Twr stonnington 20140122 iss

Page 1


OUR BIGGEST BEDROOM

SALE

SNOOZE ARMADALE NOW OPEN

ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING ON SALE

SAVE

300^

$

Marrakech

999

$

QS Bed Frame

The new Snooze Armadale is now open. Come in and say hi to the Snooze team and check out our great range of beds and bedroom furniture. Take the opportunity to be profiled on the bedMATCH™ system, exclusive to Snooze, which helps take the guesswork out of buying a bed, and right now, absolutely everything is on sale during Our Biggest Bedroom Sale.

It’s amazing what a little snooze can do. snooze.com.au

Snooze Armadale. 863 High Street, Armadale. Ph 9827 6526 Snooze Hawthorn. 283-285 Burwood Road, Hawthorn. Ph 9819 6373 ^Saving is off the normal ticketed price. Some items require self assembly. Images are for illustrative purposes only and manchester, mattresses, linen and accessories are not included in price. On sale 23rd December 2013 - 2nd February 2014.


What’s on \ SUMMER EDITION

www.theweeklyreview.com.au

General Inquiries \ 9249 5300

FASHION \ Royal Botanic Runway

Editor \ Eileen Berry Deputy Editor \ Jane hutchinson 9249 5231 editorial@theweeklyreview.com.au

Held in Melbourne’s Royal Botanic Gardens, The Royal Botanic Runway offers a premium setting for some of Australia’s best fashion designers to showcase their creations. Collections from Aurelio Costarella, Collette Dinnigan, Martin Grant and Akira Isogawa will be on show in the open air with Guilfoyle’s Volcano and Melbourne’s city skyline providing a picture-perfect backdrop. As well as the fashion, the event will have a strong emphasis on conservation, water management and climate. Proceeds from the event will go towards raising $3.5 million to drought-proof the Royal Botanic Gardens and eliminate the need to irrigate with increasingly valuable drinking water.

writers \ FRANCESCA CARTER \ jo Davy DEPUTY PICTURE EDITOR \ ELIANA SCHOULAL eschoulal@theweeklyreview.com.au Property Editor \ Maria Harris 9249 5358 Sales Manager \ debra meiklejohn dmeiklejohn@mmpgroup.com.au 0418 822 804 chief operating officer & PUBLISHER \ Trent Casson tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au

Stonnington & boroondara Published by Metro Media Publishing Pty Ltd (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 214-220 Park Street, South Melbourne, 3205. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

our cover \ Gelato photographed by Scott McNaughton

SCHOOL HOLIDAY FUN Wonderballz On Ice Medibank Icehouse has your summer school holidays sorted. Suitable for kids aged over 12, Wonderballz On Ice is the new craze. The inflatable bubble suits let you bounce, roll and laugh your way around the rink while playing soccer. Come along and join in the fun every day between 11am and 3pm. The Icehouse also has public skating from 9am every day and Under-8s

Ice Fun, which runs from 9-10am daily. There are toys, games and music, plus snow play areas for children to enjoy a totally different toddler experience. There are also free hockey introductions and free beginner lessons every day of the school holidays at 11am, noon, 1pm and 2pm. You can even learn how to skate backwards. ■ Medibank Icehouse, 105 Pearl River Road, Docklands. Wonderballz on Ice will run until January 27. Prices and further

information available online at www.icehouse.com.au

(SUPPLIED)

DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

(SUPPLIED)

TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 116,000 copies

■ January 30 at 5.30pm. Gates open at 4pm. Guilfoyle’s Volcano, Royal Botanic Gardens, Birdwood Avenue, South Yarra, entrance via Gate D. www.royalbotanicrunway.com. Tickets for the event are available at www.ticketmaster.com.au

Luna Park’s New Summer Attractions If you’re looking for a family day out this summer, consider Luna Park. Having launched three new attractions including the Power Surge, the park has 16 rides. As well as rides and games, this much-loved theme park – which just turned WONDERBALLZ ON ICE

continues » P5

TO ENHANCE YOUR DRIVING PLEASURE MASERATI OFFERS A FIVE-YEAR, WORRY FREE WARRANTY^ FOR A STRICTLY LIMITED TIME.

A L OV E A F FA I R W I T H N O C O N S E Q U E N C E S

Driving a Maserati is an experience that will engage all your senses. Thrilling performance, head turning style and bespoke luxury are now accompanied with the confidence of a factory backed fiveyear warranty.^ Call Zagame Maserati now to arrange a test drive.

THE RANGE: GRANCABRIO SPORT, GRANCABRIO MC, GRANTURISMO SPORT

ZAGAME MASERATI 430 SWAN ST, RICHMOND VIC 3121 PH: 03 9270 7000 A/H: 0407 874 604 ZAG.COM.AU ^5 Year factory backed warranty with unlimited kms available at participating Maserati dealers for new Maserati stock vehicles (excluding MC Stradale, Quattroporte and Ghibli) purchased and delivered by 31 March 2014. While stocks last. Excludes fleet, government and rental buyers. LMCT 9749.

Overseas model shown.

maserati.com.au

JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 3


36 SQUARE METRES OF LUXURY AVAILABLE SOON FROM $436,800*

Artist illustration only.

Guymer Lynnch specialises in: • • • • •

Project homes Custom designed homes Knockdown & rebuild Unit Developments House and Land packages

Talk to us today 9867 3443 Level 10, 492 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Vic 3030 Email: enquiries@guymerlynnch.com.au

*Conditions apply. Talk with us to find out. Guymer Lynnch homes reserves the right to change prices and promotions without notice.

CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION, ENQUIRE NOW. Also currently building in the following suburbs; Ashburton, Box Hill, Brighton, Burwood, Glen Waverley, Mount Waverley & others.







Now selling, premium retirement apartments with exceptional shared spaces and a level of service and support that are second to none. To view our display suite phone 8862 9099. Or visit us online at www.stjosephsmews.com.au. Corner Power & Denham Streets, Hawthorn.



the way of the masters art \ TERESA MURPHY traces the path of Australian art history on Bayside’s coastal trail

12 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

(Gary Medlicott)

M

elburnians living during the time of the Great Depression suffered more than the world’s worst economic downturn. At midnight on November 30, 1934, the city and Gippsland were hit by one of the most ferocious storms in the state’s recorded history. Every suburb was affected and hundreds of boats and yachts were lost around the coastline of Port Phillip Bay. Most tragically, 34 people died and 3000 were left homeless. It was one of the major storm events of the 20th century. Down in Beaumaris, the small bayside suburb nestled between Sandringham and Mentone, a 47-year-old artist headed for the tiny cove near the end of her street. Painting quickly, she captured a boatshed as it was lashed by the still-wild seas, then moved around the cliffs to paint another image of boatsheds virtually submerged in the waters of the bay. Eighty years on, you can still see the footholds of those boatsheds, which like so many around the coast were destroyed in the storm. But thanks to that dedicated Beaumaris artist, their images are preserved for posterity. The artist was Clarice Beckett, who is now acknowledged as one of Australia’s finest interwar painters but was largely ignored in her lifetime – and for decades afterwards. She painted and sketched local scenes in wild weather and mild, at dusk and dawn. And, in the end, it was the weather that killed her: after painting during a winter storm in July 1935, she developed double pneumonia. She died four days later, aged 48.

