Page 1


FREE

FREE

SPECIALLY SELECTED

AUSSIE AUSSIE CHRISTMAS CHRISTMAS special buys™ on sale WED

18 DEC

The The Perfe Perfect ct AUSSI AUSSIE CHRIS CHRISTMAS TM AS guide guide

THE FINEST MINCE PIES, PUDDINGS, CAKES & CHOCOLATES

A EUROPEAN WONDERLAND

In stores now w

special buys™ on sale SAT

BRING A TASTE OF EUROPE TO YOUR TABLE WITH A RANGE OF AUTHENTIC EUROPEAN TREATS

21 DEC

Prepare and cook a meal in the 1 compact unit

3

YEAR

349

WARRANTY

For more info see kuchef.com.au

1299 SET

Décor Microsafe Set 5pc

Thermo Cook Multifunctional Cooker

Genuine Havaianas!

2 in Revers 1 ib Design le s

19 99 SET

Reversible Licensed Quilt Cover Set – Single Size

9

99

11

SET

red hot SPECIALS 6

$

per kg

Whole Fresh Turkey per kg

$6.99 per kg

2

PR

Ombra Family Sunscreen Lotion SPF 50+ 1L 90c per 100ml

on sale 18 to 24 dec

for more visit aldi.com.au

2499

$

per kg

garnish not included

Always read the label. Use only as directed

Havaianas Thongs

Technokits

$ 99

8 99

99

per kg

Fresh Salmon Side per kg

garnish not included

Three Bird Roast per kg $15.99 per kg

$24.99 per kg Good source of Vitamin C

2

1599 Good Source of Fibre

Source of Thiamin

2

1

$ 99

$ 99

$ 99

$ 99

125g

per kg

1kg

each

Blueberries 125g $23.92 per kg

Australian Truss Tomatoes per kg $2.99 per kg

garnish not included

Australian White Seedless Grapes 1kg Australian Mango each $2.99 per kg

$1.99 per unit

OPENING HOURS: See your local store or www.aldi.com.au for details. Meat and produce prices valid from 18/12/2013 - 24/12/2013 in our Victorian stores. Produce prices are also available in Albury and Lavington stores. Some items are sold in pre-packed sizes. While stocks last – please note stocks are limited and will vary between stores. Despite our careful planning, we apologise if selected items may sell out on the first day due to unexpected high demand. In the event of unexpected high demand, ALDI Stores reserves the right to limit purchases to reasonable quantities. ALD4322_W51_C


FRAGRANCE! †

$6 ea

99

Lomani 100ml edt

SAVE $24.00

SAVE $34.00

$3499

$2499

JLO Live Luxe 100ml edp

SAVE $90.00

$2999

Bvlgari Rose Essentials 50ml edt

SAVE $80.00

$2699

Calvin Klein Euphoria for Men 50ml edt

$2499 ea

SAVE $39.00

Versace Eau Fraiche 100ml edt

Hugo Boss Bottled Sport 100ml edt

$4999

$4999

Hugo 150ml edt

$4999

SAVE $80.00

SAVE $60.00

$5999

Versace Bright Crystal 90ml edt

Issey Miyake for Women 100ml edt or Men 125ml edt

Paco Rabanne XS Black 100ml edt

SAVE $75.00

Jean Paul Gaultier for Men 125ml or Women 100ml edt

100ML!

$6999

Acqua Di Gio 100ml edt

$5999 ea

SAVE $46.00

$5999

AMAZING!

$5999 ea

SAVE $65.00

SAVE $60.00

$3999

SAVE $77.00

$3999

SAVE $34.00

100ML!

SAVE $29.00

Dolce & Gabbana The One 50ml edt

$1299

Maroussia 100ml edt

FCUK Her or Him 100ml edt

SAVE $39.00

JLO Glow100ml edt

SAVE $86.00

$1299 ea

$1999 ea

Beyonce Midnight Heat or Pulse 100ml edt

CK Free 100ml edt

$1999 ea

Beyonce Heat or Heat Rush 100ml edp

SAVE $26.00

$1499 ea

SAVE $39.00

SAVE $34.00

$2499

Lovely Sarah Jessica Parker 100ml edp

SAVE $24.00

Britney Spears Curious, Believe, Fantasy or Midnight Fantasy 30ml edp

Beckham Homme or Instinct 75ml edt

Marc Jacobs Dot 50ml edp

SAVE $34.00

$1499 ea

SAVE $3.00

$4999

$6999

Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue 100ml edt

Calvin Klein Encounter 100ml edt 3 Piece Set

ABBOTSFORD SHOP 10 THE HIVE SHOPPING CENTRE, 313 VICTORIA ST PH: 9421 0372

BRUNSWICK SOUTH 118 SYDNEY ROAD, BRUNSWICK PH: 9387 8092

FAIRFIELD 138 STATION STREET PH: 9489 8936

NORTHCOTE 381-385 HIGH STREET, NORTHCOTE PH: 9482 3099

RICHMOND 300 BRIDGE ROAD (OPPOSITE TOWN HALL) PH: 9421 1010

BRUNSWICK 429 - 433 SYDNEY ROAD, BRUNSWICK PH: 9380 5657

COLLINGWOOD 244 SMITH ST, COLLINGWOOD PH: 9417 4377

FITZROY 206 - 210 BRUNSWICK ST PH: 9417 2917

PRESTON 475 HIGH STREET PRESTON PH: 9470 6626

RICHMOND 182 TO 186 VICTORIA ST PH: 9421 3044

PROPRIETORS: M. TASCONE, J. PARIS, S. GREIS, EYFS P/L, F. NIGRO, L. ZAPPONE

Due to discount policy we may have not sold at RRP. †If you find a cheaper price on the same item at another Australian registeredpharmacy, we will match it and give you 10% off the difference. Price match excludes online offers. We reserve the right to adjust printing errors. Retail limits apply.

