Issuu on Google+

theweeklyreview.com.au

NOVEMBER 30 - DECEMBER 6, 2016

THE FEED + BISTRO GOEMON + MAMMOTH

LOCAL LOWDOWN + PEOPLE & PLACES + GOING OUT & STAYING IN

ANGE POSTECOGLOU

A HEAD OF

THE GAME BY SARAH MARINOS

SOUTH EAST

Melbourne’s Best Property Guide


Leaders in Custom Designed Homes

At Carter Grange, each of our luxury homes is ultimately designed for you. Quality materials and workmanship ensure our homes are both enduring and environmentally sustainable. We limit the number of builds we do every month to ensure each client and project has the attention to detail that is expected.

Contact us today for more information or to organise an individual walk-through.

Call Frank on 0488 051 144

Carter Grange is committed to our clients.

Show Home Locations OPEN Saturday & Sunday 1pm–4pm and Wednesday 7pm–9pm or by appointment Essendon 41 45 Deakin Street, Essendon

Langham 44 353 South Road, Brighton East

Regency 43 84 East Boundary Road, Bentleigh East

Loch 31 (dual occupancy) 14 Loch Avenue, St Kilda East

cartergrange.com.au


Melbourne’s finally getting those clear days when you can see forever, which makes Sunday grazing at Transit Rooftop Bar a must. Sweeping views and live music provide the backdrop to executive chef Tony Twitchett’s signature dishes, including candied pork with seared scallops and son-in-law eggs, matched with Dal Zotto prosecco. ● + Sunday Graze, Transit Rooftop Bar, Level 2 Transport Hotel, Melbourne, 11am-3pm, $5 Coronas + transitrooftopbar.com.au

(JACKSON SMITH)

SUNDAY HAPPY SUNDAY

Eat drink dance love

FRESHLY SHUCKED OYSTERS, SPANNER CRAB SALAD, GREEN CHILI

This week we’re talking about …

CHILL OUT COCKTAILS

St Kilda newcomer Spring & Summer not only marries the best of seasonal offerings, it also highlights pan-Asian flavours in yummy food and pretty cocktails. Head chef Peerasut “Golf” Laovanich and bar manager Anton Major’s drinks list features matcha, pineapple, pandan coconut and ginger – as tropical as they come. ● + 192 Barkly Street, St Kilda, 9044 2684 + springandsummer.com.au

MISS NIPPON \ $22

shine on

Cerrone has the largest jewellery workshop in Australia, with artisans dedicated to specialist craftsmanship. Hence, the creation of some truly stunning sparklers. Our favourite: this handcrafted fancy yellow cushion-cut diamond ring in white and yellow gold, complemented by pear shape diamond shoulders and round brilliant pave diamond sides. ●

KICK UP YOUR HEELS It’s strictly ballroom – not the movie, not the musical, but the real thing. The Australian DanceSport Championship celebrates its 71st year in the ultimate dance-off with athletes from more than 20 countries. Busting those hot Latin moves takes skill and athleticism, so prepare yourself for a spectacular showcase from all ages and categories. ●

+ POA. Cerrone Melbourne, 260 Collins Street, 9671 3285

+ Hisense Arena, Olympic Boulevard, Melbourne, December 9-11. Various ticket packages from Ticketek 132 849 or ticketek.com.au + theaustralianchampionship.com.au

compiled by Miranda Tay

+ cerrone.com.au

mtay@theweeklyreview.com.au NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 3


More to love ay what you will about our obsession with Sovertly sport. Yes, Aussie sports culture can be blokey and it’s fair to question why we

celebrate sports stars over and above those who excel in, say, science or the arts. But there’s no denying sport is the social glue that binds many communities together. Just as many a lifelong friendship has been forged on the suburban cricket pitch or in the clubrooms after a match, sport clubs have given countless immigrants to this country a vital entre to their new community, as well as a link to their heritage. So it was for Jim Postecoglou, who arrived from Greece in the early 1970s with his young family. At the South Melbourne Hellas soccer club Jim found both new friendships and the comfort of a familiar sporting code. Those good times also sparked a lifelong passion for the world game in his young son, Angelos. Four decades on, Ange has lost none of that passion as coach of our national soccer team. Read his story inside. ●

Jane

U P D AT E D D A I LY \ T H E L AT E S T I N F O O D

»

THEWEEKLYREVIEW. REVIEW COM.AU REVIEW. DRINK

»

EVENTS

»

REVIEWS

»

VIDEOS

win an ipad mini com plete our r e ader surve y What do we do well? ● What could we do better? Go to: www.theweeklyreview.com.au/survey2016 to be in the running to win a 128GB iPad Mini 4, valued at $879. We have three to give away.

CULTURED KIDS

3

to be won

Myke Bartlett shines a spotlight on ways to get your children into everything from ballet to the opera this summer.

We wish

(ISTOCK)

T he editor’s desk

HAVE YOUR SAY & WIN

31 Canterbury Road, Camberwell: a landmark house in a blue-chip area. PROPERTY ID » 2013194444

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

I N STAG R A M

www.facebook.com/ theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

Join the conversation PINTEREST theweeklyreview

GOOGLE+ The Weekly Review

YOUTUBE www.youtube.com/c/ weeklyreview

End of Season Sale now on. Limited Time Only

Icon Grand XL Bio-Ethanol Firebox.

Escea DX1500DS Ducted Gas Heater

Regency GF900 Gas Log Fire

376 Swan Street, Richmond. 94262900. 4 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

Sale ends 3/12/16 unless extended.

Heat&Glo 550TRSI

Open Mon to Fri 9.00am-5.00pm Sat 9.00am-4.30pm


How to contact us GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300

Competitions

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to our Facebook page at

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview or to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, December 4.

GROUP EDITORIAL DIRECTOR \ EMILY L RAYN LY RA ER erayner@theweeklyreview.com.au EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au DEPUTY EDITOR \ HARI RAJ hraj@theweeklyreview.com.au PICTURE DESK K \ KYLIE THOMSON kthomson@theweeklyreview.com.au REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ JOHN IOANNOU jioannou@theweeklyreview.com.au \ 9249 5319 REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ ANDREW MAHON 9249 5233 \ amahon@theweeklyreview.com.au MANAGING DIRECTOR, DOMAIN VICTORIA & PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON \ tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 51,500 copies

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Ange Postecoglou photographed by Matthew Furneaux SOUTH EAST

Y UR YO R LOCAL REPORT OR ER ORT

Jane is a self-confessed yuccie; a young urban creative. She loves stories, adventures, psychedelic yoga pants, the beach, her MacBook Air, and unashamedly jumping on new wellness trends. jane.hone@theweeklyreview.com.au 0432 740 203

WIN

StudioCanal is giving you the chance to win one of 10 in-season family passes (two adults and two children) to see Ballerina,, a beautifully animated tale about following your dreams. Felicie is a young orphan from rural Brittany who dreams of becoming a ballerina at the Paris Opera. With her best friend Victor, who wants to become a great inventor, they devise a madcap plan to escape the orphanage for Paris. Ballerina dances into cinemas on January 12. ● ballerinamovie.com.au

WORTH

WORTH

$72

WORTH

$140

WIN

Santa Claus, Mrs Claus, Rudolph and friends are once again making the trip Down Under; returning to Caulfield Racecourse this November and December. Bringing all the wonder and joy of the festive season, Santa’s Magical Kingdom promises a Christmas wonderland full of activities that will capture the imagination of the whole family. We are giving away three family passes, valued at $140 each, for Wednesday, December 14. ● santasmagicalkingdom.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from November 16: Jan Crawford, Peter Goad, Sandra Borg, Dino Cecala, Yiu Chan, Daniel Karrasch and Robert Moso. Entrants must be over 18 years old and live in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

$203

WIN

The producers of the world’s biggest magic show, The Illusionists, have teamed up with the award-winning puppeteers from War Horse to present a thrilling turn-of-the-century circus spectacular. CIRCUS 1903 – The Golden Age of Circus boasts a huge cast of the most unusual, amazing and dangerous circus acts from all four corners of the world – from strongmen to contortionists, acrobats to musicians, knife throwers and much more! We are giving away two double passes for January 3. ● circus1903.com