The Swimmer (1950) \ Jeffrey Wilkinson



profile \ Lexi Cottee hits it off with Cedric Mason, a legend of the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club

14 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014


the lawn ranger

(Scott McNaughton)

O

n the amateur tennis circuit, Cedric Mason coming back because you wouldn’t be invited again.” was known for his craftiness at the net, Long-time friend and multiple grand slam winner nimble footwork and good-humoured Frank Sedgman used to hit with the younger players courtside manner. at Kooyong each week, and recalls Mason as a “I was never very big so I had to rely on science,” “steady player”. he says. “I had to be a bit crafty.” “You could see he was quite talented, but you always But despite his slight build, Mason caught the wanted to give him a good feed,” he says with a laugh. attention of former Davis Cup player, captain and later Mason was offered a scholarship to represent Royal coach Harry Hopman, a legendary figure in Australian South Yarra, and to this day continues to play at the tennis circles for his uncanny knack for scouting the Toorak-based club every Thursday with the same group next crop of young talent. of friends and former teammates of his 20s. “Harry Hopman said to me ‘If you think you’re “We struggle around but it’s still pretty any good, move to Melbourne’.” reasonable,’’ he says. “i was And as any young 18-year-old with enough In 1955, Mason set sail for Europe in a bid never very confidence and vigour for life would do, to make it big. big so i had Mason packed up and headed for the big He played tournaments in the Netherlands, to rely on smoke of Melbourne, a far cry from his the UK, Spain, Belgium, Germany and a string science’’ hometown in Huonville, “a little apple town 23 of other countries, and performed well enough miles south of Hobart”. to earn a spot in that year’s Wimbledon draw. He moved in with the Kennedy family, his tennis “First round singles: out. First round doubles: out. billet in Croydon, and began training daily with Mixed doubles: got through two rounds. That was it. Hopman’s small group of carefully selected players – Got through two rounds of mixed doubles, that was including the likes of Tony Roche and Neale Fraser – at huge, because I played with a good partner, Pat Hird; the Lawn Tennis Association of Victoria, now known as she played Wightman Cup for England [the women’s the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club. equivalent of the Davis Cup].” “It was up to you to prove yourself but it was under “When you look back on it now and think ‘Crikey I his guidance,” he says. played there’, it wasn’t a bad effort,” he says. “It was regimented; if you weren’t there at four o’clock But a particularly severe bought of glandular fever put with clean shoes, all in white, don’t worry about an end to a successful year overseas. He was forced to

take the boat back home, rest for six months under his doctor’s instructions and start earning a living. He quickly found a job at sport equipment manufacturer Slazenger, where he was charged with looking after the top players on their books. “We used to employ the players so they had a bit of time to go and play. We’d give them their equipment, which they didn’t have to pay for, and that’s the way they were able to improve because there were no costs.” When the Lawn Tennis Association of Victoria decided to change direction and remould itself into a tennis club rather than an administrative governing body, they asked Mason whether he’d be interested in steering the ship. He accepted the offer and has been the prestigious club’s tennis manager ever since. During his time there, he has introduced Kooyong’s own pennant competition team, mid-week ladies tennis, after-work inter-club social tennis and junior teams. And despite nearly 30 years of working for the club – 55 years since he first played on the grass courts under Hopman’s close watch – he plans to stick around a while longer. “I think I can continue to contribute. I’ve got a fair amount of experience behind me and we’ve got an excellent team to work with in the tennis department, which makes life pretty enjoyable, and it’s a good place to turn up to each day.” \ lcottee@theweeklyreview.com.au

JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 15



Academy in Brunswick. There she will draw on her “You have to run people, you have to create something experience working as an assistant director with for an audience. In film you have to think about sound producer Claude Lelouch, “who is like the Woody Allen and rhythm and colour and characters and story; of France”, and with actors Gérard Depardieu, Omar in food you have to think about tastes, colours, the Sy and François Cluzet (The Intouchables), Virginie audience, texture and it’s sort of a story when you write Ledoyen (the French actor in Danny Boyle’s The Beach) up your menu – and you have to have some idea of and Lou Doillon (Jane Birkin’s daughter). where it comes from.” While McLeod’s television, web and commercial We leave the café and walk around the corner to Saya projects are mostly humorous, her feature films are post-production house where McLeod is finishing Le serious dramas. Her Australian project is an adaptation Deuxime Sexe (The Second Sex), a comedy drama series, of an Alex Miller novel; her French one, due for release selected for France’s prestigious La Rochelle fiction in 2015, is a fiction co-written with colleague Julie television festival. She turns on the Australian charm Grumbach. “What’s important to me is talking about that works in an instant, gets the editor smiling and communication and the relationship between human secures us an editing suite to calmly finish the interview. beings, in whatever form,” says McLeod. “It can It’s this cheeky, genuine warmth and daring that be dramatic, it can be comedy, it can be action, got McLeod into the industry and has helped but what happens between people is what is her climb the ladder. “life is in important to me no matter what genre. And After graduating from Paris VIII, she was the street, also looking at a human being from more scrolling through a film industry magazine on the than one angle. It’s understanding that we’re when she saw that Australian director terraces” all made up of layers and contradictions.” Samantha Lang would be shooting a film So is there anything she misses about called The Idol. McLeod called the French Melbourne? “There’s so much space, and it smells production house and obtained the number of fantastic. Summer heat, birdsong ... breakfast! You can’t the producer, then claimed she’d heard the director get breakfast in Paris like in Melbourne. Absolutely not. wanted to meet her. Minutes later she was confessing And just walking down the street and people smile at the truth to her compatriot, and landing a job as Lang’s you. It’s just so lovely. That doesn’t happen in Paris – third assistant director. “It was an incredible experience. those Parisians, they’re scary buggers.” \ I learnt so much and had a great time,’’ McLeod says. “I editorial@theweeklyreview.com.au decided that I needed to work more with actors.” McLeod had long decided she didn’t want to act » www.elisemcleod.com “because you had to wait around all the time and you » Elise McLeod will lead an acting workshop at had to wait for people to tell you if you had roles or The Australian Film and Television Academy in not”. But she enrolled in acting classes “to understand Brunswick on February 8. Details at www.tafta. what actors went through”. She was soon employed as a com.au or phone 0477 006 941 after January 26. teacher and is now one of the most sought-after acting coaches in Paris. Back in Melbourne this summer, working on the We Welcome your feedback @ final stages of a feature film script, she also will host an www.theweeklyreview.com.au/cover-story acting workshop at the Australian Film and Television

3 1 20 ER IA NN H I W

Call us today for an obligation free design consultation that is guaranteed to impress

We Listen. We Design. We Build

(03) 9882 5255 MMP10313-06-a22Nov©FCNVIC

www.periodextensions.com.au

WINNER 2013 HIA AWARds JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 17


Hops to it craft beer \ Artisanal brewers have elevated the humble cold one. Lisa Higginson samples some of the best

(Scott McNaughton – Let Me Be Frank Cafe, South Melbourne)

B

eer is synonymous with summer in Australia. Enjoying a “coldie” or two during these sun-kissed months is a custom the country has delighted in for generations. But while this hop and sweaty (get it?) love affair has been carrying on unashamedly, changes have been brewing. Beer is no longer just an insipid antidote to summer’s heat, thrown down parched throats without a thought for flavour, style or substance. It is now a craft – and Australia’s brewers are proving themselves as some of the best craftspeople in the world. The craft beer movement champions the fusion of ancient technique, pure ingredients and modern thinking. Born out of a passion for this most humble of beverages, the industry has grown exponentially in recent years, with Australia now home to around 200 craft breweries. It is hard not to notice the increasing presence of craft beer in Melbourne, with more bars tapping native brews and bottle shops boosting their offerings. The city and its suburbs are also home to bars dedicated to the craft, where the emphasis is on gently encouraging punters to embrace this beer renaissance. From brewing with exotic ingredients to ageing beer in bourbon barrels and pushing boundaries on the International Bittering Unit (IBU) scale, Australia’s impassioned craft beer posse is raising the bar for the

rest of the world, while staying true to the roots of quality beer. For those who haven’t done so already, summer is an ideal time of year to become acquainted with the country’s craft beer scene. As with many artisanal products, seasonality plays a big part in shaping what styles of craft beer are available at what time of year. And with summer comes an influx of the generally lighter, fresh-tasting styles such as hefeweizens, sours, saisons, pilsners and lagers. So to kick off what will hopefully be another big year for craft beer, here is my pick of some of the best Australian and New Zealand brews to enjoy this summer: Mornington Peninsula Brewery (VIC) Sorachi Kolsch \ 5.2%