SALE ENDS 25TH DECEMBER 2013


PRESTON TOYOTA’S

All Out

Clearance Event

Rav4 Turbo o Diesel AWD D FROM

33,990

$

A

2013 Camry Altise

drive e away

FROM

26,990

A

$

drive away

Preston ston Toyota is going all o out to give you a great deal across a range of 2013 models. Demo All New Prado VX Turbo Diesel ��������������������������������������� Lamps (DRLs) • Auto headlamp leveling • 18” Alloy wheels • Front and rear parking sensors • Leather accented seats ������������������������ �������������������������������������������� ��������� ����������������������������� compatibility and AM/FM tuner ������

Demo 2013 Hybrid Camry Luxury • Powerful 2.5L engine with Hybrid Synergy Drive® • Leather accented interior • Rear lip spoiler • 17” alloy wheels • Reverse Camera or and auto dipping with back guide monitor ot Monitor and side mirrors • Blind Spot Automatic High Beam • JBL premium isplay, Satellite audio system with 7” display, ™ - live Navigation and SUNA™ �� ����������������������

78,788

$

Driveaway y

2013 HiLux 4x4 SR5 Double-Cab Turbo Diesel Auto

��������������������������������������� braking system ((ABS) • Climate control air conditioning • Pr Premium steering wheel • 6 speaker audio system with Bluetooth™ capabilities & sa sat nav • 17” alloy wheels (4) ����������������� ���������������������������������

From

47,990

$

Driveaway[A]

From

Kluger Grande AWD ��������������������������������������������� �� ����� ������ ��� ������� � �� ���������� ������� ntry & Start • Leather with 8” display • Smart Entry ote release power rear accented interior • Remote ����� � �� ���� ����� ����� �������������� ������ �������� • Satellite Navigation

58,990

$

Driveaway [A]

Incl. alloy b bull bar

37,490

$

Driveaway

2013 Kluger KX-R 7 Seater ���������������������������������� � ������������������������������������������� ����������������������������������������� �������������������������� glass conven ce hatch • Cruise control convenience • 7 SRS airbags airba as standard

From

39,990

$

Driveaway[A]

Demo Yaris YR 5 Door Manual • Active Braking with intelligence (AB-i) �� �������� ���������� �������� ������ ���� ��������� ����� ������ ������������������������������������������������� with full cover (4) • Power windows • Multi ������ ����� ������������������������������������������������ ����� ����� ���������������������������������������������

15,490

$

Driveaway

Auto From

17,990

$

Driveaway

2013 Corolla Hatch Ascent Sport Auto • 16” Alloy Wheels • Premium 3-spoke Steering Wheel • Chrome accented grille & ������������������������������������������� lines • 6.1” LCD touch screen display audio

From

22,500

$

Driveaway[A]

Demo Corolla Ascent Sedan Auto �� ����� ����� ������ ������� ���� ��� �� �������� ������������������������������������������������ ���������������������������������������������� �����������������

20,888

$

Driveaway

From

FJ Cruiser New Spec

44,777

$

��������������������������������������������������� ������������������������������������������������� • Single-disc in-dash CD player with 6.1” LCD display, MP3 compatibility, Satellite Navigation • Easy clean interior with water repellent seats ��������������������������������������������� capabil capabilities • Reversing Camera & ������� �����������������������������

Driveaway[A]

Preston Toyota 687 High St, Preston 03 9478 1788

TAP

After Hours New Cars: 0424 561 007 Used Cars: 0437 055 671

prestontoyota.com.au

[A] Driveaway pricing is applicable for Private, Bronze and Silver fleet customers, and primary producers on selected models purchased and delivered on or before 31 December 2013 at participating Toyota Dealers. HiLux models up to July 2013 production only. RAV4 models up to September 2013 production only. While stocks last. Toyota reserves the right to extend any offer. Excludes demos. Offer not available in conjunction with other registered fleet discounts or offers. Recommended driveaway price shown includes 12 months registration, 12 months compulsory third party insurance (CTP), a maximum dealer delivery charge and stamp duty. Metallic paint included for Kluger and Camry only. TAP = To Approved Purchasers. All other offers end 21.12.13. LMCT11205 YPA3242


cover story

high Peter Wilmoth meets soPrano Deborah Cheetham

Picture \ julian kingma

14 The weekly review \ DECEMBER 18, 2013


A

s a soprano, Deborah Cheetham is a strong voice on stage. But today it’s her sonorous speaking voice that transports us to a chapter in history we have to remind ourselves isn’t that long ago. We’re in a Southbank café. I had suspected Cheetham was going to be interesting – anyone who writes a play called White Baptist Abba Fan can’t miss – but I’m not sure I was quite prepared for the sadness, the courage and the redemptive power of her story. “I am eternally grateful that I was born with the ability to express myself through music because I had a platform I could work through some of this, a cathartic process figuring out who you are and how you came to be,” she says. “Without that voice, without music, how would I have found my way?”

abandoned but you’re not living that sense of abandonment. It doesn’t really hit home until much later on.” When it did hit home, it hit hard. “In 1985 I was in a play in Canberra. I came out on stage one night and I had to play this scene very close to the front row of the audience, and I looked into the audience and looking back at me was a woman who could have been my identical twin. “It was like a jolt. We met after the play and she had recognised that we had this incredible similarity in our features. And we managed to work out that we were related. The one piece of information my adoptive parents gave me when I was growing up was that I was the niece of Jimmy Little. My mother was his younger sister. “I’d never wielded that piece of information in my whole life.

notes At 49, Cheetham is Australia’s best-known indigenous opera singer. Since making her international debut in 1997, she has performed in concert halls across Europe, the United States, Britain and Australia. She is an outspoken voice on indigenous issues and gay marriage, a respected academic (she is head of the Wilin Centre at the faculty of the Victorian College of the Arts and the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, and associate head of indigenous development) and in 2010 wrote and created Australia’s first indigenous opera, Pecan Summer. Now she is using her profile to promote February’s Melbourne Indigenous Arts Festival, as an ambassador. It’s been a long journey to find her place in the world. Cheetham was just three weeks old when she was adopted in 1964 and she grew up in Sydney’s southern suburbs with two other adopted non-Aboriginal siblings. “My adoptive parents were good people,” she says. “They had been told that I’d been abandoned by my Aboriginal mother and they believed that. They were told that by a church authority and, being quite religious themselves, they never questioned that authority. “In time they said, ‘You were abandoned by your Aboriginal mother and we adopted you and essentially we’ve rescued you from your Aboriginality, from being abandoned, from a life that would have been much less than it is with us’. This was a message that was constantly fed to me.” Her adoptive parents, she says, were very generous and “no more dysfunctional than any other parents”. They were church-going Baptists and Cheetham’s earliest memory is of leaning up against her mum in church and hearing her voice. Her father, a baker, and mother, who looked after the children, seldom listened to music, but Cheetham fell in love with singing in church and adored pop music. “I can’t ever remember a time when I wasn’t singing. It was my way of communicating anything.” Cheetham grew up with no connection to her Aboriginal heritage. “I grew up in a world where Aboriginal Australia was completely absent,” she says. It was a scenario she says her parents did nothing to change. Throughout her youth she believed what her parents told her. Her life began with “this falsehood, this lie that I was abandoned”. “As a small child you can’t really comprehend what being abandoned means, particularly when you’re in a family who love you, who take good care of you, provide every opportunity in life for you,” she says. “You’ve been told you’ve been