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 5


Sarah Marinos meets soccer supremo Ange Postecoglou

6 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

O

n October 23, 2013, he was given the country’s most high-profile football role when he became head coach of the Socceroos. Ange was quick to get stuck into the job, taking the team to the 2014 FIFA World Cup, the 2015 Asian Cup and now working through the process of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup. “My own ambitions are beyond just qualifying – that’s not satisfying enough. I want us to go to a World Cup and make an impact,” he says. “I’ve stated my ambition is to win a World Cup. It’s a challenge but when you say that is your goal I think you are more likely to be appreciated for your efforts.” Ange is also determined to raise the profile of soccer in a country steeped in Australian football, cricket and rugby. “Without sounding arrogant, we are good at the game, we’ve matured as a nation, we are great at every other sport and there is no reason why we can’t be great at this one. We just need to state that ambition and not hide in the shadows,” he says. “To say you love this game in this country is not always the easiest thing to do and maybe that’s contributed to the steeliness in my character. You’re almost preparing yourself for a fight,” he says laughing. But he says a bottleneck in the game means Australia is losing the potential talent fostered at grassroots clubs across the country. “We’re giving kids the opportunity

PICTURE \ MATTHEW FURNEAUX

you see progress in certain areas and understand you’ve put the pillars in place to get there and that gives you self-belief. The players and staff know I really believe in the way I coach and lead teams. They understand I am not going to walk away and that gives them the courage to go down that road with me.” The strategic thinking that is an essential part of the game has fascinated Ange since he was a young kid waiting outside the local newsagency for the latest delivery of British soccer magazines such as Shoot. He’d spend months poring over the pages and he still has those yellowing magazines at home. From the start, he has been an unflinching coach ready to speak his mind. He describes himself as someone who likes to shake things up, rather than coach with an eye on holding on to his job. “It’s liberating when you can do your job without worrying if it will end tomorrow. I’ve never worried about contracts or if my job was in jeopardy,” he says. “Probably the one time in my career where I veered away from that is the only time I’ve left feeling unsatisfied and unsuccessful.” Ange is referring to his departure from coaching the national youth team in 2007. He won the role in 2000 after moving from his position as South Melbourne coach. But he was replaced after Australia failed to qualify for the 2007 FIFA U-20 World Cup. It still irks him. “I started doing what I thought people wanted me to do and trying to fit in with the overall agenda. That doesn’t mean I would have been any more successful but I probably wouldn’t have left with the regrets I did,” he says ruefully. Ange then worked with Fox Sports as a commentator and with Football Federation Victoria before spending most of 2008 in Greece coaching then-third division club Panachaiki. The following year he returned to Australia to coach Brisbane Roar, where he became the first coach to win back-to-back A-League championships. His stint included a 36-match unbeaten run, which remains a record across all codes of football in Australia. In April 2012, he returned home to Melbourne to coach Melbourne Victory.

A Head Of The Game

A

nge Postecoglou owes a lot to the world game. It brought him the tight-knit circle of friends he’s had since he coached and captained the year 7 soccer team at Prahran High School. Soccer gave him the confidence to resign from a humdrum nine-to-five banking job, and it’s also how he met his wife, Georgia, in 2000. He was coaching South Melbourne and Georgia was the club’s newly appointed marketing manager. But the game’s influence on Ange’s life and identity doesn’t end there. Since he migrated to Melbourne from Athens as a five year old, soccer has been a glue that has held him close to his parents, particularly his father. Soccer clubs and match days were social hubs for migrants craving a taste of the homeland they’d left behind. It was no different for Ange’s father, Jim. After a hard week working as a carpenter and cabinetmaker, Jim went to South Melbourne Hellas, where he met new friends and could pretend, for a moment, he was back in Greece. Sharing those moments, Ange revelled in his father’s company. “Dad introduced me to soccer and I wanted to be close to him. It was the only time I saw him relax,” Ange says. “I started to play footy and got into cricket, but my father wanted to make sure his son didn’t lose the values of the past. We were in an unknown country and he didn’t want me to go into an unknown sport that he didn’t understand. So I became obsessed with football because it gave me a connection to my father.” That connection is still a major driver for Ange as he has progressed from high school coach to playing senior soccer and then to coaching at national and international level. “We always talk about migrants coming here for a better life but I’m sure my parents did not have a better life. Things would have been hard for them in Greece but at least they would have been surrounded by family and friends. They came here to give my sister and me the opportunity of a better life,” he says. “That’s a torch I still carry. I want to make sure I achieve what mum and dad fought for, so hopefully they get some satisfaction out of that. Dad is old school. He didn’t hug me and tell me he loved me every night and he’s still a hard taskmaster today.” Ange laughs when he recalls returning home to Melbourne from Sydney after leading the Socceroos to victory in the 2015 Asian Cup. The final was a hard-fought contest between South Korea and Australia with the home side winning its first Asian Cup in extra time. “I came home and showed dad the medal and cup and he said, ‘Well done son – but if you’d made a substitution you would have done it in full time’. It annoys the sh-t out of me,” Ange says. “Mind you, mum says when I’m not around he watches tapes of my games and says how proud he is, but I’ve always felt I was never good enough. That drives me – to have dad one day say, ‘You’ve done OK’. But I almost think I don’t want him to say it so I can maintain that drive to prove myself to him.” Ange’s playing career ran to 193 senior games for South Melbourne between 1984 and 1993. But it is as a coach that he is most comfortable and confident. “Playing was always a bit of a struggle. I was aware of my limitations and that allows fear to creep in on the field. I was captain at quite a young age, and I was confident talking about the game, but I had a nervousness about my ability. I never really believed I was a top-class player,” he says frankly. “I’ve never had that lack of confidence as a coach – it’s not arrogance but just a natural belief in what I do, plus


to play and we’re selling dreams about becoming a professional footballer but we only have 10 professional teams in our competition. If you grow up in Europe or South America, there are multiple avenues to get to the top. Here those avenues are very narrow and some great kids are walking away from the sport.”

A

nge’s commitment to the game that helped him ease into life beyond Athens is clear and he’s made plenty of sacrifices. Time away from Georgia and his three sons, James, 17, Max, two, and seven-month-old Alexi, are the biggest personal wrench. “My wife and I love going to the movies for our switch-off time and we love travelling back to Greece when we can. I also enjoy watching a game without being a coach. I can watch Liverpool play a game on TV and get as frustrated as any other supporter. “I missed a huge chunk of James’ growing up and I’m missing chunks of the two young ones growing up – I think that’s harder for me than for the boys. My father was working all the time and there weren’t many hugs and I overcompensate that with my kids. I worry that I am bringing them up too soft,” he says with a smile. James has taken up the game but Ange is careful to keep a low profile when his son plays – he usually hides in a remote corner of the field. “I’ve taken James into the dressing rooms at games when I am working and he understands what I do. He sees it’s a great job, but he sees the pressures.” Ange copes with those pressures and making the hard decisions that come with the national head coach role by keeping players at a respectful distance. While he’s empathetic, he maintains a professional remoteness. “People know that’s my personality so at any time if I say, ‘Let’s go for a coffee’ to a player or staff member they say ‘What’s going on, Ange?’. But I make tough decisions on a daily basis, so I need that barrier,” he says. That barrier means he’s not the greatest travel companion. He’s hears the stories of his players and staff trying to switch boarding passes when they realise they’ve drawn the seat next to the head coach. “Nobody wants to sit next to me because I don’t speak. A couple of times I’ve chuckled when young players are oblivious to how I am and start chatting to me and I shut that down pretty quickly. Eventually they realise it’s not personal. But I’m not that serious at home. I’m softer when I’m “I’ve always felt relaxed, like my father. I wasn’t good When he was with his friends and family, he enough. That was the life of the party, and that’s me. drives me – I enjoy being around to have Dad say, people who are close to me, telling the stories and ‘You’ve done OK’. cracking the jokes. If the players saw me then, they’d do a double take.” The focus now is on Russia and the 2018 World Cup, but what does the game hold for Ange beyond that? He’s never been one to plan too far ahead but says his next role will be overseas. “I want to coach abroad as an Australian. If I can go to Europe and have some success then people will say, ‘Well, hold on, maybe the Aussies do know something about the game’. That’s the next step for me.” ● smarinos@theweeklyreview.com.au

Changing the Game by Ange Postecoglou is out now, Michael Joseph, $35. NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 7