Brewed using the Sorachi Ace hop, this crisp speciality beer is as balanced as they come. With hints of lemongrass on the palate, a light body and a smooth finish, it is a stellar summery style of kolsch that is as appealing as the coastline along which it is brewed. Two Metre Tall (TAS) Derwent Aromatic Spelt Ale \ 5.1%

Named after the Derwent River region, where the brewery has made its home, this is a truly accomplished

STOCKTAKE TIME

50%

! e l a s e r o m r o

an count it! th it r a le c r e th ra We’d

House of Persia Decorative Art For The Floor

Specialising in Hand Woven Carpets & Textiles since 1989

575 Victoria St, Richmond (Melway 44-G7) Ph: 9421 2916 787 High St, Armadale (Melway 58-J7) Ph: 9509 4688 ~ Open everyday 10am to 5pm ~

www.houseofpersia.com.au 18 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

Melbourne’s Largest Selection All Quality...All affordable







Peter Siddle & Anna Weatherlake

SHURA TAFT

MICHAEL & LINDY KLIM

24 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

(courtesy of JeeP)

2014 JEEP PORTSEA POLO \ JANUARY 11 The dress code said summer casual, and for most at the 14th Annual Jeep Portsea Polo it was just that. Solid blocks of bright yellow, blue, red and pink stood out – and that was just the men. They shone in rolled up chinos, slimline red pants, bright gingham shirts with contrasting bow ties and tailored jackets with shorts. Shane Warne was an exception, dressed head to toe in black. Among the women, white was a winner – from long, flowing maxi dresses to hip-hugging outfits and off-the-shoulder numbers. Fluoro orange also made an appearance, as did colourful playsuits. Footwear ranged from boat shoes to wedges, thongs and sensible leopard-skin-print flats. The Portsea Polo has sealed its spot in the summer social calendar as the place to be and to be seen. The Jeep Grille had beach-themed decor, with shaded

areas and plenty of lounges to relax and sip Pimm’s or a glass of champagne. MasterChef’s Matt Preston designed a lunch menu that was perfect for the warm day. The food included chicken sandwiches, rice paper rolls, hearty meat and salad rolls, and prawn cocktails with lettuce served in jars. Preston started the day in vivid green before popping up in a gingham shirt and rolling up his sleeves to help serve the hungry masses. Among the guests in the Jeep Grille were Shane Warne, Harry Kewell and Sheree Murphy, Peter Siddle and Anna Weatherlake, Lindy and Michael Klim, Pia Miller, The Real Housewives of Melbourne’s Gina Liano and Janet Roach, Nick Bracks, Jarryd Roughead, Brynne Edelsten, Georgia Sinclair and Gary Sweet. Even without a place in a marquee, onlookers got close to the action by setting up tables and chairs under the tea trees to watch the spectacle as the hooves flew past. \ Maria Harris




(Dave Goudie)

Monica Clarke

Helen O’Connor

NATALIE HUNTER

Harry KEWELL & Sheree MURPHY

Brynne Edelsten

Bib Stillwell BMW

THE BMW SUMMER SALES DRIVE.

Sales Finance Service Parts

5 YEARS/80,000kms 00k FR FREE REE SCHEDULED SERVICING SERVICIN ERVICIN NG* ACROSS THE BMW RANGE AT BIB STILLWELL BMW. ��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� ������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� �����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������

MAKE IT A SUMMER TO REMEMBER IN YOUR ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE. Bib Stillwell BMW 145 Williams Road, South Yarra. (03) 9521 2121. bibstillwell.com.au LMCT 7674 *Offer applies at Bib Stillwell BMW while stocks last to new and demonstrator vehicles ordered and delivered �������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� ������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� an authorised BMW dealer. Consult Bib Stillwell BMW for further details.

JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 27




interview

high Peter Wilmoth meets soPrano Deborah Cheetham

Picture \ julian kingma


A

s a soprano, Deborah Cheetham is a strong voice on stage. But today it’s her sonorous speaking voice that transports us to a chapter in history we have to remind ourselves isn’t that long ago. We’re in a Southbank café. I had suspected Cheetham was going to be interesting – anyone who writes a play called White Baptist Abba Fan can’t miss – but I’m not sure I was quite prepared for the sadness, the courage and the redemptive power of her story. “I am eternally grateful that I was born with the ability to express myself through music because I had a platform I could work through some of this, a cathartic process figuring out who you are and how you came to be,” she says. “Without that voice, without music, how would I have found my way?”

abandoned but you’re not living that sense of abandonment. It doesn’t really hit home until much later on.” When it did hit home, it hit hard. “In 1985 I was in a play in Canberra. I came out on stage one night and I had to play this scene very close to the front row of the audience, and I looked into the audience and looking back at me was a woman who could have been my identical twin. “It was like a jolt. We met after the play and she had recognised that we had this incredible similarity in our features. And we managed to work out that we were related. The one piece of information my adoptive parents gave me when I was growing up was that I was the niece of Jimmy Little. My mother was his younger sister. “I’d never wielded that piece of information in my whole life.

notes At 49, Cheetham is Australia’s best-known indigenous opera singer. Since making her international debut in 1997, she has performed in concert halls across Europe, the United States, Britain and Australia. She is an outspoken voice on indigenous issues and gay marriage, a respected academic (she is head of the Wilin Centre at the faculty of the Victorian College of the Arts and the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, and associate head of indigenous development) and in 2010 wrote and created Australia’s first indigenous opera, Pecan Summer. Now she is using her profile to promote next month’s Melbourne Indigenous Arts Festival, as an ambassador. It’s been a long journey to find her place in the world. Cheetham was just three weeks old when she was adopted in 1964 and she grew up in Sydney’s southern suburbs with two other adopted non-Aboriginal siblings. “My adoptive parents were good people,” she says. “They had been told that I’d been abandoned by my Aboriginal mother and they believed that. They were told that by a church authority and, being quite religious themselves, they never questioned that authority. “In time they said, ‘You were abandoned by your Aboriginal mother and we adopted you and essentially we’ve rescued you from your Aboriginality, from being abandoned, from a life that would have been much less than it is with us’. This was a message that was constantly fed to me.” Her adoptive parents, she says, were very generous and “no more dysfunctional than any other parents”. They were church-going Baptists and Cheetham’s earliest memory is of leaning up against her mum in church and hearing her voice. Her father, a baker, and mother, who looked after the children, seldom listened to music, but Cheetham fell in love with singing in church and adored pop music. “I can’t ever remember a time when I wasn’t singing. It was my way of communicating anything.” Cheetham grew up with no connection to her Aboriginal heritage. “I grew up in a world where Aboriginal Australia was completely absent,” she says. It was a scenario she says her parents did nothing to change. Throughout her youth she believed what her parents told her. Her life began with “this falsehood, this lie that I was abandoned”. “As a small child you can’t really comprehend what being abandoned means, particularly when you’re in a family who love you, who take good care of you, provide every opportunity in life for you,” she says. “You’ve been told you’ve been

