__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

theweeklyreview.com.au

june 3-9, 2015

EAT & DRINK + THE ROCHESTER HOTEL + GLOVERS STATION

LOCAL LOWDOWN + PEOPLE & PLACES + GOING OUT

ADRIANO zumbO Sweet triumph by SARAH mARINOS

SOUTH EAST


10026859-05-a27May©MMP

renovation BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

BOYS BEDS

SALE

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

GIRLS BEDS

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

NURSERY FURNITURE

BUNKS

OPEN 7 DAYS

1349 HIGH ST MALVERN BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

PRAMS

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

BOOKS

PARENTHOODFURNITURE.COM.AU

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

STORAGE

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

DRESSERS & HUTCHES

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

GIRLS TOYS

BIG $AVINGS ON ALL

BOYS TOYS


GLOBAL AT HOME

MS COLLINS \ VIETNAMESE TIRAMISU

Go local, eat global. Chefs Daniel Wilson (Huxtable), his brother Paul (Mr Wilson) and Dan Poyner, resident chef de cuisine at Ms Collins, have teamed up to bring a New World menu to the arty-fashionable-futuristic city bar. Combining pan-Asian, Latin American and contemporary Australian flavours, the menu features five dishes plus one dessert from each chef in his signature style. Think medley of chilli lamb ribs alongside smoked quail anticuchos and spiced Lebanese eggplant, or Dan Wilson’s Vietnamese tiramisu – a picturesque melange of coffee jelly, pandan sponge, salted peanut cream and condensed milk mousse. Don’t even get us started on the delectable drinks list of spirits and champagne. ●

POUR ART Billed as the coffee-brewer’s coffee brewer, the Hario V60 dripper is a barista fave. Made in Japan, it has a distinctive, steep cone and spiralled ridges that direct the water uniformly for an even extraction. Standard 02 paper filters remove large particles of coffee. Now reimagined in solid copper, with a nickel-plated interior it’s matched by an equally swoon-worthy companion kettle for countertop display. ● Hario two-cup copper V60, $119, and copper Buono kettle 900ml, $258, at Sensory Lab » sensorylab.com.au

Vietnamese tiramisu: $14. Ms Collins, 425 Collins Street, Melbourne, 8614 2222. » www.mscollins.com.au

Eat drink play love This week we’re talking about … ●

FUN TIMES If it’s too cold to eat the real thing, why not just hang it in the hall or kitchen as a statement piece? This limited-edition melting ice cream mirror by Bride and Wolfe has the type of pop culture vibe that brings a cheery (or do we say cherry?) smile to the face and fun vibe to the space. It comes in two sizes: 600 millimetres by 230 millimetres and 850 millimetres by 320 millimetres, and is made from shatter-proof wood-mounted mirrored plexi-glass. ● Bride and Wolfe ice-cream mirror, small $175, large $320, plus shipping » www.brideandwolfe.com.au

HIGH FIVE

famous faces \

(RODGER CUMMINS \ SUPPLIED)

with JENNY BANNISTER, FASHION DOYENNE

I absolutely love … Walking my Airedale Boo Boo to the Artisan Eatery on St Kilda Road, my St Kilda garden, and visits to the NGV. ●

compiled by Miranda Tay mtay@theweeklyreview.com.au

Five styles available on the fifth of each month for five days only. This clever marketing campaign has whipped up a waiting list for The Fifth Watches, inspired by the classic New York fashion landscape and the contemporary style of Melbourne. Founder Alex McBride, whose parents are architects, has a classic, clean-lined aesthetic that has amassed 196,000 followers on the designer timepieces’ Instagram account. On June 5, the brand will celebrate World Environment Day by planting a tree for every tan band watch sold from June 5-9. ● The Fifth Watches, $139 each, next sale from midnight June 5 for five days » www.thefifthwatches.com JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 3


T he editor’s desk

How to contact us GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300

t’s a great paradox that at a time when every Ilow-carb, second person seems to be going paleo, or sugar-free, Melbourne is awash

GROUP CONTENT DIRECTOR \ EMILY L RAY LY RA NER erayner@theweeklyreview.com.au

with a proliferation of decadent dessert bars. Last month sweet-tooths flocked to the opening of South Melbourne’s Bibelot, a hedonistic showcase for Andréa Reiss of Chez Dré’s fanciful cakes, chocolates, ice-cream and other sweet treats. Meanwhile, in the city, fans are lining up at the new T by LuxBite for Malaysian-inspired tarts such as mango, yoghurt, lime syrup-soaked white chocolate sponge. And chocoholics are crossing town for their fix at North Melbourne’s new Mörk Chocolate Brew House. If Melbourne is in the grip of a sugar rush, then Adriano Zumbo has a lot to answer for. The man they call the “Sweet Assassin” is about to open his ninth macaron mecca, a high-tea salon and cocktail bar, just around the corner from his South Yarra pâtisserie. Read the remarkable story of how this painfully shy son of Italian grocers became Australia’s sultan of sweets in this week’s cover story. And go online to see TWR’s own January Jones whip up Adriano’s signature Zonuts. The diet can start next week. ●

EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au LOCAL LIFESTYLE EDITOR \ JO DAVY jdavy@theweeklyreview.com.au ATT FURNEAUX ATT GROUP PICTURE DESK \ MATT picturedesk@mmpgroup.com.au REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ JOHN IOANNOU jioannou@theweeklyreview.com.au 9249 5319 SALES MANAGER \ DEBRA MEIKLEJOHN \ 0418 822 804 dmeiklejohn@mmpgroup.com.au CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER & PUBLISHER \ TRENT CASSON tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 51,500 copies

IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Adriano Zumbo photographed by Stephen McKenzie SOUTH EAST

YOUR LOCAL REPORTER

Jane

Luke Henriques-Gomes has three great loves: music, sport and politics. You’ll often find him hogging all sections of the newspaper at one of the cafés between Balaclava and Bentleigh.

Published by Metro Media Publishing Pty Ltd (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 214-220 Park Street, South Melbourne, 3205. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

lhenriques-gomes@theweeklyreview.com.au 0409 140 982

Competitions

WORTH

$500

WIN

Trojan is offering one lucky reader the ultimate DIY prize pack comprising a must-have collection of 22 Trojan tools to get the job done. Valued at $500, this jam-packed prize includes a handy saw set, a 15-in-one multitool, ergonomically designed Swiftblade hacksaw, durable claw hammer and a Turbo Knife. ● www.trojantools.com.au

WORTH

WIN

$199

Enter for the chance to win one of five double passes to see Richard O’Brien’s Rocky Horror Show at Melbourne’s Comedy Theatre in June. The show played a sold-out Melbourne season last year and was forced to close. The smash hit will re-open in Melbourne on June 11. Tickets from ticketmaster.com.au or phone 1300 111 011. ● rockyhorror.com.au

WIN

WORTH

Featuring Miele’s exclusive Navigation System, this efficient robotic vacuum cleaner navigates the home to deliver thorough cleaning with outstanding precision, without anyone having to lift a finger. The indoor positioning system maps out the home to chart the most intelligent cleaning course, ensuring difficult-to-access areas and edges are methodically and reliably cleaned. We have one Miele Scout RX1 Robotic Vacuum Cleaner to give away. ● www.miele.com.au

$999

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to our Facebook page at

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview or to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, June 7.

Congratulations to the following winners from May 20: Krystl Wright, Veronique Yatsin, Loredana Ginnaris, Litsa Makedona, Elly Pinczewski, Mike O’Brien, Susan Hollyoal, Peter Crawley, Claire Martin, Julie Vulin, Anita Sherman, Blair Heading. Entrants must be over 18 years old and live in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for more details. All winners must contact: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au within seven days of notification regarding collection of their prize. Prizes other than ticketed events will need to be collected from The Weekly Review Review, 214-220 Park Street, South Melbourne.

Introducing the Regency

outdoor living

from $405,900

*

dining

ensuite family

kitchen

butlers pantry

study

store

master suite

wir

bed 2

leisure area

laundry

pdr

bath garage

pdr 2

entry lounge

bed 3 bed 4 void

porch

Optional facade shown.

Show Home Locations Regency 43 84 East Boundary Road, Bentleigh East

OPEN Saturday & Sunday 1pm to 4pm and Wednesday 1pm to 3pm or by appointment

Waverley 44 17 Wills Avenue, Mount Waverley

Radisson 35 (custom) 198 Dorking Road, Box Hill North

Peninsula 43 (custom) 421 Bluff Road, Hampton

Hudson 28 (dual occ) NEW 50 Hall Street,

McKinnon

Contact Frank or Kate 1300 244 663

* Home price based on Regency 42 standard home and facade. Carter Grange Homes reserves the right to change prices without notice. Images are for illustration purposes only and may depict fixtures, finishes and features not supplied by Carter Grange Homes such as landscaping and furniture. Prices do not include the supply of these items. For detailed home pricing please talk to a sales consultant.

4 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015


How can we help teenagers cope with exams?

Join the conversation

W AY S T O S H A R E

CO M M E N T

F O L LOW

LIKE US

JOIN OUR FACEBOOK LIVE CHAT T H E ● ASK THE EXPERTS ● THURSDAY ● 8PM

HUB

(ISTOCK \ THINKSTOCK)

tell us

VIDEOS \ FACEBOOK ● T WIT TER ● INSTAGR A M ● PINTEREST ● GOOGLE+ ● YOUTUBE

+ COOK LIKE ADRIANO ZUMBO + CLARE BOWDITCH MEETS GOTYE + FLORENCE + THE MACHINE’S SHIP TO WRECK

(COUTESY PIZZA HUT)

+ MTC’S NORTH BY NORTHWEST

Festival of Steve ambassador comedian Tommy Little was all smiles. T

Well that’s pure art, a pizza with pies, with little blobs of Dead Horse. ● CHRIS FRANCIS

Tweet of the week

Think I’ll give it a miss thanks. T Too much happening in that pic. ● MONIKA BRADFORD … as soon as my coach gives me a cheat day ❤. ● DEVON CLIFFORD

+ DANCE THEATRE: CHALK ABOUT

#newpublicart From @theweeklyreview Super-cute street art by @Deb on @MaiikeStore’s wall in #Hawthorn. ● FROM @PUBLICARTFOUND

+ FOXCATCHER TRAILER

(CHLOE BOOKER / SUPPLIED)

Pizza Hut announced its Four’N Twenty pizza. To eat or not to eat …

Most liked

To dive for

This pool, at 39 Lambeth Avenue, Armadale, is a winner. PROPERTY ID » 2011989002

WIN \ TICKETS TO DISNEY’S ALADDIN JR

(SUPPLIED)

What got you talking

Two showrooms at the one convenient location... Just near DFO and Moorabbin Airport www.relaxhouse.com.au

www.huset.com.au JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 5


1

2

3 5

4

C AU L F I E L D NOW OPEN

6

FREE

Introductory session at Kieser Training Caulfield. Call 8554 1155 NOW

When you step into a Kieser Training centre you won’t find mirrors, pop music blaring in the background or banks of TV screens. What you will find is a team of qualified exercise scientists, physiotherapists and state of the art resistance training equipment, developed specifically for Kieser. Whether you’re recovering from injury, getting fit for the first time in your life or simply maintaining your health you’ll find a place that’s serious about making you strong for life. Call 8554 1155 and book your free introductory session

F O U N DAT I O N M E M B E R S H I P S AVA I L A B L E Physiotherapy | Strength & Conditioning | Rehabilitation www.kieser-training.com.au 6 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

Kieser Training Caulfield Level 1, 189 Balaclava Road Tel 03 8554 1155


MOUTHING OFF V I R G I N I A T R I O L I WA N T S A P L A C E T O P L AY

(ISTOCK / THINKSTOCK)

