Page 1

march 14-20, 2018

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

InSIDE + P U R E V I n Ta G E + O R I E n Ta L B L O O M S + U S E YO U R n O O D L E

Win

QUaRTER TIME

OnE-On-OnE wITH SaM nEwMan

download australia’s #1 property app MELBOURnE TIMES

TELL US YOUR TOP DISH anD IT COULD BE YOURS FOR THE TaSTInG d e ta i l s i n s i d e


NEW LOCATION

NEW 4,500m2 SHOWROOM

MASSIVE 6,500m2 SHOWROOM *Excludes order-in items, delivery & services. Must be a VIP to receive discounts. Visit www www.schots.com.au for all special offers & full terms and conditions.


spheres and tiny turrets. ● Kids Under Cover Cubby House Challenge and charity auction. Melbourne Flower

MERCURY MEGALOUDIS

JONATHAN KRYWICKI

& Garden Show, March 21-25. melbflowershow.com.au

C O M PI L E D BY M I R A N DA TAY

MINI GRAND DESIGNS \ Be inspired by futuristic metal

FROM PADDOCK TO PLAZA \ Truly Madly Deeply – Part Three dishes up a stories behind the food journey and four courses of culinary marvels. ● Plaza Ballroom, March 20, $168. melbournefoodandwine.com.au

EAT DRINK PLAY LOVE ●

Submissions email | miranda.tay@domain.com.au

TASTY DROPS \ An innovative drinks list by sommelier George Haralambopoulous gives an adventurous edge to Williamstown newbie Pier Farm’s Mediterranean-inspired seafood menu. Choose from more than 140 wine flavours

EUGENE HYLAND

and great cocktails. ● pierfarm.com.au

RACER CHIC \ With the Grand Prix hitting town on March 22-25, get into the mood with this nifty motorcross-style number. Pretty Little Thing’s Track Sweater is cut just right for the grid. ● prettylittlething.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3


MELBOURNE TIMES

Competitions

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 editorial@domain.com.au

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go totheweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

MANAGING EDITOR \ ALICE STOLZ

and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, March 18.

EDITOR \ EMILY POWER DEPUTY EDITOR \ JESSICA DALE ONLINE EDITOR \ ADRIAN LOWE PICTURE EDITOR \ KYLIE THOMSON PROOFREADER \ NICOLE BITTAR SENIOR DESIGNER \ COLLEEN CHIN QUAN DESIGNER \ EMMA STAUGHTON EDITORIAL ASSISTANT \ KENDALL BOYD

WIN \

WIN \

WIN \

Win one of two double passes to

Calvin Klein is excited to give one

Multi-award-winning landscape

this year’s Women in Business

lucky reader its new-collection

designer and presenter David

TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 56,836 COPIES

Luncheon at The Australian Events

rebel watch. Inspired by Raf Simon’s

Kirkpatrick from Outdoor Creations

Centre in Essendon Fields. Hear

205W39NYC New York Fashion

is offering one lucky reader his

domain.com.au

from renowned businesswoman,

Week runway, the Swiss-made

expertise in a free landscape-design

IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

fundraiser and footy devotee Susan

timepiece features a textured dial

consultation, along with a copy of

Alberti AC.

and thin leather strap.

his book, The Heart of the Garden.

● mvcc.vic.gov.au/businessevents

● calvinkleininc.com

● outdoorcreations.com.au

REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ REBECCA WARNER \ 0448 317 687 \ rebeccawarner@domain.com.au

WOMEN IN BUSINESS LUNCHEON PASSES WORTH $190

REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ GEORGIE McLEOD \ 9249 5286 \ gmcleod@theweeklyreview.com.au PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON

OUR COVER \ Sam Newman, photographed by Julian Kingma

CALVIN KLEIN WAT WA CH WORTH $329

OUTDOOR CREATI A ONS ATI PACK K WORTH $449

Congratulations to the following winners from February 28: Des Lazaridis, Karen Nielsen, Katarina Smolcic, Pamela Perry, Pamela Aldridge, Sarah Langley-Bates, Sharon Frai, Stephanie Badura, Martina Nohejl, Nikki Licheri, Treena Allen, Heidi Jolly, Georgia Goudy, Alex Pillirone, Rodney Thistlethwaite, Nicole Dorner, Sam Greenwald, Jennie Cook, Dim Berbatakis, Izabella Di Tomasso, Rosaleen McDonald, Mimi Chin, Olga Shevchuk.

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition Terms & Conditions for details. All winners will be contacted directly by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

LEVEL CROSSING REMOVAL WORKS

16 MARCH – 30 APRIL 2018 Upcoming changes to the Hurstbridge line

From 16 March to 30 April 2018, there will be a 44-day construction blitz to renovate the Hurstbridge line. These works will affect the way you travel.

Buses replacing trains

Road closures • Grange Road will be closed at the level crossing from 9pm Friday 16 March to 5am Friday 6 April 2018

• On sections of the Hurstbridge line, from 8.15pm Friday 16 March to the last service Sunday 29 April 2018. Please plan ahead and allow up to an extra 55 minutes in travel time.

• Lower Plenty Road will be closed at the level crossing from Friday 16 March to Monday 19 March 2018, and again from Friday 30 March to Monday 16 April 2018.

contact@levelcrossings.vic.gov.au 1800 105 105 levelcrossings.vic.gov.au 4

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Translation service – For languages other than English, please call 9280 0780. Please contact us if you would like this information in an accessible format.

Authorised by the Victorian Government, 1 Treasury Place, Melbourne

NEP0601

Local traders will be open during this time, so please support businesses in the area.


The editor’s desk THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

The view

BY JOE ARMAO, Oakleigh

Sunset reflections on Dandenong Road. ●

In the fickle world of television and entertainment, in which talent and shows are turned over faster than Eddie McGuire goes through Millionaire Hot Seat contestants, there are few with the endurance of Sam Newman and The Footy Show. Regardless of your view on Newman (captured for this edition by photographer Julian Kingma), after 25 years front and centre of the Channel Nine flagship he is as compelling as ever. Journalist Peter Wilmoth met the AFL legend, as The Footy Show celebrates a quarter of a century on air, to reflect on a life and career – and opinions – played out in the spotlight. ●

● 1/30 sec ● f/5.6

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture +T Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

ARE YOU A BUDDING STREET PHOTOGRAPHER? If you have a great snap of the city, we’d love to feature it on this page.

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

Send your best high-resolution shot to theview@theweeklyreview.com.au FOR SOME HELPFUL TIPS VISIT \ theweeklyreview.com.au/theview

YO U T U B E

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


S

am Newman, provocateur, controversialist and self-confessed “dinosaur”, “Luddite” and “troglodyte”, is the longest-serving member of The Footy Show panel. He’s been there since the get-go in 1994 when Eddie McGuire invented and realised the show, and has saddled up for his 25th year. “I’m just a survivor, not necessarily successful, just a survivor,” Newman says. “I suppose a quarter of a century – that is survival in this very competitive world.” It sure is. He could never have imagined it lasting this long. “We were given six weeks by Ian Johnson, the then boss of Nine. I think Kerry Packer said … ‘How would a f---ing football show survive without actually showing football?’ That was how much confidence everyone had in us.” But that was the trick. No football, but lots of Newman. Football players, sure, but with Newman there to prompt them against “yeah/nah” mediocrity. Say something, man! Why did it succeed? “We took an irreverent look at football, well I did anyhow,” he says. “Eddie was a

PLAY HONEST JOHN MARKS 25-YEAR MILESTONE

I N T E RVI E W ● PE T E R WI L M O T H

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PI C T U R E ● J U LIA N KI N G M A

hard news hound. We had a bit for everyone. We used to go out and chat to people on the streets. We got belted severely for doing that. We never have and never will make any apology for the people we spoke to.” This is a topic Newman has addressed before – with accusations that The Footy Show chose to highlight vulnerable people on its Street Talk segment. But broadly this outlook conforms to his overarching view that too many are looking too hard for slip-ups, especially from the demonised unPC, unfiltered, unreconstructed Newman. “There’s a competition going on to see who can be the most righteous in society,” he says. “It’s gone from tongue-in-cheek comment and parody or comedic or satirical … it has now become so focused on you saying something that might be misconstrued by someone examining what you say with a microscope that they can now hang those old cliches on you like racist or sexist or homophobic or bigoted … It is bemusing to listen to people go through that narrative. It’s interesting to see how small-minded and petty people can be.”