“as a small child you can’t really comprehend what being abandoned means” I knew Jimmy was a famous Aboriginal man. I never allowed myself to think that he was actual family. He was uncle Jimmy. Any friend of the family was called uncle this or aunty that.” Cheetham said to the woman: “Jimmy’s my uncle.” And the woman said: “We’re cousins and I know your mother. Do you want to meet her?” And that was the breakthrough. Meeting her birth-mother, Monica, in 1985 and then, a decade later, hearing the truth about her adoption, was confronting and confusing for Cheetham. “My adoptive parents had worked really hard to educate me out of being Aboriginal because they saw Aboriginality as less than … something quite negative. My adoptive mother would say, ‘You’re really quite fair; you don’t look that Aboriginal’, implying ‘You could get away with not being Aboriginal if you just try hard enough’. “My parents didn’t see the true value of this unique culture – the longest continuing culture in the world – that wasn’t celebrated in the ’60s and ’70s and when they were growing up in the ’40s and ’50s. They knew hardly anything about it.” Cheetham and Monica slowly developed a relationship, often singing together. But it was to be another 10 years before Cheetham found out what actually happened. “For a decade we tried to find our way,” she says. “And then finally Monica felt that she had to tell the truth.” That truth came in the form of a letter in 1995, in which Monica described how Deborah had been taken from her at three weeks of age, and that Monica had begged the authorities to tell her where they had sent her. For Cheetham it was a defining moment. “In 1964 Monica was a young Aboriginal woman (aged 19). My biological father, her husband, had left her. She had no rights, no one to protect her, no one to stand up for her. The referendum [in 1967] was still a couple of years away. “As an Aboriginal child, especially one with one Aboriginal parent and one non-Aboriginal parent, I could be taken and sent wherever they wanted to send me and my mother had no rights. She was living in an orphanage run by the Salvation

Army.” After giving birth to Deborah, Monica earned some money by picking beans. “She came back after a week and I was gone. In the letter my mother said she’d searched for me. She’d searched for two years and she finally found where they had taken me. “She made her way to Oatley (from Nowra on the NSW south coast), found the home of my adoptive parents. She came to plead with them, could she at least see me, to see how I was getting on. Obviously her deepest desire was to get me back. But she didn’t get any chance to explain any of that because as soon as my adoptive mother saw her approaching the house she got straight on the phone and called the police. The police came and they quite literally dragged Monica away. “I was conflicted. I had a complete breakdown. I was in the middle of a crisis of identity because I’d had this decade of knowing Monica, of trying to see myself in this Aboriginal family and not really understanding what that was.” Cheetham was angry that she hadn’t been told the truth. “I wasn‘t sure at that time how to direct that sense of loss. And I think this is true of so many of the Stolen Generations. Many children that were taken never met their families. “I was fortunate.”

C

heetham wrote a play about her experiences called White Baptist Abba Fan, which premiered in 1997 at the Sydney Opera House. “It really defined that period of my life, of coming to the realisation that I’d been taken, not abandoned, and someone had loved me and not wanted to give me up.” In the play, Monica’s voice can be heard reading the letter. Monica died in 2000. With the confusion and pain of her life story being revealed, music provided a constant comfort for Cheetham. “I think music is so deeply embedded in my identity … I was born with this ability. It’s my way of being in the world.” She toured White Baptist Abba Fan on and off for five years before travelling to Melbourne in 2006 to take up a six-month position at the Victorian College of the Arts. Seven years later she is still here. “I absolutely fell in love with everything about Melbourne. The arts scene, the connectedness, the way Melbourne knows itself. An artist can really find themselves in a city like Melbourne. And I found myself.” Cheetham saw her first opera as a teenager at the Sydney Opera House in 1979 and fell in love. “I thought, ‘This is what I want to do’. She studied at the New South Wales Conservatorium of Music. Her adoptive mother, Marjorie, who died in 2000 aged 78, struggled with her daughter’s very public connection with her Aboriginal mother. “She felt it very deeply,” says Cheetham. “In a way she felt I had abandoned her but how could I have done that? If you ask any adoptive mother this is a question they are constantly considering – ‘I raised this child as our own but there’s another mother out there’.” Her father, Mervyn, who died in 2003 aged 79, was more sanguine. “He could see that he hadn’t lost anything and that the family was as we always were.” In 2009 Cheetham started the Short Black Opera Company, a national non-profit opera company devoted to the development of indigenous opera singers. Her latest project is Til The Black Lady Sings, a recital that tells the story of how the opera company came into being. Accompanying her in the recital will be pianist Toni Lalich, who is Cheetham’s partner in life. They met in 2006 soon after Cheetham arrived in Melbourne. “We were sharing an office and I thought ‘This is it’,” recalls Cheetham. “I knew straight away’.” The couple live in inner Melbourne with one of Cheetham’s three stepchildren from a previous relationship. She is a strong advocate for gay marriage, but she recognises her good luck. “For a soprano to form a relationship with an accompanist is a very fortunate thing,” she says with a smile. \ pwilmoth@theweeklyreview.com.au We Welcome your feedback @

www.theweeklyreview.com.au/cover-story

stage » Til the Black Lady Sings is the opening show at the Melbourne Indigenous Arts Festival. Melbourne Recital Centre, February 5, 7.30pm. » www.melbournerecital.com.au/ DECEMBER 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 15


Li’l Elvis Jones and the Truckstoppers

profile \ Peter Viska has unleashed his artistic flair on more than 40 children’s books, a stamp and some of our most popular TV shows, writes SARAH MARINOS

QUICK ON THE DRAW

18 The weekly review \ DECEMBER 18, 2013

horrible humans \ sports teacher

to watch a concept in my head become a reality,” says Viska. “The main characters in the series were just initial sketches but they’ve taken on a life of their own.” Viska discovered illustrating at 15 when he saw his first Mad. He began drawing his own caricatures for fun and hasn’t stopped. “I loved science and sport and didn’t do art,” he says. “At school I had to do an aptitude test and there was this skyscraper standing out on the chart for art and I thought that was just stupid.” After high school, Viska joined Shell Oil as an operations clerk – but after a short time he decided

(supplied)

