Page 1


Carter Grange. Our plans, your

• Architectural designs • Customised plans • Contemporary fittings throughout

1300 244 663 cartergrange.com.au

Show homes open Saturday & Sunday 1pm–4pm and Wednesday evenings Available for viewing…

The Ashburton – 50 squares

The Bentleigh – 49 squares

6 Maxwell Street, Ashburton

20 Huntley Road, Bentleigh

$526,468

$529,160*

^

^ Home price is based on The Ashburton 50 at 6 Maxwell Street, Ashburton and excludes inground costs and colour & electrical upgrades. * Home price is based on The Bentleigh 49 at 20 Huntley Road, Bentleigh and excludes inground costs and colour & electrical upgrades. † Home price is based on the Camberwell 46 at 35 Oxford Street, Camberwell and excludes inground costs and colour & electrical upgrades.


here in between

• Building in your suburb • Design appointments welcome • Affordable

or by appointment. Call Frank Graffeo on 1300 244 663 The Camberwell – 46 squares 35 Oxford Street, Camberwell

The Sandringham – 37 squares 76 Vincent Street, Sandringham

$498,120†

$434,080‡

‡ Home price is based on The Sandringham 37 at 76 Vincent Street, Sandringham and excludes inground costs and colour & electrical upgrades. Carter Grange Homes reserves the right to change prices without notice. Images are for illustration purposes only and may depict fixtures, finishes and features not supplied by Carter Grange Homes such as landscaping and furniture. Prices do not include the supply of these items. For detailed home pricing please talk to a sales consultant.


www.theweeklyreview.com.au

eDiTor \ eiLeeN Berry editorial@theweeklyreview.com.au 9249 5350 ProPerTy eDiTor \ MAriA HArriS property@theweeklyreview.com.au 9249 5358 reAL eSTATe SALeS DirecTor \ JoHN ioANNou jioannou@theweeklyreview.com.au 9249 5319 GeNerAL MANAGer \ eDiToriAL, SALeS & MArKeTiNG \ TreNT cASSoN tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au PuBLiSHer \ ANToNy cATALANo acatalano@theweeklyreview.com.au TWr DiSTriBuTioN \ 67,000 copies

FREEbiES \ WiN

This month the Asian Food Festival celebrates the Asian cuisine available in Melbourne. It features special dining offers, yum cha cruises, progressive dinners, pop-up markets and cultural events, and runs until October 15. Highlights include the Biggest Yum, an outdoor dining experience in Chinatown. One lucky TWR reader will win a dining voucher for two, valued at $140, to use at China Bar – Melbourne’s largest Asian buffet restaurant. www.asianfoodfestival.com.au

DiSTriBuTioN \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

For your chance to win any of these freebies go to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, September 22.

WiN

Rae’s on Watego’s is one of Australia’s most exquisite and memorable accommodation experiences. A boutique Byron Bay retreat with the personalised service that one might expect with only seven rooms, Rae’s provides an elegant and opulent getaway. Rae’s Spa delivers the highest-quality service in an atmosphere of lavishness and seclusion. The award-winning Rae’s Fish Café, overlooking the ocean, has a reputation as the best dining spot in the region. Rae’s on Watego’s is superbly located on the beachfront of Australia’s most easterly point and surrounded by the most spectacular coastline. Once voted one of the world’s top 25 hotels by Condé Nast Traveler magazine, Rae’s offers a unique and unforgettably romantic experience. One lucky TWR reader has a chance to win two nights’ accommodation at Rae’s on Watego’s. Conditions apply. raesonwategos.com www.facebook.com/raesonwategos

South EaSt Published by Metro Media Publishing Pty Ltd (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Antony Catalano, 214-220 Park Street, South Melbourne, 3205. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

our cover \ Eamon Sullivan photographed by Louise M. Cooper Like us on Facebook @theweeklyreview

4 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

WoRth

$140

WoRth

$2500

ChaNGE

to FREEbiES A note to our loyal readers and competition connoisseurs: you may have noticed the format of our freebies page has changed. WE’vE dECidEd to makE ENtERiNG ouR CompEtitioNS moRE StRaiGhtFoRWaRd by REmoviNG thE quEStioN aNd aNSWER CompoNENt.