S

ometimes, when I’m battling my way through the swarms of children and battalions of parents that fill the new Royal Park playground on the Parkville site of the former children’s hospital, I want to tap one of the grown-ups on the shoulder and inquire – very politely – if they were one of the whingeing and moaning thousands who screeched all those years ago about the loss of public space and a lack of faith in the council to deliver on its promise of a new park. Aided and abetted by a media – yes, my industry – that has a ready supply of outrage to gleefully throw on any and all bonfires of discontent, the carry-on about the use of some public space in return for the same amount of public space was really something to behold: the protest placard businesses in this city really must be one of those “have a go” enterprises the PM has been going on about recently. Front pages tub-thumped, editorials thundered and columnists indulged in an orgy of complaint. It seemed to me at the time that not

many of the protesters were actually stopping for a moment, shutting up and really looking at the plans. Once the new children’s hospital was up, the old buildings were going to be torn down, the land remediated and then the local public consulted about what they would like there. Many locals wanted a playground. Nobody, and I do mean nobody, could have anticipated just how well that was going to work out. It is standing room only every weekend now at the Royal Park Nature Playground. The few tables that are there are nabbed for lunch or dinner early in the day, parking is at a premium and the ground is filled with children as they play through seven areas inspired by the seven seasons of the Wurundjeri year. Tot: Hot or Not, an online guide to kid-friendly Melbourne, has the park rated as HOT. On any other day, it is still one of the best-used parks in the city, and only emphasises the dimensions of the massive baby boom that is underway – by some estimates bigger than the postwar boom – and the desperate need for more open space, more public parks and more playgrounds. Just as this country is looking back in chagrin at the lost opportunity that was the squandered mining boom, I believe this city will look back at the unfettered building

tell us

Join the conversation WWW.THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/MOUTHINGOFF / /MOUTHINGOFF

boom as a shocking waste. With high demand for housing, exceptionally cheap money and aggressive local and overseas investment, never was a state government or local council – of any political stripe – in a more powerful position to mandate planning regulations that include communal space, open space and recreational space. Of course, you would hear screeching and moaning of a very different kind if you did (developers have voices just as loud as community protesters) but so what? This city is in the middle of being changed forever with an astonishing amount of development, some of it shockingly shoddy. We will never get back the space that is being sold, unless legislators are prepared to insist on a need for recreational space and even open green space. The opportunities for old hospital sites won’t come along again. ● Virginia Trioli is co-host of ABC News Breakfast on ABC1 and ABC News 24, 6-9am weekdays

“we will never get back the space that is being sold”

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview @latrioli

JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 7


sweet the

I

t’s late Saturday morning at the Adriano Zumbo pâtisserie in South Yarra. The glass display cabinets are piled high with freshly baked macarons in flavours ranging from caramel or peach melba to the more exotic mandarin and kafir lime. In a neat display alongside the signature macarons are Adriano’s renowned cakes that blend pâtisserie and art. The V8 vanilla cake is shaped in perfect white squares while the lemon meringue tarts are topped with towering peaks. Children queuing with parents or indulgent grandparents press their noses to the display cabinets and hesitate – torn between the salted butter popcorn and malted milkshake macarons. Or should they try the delicate sugar cream buns? Among the customers struggling to make their decision, Adriano himself sits in a corner. He’s inconspicuous out of his chef whites and dressed casually in T-shirt, jeans and runners. The pâtissier smiles as he watches the faces of his customers – old and young – light up as they step inside the store. It makes the very long hours and the many sleepless nights fretting about his growing business worthwhile. “I’m always working, even when I’m out for dinner – I’m always thinking and writing stuff down,” he says. “I’m creating new cakes, looking at new machinery and figuring out ways to run the kitchen more efficiently. There are always new products to think about, and I’m constantly looking at the business side and working out what comes next. “As the business grows, there are more people to take care of and more expenses. It’s scary. We’ve got just over 100 people now and that’s a lot of responsibility. “The business side was hard initially because I’m a chef. I got smashed in my first few years because I didn’t keep my records up to date. I was working and cooking 18 hours a day and the back end of the business got pushed aside. But I got hit and you learn from that, now I’ve got all that number-crunching side of the business organised, too.” The Zumbo pâtisserie empire began with a small single-fronted shop in Balmain in Sydney in 2007. Today it encompasses eight stores, including the shop in South Yarra and one at the Emporium in Melbourne. BY SAR AH M ARINOS Then there are cookery books, including the latest – The Zumbo Files – and an academy where people learn the art of cake-making from the man himself. Classes are booked out months ahead. Now he is adding a high-tea salon – in Daly Street, South Yarra – to the line-up. Named Fancy Nance, in honour of his mum, the extravagantly decorated salon will serve decadent afternoon teas on share plates, and incorporate a cocktail bar and a rustic Italian-style bakery café. The ever expanding empire is a testament to his finely honed skills and a lot of hard work, but you get the sense this modest, softly spoken man from country NSW is a little taken aback by what he has established. “I’ve had to become more confident and to go into situations and act like I know what to do, or find out and come back with a solution. You have to be confident and that hasn’t been easy for me,” he says frankly. “But I can now stand up and say this is what I want and this is how we can do it. And if you lose everything one day, well, at least you tried. There’s always another chance. You just have to create it. You have to have a go, learn why things didn’t work and try and get rid of the fear that is always there. “My biggest fear is losing loyalty from our customers. But I’m in this now and it’s going along nicely. There are challenges but that keeps me loving what I’m doing and I just stay who I am and stay humble.” His passion for creating sweet masterpieces began in an unlikely setting – in his parents’ IGA grocery store in Coonamble, country NSW. It was a town of 3000 people and Adriano’s Italian migrant parents, Frank and Nancy, had worked hard after arriving in Australia in the 1960s with little more than a suitcase. STEPHEN MCKENZIE “I helped out my parents in the supermarket wherever

Life

ADRIANO ZUMBO IS BUILDING AN EMPIRE BASED ON OUR LOVE AFFAIR WITH SUGAR

PICTURE \ 8 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015


I could. If they threw me on the checkout or in the deli – I never liked that because I was a pretty shy kid and not much of a people person back then!” he says with a laugh. “I didn’t mind working but if people started talking to me … I’m still a little shy at times. But I loved stacking shelves and it would be a rush to try and do it as quickly as I could. “Mum and dad started work in the shop at 6am and school didn’t start until 9 o’clock so I’d sit in the supermarket for a couple of hours. I wandered around the aisles filling my bag with lollies and biscuits to share at school. I discovered pastry when I used to make packet cake mix in the shop for the in-store bakery. I’d make sponge cakes and decorate them with cream,” he says. “I didn’t do that well at school because I didn’t focus and I knew I wasn’t going to uni. Then in year 10 I went to Sydney for a friend’s school formal and found a job while I was there. I got an apprenticeship as a pastry chef through an ad I saw in a local paper. I spent a couple of days doing a trial and then had to go home and tell my parents that I was moving out.” Adriano was 15 then and during the four years of his

(ISTOCK \ THINKSTOCK)

”I can now stand up and say this is what I want. And if you lose everything one day, well, at least you tried”

pastry apprenticeship his parents tried to talk him into coming home to take over the family supermarket. “But now they’re very proud of what I’ve done and that was always a big goal for me – to prove to my parents that I’d done the right thing and made the right choice.” During his apprenticeship he had a series of jobs in traditional-style cake shops, with Neil Perry and at a French bakery and pâtisserie. In 2005 he took a job in a Cairns hotel for a year to work out what he would do next. He was feeling the urge to go it alone and to create his own style of cakes. “I wanted to have more creative freedom to make the cakes I wanted to make. So in Cairns I got my head clear. I came back to Sydney and started cooking from home and selling at markets – tarts, pastries, muffins, brownies and banana bread – to make some money.”

Adriano’s

FAVOURITE FLAVOURS RIGHT NOW …

VANILLA \ ALWAYS UP THERE AMONG MY FAVOURITES

– adriano zumbo

YUZU \ JAPANESE LIME OR CITRUS WITH A SHARP TASTE. I’M LOVING THAT AT THE MOMENT PINK GRAPEFRUIT CHOCOLATE \ A STAPLE FOR ME TEA \ I LIKE USING DIFFERENT TYPES OF TEAS

Yum: Banana Caramel Balsamic Zumbarons (BRETT STEVENS \ COURTESY MURDOCH BOOKS)

FIND ADRIANO’S RECIPES FOR THESE BANANA CARAMEL BALSAMIC ZUMBARONS & YOGHURT URT R ASPBERRY URT ERR HONEY ERRY Y ZONUTS

VIDEO READY TO ZUMBO: WE TACKLE ADRIANO’S ZONUT RECIPE

H

is pastries sold out at markets across Sydney and he began supplying a local café but friends pushed him to open his own store – a 20-square-metre place with cheap rent. A year later he got a write-up in The Sydney Morning Herald and word spread about his sweet creations. He began selling out of cakes by 11am most mornings. So one store became two and an early appearance on MasterChef also lifted his profile. In the industry, he became known as the “Sweet Assassin”. Initially he was taken aback by some reactions to his hard-earned recognition. “The hardest thing was shooting up the ranks after TV and the amount of backstabbing. People talk to you and then talk you down behind your back. I didn’t ask for the attention and publicity, and that backstabbing was hard at the start,” he says quietly. “I just do what I love and if people are drawn to it and love it, I can’t help that. But people then say, ‘I’m better than that, I can do better than that’, and it’s sad sometimes to see that kind of thing in the industry. I’m a simple guy and I just do what I do.” Doing what he does takes up much of his days, including weekends and he’s always looking for inspiration for new cakes as the displays in his stores change every three to six months. “I get inspiration from anything, anywhere. It could be something I see in the supermarket, from flowers and colours, from something in my childhood or sitting and talking here now. Someone may say something, it sparks an idea and I write it down. I have heaps of notebooks and pieces of paper. I’ll even scribble on my hand if I have to,” he says. “Once I have an idea I keep working on it. Some cakes happen quickly, others take months. I write the recipe, give it to my guys in the kitchen to make and they bring it to me and we change this and that and go backwards and forwards until it’s ready to put in the shop.” Some of those newest creations include a V8 passionfruit cake – a towering eight layers of passionfruit, passionfruit ganache, almond crunch, passionfruit toasted brûlée, passionfruit syrup, a macaron layer, passionfruit jelly and a light mousse – and a coffee, olive oil, lemon and chocolate cake. He has also recently developed a blackcurrant, pineapple, rosemary and roasted green tea cake, and a watermelon, pink grapefruit, strawberry and vanilla cake. His grand plans include eventually opening stores in Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and Canberra. “I’d like to open overseas one day and have my own TV series – something educational about pastry to teach people how to become their own pastry chef,” he says. His punishing work schedule leaves limited time to catch up with family and friends – or for a relationship. “I’ve just started to see someone but having a partner can be hard because I travel a lot and work long hours. The business is demanding and seven days a week – although lately I’ve tried to have a day off every now and then,” he says with a smile. “I’m still trying to get that work-life balance right and to learn how to relax.” ● smarinos@theweeklyreview.com.au » The Zumbo Files by Adriano Zumbo, Murdoch Books, ($49.99) » Fancy Nance is due to open this week at 21 Daly St, South Yarra JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 9


MY VIEW K AT R I N A H A L L P I C K S T H E U N I F O R M WAY

I

10 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

Join the conversation

WWW.THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/MYVIEW / /MYVIEW

various states of wash and wear and I pretty much wear one of them every day. Hence, I have abandoned the seasonal fluctuations of colour and design for comfort, durability and a flexible waistband. I have given up on jeans, baggy tracksuit pants, skirts and fitted trousers. Some might say I’ve given up, period – the other adult in this house said as much but I didn’t mind, because a friend had only just told me someone had accused him of also giving up because he only ever wore Birkenstocks, even in the middle of winter. I laughed to myself because we all know Birkenstocks are über hipster cool, right, so who is the joke on, really. And the truth is, the black pants have become my uniform because nothing else

