Page 1

INSIDE FOOD & DRINK + S LOW FA S HI O N + SAM WOOD + EAST ARNHEM LAND + NOVEMBER 29 -DECEMBER 5, 2017

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

“I sh

d e y la p e v a h t ’ n d oul

h t o an

f a e m a g er

” d e i d l i h P r e t

MICHAEL CLARKE T H E C R I C K E T G R E AT ’ S E M O T I O N A L I N T E R V I E W W I T H P E T E R W I L M O T H

DOWNLOAD AUSTRALIA’S #1 PROPERTY PROPERTY APPGUIDE MELBOURNE’S BEST MELBOURNE TIMES


Capture your vision Build your future

Together, we’ll bring your vision to reality. From brief to design to building, Destination Living brings personalised thinking to help you create a unique environment designed for your life.

Our approach is streamlined, quality controlled and most importantly collaborative; helping you maximise the opportunities of narrow blocks, dual occupancies and difficult sites. Your voice is our guide at every stage of the process as we turn your project into a living reality.

Turn your vision into reality destinationliving.com.au

1300 637 837


C O M PI L E D BY M I R A N DA TAY

SUET DREAMS \ Silver Penny uses traditional suet to create a special depth and richness in their Christmas puddings (from $14). Serve hot, with the award-winning spiced brandy sauce (from $6.75). ●

DANSK PHOTOGRAPHY

SUPPLIED

silverpennypuddings.com

BLOCK PARTY \ The silly season is here for kidults who Lego at a special Yuletide ‘Bricktacular’ Adult Night. ● Chadstone, November 30, $32.50 each. Book at legolanddiscoverycentre.com.au

EAT DRINK PLAY LOVE ●

Submissions email | miranda@mirandatay.com

E M I LY G R E E N \ L OV E BAG , $ 89

IT’S IN THE BAG \ Five of the world’s most influential trendsetters are putting SUPPLIED

their best clutch forward in Kholo’s fun influencer competition. Spot the

100 per cent Instagrammable fairy floss puff – is now at 564R Burke Road, Camberwell. ● @hashspecialtycoffee

SUPPLIED

winner in the label’s FAIRY TALE \ Hash’s signature hot chocolate – 85 per cent Mork chocolate,

upcoming Daisies collection. ● kholo.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3


MELBOURNE TIMES

Competitions GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these prizes, go online to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, December 3.

PICTURE DESK \ KYLIE THOMSON kthomson@theweeklyreview.com.au PROPERTY PRODUCER \ ALEAH ESPANTA aleah.espanta@domain.com.au REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ REBECCA WARNER \ 0448 317 687 \ rebeccawarner@domain.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ GEORGIE McLEOD \ 9249 5286 \ gmcleod@theweeklyreview.com.au MANAGING DIRECTOR, DOMAIN VICTORIA & PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON \ tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 58,456 COPIES

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Michael Clarke photographed by Matthew Abbott

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

WIN \ SMIGGLE PRIZE PACKS

WIN \ CHRIS’ DIPS HAMPERS

WIN \ SCRABBLE PACKS

WORTH $114

WORTH $150

WORTH $79

Smiggle is giving you the opportunity

Since 1982 Chris’ Dips has been

Strewth! Mattel has created a

to win one of three Crafty Christmas

bringing people together with

world-first country-specific version

prize packs. Do you have a crafty

fresh homestyle dips, desserts and

of Scrabble. To celebrate the launch

kid? Do they like to stick, shape and

yoghurts made locally in Melbourne.

of Aussie Scrabble, featuring a

make? Smiggle has some amazing

Here’s your chance to win one of

home-grown glossary of slang

DIY kits and craft books to keep

two hampers packed with the

words, Mattel is offering four prize

your kids busy this Christmas and all

entire range, perfectly plated for

packs each containing Aussie

summer long.

entertaining.

Scrabble and Original Scrabble.

● smiggle.com.au

● eatloveshare.com.au

● bigw.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from November 15: Justin Chiew, Sharma De Abrew, Sophie Derham, Christopher Horne, Michelle Ragany Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

Chair: Fjordfiesta, Rug: Hanna Korvela, Table: De Mobler

4

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


The editor’s desk Reader view

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

BY MARK HEYMAN, 2.14 pm \ St Kilda

Skater dude. Although the skateboard park at St Kilda is usually chaotic and noisy, this image in black and white feels quite serene – an action

There’s a reason we like to call our sports stars “heroes”. We want them to be better, stronger – invulnerable to the same injuries and injustices that can fell we lesser mortals. But, of course, just because someone’s handy with a tennis racket or a cricket bat doesn’t make them indestructible. As Michael Clarke reveals in this week’s cover story, even someone as “heroic” as the Australian cricket captain can be knocked for six by life’s unexpected tragedies. In a deeply personal interview with Peter Wilmoth, he reveals the terrible impact the death of his close friend and teammate Phil Hughes had on him. It’s not all sad, though, he also talks about his joy at being a father and fulfilling new life after cricket. Enjoy! ●

moment frozen in time. ● 1/1250 sec ● f/5 ● ISO 100

Jane

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture +T Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

YO U T U B E

Help us celebrate our 21st birthday instore and online WITH

%

21 of f EVERYTHING

FREE GIFT WITH ANY INSTORE SHOE PURCHASE!*

SATURDAY 2ND OF DECEMBER ONLY! INSTORE AT: 360 Queens Parade 277 Brunswick St

OR VISIT: WWW.CINORI.COM.AU

Clifton Hill VIC 3068 Fitzroy VIC 3065 Offer available at all Cinori boutiques and online. Offer is valid until store closure, or online until 11:59pm AEDT on 2/12/2017. Free gift only applies to purchases made in-store & is available while stocks last. No phone orders accepted. Promotion not available in conjunction with any other offer.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


“I STILL HAVE DAYS WHERE IT’S HEARTBREAKING”