“as a small child you can’t really comprehend what being abandoned means” I knew Jimmy was a famous Aboriginal man. I never allowed myself to think that he was actual family. He was uncle Jimmy. Any friend of the family was called uncle this or aunty that.” Cheetham said to the woman: “Jimmy’s my uncle.” And the woman said: “We’re cousins and I know your mother. Do you want to meet her?” And that was the breakthrough. Meeting her birth-mother, Monica, in 1985 and then, a decade later, hearing the truth about her adoption, was confronting and confusing for Cheetham. “My adoptive parents had worked really hard to educate me out of being Aboriginal because they saw Aboriginality as less than … something quite negative. My adoptive mother would say, ‘You’re really quite fair; you don’t look that Aboriginal’, implying ‘You could get away with not being Aboriginal if you just try hard enough’. “My parents didn’t see the true value of this unique culture – the longest continuing culture in the world – that wasn’t celebrated in the ’60s and ’70s and when they were growing up in the ’40s and ’50s. They knew hardly anything about it.” Cheetham and Monica slowly developed a relationship, often singing together. But it was to be another 10 years before Cheetham found out what actually happened. “For a decade we tried to find our way,” she says. “And then finally Monica felt that she had to tell the truth.” That truth came in the form of a letter in 1995, in which Monica described how Deborah had been taken from her at three weeks of age, and that Monica had begged the authorities to tell her where they had sent her. For Cheetham it was a defining moment. “In 1964 Monica was a young Aboriginal woman (aged 19). My biological father, her husband, had left her. She had no rights, no one to protect her, no one to stand up for her. The referendum [in 1967] was still a couple of years away. “As an Aboriginal child, especially one with one Aboriginal parent and one non-Aboriginal parent, I could be taken and sent wherever they wanted to send me and my mother had no rights. She was living in an orphanage run by the Salvation

Army.” After giving birth to Deborah, Monica earned some money by picking beans. “She came back after a week and I was gone. In the letter my mother said she’d searched for me. She’d searched for two years and she finally found where they had taken me. “She made her way to Oatley (from Nowra on the NSW south coast), found the home of my adoptive parents. She came to plead with them, could she at least see me, to see how I was getting on. Obviously her deepest desire was to get me back. But she didn’t get any chance to explain any of that because as soon as my adoptive mother saw her approaching the house she got straight on the phone and called the police. The police came and they quite literally dragged Monica away. “I was conflicted. I had a complete breakdown. I was in the middle of a crisis of identity because I’d had this decade of knowing Monica, of trying to see myself in this Aboriginal family and not really understanding what that was.” Cheetham was angry that she hadn’t been told the truth. “I wasn‘t sure at that time how to direct that sense of loss. And I think this is true of so many of the Stolen Generations. Many children that were taken never met their families. “I was fortunate.”

C

heetham wrote a play about her experiences called White Baptist Abba Fan, which premiered in 1997 at the Sydney Opera House. “It really defined that period of my life, of coming to the realisation that I’d been taken, not abandoned, and someone had loved me and not wanted to give me up.” In the play, Monica’s voice can be heard reading the letter. Monica died in 2000. With the confusion and pain of her life story being revealed, music provided a constant comfort for Cheetham. “I think music is so deeply embedded in my identity … I was born with this ability. It’s my way of being in the world.” She toured White Baptist Abba Fan on and off for five years before travelling to Melbourne in 2006 to take up a six-month position at the Victorian College of the Arts. Seven years later she is still here. “I absolutely fell in love with everything about Melbourne. The arts scene, the connectedness, the way Melbourne knows itself. An artist can really find themselves in a city like Melbourne. And I found myself.” Cheetham saw her first opera as a teenager at the Sydney Opera House in 1979 and fell in love. “I thought, ‘This is what I want to do’. She studied at the New South Wales Conservatorium of Music. Her adoptive mother, Marjorie, who died in 2000 aged 78, struggled with her daughter’s very public connection with her Aboriginal mother. “She felt it very deeply,” says Cheetham. “In a way she felt I had abandoned her but how could I have done that? If you ask any adoptive mother this is a question they are constantly considering – ‘I raised this child as our own but there’s another mother out there’.” Her father, Mervyn, who died in 2003 aged 79, was more sanguine. “He could see that he hadn’t lost anything and that the family was as we always were.” In 2009 Cheetham started the Short Black Opera Company, a national non-profit opera company devoted to the development of indigenous opera singers. Her latest project is Til The Black Lady Sings, a recital that tells the story of how the opera company came into being. Accompanying her in the recital will be pianist Toni Lalich, who is Cheetham’s partner in life. They met in 2006 soon after Cheetham arrived in Melbourne. “We were sharing an office and I thought ‘This is it’,” recalls Cheetham. “I knew straight away’.” The couple live in inner Melbourne with one of Cheetham’s three stepchildren from a previous relationship. She is a strong advocate for gay marriage, but she recognises her good luck. “For a soprano to form a relationship with an accompanist is a very fortunate thing,” she says with a smile. \ pwilmoth@theweeklyreview.com.au We Welcome your feedback @

www.theweeklyreview.com.au/interviews

stage » Til the Black Lady Sings is the opening show at the Melbourne Indigenous Arts Festival. Melbourne Recital Centre, February 5, 7.30pm. » www.melbournerecital.com.au/ JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 31


W O N

N E OP

New

Bentleigh

show home

The Bentleigh 41 – 5 Buckingham Avenue, Bentleigh 41 square family home, 5 bedrooms all with ensuites, 2 living areas, powder room, alfresco dining area, refrigerated air-conditioning, 9' ceilings to ground floor, LED lights throughout, Bolero laminate floating floor, stone bench tops throughout, fully rendered exterior, double-glazed windows to bedrooms and living areas and much more.

Show homes available for viewing…

Bentleigh 45

Bentleigh 41

45 squares 86 East Boundary Road, Bentleigh East

41 squares 5 Buckingham Avenue, Bentleigh

48 squares 35 Comer Street, Brighton East

44 squares 19 Northern Avenue, Brighton East

$437,541*

$484,060*

$557,617*

$481,394*

NEW

Brighton 48

NEW

Brighton 44

NEW

Open Saturday & Sunday 1pm–4pm and Wednesday evenings 7pm–9pm or by appointment.

Call Frank Graffeo on 1300 244 663

cartergrange.com.au

Our plans, your plans or anywhere in between

* Home price excludes inground costs and colour & electrical upgrades. Carter Grange Homes reserves the right to change prices without notice. Images are for illustration purposes only and may depict fixtures, finishes and features not supplied by Carter Grange Homes such as landscaping and furniture. Prices do not include the supply of these items. For detailed home pricing please talk to a sales consultant.




JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 35


CURLEWIS \ 1030 PORTARLINGTON ROAD Taking in serene bay views and filled with European grandeur, this restored Bellarine Peninsula church is set on 8100 square metres. The 150-year-old St Francis Xavier Catholic Church of Curlewis has been transformed into a modern, architectural beauty. The residence centres on the expansive, enclosed Tuscan courtyard with a majestic bronze fountain and lily pond. Inside, original articles including stained-glass windows, doors and murals have been restored and maintained in a nod to the property’s hallowed history. The left wing of the house is the original church hall, converted into a magnificent open-plan kitchen, living and dining area. The French provincial kitchen has a butler’s pantry, Miele appliances and an island bench made of the church’s original marble altar. The new extension in the right wing complements the original structure seamlessly with soaring ceilings, a sculptural spiral staircase and arched doorways. On the ground level are two bedrooms including the main bedroom, a bathroom, and two living areas. The main living area has floor-to-ceiling windows that frame spectacular bay views. Upstairs are the two remaining bedrooms, a sitting area, concealed study and another bathroom. At night, the entire property is brought to life with an elaborate lighting design that illuminates the gardens, fountain and bell tower. \ TIFFANY PILCHER

postcode

3222

4

3

4

we love it

RT Edgar \ 5254 1688

Price \ $3.5 million + Expressions of interest \ Closing February 7 at 5pm

PORTSEA \ 10 TRANQUILITY COURT

agents’ cho i ce POSTCODE

3122

RT Edgar \ 5984 4500

Kay & Burton Hawthorn 9820 1111 3

3

2

POSTCODE

3008

RT Edgar Albert Park 9699 7222 5

3

5

16 Muir Street, Hawthorn ................................................................. Price: $2.5 Million + ................................................................. Auction Saturday March 1 at 3pm ................................................................. OFI As advertised .................................................................

48 South Wharf Drive, Docklands ................................................................. Price: $5 million ................................................................. For sale ................................................................. OFI By appointment .................................................................

Stunning modern three-level townhouse designed by Honeyman + Smith, with lift and city views.