P

eter Viska’s first venture into the colourful world of illustrating didn’t go to plan. During his last year at high school in Perth, he created his own version of the satirical Mad magazine, basing his caricatures on his schoolteachers. “I gave it to a friend to print and didn’t realise there was a hole in the middle of one of the pages. He filled that hole with a little rhyme about flirting with another man’s wife,” recalls Viska. “A few of the teachers at school were playing up and they thought I was on to them. I was almost suspended.” Since that shaky start, Viska has created children’s pages in newspapers, developed children’s TV series such as Li’l Elvis Jones and the Truckstoppers, and illustrated more than 40 books including Far Out, Brussel Sprout! and All Right, Vegemite!, which have sold more than a million copies in Australia. At his studio in a Richmond warehouse, a small team of animators, editors and designers is bringing to life Viska’s latest animation project – Jar Dwellers SOS – a 56 episode series which screens on Channel 11. Large cut-outs of the cast, including a purple monster and a creature holding a string of sausages, stand to attention in a corner of the studio. “The story is based around two siblings, Sophie and David, who discover and release three amazing creatures from special science jars, handmade by famous naturalist Albert Derwent,” says Viska. “Ooble, Crunch and Barka are not ready for exile so Sophie, with the help of of Derwent’s Big Book, introduces them to her “Survival of Species” program. They learn to avoid Professor Van Riceberger, his Jar Trackers and his assistant Chang. The creatures have no plans to return home. They are out, there is no going back! “It’s been a wonderful journey over the past six years

to find out whether he could make a career with a sketchpad and pencil. After a backpacking trip around Europe, he landed a job in Canberra as a newspaper cartoonist and then moved to Melbourne to draw for the Sunday Observer. There he created the Wotcha-ma-callit Club – a children’s page – and the mix of characters, stories and competitions hit a sweet spot with eight- to 12-year-olds. By the time Viska moved on, the club had 50,000 enthusiastic members. “That page has a special spot in my heart,” he says. “I’ve met people who said they made their parents go out to buy the paper just for the kids’ page. Rove McManus read the Wotcha-ma-callit page when he was growing up in Perth.” Viska then illustrated Far Out, Brussel Sprout! and discovered a passion and a flair for visualising the characters within dozens of children’s books. “Far Out, Brussel Sprout! was a slow burner at first – then it disappeared off the shelves,” he says. The title is now on its 40th reprint and was followed by other childhood favourites such as All Right, Vegemite! and Unreal, Banana Peel! “I see the words and I get a vision almost immediately and I try and capture that,” Viska says. “My drawing style is fairly energetic and it tickles the imagination. And I immediately know when I’ve got it right. I work very quickly from brain to paper and, when I put my little V for Viska on an illustration, I don’t go back.” In the late 1980s, Viska was asked to design the 37-cent stamp and he created a postie on a flying stamp – rather than a magic flying carpet – being chased by an angry dog also on a flying stamp. “It was the biggest buzz because the 37-cent stamp


jar dwellers sos

was the everyday stamp. Almost every letter in Australia and rhyme” books, written by former headmaster Peter had that image on it,” he says with a smile. Durkin, with titles such as Hang Loose, Mother Goose! There have been more book illustrations but when and In Your Eye, Meat Pie! Viska set up his own studio, Viskatoons, he ventured “I think it’s important that Australia develops its own into animation, often working with the Australian style of illustrating, as we’ve done with music. Look back Children’s Television Foundation (ACTF). Li’l Elvis on Australian music from the 1970s and 1980s and it’s Jones and the Truckstoppers is one of Viska’s favourite so different … and it’s good. We need to have our own creations for TV so far. “I had a concept of Elvis Presley style in illustrations, too,” he says. as a young kid, living in Memphis, guitar on his Viska has four adult children and two shoulder with a hound dog and I wrote to grandchildren, who are too young to appreciate Graceland asking to take the idea further but his work. When he isn’t creating his next “almost they knocked me back,” says Viska. character, he enjoys time with his family and every letter “The ACTF was looking for a distinctly being creative in the kitchen. “Cooking at the had that Australian series at the time and so Elvis weekend relaxes me,” he says. “I have a group image became Li’l Elvis with red hair and he of friends and every so often the men take it in was found in a guitar case in a roadhouse turns to cook for their wives. We had a French on it” in the middle of Australia. His mum is a night not long ago and I think the best reaction dyed-in-the-wool Elvis fanatic and his dad is an Elvis I’ve ever had was for my tuna tartare. impersonator. One of his friends plays the didgeridoo “As with my characters, I’d imagined it in my head – so they play ‘didgabilly’ music together instead of and knew exactly what I wanted it to look like. My first rockabilly. One of my children’s friends in Romania idea is instantaneous and it’s usually what I go with phoned me at three o’clock one morning because they’d because something magic happens at that moment.” \ smarinos@theweeklyreview.com.au seen Li’l Elvis on Romanian TV and were so excited.” Viska juggles half a dozen projects at once. As well as » Jar Dwellers SOS, Channel 11 from 8am Saturdays. Jar Dwellers, he has just illustrated a series of new “chant

Stamp of authority: A barking dog chases a postie on the 37-cent postal stamp designed by Peter Viska, who has also illustrated dozens of children’s books.

Ever wanted to be a guest at your own dinner party? Order your new kitchen from Let’s Talk Kitchens & Interiors before the end of 2013 and Executive Chef, Richard Wills of Utopia Private Dining (previously Vue De Monde and The Point, Albert Park), will create an unforgettable degustation menu & dining experience for eight people in your own home. On the other hand… If having your own chef doesn’t take your fancy you can choose some help around the home instead. We’ve teamed up with Absolute Domestics, to take care of your cleaning. For more information visit our website or showroom. Terms & Conditions apply.

www.letstalkkitchens.com.au DESIGN

CONSTRUCT

PROJECT MANAGE

194 Canterbury Rd, Canterbury, 03 9888 5100

CE

L 40 EBR YE AT AR IN S G DECEMBER 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 19


V

o t ic

s a’ i r

N

o

.1

Se

i ll

n

g

M

{z

d

{

D

ea

le

r

Australia’s Austral liia a’s N No.1 o.1 S Selling elling C Car ar For 2011 & 2012!* 2012!

M{ZD{ 3 neo

2013 Plate Exit

m{zd{ 2 neo sport

Fresh new look. Now with alloys. 1.5 litre 16V DOHC S-VT engine 5-sp manual Air-con DSC CD player (MP3 compatible) Plus metallic/mica paint at no extra charge

great new price!