“The stretchy black pants are my fashion mecca, my own private Birkenstocks”

(ISTOCK \ THINKSTOCK)

have reached a time in life when what I put on every day is not so much items of clothing but a uniform. Like most major life-cycle milestones, the uniform evolved slowly. First, I found myself questioning my ability to wear denim shorts and then, one day, I stopped dead in my tracks in Sportsgirl, realising there was nothing there for me any more. Slowly but surely, I accepted the fact that Supré and Topshop were places I visited for gift cards only and that there was more meaning to be found in purchasing clothes for reasons other than something to freeze in on a Saturday night out. I drew the line at chinos and red fleecy jumpers, but I did start to hanker for cardigans, items that covered my middle area, and everything on the shelf that went past the knees. But the really big moment came when I discovered the stretchy black pants. These were not your everyday stretchy black pants. They were so comfortable, so warm and durable that I promptly went out and bought

tell us

another pair. I wore those two black stretchy pants so often that the following year, when I realised they were a bit worn out, I bought another two. And just recently I lashed out and purchased two more of exactly the same black stretchy pants so now I have six pairs in

delivers the level of warmth and comfort and, let’s be honest here, beauty is no longer a pain I can be bothered doing. The stretchy black pants are my fashion mecca, my own private Birkenstocks. What a liberating thing, to wear more or less the same thing every day. And now,

because I need to work out only what to put on the top part of my body, I realise I am officially dressing like a man. For years I’ve been arguing just how easy it is for them, especially when it comes to weddings and work, because their fashion decisions are pretty much confined to pants and a top in black or navy blue with the occasional use of colour or pattern but not as a general rule. The other adult in this house has a wardrobe filled with short-sleeved shirts that all look the same to me, and all are so void of fluctuating fashion trends he still wears shirts he bought 20 years ago.

Anyway … As I write this I remember the day my dear departed dad met my father-in-law, and they were wearing the same clothes. Snap, we all said, bonding over Aryan jumpers and Fletcher Jones slacks – the Sunday afternoon dad uniform. Now, I have happily joined them. ● khall@theweeklyreview.com.au

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview @theweeklyreview


EAT & DRINK

share

ON THE MENU

Follow our foodies

THE ROCHESTER HOTEL 202 Johnston Street, Fitzroy 9419 0166

made two visits to The Rochester Hotel Ione’veto check out Miss Katie’s Crab Shack (only of them netted a meal). But I’m thinking

G L O V E R S S TAT I O N

258 Glen Eira Road, Elsternwick 9532 7765

CH UPS S S Y, M AT E Y C AT BEST FOR \ ME

proffer syrupy outer crunch and tenderness within and are paired with a vibrant slaw, hot crab dip with cheddar bay biscuits is a savory and complex dish, while crab cakes do the base ingredient proud. Missing the “build your own bowl” would be tragic. Blue swimmer crab and your choice of mussels, prawns, oysters and surf clams

piled high in a copper pot. Bibs are advised. There’s a chipper cocktails list, craft beers, decent wines, $1 oysters on Sunday afternoons and a bloody Mary the staff talk up. Three bedrooms, a study, Bayside. New place needs room for the dog. Email me. ● LEANNE TOLRA ltolra@theweeklyreview.com.au

Cellar Notes

THE DÉCOR \ The interior is simple, warm and welcoming, the dining area you wish you had at home. THE CROWD \ Fairly mixed. From mums and dads to older folk and 20-somethings. THE FOOD \ Clever interpretations of the usual breakfast/brunch classics. The seasonal tomato salad is a refreshing start to any morning. The produce is local and organic, with herbs and leaves picked straight from a vegie patch out the back.

FINE

SITE SPECIFIC With property it’s all about location, location, location. When it comes to the wines of Burgundy it’s as much about producer, producer, producer as the region’s famed chardonnay and pinot noir vineyards. Burgundy is a vinous minefield that can feel impenetrable to people who have cut their teeth on wines from the Yarra Valley and Mornington Peninsula. The region is a carpet of vineyards that have been critically graded into a hierarchy by their terroir – the sum of their earth, climate and aspect – and thousands of years of history. First, there are the sub-regions. South of Dijon in central France are the two key sub-regions for pinot noir – the Côte de Nuits and the Côte de Beaune. Then come the crus with grand cru vineyards at the top of the Burgundy tree. Said to produce the very best and with bottles selling for thousands of dollars, these account for 2 per cent of the region’s pinot noir. Next comes the premier cru, accounting for 12 per cent of Burgundy’s vineyards, then village wines (36 per cent). The entry-level classification is Bourgogne. Wines labelled Bourgogne could come from a

THE VIBE \ Soul music accompanied a few quiet conversations and the wait staff never let our glasses of water reach half-empty. In peak times, however, this place is almost always packed.

THE DRINK \ Excellent coffee. Melbourne’s Dukes Coffee Roasters supplies the beans.

THE VERDICT

You might have thought you’d never had a reason to visit this quiet, unassuming part of Glen Eira Road. You do now. ●

LUKE HENRIQUES-GOMES

FUN

ON THE MENU

vineyard anywhere between Dijon and Lyon, and offer immediate appeal. ● BEN THOMAS bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au

Restaurants and vineyards on the Mornington Peninsula will host this year’s Winter Wine Weekend from June 6-8. More than 200 premium wines will be available for tasting at 50 wineries across the region and restaurants and food producers will showcase seasonal fare. Pre-booked tickets cost $65 and include a tasting glass, a tasting booklet, wine tastings and two entrée-sized dishes. ●

FINE

The 2012 Domaine Dujac Morey Saint-Denis ($195) has floral dark berry and cherry flavours and immense length. 95/100

FUN

Bouchard Père & Fils’ 2012 La Vignée Bourgogne ($33) is a perfumed pinot with berry and spice flavours. 91/100

(SUPPLIED)

Grab an authentic taste of Mexico from your supermarket. Cholula Hot Sauce is created from a 100-year-old family recipe that combines pequin peppers, Mexican chilli and spices, providing flavour first and heat second. Add to rice, eggs, dips, meats, soups, seafood and salads. ● » www.cholula. com

Let’s do brunch

D O N ’ T M I S S \ B U I L D YO U R O W N B O W L

VERSUS

THE FIND

TOMATO SALAD

(CHRIS HOPKINS)

of putting my house up for sale, or swap, to make it my local. The Rochey does take bookings, but I charged there on a whim the first time and gambled I’d be OK on a weeknight the second. We balanced on bar stools with crab juice dribbling down our chins. What fun. Miss Katie’s Crab Shack sent foodies into a lobster-tail spin when it opened in Public Bar in North Melbourne about two years ago. Katie Marron (her real name), whose résumé includes MoVida and whose family hails from Chesapeake Bay, Maryland, had been helping friends run a taco truck. Public Bar wasn’t big enough for the cult following that developed, so Katie took her plastic bibs, mallets and crackers to an unoccupied former grungy live music venue popular with locals and students. Backed by Brigitte and Jon Costelloe of The Vic Bar, Aviary Hotel and Dr Morse in Abbotsford, and surrounded by a renovation that includes lobster-pot and port-hole light fittings way cooler than that 1990s beach look, the menu is more sophisticated. Technique drips from each eloquently seasoned sauce and crunchy coating. Chicken ribs – Sailor Jerry spiced rum-glazed ones –

» mpva.com.au/events/detail/Winter-WineWeekend

JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 11


THIS WEEK MAKE SURE YOU T H E B E S T I N E N T E R TA I N M E N T W I T H M Y K E B A R T L E T T

I

t’s possible Matt Day is joking. During our chat in the rehearsal rooms at Melbourne Theatre Company, the actor – better known for his on-screen roles than his turns on stage – jokes a lot. But he’s aware that his new production is asking for trouble in adapting Hitchcock’s classic thriller, North By Northwest. In the film’s most famous sequences, Day’s character is chased by the aforementioned crop duster and, later, clambers up Mount Rushmore. “It’s a challenge,” Matt says, smiling. “I said that myself when I met [director] Simon Phillips to talk about it: how are we going to do it? It turns out it’s actually very theatrical in style. I think those old Hitchcock melodramas work well on stage because they create such a distinct world that offers itself up rather easily for theatrical adaptation, much more than, say, a modern film.” Matt suggests North By Northwest isn’t quite the action thriller some might remember. Witty hero Roger Thornhill is pursued across the US by spies and federal agents, but he still finds time for a screwball romance with a blonde femme fatale. Which brings us to the

» North By Northwest, The Arts Centre, June 1 to 20, $51-$129. www.mtc.com.au WATCH THE TRAILER \ theweeklyreview.com.au

WES CARR PRESENTS HERE COMES THE SUN Folk singer-songwriter Wes Carr takes you on a musical journey through the life of The Quiet One, George Harrison. Carr’s performance will include renditions of George-penned Beatles classics, including Something and Here Comes The Sun, as well as chart hits such as My Sweet Lord and What Is Life from Harrison’s acclaimed solo career. As well as the music, Carr will share stories from Harrison’s remarkable life, offering the audience tales and anecdotes about one of pop music’s most enigmatic figures. ■ June 12, 6pm, Flying Saucer Club, 4 St Georges Road, Elsternwick. Cost: from $25. Inquiries: 9528 3600

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

FILM

MISS FISHER’S COSTUME EXHIBITION CURATORIAL FLOOR TALK Don’t miss a golden opportunity to be guided through this stunning exhibition by the experts themselves. Whether you want to find out exactly what goes on behind the scenes or you’re simply interested in trying on the incredible costumes yourself, all the questions you could possibly have will be answered by the National Trust curators for a limited time only. 12 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

WANT YOUR EVENT LISTED?

To be considered for a listing email \ goingoutSEA@theweeklyreview.com.au June 18, June 25, 11am, Rippon Lea House & Gardens, 192 Hotham Street, Elsternwick. Cost: $25 (includes exhibition entry). Inquiries: 9656 9889. Bookings: missfisherexhibition.com.au

EXHIBITION WITHOUT PIER Betina Fauvel-Ogden’s There’ll always be Paris is the feature exhibition at Cheltenham’s Without Pier Gallery. The 34 works, priced from $4500 to $14,500, are so evocative of the City of Light it’s no wonder many have already sold. ■ Until June 7, Without Pier, 320 Bay Road, Cheltenham. Inquiries: 9583 7577. www.withoutpier.com.au ARCADIA Arcadia traverses themes of history, cultural identity, migration, storytelling and the natural world. It features works by

(SUPPLIED)

TALK

MATT DAY

MUSIC

GOING OUT

CINEMA FIASCO Often there is nothing better than a bad movie. It is with this in mind that the Classic has chosen to screen the 1961 film Reptilicus. The first – and so far only – Danish monster movie, it features plenty of screaming Scandinavians, shoddily dubbed dialogue, and jaw-droppingly hilarious special effects. For extra laughs, the screening will be accompanied by live commentary from cinema-buff comedians Geoff Wallis and Janet A. McLeod. ■ June 13, 4pm, Classic Cinema, 9 Gordon Street, Elsternwick. Cost: $22. Inquiries: 9524 7900

SEE \ NORTH BY NORTHWEST

production’s other big hurdle. Thornhill was famously played by screen legend Cary Grant, so Matt will be inviting direct comparisons with Hollywood royalty. Not that he’s letting it get to him. “I mean, who was Cary Grant? Only Hollywood’s greatest actor! All of that baggage is there, you can’t deny that. What we’re doing is taking that foundation of the film, the screenplay, and rebuilding it from the ground up. I wasn’t interested in doing a poor Cary Grant impression. I’m a terrible impersonator and I just think you’d end up falling flat on your face.” Adapted by playwright Carolyn Burns in a unique collaboration between Warner Brothers and MTC, North By Northwest receives its world stage première this week. Matt says punters should find its blend of romance, comedy and fast-paced thrills irresistible. “People are going to have to try really hard not to like it, I think. It’s going to take a real cynic to pull it apart.” ● mbartlett@theweeklyreview.com.au (SUPPLIED)

“I think this is the first play ever to fly a crop duster in the Arts Centre.”