In a class of its own, this free-standing residence on absolute Yarra frontage, complete with mooring, offers a rare standard of living moments from the CBD.

Let's eat lunch @ Ellery & Co, 46 Little Church Street Let's eat dinner @ Rococo, 797 Glenferrie Road Let's drink coffee @ Axil Coffee Roasters, 322 Burwood Road

Let's eat lunch @ Hooks, 50 Lorimer Street Let's eat dinner @ Bistro Vite, 90 Lorimer Street Let's drink coffee @ Mad Duck Café, 90 Lorimer Street

Price \ $3.5 million + Auction \ January 25 at 2pm

Indoor-outdoor entertaining is a key feature at this luxurious architect-designed house that overlooks the 10th fairway of the Sorrento Golf Course. The house, with its golden sand-coloured rendered exterior, is built around a courtyard. It can accommodate two families with ease, yet there is never any sense of getting lost in the cavernous rooms – the architect got the spaces and the movement of people right. Louvre windows also ensure appropriate flow of air. This is a house to kick back and relax in all year round. The kitchen has two pantries, three dishwashers and living and dining areas on both sides. Glass sliding doors lead to a glazed, roofed indoor-outdoor entertainment space that overlooks the tennis court and swimming pool and would be the heart of the house in summer. The main bedroom, and en suite with double shower and dual vanity, is at one end of the living zone. Three bedrooms with their own en suites and a large laundry are in another wing, while a big bedroom/living room and bathroom downstairs are a huge bonus. \ MARIA HARRIS

postcode

3944

5

5

2

36 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014


PORTSEA \ 14 CHEVIOT ROAD A savvy designer and serial renovator has taken this Portsea house on a premium site and transformed it. Dreamweaver, as the name suggests, is a place to dream big – and that is what the owner-developer did. To be sure, the position was fantastic: north-facing with views over the landscape so that you could be forgiven for thinking that there were only another five or six houses in Portsea. Today the house has all the bells and whistles, a family-friendly floor plan and top-of-the-range finishes. Glass, timber, Calacatta marble, outdoor kitchen and home theatre, multiple entertainment areas – this place has it all. Visitors arrive through landscaped gardens where seaside plantings create waves of subdued colour. The mod-grass tennis court and swimming pool are tantalisingly close, but inside awaits the enormous open-plan living and dining room. The kitchen includes a suite of Gaggenau appliances including four ovens, induction hotplate and teppanyaki grill. A sheltered timber deck off the meals area has its own cooking section for smaller-scale entertaining. Another living room opens to the front deck. Automatic glass doors connect to a side deck that overlooks the in-ground trampoline, swimming pool and cabana. On the first floor, a home theatre and study are off the wide hall. Each of the carpeted bedrooms has its own large en suite. \ MARIA HARRIS

postcode

3944

5

5

2

Kay & Burton \ 5984 4744

Price \ About $3.5 million

Auction \ January 25 at noon

RED HILL \ 50 SHEEHANS ROAD POSTCODE

3104

Fletchers 9859 9561 5

5

POSTCODE

2

52 Walnut Road, Balwyn North ................................................................. Price: $2.075 million ................................................................. For sale ................................................................. OFI As advertised or by arrangement .................................................................

3122

RT Edgar Toorak 9826 1000 2

2

1

121 Riversdale Road, Hawthorn ................................................................. Price: $630,000 + ................................................................. For sale ................................................................. OFI By appointment .................................................................

Paton Estate Agents \ 5931 4333

Price \ $2 million +

Expressions of interest

It’s where the country meets the bay and then some. For starters you have a solid 11-room brick family house with gallery, conservatory and two large living areas. Then there are huge north-facing views to Port Phillip Bay and the You Yangs. This 3.6-hectare property with three paddocks, dam, large storage and machinery area is in one of Red Hill’s most secluded (and prestigious) streets. Add to that an established garden, tennis court, french doors to an outdoor entertainment area – and the views – and the picture is complete. The house, built about 30 years ago over three levels, retains exposed brick walls and high ceilings with timber trusses and beams. One wing has a galley kitchen overlooking the spacious living/dining room with open fireplace and french doors that lead to a covered patio. Three bedrooms, a bathroom and laundry are off the north-facing conservatory that has an enormous games room at the end. The main bedroom, with en suite and sunken bath, is on the upper level. A bunk room and another bathroom add to the spread. \ MARIA HARRIS

postcode

Enjoy a contemporary family lifestyle against a backdrop of sweeping mountain views from this outstanding new fivebedroom home.

Luxuriously appointed, architect-designed apartments to be built to the highest of standards, within walking distance of Glenferrie Road shops and cafes.

Let's eat lunch @ Cafe Filiz, 186 Belmore Road Let's eat dinner @ Domenic's, 335 Balwyn Road Let's drink coffee @ Caffe Romeo, 319 Doncaster Road

Let's eat lunch @ Porgie & Mr Jones, 291 Auburn Road Let's eat dinner @ Lulo, 798 Glenferrie Road Let's drink coffee @ Sasa's Cafe, 173 Riversdale Road

3937

5

3

2 JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 37


38 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014


JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 39


40 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014


PORTSEA

28 Latham Drive

A Tale of Two Seas. Serenely set among classic seaside gardens in this highly-prized pocket of Portsea just a stone´s throw from the surf, this architect-designed house captures both bay and ocean views, all on a 780 sqm (approx) allotment. Well-suited to both holiday or permanent living, experience the tranquility as you drift off to sleep to the soothing sounds of waves tumbling onto the shore. Features bright open-plan living, four bedrooms, two bathrooms, open fireplace, split-system heating/cooling, ducted vacuum, security system and remote double garage.

PORTSEA

Saturday 25th January at 12.00pm (Unless Sold Prior) Wednesday 12.00-12.30pm and Sat from 11.30am Lloyd Robinson 0414 441 880 Ilze Moran 0439 840 550 3743 Point Nepean Road, Portsea 5984 4500 rtedgar.com.au

68 Hemston Avenue

CRUFFEL - Set high on the hill on 5,000 square metres this 2 level residence has 280 degree spectacular views over Hemston Lake, Port Phillip Bay, Portsea township, Sorrento Golf Course to Arthurs Seat and Mount Martha. This home of generous proportions is divided into zoned wings each with a garden aspect. Comprising of 4 bedrooms all with ensuites, central kitchen, lounge, dining and entertaining areas opening to extensive decking from which to enjoy the view. Large rumpus room, storage, work shop and double garage. There are many features to this private and secluded unique property, including pool, spa and tennis court, and close proximity to Shelley beach.

Sunday 26th January at 2.00pm (Unless Sold Prior) Wednesday & Saturday 1.00-1.30pm, Sun from 1.30pm Warwick Anderson 0418 320 873 Ilze Moran 0439 840 550 3743 Point Nepean Road, Portsea 5984 4500 rtedgar.com.au

JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 41


PORTSEA

3737 Point Nepean Road

An exceptional property, private and secure in the very heart of Portsea. Surrounded by lush gardens, this contemporary home offers an ideal weekend escape or permanent home. And with the possibility of glittering bay views from a 1st floor addition (S.T.C.A.) this property affords significant growth potential as well. Comprising; 4 bedrooms, master with ensuite and walk in robe (includes separate guest quarters with bathroom and kitchenette). A very large (8m x 10m) lounge with open fire place, 2nd living area, sun catching deck with pool and spa plus a double garage. This is an outstanding opportunity to own property in this tightly held pocket of Portsea. Land size 982m2 (approx).