NOW from only

$15 5,6 690 DRIVEAWAY 690 15,690 15,6

GET IT ALL. GET IT NOW. FINAL RUNOUT ON NOW BLUETOOTH ® 15 inch alloys from only Cruise control # Air-conditioning Metallic/Mica Paint AND MUCH, MUCH MORE! M DRIVEAWAY

$19,990

Plus gr g great deals on demo models

Luxury aut auto to ^

with Seven seats & sat nAV Automatic | Meteor Grey Rego 1AB2KL | 2,600kms

Demo $49,990 | Save $5,000˚ ˚

CX-5 5

Maxx sport t^

AN SUV with sports car dna Automatic | Aluminium Rego 1AB2JZ | 3,800kms

LMCT 1293

12

www.maxkirwan.com.au

sport sedan ^

exce exceptional safety & performance Automatic | Black Rego 1AA7MK | 2,100kms

Demo $33,990 | Save $3,325˚ GOOD ONE MAX!

m{zd{ 6 m

Demo $33,990 | Save $3,161˚

120 Bell Street PRESTON

9480 3555 After Hours: Frankie Chirico 0409 277 967

Offer applies to stocked units only. Offers expire 30th November 2013. * Based on Australian Sales figures provided by VFACTS for 2011 and 2012. # Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Runout Mazda3 Neo manual, Sedan or Hatch. ^ Images for illustrative purposes only, actual colour as indicated in description. ˚Savings based on Recommended new vehicle delivered price.

73517

cx-9 c x-9 9


Motoring \ rod easdown reflects on the vanity of driving

I

Ladies only: 1936 Hupmobile advertisement. (supplied)

(Supplied)

may be wrong about this – the guy at Fishermans Bend never got back to me – but I suspect the first Holden with a vanity mirror was the FB of 1960, the one with the fins. And then it was only in the Special, not the standard model. And only on the passenger’s side. It was nothing more than a small mirror glued to the solid, unpadded visor, but in 1960 that was a big deal. No one from back then could get into a new car without unfolding a visor to see what was there. Because of this some marketing guru hit on the idea that if a car had a smarter mirror, people would notice and therefore flock to buy. Ideas such as this take a long time to die in the car business. The first step was putting a mirror on the driver’s side as well as the passenger’s. Then came the top-hinged mirror cover quickly followed by the little slide-along number. After that things started getting seriously creative with lights illuminating the mirror just like real dressing room make-up mirrors. Then came the combination – the lights went on automatically as the cover was opened. I saw what was possibly the ultimate expression of this in a Jeep Grand Cherokee a few years ago; the automatic lighting could be dimmed with a slide control. I showed it to my ex, a woman brought up in Idaho (truckin’ country) and she was not

impressed. “Adjustable lighting on the vanity mirror?” she spat. “It’s a bloody Jeep.” Proving that car companies have more money than sense, there is industry research suggesting vanity mirrors on the passenger side only are discriminatory and sexist, and should be avoided if anyone female is even vaguely involved in the buying process.

Professor David Gartman of the University of South Alabama, and author of Auto Opium: A Social History of American Automobile Design, says passenger-side mirrors could just be dumb tradition arising from the man traditionally driving when couples travel. He told The New York Times that since 1936, when the Hupmobile offered a $1

clip-on sun visor mirror ‘For ladies only!’, car makers have assumed that women are vain and need a mirror where they sit, on the passenger side. The trouble with this is that these days there are more American women than men licensed to drive. And modern males are not exactly strangers to making themselves up in cars either. Even so, there are still cars – shall we say inexpensive cars such as Fiat’s Punto – that have a vanity mirror only for the passenger. Challenge their makers on this and they’ll fall back on a knee-jerk defence: safety. A driver’s side mirror could be distracting. They would prefer, maybe, the centre mirror hauled around to show make-up rather than following traffic? \ reasdown@theweeklyreview.com.au

Things you didn’t know about motoring ... US patents have been filed for vanity mirrors that can be adjusted independent of the visor they’re on, or removed entirely.

FREE CTP & REGISTRATION

ON A RANGE OF POPULAR MODELS*

HURRY - LIMITED TIME ONLY!

ZERO DEPOSIT AVAILABLE ON RUNOUT AND EX-DEMO ODYSSEY

1.5% P.A.

Clear service pricing for greater peace of mind. Factory-trained technicians and top-class equipment. Genuine Honda parts. For applicable models visit Yarra Honda

COMPARISON RATE^ WINNER: HONDA DEALER EXCELLENCE 2012

YARRA HONDA • 53 HODDLE STREET COLLINGWOOD • PHONE 9288 9000 • YARRAHONDA.COM.AU

DRIVEN BY EXCELLENCE

✽ Offer available while stocks last on new and demonstrator 12YM City, 13YM Civic Sedan, 13YM Accord and 13YM/14YM CR-V purchased and delivered between 1.11.13 - 31.12.13. Eastern Honda reserves the right to change/extend this offer. ^ This copmparison rate for finance amount $30,000 on a secured Consumer Loan for a 60 month term. WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the examples given and my not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate. Finance offer only available for qualifying new and ex-demonstrator 12YM/13YM Odyssey, with nil deposit and a maximum term of 36 months, ordered and finance approved by 31st March 2014. Finance provided by Macquarie Leasing Pty Ltd ABN 38 002 674 982 (Australian Credit License No. 394925) trading as Honda Financial Services to approved applicants only (not available to fleet, government ior rental buyers), subject to its credit assessment criteria. Fees and charges are applicable. Full conditions available on applcation. LMCT8953 YH5764JH

DECEMBER 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 23


CLIFTON HILL \ 499 HODDLE STREET

we love it

H

idden behind a shield of greenery, a weatherboard house built circa 1924 is a gem of a property standing on a lovely quiet street in the heart of Thornbury. There’s no doubting it is a modest building, spread as it is over a single level. But there is warmth at its heart, a feeling emphasised by a recent spit and polish that has seen the vendors apply a fresh coat of paint, along with new tiling in the bathroom. Its structure, too, has been reinforced courtesy of a partial restumping. It has also been rewired and replumbed. That the house is free-standing is an additional plus point. The bones of the house are good. Rooms are large, light is abundant and a north-facing backyard is a little private paradise with fruit trees and a covered pergola hugged by the twisted branches of a mature grapevine. Period touches are original – such as the leadlight decorative windows above the front and interior doors. Decorative ceiling roses catch the eye, and an ornate fireplace surrounded by a timber mantel of elegant simplicity is in working order. The area itself, according to the vendor, is possessed of its own appeal. She speaks highly of the quiet tree-lined street, of the “fantastic café” just across the road and of its proximity to a section of High Street that regularly sees the addition of great new cafés and boutiques. But back to the house. Dark-stained, Baltic-pine floors are a warm contrast to cream walls and the lush green that is viewed from nearly every window. The front bedroom is no exception: the buffer of a deep front yard makes this a quiet space with a view over the garden. A gas heater in the adjoining lounge room offers convenient warmth, while that aforementioned open fireplace will surely be a highlight of the house in winter, imbuing the room with a little cosy romance. There is a second bedroom tucked towards the back of the house, and a lovely study space that could easily double as a guest bedroom. Kitchen and meals areas are open-plan. And while the kitchen has not been recently refreshed, it remains an easy, functional space. An all-white and cream-coloured bathroom sits next to a slate-tiled laundry that leads to that covered patio and the garden beyond, with a shed in the back corner and enough sun and space for a vegie patch or even a chicken coop. Any lack of luxurious extras in the property is more than compensated for by its location. Public transport – trams and trains – and bike paths are easily accessible. Locals schools are less than a kilometre away. So, too, are cafés, conveniences and the High Street night life. There is proximity to parks, the city and the Eastern Freeway for those seeking a central spot on the north side of the Melbourne CBD. \ SARINA LEWIS property@theweeklyreview.com.au