“When people stop being so biased about Donald Trump, they will suddenly realise that he is the most outstanding politician that’s ever stood for office in the history of the world.” - SAM NEWMAN Newman was always best when McGuire’s there. The pair was last year reunited on screen after McGuire’s 12-year break from the show. Many thought it missed him. His return was a rebirth of their obvious long-time on-screen friendship and chemistry. “Polar opposites, we are,” Newman says. “Religiously, politically, philosophically. I’m a classic pessimist; I expect the worst and hope for the best. He expects the best and hopes it gets better.” These differences have of course helped the show; McGuire’s skills at structure juxtaposed with Newman’s jaw-dropping unpredictability. “People who are partially educated – I am and Eddie is, too – would think that just because you have a difference of opinion or point of view, you can’t get on and have sensible, robust conversations about anything,” he says. “I have tremendous respect for

listen to too many people and you never make a decision yourself.” Given that Newman as lord-mayoral candidate is a long way from the frivolity and vaudeville of The Footy Show, I asked about his views on the #metoo movement sweeping the world. “Generally speaking, it is a stain on how men behave with women. Having said that, you’ll find I think that there is a lot of unsubstantiated comment and criticisms and claims made by people for a whole lot of different reasons, those with agendas, and I’d be very sceptical and careful about believing every single thing that people said about people they’ve come in contact with. “Before that gets blown into a headline ‘Newman is sceptical about women who come forward with sexual harassment claims’, that’s not what I’m saying. I’m saying it is a very serious problem and

How does Newman feel when much younger panellists talk – albeit affectionately – about his colourful personal life? “I’m confident enough in who I am to cop any criticism, to cop anything anyone says about me. I honestly don’t mind. I don’t wear my heart on sleeve. I’m pretty resilient to criticism and adverse comment because I’ve received plenty of it. Your reputation is who people think you are; your character is who you really are, and I would never, ever try to explain to people who I am, I’ll let them work it out for themselves. “I get on with anyone. We treat people how we find them. If they’re deliberately antagonistic towards you, well that’s one thing. If people want to actually speak to you sensibly or might agree to disagree with most of the things you do, that’s all right.”

him. While I disagree sometimes with things he says, I take it, as we say, on advisement. And he gives me plenty of advice and, even being probably 25 years younger than me, he mentors me a lot.” Of course, McGuire has joined the broader community in sometimes taking exception to some of Newman’s more inflammatory comments. “He says ‘Why would you do that’?” Newman says. “I say things off the top of my head – people would be aware of that – and he is a lot smarter than me; he thinks about eight or nine sentences ahead of me and can see the blow-back or feedback and he tries to put a dampener on it before it gets out of hand while we’re actually doing it. “Over 25 years, you can say plenty of things you probably regret but would never apologise for because what’s the point of apologising?” Newman’s disillusionment with aspects of football has at times been an issue for The Footy Show team. He has expressed frustration with umpiring, doesn’t attend too many games and seems to have fallen out of love with the sport. I wondered how he saddles up again to talk about a sport that is quite clearly frustrating to him? “That’s a very good question. I like to not be a sycophant about our game. It’s a great game, after all. I played it for a long time and enjoyed every moment of it. But it is legitimate and reasonable to critique our game.”

SA M O N T H E F O O T Y S H OW

N

ewman is reportedly making a run for Lord Mayor, but denies he will pursue it. “I was asked if I was the lord mayor what would I do? So I said this is what I would do. I would like to do it but I’m not going to do it … You’d have to devote (time to it) … Mind you, I’m only working two hours a week - in the winter.” He then kept the door open by adding: “In society everywhere, we get bogged down with petty agendas by people who push a cause. I have no cause to push. I don’t have a vested interest in speaking ill or glowingly about AFL football … democracy usually is a very good way of ensuring that nothing actually ever gets done because you

MICHAEL CLAYTON-JONES

IT AGAIN, SAM men have behaved disgracefully and still do. “It is great that it’s come to a head and people will be very careful now about what they do and what they say. But here is the other side of it. The art of chivalry and genuinely having an affectionate opinion about someone who you actually like – whether it’s a man or a woman, incidentally – tends to be put on the back-burner because you are so fearful that anything you do will be misconstrued. That’s the sad thing about it.” While never known as a tree-hugging leftie, it is still a surprise to hear Newman speak in such extraordinarily glowing terms about US President Donald Trump. “When people stop being so biased about Donald Trump, they will suddenly realise that he is the most outstanding politician that’s ever stood for office in the history of the world,” he says. “He is extraordinary. Against all odds he has belted everyone who wished to challenge him and you might not like him as a person but I would invite anyone, in all seriousness, to (nominate) what policies he has instigated or promotes that they don’t agree with.” So, back into the breach for another year. At 72, he says he is not offended by his nickname, the Fossil. “It appears that I’m a dinosaur, a Luddite, a troglodyte, and I’m happy to say I’m all of those things,” Newman says. ●

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


BY M I C H A E L H A R D E N

DRINK

The natural

JAMES BROADWAY

“Natural wine” has caused an uproar among winemakers and drinkers since becoming fashionable several years ago. The premise is that they’re made without chemicals in the vineyard and are minimally fiddled with in the winery. For those who feel passionate about wine, the argy-bargy is understandable. The term itself is obnoxious, suggesting that other wines are somehow “unnatural”. The style can also be challenging at first but the well-made ones can be sensational with food – particularly the big-flavoured kind. The Gertrude Street Enoteca in Fitzroy has recently overhauled its menu, with co-owner/chef Brigitte Hafner introducing a section of morsels that are grilled to order on a hibachi in the backyard. Whole king prawns marinated in lemon, chilli and oil; Wagyu short ribs; ox tongue with salsa verde and duck hearts wrapped in bacon are all given the charcoal treatment. The flavours are big, the smokiness pronounced, so they need a wine that’ll stand its ground. Enoteca likes to suggest Arfion wine’s 2017 Smokestack Lightning SC PG, a Yarra Valley Pinot Grigio that travels the minimal-input path. Vibrant and fresh with robust flavours that take in berries, rosehip and a hint of Moorish spices, it’s a great example of minimal-interventionist winemaking strengths. It’s also the perfect excuse for chucking more prawns and Wagyu on the barbie. ●

GERTRUDE STREET ENOTECA \ 229 Gertrude Street, Fitzroy. 9415 8262 ● gertrudestreetenoteca.com

NOMINATE YOUR MUST-EAT DISH & YOU COULD WIN! We’re searching for Melbourne’s most-loved dish to take out our Must Eat Award. Nominate your pick and you could win one of two $400 vouchers to spend at the winning restaurant. White Mojo’s Double Cheese Chilli Scramble Egg won the 2017 title – who will it be this year? Nominations close at midnight on March 15.