PORTSEA

Sunday 26th January at 3.30pm (Unless Sold Prior) Wed & Sat 3.00-3.30pm, Sun from 3.00pm Lloyd Robinson 0414 441 880 Ilze Moran 0439 840 550 3743 Point Nepean Road, Portsea 5984 4500 rtedgar.com.au

57 Elizabeth Road

Au Naturale Lifestyle. Set amongst approx. 3000 square metres of natural vegetation this home is a combination of recycled timbers, hand made hawthorn bricks and Daniel Robertson tiles, all of which combine to offer wonderful history and a relaxed style to this well maintained property. An open plan, seamlessly blends the kitchen, living and dining areas with the outdoors. Recycled sleeper steps lead down to a N/S mod-grass tennis court. 3 bedrooms including master with ensuite, separate laundry, family bathroom and double carport. For those who really do want the complete getaway, peace and tranquility by the sea - THIS IS IT. 42 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

Sunday 26th January @ 5.00pm (Unless Sold Prior) Wed, Sat 3-3.30pm & Sun from 4.30pm Ilze Moran 0439 840 550 Lloyd Robinson 0414 441 880 3743 Point Nepean Road, Portsea 5984 4500 rtedgar.com.au


A4 | B3 | C2

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Contact: Tim Derham 0438 332 844 Office 9864 5300 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Auction: Saturday 25th January at 11.30am (if not sold prior) ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------View: Inspect by appointment & Saturday from 11.00am ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------24/7 View: abercrombys.com.au

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

| 400 Arthurs Seat Road

FROGSPOND - Uniquely Successful, Unmissable Opportunity

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A premium and very private Peninsula property of 8 gently sloping acres (approx.) with magical views over Port Phillip Bay, the CBD, Mount Martha, the Dandenongs to Western Port. Rated as a primary producer, the residence offers light filled rooms with full width terrace taking in the spectacular views from inviting living spaces, 4 bedrooms, cellar door, great storage, garaging and spring fed dam. The elevated northern slopes offer abundant sunlight, cooling breezes and excellent drainage to the premium (5 acres approx.) pinot and chardonnay vineyard.

abercrombys.com.au JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 43


3023 Point Nepean Road Sorrento

AUCTION Saturday 25th January at 11am

7 Welbeck Avenue Portsea

AUCTION Saturday 25th January at 1pm 44 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

“Barramunga” Perfectly positioned well maintained classic two storied period home. Set back on private drive off Point Nepean Road with wide upstairs views of Camerons Bight and towards Koonya back beach. Six bedrooms, separate lounge room, dining room and sunroom. Front and rear private verandahs. ¾ acre of established garden with two garages and boathouse and room for N/S tennis court or possible subdivision. Testament to time and reminder of early days where quality of life and appreciation of surroundings came first. Land size 3474 sqm approximately. VIEW Wednesday 11 - 11.30am, Saturday 10.30 - 11am

On the Sorrento Golf Course and opposite Point King Beach This easy going holiday home welcomes sun, bathing suits, golf clubs and long afternoon naps. With access gate for Members to the Sorrento Golf Club and an oversized sun deck overlooking the borrowed fairways, the four bedroom, two bathroom home has been beautifully renovated over time with modern fixtures and fittings and styled with a flowing practical floor plan. Walk across the road to Point King Beach. VIEW Wednesday 2 - 2.30pm, Saturday 12.30 - 1pm

CALL Liz Jensen David Heathcote

0418 446 228 0427 297 539

kayburton.com.au

CALL David Heathcote Liz Jensen

0427 297 539 0418 446 228

kayburton.com.au


71 Blair Court Portsea

AUCTION Sunday 26th January at 1pm

5 Nairana Court Portsea

AUCTION Sunday 26th January at 11am

‘Lucient’ With perfect northern orientation, award winning Architect, Peter Carmichael of Cocks Carmichael has excelled with quality and attention to detail to create this exquisite home showcasing every conceivable luxury amenity. Family living, entertaining, retreating, its all adaptive. Sophisticated planning, provides a showstopping recreation mecca. Swimming pool, spa, landscaped gardens, views to Portsea Golf Course, new Club House and Delgany Castle. Four bedrooms, three bathrooms, study, gym, cellar, four car garage, CBus, A/V system, Sonos music system. VIEW Wednesday 1 - 1.30pm, Sunday 12.30 - 1pm

“Nairana” An outstanding, holiday residence, Architect designed by Wayne Gillespie, with his trademark excellence and located within minutes walk of Portsea Village and beaches in this very select cul-de-sac amongst Moonah Trees and manicured lawns. Single level, gracious hallway, beautifully proportioned open-plan living and dining room areas open onto elevated entertaining deck and private garden. Four excellent bedrooms, two bathrooms, separate laundry, a well appointed kitchen, double garage, full security, central heating and air-conditioning. VIEW Wednesday & Thursday 12 - 12.30pm, Sunday 10.30 - 11am

CALL Liz Jensen Linda Boulter

0418 446 228 0438 520 282

kayburton.com.au

CALL Liz Jensen David Heathcote

0418 446 228 0427 297 539

kayburton.com.au JANUARY 22, 2014 \ The weekly review 45


14 Cheviot Road Portsea

AUCTION Saturday 25th January at 12noon

27 Boroondara Road Sorrento

AUCTION Sunday 9th February at 11am 46 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

“Dreamweaver� Standing proudly above the landscape with commanding north-facing treetop views across Portsea to the Bay, this luxury back beach home has recently completed a major refurbishment. Comprising and featuring four bedrooms, five bathrooms, study, gym, home theatre, masses of living areas both inside and out, 20m gas and solar heated, fully automated lap pool with spa, professional mod-grass championship tennis court, Olympic sized in-ground trampoline, surrounded in established gardens framing the property and providing perfect privacy. Lockup garage and plenty of parking. VIEW Thursday 11 - 11.30am, Saturday 11.30 - 12pm

Bright, Fun and Laid-Back Sitting tall on sought after Boroondara Road, this substantial family home features a swimming pool and multiple entertaining levels with treetop and valley views. Vaulted ceilings and windows to the sky allow abundant natural light to flow through the home. Rural vistas and the sun drenched elevated deck area overlook manicured gardens of approx. 1068 sqm, with vegetable gardens and fruit trees. A bar and cellar add to the multi-generational style of house with a separate level providing privacy and intimacy for the bedrooms. Walk to beaches, Sorrento Golf Course and Township. VIEW Thursday 2 - 2.30pm, Saturday 2 - 2.30pm, Sunday 2 - 2.30pm

CALL Liz Jensen Linda Boulter

0418 446 228 0438 520 282

kayburton.com.au

CALL Liz Jensen Linda Boulter

0418 446 228 0438 520 282

kayburton.com.au



48 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014



THE HOME DIRECTORY AIR CONDITIONING

Blinds A/P Shutters & Blinds

Highest quality blinds and Timber Plantation Shutters at Melbourne’s best prices. Specialising in all other window furnishings including Holland Blinds, Sun Screens, Awnings, Venetians, Romans and Curtains. Contact: 9818 1133 www.ap-shutters.com

ELECTRICIAN Inlet Electrical Solutions

We do it all - Local specialists for your lighting, LED, power, data, phone, TV, AV, switchboards, air-conditioning, supply and installation of solar systems and more. Free quotes. Guaranteed high quality service. No job too big or small. REC 23294. Contact: Patrick 0412 399 203 patrick@inletelectricalsolutions.com.au

Gates Ri-Cal Improvements

Specialists in designing and fabricating all types of modern steel and aluminium gates. We cater for both the residential and commercial markets with our focus on modern and architectural styles. Updated gallery. Contact: Brett Kendall 0409 257 535 www.rical.com.au

Air Perfect Specialists in service and installation of domestic and commercial heating and cooling equipment. We aim to provide you with the best possible indoor environment. Our team service the greater Melbourne area and beyond. Contact: Stuart 0499 999 872. www.airperfect.com.au BATHROOMS Bathrooms ‘R’ Us

We do it all, from renovations and remodelling to plumbing and electrical, plastering, waterproofing and tiling. Contact us 24 hours, 7 days a week and we will happily assist. Call us now for a quote. Contact: 0423 676 555 or 9530 0422. yosi1@netspace.net.au