2

1

Collins Simms \ 9488 0688

Price \ $1.05 million

Private sale

A terracotta gargoyle perched on the roof guards this solid-brick Edwardian with a tessellated-tile verandah and deep-red lacework. Inside, a long hall with a central arch has Baltic pine floors. A huge formal lounge room with thick, cream-coloured carpet and a ceiling rose has a stained-glass bay window ensconced in a grand arch and deep cornicing picked out in steel blue on white. The first of six fireplaces is flanked by glass-fronted bookshelves. All four generous bedrooms, each with a ceiling fan, have fireplaces, and there’s one in the dining room. A sloping ceiling with downlights hangs over the bright and airy family room and meals area adjacent to a large kitchen with Miele appliances. The bathroom has a spa bath and skylight, with a separate laundry and powder room just outside. Sixteen solar panels on the roof ensure energy bills are low. The low-maintenance brick courtyard leads via a private laneway to a large garage with roller-door access. Darling Gardens and Clifton Hill station are nearby. \ STEPHEN A. RUSSELL

postcode

3068

4

1

1

PARKVILLE \ 26/92 THE AVENUE

Woodards \ 9347 1755

Price \ $599,000

Private sale

Royal Park directly opposite makes for great views from both bedrooms of this 1970s apartment. The ground-floor residence has Tasmanian oak floors and a satisfying floor plan. A cutaway from the central hall introduces the large lounge room with a wall of bookshelves, an electric heater and a picture window to the garden entrance. Opposite the lounge, the recently refurbished kitchen and meals area has granite-look benchtops and modern appliances. Both the generously proportioned, park-oriented bedrooms have built-in wardrobes and one has a desk. The bathroom has mosaic floor tiles, a shower, bath and contemporary vanity unit. Sporting matching floor tiles, the toilet is conveniently separate. There’s a car space on title. A stroll through greenery gets residents to Royal Park station. Trams, shops, Melbourne University, University High School and the city are also within walking distance. Because of the green, never-to-be-built-out location, birdsong could replace the morning alarm. \ KAY KEIGHERY

postcode

3052

2

1

1 DECEMBER 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 25


Northcote 23 Gladstone Avenue

WE DELIVER...

00 ,0 ! 95 FT $2 LE OM Y 5 FR NL O

ABD

Warm, Welcoming And Walking Distance From everything

3

1

1

This enticing three bedroom Edwardian introducing formal living, modern kitchen and bathroom and a generous alfresco enjoys a coveted pocket just 300 metres from the station and 150 metres from all the benefits of High Street, including the tram. With the possibility to introduce parking via rear ROW (stca) it provides exceptional city fringe living.

AUctIoN INSpect coNtAct

CARLTON 34 NEILL STREET CORNER THE CARLTON MARKET WITH A BOLD INVESTMENT! Ideal investment opportunity for buyers seeking to develop their portfolio. These apartments offer brilliant rental returns potential; perfect for your SMSF. All apartments have been repainted & refreshed offering large open plan living/dining, modern kitchen, crisp separate or ensuite bathroom, large floor-to-ceiling picture windows, great storage with secure access viaremote-controlled gated entry, plus intercom.

this Saturday at 1.00pm Thursday 5:30-6pm & Saturday 12:30-1pm Bill Kyriakopoulos 0419 008 008 or Joe Horton 0421 128 008

loverealestate.com.au LoVe thornbury 770 High Street ph: 9480 2288

1

FOR SALE VIEW CONTACT OFFICE

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections

1

1

$295,000 - $360,000 Every Sat, Sun & Wed 12-12:30pm Maarten Bruin 0418 365 410 Ollie Preston 0402 702 568 Sunil Tolley 0434 633 696 448 St Kilda Road, Melbourne 9867 1444

bigginscott.com.au

ED K C OC U T ED D S R E ESECT IC L PR SE N O

Actual Image

Actual Image

FOR SALE

ILLURA

Inspect Thursday 5pm - 5.30pm

89 Roden Street, WEST MELBOURNE Unrivalled Apartment Living Illura perches in an enviable location to the west of Melbourne’s spectacular city skyline. The dramatic combination of skyscrapers towers and sports stadia offer a vibrant backdrop to your life. Ideally situated on Roden Street between King and Spencer Streets these superbly designed apartments offer a convenient base to work, study and play due to their proximity to the CBD and educational facilities such as Melbourne University, RMIT, State Library of Victoria . No stressful city-bound commutes are required here. City destinations are a short tram, train, bike ride or walk away. Use your time to savour the diversity and dynamism of this rapidly flourishing neighbourhood. • 2 bedroom apartments starting from $485,000 • Immaculate finishes throughout

• Close proximity to a wide range of boutique retail and dining options

• Only 1km from CBD (approx)

• Remaining apartments selling quickly

• Designed by renowned architects Elenberg Fraser

• These are a must see for any city dweller

26 The weekly review \ DECEMBER 18, 2013

Actual Image

Online www.realestate.com.au/600002911 Contact Bryson Cameron 0434 608 316 Office Mezzanine Level, 367 Collins St, Melbourne 03 9940 7222


THORNBURY 73 Raleigh Street

4

2

2

STATELY AND SOPHISTICATED EDWARDIAN LANDMARK! ´Lyndhurst C1910´ A luxurious family landmark with grand, period details, this gorgeous late-Edwardian residence offers a wonderful innerurban lifestyle. Comprising four bedrooms, superb ensuite and main bathroom, formal lounge, vast open-plan living/ dining area and designer marble-bench kitchen, laundry and powder room. Features include heating and cooling, ducted vacuum, alarm, plantation shutters, finest-quality fittings, plus a fully-landscaped north-facing backyard garden with decking, bluestone paving and secure carport.