To snare one of the fantastic prizes up for grabs this week, simply go to www. theweeklyreview.com.au/ competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, September 22, for your chance to win. Good luck!

congratulations to the following winners from September 4: Liam Ali, Pat Mukerjea, Lucy Hambleton, Sally Mackenzie, Lena Mitchell, Glenda Wilson, Tracey Austin, Kerrye Miller, Suzanne Stevenson, Judith Senese, Maris o’Sullivan, Nicole Mas, Davina vaughan, Geraldine Bagwell, otto chen and Joelle chan. Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for more details. All winners must contact: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au within seven days of notification regarding collection of their prize. Prizes other than ticketed events will need to be collected from The Weekly Review, 214-220 Park Street, South Melbourne.


mouthing off

Virginia trioli \ LOCAL HERO

W

hen outgoing independent Tony Windsor founding member and managing director of the famously said he was thinking of heading Regional Development Company. down to the seat of Indi in northern Victoria Fed up with what they saw as Mirabella’s poor to help out the local candidate who was going to representation of their electorate, a group of 12 local take on the “nasty” Sophie Mirabella, the Cathy figures formed an incorporated association in July last McGowan campaign team were delighted. Windsor’s year, wrote up a set of core values and started asking endorsement gave McGowan, farm manager and the community about the issues that mattered to businesswoman, a national profile. The team them. Locals told them that trains, broadband, knew he would be a great asset. They looked mental health and jobs for their kids were the it was forward to the crowd of TV cameras that key issues. Kitchen conversations were held a true would accompany his visit. in towns across the electorate. The group then grassroots But, in an example of just how politically took their concerns to Mirabella, who held the campaign shrewd this campaign has been, it was seat by a margin of 9 per cent. later decided that Windsor, the man who “She gave us 11 minutes, and told us, ‘No, I notoriously gave power to Julia Gillard, was a know my electorate, and the issues are the cost of divisive and resented figure within their conservative living and stopping the boats’,” says Benedyka. rural electorate. They politely declined the offer, and This may have been the moment that radicalised McGowan pushed on to claim what seems at the time of the group. They knew they had to take the seat off writing to be a famous victory. her. Leading community figures were approached to The “Voice for Indi” independent campaign is a run, formal interviews were held and McGowan got fascinating paradox, and may well become the playbook the job. Volunteers came out of the woodwork. They for any independent political candidate around the had to sign and uphold the statement of core values country. It was a true grassroots campaign founded (respect, evidence-based work only). No one was to be on an unsentimental business model. “V for I”, as disrespectful or insulting of Mirabella: she was only ever it’s known, didn’t even start life as a political quest: referred to as the sitting member or the incumbent. “We didn’t know what it was at first: a community As the campaign continued, some volunteers organisation? A lobby group?” says Susan Benedyka, abandoned the Greens to come on board and, by

election day, volunteer numbers has risen to 600. With only enough money for one mail drop, the campaign used community contacts, face-to-face meetings and social media – run by the younger members of the team – to reach a large and disparate community. Social media was described as “crucial” in the campaign. The team drew upon the theories of Marshall Ganz, the Harvard alumnus and pioneer of grassroots political organising, to persuade voters of a need for change. And as the campaign went on, and the national media got a whiff of a possible boilover, attention turned to the north-east and momentum built. Well before the election was called, the team ran their figures and knew they could win on 25 per cent of the primary vote: McGowan ended up getting 32.8. She later said Liberal Party HQ should have seen this coming. When asked the secret of their success, Benedyka ticks off a list of key objectives that could come straight from an MBA handbook: “Planning, vision, follow-through, community.” Turns out that the winning strategy for a successful independent candidate is so pithy it could be written on the back of a country business card. \

Virginia Trioli is co-host of ABC News Breakfast on ABC1 and ABC News 24, 6-9am weekdays.

Follow Virginia on Twitter @ latrioli

We Welcome your feedback @

www.theweeklyreview.com.au/mouthing-off

Gearing up for school sports… or a hockey star in the making? “I like sport, outdoor adventure and movie-making, so coming to St Michael’s was a great move for me. Year 9 gave me a taste of everything, and everyone was welcoming – I found my place here and made new friends really fast.” David, Year 10

St Michael’s students prepare for VCE and further study from Year 9. By fostering curiosity and creativity, the School gives students the confidence to take responsible risks, explore diverse options, and become independent thinkers and lifelong learners. We welcome you to attend an Open Morning:

Friday 11 October at 9.15am • Bookings are essential

îs.27535

25 Chapel Street, St Kilda • 03 8530 3310 • admissions@stmichaels.vic.edu.au stmichaels.vic.edu.au/senioryears • Coeducational • Kindergarten to Year 12

september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 5


PLAYING

TO WIN

He has devoted his life to sporting glory, but Eamon Sullivan tells NICOLE HADDOW he sometimes just wants to play the fool PIcTure \ LOuIse M. cOOPer