WES CARR

established Australian artists, including Valerie Sparks, Michael Cook, Polixeni Papapetrou, Sonia Payes and Abdul-Rahman Abdullah, with many pieces placing the viewer in a staged utopian landscape.

Until July 12, Glen Eira City Council Gallery, corner of Hawthorn and Glen Eira roads, Caulfield. Cost: free. Inquiries: 9524 3333 ● LUKE HENRIQUES-GOMES


MELBOURNE JAZZ FESTIVAL CLOSING NIGHT: DEE DEE BRIDGEWATER & IRVIN MAYFIELD WITH THE NEW ORLEANS JAZZ ORCHESTRA, JUNE 7, ARTS CENTRE, $79-$109

THE ASTOR THEATRE After a brief hiatus, Melbourne’s FILM most prized cinematic icon is reopening under new management. Thankfully, little seems to have changed. The new calendar might just be its best in years, packed with cult gems, restored classics and a smattering of recent releases. This week makes for a promising start, with highlights including A Star Is Born, Fast Times At Ridgemont High and the rarely seen Get Carter Carter. Next week looks even better, starring a new print of another ’60s Michael Caine classic, The Ipcress File. ■ The Astor Theatre, opens June 7, $16, www.astortheatre.net.au LOVE, LOVE, LOVE British playwright Mike Bartlett (no relation) raised eyebrows with last year’s Cock, as staged by MTC. This new drama has a cuddlier title, but promises not to take a soft approach. We start in 1967, as two teenage lovers face up to a rapidly changing world. Over the next 40 years, the baby boomer couple live loudly and irresponsibly, with their domestic trials standing in for those of their generation, as youthful ideals give way to self-absorption and greed. ■ Red Stitch Theatre, June 5 – July 4, $20-$39, redstitch.net PLAY

ETSY CRAFT PARTY There might be a suspicious EVENT lack of crocheted animals and handmade leatherwork, but the spirit of Etsy will be alive and well at the NGV this Saturday. Etsy’s global craft parties are an annual celebration of meeting and making. Aspiring crafts-folk of all ages will be armed with sticky tape and scissors to experiment with cut and paste. ■ NGV Australia, June 6, free (book online), www.ngv.vic.gov.au CHALK ABOUT School loads up young minds with facts and figures, but often misses the big questions. What’s the meaning of life? Who are we really? Why doesn’t everybody like pizza? Devised by Scottish choreographer Christine Devaney and Dutch performer Hendrik Lebon, this dance theatre piece hopes to get kids thinking about how they see themselves and others. Two people will tell their stories by chalking the floor, before inviting children and their parents into their world. ■ Arts Centre Melbourne, June 6-7, $22, ages 8+, www.artscentremelbourne.com.au DANCE

WATCH THE VIDEO \ theweeklyreview.com.au

find your new home + discover your new neighbourhood

(DANIEL BOUD)

HOT TIX

THE DRE REA AM The Australian Ballet is bringing together three works from celebrated British BALLET choreographer Frederick Ashton for a spectacular mix of Shakespeare, spooky music and punishing dance. Ashton’s take on A Midsummer Night’s Dream is a charming crowd-pleaser, set to Mendelssohn. Symphonic Variations is known for its demanding approach to classical ballet, while the more modern Monotones II uses the music of avant-garde composer Erik Satie as a backdrop for its pas de trois. ■ Arts Centre Melbourne, State Theatre, June 4-13, tickets from $39, www.australianballet.com.au ●

      

Specialize cialize in Audi & VW only Complete Vehicle Maintenance Warranty Compliant Service Up To Date Diagnostic Software Free Loan Cars New, Used Parts & Reconditioned Parts All work Guaranteed

15-17 Edward Street, Oakleigh Vic 3166 PH: 9563 2011

a u d s e r v i c e . c o m . a u MELBOURNE’S No:1 AUDI & VW SERVICE SPECIALIST

St Michael’s Scholarships

PICK-U

P&D

ABL Y AVAIL ELIVER *

E*

conditions apply

Our next Open Morning:

Tuesday 28 July at 9.15am Bookings essential.

2017 Scholarships are now open. Applications close Friday 17 July 2015.

Take a bite out of this opportunity!

Coeducational • Kindergarten to Year 12 • 03 8530 3310 • stmichaels.vic.edu.au JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 13


LOCAL LOWDOWN

OH!

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

O V E R H E A R D … Noon, Thursday @ Carnegie Library, Carnegie “University is easy. It’s like riding a bike. And the bike’s on fire. And the ground’s on fire. And everything’s on fire because you’re in hell”

I love Bentleigh DANIEL BOWEN

spoilt for choice. Bentleigh Seafood and Flaked Out are both excellent. Alternatively there are good pizza places … my favourite nearby is probably Remezzo in Ormond.

Daniel Bowen has called Bentleigh home for nearly a decade. The past president of the Public Transport Users Association, he is, to many Melburnians, the public face of commuter calls for better public transport. He loves that Bentleigh is close to everything, that the trains now run “every 10 minutes, every day”. He’s looking forward to one day seeing a station built at nearby Southland shopping centre.

To chill out? I know the City of Glen Eira doesn’t have as many parks as some parts of Melbourne, but Halley Park is a nice spot to relax when it’s not busy. I also like to just walk around and explore the local streets and admire some of the architecture and heritage homes – it’s a great way to get exercise and relax at the same time.

Where do you go for a great cup of coffee? I’m not a coffee drinker, but I love Little Tommy Tucker for a hot – or cold – beverage and a nice lunch, though it can be very crowded at weekends.

For a new pair of jeans? I usually go to Hattams in Elsternwick as they know me there. (MATHEW LYNN)

For a haircut? I’ve used the same barber (Glenhuntly Men’s Hair Stylist) for about 20 years. There’s always plenty of local gossip. For a sneaky takeaway? My weakness is probably fish and chips, and Bentleigh is

When friends come from out of town? There are some good restaurant choices. The Thai Noodle Bar is great, as are Ripples, Yellow Donkey and Taste Of Pho. But if we just want to relax and let my young niece and nephews play in the indoor playground, the RSL is good. ●

Little Tommy Tucker 432 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9576 5174 ● Glenhuntly Men’s Hair Stylist 1140 Glen Huntly Road, Glen Huntly, 9563 6413 ● Bentleigh Seafood 459 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9557 9911 ● Flaked Out 4/271 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9557 1880 ● Remezzo 568 North Road, Ormond, 9578 8576 ● Hattam Menswear 383 Glen Huntly Road, Elsternwick, 9523 5365 Thai Noodles & Rice Bar 330 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9557 3200 ● Ripples, 453 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9557 3688 ● Yellow Donkey, 397 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9557 7705 ● Taste of Pho, 478 Centre Road, Bentleigh, 9996 0221 ● Bentleigh RSL, 538 Centre Road, Bentleigh 9557 4547

GIVE IT A GO LUKE HENRIQ UES- GOMES B R I N G S L I F E T O A R T

We try

(JUPITERIMAGES / THINKSTOCK)

The promise These life drawing classes are aimed at everyone – from advanced artists to those who haven’t picked up a piece of charcoal since high school.

14 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

The reality: First up, obviously there is a naked person in the room. The class goes for three hours and the teacher, Ignacio Rojas, takes us through a range of drawing techniques using charcoal. We begin with a warm-up, then sketch the model in five poses for one minute each. As each new technique is introduced, the model poses for longer, which gives us the chance to add more detail to our drawings. Importantly, it’s an encouraging environment so there’s no need to feel self-conscious about our varying levels of ability. The pay-off: As someone whose drawing experience doesn’t go much beyond stick-figure masterpieces, I still found the classes rewarding. For me, just getting my sketches to resemble an actual human was an achievement in itself. Those with more drawing experience will have

L I F E D R AW I N G

time to really experiment and explore the different techniques. The pain factor: Completely pain-free, although at the end of our class we’re asked to pose for three minutes (with our clothes on, of course!). It gave us a sense of how difficult it is to remain still, as the model did, even for only a few minutes. Who should do it? Anyone with an interest in drawing, and those intrigued by the shape and form of the human body. If you have an issue with nudity, however, it’s best you give this a miss. The bill? $75 a class.

WOULD I DO IT AGAIN?

Yes. I haven’t drawn since I was a kid so it was nice to do something creative in a supportive environment. ● Melbourne Studio of Art 544 Glen Huntly Road, Elsternwick www.studyart.com.au


WHAT’S ON FOR THE WEEKEND?

WHAT DID YOU DO TODAY?

WHERE ARE YOU GOING?

I’ll be going to mass on Sunday for my little brother’s confirmation. He’s asked me to be his sponsor. He was actually told he couldn’t choose a sibling but he refused to pick someone else. ●

I got my hair cut this morning. I haven’t had a fringe for a few years. The hairdresser kept asking me if I was OK because he was cutting off a lot. ●

I’m about to buy some flowers for my wife. The Jewish festival of Shavuot is coming up and I like to buy her flowers for the occasion. ●

RETAIL THERAPY SKISM \ ORMOND

three of …

WORDS & PICTURES LUKE HENRIQUES-GOMES

the best bookshops (BANANASTOCK / THINKSTOCK)

MARCUS \ INTEGRATION AIDE

JORDY \ RADIO PRODUCER

RYAN \ MARKET RESEARCHER

Humans of … Ripponlea

1

Avenue Bookstore, 434 Glen Huntly Road, Elsternwick. 9523 6405 The Avenue is an independent retailer with the size and range of a chain store – everything from mainstream fiction to coffee table books and Judaica titles.

2

Benn’s Books, 437 Centre Road, Bentleigh. 9557 3969 This family-owned business is a go-to for locals who value personalised advice and the odd recommendation.

3

Syber’s Books, 668 Glen Huntly Road, Caulfield. 9523 6686 Far removed from the big chain stores, Syber’s boasts rare and out-of-print titles in this unassuming shop, with a focus on science fiction, history and crime fiction.