HOW TO NOMINATE A DISH

1

Follow us on Facebook or Instagram

2

Post a photo of your favourite dish including the restaurant or cafe’s details

3

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

Include the hashtag #TWRMustEat and tag @theweeklyreview

For more details, head to theweeklyreview.com.au/musteat. 8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


R E VI E W BY S O F IA L E VI N

FOOD

Hem 27 I recently returned from Vietnam where I learnt that pho is the country’s blandest noodle soup. Sacrilegious, I know, but it led me to Hem 27, which specialises in regional noodle soups. ‘Hem’ means alleyway, but this one is in a car park. There’s a banh mi counter upon entry and small tables with bag baskets beneath the stools. Fighting menu FOMO I order banh canh cua, a big bowl of creamy orange crab broth with chewy tapioca noodles, fish cakes, sliced pork and a soft shell crab. Holiday memories flood back as we eat chao tom (shrimp cake wrapped in fried tofu skin) and banh beo, steamed rice flour disks scattered with sweet pork mince – both doused in pungent house fish sauce. Banh flan, Vietnamese creme caramel, transports me to Saigon’s dessert carts. BYO is welcome, but try the orange juice soda with egg and condensed milk that tastes like sherbet. I didn’t manage to eat everything overseas, but Hem 27 in multicultural Melbourne lets me continue the gastronomic gallivant from home. ● Hem 27 ● Shop 27 380/320 Epsom Road, Flemington ● 9376 2961

BEST FOR \ Adventurous eaters looking to expand their Vietnamese

FIGHT THE FOMO

MUST-EAT

repertoire. ●

SUPPLIED

● hem27.com.au

G O U R M E T B R E A K FA S T B U R G E R

What’s most salubrious about Melbourne’s food scene is that a humble $2.50 South Melbourne Market dim sim can reach cult status alongside the Flower Drum’s signature dish, Peking duck. In a testament to how casual dining has become experiential and experimental, the 2017 TWR Must Eat Award winner was the double cheese chilli scrambled egg from White Mojo cafe; a juicy medley of parmesan and cheddar, smoked belly bacon, chilli mayo, toasted sweet corn and ink brioche (above).

SEVIM DOGAN OZKAN

WHAT IS YOUR MUST-EAT DISH?

TWR food reviewer Sofia Levin knows Melbourne’s menus inside out and spills the beans on her three must-try dishes of the moment – Babajan’s crab and halloumi omelette (goodbye, smashed avocado), the hot chickpeas pita from Miznon, and Annam’s young coconut jelly with grilled corn and coconut sorbet. Levin goes beyond the pass at the three eateries to discover how these delish dishes are made – to see the video, go to The Weekly Review’s Facebook page, and be sure to vote for your 2018 Must Eat dish. ●

Share what tickles your taste buds and nominate your favourite Melbourne dish, and it could be in the running for The Weekly Review’s 2018 Must Eat Award. You’ll also get the chance to win one of two $400 vouchers to spend at the winning restaurant. FOR DETAILS, HEAD TO: theweeklyreview.com.au/musteat

I N PA R T N E R S H I P W I T H

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

From little things ... LO-FI APPROACH PAYS OFF FOR LOCAL PRODUCTION COMPANY

B

ig doesn’t always mean better, even if you’re aiming for the silver screen. In an age when the average Hollywood movie budget could buy several small countries, a St Kilda production team are doing great things with very little. And director Sarah Jayne Portelli says her team at Nexus Production Company is bucking a trend for cinematic spectacle. “I think there’s an audience for every kind of film,” Portelli says. “There’s a lot of Hollywood films out there that are glamorous and packed with special effects, so something more character-based offers a slice of life.” Her new film Friends, Foes and Fireworks is part of a new wave of filmmaking dubbed “mumblecore”, a lo-fi approach to cinema that has culminated in

Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird – an understated drama which was nominated for five Oscars. Wholly improvised by its female cast, Friends, Foes and Fireworks was shot on a single New Year’s Eve. The film will now enjoy its world premiere this month at Elsternwick’s Classic Cinema and follows the success of short flick Daughter Daughter, also shot in St Kilda, which entered production after a triumphant crowdfunding campaign. Portelli says she was pushed to find an unusual path into filmmaking after years of getting nowhere on the Melbourne film scene. “Nobody was hiring me, so I decided I should just start making my own stuff. I’d had enough of rejection.” She directed her first film in 2013 and has made three more since. She says anyone who really wants

Planning and Environment Act 1987

MELBOURNE PLANNING SCHEME

Notice of the preparation of an amendment Amendment C320

EMMA APPLETON Manager, Urban Strategy

Network with like-minded women, celebrate women in business and hear from business woman, fundraiser and footy devotee, Susan Alberti AC. Joined by Master of Ceremonies, Sports Journalist, Angela Pippos. The Australian Events Centre $95 per person or table of eight $720

Book your tickets at mvcc.vic.gov.au/business

VG1248

The Melbourne Council has prepared Amendment C320 to the Melbourne Planning Scheme. The land affected by the amendment is 154-160 Leicester Street, Carlton (the former Carlton Inn, also known as the Corkman Irish Pub). The Amendment proposes to delete Schedule 68 to the Design and Development Overlay, which currently includes interim controls, and amend Schedule 61 to the Design and Development Overlay to introduce permanent built form controls for the site. The controls seek to guide reconstruction of the former building ensuring significant historic, architectural, aesthetic, social and cultural values are upheld with regard to the site. You may inspect the amendment, any documents that support the amendment and the explanatory report about the amendment, free of charge, at the following locations: • during office hours, at the of office of the planning authority, City of Melbourne Level 3, 240 Little Collins Street, Melbourne • at Participate Melbourne, the City of Melbourne’s online engagement hub participate.melbourne.vic.gov.au/Amendment C320 • at the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning website www.delwp.vc.gov.au/publicinspection. Any person who may be affected by the amendment may make a submission to the planning authority about the amendment. Submissions must be made in writing giving the submitter’s name and contact address, clearly stating the grounds on which the amendment is supported or opposed and indicating what changes (if any) the submitter wishes to make. Name and contact details of submitters are required for council to consider submissions and to notify such persons of the opportunity to attend council meetings and any public hearing held to consider submissions. The closing date for submissions is Friday 27 April 2018. A submission must be sent to: amendmentC320@melbourne.vic.gov.au or: Robyn Hellman, Team Leader, Planning Policy City of Melbourne PO Box 1603, Melbourne, Vic. 3001 The planning authority must make a copy of every submission available at its office for any person to inspect free of charge for two months after the amendment comes into operation or lapses.

SCHEMBRI

CO

melbourne.vic.gov.au 10

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

&

LAWYERS

$95

Friday 23 March

11.30am–2.30pm


A friendly toast: Ivan Malekin and Sarah Jayne Portelli with the Friends, Foes and Fireworks cast. AJCO PHOTOGRAPHY

to make a film should stop worrying about the money and just get the cameras rolling. “You have to have that attitude. If you’re waiting for funding, you’ll be waiting a really long time. When I was trying to get funding for Daughter Daughter, I was looking at grants that said you needed a producer with so many films and festivals already. I didn’t know those sort of people. I ended up producing it myself, because we didn’t want to wait around,” she says. That her new film will soon be seen in cinemas has come as a pleasant surprise. The original goal was to screen at festivals before releasing through Video On Demand services. Daughter continues to prove a hit on VOD, selling to 27 countries, with most of its sales coming from the US. “I think the future is online. Everything is shot on digital and phones now and it’s easier to self-distribute.”

That said, Nexus has just signed with a theatrical distributor and Portelli hopes the limited season at the Classic will spearhead a broader cinematic release for Friends. In the meantime, she and her husband (and co-producer) Ivan Malekin are beginning post-production on their next feature, which was shot across four countries. The long slog seems to be paying off. “They say it takes 10 years for you to make it. We’ve been going a little longer than that and we feel that we’re really accomplishing things now. If you focus on the little achievements, it makes the journey seem more special,” she says. ● FRIENDS, FOES AND FIREWORKS \ Premieres at Classic Cinema, Elsternwick, March 21 ● friendsfoesfireworks.com

WO R D S ● M Y K E B A R T L E T T

Puppy carers needed!