THE VINE

Ask the wine guy there rules about what grapes Q Are can be blended? There are no rules when it comes to A blending wines in Australia – unlike in France, where strict laws govern what

can go into regional wines. Australian winemakers are making the most of this freedom, producing amazing wines from grape combinations that might be considered, well, unusual. A blend of gewurtztraminer, riesling, sauvignon blanc and chardonnay? Or orange bitters blended in a sparkling – from Chandon, no less? Boundaries are being pushed and the results are tremendous. ● GOT A QUESTION EMAIL \

bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au

W H AT T O D R I N K W I T H B E N T H O M A S

Rob Dolan four + one 2014 (Yarra Valley) $27.50; 13%

Blue Pyrenees Estate 2013 (Pyrenees) $42; 14.5%

Chandon S NV (Victoria) $29; 12.8%

A blend of five grapes – grenache, sangiovese, tempranillo, barbera and shiraz – that smells invitingly of cherries, spice and earth. It’s seamless and savoury, with flavour hitting every corner of the mouth. With terrific structure and balance, as you’d expect with a blend, it’s bright, juicy and will take a light chill on a warm day. ●

A 73/19/4/4 blend of cab sav, merlot, malbec and shiraz, this is a super wine that got better the longer the bottle was open. There’s a minty, cedar character plus rich blue and black fruits on the nose. It’s smooth and rich in the mouth, with blackberry, spice and earth, balance and glossy, dense tannins. Delicious now, but wait a few years if you can. ●

The crew at Chandon in the Yarra Valley made their own orange-based bitters and added a dash to the sparkling. This is the result. It’s designed to be drunk over ice and there’s a heady set of aromas, including orange marmalade. It’s creamy smooth, slightly sweet without ice and full of complex citrus and stonefruit flavours. It’s the perfect drink for a hot night. ●

Enjoy with \ Pinchitos morunos

Enjoy with \ Marinated butterflied lamb

Enjoy with \ Prawn cocktail

BARGAIN BUY Airlie Bank Blanc III 2016 (Yarra Valley) $22; 12% Gewurtztraminer, viognier, sauvignon blanc and chardonnay are fermented separately on their skins before being blended and sent to oak barrels to mingle. It’s a floral, perfumed beast, with heady citrus, apricot and spice aromas. The skin contact has given it a wonderful slippery texture. ● Enjoy with \ Chicken yakitori

92

94

93

92

100

100

100

100

THE SCORE

● 100-95 OUTSTANDING

● 94-92 MUST BUY ● 91-90 MUST TRY R RY

WE S AY

S NT ME E O M H S ST TOR ART NOW R I P S S N F NVE ED A CT U O I I B T 1 TA EN RS & ON CON T E AT UY FER LY 2 5 COV E N T RY ST B OF ON R IME E OP T EL TED LUXURIOUS APARTMENTS IN MELBOURNE’S ROYAL BOTANIC GARDENS PRECINCT

I V DE LIM

P ROT ECT E D V I E WS AC RO S S M E L B O U R N E C B D A N D ROYA L B OTA N I C G A R D E N S 1 B E D RO O M F RO M $ 4 2 0 , 0 0 0 | 2 B E D RO O M F RO M $ 6 5 5 , 0 0 0

Larger apartments available on request REGISTER NOW FOR AN EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW 1 3 0 0 3 6 6 2 0 9 | B O TA N I C M E L B O U R N E . C O M . A U

8 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

“Embrace these exciting, unusual blends.”


THE FEED E AT

W I T H A L I C E Z A S L AV S K Y WWW.THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/EAT EA EAT

L E T ’ S D O B R E A K FA S T Mammoth ● 736 Malvern Road, Armadale ● 9824 5239 THE VIBE \ Sleek and clean with a nod to a ’50s milkbar, this corner cafe is the perfect combo of retro and new. THE DECOR \ A low counter extends to a bench surrounded by stools covered in navy leather, contrasting nicely with white-painted brick walls. Blond timber features in the furnishings.

THIS WEEK I’M … ADDING \ sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds to every salad and stir-fry at the moment. I love the rich nuttiness that it adds to the equation, giving complexity and roundness to everything ●

THE FOOD \ Fresh and creative breakfast dishes, including a panna cotta made with Greek yoghurt and honey that’s accompanied by seasonal fruits and granola clusters. Or try the corn and zucchini fritters with avocado and salted ricotta.

SASHIMI

I

THE VERDICT

● 281 Glen Huntly Road, Elsternwick ● 9523 9900 ● bistrogoemon.com.au 

WE LOVE …

WATCHING CHING \ if you are a fan of Japanese food and culture, you must check out Jiro Dreams of Sushi (below) on Netflix. It’s a marvellous exploration of one man’s endless pursuit for excellence and another’s endless wait to get off rice. ● FROZEN UMESHU

I’m always on a need to know basis. Get in touch: @aliceinframes #TWREat

QUIRKY SOUNDTRACK

BONELLO LOVES …

BRUNCH \ Ascot Food Store in Ascot Vale. It’s my local and the menu is great. Eggs benedict with the pork belly is a winner. If you feel like something sweet, they do great doughnuts, too.

ABOUT CHRIS TO SEE AND BE SEEN \ Oter is the perfect place for a great dinner or even a quick business lunch – French food as we don’t know it. Make sure you keep some room for dessert; those beautiful daily baked tarts are not to be missed.

A FANCY DINNER \ Amaru in Armadale. I love Clinton [McIver’s] food. It’s the perfect example of contemporary Australian cuisine. It’s fine dining but with a casual approach and not intimidating.

A DATE \ Bistro Vue The setting and the food is always consistent. David Wilson [restaurant manager] makes you feel special.

A QUIET DINNER \ La Tortilleria in Flemington. It’s close to my home and the outside tables are perfect on a nice Melbourne day. It’s authentic, tasty Mexican food and they always have great Mexican cocktails to choose from.

A BIG GROUP \ Mister Jennings The mezzanine level upstairs is perfect for a big group. The atmosphere of a private dining room makes any occasion feel special. You’re sure to be blown away by Ryan [Flaherty’s] food creation.

(F IRFAX MEDIA VIA GETTY IMAGES) (FA

Chef’s Secrets C H R I S

(JEMIMAH CLEGG)

Fresh and fun – the perfect way to start the day. ● JEMIMAH CLEGG

magine a warm, savoury custard, floating beneath a layer of thick, mushroomy broth – wobbly, but still firm enough to put a spoon through so you can watch it yield satisfyingly to your whim, revealing unexpected seafood delights floating beneath. Chawanmushi feels like an entirely appropriate dish to begin with at this unassuming Japanese bistro. Especially when theirs is some of the best I’ve had – not only in depth of flavour and texture, but also in its generous portion size, packed with scallop, prawn and shiitake. I can’t decide whether this or the agedashi tofu – deep fried silken tofu served in a silky broth with crab – is my favourite, so I order both. Also on your list should be the tororo-isobeage, which might read like an easy way of using up all your vowels in Scrabble, but is actually a kooky yam-filled nori-wrapped dumpling – kinda crunchy and briny, but also slightly sweet. Sashimi fans will love the slick knife-work and artful array of fresh fish, including some chubby scallops that almost started a chopstick war. Don’t be surprised by the smaller portions – just order more than you’d think. Bring family, bring friends, bring your sumo pants. ● aliceinframes@theweeklyreview.com.au

COOKING \ prawns are great right now, especially those coming out of Skull Island in the Northern T Territory. For perfectly poached prawns at home, simply cover with boiling water and leave to cool. ● READING \ I’ve loved getting to know Rick Stein better while in Margaret River this month and his book Under a Mackerel Sky (Penguin Books) is back in my handbag – so insightful and honest, just like the man himself. ●

BISTRO GOEMON \ ELSTERNWICK

THE DRINK \ Hot drinks include a range of lattes from matcha to golden, as well as a salted caramel hot chocolate. You can also get your latte iced or a cold brew coffee.

PANNA COTTA

(CARMEN ZAMMIT)

THE CROWD \ Young families and retirees enjoy some breakfast while local professionals grab a coffee and a treat, either to go or to stay.

Chef at MPD Steak Kitchen, fan of gardening and aromatherapy.