F I N D U S AT

SALES PITCH

752 North Road, Ormond. 9578 6414

“Handmade items without a middle-person mark-up” – Wendy McPhee

A career change led Wendy McPhee to open Skism, one of the quirkiest shops on North Road, Ormond. Who’s behind the counter? Wendy McPhee has been at Skism for more than a decade. Before that, she was an academic at Monash University and once owned a vintage furniture shop in central Victoria. About 12 years ago, she opted for a career change. “I thought about what I wanted to buy as a young mum and Skism was created,” Wendy says. “It’s been a great expressive outlet for me.” What’s in the store? Skism stocks an eclectic mix of babies’ and children’s clothes, linen and toys, homewares and gifts. “Most of the products are made by me with lots of love, care and attention. A selected range is made by local women,” Wendy says. “All the children’s items are educational and there are no plastic or synthetic fabrics.” Who’s buying? Mostly locals, who visit the shop with their children, but some customers travel from further afield. “I’m finding more and more that buying gifts for grandchildren has become a reason for coming in.” ● LHG

Our pick These adorable kids’ tops come in sizes 1-4 for girls and boys. They are handmade by Wendy in a range of colours. She says they are among her bestsellers. Cost: $15

Career change: Skism is the brainchild of Wendy McPhee. (MATHEW LYNN) JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 15


a fraction of

attraction

LEARN \ This teacher is helping girls believe in themselves, writes CHERYL CRITCHLEY

J

essica Mount started school in Saudi Arabia, where she rode her bike around a large residential compound with other expat children and temperatures topped 50 degrees in summer. The older children had to be ready by about 6.30am each day to catch a yellow US-style bus, so school could finish before the heat really set in. “We went to school only until about 1.30-2pm every day,” Jessica says. The huge American-run school had up to nine prep classes and different playgrounds for every year level. For a wide-eyed young Australian girl, it was a fascinating introduction to education and instilled in her a lifelong love of travelling to experience different cultures and people. During the summer holidays, Jessica, her father, John, mother, Tess, and sister, Charlotte, who was born in Saudi Arabia, flew to Europe and spent time on the beach. “I can remember going to Italy and I can remember going to Greece and Cyprus,” she says. “It definitely gave me the travel bug.” Jessica was born in Melbourne and lived in Parkdale until she was three, when her dad took the family to Saudi Arabia for his work as an electrical engineer. It was a real adventure but difficult for mum, who was subject to the many limitations on women in Middle Eastern countries. The family returned to Australia in 1995 and Jessica started at Mentone Girls’ Grammar School in grade 3. Coming to Mentone from a large school with every conceivable nationality and religion represented was a culture shock. She went from roaming freely around a protected compound to being unable to navigate Melbourne’s busy bayside streets on her own. “Everything was just smaller,” she says. “I came to a school that had one year 3 classroom and it wasn’t very culturally diverse at the time. I had a little bit of an American accent, which didn’t help.” But the diligent and sociable student soon settled in, partly because of her understanding and talented grade 3 teacher, Louise Hird, who was not long out of university. They didn’t realise it at the time, but 20 years later Jessica would be back at her old school teaching with her former teacher. As a student, Jessica was an all-rounder who enjoyed running and tap dancing, played violin in the orchestra and was Kent House captain in year 12. She also shone in maths. Encouraged by teachers who instilled a belief that girls could

16 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

do well in maths and science, she worked hard on her skills and never felt that she should not be doing those subjects. “I was happy to work hard because I knew if I worked hard I was eventually going to get an answer,” she says. Although she enjoyed school, travel was never far from Jessica’s mind. In year 11 she joined a school history tour of Europe and, while completing a double degree in science and education at Monash University, she spent a month at a Vietnamese orphanage through i-to-i volunteer agency. She was meant to teach English but cared for the children day-to-day as well. It was confronting work because some had missing or shortened limbs. The residents’ parents had no government help, so could not physically care for them. “There were lots of children at the orphanage who were affected by Agent Orange during the [Vietnam] war,” Jessica says. “It’s all still in the soil.” Despite the challenges, the experience was unforgettable. “The kids were gorgeous,” she says. “Kids just have a magical quality to them. They’re just so resilient. They were just like kids here. They were naughty, they were cheeky, they would yell.”

A

fter finishing her university course in 2008, Jessica taught maths, science and psychology at St Kevin’s College in Toorak. Still just 21, she was one of three women in the maths department. Teaching maths at an all-boys’ school could have been daunting but the students were supportive and she thrived, rising to assistant head of maths in charge of years 7 and 8. The St Kevin’s experience was also enjoyable for another special reason. In 2011, Jessica’s colleague Thomas Purcell, who founded the Zimele foundation for communities in Kenya, Tanzania and Sudan, organised an African trip for recent graduates. At the last minute she decided to join them. “I had to beg to go on the trip because it was pretty much full,” she says. Another colleague, John Mount, took his son Daniel, a project manager, on the trip. The rest, as they say, is history and, by the end of the tour, Jessica and Daniel were a couple. “We just got on,” she says. In 2012, the young teacher spent a year backpacking through South America, Central America, the US, Europe, Britain, Africa and India. She had five months with a friend, two months with Daniel and six months alone.

Apart from almost drowning in rough seas between Colombia and Panama while in a sailing boat, it was the trip of a lifetime. Rather than focusing on popular landmarks such as monuments and museums, the highlights of Jessica’s travels have involved simple things such as the culture, food and people. She revelled in time spent alone, where she could take everything in without distraction. During a particularly poignant moment, she stood alone, contemplating life, on a pier in Wales near where her grandfather had grown up. It was one of the few moments in her life that no one knew who she was and no one at home knew where she was. “I can just remember being on this pier and it was beautiful,” she says.

at maths and encourage their girls to do an “easier” version in year 12 to “protect” them. She points out that they wouldn’t do the same thing with English – they’d encourage their daughters to try until they got it. Jessica tells her students that they might not get mathematics answers instantly but with hard work they will improve and can become good at it. “It’s OK to walk out of a maths class and not get anything,” she says. “You’re just not there yet.” Among other things, Jessica is working to boost girls’ exposure to visual concepts and the “flipped classroom”, where they tackle the trickiest equations in class so students are better prepared for homework. This is all enhanced by Mentone Girls’ Grammar’s interactive mConnect intranet, which allows

Jessica tells her students that they might not get mathematics answers instantly, but with hard work they will improve & can become good at it On her return, Daniel, who had encouraged his partner to travel alone, proposed. They married in December 2014, just before Jessica returned to her old school as head of maths. “I was very impressed with Fran [Reddan, the principal],” she says. Now 28, Jessica oversees the school’s maths curriculum, particularly in the high school years, and will continue to encourage the girls’ interest in maths. The school already worked hard to do this, which Jessica experienced as a student. Some things have changed. Since Jessica finished school 10 years ago, calculators have become so advanced that questions must be framed in a way that gets students to ask questions and explain how they got from A to B. “It’s a lot more language-based,” she says. “You can’t rote-learn it.” Jessica also works with families to break down stereotypes about girls and maths. Educators have long urged parents not to tell their children they hated maths or were no good at it, as this can breed a cycle of dislike and underperformance. The situation has improved but Jessica says some parents still insist they are no good

teachers, parents and students to post school material, results and communications at any time. All but three year 12 students now study some form of maths. Jessica and her team are proud of this statistic, given maths is a prerequisite for an increasing number of university courses such as primary teaching. Most modern jobs are also based on science, technology, engineering or maths. Most importantly, Jessica hopes to encourage as many girls as possible to give maths a go, enjoy it and have faith in their ability. It helps that she is young and has so much life experience. The students value their teacher’s knowledge and relate to her youth and enthusiasm. As a result, their determination to take on the world, just as she did, is already growing. “It’s more just a confidence thing and also having the confidence to say … I’m really, really good at it,” Jessica says. “If it’s wrong, it doesn’t mean that you don’t get it; it means you just don’t get it yet.” ● ccritchley@theweeklyreview.com.au » www.mentonegirls.vic.edu.au


alumnAE DULCIE BOLING DR SARAH MILLER ERIN JOHANSON LAUREN GOLDIE » SEE OVER

A numbers game: Maths is fun and easy with Jessica Mount as teacher. (MICHAEL RAYNER)

JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 17


Girls’ Grammar Alumnae

special promotion

success stories … Mentone

DULCIE BOLING Class of 1949

(SUPPLIED)

CV

Media executive

Dulcie was Kent House captain and has fond memories of her principal, Miss Jeannie McCowan, an early feminist and role model. At only 14, Dulcie started as a copy girl at The Herald and Weekly Times, finishing year 12 at night school and later a journalism diploma at the University of Melbourne. After moving to Sydney with her husband and two daughters, she joined New Idea, quickly rising to editor-in-chief and then working as an executive until 1996. Dulcie then joined the Seven Network board and has served on many corporate and non-corporate boards. She lives in Melbourne and also mentors businesswomen. ●

Future Architect

DR SARAH MILLER Class of 1992 CV

Clinical and forensic psychologist

At school, Sarah, who later completed a degree and postgraduate diploma in psychology and a doctorate in clinical psychology, always wanted to help people. She is now internationally acclaimed for her work as a clinical and forensic psychologist. The trauma counselling expert is the only Australian clinical psychologist on the delegation list for deployment by the International Committee of the Red Cross to provide psychological assistance after natural disasters and in conflict zones. She has also worked in the drug and alcohol fields, detention centres and prisons. “My time at Mentone gave me a great foundation,” she says. ●

ERIN JOHANSON

Class of 1994 CV

Entertainment company manager

As a student, Erin was obsessed with playing 1980s games on her Commodore 64 console. This led to her dream job with Blizzard Entertainment Europe, where she has worked since 2004 and is now global customer support manager. Erin co-manages a team responsible for communications, incorporating online tools and in-person networking to create relationships with players and fans of Blizzard games. She has a bachelor of science with honours from The Open University and lives in France with her son. “Trust your instincts; if something feels right deep down, it usually is,” she says. ●

LAUREN GOLDIE Class of 2013 CV

Royal Australian Navy trainee communications information officer

In 2012, while still at school, Lauren was selected for the Royal Australian Navy Boot Camp and won the Boot Camp Navy Teamwork Award. She joined the navy in early 2014, training at the Recruit School in HMAS Cerberus. Lauren graduated with the Top Sports Person Excellence Award and was offered a position to train as a Communications Information Officer. This role involves co-ordinating naval aircraft and ships and communicating with other naval/military ports throughout the world. She is loving every minute of training and her new lifestyle. ●

MENTONE GIRLS’ GRAMMAR SCHOOL

With a great education anything is possible. ELC to Year 12 – we encourage our students to pursue their dreams and reach their potential. We help build their  ­€€‚ƒƒ„…ƒ†„‡ˆ excellence and empower them to make a difference; these are the results that will Ž† ƒ†Ž‡‘ƒ‡…’“‡ ˆ‚…‚’

School Tours Take a personal tour of our School.

Call 9581 1200 or book online: www.…ƒ™‡‚Ž ’ˆ‡’­’†­ Mentone Girls. Remarkable Women.™

18 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015


MOTHER & DAUGHTER BETH CREGAN & NEVE ROSEMAN \ ORMOND

About us

Neve Roseman is in year 11 at Kilvington Grammar School. Her mum, Beth Cregan, attended Killester College, in Springvale, in the 1980s.

BETH \ 50

NEVE \ 16

My favourite subject at school was … Australian history. We had a teacher, Mrs Davies, who really brought it to life for us.

My favourite subject at school is … health and human development. Is it better to be popular or smart? I believe it’s important for me to stay focused on my study while having fun and participating in extracurricular activities that allow me to socialise and make life-long friendships.

Is it better to be popular or smart? I love to be surrounded by people but I still feel that learning new things, and remaining eternally curious gives you a tremendous buzz. I was best at … telling stories and making my friends laugh.

I am best at … setting goals. I’m very determined. I’m good at working towards a goal and achieving the best that I can.

I couldn’t live without … my close circle of friends. We live in different cities but I still can’t live without them.

I can’t live without … the beach. My first concert was … Rihanna.

The first concert I went to was … Bryan Adams, and The Police.

I worry about … raising enough money to go on the World Challenge Borneo in 2016.

I was worried about … big things like my parents dying and world wars.

I’m most looking forward to … going to Italy and Paris in the June/July holidays.

I most looked forward to … the freedom of growing up and being independent.

When I finish school I want to … take a gap year and complete my yoga training course. Then I’d love to travel and start uni.

When I finished school I wanted to … be a storyteller.