Take care of a puppy and help change a life… Being a Seeing Eye Dog puppy carer is possibly the most enjoyable way to volunteer. Not only do you get to experience the joy of looking after an adorable puppy for about 12 months, without any of the associated costs – you will also enjoy the satisfaction of knowing you are assisting someone who is blind to live the life they choose. Seeing Eye Dogs Australia is urgently in need of loving homes for puppies in your area.

For more information please contact Seeing Eye Dogs Australia on 1800 037 773 or visit the website www.seda.org.au

a division of vision australia

BIRRARUNG MARR MASTER PLAN

CULTURAL DIVERSITY WEEK

We’re preparing a Master Plan to guide the development, management and use of Birrarung Marr over the next 20 years, and we want your input. Share your stories, complete the survey or visit one of our pop-ups by Tuesday 3 April.

More than half City of Melbourne’s residents speak a language other than English at home. Cultural Diversity Week celebrates our multiculturalism as a strength. This year’s program encourages dialogue, new connections and celebration. 17 to 25 March.

participate.melbourne.vic.gov.au/birrarungmarr

melbourne.vic.gov.au/CulturalDiversityWeek

Connect with us /cityofmelbourne

Contact us @cityofmelbourne

@cityofmelbourne

Sign up to our Melbourne Magazine at magazine.melbourne.vic.gov.au

Visit us at melbourne.vic.gov.au Phone us on 03 9658 9658 T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

11


T WO B E D R O O M F R O M $ 7 2 5 K - $ 7 9 5 K THREE BEDROOM FROM $899K - $X

L U X U RY PA R K - F R O N T I N G TOW N H O M E S Set in an elevated position with spectacular views across H.P. Zwar Park to the CBD this collection of beautiful townhomes present an unsurpassed level of luxury in this thriving location. With interiors designed by renowned DKO, Kaizen combines highly functional living spaces with quality selections and design palette that highlights luxury and leaves plenty of opportunity to express your own unique sense of style.

T WO & T H R E E B E D R O O M TOW N H O M E S F R O M $ 6 9 9 K - $ 9 7 5 K

Carefully crafted by renowned developer

COMING SOON Enquire now for exclusive preview prior to public release CALL JANIE BUI 0403 139 359 ka i z e n t ow n h o m e s . c o m . a u


MELBOURNE INTERNATIONAL FLOWER & GARDEN SHOW

Garden smart Best stone \ Castella rock from a quarry north-east of Melbourne. Favourite nursery \ Newport Lakes Native Nursery specialises in plants from the western plains. Top plant \ Austrostipa stipoides native grass has a nice upright form and needs little maintenance. Best garden \ Royal Botanical

NAOMI ARAI

MICHAEL CLAYTON-JONES

Gardens Cranbourne, below.

G E E L O N G G A R D E N BY R O S S U E B E R G A N G

The dream team TWO GARDENING CULTURES ARE UNITED IN A CONTEMPORARY SUSTAINABLE DESIGN

T

he best ideas often come when you least expect them. Garden designers Ross Uebergang and Yousuke Yamaguchi were enjoying a few drinks in a Nagasaki bar when they started chatting. Yousuke scribbled a few designs on a serviette and a year later, the results of their brainstorming – an Australian-Japanese unity garden – will appear at the Melbourne Flower and Garden show. An award-winning landscape designer, Uebergang has worked in Australia, Japan, Nepal and India. He believes in sustainability and the importance of native plants. Respected designer Yamaguchi, who was also caretaker of the Japanese Garden at the Royal Botanic Gardens in Kew, comes from a family of nursery owners in Kyoto. The two met at a Japanese gardening show and realised how much they had in common. Their unity garden fuses the best from Australian and Japanese gardening traditions. “Japanese gardens are more often used as a transition or to look out onto whereas here in Australia we’re more into functional space,” Uebergang explains.

Their unity garden combines Grampians bush plants with Japanese design principles. The design focuses on an area for a tea ceremony where a path leads to a circular walled area with tatami mats used as a floor floating over a water feature. “The style of planting and the rugged look of the Australian bush is the predominant thing in the garden but it’s assembled using Japanese techniques,” Uebergang says. In Japanese garden design, the main work consists of careful stone and plant placement to

capture the best of nature. Japanese gardens are sustainable because they use little construction. Instead of laying paving on concrete slabs and building decks, flat stones are used on the ground. Uebergang says he wants the experimental garden to challenge people. The unity garden aims to make people think about how to spend more time outdoors and do more indoor things outside. The display will include a projector screen, bean bags and a desk. “I’m catering for things you would normally do inside,” Uebergang says. “I’m also into offices that become a forest rather than partition walls and neon lights.” Yamaguchi believes a garden is never finished and ongoing maintenance will continually reshape it. ● MELBOURNE INTERNATIONAL FLOWER & GARDEN SHOW \ March 21-25, Royal Exhibition Building and gardens ● melbflowershow.com.au

ROSS UEBERGANG

WO R D S ● M A RY O ’ B R I E N

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


VG1082


SPECIAL PROMOTION

HOME & ARCHITECTURE

T H E C IT Y O N YO U R D O O RS T E P

B.E. \ CONTEMPORARY, CONNECTED & CULTURED

J

LIZ McLACHLAN

B.E. beapartments.com.au 15 Brunswick Rd, Brunswick East ● Developer \ Jameson Capital ● Architect and Interior ROBIN LOWE

ust 3.6 kilometres from the CBD, B.E. is in a sought-after location in Melbourne’s “it” suburb of the north – Brunswick East. It is near diverse, multicultural dining and entertainment in Lygon Street and Sydney Road and the street borders Carlton, Fitzroy and Westgarth. Designed by RotheLowman, B.E. is a mid-rise, seven-storey development of 88 apartments. City views start from level one on the southern facade above development-protected Victorian cottages. Apartments feature stone benchtops, European oak flooring, pure wool carpets and Miele cooking appliances. Project completion is anticipated in late2019 and first-home buyers receive a $13,000 West Elm furniture package. Capital Property Marketing director Bryce Patterson says BE offers greater affordability than the neighbouring suburbs of Carlton, Fitzroy and Northcote. “The location is highly popular with local people, and others wanting to live near the city. Brunswick East has a younger energy with lots of edgy eateries and feels very international.” ●

Design \ RotheLowman ● Sales \ Capital Property Marketing Bryce Patterson 0412 056 838 or Jess Chen

SHARED ENJOYMENT

INTEGRATING ART

The communal spaces at B.E.

Recognised street artist

Road, Brunswick East (closes

include a residents’ lounge, a

Ghostpatrol, aka David Booth,

early June). Open \ noon-2pm

media room and a gym opening

is a local, passionate about

Wednesday and Thursday;

to an outdoor workout space

growing cities up rather

11am-1pm Saturday and Sunday

ideal for yoga on summer

than out. Collaborating with

● Construction \ Anticipated

mornings. The lounge features

architects RotheLowman, he

to start early June

seamless indoor and outdoor

has created five murals for B.E.,

● Internal size: 50-110 square

dining, entertaining and living

reflecting the area’s cultural

metres. Exterior: 7-126 square

space with a full kitchen and a

diversity, thriving live music

metres

large wall-mounted screen.

scene and authentic dining

PRICING GUIDE

culture.