STILL HUNGRY ? Check out Chris’ Duck Egg + Steak Tatar recipe online. T NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY LLY REVIEW 9


this week make sure you T H E B E S T I N E N T E R TA I N M E N T W I T H M Y K E B A R T L E T T

invited to the theatre before, and they came, all over Australia.” And not just all over Australia. The show was a huge hit at this year’s Edinburgh Fringe Festival and at fringe fests in Dublin and Adelaide. “We have so much beautiful talent that is just not getting an opportunity to be seen,” Kim says. “We’ve worked with so many Honeys around Australia, from amazing drag queens to B-girls to amazing circus performers. We decided to write ourselves and these people onto the stage.” These so-called Honeys include beatboxers, storytellers, singers, circus performers and dancers from Tongan, Indonesian, Samoan, Maori, South African and Kamilaroi backgrounds. Together they’ve created a genre-bending production that Kim describes as a cross between a night at the theatre and a Beyonce concert. “The arts have the capacity to change culture and we’re in a culture that needs changing,” Kim says. “Laughter is the best way of breaking preconceptions. We laugh a lot and the audience gets to laugh a lot.” ● mbartlett@theweeklyreview.com.au

HOT BROWN HONEY

wat c h \ hot brown honey

F

(DYLAN EVANS)

ighting the good fight was never this sweet. Or this much fun. The cheekily named Hot Brown Honey comes storming in from the fringes this week and Australian theatre might never look the same again. The group’s act is a furious mix of everything from cabaret to hip hop, designed to show Australian audiences exactly what we’ve been missing. MC Kim “Busty Beatz” Bowers says their success has proved there’s an appetite for adventurous and diverse theatre. “There was a statistical thing done in Australia that showed if you put a woman of colour on a poster, people won’t go to your show,” Kim says. “We just went, this is how we look, this our show, here we are. We found our people, people who had maybe never been

» December 6-11 Arts Centre Melbourne, $50-$55 hotbrownhoney.com

GOING OUT I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

CHRISTMAS

MUSIC KLEZMERITIS If you’re looking for a musical performance with a difference, look no further than this night of music from Klezmeritis – it’s sure to be one you’ll remember. The band plays soulful Eastern European Jewish music with gypsy, jazz and middle-eastern influences. They have appeared on TV’s Spicks and Specks, as well as at the Port Fairy Folk Festival, Woodford, National Folk Festival and Fairbridge. ■ December 7, 6.30-7.30pm. St Kilda Library, 150 Carlisle Street, St Kilda. Entry: free. SPORT 2016 SAILING WORLD CUP It’s not every day that you get to stand on St Kilda beach watching world-champion sailors race across the horizon. Melbourne is the host of this year’s World Cup Final, in

(SUPPLIED)

DUMBO FEATHER CHRISTMAS FETE Australian cultural magazine Dumbo Feather is again putting on a Christmas/Everythingmas fete and, naturally, it’s doing it in style – ethical style. Search for a unique gift while enjoying the food trucks and sea breezes. Y You’ll find candles, artisanal woven baskets, children’s clothing and toys, jewellery, ceramics, cakes, bath and body products, stationery, chocolate and tea – all made locally and ethically. ■ December 3, 8am-2pm. The White House, 11 Princes Street, St Kilda. Entry: free. dumbofeather.com SANTA’S MAGICAL KINGDOM Santa Claus, Mrs Claus, Rudolph and friends are venturing away from the North Pole and braving the Australian summer. Caulfield Racecourse will be transformed into a Christmas wonderland complete with Snowland, a free gift on meeting Santa, live entertainment, Gingerbread Land, a craft village in which you can make your own Christmas cards, a letter-writing workshop, games and rides.

Until December 23. Caulfield Racecourse, Station Street, Caulfield East. Tickets: adults, $39.95; children 2-12 years old, $37.95; under twos free. santasmagicalkingdom.com.au

DUMBO FEATHER CHRISTMAS FETE which the finest sailors will compete between Olympic appearances. Those on dry land can enjoy the atmosphere of the race village, which will be divided between the Royal Melbourne Y Yacht Squadron, St Kilda Baths, St Kilda Beach and Catani Gardens. ■ December 4-11. St Kilda Sailing Precinct, St Kilda Foreshore, St Kilda. sailing.org EMMA & TOM’S CHRISTMAS RUN What better way to kick off the festive season than with a bit of fund-raising and healthy

exercise? Choose to run or walk five or 10 kilometres, or kids can do the two-kilometre Rudolph Run, with money raised going to The Unite Project and The Salvation Army. Feel free to bring a picnic and blanket, as well as an unwrapped gift to place under the tree for a teenager or child in need. ■ December 7, two-kilometre run from 6pm; five and 10-kilometre runs from 6.40pm. Palms Lawn, Albert Park Lake. Cost: adults $40; kids from $15. emmaandtom.com ● COMPILED BY JANE HONE

WANT YOUR EVENT LISTED? To be considered for a listing email \ goingoutSEA@theweeklyreview.com.au 10 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016


HOT TIX QU EEN OF KATW E

SUGAR R MOUNTAIN JAN 21 \ VCA A \ $109

WWW.MOSHTIX.COM.AU

two decades). Actually, this golden anniversary show features only two of the original rock apes – Micky Dolenz and Peter Tork. The celebratory, fan-pleasing affair features clips from their cultish TV series and performances of all their best-known hits. ■ Palais Theatre, December 7, $89.90-$249.90, monkees.com

DANCE, DANCE! THE WIGGLES BIG SHOW! KIDS Perennial kids’ favourites (and purveyors of near-fatal earworms for adults), The Wiggles are marking 25 years in the business with a national stadium tour. Even a ONLINE \ Watch the trailer change of cast hasn’t dented their appeal for young ’uns. If anything, the addition THE MONKEES of Emma Wiggle has won That other the group an army of new GIG fab four fans (and added a certain are still soap opera frisson, via monkeying her recent wedding to around. Even a daydream her purple peer). They’re believer wouldn’t have performing three shows this THE MONKEES expected, some 50 years on, Saturday, with a little help to see the Monkees embark on from their friends. ■ Rod Laver Arena, December 3, an Australian tour with a brand new $35.55, thewiggles.com.au album under their belt (their first for

STAYING IN

Reg Mombassa has left an indelible mark on Australian pop culture. Leaving aside his countless chart hits with band Mental As Anything, his design work for Mambo still characterises ’80s Australian pop art – coming second only to Ken Done. And let’s face it, Reg’s stuff looks better on a T-shirt. This enchanting collection of his landscapes is packed with art displaying a uniquely Aussie blend of irreverence, warm-heartedness, surrealism and earthy simplicity. Your coffee table will thank you. ●

HEAR

WATCH

ONLINE \ Hear Signals

The Hollow Crown \ SBS December 4 & 7, 8.30pm. sbs.com.au

This star-studded sequence of Shakespearean plays looks back to when being monarch was a far bloodier affair than it is these days. The cast list is a veritable Who’s Who of British acting aristocracy. The monarchical Richards and Henrys are played by Tom Hiddleston, Ben Whishaw, Benedict Cumberbatch and Jeremy Irons. This is stunning, classy telly. I’ll take Plantagenets and Lancasters over Windsors any day. ● ONLINE \ Watch the trailer

Nicole Millar \ Communication EP nicolemillar.com.au

Sydney’s Nicole Millar is best known for singing on other people’s songs. Most famously, she co-wrote Peking Duk’s High, which came close to topping triple j’s Hottest 100 last year. Her new EP is driven by a similar, summery fusion of pop and electronica. Single Signals is a jittery kind of anthem, as spooky as it is seductive. ●

PHILIPPE PARRENO: THENABOUTS For almost 30 years, French artist and filmmaker Philippe Parreno has toyed with the line between art that moves and art that doesn’t. His first Australian solo exhibition arrives at ACMI following a triumphant installation at London’s prestigious Tate Gallery. Thenabouts is a retrospective of his filmic works. As with many of his previous exhibitions, it changes with every visit. A gallery technician controls the display of images and sounds to create an immersive, interactive experience. ■ ACMI, Opens December 6, Free, acmi.net.au EXHIBIT

WIN A BLU-RAY The BFG is now available on Blu-Ray, DVD and Digital. Thanks to Disney Home Entertainment, we have 10 Blu-Rays to be won. Leave a comment identifying the book reviewed in this week’s mag. Closes midnight Sunday, November 20.