FOR SALE INSPECT GUIDE OFFICE CONTACT

By appointment $1,429,000 Northcote | 9486 1800 Tom Alexiadis 0417 030 452 Spiros Karagiannidis 0413 348 793

CLIFTON HILL 6 Walker Street

3

GREAT POTENTIAL AND POSITION Comfortable DF home boasts with wonderful potential to renovate, taking advantage of its north orientation & highly regarded location, to create the ideal family home. 3 bedrms, front living rm, family sized kitch & dining, rear yard with garage (ROW) & garden shed. A rare opportunity!

1

1

AUCTION This Saturday at 11am INSPECT Wed 5.45-6.15 Sat 10.30-11 GUIDE $880,000 - $950,000 CONTACT Nicholas West 0418 559 494 Andrew De Angelis 0402 039 342 Fitzroy | 9417 1956

DECEMBER 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 27


A Review Local Advertising Feature

o t s r Lette ta San

We specialise in: • Improving your skin and looks with facials and peels • Massage (Deep Tissue, Remedial & Relaxation) • All waxing & body hair clipping (incl Brazilians for men) • Hair cuts and color from award winning stylists • Water treatments (hydrobaths & Vichy body scrubs & massages) • Manicures & Pedicures • Packages & Gift Vouchers for all occasions

Mens Body Works Melbourne’s 1st and only grooming and day spa facility for men.

The doctors & staff ff of The Integrated Medical Centre wishing all a Merry Christmas and Safe New Year.

464 Church Street, Richmond Call us on: 9429 5400 Visit us at: www.mensbodyworks.com

For appointments call: 9485 8000 or book online at www.integratedmedical.com.au 460 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy North, VIC 3068 (corner Brunswick Street & Alexandra Pde)

G6536791AA-dc18Dec

G6536601AA-dc18Dec

Christmas rs Gift Vouche Available

Proudly Sponsored by

Proudly Sponsored by

CHUCK LAU HOME IMPROVEMENTS

CHUCK LAU HOME IMPROVEMENTS

Dear Santa, Here is my wish list: Minion plush, infrared control helicopter with 2 channels, Titan hero series, Spiderman, Spider Cycle Chase, Gingerbread Friends book, Kai’s Fire Mech, Cragger’s Command Ship, Catwoman Catcycle City Chase, AFL the game and Kai Fighter. Love Rory Thornbury

Dear Santa, I’ve been good all year and if possible these are some of the things I would love for Christmas: I would like a zoo with a lion, giraffe and hippo. And a football that you can put through a hoop, a pyramid from Egypt, Peppa Pig and a flower. Love Erin Diamond Creek

Proudly Sponsored by

Proudly Sponsored by

CHUCK LAU HOME IMPROVEMENTS

Dear Santa, I’ve been good all year and if possible these are some of the things I would love for Christmas: I would like a baby guinea pig and I want them to go fast and zoom away fast. And some Monster High dolls and some hot dogs. Love Sheree Diamond Creek

Dear Santa,

Proudly Sponsored by

Proudly Sponsored by

CHUCK LAU HOME IMPROVEMENTS

Toys, Cl Clothing, hi A Accessories, Furniture, Linen, Décor

G6536282AA-dc18Dec

WE ARE THE PROFESSIONALS IN MENS GROOMING!

Dear Santa, I’ve been good all year and if possible these are some of the things I would love for Christmas: I want an iPad, a phone and a skateboard and I really need some new runners and I would like another sister. Love Emma Diamond Creek

Merry Christmas to s all our client and a happy New Year.

G6534347AA-dc18Dec

Mens Body Works Mens Body Works

Dear Santa, Hope you are well. Please bring me at Christmas: a telescope, FurReal puppy, games, craft supplies and a nice headband. Thank you very much Santa. P.S What would you like for a snack? Cookies and milk? And carrots for the reindeers? Love Riley Greensborough

CHUCK LAU HOME IMPROVEMENTS

I hope you and the reindeers have a good safe trip. If possible I would like for Christmas: a Barbie necklace, a Barbie Ballerina doll and a sticker book. Thanks Santa. Love Hayley Thornbury

CHUCK LAU HOME IMPROVEMENTS

ENROLLING NOW FOR 2014 Ph: 9380 8480 (ext 1) www.centrestageschool.com.au

www.kidsinteriordesigns.com.au Ph: 9499 1852 73 Upper Heidelberg Road, Ivanhoe

G6537422AA-dc18Dec

15 Albert Street East Brunswick 3057

ALMARA CABINETS Guaranteed quality. Renovations our speciality. Winner of the Australian Achievers Award.

Custom designed:

• wardrobes • study/office fit outs • wall units • entertainment units • bookshelves • garage storage Visit our showroom: www.almara.com.au

COLLINGWOOD LEISURE CENTRE BURNLEY GOLF COURSE Cnr Loyola and Madden Gr, Burnley Cnr Turnbull and Hoddle Sts, Clifton Hill 9205 5522 9205 5048

28 The weekly review \ DECEMBER 18, 2013

FITZROY SWIMMING POOL Alexandra Pde, Fitzroy 9205 5180

RICHMOND RECREATION CENTRE Gleadell St, Richmond 9205 5032

P: 9793 8233 F: 9793 8243 info@almara.com.au

G6490195AA-dc18Dec


Organise ORGANISE A Review Local Advertising Feature

� Cl Classical i l � JJazz � T Tap � C Contemporary � Spanish � Character � VCE � Boys Classes All ages - 3 Years to Adults Monday - Friday - After school Saturday 9am-3pm

G6489699AA-dc18Dec

Victorian Ballet School (Fitzroy)

Books | Calendars | Stationery 162 Collins Street, Melbourne Tel: (03) 9662 4699 www.readersfeast.com.au

9898 3498

You can also cut through to our Lt. Collins Street entrance via Bourke Street and Royal Lane. For our extended opening hours over Christmas see our website or call us. G6533198AA-dc18Dec

Fast Track k

Your Builder’s Registration Course � ��� ���� ������������ ����� ��� �������� �� ����� �� ������� � ��������� ������� �� ������� ��� �� ��������� ��� �������� �������

You may be eligible for Victorian and Commonwealth Government funding Enrol now for 6th Jan 2014 on 9399 9511. Listen to our students success stories on www.tiv.vic.edu.au AFL Footballer / AFL Multicultural Ambassador RTO No. 21920

A: 195 Champion Rd, Williamstown

G6534531AA-dc18Dec

Visit us at 162 Collins Street/ 195 Lt. Collins Street We are in the Georges building on Collins Street, not too far up from Flinders Street Station or down from Parliament Station.