One-bedroom \ from

0499 188 188 ● Display \ 15 Brunswick

$395,000 Two-bedroom \ from T $549,000 LOCATION \ From B.E., it’s 3.6 kilometres or a 12-minute cycle to the city, a two-minute walk to Nicholson Street trams and a one-

Three-bedroom \ from

minute cycle to the Capital City Trail. B.E. is near swags of mod eateries, bars, venues and specialist stores. ●

$980,000

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


FEATURE HOUSE NORTH MELBOURNE \ 479 DRYBURGH STREET 3

2

1

A

creative renovation, meticulously executed, took this lace-trimmed Victorian home on Hotham Hill to a new level in pleasurable urban living. Smartly decked out in forest green and white behind a picket fence, it presents a pretty face to the street. Off the arched central hallway, the main bedroom suite to the left has a walk-in wardrobe and en suite. The family bathroom, with soaker bath, separate shower and twin basins is also to the left. The other two bedrooms open to the right. The living area forms a U-shape to the covered wraparound deck and is designed to maximise the space available inside and out. An exposed brick wall adds gravitas and against this, the fireplace (with a steel surround set in a crisp white chimneypiece and flanked by custom joinery) is a gorgeous focal point. Glossy hardwood floors and white walls complete the background in this light and bright room. The Miele kitchen is a sleek and cohesive design with stainless-steel appliances against white handle-free cupboards and white bench tops. Overhead storage goes right to the ceiling, there are double wall ovens and an inset double sink. Bifold windows open to the outdoor dining section of the deck. At the rear of the house, the elevated deck offers storage underneath and there is a garden shed and covered carport accessed via Brougham Street. The double-fronted house is in a fabulous location. Royal Park is a few steps away; you might even hear the lions roar in Melbourne Zoo. North Park Tennis Club is across the road and the CBD is an easy walk. Schools, shops, cafes and transport are also close. The property, on a corner allotment, is zoned for University High and in the hospital and university precinct. North Melbourne has a fine mix of Victorian residential and commercial architecture. It was slower than many other inner suburbs to gentrify and this helped retain heritage streetscapes. Now, many of the factories and warehouses have been converted to apartments and the suburb has a youthful demographic and many fine cafes, bars and restaurants. ● BEVERLEY EVERLEY JOHANSON property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “THE CONTINUING LOCAL INFRASTRUCTURE IMPROVEMENTS – INCLUDING TWO TRAIN STA TATI TA ATIONS, A NEW SUPERMARKET AND QUEEN VICTORIA MARKET UPGRADE – WILL UNDERPIN CAPITAL PIT GROWTH.” TREVOR GANGE – AGENT PITAL

AGENT \ Jellis Craig 9328 8756 PRICE \ $2 million – $2.2 million AUCTION \ March 17 at 11am

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


ABBOTSFORD \ 129 CHARLES STREET 3

2

Recently completed, the renovation of this freestanding Victorian terrace created a sophisticated, finely detailed dwelling and added a raft of extras. Custom storage, double-glazed windows and doors, a mainsgas barbecue and full security with video intercom, alarms and CCTV enhance its amenity and comfort. A second storey, accessed by a single-stringer staircase, has been added and here the main bedroom suite is fitted with a walk-in wardrobe, en suite and study to create a light and stylish private zone. On the ground floor, two bedrooms and the family bathroom are off the hall. The living area follows with French oak floorboards, clerestory windows and a wall of glazing to the courtyard. The kitchen is an on-trend delight of black glass, stone benchtops and Smeg appliances. A full-height pantry is included and the waterfall island bench is wide and elegant. Located near Collingwood Town Hall, this property is close to some of Abbotsford’s best cafes, eateries and bars. ● BEVERLEY JOHANSON AGENT \ Collins Simms 9488 0688 PRICE \ $1.55 million – $1.65 million AUCTION \ March 17 at 11.30am Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

FAIRFIELD \ 58 RATHMINES STREET

CARLTON NORTH \ 624 CANNING STREET

3

3

1

1

1

1

Built circa 1905, Iona is a beautifully renovated, double-fronted Edwardian gem. Filled with character, the house showcases high ceilings with ornate roses, wide arched hallways, glossy timber floors, and open fireplaces. Three bedrooms are serviced by a grand central bathroom with clawfoot bath, while a spacious meals area opens onto a charming brick-paved courtyard. Modern amenities include air-conditioning, ducted heating, and a kitchen fitted with new stainless-steel appliances. The property occupies 320 square metres on a plane tree-lined street close to Yarra River parklands, shops, restaurants and cafes. ● ISABELLE LANE

Christened Dublinvilla, this pedimented terrace is a classic example of Victorian architecture on one of Carlton North’s most famous streets. Step beyond the lacework-adorned verandah and into an arched hallway that runs past a formal living room with an open fireplace, three bedrooms, and an updated central bathroom. A spacious living and dining room leads to a cosy kitchen fitted with premium appliances, custom cabinetry and a serving window that opens onto a charming paved courtyard with ROW access. Other highlights include polished floor boards, high ceilings, and ducted heating and cooling. Close to everything inner-city. ● ISABELLE LANE

AGENT \ Miles Real Estate 9497 3222 PRICE \ $1.35 million – $1.4 million AUCTION \ March 17 at 11am

AGENT \ Nelson Alexander 9347 4322 PRICE \ $1.5 million – $1.6 million AUCTION \ March 17 at 10.30am

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


We know real estate Committed to the Inner North At McGrath we believe in the best of both worlds. We believe in servicing the local area like a boutique agency with teams of community specialists. And with 100 local offices now open, we also believe in the value and strength of a nationwide network offering our clients the industry’s best technology and unrivalled marketing tools.

Northcote We’d love you to experience the McGrath advantage, 318-320 High Street just call us today. 9489 9422

18

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w


mcgrath.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


20

woodards.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


Results not promises since 1945.

Good. Better. Best. lovere.com.au

LOVE Reservoir 307 Spring Street ph 03 9460 6511

LOVE Preston 274 High Street ph 03 9471 0233

LOVE Thornbury 770 High Street ph 03 9480 2288

LOVE Thomastown 201 High Street ph 03 9465 2133

LOVE Mill Park 508 Plenty Road ph 03 9404 4955

LOVE Epping 780 High Street ph 03 9401 2322

lovere.com.au t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

21


1-5/12 Farnan Street Northcote .................................

2/3 Bed | 2 Bath | 1 Parking .................................

• Coveted Westgarth pocket • Leading architectural design - C. Kairouz Architects • Spacious living areas • Entertainer’s decking within landscaped gardens .................................

For Sale .................................

Bill Kyriakopoulos 0419 008 008 Evan Wailes 0437 081 986 9480 2288

172A Normanby Avenue Thornbury 2 Bed | 1 Bath | 1 Toilet | 2 Parking .................................

Auction Day Sat 17th Mar at 12.00 noon Open Day Thu 15 Mar 5:30 to 6:00pm & Sat 17 Mar 11:30 to 12:00pm .................................

Bill Kyriakopoulos 0419 008 008 Evan Wailes 0437 081 986

16 Arthur Street Preston 3 Bed | 1 Bath | 1 Parking .................................

Auction Day Sat 17th Mar at 2.00pm Open Day Thu 15 Mar 6:30 to 7:00pm & Sat 17 Mar 1:30 to 2:00pm .................................