BATHROOM RENOVATIONS Smarter Bathrooms

Escape to a beautiful bathroom with a complete design, build and project management from Melbourne’s smartest bathroom renovator. Guaranteed start and finish dates, or we pay you. Call for an award winning interior designer to visit you. 77 Salmon Street, Port Melbourne. Contact: 1300 662 838. www.smarterbathrooms.com.au

BIN HIRE

Your perfect kitchen can be easy and affordable. Professional In-home design with quick delivery. Made in Melbourne with a 10 year guarantee. See our style online at: www.zestakitchens.com.au Contact: Nunawading: 8878 9555 Richmond: 9429 7616 Mt Waverley: 9543 5755 Cheltenham: 9584 4491

Window Cleaning Cam’s Window Cleaning Services

Friendly reliable service. Obligation free quotes. Domestic/commercial. Cobwebs, screens & sills incl. Over 15 years servicing Melbourne. All work guaranteed. All staff are police checked. Fully insured. Credit cards accepted. Contact: Cameron: Freecall 1800 010 250 or 0419 501 025 cam@camswindowcleaning.com.au

We provide total courier and freight delivery services and complete packaging solutions for customers in and around Hawthorn, Richmond. You can drop off your goods at our Service Centre or we can pick up from your door - it’s your choice. Our freight solutions include domestic, international and domestic deliveries. 469 Riversdale Road, Hawthorn East. Contact: 9813 4522. www.packsend.com.au/hawthorn

DECKING DeckSealRevival Pty Ltd

Beat the rush! Low season rates. Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professional’s. Residential and commercial; Deck sanding, cleaning and sealing. Interior floor sanding, concrete and paving cleaning and sealing available. Continually delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. Contact: Brian 0410 537 164. www.decksealrevival.com.au

Design & Renovations Tennille Joy Interiors Whether it be a full residential re-design, new build or simply a room that needs to be loved again, Tennille makes each space uniquely you. Tennille specialises in spatial planning, colour consultancy, bespoke curtains, blinds & shutters and furniture packages. Contact: 0407 889 818. www.tennillejoyinteriors.com.au

Direct Bin Hire

Small skips from $130. Bobcat hire. Mixed & heavy loads accepted. Friendly and reliable service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Contact: 0403 215 624 or 9364 2149.

BLINDS A/P Shutters & Blinds

Kitchen Specialists Zesta Kitchens

COURIER SERVICES Pack & Send Hawthorn

Highest quality blinds and Timber Plantation Shutters at Melbourne’s best prices. Specialising in all other window furnishings including Holland Blinds, Sun Screens, Awnings, Venetians, Romans and Curtains. Contact: 9818 1133. www.ap-shutters.com

Bracken Blinds & Shutters

Specialises in designing quality window coverings for the home, office or builders/architects on time and within budget. Showroom: 391 Camberwell Road, Camberwell, or let us come to you. Contact: 1300 884 838 or 9882 3332. www.brackenblinds.com.au

Courier Services Pack & Send Hawthorn

We provide total courier and freight delivery services and complete packaging solutions for customers in and around Hawthorn, Richmond. You can drop off your goods at our Service Centre or we can pick up from your door - it’s your choice. 469 Riversdale Road, Hawthorn East. Contact: 9813 4522 www.packsend.com.au/hawthorn

Electrical Services J.L Hutt Electrical Specialising in all

FLOORING BA Floors Timber floor specialists. Sanding, polishing new/old timber floors, lay timber or floating boards, non toxic coating, re-coating and staining, dust free sanding repairs, master painting and tiling. Contact: Eric on 0402 691 089 or 9848 8712. GARDENING Paradise Gardening We offer maintenance programs that are tailored to your garden’s individual requirements. From initial consultation our team is focused on delivering the results that will make your garden stand out. If you want a gardener that arrives on time and cleans up after themselves look no further! Services include: Garden maintenance, full garden clean up, tree lopping and pruning, instant lawn and more. Contact: 0418 566 241. www.paradisegardening.com.au GARDEN CONSULTATIONS Gardens By Glen 30+ years experience in all aspects of Horticulture and Plants. All areas of gardens covered; New Gardens, Maintenance, Renovation and Design. I can supply you with a tailored Garden Calendar for the up coming season. Pinpointing the “Must Do” jobs to keep your Garden at its best. Contact: 0408 456 988. gardensbyglen@gmail.com Town and Country Gardens

electrical installations: Extensions/Refurbishments, Stove/Oven/Hot Water Repair, Switchboard upgrades, House Rewires, TV/Phone/Data, Safety switches. Free quotes. 24 hour service. Lic 17824. Contact: Jason 0411 300 772. www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au

Personalised service including solving existing garden problems, plant health checks and revamping or establishing a new garden. Practical, professional advice and garden designs ensuring individual gardening needs are fulfilled. Call us, we come to you. Contact: 9822 9704.

ELECTRICIAN Inlet Electrical Solutions

GATES

We do it all Local specialists for your lighting, LED, power, data, phone, TV, AV, switchboards, air-conditioning, supply and installation of solar systems and more. Free quotes. Guaranteed high quality service. No job too big or small. REC 23294. Contact: Patrick 0412 399 203. patrick@inletelectricalsolutions.com.au

DESIGN & RENOVATIONS Tennille Joy Interiors

Whether it be a full residential re-design, new build or simply a room that needs to be loved again, Tennille makes each space uniquely you. Tennille specialises in spatial planning, colour consultancy, bespoke curtains, blinds & shutters and furniture packages. Contact: 0407 889 818 www.tennillejoyinteriors.com.au

TO ADVERTISE CONTACT AMANDA ON 9238 7725 50 The weekly review \ JANUARY 22, 2014

Summer 2014

Ri-cal Improvements Specialists in designing and fabricating all types of modern steel and aluminium gates. We cater for both the residential and commercial markets with our focus on modern and architectural styles. Call for a free quote. Contact: Brett 0409 257 535. www.rical.com.au AIR CONDITIONING Air Perfect

Specialists in service and installation of domestic and commercial heating and cooling equipment. We aim to provide you with the best possible environment. Our team service the greater Melbourne area and beyond. Contact: Stuart 0499 999 872 www.airperfect.com.au


THE HOME DIRECTORY Glass Insulation Solartech Glass Tinting

A new cost effective solution to reduce energy consumption in your home and office. In Winter, it reduces heat loss up to 25 percent through your windows and in Summer it rejects up to 57 percent of sun’s heat. Frosted and etched films will give you day and night privacy. Call for a free onsite consultation. Contact: Kim 9521 1339. www.solartechglass.com.au

KITCHEN RENOVATIONS Smarter Kitchens Live in the kitchen you love with a complete design, build and project management from Melbourne’s smartest kitchen renovator. Guaranteed start and finish dates, or we pay you. Call now for an award winning interior designer to visit you. Showroom: 77 Salmon Street, Port Melbourne. Contact: 1300 662 838. www.smarterkitchens.com.au

KITCHEN SPECIALISTS Zesta Kitchens Your perfect kitchen can be easy and affordable. Professional In-home design with quick delivery. Made in Melbourne with a 10 year guarantee. See our style online. Contact Nunawading 8878 9555 Mt Waverley 9543 5755 Richmond 9429 7616 Cheltenham 9584 4491 www.zestakitchens.com.au

LANDSCAPING Northcote Landscaping

Our services include complete landscape design and construction, renovate existing paving, decking, retaining walls, irrigation and planting. Call our qualified professionals, to receive personalised service and quality workmanship. For your free consultation and quotation Contact : Michael 0412 300 712. www.northcotelandscaping.com.auom.au

Spruce Landscaping

With the arrival of Spring it’s time to get your garden in order. We deliver gardening jobs such as clean ups and mowing lawns to hedging, paving, planting, pruning, weeding, irrigation, laying lawns, waste removal and more. Enjoy a well-presented garden adapted to your style and taste this season. Contact: Jared 0414 303 557. www.sprucelandscaping.com.au

ROOF REPLACEMENTS Camberwell Potteries Roofing

We specialise in roof replacement for residential, body corporate and community projects. Re-roofing provides a cost-effective way to transform any tiled roof with a 50 year guarantee. Call us to arrange a free no obligation quotation. Contact: 0418 321 886 or 9889 4222 www.camberwellroofing.com.au

PAINTING Arthur Master Painting Service

We specialise in: Interior and exterior, domestic and commercial, roof painting, small plastering, driveways and paving. All work guaranteed. No job too big or small. Free quotes. Contact: Arthur 8707 2376 or 0419 147 020.