Hodgson Street, (Rear of St Marks Church), Fitzroy Vic 3065 ENROL NOW FOR 2014

T: 9399 9511 www.tiv.vic.edu.au

Fairfield & Alphington R SL Sub-Branch We d N i g h t

Carvery Selection

15.50

$

Frida y Ni ght s Parma & Pot Fish-Chips & Pot

10

$

Thurs Night

Steak Night

17.50

$

$10 off any fine wine bottle

FREE BINGO

Fridays 10am-12pm

F r i da y s

Seniors Lunch for 2 courses

$

13

Free Function Room Hire

7 Railway Place Fairfield 03 9482 2242 G6496766AA-dc18Dec

G6531463AA-dc18Dec

DECEMBER 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 29


REVIEW CLASSIFIEDS 1300 138 910 Public Notices

Metro Media Publishing will not knowingly accept for publication any advertisement which may be in breach of the Competition and Consumer Act or any other relevant law.

G6355313AA-dc9Oct

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Proof Deadline: All Classifieds:

CLASSIFIEDS Review the latest property trends

142-144 Frankston-Dandenong Rd, Dandenong 3175

Garage Sales

Friday 5pm Monday 10am

and indulgence at affordable prices.

10/13-21 Thomas Street, Yarraville. 9314 6551 SWA 4141 4142

www.bodyline.net.au

iPhone app is now available! iPhone is a registered trade mark of apple Inc, registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple, Inc.

Situations Vacant

CHRISTMAS CLOSURE Your Classifieds Department will be closed from 3pm Friday 20th Dec and re-open at 8.30am Monday 13th January 2014. We would like to wish all our readers and advertisers a Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year.

Phone 1300 138 910

Health and Wellbeing

Massage Therapy

AWESOME THAI MASSAGE Traditional Thai, relaxation with oil, foot massage and deep tissue. Qualified Thai females. Open 7 days. 10am-10pm 221 Clarendon Street South Melbourne

9690 4888

Massage Therapy ASIAN Male masseur. Full body massage for relaxation. $50 per hour. Call Lam 0421 995 248, Footscray area. CARLTON Chinese Massage. Natural Therapy. 63 Pelham St, Carlton. Open 7 days. 10am-9pm. Phone 9939 8867.

G6200880AA-dc6Aug Traditional Thai Massage Deep Tissue Relaxation Qualified New Open 7 Days 10:30am-10:30pm M & F Staff 9480 2434

345 Bell St Preston (parking at rear)

www.chillthaimassage.com.au

Deluxe Thai Massage • Traditional Thai • Deep tissue • Foot • Relaxation • Remedial Qualified Thai Females 7 days, 10am - 10pm

13 Chapel Street, Windsor

9510 6768

G6266299AA-dc3Sep

Massage Therapy

Relaxation. 305 Queensberry St, North Melbourne. 7 days. Telephone: 9077 7620.

Bodyline

1300 138 910

G6530471

G5878296AA-dc20Mar

Bodyline is Melbourne’s premier adult relaxation centre, where patrons can experience our EXCLUSIVE COMPLETE BODYCARE service in a world of luxury

Classifieds

Phone 1300 138 910

Adult Services

Wishing you all our best!

BRUNSWICK 143 Brunswick Road, Saturday 21st Dec, 9am2pm. Furn, bric-a-brac, antique furn, clothes, accessories & more.

8.30am-5.00pm, Monday - Friday. All major credit cards accepted.

Readers are entitled to expect that the advertised prices are the actual prices at which they can purchase the particular goods and services.

Body Rubs

9696 9199

Prices should not be quoted as being 'excluding GST' or 'plus GST' or by the use of words or phrases conveying similar meaning.

For The Weekly Review Melbourne Times are as follows:

Trading World

MISS FOX

$49. 10am-11pm. Basement, CBD. 9654 6635.

NEW

• Thai Massage & Waxing • Male & Female Staff • $60 for an Hour Opening Special • 7 Days, 10am - 10pm

ORIENTAL MASSAGE

High quality service and low price. 47 Dickson Street, Sunshine. Call 9311 9994. 259 Ballarat Road, Footscray. Call 8307 0114.

Vietnamese Massage

Relax yourself for Christmas. Enjoy our introductory special $35 for 30 minutes. 10am-9pm. 9478 9312 0411 312 046

CLASSIFIEDS Contact us on

DOMESTIC CLEANERS REQUIRED We have multiple domestic cleaning positions available across the Bayside Port Phillip areas and CBD and inner suburbs. As well as the eastern, western and northern suburbs of Melbourne. Cleaning experience preferred but not essential as full training will be provided. To be considered for this role you must have: • A valid Drivers licence or reliable travel • Own mobile Phone • Current Police Check or willing to undergo one. • ABN Number or willing to get one • Reliable References • Excellent Communication Skills ALL APPLICANTS MUST BE PREPARED TO ATTEND INFORMATION SESSION. MUST be Australian citizen or permanent resident. Eligibility Criteria Applies.

To apply please call 8398 1722 or email your most recent resume to mmano@miss.vic.edu.au

CLASSIFIEDS

1300 138 910

SOLD!

Celebrations To advertise or place your wedding photo in this section contact one of our friendly staff on

1300 138 910 1300 138 910

Now available at

G6520548AA-dc10Dec

Mel: 31A8

G6441021AA-dc13Nov

CLASSIFIED DEADLINES

G6533985AA-dc17Dec

9482 3835

SWA6679B

10am till late ladies welcome. 32 Montefiore Street Fairfield

The Competition and Consumer Act provides that advertised prices for goods and services which attract GST should be GST inclusive.

$80

G6405231AA-dc30Oct

From

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL ADVERTISERS

G5876007AA-dc20Mar

swa6413B

Adult Services Just Open Silk Lotus


For bathrooms so stunning you’ll want everyone to see...

we have the solution!

Introducing the Provincial, only $1400. Now available in store.

In this photo- Provincial bath tub, Polar floor spout.

Blackburn 212 Whitehorse Rd (03) 9894 2427 Brunswick East 27-29 Kirkdale St (03) 9380 8231 Moorabbin 158–160 Cochranes Rd (03) 9555 5144 firstchoicewarehouse.com.au

facebook.com/firstchoicewarehouse

Tmt times 20131218 iss  

The Weekly Review

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you