port

Roman blinds. Slim line venetians. Timber

Pack & Send We provide total courier and freight delivery services and complete packaging solutions for customers in and around Hawthorn and Richmond. You can drop off your goods at our Service Centre or we can pick up from your door - it’s your choice. Our freight solutions include domestic, international and domestic deliveries. 469 Riversdale Road, Hawthorn East. Contact: 9813 4522.

Melbourne

plantation shutters. Retractable insect

www.smarterbathrooms.com.au

screens.Customer satisfaction guarantee.

BATHROOMS AND KITCHENS

390 Burke Road Camberwell.

GIA Bathrooms and Kitchens 819A

Call now on 9809 1766.

Nepean Hwy Bentleigh. Specialist

www.pagedoors.com

bathroom design and renovation company,

www.packsend.com.au/hawthorn

providing peace of mind that one company

CAR RENTAL

will manage all aspects of your renovation

Rent-A-Bomb Car Rentals Specialising

process. Complete start to finish service, dates. Call now to book a free in home consultation or visit our website

in new and used car rentals with over 37 years experience. With a large range of new and used cars, we have your rental needs

Contact: 1300 442 736

covered. Contact us on 13 15 63 or

www.giarenovations.com.au

www.rentabomb.com.au

ELECTRICAL SERVICES J.L Hutt Electrical

Specialising in all electrical installations: Extensions/ Refurbishments, Stove/ Oven/Hot Water repair, Switchboard upgrades, House Rewires, TV/Phone/ Data and Safety switches. Free quotes 24 hour service.

PAINTING Matt’s Painting and Decorating

Lic 17824. Contact: Jason 0411 300 772

www.click4trades.com.au

www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au

www.mpainting.com.au 1145289-PB30-14

DECKING Deckseal Revival Pty Ltd Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professionals. Residential and Commercial: Deck sanding, cleaning and sealing. Concrete & paving cleaning and sealing.Delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. Contact: Brian 0410 537 164

www.deckseal.com.au

Personalised, highly efficient and motivated team. Free quotes, prompt service and high quality paint finish. Period to contemporary. Experienced porters paint applicator and specialist in wallpaper hanging. We don’t just paint, we create. Contact: Matt 0418 384 620

1194383-ACM32-15

TO ADVERTISE CONTACT AMANDA ON 5945 0670 38 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 14, 2016

Satisfaction GUARANTEED! We are the champions of cleaning. Affordable, trusted specialists in: commercial, events, residential, carpet, window and pressure cleaning. We will prove ourselves to be a great asset to your company or home. Available 7 days, incl public holidays. Can start immediately. Our hours are based on the most convenient for our dear clients. Late night is fine too! We offer excellent service & attention to detail across Melbourne & surrounding areas.

Bracken Blinds & Shutters Specialises

Need a tradesman? Deal direct with a group of tradies that have worked together for almost twenty years. A complete Home Renovation / Maintenance group that can help with all trades & services, small to large jobs. Contact: 1800 4 TRADES (1800 487 233). Address: 737 Burwood Rd Hawthorn

1224286-RC16-16

Campeones Cleaning Services -

Contact: Sam 0439 115 225

with guaranteed start and finish

selection

SPRING 2016

CLEANING SERVICES Campeones Cleaning Services - Satisfaction GUARANTEED! Trusted specialists in: commercial, events, residential, carpet, window & pressure cleaning. Avail 24 hrs/7 days a wk inc public hols. SPECIAL DISCOUNTS But hurry, October and November only! Call “the champions of cleaning” today & SAVE! Further details call Rosita: 0434 039 542 or SMS 0404 060 070

E: info@campeones.com.au www.campeones.com.au

12324892-CG39-16


THE HOME DIRECTORY ELECTRICAL SERVICES

HANDYMAN

J.L Hutt Electrical Specialising in

Chuck Lau Home Improvements

all electrical installations: Extensions/ Refurbishments, Stove/Oven/Hot Water Repair, Switchboard upgrades, House Rewires, TV/Phone/Data, Safety switches. Free quotes. 24 hour service. Lic 17824.

Handyman, small job specialist, all

Contact: Jason 0411 300 772. www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au

works, minor construction and demolition, kitchen/bathroom refurnish refit works, plaster restoration, tiling, waterproofing. Expert troubleshooting.

TREE CARE

HOME FURNISHINGS Next Home Furnishings Visit our large showroom & discover 1000’s of metres of beautiful fabrics. Purchase by the metre or order in any brand. DIY, custom made window furnishings / cushions, upholstery service. Free measure and quote. 1346 Toorak Road Camberwell

Contact: 9889 2213. www.nextfurnishings.com.au

GARDEN SERVICES

HOME IMPROVEMENTS

Groundswell Gardens Bringing

Click4Trades Need a tradesman? Deal

gardens to life since 1990. Qualified Gardeners providing all aspects of garden maintenance and renovation including hedging, expert pruning, fertilising, soil conditioning and mulching. Garden design and plant knowledge. Customer Satisfaction every time.

direct with a group of tradies that have

All Broken Glass All broken glass 24-7

pride in giving our clients the best level of professional Arboricultural services to meet their needs. We have a holistic approach to the value and care of trees and their addition to the landscape. We are experienced, qualified and insured arborists. Contact us for a free quote. Contact: Russell 0411 257 793.

www.assuredtreecare.com.au facebook.com/assuredtreecare

worked together for almost twenty years. A complete Home Renovation / Maintenance group that can help with all trades & services, small to large jobs.