THE HOLLOW CROWN \ BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH

The Landscapes of Reg Mombassa » $75 (Hardie Grant) hardiegrant.com.au

BURNING DOORS What happens when making art makes you an enemy of the state? Belarus Free Theatre is the only theatre company in Europe to have been outlawed by its government. Not that the company has let that stop it standing up for human rights across the globe. For this fierce work of performance art, it teams up with the equally controversial Maria Alyokhina (of Pussy Riot fame) to share real life stories of artists who refuse to be silenced. ■ Arts Centre, November 29-December 3, $30-$69, artscentremelbourne.com.au THEATRE

(SUPPLIED)

READ

WIN!

SEE

(SUPPLIED)

P L AY

(SUPPLIED SUPPLIED))

QUEEN OF KATWE We all love an underdog. This FILM feel-good flick from Disney follows the unlikely (if true) rise of chess champion Phiona Mutesi, played by newcomer Madina Nalwanga. Phiona hails from the poverty-stricken slum of Katwe in Uganda, where there are few options for self-improvement, let alone escape. Missionary Robert (David Oyelowo) invites her to join his chess club, where she soon proves to be a prodigious player. The world championships beckon. ■ Opens December 1, rated PG, 124 minutes, queenofkatwe.com

The BFG DVD, Blu-Ray and Digital, movies.disney.com.au/the-bfg

Steven Spielberg’s adaptation of Roald Dahl’s classic treads softly on the memories of generations. While it’s a bit too sentimental and reverent to capture Dahl’s wickedness, powerful performances from the two leads bring it to life. Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall, Bridge of Spies Spies) oozes charm, while newcomer Ruby Barnhill is brainy and bold as orphan Sophie. ● MB THE BFG

ONLINE \ Watch the trailer NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 11


I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

“I’d never eaten a Golden Gaytime until last summer, and then I ate two in a row.”

A N D R E W D E S I L VA Andrew De Silva shot to fame in the 1990s as part of Aria-award-winning R&B group CDB (best known for their cover of Earth, Wind & Fire’s Let’s Groove Tonight Tonight). The father of two won Australia’s Got Talent in 2012, is the lead singer of Boom Crash Opera and is touring with Prince tribute band Purple Revolution. Andrew has lived in Sandringham for 10 years and loves its relaxed beach vibe. Where do you go for a great cup of coffee? The Black Squirrel. The coffee is consistently good and I love their omelettes.

(DANIEL POCKETT)

LOCAL LOWDOWN

OH!

O V E R H E A R D … 2pm, Friday @ Acland Street

I love Sandringham

For Friday night drinks? Hawker Bar. They have a great wine list, you can grab an open window seat and, if you’re hungry, order from Typhoon next door and have the food delivered to you at Hawker. For the perfect meal? Teriyaki salmon and rice from Sushi Daily. Always fresh and super tasty. For some great entertainment? The Sandy Hotel on a Friday night. Great views to the beach and a menu to suit the whole family. They also cater for children’s entertainment.

For a sneaky takeaway? Mama’s Kitchen has great, friendly staff and their burgers are always enticing.

For a serious workout? A weight session at Fitness First Bayside, followed by a run on the beach. ● JANE HONE

When friends come from out of town? Out for breakfast to Limoncello in Sandringham. Their menu never disappoints and it’s great to walk it off on the beach.

Boom Crash Opera will play at the Chelsea Heights Hotel on December 2. Purple Revolution will play at TRAK in Toorak on December 17. andrewdesilva.com.au

Black Squirrel 20 Bay Road, Sandringham. 9533 5733 ● Mama’s Kitchen 15 Bluff Road, Black Rock. 9589 7002 ● Limoncello 54 Station Street, Sandringham. 9533 4543 Hawker Bar 288-290 Highett Road, Highett. 9555 0705 ● Typhoon Vietnamese Street Food 292 Highett Road, Highett. 9555 0705 ● Sushi Daily 72 Station Street, Sandringham. 9533 1144 Sandringham Hotel corner Beach and Bay roads, Sandringham. ● 9598 7255 Fitness First Bayside 241-245 Bay Road, Highett. 9559 7400

Puppy carers needed!

Take care of a puppy and help change a life… Being a Seeing Eye Dog puppy carer is possibly the most enjoyable way to volunteer. Not only do you get to experience the joy of looking after an adorable puppy for about 12 months, without any of the associated costs – you will also enjoy the satisfaction of knowing you are assisting someone who is blind to live the life they choose. Seeing Eye Dogs Australia is urgently in need of loving homes for puppies in your area. For more information please contact Seeing Eye Dogs Australia on 1800 037 773 or visit www.seda.org.au 12 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

a division of vision australia


RETAIL THERAPY THE NEW CO CO ON \ BRIGHTON

Who’s behind the counter? Felicity Edwards has worked as an interior designer for 13 years, delving into retail and landscape architecture along the way. “I wanted to have my own premises and to do what I love doing,” she says. “I love that interior design changes all the time, and that there are always new things and new ideas coming out.” Felicity opened her shop in 2011. The business includes a property staging component, which helps set up homes for sale, as well as the interior design angle. What’s in store? “I would say our look is rustic luxe,” Felicity says. “It’s also classic, modern, and tribal, with statement pieces.” You will see velvet blue chairs, high-gloss night stands in white and brown, copper lamps, custom-designed cushions from Kerrie Brown, oversized and dramatic artworks, textured rugs, velvet ottomans, jewellery, relaxed and feminine clothing and a healthy splash of gold and concrete. “Twenty per cent of the store is what’s on trend at the moment,” Felicity says. “The rest is classic pieces that won’t date. We stock different things to what you see at the trade shows.”

F I N D U S AT

SALES PITCH

1/130 New Street, Brighton 9592 8800. thenewcocoon.com.au

Classically beautiful high-end furniture and homewares hand-picked by an experienced interior designer

Products are mostly sourced from the US and India. There are also locally made items and Felicity is starting to stock products she has designed herself. Who’s buying? Young mums, plus mothers and grandmothers buying gifts for their daughters. Interior designers and stylists often bring in clients. ● JANE HONE

Our pick Add a little glamour to your dining room with this statement gold wire occasional chair. $1895. Grand designs: Felicity Edwards. (DANIEL POCKETT)

NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 13


DRIVE

I N PA R T N E R S H I P

DOUBLE TORQUE

WITH

RON & JACQUI HA M MERTON TEST DRIVE FORD EVEREST

H E S AY S

S H E S AY S

o, Australia’s car industry is dead? Well, no. The Sindustry, Ford Everest is proof there is life in the local auto even if manufacturing is breathing its last.

he Everest looks dauntingly big – as its name T suggests – but it drives like a one-size smaller SUV with enjoyable ride and handling.

BY THE NUMBERS IT COSTS \

$76,705

IT HAS \

A 143-kilowatt 3.2-litre five-cylinder turbo diesel with six-speed auto

WE GOT \

We got 9.1 litres per 100km in a mix of urban and highway driving. Official combined figure is 8.5

RON’S VERDICT “Built for Australian conditions” has never been so apt. ●

The benefit of jumbo-sized dimensions is on the inside, where seven good-sized leather seats cater for the extended family or the cricket training run. When you don’t need the third row, fold it under the floor and your luggage space more than doubles. The second row can also be folded away or split, so trips to Ikea and borrowing ladders are a cinch. In a family wagon, safety is paramount, and the Everest impresses with a healthy array of five-star tech, including forward collision mitigation (automatic braking) and rear cross-traffic alert. It will even parallel park itself. We did not get to challenge the 4x4 system, but the Everest makes it easy with permanent four-wheel drive and a console-knob selection of four modes – normal, snow/gravel/grass, sand and rock. I love the simplicity of Ford’s Sync connectivity as much as the 240-volt socket for your devices. ●

C O N S E N S U S \ CAN TAME THE BIRDSVILLE TRACK ACK . MORE \ ford.com.au

(ISTOCK)

The big SUV was developed from the ground up by Ford’s engineers and designers in Australia, alongside the vehicle on which it is based, the Ranger ute. Both are made in Thailand, but in most respects they are true blue, perhaps more than most past “Australian” cars. The Everest is as solid as Uluru, with a steel body on steel ladder chassis, and armed with a hefty, multimode 4x4 drivetrain for serious off-road conditions. It is not such a dainty beast, weighing in at more than 2.5 tonnes, but its car-like ride and handling belies its size, and its grunty five-cylinder diesel pushes it with relative ease. Our test vehicle was the top-most seven-seat 4x4 Titanium, which is not cheap at $76,705. The good news is that Ford is rolling out more affordable five-seat, 4x2 versions for families with an adventurous streak. ●