I’m most like mum in the way that … we both share a great love of yoga. ● LUKE HENRIQUES-GOMES

In common: Beth and Neve, at home in their kitchen, share a love of yoga. (MATHEW LYNN)

Friday 12th June 8.00am – 6.00am

2 DAYS ONLY

We have produced a great range of our famous COATS at reduced prices, exclusive to this event. COATS USUALLY $599 NOW $399 SAVE $200 PLUS JACKETS & PANTS FROM $50 DRESSES FROM $30, SAMPLES FROM $80 Shop these and other fantastic bargins!

Richmond Station

SWAN ST E. Rich Station 54

BALMAIN ST

CHURCH ST

SALE

54 Cremorne Street Richmond, Victoria 3121 Parking available on site Enquiries 03 8416 4688

CREMORNE ST

WAREHOUSE

Saturday 13th June 8.00am – 3.00pm

PUNT RD

Neve’s most like me in that … she’s a creative spirit and fiercely independent. ●

PERRICUTTEN.COM.AU

JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 19


A SHINING LIGHT 12 BOKHARA ARA ROAD ROAD, CAULFIELD SOUTH, 3162

L

ights … camera … action. Parading tomorrow’s ideas of residential satisfaction, this new house is ready for its starring role in luxurious family living. The house shines like a beacon to the street and doesn’t let up on that confident glow until the rear fenceline. In between, a succession of eminently liveable spaces – and a pool that would do a five-star resort proud – present in sumptuous fashion. The façade is rendered in such bright white that one almost requires sunglasses to appreciate its audacious geometric lines. The front garden is similarly disciplined, with a square of lawn and raised beds of exotics bordering the wide entrance path. One inside, light and lighting stake an immediate claim for best supporting act. Strategic glazing maximises natural light, LED technology provides practical support and crystal chandeliers are opulent focal features. Wood and stone also deserve acknowledgement, with chocolate-stained oak floors gracing ground level spaces and Calacutta marble appearing in custom joinery and feature walls. The chandelier over the entrance foyer drips from the second-storey ceiling like a cascade of crystal bubbles. The only bedroom on ground level has a

MELBOURNE’S BEST

PROPERTIES

walk-through wardrobe opening to a dual-access bathroom, while a cutaway connects the lounge with the hall. The open-plan kitchen, dining and living area extends the concept of a hub to that of a “hub-arama”. Backed up by a butler’s pantry, the kitchen has snow-white cabinetry, smooth-as-silk stone benchtops and appliances (including two Liebherr fridge and freezers) that are so well integrated they’re tricky to find. In the living area, a Calacutta marble feature wall hosts a giant screen and gas log fireplace. Glass sliders in dining and living areas cut a corner to the outdoor entertainment room with its state-of-the-art barbecue. A strip of lawn heralds the pool enclosure, where the cabana comes with a bathroom and sauna, and the pristine pool, back-dropped by fence-art, is the perfect ending. The upstairs main suite thoroughly spoils parents. With a storage-lined dressing room, an en suite worth loitering in, a study or sitting area and a protected street-view balcony, it is a complete retreat. Tinted double-glazing assures privacy. ● KAY KEIGHERY property@theweeklyreview.com.au

GARDENVALE \ 100 GARDENVALE ROAD

AGENTS’ CHO I CE POSTCODE

EDITORIAL SUBMISSIONS PROPERTY EDITOR \ MARIA HARRIS property@theweeklyreview.com.au M \ 0409 009 766

3183

19 Linton Street, St Kilda East 3

2

2

Agent: Gary Peer Real Estate 9066 4688 ................................................................. Price: $1.05 million- $1.15 million ................................................................. Auction: Saturday June 13 at 11.30am ................................................................. OFI: Sat 12.45-1.15pm; Sun 12:30-1pm .................................................................

DEPUTY PROPERTY EDITOR \ BIANCA VILLAROSA M \ 0431 116 667 ADVERTISING INQUIRIES REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ MATTHEW MAASDIJK mmaasdijk@mmpgroup.com.au

M \ 0417 307 710

VISIT \ reviewproperty.com.au Biggin & Scott \ 9523 9444 The real estate cover story (above) and We Love It property reviews on the following pages have been visited by TWR journalists. Agents’ Choices and Out of Town are promotions provided by the selling agent.

FREE! DOWNLOAD OUR APP! IPAD + IPHONE + MOBILE search for properties to buy, rent & share. Available from iTunes 20 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

PROPERTY ID » 2011976023

Price \ $1.2 million +

Auction \ June 6 at 2pm

Just a few doors from local café hero Omar and the Marvellous Coffee Bird, this new freestanding townhouse is surrounded by manicured gardens. There’s a big deck up front, a lawn area and a covered porch. Step inside and there’s a glorious sense of space in the open-plan living area with polished floorboards and no fewer than three sets of french doors in walls of glass. The smartly designed kitchen with floating LED lighting has a pale stone bench that encompasses hickory veneer cupboards. There’s a big butler’s pantry that moves through to the laundry with extensive storage and access to the garage. A bedroom or study downstairs has a built-in wardrobe and sliding doors to the living area and to a shared bathroom. Climb the dark-stained staircase and the main bedroom upstairs is a cracker, with New Zealand wool carpet and an enormous walk-in wardrobe and en suite with a freestanding tub and a wet shower clad with hexagonal tiles like a beehive. Two more bedrooms with built-in wardrobes flank a sleek bathroom. Gardenvale station is nearby. ● STEPHEN A. RUSSELL

POSTCODE

3185

4

3

1

This clean-lined, stylishly renovated sanctuary features a central living room, Caesarstone kitchen and soaring ceilings above the open-plan family/dining room. Let's eat lunch @ The Local Taphouse, 184 Carlisle Street Let's eat dinner @ Las Tapas, 100 Chapel Street Let's drink coffee @ Wall Two 80, 280 Carlisle Street


final word “THIS IS THE LATEST AND THE GREATEST; A TRULY MAGNIFICENT HOusE AND A BENCHMARK FOR THE AREA.” DARREN KRONGOLD – agent

Gary Peer \ 9526 1999

Price \ $2.5 million +

Auction \ June 14 at 3.30pm

Fast facts \ Luxurious architecturally designed house with resort-style entertainment facilities; low-maintenance landscaping; double garage; lounge; open-plan kitchen, dining and living; butler’s pantry; laundry; second-storey retreat; main suite with en suite, dressing room, study and balcony; outdoor area with barbecue; pool cabana with bathroom and sauna; solar-heated pool; oak floors; quality carpets; chef’s kitchen; crystal chandeliers; Calacutta marble surfaces; zoned heating and cooling; video security; LED lighting; double glazing; metres from Princes Park. Caulfield South \ 12 kilometres from the city

5

6

2

VISIT \ reviewproperty.com.au

PROPERTY ID » 2011986500

+ FLOOR PLANS

+ VIDEO

BENTLEIGH EAST \ 34A WAMBA ROAD POSTCODE

3204

13a Glenmer Street, Bentleigh 4

3

2

Agent: Leanne Potter 0414 344 144 ................................................................. Price: POA ................................................................. Auction: Saturday June 13 at 10.30am ................................................................. OFI: Wed 4.15-4.45pm; Sat as advertised .................................................................

POSTCODE

3204

1/19 Parker Street, Ormond 3

2

2

Agent: Gary Peer Real Estate 9526 1999 ................................................................. Price: $860,000 - $950,000 ................................................................. Auction: Saturday June 13 at 3.45pm ................................................................. OFI: Sat. Sun 11-11.30am .................................................................

VISIT \ reviewproperty.com.au Hocking Stuart \ 9557 7733

PROPERTY ID » 2011976101

Price \ $970,000 – $1.04 million

Auction \ June 6 at 11.30am

European oak floors are laid out below high ceilings inside this new, semi-detached townhouse with a bright study up front. A ground-floor bedroom has built-in wardrobes and there’s a shower room downstairs too, tucked beside the laundry that has access to the single-car garage. A lounge with dark chocolate-coloured carpet sits off the hall before you reach the expansive, open-plan living to the rear. The granite kitchen has a huge island bench with twin pendant lights hung above it and a 900-millimetre stainless-steel Bosch oven. There’s a butler’s pantry, too. Two sets of stacker doors lead out to a wraparound deck that drops down to a lawn in the backyard. Upstairs, a large retreat can be handed over to the kids. The main bedroom at the front of the house has a deep walk-in wardrobe with its own window and an en suite with a twin shower and matching dual vanity. Two more bedrooms with built-in wardrobes share the bathroom with a sunken tub. Several schools nearby make this offering perfect for families. ● STEPHEN A. RUSSELL

POSTCODE

This stunning new family house has two spacious living zones, state-of-the-art stone kitchen (Ilve appliances and a butlers' pantry) and a double garage.

This new luxury town house features low-maintenance living, a north-facing al fresco area, living/dining, Siemens kitchen and American oak floorboards.

Let's eat lunch @ Two Kings Café, 353 Centre Road Let's eat dinner @ Sumalee Café & Restaurant, 264 Centre Road Let's drink coffee @ Merchants Guild, 680 Centre Road

Let's eat lunch @ The Ormond Provedore, 746 North Road Let's eat dinner @ Kinkaku Japanese, 628 North Road Let's drink coffee @ Europa Cakes, 99a Koornang Road

3165

4

3

1 JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 21


BENTLEIGH EAST 1/12 BROSA AVENUE Contemporary Brilliance in an Abundance of Space. Superbly spacious, this stunning new 3 bedroom + study 2.5 bath street front town residence has family proportions in easy care landscaped surrounds. Radiant with porcelain tiles and exacting attention to detail, this impressive home provides a north facing lounge and dining room, generous open plan living/dining with fabulous stone entertainer’s kitchen (WI pantry & Bosch s/steel appls) spilling out onto a stunning private alfresco courtyard, huge upstairs retreat, main bedroom with stylish ensuite and WIR and double auto garage. With a host of finishes including ducted R/C heating, evap cooling & vacuum, high ceilings, intercom system, water tank & its own drive, it’s relaxed family living, so close to the schools, shops, parks, GESAC & transport.

3 View Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact Office

2.5

2

Thurs 11.30 - 12.00pm & Sat as advertised Sat 20th June - 2.30pm 77 / G4 Please contact Agent Chris Graf 0413 507 573 Nick Renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU

BENTLEIGH 8 GLENMER STREET

3

Renovated to perfection and glistening from top to toe, this stunning 3 bedroom, 2 bath Art Deco home enjoys an engaging sitting room (OFP), impressive stone kitchen (quality appliances), open plan living & dining, stylish deck, terraced lawn & double garage.

Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact

View

Office

2

2

635 (approx.)

Wed 5.00 - 5.30pm & Sat as advertised Sat 13th June - 2.30pm 77 / G5 Please contact Agent Leanne Potter 0414 344 144 David Picking 0408 378 170 Bentleigh 9557 7733

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU 22 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

BENTLEIGH 13A GLENMER STREET

4

Thoughtfully designed for your ever-changing family needs, this stunning new 4 bedroom, 3 bath family home enjoys 2 spacious living zones, state of the art stone kitchen (Ilve appls & butler’s pantry), downstairs bedrm (BIRs), stylish deck & auto garage.

Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact

View

Office

3

2 Wed 4.15 - 4.45pm & Sat as advertised Sat 13th June - 10.30am 77 / G5 Please contact Agent Leanne Potter 0414 344 144 Nick Renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU


CAULFIELD SOUTH 7 EUMERALLA ROAD

3

First time offered in over 40 years, this charming 3 bedroom Art Deco home with garage has all the character and class required for a spectacular renovation. Parkside locale, walk to Caulfield South Primary School, Princes Park, North Rd cafes & train.

Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact

1

View

1

571 (approx.)