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

MICHAEL CLARKE WEARS HUGO BOSS. ● SHOT ON LOCATION AT NORTH BONDI SURF LIFE SAVING CLUB


I N T E RVI E W ● PE T E R WI L M O T H

PI C T U R E S ● M AT T H E W A B B O T T

MICHAEL CLARKE REFLECTS ON FATHERHOOD, RETIREMENT & LOSING HIS BEST MATE

M

ichael Clarke may have retired as Australia’s cricket captain and as one of the world’s best batsmen, but his footwork skills remain in high demand. Now, though, it’s his two-year-old daughter Kelsey Lee’s possessions he needs to be mindful of. “I said to (my wife) Kyly when we had our little girl, ‘This lounge area in the house, this is for me to watch the footy or cricket,” Michael says. “She said, ‘Of course, babe.’” It didn’t turn out that way. “Our whole house is about our little girl. Toys, prams, babychairs everywhere. You’ve got to be good on your feet. “My little girl loves her tea sets, so we have these mini tea sets, knives and forks. Her new phase is a cubby house. We built a cubby in the lounge, blankets everywhere, we sit in the middle of the cubby house and have a cup of tea.” It’s a new world for Michael, 36, who has swapped touring the world for 14 years as a Test cricketer for a less stressful life in Sydney, focusing on family, fitness, commentating with Channel 9, running his Michael Clarke Cricket Academy, indulging in his hobbies (cars and boats) and his business life which includes a role as ambassador for the Hublot watch brand as well as Hugo Boss. He’s in a great place. “I don’t miss playing cricket at all,” he insists. “I was asked this year to play cricket for my club but I said no. I feel the businesses, the commentary and my academy keeps me close enough to cricket without wanting to be back on the field.” Michael retired in 2015 after the final Test of the Ashes series against England in August. After the death of his team-mate and close friend Phillip Hughes in 2014, Michael struggled to play on and now reveals he should have retired that day. “It’s definitely always with me,” he says. “I didn’t allow myself to grieve at the time because I had responsibility to his family, firstly, but then also as Australia’s cricket captain to my teammates and getting us back out onto the field. “It took me a lot longer to grieve his loss than it should have, or that I would have liked.” Does it get easier? “Well, life moves forward,” he says, “but I still have days regularly where it’s heartbreaking. It’s still raw … the emotion and pain is still there. “I shouldn’t have played another game. My career should have stopped then. It was too hard for me. My greatest strength as a small boy growing up and all through my career was that I was never scared.

The faster they bowled, the easier it would be to score. I liked batting without a helmet on occasions; they’d bowl at your head and I’d love playing the hook or the pull shot. “Even if it was just my sub-conscious, when I lost one of my best mates playing the game that we love, I think my subconscious worked out that you can actually die playing this sport. Even if it was the smallest bit of fear, you can’t play at the highest level like that.”

Me & my mate: Michael Clarke & Phil Hughes leave the field during the Second Test against South Africa, March 8, 2009 in Durban. HAMISH BLAIR \ GETTY IMAGES

H

e went to the West Indies in June 2015 which he says was a mistake. “Going to the West Indies was probably the worst tour of my life in regards to how emotional I was,” he says. “I was there on my own. Unfortunately Kyly couldn’t come because she was pregnant and we weren’t comfortable with her flying. “I had six weeks in the West Indies … whatever we had on as a team during the day I would go back to my room every night and just cry myself to sleep.” He says having a family is easier now that he’s retired. “For me it was perfect timing. It was another reason why I knew it was the right time to

retire because I couldn’t spend 10 months of the year away from my little girl.” Becoming a father, he says, has “softened” him. “It probably allows me to relate a lot more to the emotional side of a person,” he says. “As a sportsman and a husband I think I was very stuck in my ways. Having a little girl has softened me a lot. I wish we had her 10 years earlier because she’s been the best thing for me.”

E

ach day Michael gets to the gym at 5.30am and is home by seven when Kelsey Lee wakes up. He spends the morning with her and then goes to the office until 3.30pm. “My day is very structured. When I played cricket for Australia I was very structured. Fitness, family, business.” He says retirement can be challenging. “I think there is definitely a transition period,” he says. “Once you leave professional sport at the highest level you realise that you live in a bubble, and I mean that respectfully, but everything’s done for you. Your flights are booked and paid for, you’re told what time to get to the airport, accommodation is paid for, you’re told where to get to, your food is paid for and brought to your room … to walk outside that can be, for some, difficult. “My personality is that I like that responsibility and accountability. If we’re going on a holiday I’ll make sure the car’s booked (and) has a baby seat … I’m a very organised and structured person. If something goes wrong, I know who to blame, it will be me.” Reflecting on life on the road, he believes the importance of family and close friends around is under-rated. “I always felt having my wife with me on tour helped my game,” he says. “You knew you had a partner in crime, you knew you had someone you could be very honest and open with, you had someone who could take your mind off cricket. “My wife is not really into cricket … I’d come home from a game and she’d say, ‘How did you go? I’d say ‘Babe, I got 10’. She’d say ‘How good’s that? Someone got 0, you got 10, it’s good’. ‘No, I wanted 100’. That’s the stuff that I believe is great for your life. I believe kids take that to even another level.” ●

● Michael Clarke returns to the Channel Nine commentary team for the 2017\2018 summer of cricket. ● Hublot watches available at Monards monards.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


BY M I C H A E L H A R D E N

DRINK

GRAHAM DENHOLM

Juiced up

T R AC E Y L E S T E R WHAT I’M DRINKING \ Healthy alternatives to alcohol and the sugary concoctions we often mix it with. ● superfluid.me

Tracey Lester knows about pubs. The rollicking Carlton Club in the city, Windsor Castle in Windsor and The Gertrude Hotel in Fitzroy are all hers. But as well as being a publican of venues renowned for their good times, Tracey is also health conscious. And this is where her latest business Superfluid kicks in. “In Australia health and socialising don’t often go hand in hand,” she says. “If you go out to the pub and don’t want to drink alcohol, people think you’re either pregnant or a social leper. I just wanted to provide options other than staying home for people who don’t want to drink alcohol.” Superfluid is the name of a new “grab and go” cold-pressed juice and plantbased food store at The Carlton Club. A second outlet will open soon at The Gertrude Hotel. But Superfluid is also a range of smartly packaged juices, tonics and “mylks” (with various nut milks as their base), with added organic ingredients designed to enhance mood, energy, libido, immunity and skin health. Tracey developed the range, which is also available online, with chef Tristan Newman (ex-Cutler & Co, Tetsuya’s) to ensure the balance of flavours in each blend is as attractive as the health claims. “It’s all about food as medicine,” says Tracey. “But it’s also about being fired up on herbs and enzymes so you can party all night but not feel terrible the next day. It’s the way I’ve always done it.” ●

New release by Gill Del Mace Ferdinand

Knife Thrower 3

Christmas Night Market THURSDAY 30TH NOVEMBER FROM 5.30 – 8.30PM ALONG HIGH STREET PLUS MUSICAL ENTERTAINMENT! 8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