Bill Kyriakopoulos 0419 008 008 Evan Wailes 0437 081 986

22

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w


As a full-service boutique agency, we offer a hands-on approach and a superior level of personal care and attention. At our core, we take great pride in our relationships with our all our clients especially our buyers – we speak to them often, we know where they are moving, and we know what they want. Good. Better. Best - since 1945. lovere.com.au

LOVE Reservoir 307 Spring Street ph 03 9460 6511

LOVE Preston 274 High Street ph 03 9471 0233

LOVE Thornbury 770 High Street ph 03 9480 2288

LOVE Thomastown 201 High Street ph 03 9465 2133

LOVE Mill Park 508 Plenty Road ph 03 9404 4955

LOVE Epping 780 High Street ph 03 9401 2322

lovere.com.au t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

23


FITZROY NORTH 5 Alfred Crescent Commanding a blue ribbon position directly opposite the Edinburgh Gardens and adjoining 180 St Georges Road (to be sold separately, combined area 635 sqm approx), this elegant double-fronted Victorian has been in the same hands for over 75 years; now the privilege and the pleasure is yours! This beautifully-presented, three bedroom Hawthorn brick home stands on a large 370 sqm allotment (approx.) with copious OSP. Nestled by the Fitzroy North Village easily accessing Brunswick St and the city.

Auction

Sunday 25th March at 11.30am

Inspect

Thursday 11-11.30am Saturday 4.15-5pm

-----------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------

Contact

Antony Harbor 0406 585 435 Antony Woodley 0421 286 741

-----------------------------------------

Price Guide Contact Agent

-----------------------------------------

Office

286 Queens Parade Fitzroy North 9488 0688

Web

www.5AlfredCrescentFitzroyNorth.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part of the Marshall White Group

24

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


FITZROY NORTH 180 St Georges Road If you want to get into Fitzroy North, go straight to the heart and give this two bedroom home on 265 sqms (approx.) your game-changing best by the Edinburgh Gardens, restaurants, cafĂŠs, Piedimontes, schools and trams. An incredibly rare opening with broad frontage, OSP, north-side ROW and adjoining 5 Alfred Crescent (to be sold separately, combined area 635 sqm approx). This freestanding home invites innovation with ample space to redefine with a multi-level extension or rebuild (STCA) for a sensational village lifestyle.

Auction

Sunday 25th March at 12pm

Inspect

Thursday 11-11.30am Saturday 4.15-5pm

-----------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------

Contact

Antony Harbor 0406 585 435 Antony Woodley 0421 286 741

-----------------------------------------

Price Guide $1,000,000 - $1,100,000

-----------------------------------------

Office

286 Queens Parade Fitzroy North 9488 0688

Web

www.180StGeorgesRoadFitzroyNorth.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part of the Marshall White Group

AUCTION FRI 23 MARCH AT 12 NOON ON-SITE

23 LITTLE OXFORD ST, COLLINGWOOD BOUTIQUE SITE, HOT POCKET > Zoning: Commercial 1 > Corner location > Approved Permit & Endorsed Plans for 6 levels > Mixed use Office/Retail/Residential > Metres to Gertrude and Smith Streets

*approx

Jeremy Gruzewski Liam Rafferty Fred Nucara

0422 211 021 0421 886 655 0418 567 560

Artist impression

8532 2222

beller.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

25


26

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


28

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


30

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

31


32

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

33


34

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


36

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

37


38

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


40

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


2J 1K 1L 364 KING STREET, WEST MELBOURNE PRIME POSITION BRILLIANT POTENTIAL Immediately liveable two storey brick terrace with a flexible floor plan ideal to renovate or refurbish (STCA) to either a formidable house or an office perched on the edge of the CBD. Comprises two bedrooms, lounge and dining areas, and an updated kitchen and bathroom. Features a north facing rear courtyard with valuable off street parking. Auction: Inspect: Contact:

17th March at 1.30pm Thursday 5.30 pm - 6.15 pm Saturday 1.00 pm - 1.30 pm Syd Sherrin 0418 530 452 Dylan Efron 0431 394 757

3J 1K 1L 54 ABBOTSFORD STREET, WEST MELBOURNE TIMELESS CLASSIC WITH POISE & POTENTIAL Immediately liveable, this well presented freestanding late Victorian home offers enormous scope to extend or enhance to your own style (STCA). Comprises three well proportioned bedrooms, a cosy formal lounge room, refurbished kitchen, dining and bathroom. Features a bright courtyard with excellent access to rear ROW. Ideal city fringe residence, or a brilliant investment, so close to major hospitals and universities. Auction: 24 March at 1.30pm Inspect: Wednesday 5.30 pm - 6.15 pm Saturday 3.00 pm - 3.45 pm Contact: Syd Sherrin 0418 530 452 Dylan Efron 0431 394 757

www.wbsimpson.com.au

Phone: 9328 1213

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


42

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


44

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


46

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


48

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

51


FAIRFIELD

2/19 RATHMINES STREET

Saturday 24th March at 10am

68 Barkly Street Fitzroy North IMPRESSIVE PROPORTIONS This large stately house, formally extended from its original build when previously owned by an architect.

AUCTION THIS SATURDAY @ 11.00 A.M. INSPECT FROM 10:30 A.M.

"SUPERBLY LOCATED" "SPACIOUS COURT YARD" Situated in this tree lined street in a small block of 6 apartments. We offer this immaculately presented ground floor strata title. Apartment comp security entrance with intercom, 2 spacious bedrooms (B.I.Rs). Spacious loungeroom (laminate flooring) separate kitchen. Features central bathroom, separate internal laundry facilities, off street parking. Suit 1st home buyer Investor etc.

Contact Tom: 0409877645 or Drew: 0409877646

With its 6 main rooms, bathrooms on both levels, the 224sqm land area with ROW access is comfortable

e: drew@thomasriddell.com.au

www.thomasriddell.com.au

762 HIGH STREET, THORNBURY PHONE 9484 0664

Thinking of selling your home?

C H I L L I REALTY

LOT 54 PARKVIEW RD ALPHINGTON

Reach buyers across Australia through advertising on Domain

PRICE $2.13M

3

2

2

YARRA BEND - PRESTIGIOUS PARKSIDE POSITION Nomination Sale - at 2016 Contract Price! Fronting Parkview Rd. and close to the river, this “House and Land” offering is one of the best. Located in the new Yarra Bend precinct, the land is due to settle late April 2018 and the building completion estimate is mid 2019. • • • • • • • • •

Contact your agent today

Three double bedrooms with ample robe storage Separate study room or fourth bedroom Entertainer’s kitchen with adjoining dining and family room Separate downstairs living room, laundry and powder room Upstairs en-suite, second bathroom and separate powder room Additional upstairs lounge room Dual zone ducted heating and cooling House size 265m2 (approx.) including single garage Land size 304m2 (approx.)

CONTACT: Peter Davies 0402 335 005 | sales@chillirealty.com.au www.chillirealty.com.au - FAIRFIELD - 9482 7440 T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

53


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services Trades Business Profile

V

E AREA RTHCOT S ING NO N YEAR SERVICR OVER TE FO

3u 19 -8 om.a d a y. c 9e9r v9 9 i c e To ww.S

We NEVE

Close 1

R

Lic. 2369

w

Call 1300 666 808 V

Deadline

V

Placing your classified advert is so easy... 1216151-ACM06-16

We accept payment by:

V

VISA/MASTERCARD/EFTPOS

Ask about our discounted ongoing advertising rates and how choosing more newspapers gives your advertising more impact and saves you money...

REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

0411 860 973

12378161-HM06-18

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

www.tbr.net.au

Builders & Building Services

V

SENIORS CARD

SERVICING NORTHCOTE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

WELCOME HERE

9998 2905

We NEVER

Close

www.Ser viceToday.com.au

Lic. 104391

*Not available with any other voucher or coupon

Painters/Decorators

EPS PAINTERS & DECORATORS

FULLY QUALIFIED TRADESMAN All building and carpentry works undertaken Extensions / Renovations / Wall Removals $ECKSs0ERGOLASs7EATHERBOARDS 25 years experience 1UALITYGUARANTEEDWITHRELIABLESERVICE

Brad 0408 446 887

V

Glass/Glazing

ALL BROKEN GLASS

G6737566AA-dc1Apr

1236521-HM31-16

(1.5% credit card processing fee applies. Cheques and money orders can be posted in or hand delivered to our local office)

Lic. 23691

Jason 1300 644 698

V

yes we can

Close

G6674033AA-dc4Mar

TOTAL QUALITY BATHROOMS AT AN AFFORDABLE COST. Pensioner Discount FREE QUOTES ✆ Mark

We NEVER

J.L. Hutt Electrical

Total Bathroom Renovations

(include your name, address and phone number)

All Classifieds: 1.30pm Friday

9999-8193

w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

for a free quote call 0412 519 052 or visit www.matrixbathrooms.com.au

Online: networkclassifieds.com.au (24/7) Phone: 1300 666 808 (Open 8.30-5pm Mon-Fri) Fax: 03 5945 0667 Email: sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

DEADLINES

SERVICING NORTHCOTE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

COMPLETE Bathroom Renovations Over 30 years experience

FRIENDLY SERVICE!

yes we can

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

Bathroom & Kitchens

For our FAST

Master Painter Over 30 years experience

Master Painters Australia R.N.1087

V DB-U 11103

0419 558 817 or 9363 3689

CRAIG’S GAS & PLUMBING General Plumbing No Job To Small

Plumbing

Specialist in Gas Appliance Service & Installation šI[hl_Y[je:kYj[Z>[Wj[hi"MWbb<khdWY[i"IfWY[>[Wj[hi šIjel[iEl[di">ejmWj[hH[fW_hi šH[fbWY[c[dj>ejMWj[hKd_ji">[Wj[hiIjel[i šF[di_ed[hZ_iYekdji

PLUMBER

Electricians

CAFFYN PLUMBING PTY. LTD

12380373-CG10-18

can yes we

ur se in o dverti w “We a eekly Revie local W urne Times Melbo customers l our to let f the specia o g in o g know e v we ha h the deals reac and to ommunity” er c broad - Zak

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

12351179-CG19-17 12323358-LN38-16

g Lightin ints Power Po ta & Da Phone er Hot Wat e... And mor

Call Us Today...

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

1152285-PB36-14

g ricin All P-Front Up

ic ia n s

Call Us Today For our FAST FRIENDLY SERVICE!

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

Plumbing

Northcote Plumbers

Northcote Electricians

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise. 12328755-CG43-16

No

E le c tr rt h c o te

V

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Electricians

12325182-LN40-16

V

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Place your ad in print and online

Phone: 9379 1733

9386 3000

www.craigsgas.com

LIC 33201

section of Network Classifieds.

General Plumbing, Gas Fittings, Blocked Drains, Roofing, Hot & Cold, Water Renewals, House Renovations. We accept these cards

Your advert can appear in print and online!

24 HRS 7 DAYS

G6240479AA-dc28Aug

Real Estate

1156305-HM40-14

*Domestic *Commercial *Industrial

LN 31439

Trades & Services

section of Network Classifieds.

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

54

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


177646

DB-L-29449

David: 0425 811 882 Ash: 0403 619 333

 Free Quote  All Suburbs  Insurance  Elevation

 17 Years Guarantee  10% Pensioner Discount  Council Permit Supplied  Computer Levelling

Employment V

AARON & JOHNâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S DEMOLITION & RUBBISH REMOVALS â&#x20AC;˘ Demolition Specialists â&#x20AC;˘ Backyard Cleanups â&#x20AC;˘ Concrete Broken or Cut & Removed â&#x20AC;˘ Tree Lopping & Removal â&#x20AC;˘ Rental Cleanups â&#x20AC;˘ Deceased Estate Cleanups We Take Anything Away

Call 0434 525 311

V

G6133636AA-dc2Jul

Tiling

0432 774 645

V

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

AARONâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S TILING

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: â&#x20AC;˘ Floor & Wall Tiles â&#x20AC;˘ Old & New Homes â&#x20AC;˘ Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

Windows

WINDOWS 1 Window Replacement Service Timber or Aluminium Free Measure and quote

Member HIA and MBA

1216352-LB06-16

9703 1530

www.windows1.net.au

Professional Services V

Bookkeeping

Bookkeeping For all small business ON/ OFF Site Payroll, GST, General Bookkeeping CBD & surrounds

0417 598 373 www.theabc.com.au 12378658-RA07-18

Real Estate section of Network Classifieds.

&%' %URWKHO

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

2SHQKRXUV

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

SWA4281be

Body Rubs

V

Phone - 1300 Escort 1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

32 Montefiore Street

Celebrations section of Network Classifieds.

V

V

Massage Therapists

Massage Therapy

Relaxation. 305 Queensberry St, North Melbourne. 7 days. Telephone: 9077 7620.

Employment

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Find it in the

Massage Therapists

BEST Thai Massage Phuket Retreat. 9486 8887. 373 St Georges Rd, Fitzroy Nth. 7 days. 10am-10pm.

9696 9199

PROPOSAL TO UPGRADE A MOBILE PHONE BASE STATION AT MELBOURNE. Optus plans to upgrade a telecommunications facility at 408 LaTrobe St MELBOURNE VIC 3000 (RFNSA No. 3000263). 1. The proposal consists of: Â&#x2021;7KHUHSODFHPHQWRIWKUHH  H[LVWLQJ5HPRWH Radio Units (RRUâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s) with three (3) new RRUâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s WREHLQVWDOOHGRQWRWKHH[LVWLQJURRIWRS structure; Â&#x2021;7KHLQVWDOODWLRQRIDQFLOODU\HTXLSPHQW including the aforementioned RRUâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s and ZRUNVWRWKHH[LVWLQJVWUXFWXUH 2. Optus regards the proposed installation as a Low-impact Facility under the Telecommunications (Low-impact Facilities) Determination 1997 (â&#x20AC;&#x153;The Determinationâ&#x20AC;?) based on the description above. 3. Further information can be obtained from Shaun Wheatland on behalf of Optus, (02) 9495 9064, VKDXQZKHDWODQG#D[LFRPFRPDX and at http://www.rfnsa.com.au/3000263 4. Written submissions should be sent to: 6KDXQ:KHDWODQGDW$[LFRP3W\/WG /HYHO3DFLĂ&#x20AC;F+LJKZD\ St Leonards NSW 2065 by 5pm Wednesday 28th of March 2018.

Buy, Rent & Sell in our

Adult Services

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

4. Written submissions should be sent to: Metasite, PO Box 31, CROWS NEST, NSW, 1585 by 29th March 2018

Rubbish Removal

V

Manhattan Terrace

3. Further information can be obtained from Joel Stuart of Metasite (02) 9439 1006, joel.stuart@metasite.com.au and at www.rfnsa.com.au referring to the RFNSA reference number above.

section of Network Classifieds.

Adult Services

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

2. Optus regards the proposed installation as a Lowimpact Facility under the Telecommunications (Low-impact Facilities) Determination 2018 (â&#x20AC;&#x153;The Determinationâ&#x20AC;?) based on the description above.