Wed 3.15 - 3.45pm & Sat as advertised Sat 13th June - 11.30am 68 / D7 Please contact Agent Trent Collie 0425 740 484 Sarah Gursansky 0467 533 309 Eyal Malka 0414 778 837 Caulfield 8532 5200

Office

MCKINNON 35 HOPKINS STREET

4

Immaculate and full of light, this elevated 1980s 4BR, 2 bath single level family home has generous spaces to work your magic, featuring 2 entertaining zones (cathedral ceilings), huge kitchen, north facing rear garden & auto gate to double carport.

Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU

2

View

2

773 (approx.)

Wed 5.30 - 6.00pm & Sat as advertised Sunday 14th June - 12.30pm 68 / B10 Please contact Agent Gavin Van Rooyen 0429 129 229 Lidiya Hanin 0450 563 394 Bentleigh 9557 7733

Office

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU

AUCTION SATURDAY

BENTLEIGH EAST 16 VERONICA STREET

3

A home of peaceful tranquility, this heartwarming 3 bedroom, 2 bath timber home is like your own slice of the country, enjoying a relaxed living room (OFP) & dining room, modern kitchen and covered entertaining deck in the leafy rear garden (LU garage).

Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact

View

Office

2

2

591 (approx.)

Wed 4.00 - 4.30pm & Sat as advertised Sat 13th June - 3.30pm 78 / C2 Please contact Agent Anthony Fordham 0408 107 514 Nick Renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU

BENTLEIGH EAST 34A WAMBA ROAD

4

Quality built with substantial proportions, this timeless new 4 bedrm + study 3 bathrm street front residence epitomises family entertaining, with its 3 entertaining zones, European Oak floors, granite/stone kitchen (butler’s pantry), stylish deck, auto garage.

Auction Mel Ref EPR Contact

3

View

Office

2 Wed 4.45 - 5.15pm & Sat from 11.00am Sat 6th June - 11.30am 77 / H5 Please contact Agent Trent Collie 0425 740 484 Sarah Gursansky 0467 533 309 Bentleigh 9557 7733

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 23


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

377 Kooyong Road ELSTERNWICK Family Luxury In An Elegant And Spacious Single-Level Design The essence of family excellence is superbly expressed in the single-level design of this elegant home. Revealing an impeccable sense of relaxed sophistication, the beautifully spacious residence caters to the needs of the family while offering outstanding space for impressive entertaining through a harmonious balance of formal & casual living zones, hostess kitchen topped in sandstone & a large home office or bedroom. French doors in the two living zones & master bedroom open out to a north-facing central alfresco courtyard & at the rear, a patio & garden are accessed from the family/meals area.

12 Bokhara Road CAULFIELD SOUTH Scaling New Heights In World-Class Glamour This visionary masterpiece sets brand-new standards in modern opulence & excellence. Adding drama & depth, an extraordinary level of craftsmanship at almost no regard to cost has created a streamlined, cohesive design that encompasses an array of magnificently proportioned formal & informal zones, which convey a minimalist yet grand feeling. Equipped with Gagganau appliances, two Liebherr Fridges & Freezers & butler’s pantry, the gourmet kitchen will suit the most ardent entertainer while the pampering master bedroom is fit for a film star with its glamorous dressing room, sumptuous ensuite bathroom & balcony with city views. 24 The weekly review \ JUNE 3, 2015

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.377KooyongRoadElsternwick.com

Auction Sunday 14 June 12:30pm Inspect Sat & Sun 12:30-1:00 Contact Arlene Joffe 0473 925 525 Joel Ser 0415 337 708

3/40 A A 2.50 B B 2+0

CC

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.12BokharaRoadCaulfieldSouth.com

Auction Sunday 14 June 3:30pm Inspect Wed 12:00-12:30, Sat 12:30-1:00 & Sun 1:15-1:45 Contact Darren Krongold 0438 515 433 Sally Zelman 0412 294 488 Daniel Fisher 0409 797 560

05 A A 60 B B

2+0

CC


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

1 Kilwinning Court ST KILDA EAST Amazingly Accommodating For All Ages & Stages This unique sun-filled home, exceptionally well-located in a prestigious & tightly held cul-de-sac, is a classic example of the application of the incomparable design principles of the seventies. Perfect for the growing & extended family, the substantially generous accommodation includes over-sized formal & informal entertaining & living spaces, an elevated pergola-covered terrace looking down onto an a rear courtyard & a fully selfcontained unit with its own entrance. Both the comprehensively equipped eat-in kitchen & master ensuite bedroom are graced with north-facing views of the city in the distance.

103 Allison Road ELSTERNWICK Family Focused, Entertaining Victorian Built to exacting standards, this Victorian-inspired residence magnificently showcases an alluring combination of the captivating character of the era with contemporary amenities. Commanding an imposing presence in one of the area’s finest streets, the family entertainer features a beautifully proportioned lounge & dining room complemented by a vast casual living/meals area & huge granite kitchen, home office, relaxing upstairs retreat & a sun-soaked glass conservatory extending into the north-facing garden. Exclusive location close to schools, transport, shopping strips & Harleston Park.

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.1KilwinningCourtStKildaEast.com

Auction Sunday 21 June 12:30pm Inspect Wed 1:00-1:30 & Sun 11:00-11:30 Guide $1,500,000 - $1,650,000 Contact Darren Krongold 0438 515 433 Sally Zelman 0412 294 488 Daniel Fisher 0409 797 560

06 A A 04 B B 02

CC

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.103AllisonRoadElsternwick.com

Auction Sunday 21 June 1:30pm Inspect Thurs 6:00-6:30, Sat 11:45-12:15 & Sun 12:00-12:30 Guide $1,750,000 - $1,950,000 Contact Ben Ajzner 0421 706 836 Leon Gouzenfiter 0422 339 791

4+0 A A 30 B B 2+0

CC

JUNE 3, 2015 \ The weekly review 25


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

33 Kent Grove CAULFIELD NORTH

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.33KentGroveCaulfieldNorth.com

Five-Star Family Luxury In An Unrivalled Location The intuitive design of this exceptional home is perfectly suited to the growing family. Ideal for indoor-outdoor entertaining, the immaculate interior opens to a central courtyard as well as a northwest facing garden & heated pool. It includes a formal lounge & dining room with gas fireplace, huge home office or home theatre & a quality granite kitchen looking onto the expansive casual living & meals area & garden & superb storage throughout. Move straight in & start enjoying this tightly-held blue-chip location close to transport, schools, Caulfield Park, Malvern Central & Glenferrie Road shops.

6b Florence Street ORMOND The Absolute Best In Brand-New Class This brand-new town residence is a first-class fusion of modern luxury, light & space. Packing lots of family-friendly comfort into its design, the well-planned layout delivers plenty of room for entertaining & day-to-day activities. 26 The weekly review \ JUNE 3, 2015

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.6bFlorenceStreetOrmond.com

Auction Saturday 13 Jun 10:30am Inspect Wed 5:00-5:30, Sat 1:15-1:45 & Sun 12:30-1:00 Guide $950,000 - $1,045,000 Contact Aviv Samuel 0401 378 582 Leor Samuel 0413 079 255

04 A 03 B 1+ 0

C

Auction Sunday 21 June 2:30pm Inspect Sat 11:45-12:15 & Sun 12:30-1:00 Contact Darren Krongold 0438 515 433 Sally Zelman 0412 294 488 Daniel Fisher 0409 797 560

19 Linton Street ST KILDA EAST A Stunning Surprise Of Space, Style & Serenity This generously proportioned home has been totally transformed by a spectacular designer renovation. The clean-lined stylish sanctuary features a central living room, CaesarStone kitchen & soaring ceilings above the open-plan family/dining room.

04 A A 2.50 B B 02

CC

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.19LintonStreetStKildaEast.com

Auction Saturday 13 Jun 11:30am Inspect Wed 11:00-11:30, Sat 12:45-1:15 & Sun 12:30-1:00 Guide $1,050,000 - $1,150,000 Contact Daniel Fisher 0409 797 560 Michael Jonas 0427 558 880

03 A 02 B 02

C


348 Orrong Road, Caulfield North 9526 1999 55 Inkerman Street, St Kilda 9066 4688 42 Koornang Road, Carnegie 9563 1666 garypeer.com.au

2/19 Parker Street ORMOND Indulge Yourself In Brand-New Style This brand-new single-level town residence embraces a blend of modern sophistication with designer luxury. With the emphasis on low-maintenance living, it features a north-facing alfresco area, living/dining, Siemens kitchen & floorboards.

128 Westbury Close BALACLAVA The Complete Package: Space, Character & Location Blessed with private & sunny grounds, this period home showcases grand proportions, & modern improvements. There’s also scope to express your creative taste on the formal lounge & dining, family/meals/kitchen, study, alfresco area & garden.

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.2-19ParkerStreetOrmond.com

Auction Saturday 13 Jun 3:30pm Inspect Sat & Sun 11:00-11:30 Guide $830,000 - $910,000 Contact Rafi Joffe 0419 387 006 Aviv Samuel 0401 378 582

03 A 2.5 0 B 02

C

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.128WestburyCloseStKildaEast.com

Auction Sunday 14 Jun 2:30pm Inspect Sat & Sun 10:45-11:15 Contact Glenn Bricker 0419 359 047 Paul Natale 0432 800 737

3/4 0 A 1.5 0 B 3+ 0

C

1/19 Parker Street ORMOND Indulge Yourself In Brand-New Style This brand-new dual-level town residence embraces a blend of modern sophistication with designer luxury. With the emphasis on low-maintenance living, it features a north-facing alfresco area, living/dining, Siemens kitchen & floorboards.

3/34 Anderson Street CAULFIELD Style & Effortless Elegance Sheer class defines the spacious design of this modern town residence. Tailor-made for effortless living, the floor plan showcases a formal zone, Smeg kitchen, open-plan living & dining, north-facing courtyard & downstairs master ensuite.

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.1-19ParkerStreetOrmond.com

Auction Saturday 13 Jun 3:45pm Inspect Sat & Sun 11:00-11:30 Guide $860,000 - $950,000 Contact Rafi Joffe 0419 387 006 Aviv Samuel 0401 378 582

03 A 2.5 0 B 02

C

www.123samplestreetcaulfieldnorth.com www.3-34AndersonStreetCaulfield.com

Auction Sunday 21 Jun 12:30pm Inspect Wed 6:00-6:30 & Sun 11:30-12:00 Guide $1,100,000 - $1,210,000 Contact Glenn Bricker 0419 359 047 Paul Natale 0432 800 737

03 A 2.5 0 B 02

C

JUNE 3, 2015 \ The weekly review 27


WE DELIVER...

ELSTERNWICK 12 CURRAL ROAD VICTORIAN CLASS. CONTEMPORARY CHIC Combining all the hallmarks of 19th century Architecture with the best of 21st century comforts and trends, this striking solid brick Victorian is sure to appease to most discerning families. • 4 BR, BIR´s, ensuite to master • Wide central hall • Open plan living, study/children´s breakout area • Stunning all white kitchen, induction cooktop • Separate laundry with external access

• • • •

North facing alfresco deck. Off street parking Land size 475sqm approx Ducted heating, A/C, remote gates, plantation shutters, polished boards

4

AUCTION VIEW CONTACT OFFICE

2

1

Saturday 20th June at 11:00am Thu 5-5:30, Sat 12.45-1:15, Sun 2.45-3:15 Daniel Ashton 0408 078 515 Bill Stavrakis 0418 327 622 261-263 Glenhuntly Road, Elsternwick 9523 9444

bigginscott.com.au

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections

Brand New Display Homes Open Now!

WE DELIVER...