IVANHOE PICTURE FRAMING 99 Upper Heidelberg Rd Ivanhoe 3079 9499 1989

www.ivanhoepictureframing.com.au


R E VI E W BY JA N E H U T C H I N S O N

FOOD

BKK

SAMJAMPHOTO.COM

SEAN TA T K

SHUTTERSTOCK

GIDEON HEINE

LIT TLE BITES

3 OF A KIND

FEED ME FEAST

● bkkrestaurant.com.au

GREAT GREEK FOOD

WHISKY BUSINESS

MAMA ON THE MOVE

HIDDEN BARS \

Enjoy tradtional gyros and

Whether you’re a whisky expert

Fitzroy locals have been

Seek out these secretive

souvlaki – plus delicious hand-

or novice, there is a new place

savouring Mama Manoush’s

drinking dens.

cut chips – at Greek eatery

to embrace the dark spirit. The

contemporary Lebanese cuisine

Spitaki in Fairfield. These are

Whisky Boutique on Collins

for the past three years, but

Loch & Key

just some of the simple and tasty

Street is designed to encourage

now it’s East Brunswick’s turn

34 Franklin Street, city

hellenic favourites you’ll find at

experimenting with whiskies

to fall for Mama. Her new, larger

lochandkey.com.au

John Ghionis’ new venture. ●

from all over the world – from

Brunswick digs is dishing up

famous single malts to obscure

chicken wings, kafta, tabouli and

Jungle Boy

small-batch brands. ●

kebkabett. ●

96 Chapel Street, Windsor

The Whisky Boutique,

Mama Manoush,

425 Collins Street, city.

175-177 L Lygon Street, East

Pizza Pizza Pizza

Wednesday – Saturday

Brunswick

16 Meyers Place, city

mscollins.com.au

mamamanoush.com.au

pizzapizzapizza.com.au

Spitaki, 115 Station Street, Fairfield spitakisouvlaki.com

C O M PI L E D BY B R E N DA N BA L E

● BKK ● 2 Duke Street, Windsor ● 03 9533 2342

BRI HAMMOND

There’s some good news and bad news for lovers of funky, South-East Asian feasts. First the bad news: Saigon Sally, that sassy purveyor of Vietnamese flavours and cool cocktails is no more. The good news? In its place has popped up BKK, a paredback den slinging some of the best street-food style Thai this side of the Yarra. Gone are Sally’s sexy pop-art murals; now there’s a Bangkok backstreet vibe with rough concrete walls and backlit glass bricks that cast a tangerine Bladerunner-like glow. The Commune group (also behind Saigon Sally, as well as Hanoi Hannah, and Tokyo Tina) have installed ex-Nahm and Chin Chin chef Sean Judd in the kitchen, and he pitches the heat just right between authentically fiery and incendiary. And, if you can’t stand the heat, there’s a great selection of beers or a cooling basil and cucumber mocktail to douse the pain. It’s worth ordering the $59 “feed me” feast which kicks off with zingy betel leaves stuffed with smoked trout, pomello and ginger, and moreish fried chicken ribs, ramps up with a fiery grilled eggplant salad and sticky pork skewers, and fills you up with rolled rice noodles with sweet soy and a southern-style chicken curry. End on a sweet note with chilli sugar doughnuts and palm sugar custard.

jboy.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


SIA

Secretive Australian songstress Sia returns to home ground this week as part of her world-conquering Nostalgic For The Present tour.

Who is she? Born in Adelaide, Sia started out as an acid jazz singer, before sliding into making quirky pop records. She hit the big time after she started writing for other performers and French DJ David Guetta used her demo of Titanium. Her next two albums were mainstream hits across the globe.

MARY ELLEN MATTH A ATTH EWS

Why can’t I see her face? Sia retired from performing in 2010. Although she’s since returned to the stage, she’s big on anonymity. Live, she stands motionless with her face concealed while a dancer performs on her behalf. I still feel I’ve seen her somewhere. You might not have seen her face, but Sia recently trolled internet hackers by releasing the nude photo they were using to blackmail her. Talk about turning the other cheek. One song I should hear before the gig. Breakthrough single Chandelier from 1000 Forms of Fear finds exhilaration in self-destruction – three minutes of searing power-pop that showcases Sia’s extraordinary vocal range. ●

SIA \ AAMI Park, November 30, tickets on resale from $150

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

THE HIT LIST

● siamusic.net

FILM \

GIG \

BALLET \

MUSIC \

Goodbye Christopher Robin

Paul McCartney

Coppelia

U2 \ Songs of Experience

In cinemas now, Rated PG,

AAMI Park, December 5 & 6,

Arts Centre Melbourne,

Out December 1 through

107 minutes,

from $70.25,

December 8 & 9, from $35

Universal

● foxsearchlight.com/

● paulmccartney.com

● artscentremelbourne.com.au

● u2.com

goodbyechristopherrobin/

10

We’re being spoiled for the big

Ballet’s future meets its golden

Most people haven’t forgiven

There’s stiff upper lips aplenty

gigs this month, and you don’t

age past as The Australian Ballet

U2 for foisting their last album

in this moving drama about the

get much bigger than a Beatle.

School stages Dame Peggy van

onto our iPhones. The outrage

creation of everyone’s favourite

You mightn’t have noticed, but Y

Praagh’s enchanting production

drowned out some strong songs.

bear. Playwright A.A. Milne

Paul’s most recent album was

of Coppelia. The story is a

A few duff tracks aside, the

(Domnhall Gleeson) returns from

actually pretty great. Still, it’s

fairytale delight, free of the

new LP is even better. Stealing

the war unable to pen any more

safe to say most of us are here

tragic nastiness of your Swan

back from the likes of Coldplay

comedies. His son inspires him to

for the oldies. At 74, Macca works

Lakes and Giselles, and carried

and the Killers, it’s not so much

capture the joy of childhood, but

as hard as ever, playing marathon

by sumptuous costumes and a

groundbreaking as a fine work of

success wreaks a bitter toll. ●

sets of Beatles and solo hits. ●

jaunty score. ●

self-tribute. ●

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

C O M PI L E D BY M Y K E B A R T L E T T

Q&A Q& &A

I N T E RVI E W BY M Y K E B A R T L E T T

ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT


DESIGN & ST YLE

Lois Hazel

L

“We feel deeply connected to our Melbourne ladies,” says Tess McCabe, marketing manager for Obus, a modern, pared-back women’s label offering exclusive vibrant prints and natural fibres. “Melbourne style is so diverse but we love eye-catching, creative design and individuality. Melburnians also love to support local independent businesses and to wear clothing with a story behind it,” she says. “It’s wonderful to see consumers beginning to understand that, while manufacturing locally comes with a higher price tag, there is a high cost ethically and environmentally from mass produced products made cheaply,” says Tess. “While it’s not easy to manufacture all our items in Melbourne, we are obsessed with longevity, quality and versatility.” ●