JACQUI’S VERDICT Peak performer. ●

NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 15


IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

THE MIX IS JUST RIGHT 393 KOOYONG ROAD, ELSTERNWICK, 3185

I

t was the proliferation of schools in the immediate area that initially coaxed the vendors to leave their inner-city digs in favour of this address. Keen to establish a family, but less keen to sacrifice access to public transport and eateries, they were impressed by what Elsternwick had to offer. Ten years on, they’re converts to the convenience; the cosmopolitan demographic, and the varied cuisine available within a stone’s throw. The house today is quite different from the one they purchased. Gone is the daggy picket fence, replaced with a taller one reinforced by tall greenery to establish a buffer from the main-road location. Their landscape gardener transformed the front garden into a low-maintenance haven. He also reinvented the backyard, with a design based on the principal of outdoor rooms. There’s a built-in barbecue on the diner’s terrace, and an adjoining paved area for soaking up sunshine. Other outdoor areas have adjusted as the family matured. Where once was a sandpit, a fernery now provides lush aspects from the open-plan area. Entry to the house is along a side path and through a front door displaying an original leadlight panel in red and

MELBOURNE’S BEST

PROPERTIES

baby-blue tones. That design is repeated in leadlight on doors to bedrooms and the bathroom. The first room off the foyer is a bedroom that looks over the front garden. The main bedroom is opposite. It comes with built-in wardrobes, and en suite access to a second bathroom with separate toilet that’s also reachable from the kitchen, dining and living area. The hallway turns right, passing the huge second bedroom. It has an open fireplace and a wall of custommade storage incorporating wardrobes, drawers and a television shelf. There’s a family bathroom and then a study before the hallway ends at an open-plan hub. From the female vendor’s perspective, this open-plan area has been integral in fostering family bonding. She’s relished a decade of watching her growing kids run in and out of the house as she has cooked dinner in the natural light. After dinner, this is a fine spot for all-in huddles. From an architectural point of view, angled glass walls to the backyard generate interaction and interest. A double carport adds to the attraction. ● KAY KEIGHERY property@domain.com.au

MCKINNON \ 301A MCKINNON ROAD

AG E NT’S CH O ICE POSTCODE

3204

AGENT Buxton 9563 9933 EDITORIAL SUBMISSIONS PROPERTY PRODUCER \ ALEAH ESPANTA NT NTA aleah.espanta@domain.com.au M \ 0435 822 047 ADVERTISING INQUIRIES REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ MATT A HEW ATT W MAASDIJK matthew.maasdijk@domain.com.au M \ 0417 307 710 The real estate cover story (right) has been visited by a TWR journalist. Agents’ Choices and Out of Town are promotions provided by the selling agent.

DOWNLOAD MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTY APP FIND YOUR NEXT HOME, ANYWHERE, ANY DEVICE 16 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

AUCTION December 10 at 11.30am

SCHOOL ZONES + McKinnon Primary + McKinnon Secondary + St James College see more domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID 2013223403

12km from Bourke Street

4

2

2

Agent: Gary Peer Carnegie 9563 1666 ................................................................. Price: $1.5 million - $1.65 million ................................................................. Auction: Saturday December 10 at 3:30pm ................................................................. OFI: Sat 9.45-10.15am; Sun 1.30-2pm .................................................................

PRICE $900,000 – $950,000

OFI November 30, 4.45-5.15pm

6 Ocean Street, Ormond

McKinnon Reserve is opposite this property. It has play equipment, and provides space for ball games and walking the dog without mowing or maintenance duties. The house is zoned for, and within easy walking distance of McKinnon Primary School and Secondary College. It presents sweetly in cream render, with a geometric arch over the porch. The double garage has a door to the interior, and another leading to the backyard. Forming the core of the single-level interior, the main bedroom has a walk-in wardrobe and en suite. Minor bedrooms benefit from an updated bathroom with bath and shower. There’s a carpeted lounge or fourth bedroom off the open-plan kitchen, dining and family areas. In this hub, tiled floors, a timber storage unit, stone-look benchtops, stainless-steel appliances and walls of windows to the north-facing backyard create a bright and casual ambience. Catch buses at the door, shop locally and commute to the city from McKinnon station. ● KAY KEIGHERY

3024

3

2

2

With a welcoming ambience of warmth, this impressive residence offers a lounge and dining, family and meals area, granite kitchen and a fitted home office. Let's eat lunch @ Mountain of Bears, 556 North Road Let's eat dinner @ Fabulous Fine Food, 161 McKinnon Road Let's drink coffee @ Mr Burch, 129 McKinnon Road


FINAL WORD “THIS LARGE OASIS ENSURES QUALITY FAMILY L LIVING LY IN A LIFESTYLE LOCATION.” ANGELOS STEFANIS – AGENT

AGENT Biggin & Scott 9523 9444 PRICE $1.4 million + AUCTION December 3 at noon OFI December 1, 12.45-1.15pm SCHOOL ZONE + Glen Eira College FAST FACTS Solid-brick 1913 house extended and renovated, landscaped front and rear gardens; fitted study; open-plan kitchen, dining and living; barbecue terrace; heating and cooling see more domain.com.au PROPERTY ID 2013201638 ELSTERNWICK 13km from Bourke Street

3

2

2

CAULFIELD NORTH \ 22 BAMBRA ROAD POSTCODE

3204

9 Yawla Street, Bentleigh 4

3

2

Agent: Rob Strickland 0437 076 069 ................................................................. Price: POA ................................................................. Auction: Saturday December 10 at 12.30pm ................................................................. OFI: Wed 5.30-6pm; Sat as advertised .................................................................

AGENT Gary Peer 9526 1999 PRICE $3.3 million + AUCTION December 4 at 1.30pm OFI By appointment SCHOOL ZONES + Caulfield Junior College + St Aloysius Primary + Glen Eira College

Stunning contemporary entertainer with three living zones (gas fire), a luxury stone kitchen (walk-in pantry), a north-facing rear garden and an auto garage. Let's eat lunch @ Little Tommy Tucker, 432 Centre Road Let's eat dinner @ Mexico City, 260 Centre Road Let's drink coffee @ The Owl & The Baker, 347 Centre Road

see more domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID 2013192710

11km from Bourke Street

Behind the Spanish-mission facade of this house you’ll find a roomy interior and a north-facing backyard fit for energetic families. Twenty years in one family’s hands has given the house a warm and established feel. The foyer precedes a theatre room or fifth bedroom with en suite. The dining and living room has french doors to a side terrace. Kitchen and meals areas – with a workstation – and a family room with two doors to the backyard make up the rear of ground level. Black stone surfaces contrast with white cupboards in the modern kitchen. On the second storey, all minor bedrooms have built-in wardrobes, two have desks, and one has access to a balcony. The main suite includes a study nook, walkin wardrobe, en suite and private terrace. With covered and open terraces, gardens, a pool and a tennis court, the backyard packs exceptional punch. ● KAY KAY KEIGHERY

3161

5

4

2 NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 17


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au Auction this sAturdAy 11:30

49a Saturn Street CAULFIELD SOUTH Maximum space With Minimum Fuss Makes this A “Must-see”! This contemporary town residence is all about easy living & minimum upkeep in a generously scaled design. With a downstairs main bedroom with ensuite accompanied by an upstairs’ kid’s zone that makes it an inspired choice for both downsizers & families, the home also showcases a home office, huge granite/Smeg kitchen with breakfast bar/central island bench & a fabulously flexible open-plan area for living, dining & entertaining with double French doors opening to the rear garden. Enjoying a prized address in the Gardenvale Primary School zone, the home is also close to transport, cafés, shops & Princes Park.