The Avenue, Selandra Rise & Timbertop Estate Open Sat, Sun, Mon, Tues & Wed from 12-5pm

N IO AY CT RD AU TU SA

Knock down - Rebuild From $244,723

GARDENVALE 100 GARDENVALE ROAD CONTEMPORARY, SOPHISTICATED LIFESTYLE This stunning, brand new town residence is a testament to the belief that form and function can work harmoniously together. • Up to 4 bedrooms (or 3 + study) • 3 bathrooms (huge hotel-style open ensuite) • Stunning stone kitchen, Miele appliances • Spacious O/P living, French doors, engineered oak flooring •Sep laundry and mud room • Lock-up garage with internal access, additional OSP •Note: No body corp or common land

4

2

The Hawthorn 31.2sq AUCTION VIEW CONTACT OFFICE

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections 28 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

3

Saturday 6th June at 2:00pm Thu 12-12:30, Sat 1.30-2 Daniel Ashton 0408 078 515 Bill Stavrakis 0418 327 622 261-263 Glenhuntly Rd 9523 9444

bigginscott.com.au

Think of your property as a blank canvas... Now imagine rebuilding the stunning Hawthorn amongst the existing landscape of your street. With its country style and distinctive weatherboard facade, the Hawthorn blends seamlessly with contemporary living and the charm of yesteryear. You will love the warmth of the timber floors and the quality of the finishes like high ceilings, feature cornice, decorative arches and picture rails. The kitchen/family/dining area form an entertainment activity hub which includes a beautiful country kitchen complete with mantelpiece and walk-in pantry. Neatly tucked away behind the kitchen, a stairway leads to your very own attic-style theatre and study/retreat area, proof of the generous living space the Hawthorn has to offer.

BERWICK WATERS

CASIANA GROVE

THE AVENUE

TIMBERTOP ESTATE

SELANDRA RISE ESTATE

Flowerbloom Crescent CLYDE NORTH Melway 131 C8

Red Maple Drive CRANBOURNE Melway 133 B6

Stoneleigh Road, CRANBOURNE NORTH Melway 130 K11

Clovelly Way, OFFICER Melway 214 E2

Belant Rise, CLYDE NORTH Melway 134 K5

Contact: 1300 773 643 www.premierbuilders.com.au


find your new home + discover your new neighbourhood

DINING

SCHOOLS

M A R K E T DATA

TRANSPORT

JUNE 3, 2015 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 29


Trades & Services

General Classifieds

VICE 24 HOUR SER!  

LEAKING

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

SHOWERS

& BALCONIES WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t

VIC t

QLD t

WA t

ACT t

SA

3).!)-%*)-!"/,%-$(!).- +!%'%-%)#%)'' !31%.$*, +#, !-"!. 21%.$ '!.,%')-.''.%*)3*/-!!1%,! 3$*)! .

 **.**%#*,-('' 30!)*.'.!!+%, /..!'!. ,%'*(/ 111&'$ ,!!+% .!,!,0% 3*. 3!/,%.2 ',(3 )-. ''.%*)-

1181674-18-15

STOP

Jason 1300 644 698

Call 1300 666 808

sing adverti “Since al Weekly Loc t in our th Eas w Sou ie v e ave R h s ie quir our en immensely sed increa nue to e conti and w sults� e r t ea get gr n ia - Dam

megasealed.com.au

FREE QUOTES

860 973

Specialist in • Lawn mowing • Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming • Regular Maintenance • Rubbish Removals • Tree Lopping • Gutter Cleaning

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days

www.tbr.net.au

V

Electricians

Glass/Glazing

AUSSIE EMERGENCY GLASS

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

V

Pest Control

1156306-HM40-14

rangerpestcontrol.com.au

TERMITE CONTROL SPECIALIST

Free termite quotes - Family owned business â—? Termites â—? Ants â—? Rats â—? Mice â—? Spiders â—? Cockroaches â—? Bees & Wasps 2064941v5

â—? Pre purchase inspections â—? Council Certificates

Qualified & Insured

Plumbing

TAKE AWAY ALL RUBBISH, green waste, timbers, steel and all furnitures & etc No job to big or small 7 days a week “Free Quote� ~ prompt service

9696 9199

Call Jason Now 0417 568 551

Far Eastern Relaxation

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds. 30 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ JUNE 3, 2015

G6133636AA-dc2Jul

Tiling

$65

Discreet Rear Parking

CREDIT CARDS & EFTPOS WELCOME Ladies Warmly Welcomed MEL REF: P43 B1 / Tram 57 Stop 22

Window Replacement Service

G6381234AA-dc22Oct

Aluminium, Timber and UPVC Windows Free Measure and quote

9794 7913

V

Massage Therapists

ADVERTISERS, in this section are qualified practitioners and offer non-sexual services. EXOTIC Full body oil massage. $50. European & Asian. Private. New. 2/125 McKinnon Road, McKinnon. Phone 0401 550 433. HOT & EXOTIC New girls. Dancing on your skin. 4/54 Atherton Road, Oakleigh. $40. Phone 9563 0080.

SWA 6143B

2030574v2

$

9793 5289

26 Rhur St, Dandenong. Open 7 days

WINDOWS 1

HOUSE CLEANING $25 per hour by honest and reliable lady. Police check and references available. Jacqui 0478 975 768.

77 Racecourse Rd, Nth Melbourne

SPECIAL

Windows

Servicing all of Greater Melbourne

From

 9326 8388

0432 774 645

V

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Affordable Prices

AARON’S TILING

1138076-LN23-14

G6748867AA-dc8Apr

Find local work with an advert in the

Home Services

(2hr meter parking out front) Girls always available SWA4281be

Rubbish Removal

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

Call Peter 0419 306 866 or 9570 2747

V

03 9347 6000

A Class Rubbish Removal

V

Reg #36352

Personal

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne Open 24 hrs - 7 days

Body Rubs

Call 0434 525 311

s3EWAGE"LOCKAGESs4AP2EPAIRSs'AS&ITTING s(OT7ATERs#ARBON-ONOXIDE4ESTING

V

9555 8100

• Demolition Specialists • Backyard Cleanups • Concrete Broken or Cut & Removed • Tree Lopping & Removal • Rental Cleanups • Deceased Estate Cleanups We Take Anything Away

Peter’s Plumbing

Mel 95 E3, 7days

1135298-LN21-14

Floor Services WE USE DUSTLESS MACHINERY

2SHQKRXUV

Manhattan Terrace

17 Nicole Way Dandenong South

67 Keys Road, Moorabbin SWA8128BE

AARON & JOHN’S DEMOLITION & RUBBISH REMOVALS

1156303-HM40-14

1156305-HM40-14

V

0488 097 005

&%' %URWKHO

Nude Body Rub $70 half hour 2 Lady Double Full Service $160

Find yours at plumber.com.au

V

Jason 1300 644 698

V

Need a plumber?

*Conditions apply

G6119153AA-dc1Jul

9793 2988 9793 2986

New Owner New Ladies Weekly

Homes, Businesses, Offices, Insurance Work

9548 3000 or 0418 881 551

swa7023b

More new ladies

CLUB KEYS

50% DISCOUNT* or cover $100 excess Windows... Doors... Shop Fronts...

1129931-RC16-14

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

1152285-PB36-14

V

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES

Plumbing

Full Service from $80

red17.com.au

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

Pensioner Discount  Mark 0411

V

1182865-HM19-15

TOTAL QUALITY BATHROOMS AT AN AFFORDABLE COST.

Garden Services

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

G6639422AA-dc15Apr

Total Bathroom Renovations

V

Adult Services

V

Red Lantern G6423468AA-dc6Nov

J.L. Hutt Electrical

ALL ADVERTISEMENTS booked under this classification are strictly for ancillary roles only. To comply with the law it is still an offence under the Sex Work Act 1994 to publish any statements intended or likely to induce a person to seek work as a sex worker.

Adult Services

1171577-DJ06-15

Email: yosi1@netscape.net.au www.bathrooms-r-us.com.au

V

1145621-PB30-14

Ph 0423 676 555/ 9530 0422

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise. 1186291-ACM22-15

1134504-DJ20-14

• Remodelling • Plastering • Plumbing & Electrical

1152285-PB36-14

Grow your business with Trades and Services

“We Do It All� Free quotes - 24/7

Adult Employment

V

G6161817AA-dc15Jul

BATHROOMS ‘R’ US

Trades Business Profile

SWA3337BE

V

1178522-DJ14-15

Bathroom & Kitchens

V

Phone - 1300 Escort 1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

V

Business Opportunities

SALES PEOPLE

Exciting New Job Opportunity! Work locally Full time / Part time Telephone experience and computer skills preferred. Full training provided MumSuccess.com S W A 113E

General Classifieds section of Network Classifieds.

1171600-KC6-15


RUBIRA’S

480 Victoria Street North Melbourne. Phone 9329 1634 192 Station Street Port Melbourne. Phone 9646 2746 EMAILINFO RUBIRASCOMAUsWWWRUBIRASCOMAU

Eyes of Adonia is an Australian aromatherapy supplier that specialises in handmade natural scented candles including soy candles and palm wax candles, olive oil soaps and essential oils. Our range will have a scent for every individual. The aromas and colours of our products will enhance the atmosphere of your home and enrich your life. Find out more about our soy wax candles, essential oils, olive oil soaps and more of our products by visiting our website.

www.eyesofadonia.com.au

9886 3350 0410 537 164

Bay Street Beauty & Dermalogica 397 Bay St, Brighton 3186 Phone 9596 8264 1186476-PB23-15

Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professional’s. Residential and commercial. We do it all from deck sanding, cleaning, sealing, washing to deck maintenance and finally deck refinishing! Continually delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. No job too big or small. Give us a call, email: info@deckseal.com.au or visit our website for more information. www.deckseal.com.au

1186456-PB23-15

BAY STREET BEAUTY. YOUR NO 1 DERMALOGICA SALON BAYSIDE. QUOTE THIS ADD FOR 10% OFF YOUR NEXT TREATMENT OR LIKE US ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE.

www.baystreetbeauty.com.au | www.facebook.com/Pages/Bay-Street-Beauty

1182800-HM19-15

1149120-HM33-14

DeckSeal Revival

Unit 5, 46-48 Buffalo Road, Gladesville NSW. 0419 489 503

1186490-DJ23-15

SIMPLY SENSATIONAL SEAFOOD

1186430-PB23-15

RUBIRA’S

Now two venues, both offering nothing but the best fresh seafood sourced from the market daily. Oysters, Prawns, Lobster, Scampi, Mussels, Calamari, Scallops, etc, etc and up to 10 different Varieties of fish, all filleted and expertly prepared on site. ,5.#(s$)..%2s02)6!4%&5.#4)/.2//-

WWW.THEROYALOAKHOTEL.COM.AU 1375 NEPEAN HWY, CHELTENHAM | (03) 9583 2151

WWW.THEROYALOAKHOTEL.COM.AU Terms & Conditions apply Vic Permit No 15/698

A new market with something for everyone including varied beverages, plants, unique woodwork, photography, jewellery, sculptures, delicious take-away food & much much more!

HUGE

undercover area

ALMARA CABINETS

Guaranteed quality. Renovations our speciality. Winner of the Australian Achievers Award.

Custom designed: sWARDROBES sWALLUNITS sBOOKSHELVES sGARAGESTORAGE sSTUDYOFlCElTOUTS sENTERTAINMENTUNITS

Visit our showroom: www.almara.com.au P: 9793 8233

F: 9793 8243

info@almara.com.au

1175094-ACM10-15

1184689-CG21-15


Alea

Avenza

Always

Alta

“The One Carat Diamond Specialists” www.michaelwilson.com.au 725 Main Road Eltham 3095

03 9439 3111 info@michaelwilson.com.au

Profile for The Weekly Review

The Weekly Review South East  

Issue 124 / June 3, 2015

The Weekly Review South East  

Issue 124 / June 3, 2015

Advertisement