NOT SO FAST LUCY CLEEVE MEETS THE LOCAL LABELS LEADING THE CHARGE AGAINST FAST FASHION

Coco & Max creates exotic fusions of futuristic and retro styles, but there’s no mistaking their roots. “Our screen prints are done in Fitzroy, yardage cotton prints in Collingwood, our

“There is so much creativity in this city, especially in fashion – so many new and exciting brands all doing their own thing and more Melbourne retailers willing to take the risk on new labels,” says Lois McGruerFraser, designer of “honest womenswear” label Lois Hazel, known for their beautiful, timeless silhouettes. “By basing our brand in Melbourne and connecting with other small businesses, local makers and suppliers, you get to create a wonderful team of people – like a family,” she says. “I think the younger generation are starting to understand the important aspects of ethical consumerism, and can see the positive impact their buying habits can have on the industry,” says Lois. “We want to create a connection between the consumer and everyone involved in piecing our garments together, to help them slow down and appreciate our pieces.”● loishazel.com

Avila C O C OA & MAX

obus.com.au

Coco & Max

SUPPLIED

Obus

LOIS HAZEL

SUPPLIED

ook at the rise in popularity of our local beer industry – imagine if that could happen in the fashion world too,” muses Tessa Arnold, designer and owner of local label, Coco & Max. “Melbourne is a growing city full of fast-fashion giants, but that’s strengthening our point of difference,” says Tessa. “People love finding out where, how and who makes their clothes.” Do you know who makes your clothes? If you’re like most Melburnians, the answer is no – but things are changing and there’s a growing backlash against everything “fast”. Meet the proud, #MadeinMelbourne labels leading the slow charge towards a better, more sustainable industry. ●

studio’s in North Carlton and our factory is in Coburg,” says designer Tessa. “Our customers are reducing their carbon footprint as well as getting high-quality garments they won’t find anywhere else.” “Our collections are always limited edition and because we oversee

production, the quality is always 100 per cent,” says Tessa. “And clothing is more powerful than people think. What you buy can have a knock on reaction. This creates the butterfly effect through clothing – every small action can and will make a big difference.” ● cocoandmax.com.au

“Melbourne consumers are really starting to question brands on their ethics and sustainable practices,” says Ashleigh Bingham, founder and designer of Avila, maker of luxe staples and athleisure wear for women. “These issues are becoming an important part of the decision-making process for shoppers and that is a really positive change. “We focus on making classic items that last season after season with fabrics that have a lower impact on the environment,” she says. But it’s no easy task. “There are limitations in skill, suppliers, fabric sourcing and even finding machinery required for creating some garments and to produce the quality we look for,” explains Ashleigh. “People love to hear the story behind the garment,” she says. ● avila.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

11


SAM WOOD \ WELLNESS

Back story A

hh, back pain. If you’re reading this, chances are you have experienced it firsthand. That’s because up to 80 per cent of Aussies will experience back pain at some stage in their lives – lucky us! Anyone who has had to endure an aching back will know just how debilitating this can be and how, if not treated correctly, it can make you truly miserable. The good news is there are several different ways to manage and treat back pain but this must begin with identifying the cause. Injuries, genetics and your working conditions can all play a role in how your back feels on a daily basis. So many of us spend all day sitting only to get home and sit down for dinner before moving to the couch to sit even more.

This does no favours for your weight, posture or for your spine. People who are overweight are at a greater risk of experiencing back pain due to the extra weight adding pressure onto the spine. Of course your cause may not be related to work or environment and could instead be physical or biomechanical, which is a completely different story. So whether you are trying to avoid back pain or treat it, we’ve asked an expert for his top five tips on prevention or management. According to physiotherapist Ben Enser from Kieser here’s what you should be doing: EXERCISE

Exercise is the best medicine – stay active and exercise regularly.

Keep the bugs and burglars out, let the SPRING breeze in!

UPGRADE TO A DUCTED SYSTEM

BUY DIRECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER AND SAVE

• SECURITY DOORS • FENCES • ENCLOSURES Measured made and installed, over 50 standard designs or your own customised ideas. See the diffe f rence at our factory/showroom ffe at 3 Monomeeth Dve Mitcham, visit us online at www.shieldguard.com.au or phone 98740770 today.

SHIELDGUARD 12

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

REFRIGERATED HEATING & COOLING SYSTEM WITH ZONE AND TEMPERATURE CONTROL TO EACH ROOM Ph. 9439 2749 airfusion.com.au Showroom at 1/38 Bridge St, Eltham VIC 3095


DON’T SIT STILL

We sit on average 7.7 hours per day. Make the most of your day by moving whenever possible and avoiding prolonged postures at work and home. ALLOW TIME FOR RECOVERY

Allow sufficient recovery from activity, including high quality sleep and dietary intake. FIND THE RIGHT BALANCE

Find your personal balance between strength, flexibility, and conditioning. WORK WITH A PROFESSIONAL

Find a qualified health professional you trust and see them regularly to help you recognize any early warning signs.

● 28bysamwood.com ● kieser.com.au

0470HT

ISTOCK

Good back management involves following a pragmatic, common-sense approach and, even before you get to any of these steps, never forget that prevention is better than a cure. ●

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


TRAVEL

M

y heart leaps as the troop of war-painted warriors ambush us with whoops and slowly encircle our group. Most of the “warriors” are grinning boys enjoying the game, and we knew the “welcome” was coming, but the ceremonial challenge – mimicking dingoes circling their prey – still provokes an adrenaline rush. Suddenly, prowling turns to laughter and hands are offered in greeting. We have arrived in Yolngu country, via three ever smaller aircraft, to the tiny East Arnhem Land outstation of Nyinyikay – about 150 kilometres west of Nhulunbuy – that is home to the extended family of matriarch Nancy Burarrwanga and her daughter, Megan. Surrounded by pristine beaches and red cliffs, the settlement offers solitude to focus on their traditional lifestyle, away from TV and internet. A limited number of visitors are invited to learn their history, crafts and culture – as part of a microtourism project designed to provide financial independence. Teacher Marcus Lacey – Megan’s son, who appeared on Ray Martin’s confronting show First Contact – is our main educator and his tales of Yolngu contact with the outside world is fascinating. “We’ve been multicultural for centuries,” he says with a grin.