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.49asaturnstreetcaulfieldsouth.com

Auction saturday 3 december 11:30am Inspect Sat from 11:00 Guide $1,200,000 - $1,320,000 Contact Benjamin Rothschild 0417 597 748 Phillip Kingston 0414 353 547

03 A A 2.50 B B 02

CC

Auction this sundAy 1:30

22 Bambra Road CAULFIELD NORTH A superlative Family Lifestyle in A Resort-style setting Behind its Spanish Mission Revival façade lives a spectacular home embodying designer aesthetics, superlative space & infinite style. An entry foyer beneath a soaring void sets the stage for sophisticated entertaining & effortless everyday living in the lounge & dining room, casual meals, family room, upstairs’ retreat & home office. Equipped with Euro appliances & central island bench, the outstanding kitchen is a harmonious display of form & function. Complete with a glittering blue pool & tennis court, the stunning resort setting is perfect for hosting fabulous fiestas & quiet afternoon siestas. 18 The weekly review \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.22BambraRoadcaulfieldnorth.com

Auction sunday 4 december 1:30pm Inspect Thurs 1:00-1:30, Sat 12:45-1:15 & Sun from 1:00 Contact Glenn Bricker 0419 359 047 Arlene Joffe 0473 925 525

5+0 A A 4.50 B B 02

CC


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

Top Floor/20 Lumeah Road CAULFIELD NORTH A Modern Marvel Of Palatial Penthouse Perfection Taking up the entire floor, this spectacularly new David Edelman designed penthouse is the embodiment of sleek sophistication & contemporary class. Resplendent with high-end luxury & a private internal elevator, the streamlined design is the very definition of perfection. Amplified by massive walls of glass to give a feeling of openness, the series of superbly proportioned light-filled spaces include a formal entertaining zone, vast open-plan living & dining room, north-facing entertaining terrace & culinary Miele kitchen. If ever there was a home worthy of its Golden Mile address, this is it.

1-7/4 Orrong Road ELSTERNWICK Block Of Seven Separately Titled Apartments To Be Sold As One This boutique block of seven individually titled apartments to be sold as one rewards the astute investor. The selection of comfortably appointed apartments comprises of 1 x 3-bedder, 5 x 2-bedders & 1 x 1-bedder. With the options to retain as is or refurbish, this is an incredible opportunity to unlock the key to investment success in this prime position within close proximity to public transport, Elsternwick Village’s shops & restaurants, Martin Street’s cafés, Hopetoun Gardens & the beach.

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.TopFloor-20LumeahRoadCaulfieldNorth.com

Expressions Of Interest Closing Tuesday 6 December 4:00pm Inspect Wed 12:30-1:00, Sat 11:15-11:45 & Sun 12:45-1:15 Contact Rafi Joffe 0419 387 006 Darren Krongold 0438 515 433 Sally Zelman 0412 294 488

03 A A 3.50 B B 02

CC

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.1-7-4OrrongRoadElsternwick.com

Auction Thursday 8 December 2:00pm Inspect Wed 1:00-1:30 & Sun 1:15-1:45 Contact Daniel Micmacher 0419 376 521 Jeremy Rosens 0413 837 723 David Gan 0487 222 554

140 A A 7.5 B 0 B 07

CC

NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ The weekly review 19


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

6 Ocean Street ORMOND Character, Grace & Full-Sized Family Space Graced with alluring character, this home of enduring family appeal ensures consummately comfortable living in gorgeous garden surrounds. Radiating a wonderfully welcoming ambience of warmth from start to finish, the impressively proportioned & meticulously cared for residence offers a formal lounge & dining room for elegant entertaining, a casual family/meals zone, fitted home office & refurbished granite kitchen. Outdoor enjoyment is catered to by a north-facing garden in the front & a rear alfresco area with built-in barbeque & secure temperature controlled wine cellar for 90 dozen bottles.

4 Los Angeles Court RIPPONLEA Sophisticated Splendour In Unsurpassed Spanish Beauty The captivating allure of this impeccably presented residence is underscored by an exquisite & seamless blend of Spanish beauty with contemporary finesse. Reflecting the finest elegance & luxury throughout, the sophisticated residence showcases superbly spacious & gracious formal lounge & dining rooms, casual family/meals & a granite kitchen with a handy servery through to the dining room. A sun-drenched north-facing terrace at the front & a beautifully landscaped alfresco setting at the rear provide endless entertaining pleasures & tranquil siestas amid the Hacienda-style surrounds. 20 The weekly review \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.6OceanStreetOrmond.com

Auction Saturday 10 December 3:30pm Inspect Wed 5:30-6:00, Sat 9:45-10:15 & Sun 1:30-2:00 Guide $1,500,000 - $1,650,000 Contact Leor Samuel 0413 079 255 Aviv Samuel 0401 378 582

4/50 A A 02 B B 02

CC

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.4LosAngelesCourtRipponlea.com

Auction Sunday 11 December 3:30pm Inspect Thurs 6:30-7:00 Sat 12:45-1:15 & Sun 12:30-1:00 Contact Leor Samuel 0413 079 255 Aviv Samuel 0401 378 582

03 A A 30 B B 02

CC


348 Orrong Rd, Caulfield Nth 9526 1999 55 Inkerman St, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Rd, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

CAULFIELD NORTH, 13 REDAN ROAD

PARKSIDE, POOLSIDE, EDWARDIAN BEAUTY

32 Teak Street CAULFIELD SOUTH

www.32TeakStreetCaulfieldSouth.com www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com

Deluxe Family Living In A Stylishly Sophisticated Auction Sunday 11 December 12:30pm Modern Setting Inspect Wed 1:45-2:15 Sat 10:45-11:15 Radiating modern elegance with a superb sense of space & & Sun 10:30-11:00 quality, this outstanding home meets every family need. Contact Glenn Bricker 0419 359 047 04 A The series of luxurious living spaces includes formal & Arlene Joffe 0473 925 525 3.5 0 B informal zones, stunning kitchen & alfresco entertaining 02 areas.

C

Beautifully renovated, this gorgeous 4 bedroom 2 bathroom home is situated on 743sqm (8000sqft) approx. in this prized parkside position. Graced with period detail, this captivating home features 4 beautiful bedrooms, BIRs, a stunning lounge (OFP), timeless kitchen, delightful dining, heritage style bathroom, external laundry/2nd bathroom, glorious gardens with covered alfresco and BBQ area, solar heated pool & double auto garage. Superbly located near Caulfield Park, tram & schools. AUCTION: SUN 11TH DECEMBER AT 12 INSPECT: THURS, SAT & SUN 1-1:45

4

Rochelle Butt 0412 707 033 Rodney Morley 0418 321 222

2

2

9525 9222

203 Balaclava Rd, Caulfield Nth www.rmprealestate.com.au

AUCTION SATURDAY CARNEGIE 218 NEERIM ROAD Northern sun, captivating space with period grace. Come behind the high brick fence to see the secret garden atmosphere of this delightful two-storey four-bedroom, twobathroom 1919 solid-brick residence. Enjoying tranquil seclusion in a highly convenient location makes it a perfect candidate for a family breaking into this highly regarded Carnegie pocket. Designed to capture outdoor vistas and perfectly appointed with modern conveniences, the interior follows an easy living layout that invites both casual and formal living. Lovely period detail including Kauri pine floorboards and tall ceilings complements an Ilve kitchen, 2 living areas, formal dining, ducted heating, upstairs air conditioning, workshop/studio and large attic. Close to buses, Carnegie and Glenhuntly train stations, schools, parks and cafĂŠs.

4

2

365 (approx.)

VIEW

Sat from 12.00pm

AUCTION

Sat 3rd December - 12.30pm

C O N TA C T

Peter Dragic 0432 151 700 Mark Staples 0411 527 174

OFFICE

Carnegie 9569 3666

hockingstuart.com.au

NOVEMBER 30, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 21


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services

Over 30 Years Experience Spec ialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovatio n Free Measure & Quote.

SHOWERS

& BALCONIES WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t VIC t QLD t WA t ACT t SA

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

0432 774 645

Call 1300 666 808

megasealed.com.au

V

BATHROOMS ‘R’ US 1134504-DJ20-14

g All Pricin t Up-Fron 12325185-DJ39-16

Email: yosi1@netscape.net.au www.bathrooms-r-us.com.au

General Classifieds section of Network Classifieds.