Cover Story

I

t won’t come as a surprise that Eamon Sullivan likes to win – not just in the pool, but at everything he tries. “Whether it’s rhythmic gymnastics or pretending to be a horse on all fours – I want to win,” he says. Kicking back on a long blue bench seat at Channel Ten’s headquarters, Sullivan is talking about some of the left-field challenges involved in his role as a team leader on Ten’s new family entertainment show, A League of Their Own. In his olive-green jeans, denim shirt and casual sneakers, he could be mistaken for any average 28-year-old. His casual attire and disarming grin are an excellent disguise for the core of fierce competitiveness just under the surface. What is surprising, though, is the fact that this three-time Commonwealth gold medallist and two-time Olympic silver medallist places clowning around just as high on his list of his priorities as winning. That why he has relished the opportunity to play the fool during his gig on A League of Their Own. The show, hosted by comedian Tommy Little, involves team captains Sullivan and Pat Cash competing in quizzes, funny games and sporting challenges, including trying their hand at V8 racing, gymnastics and cycling, among other things. It provides a welcome comic relief from the serious demands of Sullivan’s other pursuits. The Perth-born freestyle champion has focussed on winning since he started swimming competitively at the age of 13. So it’s refreshing for him to invite people to laugh at his shortcomings. “It’s quite funny when you try your hardest at something and you still look ridiculous,” he says. His grin widens as he hints at the quirky trivia questions that might be asked on the show. “Here are three sports stars, what are their favourite smells? It’s weird answers, like ‘sniffing a baby’,” he explains. “They’re all true facts.” Here’s another quirky question: which sports star set up a Twitter account for his dog, Baxter, and tweets on his behalf? The answer is: Eamon Sullivan. “It was a Saturday night in the peak of training,” Sullivan says. “I was sitting on the couch as usual. I looked at Baxter and thought, ‘What are you thinking?’ Then I thought, ‘I’ll just make it up’.” Baxter’s Twitter feed highlights Sullivan’s cheeky side: “Is that a tennis ball in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?” Baxter tweets to Sullivan. The three-year-old French bulldog hasn’t tweeted for more than a year but still boasts more than 600 followers. “He might make a comeback,” Sullivan chuckles. “But then Duke [Sullivan’s other French bulldog] will be jealous that he doesn’t have Twitter.” Social media hasn’t been all fun and games for Sullivan. He has received plenty of negative feedback for his performances from some of his 33,000 Twitter followers, particularly during the London 2012 Olympics, when many felt he failed to live up to his golden promise. “If you make one mistake there’s quite a negative response,” he says. “It’s disappointing when people have nothing better to do than slag you off or write something mean.” Still Sullivan insists nasty tweets are like “water off a duck’s back” and the only opinions that matter to him are those of his father, John, mother Pam, sister Pia, and his friends. “I just love to have fun,” he says. “Ask my friends. I’ll pester them until they break. I’m like a little brother that doesn’t quit. I don’t like being serious.”

Within the Olympic swimming team, he’s known for taking photos of his teammates taking a nap and posting them on Instagram. He says that growing up, he loved Jim Carrey and Rowan Atkinson and admired their ability to please a crowd. But when you’re a public figure, a bit of tomfoolery can turn into national news. Late last year, there was an incident involving a motorised scooter and a café patron during a buck’s party in Adelaide, which ended up with Sullivan pleading guilty to disorderly conduct and paying a $1000 fine. “Whenever I do have fun there’s photos. It’s made me a lot more cautious of having fun in public, which is a shame for me, but at the same time it’s fine. I enjoy going out for dinner and having a red wine instead of causing havoc,” he says. A havoc-free life will become inevitable now that the Australian Olympic Committee has declared Sullivan eligible for selection for the 2016 swimming team for Rio de Janeiro. There had been a question mark hovering over Sullivan’s Olympic future, and that of five teammates, investigated for taking the sedative Stilnox during a wild “team bonding” night in Manchester ahead of the London Olympics. Sullivan confessed to using the drug and publicly apologised. On August 23, the AOC announced he and the others would not face formal sanctions, but were on notice that no further indiscretions would be tolerated.