Welcome to country JANE CANAWAY EXPLORES EAST ARNHEM LAND

The northern coastline is littered with the ruins of camps – and tamarind trees – left by Macassan trepang hunters. Approximately 2000 Indonesian words used by the Yolngu reflect centuries of trade with them: knife, metal, clothes, boss, money. As well as evidence of Chinese settlements in Darwin and trade with Japan, the Yolngu word Ballander – white man – comes from Hollander, the first European visitors. The Yolngu are also deeply spiritual: “Recognition of a shared creation story was one of the binding

factors with the Maccassans,” explains Marcus. Despite the killer crocodiles and jellyfish, this is an easy place to love: colourful birds, the scent of frangipani, orange Kurrajong blossom indicating turtles will soon be laying eggs. A dawn walk along the iron-red cliffs reveals masses of pink, tinsel-like Calytrix flowers and glowing orange Grevillea. Meals cooked by @campfiresinger Phil O’Brien include mud crabs, shark and stingrays – all hunted with spears – and, while alcohol is banned, sunset over the turquoise beach is intoxicating. Male visitors make and learn to throw spears, while women make shell jewellery and weave pandanas, and learn which plants are used as dye. But getting our heads around the complex moiety and skin relationships of Yolngu culture – an intricate web over a four-generational pattern – has us dumbfounded. As cultural rules forbid men to know anything of female relatives’ relationships, our clumsier questions are quietly ignored. While Marcus is passionate about sharing his culture – “Everything has to be in balance,” he says – we may only know what is “garma” – public. Still, our hosts are tirelessly patient, sharing campfire songs and conversations long after they could have withdrawn. When the plane comes to collect us there are hugs all round before the long-limbed cacophony of children, teens and adults rush down to the point to wave us off. From her colourful mat in the shade of a mango tree, Nancy grips my hand: “This is just a seed of knowledge; take it back with you and let it grow.” ●

Jane travelled as a guest of Intrepid Travel, which will run four trips to East Arnhem Land from July to September, 2018. ● intrepidtravel.com

14

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


I N T E RVI E W BY H A R BA N T G I L L

PERSONAL SPACE

David McAllister ARTISTIC DIREC TOR OF THE AUSTRALIAN BALLET

The elegant apartment that David McAllister has called home for 24 years is where he celebrated his ascension to artistic director of the Australian Ballet 16 years ago and where he has marked countless achievements. It is where he created his first full-length ballet, The Sleeping Beauty and, more recently where he turned the much loved fairytale’s characters into a beautiful new storybook. With the same care he puts into creating a performance, David has used the backdrop of the timber floors and gallery-like white walls of his inner-city home to add drama and beauty with objects that hold special meaning for him. “I love the idea of adding colour to the plain background,” says the 53-year-old, who has graced the world’s premier ballet stages and performed for Diana, the Princess of Wales, in London. “I love being in the thick of the hum of the city.” ●

MICHAEL RAYNER

THE SLEEPING BEAUTY\ with words by David McAllister and illustrations by Gabriela Tylesova (published by Little Hare, an imprint of Hardie Grant Egmont) $29.99. Signed copies are available through The Australian Ballet. ● australianballet.com.au

1950S SIDEBOARD \ This was my mum’s glory box. When I moved to this apartment, my parents asked what I wanted and I said the glory box. It was down in the

IN MY HOME ...

garage and they polished it for me. They married in 1958 so mum must have had it for a few years before then. Mum died in 2000 so this is a great memory of her. ●

POINTE SHOE LATHES

SCREEN PRINT

I was given these by one of our

I lived in Collingwood for a year in

ballet masters. They are so

2010 because this one-bedroom

beautiful and what tiny feet!

apartment was too small for my

They used to mould shoes

partner Wesley (Enoch, director

around these wooden lathes but

of Sydney Festival) and me.

nowadays the lathes are made of

This was the view I had from my

composite materials.

window. It was the first time

They remind me of all the hard

Wesley and I had lived together

work that goes into making a

and then he got the job as artistic

ballet. It’s not all satin and pretty

LETTERS FROM AN

director of the Queensland

pointe shoes. ●

INDUSTRIAL SHOP

Theatre Company. It was a special time in my life.

MOSCOW MEDAL I was 21 and Maina Gielgud (then

Daz (pronounced daze) was my

We co-habitate really well. We

AB director) sent Lizzy Toohey

nickname when I was dancing.

just don’t do it very often. ●

and I to the Fifth International

I was called Daisy. I saw these

Ballet Competition at the Bolshoi

letters in a groovy store in

in 1985. We didn’t expect to

Richmond and had to have them.

win but I won the bronze. What

They remind me of my dancing

was really great was that I got

days. When I became artistic

to meet dancers and follow

director, they said, “Are we

their careers. Julio Bocca who

still going to be able to call you

won gold is now the director of

Daisy?” I said no, you’ll have to call

a ballet company in Argentina.

me Mr Daisy now. This is my 35th

Nina Ananiashvili who won gold

ONLINE \ SEE MORE OF DAVID’S

year at the ballet and only a few

in the women’s is now running

FAVOURITE THINGS ●

people call me Daz now. ●

the Georgian ballet company. ●

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


FEATURE HOUSE NORTHCOTE \ 21 HOWITT STREET 3

2

T

he meticulous renovation of this Northcote home did something very clever – it created a place sophisticated enough to suit the most urbane adult while making a home that works well for children. A cottage garden harmonises beautifully with the well-maintained weatherboard exterior. Entry is at the side of the house and this effectively zones the two largest bedrooms to the front. Both have built-in wardrobes. The largest, painted a chic and relaxing dove grey and white, has a pretty fireplace and a study off it with two built-in desks. The third bedroom opens off to the hall. The formal living room has a Heat & Glo fireplace, the same grey and white colour scheme, and original pine boards. The open-plan living area and kitchen follows. The past is referenced here in the kitchen’s pine floor, an exposed brick wall and leadlight windows, but the 21st century contributes a glamorous, industrial chic ambience. The kitchen, with grey soft-close cabinetry, Miele and Bosch appliances, stone bench tops and a blackbutt island bench, is that ever-desirable blend of good looks and excellent functionality. A DigiGlass splashback with a black and white image of a beach scene, is a lovely individual touch. Useful for storage, but more likely to be claimed by children as a play area, is a converted attic room accessible from here. The living area opens to a covered deck and the wellplanned garden that makes summer entertaining a breeze with a barbecue and rustic pizza oven. Raised vegetable patches are neat and lush and there is an excellent cubby with a slide and a neat, weatherboard garden shed. The house has hydronic heating, evaporative cooling, solar panels with battery storage and a water tank. The location is excellent. The property is in the zone for Northcote High School while Westgarth Primary is close, as are shops and cafes. Yarra Bend Park – 260 hectares of bushland, walking and bike trails and sporting fields – is just moments away. ● BEVERLEY Y JOHANSON property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “NESTLED BETWEEN FA F IRFIELD AND WESTGARTH, THE HOUSE IS IN A FABULOUS POSITION, CLOSE TO SHOPS AND CAFES AS WELL AS THE F IRFIELD BOATHOUSE AND THE RIVER.” SAM RIGOPOULOS – AGENT FA