Find work locally in the

Anytime, Any place Get 10% Discount Use code: GSDISCOUNT

Fairfield

9482 3835

V

Positions Vacant

Need New Staff? Place your vacancy online Anytime, anyplace

GET 10% DISCOUNT

Mel: 31A8 swa6413b

Use code: EMPDISC www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Auctions

AUCTION CLEARING SALE Sunday 18th March 2018 at 10am (Gates open at 8.30am) 2 Brex Court, Reservoir 3073 MASSIVE STOCK LIQUIDATION - 100â&#x20AC;&#x2122;s of items!!! 1000â&#x20AC;&#x2122;s of square metres of New Tiles, Forklifts, Tool boxes, Lights, Street Sweeper, Pallet racking, 100â&#x20AC;&#x2122;s of mixed items including 3 Gun safe x6, 6 Shelf gun safe x28, Drop safe digital x 15, Drop safe keylock x1, Pistol case 6mm small x15, Pistol case 10mm large x16, Pistol case 10mm small x29, Canopy 2x2m x79, Canopy 2x2.5m x44, Canopy 2.9x2.9m x14, Canopy 2x3m x24, Canopy 2.9x4.3m x19, Tuckaway baby highchair x860, Single Swag x81, Single Gun case diamond x49, Double Gun case diamond x28, Single Gun case Camo x17, Single Pistol case Camo x25, Double Pistol case Camo x25, Double Pistol case Camo x15, Pistol Range case black x10, AMMO case diamond x3, PVC Pistol suit case black x25, ATV 2 Wheeler ramp single x26, Hunting Trigger lock x25, Bow bag x140, Gun bag x43, Car or personal digital safe x43, Small bag x320, Medium bag x320, Shooters vest x300, Gaiters x300, Ammo pouch x320, Gun strap x340, Shot gun 16 gauge belt leather x300, .22 belt leather x300, .222 belt leather x300, 30.06 belt leather x300, 40L Fridge x10, 60L demo Double zone fridge x1, 150L Single zone fridge x2, Camo shade chair x273, Shade chair olive x264, shade chair blue x244, Shade chair red x78, QF30050 250 Rubber clamp x80, QF20020 500 Rubber clamp x490, QF40010 24 Rubber clamp x20, QF50050 12 Rubber clamp x10, QF60060 24 Rubber clamp x23, QF11050 12 Rubber clamp x10, QF11060 12 Rubber clamp x10, QF90050 12 Rubber clamp 12, Mini clamp x2900, Medium clamp x2900, Long arm clamp x2900, Mobile phone holder x2950, Wasp trap x4985, Fat tyre bike x44, Bike rack/holder x988, Steel zip tie x2000, Postage bag x6400, Real estate sign x312, Soy bean milk maker x25, Bath tub line hanger x32, Vacuum sealer x7. Please note that quantities are approximate only, no guns or ammunition is for sale & the photos & quantities are preliminary - There will be a final list of items up for Auction will be published in the Auction Catalogue that will be available to download from our website before the auction. Inspection day of sale from 8.30am ~ Payment & Removal on day of sale by cash, EFTPOS or CC ~ 15% BP applies to all sales ~ Refreshments available

M.E. Auctions - Clearing Sale Specialists Phone: 0418 509 134 www.martinevansauctions.com

V

Business Opportunities

Cleaning Contract

Guaranteed takings of $2,600 pw. General cleaning contracts avail with leading brand company Cheap As Chips. Current operators currently taking inexcessive $3,500 per week. Husband & wife teams welcome. Training Available. This is a business Opportunity. Call: 9826 1111 or 0415 326 685.

Find your Local Specialist in our

Professional Services section of Network Classifieds.

Sell your item for FREE in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au 12376256-LB03-18

12340946-PB09-17

Tel: 9309 2351

V

1. The proposal comprises installing the following equipment on the existing rooftop facility; - 3 sectors with 1 panel antenna per sector: each no longer than 2.8 metres in length; - Ancillary equipment associated with operation of the facility including but not limited to: cable trays, cabling/feeders, earthing, electrical works, and 18 x Radio Remote Units (RRUs); - 3 x Equipment cabinets/shelters;

9314 8800

24 Buchanan Rd, Brooklyn

Site Address: 182 Collins St, Melbourne VIC 3000 RFNSA reference: 3000153

* Private party only * Items must be under $100 * 4 weeks in print and online

12352061-CG20-17

REBLOCKING & UNDERPINNING

Octopuses

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

977914

G6519072AA-dc21Jan

PLACE YOUR GARAGE SALE AD ONLINE

Beautiful NEW Hot Ladies... Plus your usual favourites.

12349705-CG17-17

ALL AROUND

Itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Fun Time..... With....

Many languages spoken by our ladies.

Optus Mobile Pty Ltd (Optus) plans to install at an existing telecommunications facility at the below site;

Garage Sales

12381898-ACM12-18

9309 0700 - 0411 174 000

V

12373088-LB48-17

Contact Simon:

PROPOSAL TO INSTALL MOBILE PHONE BASE STATION

Adult Services SWA5693be

1171586-RC06-15

 Full Insurance  All work Council approved  15 years guarantee  All Council permits supplied  100% computer levelling  Concrete pump used  15 years experience  For a free quote and advice

12381755-RC12-18

5

STAR

V

Public Notices and Event

FIVE STAR REBLOCKING & UNDERPINNING G6638324AA-dc18Feb

  

V

General Classifieds

1193032-LN31-15

Reblocking/Underpinning

V



General Notices 12382327-CG12-18

Trades & Services


GO FOR GOLD!

WIN BI BIG IG WITH OUR 50 TH ANNIVER ANNIVERSARY R SARY CELEBRATIONS

Go into the draw to

WIN

A MAZDA2 NEO

#

Service your Mazda with Max for a double chance to win a ce vo ucher* service voucher

TO CELEBRATE MAX KIRWA KIRWAN’S N’S 50TH ANNIVERSARY, WE’RE GIVING AWAY Y GOL GOLDEN LDEN GOODIES. 1 Buy a new, used or demo vehicle.

2 Spin ourr prize wheel. 3 Win instant golden goodies in store. Plus go in the draw to w win a Mazda2 Neo. That’s gold.

maxkirwan.com.au/goforgold m{ZD{ 3

m{ZD{ 2 NEO SEDAN AND HATCH

NEO SEDAN AND HATCH • 16-inch alloy wheels • Rear parking sensors • Cruise control + more

• Rear parking sensors • Bluetooth® + more 2017 Plate from only

$16,990° DRIVEAWAY + $500 GOLD BONUS^

m{zd{ CX-3 m{zd

$21,490

DRIVEAWAY

+ $1000 GOLD BONUS^

m{zd{ cx-5

STYLISH S SMALL SUV

AUSTRALIA’S FAVOURITE SUV

• Blind Spot Monitoring • MZD Conn Connect + more 2017 Plate w with

FREE FRE

2017 Plate from only +

12 MONTHS REGO & CTP Ø STAMP DUTYØ

• LED Headlamps • Rear Parking Sensors • Smart City Brake Support

+ $1000 GOLD BONUS^

+ $1000 GOLD BONUS^

120 BELL STREET PRESTON

LMCT 1293

9480 3555

AH: Guang 0401 541 323 or Alex 0422 053 238 | www.maxkirwan.com.au Private Buyers only. Images for illustrative purposes only. Mazda2 not available in gold. # Promotion is available to private and small business buyers of new, used or demonstrator vehicles only between 1/3/18 and 30/6/18. Government and large fleet purchases excluded. See www.maxkirwan.com.au/goforgold for full terms & conditions. * Promotion is available to eligible service customers who have scheduled services and retail repairs undertaken and paid for between 1/3/18 and 30/6/18. Offer excludes first service, warranty repairs, recalls and services paid for by fleet companies. Warranty and recall repair orders are excluded. See www.maxkirwan.com.au/goforgold for full terms & conditions. ° Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for 2017 Plate Mazda2 Neo manual sedan or hatch. ^ Gold Bonus offers valid until 31 March 2018 and available on 2017-build models only. ø 2017 Plate Mazda CX-3 offer of Free Registration and Compulsory Third Party Insurance are for 12 months only. 101211

The Weekly Review Melbourne Times  

March 14-20, 2018

The Weekly Review Melbourne Times  

March 14-20, 2018

Advertisement