1149120-HM33-14

Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professional’s. Residential and commercial. We do it all from deck sanding, cleaning, sealing, washing to deck maintenance and finally deck refinishing! Continually delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. No job too big or small. Give us a call, email: info@deckseal.com.au or visit our website for more information. www.deckseal.com.au

Electricians

V

• Demolition Specialists • Backyard Cleanups • Concrete Broken or Cut & Removed • Tree Lopping & Removal • Rental Cleanups • Deceased Estate Cleanups We Take Anything Away

Call 0434 525 311

V

G6133636AA-dc2Jul

Plumbing

Pipewor x Plumbing Gasfitting and Excavations ,IC

s#OMMERCIAL$OMESTIC s.EW(OMES s2ENOVATIONS s"LOCKAGES %LECTRIC%ELAND ,ARGE4RAILER(YDRO*ETTER s#AMERAINSPECTIONSLOCATING s'ENERALPLUMBING s,ICENSEDAND)NSURED

Call: 0418 302 145 1229142-ACM22-16

Glass/Glazing

REPLACEMENTS

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

Lic. 23691

V

Painters/Decorators 1st CLASS PAINTING

“Honest, friendly reliable service on time everytime� s5SING4OPQUALITYPRODUCTS s.O*OBTOOBIGORSMALL sYEARSEXPERIENCEDPAINTER s$OMESTIC#OMMERCIAL 2ENOVATIONS .EW/LD(OMES

Free Quotes phone Bill 0433 088 061 | vasili56@gmail.com

V

Pest Control

rangerpestcontrol.com.au

TERMITE CONTROL SPECIALIST

Free termite quotes - Family owned business â—? Termites â—? Ants â—? Rats â—? Mice â—? Spiders â—? Cockroaches â—? Bees & Wasps 2064941v5

â—? Pre purchase inspections â—? Council Certificates

Qualified & Insured

Your advert can appear in print and online!

1230353-CG23-16

Employment

Floor Services WE USE DUSTLESS MACHINERY

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

Close

Jason 1300 644 698

1156305-HM40-14

Garden Services

30% OFF

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

V

Rubbish Removal

AARON & JOHN’S DEMOLITION & RUBBISH REMOVALS

ALL BROKEN GLASS

We NEVER

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

V

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days

yes we can

9999-8193

Heritage Home Specialist â–  Building Maintenance Laser Level Ceilings â–  Over 30 Yrs Exp All Flood and Water Damage Repairs

Please call John on 0418 301 825 empireplasterlinings@live.com G6368718

Specialist in • Lawn mowing • Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming • Regular Maintenance • Rubbish Removals • Tree Lopping • Gutter Cleaning

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

â–  â–  â– 

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES

Call Us Today For our FAST

SERVICING CAULFIELD AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

Decks/Pergolas (03) 9886 3350 0410 537 164

V

V

Caulfield Electricians

“We Do It Allâ€? Free quotes - 24/7 • Renovations • Waterproofing • Plastering • Remodelling • Plumbing & Electrical

Ph 0423 676 555/ 9530 0422

V

Electricians

1152285-PB36-14

LEAKING

G6748867AA-dc8Apr

STOP

1181674-18-15

Bathroom & Kitchens

ur se in o dverti “We a ekly Review e r local W ast to let ou E f South ers know o custom ial deals we ec the sp going and er have broad ch the to rea ity� - Aaron un comm

Empire Plaster

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise. 1191326-CG28-15

AARON’S TILING

www.cldb.com.au

Plasterers

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 FREE QUOTE s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS QUICKEST INSTALL SENIORS DISCOUNT s CANVAS SUNBLINDS V

V

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

1177862-RC13-15

Trades Business Profile

 $* 

V

1129931-RC16-14

Awnings, Blinds & Curtains

G6723428AA-dc29 Apr

V

0488 097 005

section of Network Classifieds.

V

Windows

WINDOWS 1

1191002-HM29-15

Window Replacement Service Aluminum, Timber and UPVC Windows Free Measure and quote

Servicing all of Greater Melbourne

9703 1530

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

22 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 30, 2016


Trades & Services

Caulfield Plumbers

0432 774 645

9998 2905 www.Ser viceToday.com.au

Celebrate the festive season at St Michael’s on Collins this Christmas.

HIGH TREE ABN 20 410 687 524

Winter Special

25

%

SENIORS CARD

WELCOME HERE

We NEVER

OFF

THIS MONTH ONLY

Close

Lic. 104391

FREE QUOTE

General Classifieds

Pruning & Removal of Trees & Shrubs Stump Removal Hedges Mulching & Mulch Sales Full Insurance Cover

More information at www.stmichaels.org.au or call 9654 5120

0409 14 15 19 rakruyt@aol.com

Richard or Daniel Kruyt

section of Network Classifieds.

General Classifieds V

Enjoy cheerful carols and inspirational verses during a special Christmas service 9am Sunday the 25th of December.

TREE SERVICE

yes we can

SERVICING CAULFIELD AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

120 Collins Street, Melbourne

Tree Lopping/Surgery

1237989-HM32-16

12323272-HM38-16

V

Christmas at St Michael’s

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

For our FAST

FRIENDLY SERVICE!

Church Notices

AARON’S TILING

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

Call Us Today...

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

V

Tiling

V

Adult Services

V

&%' %URWKHO

2SHQKRXUV

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Venues

Manhattan Terrace 554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

SWA4281be

Adult Employment

ALL ADVERTISEMENTS booked under this classification are strictly for ancillary roles only. To comply with the law it is still an offence under the Sex Work Act 1994 to publish any statements intended or likely to induce a person to seek work as a sex worker.

Buy & Sell in our

Motoring

section of Network Classifieds.

Motoring

Employment HOME CLEANERS & IRONERS WANTED

BUFFET 5:30PM–9PM

GUEST APPEARANCE FROM SANTA ADULTS $89.50 KIDS 4 & UNDER EAT FREE KIDS 5-12 YRS $29.50 Kids price applies to ages 5 - 12 years only. A 50% deposit of total booking fee is required by 1 October 2016. Bookings made after 1 October 2016 must pay a 50% deposit within 7 days of their booking. Payment in full due by 11/12/2016. No refunds for cancellations or decrease in numbers after 1 December 2016.

Cleaning in private homes Iron for clients in your home Car and mobile phone essential

Ph: 9888 4044 www.delconways.com.au

Find it in the

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds.

OCR

Old Cars Removed WE PAY YOU UP TO

500 CASH

$

For Any Old Car TODAY

9798 3364 LMCT 10227

12329010-PB44-16

3 COURSE SET MENU FROM 12PM

Auto Services/ Repair

V

Positions Vacant 12322721-HM38-16

V

We promote the responsible service of gaming and alcohol. All our advertising and promotions are not implicitly or explicitly directed at minors, excluded persons, or vulnerable or disadvantage groups.

Sandringham Hotel Cnr Bay & Beach Roads, Sandringham Vic Phone 9598 7255 sandringhamhotel@alhgroup.com.au V

Anytime, Any place Get 10% Discount Use code: GSDISCOUNT

12331389-RC46-16

PLACE YOUR GARAGE SALE AD

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Adult Services

V

Body Rubs

Red Lantern Full Service from $80

Adult Services

swa7023b

More new ladies

9793 2988 9793 2986

red17.com.au

17 Nicole Way Dandenong South

Mel 95 E3, 7days

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

Garage Sales

G6423468AA-dc6Nov

V

9696 9199 45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Phone - 1300 Escort 1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

1133052-LB19-14

12332619-PB48-16

V

12321588-DJ36-16

Plumbing

1193032-LN31-15

V

General Classifieds


DO MORE WITH

3

.60

%

2

p.a.

Comparison Rate Basic Home Loan

Do more with flexible repayments while keeping jobs in Australia. mecu Limited ABN 21 087 651 607 AFSL/Australian Credit Licence Number 238431 trading as Bank Australia. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply. Loans subject to normal lending criteria and approval. Rates apply to applications received from 25/10/2016 however are subject to change at anytime. Check bankaust.com.au for the latest rates. Offer available to new and existing borrowers. Excludes investment loans. For existing borrowers the new loan funds must exceed $100,000. A maximum Loan to Value (LVR) ratio of 80% applies to the Basic Home Loan. 1. Bank Australia will waive the $595 establishment fee for all Basic Home Loan applications received before 31/12/2016. The fee waiver does not apply to investment loans. 2. The Comparison Rate is based on a loan of $150,000 for 25 years. Fees and charges may be applicable. WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the examples given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate.


The Weekly Review South East