AGENT \ Jellis Craig 9403 9300 PRICE \ $1.5 million – $1.6 million AUCTION \ December 9 at noon

Scan the code Cleverly ticks the boxes for adults and children

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


THORNBURY \ 50 LEINSTER GROVE 4

3

2

Buy here and have more time to enjoy Thornbury’s food and cultural scene. It’s brand new, with nothing to be done, and buzzing High Street is a leapfrog over St Georges Road. To the right of the entry is one of two main-sized bedrooms, and the only bedroom on the ground floor of this luxury, duallevel family home. Beyond is the expansive living and dining area, and a sleek kitchen. This bright space is enhanced by a sweep of wood floors with a contemporary, of-the-moment look. A marble feature wall holds a modern, minimalist gas fireplace and has a recess above for the television. Hugging this seven-metre-long living zone is a north-facing deck and lawn, and the kitchen, with its waterfall island bench and shimmering teardrop pendant lights, is ideally orientated to this sunny terrace. Three bedrooms are upstairs – one with en suite and all have ample wardrobe space. It is in the zone for Northcote High School and has a double garage. ● EMILY POWER AGENT \ Nelson Alexander 9486 1800 PRICE \ $1.55 million – $1.65 million AUCTION \ December 9 at 11.30am

Scan the code Nothing to be done here but to enjoy your location

CARLTON NORTH \ 127 AMESS STREET

FITZROY NORTH \ 23/4 BIK LANE

3

2

2

2

A renovation and extension has turned this Victorian-era home into a chic, modern pad with lightfilled spaces and striking dimensions. Thoughtful touches include an internal courtyard and void, flooding the property with natural light. Inner-city terraces are the supermodels of real estate – long and lithe. In this home, two bedrooms occupy the traditional front floorplan, with a hallway stretching to the laundry, central bathroom, kitchen and living/dining. Upstairs is a study, which exploits the sunlight from the void, and the main bedroom, with an en suite and a soaring window, protected and granted privacy by a row of external, fin-shaped fixtures. ● EMILY POWER AGENT \ Woodards 9344 1000 PRICE \ $1.7 million – $1.8 million AUCTION \ December 2 at 2pm

Scan the code Chic and modern with thoughtful touches

2

1

Tucked off Nicholson Street is this smart, ground floor pad with the rarity of a large outdoor space. It is the best of both worlds – an inner-city address with the luxury of room to breathe. This 51-square-metre terrace is paved and partially covered for all-weather enjoyment, has a rooftop garden and barbecue areas (shared between residents). Both bedrooms make the most of the garden; the main has direct access and the second has an outlook. A central bathroom has dual access, and doubles as an en suite for the main bedroom. The apartment has a secure car park, with visitor parking available. ● EMILY POWER AGENT \ Caine 8431 8000 PRICE \ $575,000 – $625,000 AUCTION \ December 9 at 2.30pm

Scan the code Inner-city living with room to breathe

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


mcgrath.com.au 18

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


mcgrath.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


mcgrath.com.au 20

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


mcgrath.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

21


mcgrath.com.au 22

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

23


CLIFTON HILL 119 Spensley Street This stylish three bedroom Victorian with the area´s wonderful attractions all within easy walking distance is secluded on a deep garden allotment with Walker St ROW. Immaculately presented, merging period character & modern renovation with scope, if desired, to further extend (STCA); features arched hallway, living room with French doors to entertainment deck & garden, granite gourmet kitchen/ meals (Blanco stainless-steel oven & dual-drawer dishwasher), fabulous bathroom, laundry, ducted heating, OFPs, high elegant ceilings, attic storage & hardwood floors.

Auction

Saturday 16th December at 10.30am

Inspect

Thursday 2.15-2.45pm Saturday 12-12.30pm

-----------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------

Contact

Antony Harbor 0406 585 435 Nicholas Corby 0418 512 978

-----------------------------------------

Office

286 Queens Parade Fitzroy North 9488 0688

Web

www.119SpensleyStreetCliftonHill.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part of the Marshall White Group

CLIFTON HILL 44 Dwyer Street A convenient Clifton Hill Village position with easy access to inner-city amenities reveals this superbly renovated residence offering stylish four bedroom, two-level living. Introduced by an attractive Art Deco profile with north-side orientation, the elegant modern interior includes main bedroom with ensuite and balcony, living room (OFP), dining to secluded courtyard garden, gourmet kitchen (butler´s pantry), 2.5 bathrooms, heating and cooling.

Auction

Saturday 9th December at 10.30am

Inspect

Thursday 1.30-2pm Saturday 12.45-1.15pm

-----------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------

Contact

Andrew Simondson 0412 999 128 Julie Susnjara 0408 006 662

-----------------------------------------

Office

286 Queens Parade Fitzroy North 9488 0688

Web

www.44DwyerStreetCliftonHill.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part of the Marshall White Group

24

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w


FITZROY NORTH 20/137 McKean Street Privately and securely positioned at the rear of the Omiros One designed Denton complex this sleek, refurbished single level apartment capitalises on a top floor north-facing terrace with views to the nearby Edinburgh Gardens and City skyline. Featuring a spacious living/dining room, superb CaesarStone/Miele kitchen, 2-double bedrooms with built-in robes, streamlined bathroom & concealed laundry. Incls. secure basement car parking.