Matt’s Painting & Decorating Personalised, highly effcient & motivated team. Free quotes, prompt service & high quality paint finish. Experienced porters paint applicator & specialist in wall paper hanging. We don’t just paint, we create. Contact: Matt 0418 384 620. www.mpainting.com.au

RENOVATIONS Building Renovations and Design P/L We specialise in New Home Building, Extensions, Renovations, Decking and Pergolas and offer General Carpentry. Experts in all aspects of home renovation, we can create ‘new’ bathrooms, kitchens and other rooms and facilities for you. DBU-11103 Contact: Brad 0408 446 887. www.buildwithbrad.com.au

ROOF REPAIRS The Roof Dentist Our business is about maintaining a durable, dry and safe roof over your head. Tile & metal roof maintenance & replacement, guttering repairs, replacement and cleaning. Call us for a high quality and professional service. Contact: 0418 338 996 or 0419 473 156.

ROOF REPLACEMENTS Camberwell Potteries Roofing Pty Ltd We specialise in roof replacement for residential, body corporate and community projects. Re-roofing provides a cost-effective way to transform any tiled roof with a 50 year guarantee. Call us to arrange a free no obligation quotation. Contact: 0418 321 886 or 9889 4222. www.camberwellroofing.com.au

SHUTTERS A/P Shutters & Blind

Highest quality Timber Plantation Shutters at Melbourne’s best prices guaranteed. Also specialising in all other window furnishings including Awnings and Roller Blinds. Free, no obligation quotes: info@ap-shutters.com Contact: 9818 1133. www.ap-shutters.com

Decking

Victorian Shutters & Shades Distributors of the Durafit® Shutter System. This premium product exceeds quality standards of most shutters available, providing peace of mind and a guarantee of quality. Also on offer an entire range of window furnishings. Showroom: 405 Canterbury Road, Surrey Hills. Contact: 9849 0355. www.vicshutters.com.au

TREE DOCTOR Frank Duke Total tree care, including reshaping or removals. Third-generation owner, 56 years experience. Complete customer satisfaction with individual assessment. Contact: Paul 9509 4768.

WARDROBES Almara Cabinets

Winners of the Australian Achievers’ Award. Customer-designed wardrobes, wall units, bookshelves, guaranteed quality. Renovations, our specialty. Visit our showroom: 145-147 Williams Road, Dandenong. Contact: 9793 8233. www.almara.com.au

Green-Isle Built-In-Robes

Built in wardrobes and bookcases. High standard of work and expert advice. Reliability guaranteed. Contact: Michael 0407 731 801 or AH 9350 6362.

WINDOW CLEANING Cam’s Window Cleaning Services Friendly reliable service. Obligation free quotes. Domestic and commercial. Cobwebs, screens and sills included. Over 15 years servicing Melbourne. All work guaranteed. All staff are police checked. Fully insured. Credit cards accepted. Contact: Cameron Freecall 1800 010 250 or 0419 501 025. cam@camswindowcleaning.com.au

WINDOW REPLACEMENTS WINDOWS 1 We specialise in the supply and installation of replacement windows and doors timber, aluminium or PVC. Our staff are fully qualified ensuring you of quality work. No job too small or too big. Member of MBA and HIA. To replace your old, tired, rotting windows please call us for a free, no obligation measure and quote. Contact: 9794 7913. www.windows1.net.au

RENOVATIONS Decksealrevival

Beat the Spring rush! Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professional’s. Residential and commercial; Deck sanding, cleaning and sealing. Concrete and paving cleaning and sealing. Delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. Contact: Brian 0410 537 164 www.decksealrevival.com.au

Summer 2014 flooring BA Floors

Timber floor specialists. Sanding, polishing new and old timber flooring, lay timber or floating boards, non toxic coating, re-coating and staining, dust free sanding repairs, master painting and tiling. Contact: Eric on 0402 691 089 or 9848 8712

Kitchen Renovations Smarter Kitchens

Live in the kitchen you love with a complete design, build and project management from Melbourne’s smartest kitchen renovator. Guaranteed start and finish dates, or we pay you. Call now for an award winning interior designer to visit you. Contact: 1300 662 838 Showroom 77 Salmon Street, Port Melbourne www.smarterkitchens.com.au

Garden Consultations Gardens By Glen

30+ years experience in all aspects of Horticulture and Plants. All areas of gardens covered; New Gardens, Maintenance, Renovation and Design. I can supply you with a tailored Garden Calendar for the up coming season. Pinpointing the “Must Do” jobs to keep your Garden at its best. Contact: 0408 456 988 gardensbyglen@gmail.com

Shutters Victorian Shutters & Shades

Distributors of the Durafit® Shutter System. This premium product exceeds quality standards of most shutters available today, providing peace of mind and a guarantee of quality. Also on offer, an entire range of Window Furnishings. Showroom/Factory: 405 Canterbury Rd, Surrey Hills. Contact: 9849 0355 www.vicshutters.com.au

BATHROOMS BRAD

Specialising in New Home Building, Extensions, Renovations, Decking and Pergolas. Also offering General Carpentry. We are experts in all aspects of home renovation and can create ‘new’ bathrooms, kitchens and other rooms and facilities for you. DBU-11103. Contact: Brad 0408 446 887 www.buildwithbrad.com.au

TO ADVERTISE CONTACT AMANDA ON 9238 7725

Bathrooms ‘R’ Us

We do it all, from renovations and remodelling to plumbing and electrical, plastering, waterproofing and tiling. Contact us 24 hours, 7 days a week and we will happily assist. Call us now for a quote. Contact: 0423 676 555 or 9530 0422 yosi1@netspace.net.au


Open Doors. Open Negotiations. Open Ope en even longer. longer.

The Audii Open Haus Sales Event Event Let the conversations sations continue with financial in incentives nce en nt tives iv ves sa across cros cr ro os ss the the entire enti en t re e Audi Aud di ra rang range ng n ge un unti until tiil Ja JJanuary n ar nu r y 31st. Complimentary y stamp duty, registration and CTP TP P* on all new and demonstrator onstrator models.

And now

Complimentary C Co m li mp l me ment ntar nt ary stamp ar ary stam st am mp duty duty† o all on alll A u i Ap ud Appr prov pr oved ov ed d :pl plus p uss p pre-owned re-o re -own -o wned wn ed models. Audi Approved

Sound enticing? g? Negotiate a new way forward with our most mo ostt progressive pro rogr grressi esssi s ve e off offers errs ever. e er. ev err. Ends 31 January ry 2014 and only while stock la lasts ast sts s Visit Audi Penfold Burwood or Audi Centre Doncaster to talk about your new Audi.

Audi Penfold Burwood 130 Burwood Highway, Burwood | Tel. 9268 1555 audipenfold.com.au

Audi Centre Doncaster 576 Doncaster Road, Doncaster | Tel. 9840 8600 audicentredoncaster.com.au

*Complimentary stamp duty, registration and CTP offer applies to new Audi stock vehicles and Audi demonstrator vehicles purchased and delivered between 1 December 2013 and 31 January 2014. While stocks last. †Free stamp duty offer available on all Audi Approved :plus (pre-owned) vehicles purchased and delivered between 1 January 2014 and 31 January 2014. *† Offers not available to fleet, gov’t or rental buyers or with other offers. LMCT444