Contact: 1800 4 TRADES (1800 487 233). Address: 737 Burwood Rd Hawthorn

www.click4trades.com.au

Smarter Kitchens live in the kitchen you love with a complete design, build and

Frank Duke Total tree care, including reshaping or removals. Third-generation owner, 56 years experience. Complete customer satisfaction with individual assessment. Contact: Paul 9509 4768 Malvern Windows Specialists in manufacture, supply and installation of period style timber windows. Additional areas of expertise range from; double glazing, sashcords, rot repair and complete window replacements. Call Brett for a no obligation quote. Contact: Brett Smyk 0409 870 016 Windows 1 We specialise in the supply

Contact: 1300 662 838

and installation of replacement windows and doors – timber, aluminium or PVC. Our staff are fully qualified ensuring quality work. No job too big or too small. Member of MBA and HIA. To replace your old, tired, rotting windows please call us for a free, no obligation measure and quote. Contact: 9703 1530

Contact: Greg on 0414 516 050

www.smarterkitchens.com.au

www.windows1.net.au

Bracken Blinds & Shutters

Bracken Blinds specialises in designing quality window coverings for the home, office or builders/architects on time and within budget. Visit us at our showroom or let us come to you. Contact: 1300 884 838 or (03) 9882 3332 391 Camberwell Road, Camberwell

www.brackenblinds.com.au 1205856-HM46-15

project management from Melbournes smartest kitchen renovator. Guaranteed start and finish dates, or we pay you. Call now. Showroom 77 Salmon Street, Port Melbourne.

WINDOW REPLACEMENTS All Broken Glass

At All Broken Glass we specialise in the replacement of glass in all areas of your home or office. We replace glass in doors, windows and ensure that we are prompt and reliable in our service. Our workmanship is second to none and we endeavour to make sure you the customer is happy with the job. For a free quote. Contact: Greg on 0414 516 050 12331424-ACM47-16

12326608-DJ42-16

BATHROOM RENOVATIONS Pioneering Bathroom Designs

Melbourne Design Awards 2011 Winner and 2012 Melbourne Design Awards Shortlisted. Let us transform your tired/outdated bathroom into a modern and innovative design. With over 20 years experience, we specialise in all aspects of bathroom renovations. Registered Builder. Email: sam@pioneeringbathroomdesigns.com.au Contact: Sam 0439 115 225 www.pioneeringbathroomdesigns.com.au 1187233-KC24-15

CONCRETING Concrete Warrior

Specialising in exposed aggregate, plain concrete, stencil work, form work and street footing. All concrete work. Fully licenced and insured. Call now for a free quote.

WINDOW REPLACEMENTS

specialising in all exterior broken glass replacement in your home. We replace glass in doors, windows and ensure that we are prompt and reliable in our service. Our workmanship is second to none and we endeavour to make sure you the customer is happy with the job. For a free quote.

BLINDS

Visit our large showroom and discover 1000’s of metres of beautiful fabrics.Purchase by the metre or order in any brand. DIY, custom made window furnishings/cushions, upholstery service. Free measure and quote. 1346 Toorak Road, Camberwell Contact: 9889 2213

www.nextfurnishings.com.au

TREE DOCTOR

KITCHENS

GLASS/GLAZING

HOME FURNISHINGS Next Home Furnishings

Assured Tree Care Pty Ltd We take

7.00pm for a quote. Mob: 0417 356 608

Contact: 9885 3949 www.groundswelldesigns.com.au

Timber Plantation Shutters at Melbourne’s best prices guaranteed. Also specialising in all other window furnishings including Awnings and Roller Blinds. Email: info@ap-shutters.com Contact: 9818 1133.

www.ap-shutters.com

Websters Fencing Registered Building

Contact: Les Webster between 7.00am and

A/P Shutters & Blinds Highest quality

carpentry, painting, grouting, accredited

FENCING Practitioner. Building quality timber fences in Stonnington and Boroondara since 1982. Websters Fencing provides a tailored and reliable service, with the experience to ensure quality and longevity of fences. Specialising in boundary fencing, including fences over two metres.

SHUTTERS

maintenance, defects and repairs

Contact: Chuck 0438 702 988

SPRING 2016

WINDOWS Malvern Windows

Specialists in manufacture, supply and installation of period style timber windows. Additional areas of expertise range from; double glazing, sashcords, rot repair and complete window replacements. Call Brett for a no obligation quote. Contact: Brett Smyk 0409 870 016

1200395-HM39-15

TO ADVERTISE CONTACT AMANDA ON 5945 0670

Contact: Mazen 0424 430 334.

1225774-HM18-16

WINDOW REPLACEMENTS Windows 1

We specialise in the supply and installation of replacement windows and doors – timber, aluminium or PVC. Our staff are fully qualified ensuring quality work. No job too big or too small. Member of MBA and HIA. To replace your old, tired, rotting windows please call us for a free, no obligation measure and quote. Contact: 9703 1530

www.windows1.net.au

1199452-LB38-15

SECURITY DOORS Page Security Doors

Steel security doors. Steel window grilles. Porch enclosures. Crimsafe security doors. Crimsafe security screens. Customer satisfaction guarantee. Call now on 9809 1766. 390 Burke Road Camberwell.

www.pagedoors.com 1197733-CG37-15


TIMELESS GREETINGS

The Weekly Review Stonnington & Boroondara  

December 14-20, 2016

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you