Auction

Saturday 9th December at 9.30am

Inspect

Thursday 12.30-1pm Saturday 1-1.30pm

-----------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------

Contact

Antony Harbor 0406 585 435 Mark Sutherland 0418 691 585

-----------------------------------------

Office

286 Queens Parade Fitzroy North 9488 0688

Web

www.20-137McKeanStreetFitzroyNorth.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part of the Marshall White Group

51 Drummond St. Carlton 5

4

2

A magnificent legacy of Melbourne’s Golden Age, Elm Terrace is an illustrious, stately and proud five bedroom, 4.5 bathroom Victorian terrace that has been completely transformed with rare artistic vision by Adam Dettrick Architects into a sublime modern home positioned in genteel surroundings on the city’s fringe. Expression of Interest Closing Thursday 7 December 6pm

Inspect Wed 5.30-6pm Thurs 12-12.30 pm Sat as advertised

Contact Mark Konishi 0412 825 852 Scott McElroy 0411 889 972

hockingstuart.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

25


26

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


28

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


30

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

31


32

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

33


34

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


PRESTON 88a & 88b Murray Road

NEW LISTING

Resort Style Living, 1077sqm (approx.) Elegant double story family living on one of the area’s largest parcels of land, 88A & 88B Murray Road has it all on offer! Featuring a stunning architecturally designed family home spanning 2 luxurious levels. Featuring formal and informal lounge, dining room, four generous bedrooms, four bathrooms, feature staircase, refrigerated cooling and ducted heating, indoor solar and gas heated swimming pool. With a wide frontage of approx. 34m and within a General Residential - Schedule 2 Zoning this is an outstandingly rare opportunity in this area. LOVE Reservoir 307 Spring Street ph: 03 9460 6511

LOVE Preston 274 High Street ph: 03 9471 0233

loverealestate.com.au 36

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

LOVE Thornbury 770 High Street ph: 03 9480 2288

LOVE Thomastown 201 High Street ph: 03 9465 2133

LOVE Mill Park Shop 45 The Stables, Childs Road ph 03 9404 4955

ABCD 4

4

AUCTION INSPECT CONTACT OFFICE

4

2

Saturday 16th December at 1.00pm Thursday 5:30-6pm & Saturday 12:30-1pm Anwar Kattan 0431 169 844 or Bill Kyriakopoulos 0419 008 008 Love Thomastown 9465 2133

LOVE Epping 780 High Street ph 03 9401 2322

LOVE real estate


ThORNbuRy 104 Gooch Street

NEw LISTINg

“Frances,” A New Standard In Modern Living Leading the way in contemporary living, this refurbished block of eight ‘just finished’ apartments deliver a trendy lifestyle within footsteps to the cafe culture on High Street, shopping on Station Street, Northcote Plaza, the Darebin Creek Trail, Fairfield station, Thornbury station and trams. Setting an unprecedented fresh new benchmark in modern living, these one bedroom, one bathroom or two bedroom, one bathroom apartments with a secure intercom entrance feature deluxe bedrooms with built-in robes, lavish bathrooms with European laundries, sun-filled living/dining areas, striking kitchens with Calcutta porcelain splashback, off street parking and private courtyards feature in select apartments.

LOVE Reservoir 307 Spring Street ph: 03 9460 6511

LOVE Preston 274 High Street ph: 03 9471 0233

loverealestate.com.au

LOVE Thornbury 770 High Street ph: 03 9480 2288

LOVE Thomastown 201 High Street ph: 03 9465 2133

ABCD 1/2

1

FOR SALE INSPECT CONTACT OFFICE

1

1

Thursday 6:15-7.15pm & Saturday 10:15-10.45am Bill Kyriakopoulos 0419 008 008 or Evan Wailes 0437 081 986 Love Thornbury 9480 2288

LOVE Mill Park LOVE Epping Shop 45 The Stables, 780 High Street Childs Road ph 03 9401 2322 ph 03 9404 4955

LOVE real estate

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

37


38

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


40

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


42

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


44

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


Sales Leasing Valuations Management

On-Site Auction

2pm Thursday 14 December 2017

Whole Apartment Block 8 x 1 Bedroom Apartments with Separate Titles Reservoir VIC 164 Leamington Street (corner Landy Street) • Two level apartment block recently refurbished • Ideal for further upgrades to improve return, sell down individually or just leave as is • Eight x 1 BR apartments with car spaces • Excellent opportunity, secure an entire block • Positioned close to Edwardes Lake, schools, public transport and major arterial’s within an affordable price range • Rent: $107,936 pa* (Fully let) • Substantial corner landholding of 688sqm* Alex Shum 岑家偉 0413 839 898

burgessrawson.com.au

Nick Breheny 0408 155 587 *Approx

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


46

woodards.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


woodards.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


48

woodards.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


woodards.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services V

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

Call 1300 666 808

in ertise “I adv papers s w the ne ote my m to pro to local ss busine le who peop e local o us want t dies.” tra - Greg

All electrical work, repairs, new points, switchboards, rewiring TV + Speaker Installations. Phone, TV + Data Points Professional, great value, experienced, Local, Qualified insured and TIDY.

Terry Hogan 0412 364 931

V

rec7843

Glass/Glazing

ALL BROKEN GLASS REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

Real Estate

section of Network Classifieds.

V

Electricians

V

Over 30 years experience

G6674033AA-dc4Mar

Total Bathroom Renovations 1216151-ACM06-16

TOTAL QUALITY BATHROOMS AT AN AFFORDABLE COST. Pensioner Discount FREE QUOTES

0411 860 973

www.tbr.net.au

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

SERVICING NORTHCOTE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

9999-8193

Lic. 23691

25+ years experience. Registered Building Practitioner. Master Builder. No job too small. Pride in the job. Call Michael: 0419 337 007 or 9337 4945 Email: mdnevill@bigpond.com 12372017-RA47-17

Lic: DBU1307/CBU6041

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE

1152285-PB36-14

All Carpentry & Building Maintenance Works

www.craigsgas.com.au

Rec: 17824 • Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

SERVICING NORTHCOTE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

9998 2905

www.Ser viceToday.com.au

Reblocking/Underpinning

V

SENIORS CARD

WELCOME HERE



  

5

Close

Lic. 104391

PLUMBER

Contact Simon:

9309 0700 - 0411 174 000

CAFFYN PLUMBING PTY. LTD

ALL AROUND

9386 3000

977914

*Domestic *Commercial *Industrial

We accept these cards

Jason 1300 644 698

Your advert can appear in print and online!

24 HRS 7 DAYS

FIVE STAR REBLOCKING & UNDERPINNING  Full Insurance  All work Council approved  15 years guarantee  All Council permits supplied  100% computer levelling  Concrete pump used  15 years experience  For a free quote and advice

STAR

We NEVER

General Plumbing, Gas Fittings, Blocked Drains, Roofing, Hot & Cold, Water Renewals, House Renovations.

LIC 33201

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds.

yes we can

Close

DB-U 11103

Carpenters

For our FAST

We NEVER

$ECKSs0ERGOLASs7EATHERBOARDS 25 years experience 1UALITYGUARANTEEDWITHRELIABLESERVICE

V

Call Us Today... FRIENDLY SERVICE!

All building and carpentry works undertaken Extensions / Renovations / Wall Removals

Brad 0408 446 887

šI[hl_Y[je:kYj[Z>[Wj[hi"MWbb<khdWY[i"IfWY[>[Wj[hi" Ijel[iEl[di šIkffbo?dijWbbWj_ede\=Wi7ffb_WdY[i š9WhXedCeden_Z[j[ij_d]ed>[Wj[hi šH[fbWY[c[dj^ejmWj[hkd_ji Phone: 9379-1733 šF[di_ed[hZ_iYekdji

yes we can

w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

Builders & Building Services

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

1156305-HM40-14

1236521-HM31-16

V

✆ Mark

12325182-LN40-16

for a free quote call 0412 519 052 or visit www.matrixbathrooms.com.au

Call Us Today For our FAST

12323358-LN38-16

COMPLETE Bathroom Renovations

Specialist in Gas Appliance Service & Installation

Northcote Plumbers

Northcote Electricians g All Pricin t Up-Fron

CRAIG’S GAS & PLUMBING

Plumbing

12339175-EPJ07-17

Bathroom & Kitchens

G6240479AA-dc28Aug

V

*Not available with any other voucher or coupon

LN 31439

REBLOCKING & UNDERPINNING ABN 40 640 572 030

Tel: 9309 2351

177646

G6519072AA-dc21Jan

DB-L-29449

David: 0425 811 882 Ash: 0403 619 333

 Free Quote  All Suburbs  Insurance  Elevation

 17 Years Guarantee  10% Pensioner Discount  Council Permit Supplied  Computer Levelling

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

G6638324AA-dc18Feb

NTS 30% OFF FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

1238399-RC33-16

ALL BROKEN GLA SS REPLACEME

AMPOWER ELECTRICS

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

Plumbing

V

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Electricians

12351179-CG19-17

Trades Business Profile

12331574-RC47-16

V

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Place your ad in print and online


Trades & Services



FREE QUOTE 1300 466 838 transcorpremovalsandstorage.com.au

AARON & JOHNâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S DEMOLITION & RUBBISH REMOVALS

V 1171586-RC06-15

Itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Fun Time..... With....

12354801-HM24-17

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

1193032-LN31-15

0432 774 645

V

WINDOWS 1 Window Replacement Service Timber or Aluminium Free Measure and quote

1216352-LB06-16

9703 1530

Member HIA and MBA

www.windows1.net.au

Adult Services

V

Adult Services

&%'

%URWKHO 2SHQKRXUV

Manhattan Terrace

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

SWA4281be

Body Rubs G6740069AA-dc2Apr

Bookkeeping 12366230-HM39-17

Bookkeeping For all small business ON/ OFF Site Payroll, GST, General Bookkeeping CBD & surrounds

0417 598 373

$200,000+ per year income. Operating Melbourne metro. Owner retiring after 30 years. Owner willing to stay for training and trails. For more details 0447 340 856.

section of Network Classifieds.

Employment Positions Vacant

Place your vacancy online Anytime, anyplace

GET 10% DISCOUNT Use code: EMPDISC www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Case Management

Respite Personal Care

.EEDEDIN2ICHMOND "RUNSWICK #OBURG &AWKNER

0ASCOE6ALEANDSURROUNDINGSUBURBS Award winning company Care With Quality is expanding and we are looking for qualified Careworkers to join our team. Care With Quality prides itself on the quality of care we offer to our staff as well as our clients. If you want to be part of a committed enthusiastic team of careworkers, weâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;d love to hear from you. You will need to have: s-INIMUM#ERT)))IN!GED$ISABILITY(!## s!REGISTERED INSUREDCAR CURRENTLICENCEANDMOBILEPHONE s#URRENT!PPLY&IRST!ID #02 0OLICE#HECK

/NLYAPPLICANTSWHOARESHORT LISTEDWILLBECONTACTEDs0LEASEEMAILRESUMETOADMIN CAREWITHQUALITYCOMAU

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

Professional Services

Announcements

PERSONAL CAREWORKERS/PCAs

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Windows

Find it in the

Medical/Nursing

Home Care

section of Network Classifieds.

AARONâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S TILING

V

Getaways and Outings

General Notices

Tiling

www.theabcofbookkeeping.com

9314 8800

24 Buchanan Rd, Brooklyn

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: â&#x20AC;¢ Floor & Wall Tiles â&#x20AC;¢ Old & New Homes â&#x20AC;¢ Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

V

Employment

Many languages spoken by our ladies.

25 years experience James 0402 671 061

V

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Beautiful NEW Hot Ladies... Plus your usual favourites.

Restoration Stonewalling Cladding Feature Walls Crazy Paving

Tiling Services Business

Garage Sales

Anytime, Any place Get 10% Discount Use code: GSDISCOUNT

SWA5693be

Stonemasonry

Mel: 31A8 swa6413b

Massage Therapy

Relaxation. 305 Queensberry St, North Melbourne. 7 days. Telephone: 9077 7620.

Businesses For Sale

PLACE YOUR GARAGE SALE AD ONLINE Need New Staff?

Adult Services

Octopuses

V

V

www.carewithquality.com.au

12373088-LB48-17

V

G6133636AA-dc2Jul

9482 3835

General Classifieds

Rubbish Removal

Call 0434 525 311

Fairfield

BEST Thai Massage Phuket Retreat. 9486 8887. 373 St Georges Rd, Fitzroy Nth. 7 days. 10am-10pm.

V

Transcorp Removals & Storage

â&#x20AC;¢ Demolition Specialists â&#x20AC;¢ Backyard Cleanups â&#x20AC;¢ Concrete Broken or Cut & Removed â&#x20AC;¢ Tree Lopping & Removal â&#x20AC;¢ Rental Cleanups â&#x20AC;¢ Deceased Estate Cleanups We Take Anything Away

32 Montefiore Street

Local & Interstate Pack/ Unpack Boxes Home & Office Small & Large Moves

V

Phone - 1300 Escort 1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

North West 9374 2100

Place Your Classified Ads Online

9696 9199 Romantics

1136326-RC22-14

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Advertise in the

Professionals section of Network Classifieds.

best service in town

10am until late appointments welcome new ladies

71 Colebrook St. Brunswick

9386 0206 SWA818BE

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

Sell your item for FREE in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au 12362979-JV35-17

12373364-HM48-17



Ladies Welcome

Massage Therapists

12340946-PB09-17



Silk Lotus

12353485-PB22-17



V

Real Estate

12352061-CG20-17

REMOVALIST & STORAGE

V

Adult Services

V

Removalists & Storage

12349705-CG17-17

V

General Classifieds

* Private party only * Limit of 1 item for sale * Items must be under $100 * 2 weeks in print and online


Profile for The Weekly Review

The Weekly Review Melbourne Times  

November 29 -December 5, 2017

The Weekly Review Melbourne Times  

November 29 -December 5, 2017

Advertisement