T

he decision has come as a huge relief to Sullivan, even though he admits that after his last Olympic experience, he contemplated throwing in the towel. He says there have been times in the past year when he battled with the idea of having to return to life as a “complete saint”, relinquishing fun and a social life to have a crack at gold again. “After London I was really disillusioned,” he says. “Obviously it wasn’t a great experience. You question yourself, why do I put myself through all the pain of training to be painted in a negative way?” But he’s not ready to give up the pool just yet. In June, after 10 months on dry land, Sullivan took his first dip since London. “Just having that feeling of watching the sun come up and being in the water and being around friends – it was something I really missed,” he says. “I’m not ready to bow out after the way London panned out.” He reckons he has only another three years of top-level swimming left in him. “You only have one shot at your sport and getting your life set up,” he says. “I really want to do that right.” Sullivan has had six major operations during his career and says it’s unusual for a swimmer to have even one. “I was going for speed, strength and power. My body just kept breaking down,” he says. The upside of the operations, he says, was that they gave him time to think and get in touch with his spiritual side. He has marked many of these occasions with tattoos. He twists his wrists to reveal two small Chinese characters – “this means good fortune” – then lifts his shirt to reveal more charcoal-coloured ink on the right side of his abdomen. “That’s a reiki symbol for strength and protection.” A scar from an emergency appendix removal adds texture to the artwork. He also has an unfinished Zen circle that represents moving away from a chosen path and making one’s own destiny. This is perhaps the most symbolic for Sullivan, who is already carving out a path in hospitality. After winning Celebrity MasterChef in 2009 with a decadent chocolate délice, Sullivan went on to share his

culinary flair with West Australians, opening Subiaco café Louis Baxters in 2011 with former MasterChef senior producer Laki Baker. Then, in March this year, he opened North Fremantle restaurant Bib & Tucker. It’s not bad for a kid who was a fussy eater until he learned to cook during home economics classes at John XXIII College in Mount Claremont, Perth. When the restaurant opened he was up at 5am and wouldn’t get home until midnight. “During the day I’d have a muffin and a handful of chips. It was go, go, go.” Pole-vaulter Steve Hooker and hockey player Jamie Dwyer are also investors in the restaurant, which has had more than its share of teething problems, including structural issues, lease woes and, initially, no liquor licence. But soon the restaurant began to hum and, once again, Sullivan was winning. Between owning a café and a restaurant, starring in a new television show and training for the next Olympics, he hasn’t left much time for leisure or for love. Sullivan hasn’t been publicly linked to a woman since he split with fellow Olympic swimmer Stephanie Rice in 2008. He dodges the subject of women as deftly as he tumble-turns at the end of a lane. “Looking back on it, I haven’t had time for a social life,” is all he’ll say. In May, Sullivan posted a picture on Instagram of himself sitting at a table alone with the caption, “I built a table … I have no one else to use it with.” While his tone and image are facetious – a companion clearly took the photo – it’s tempting to wonder why he’s cramming his life with work, responsibility and

“I just love to have fun. I’ll pester my friends until they break. I’m like a little brother that doesn’t quit.” relentless athletic demands when he could be taking his good looks and easy charm out on the town, enjoying himself and making the most of his remaining youth. Surely one bad experience at a buck’s party hasn’t forced him to quit public frivolity entirely? “It’s never too late to have fun,” he says. “I’m the first to admit I would never have been a lawyer or a vet, so while I’m doing my sport and I’ve got options, I want to use what I have now to pave my way for the future so I can have fun when I’m retired.” In the meantime, it’s not all pain in pursuit of gain. Before the intensity of training kicks in there’s still time for culinary tours of whatever city he happens to be in. After filming A League of Their Own wraps, he plans to hit Melbourne and check out his mate George Calombaris’ latest offering, Gazi. “George brings out a new restaurant pretty much every week,” Sullivan jokes. If not frequenting a Calombaris venue he might be found waiting his turn in line outside a food truck or grabbing a coffee. “Melbourne’s really got the whole coffee roaster and boutique thing down pat,” he says. He won’t rule out expanding his West Australian brand of hospitality to the east coast but, for the moment, he has enough on his plate. “I’m on the non-plan plan. I know the things I’m interested in. I could go anywhere,” he says. But before he goes anywhere, he’ll go to Rio. \ editorial@theweeklyreview.com.au We WelCome your feedbACk @

www.theweeklyreview.com.au/cover-story

WAtCH » A League of Their Own airs on Channel Ten on Mondays at 7.30pm. september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 7


My view \ What’s yours is mine, so keep the

T

his week I was having coffee at a friend’s house and Because everyone always brings you a platter. Platters I noticed one of my platters in her kitchen, piled up are like pens. They are the great external contractors of with a whole bunch of others on a shelf. our time, always being exchanged and passed on, with I liked that platter a lot, so much so that I’d taken it no real permanent home. They are universally owned. to her house with a salad or something-or-other on it, I now realise you cannot ask for something that is when we’d had dinner there. About, like, a year ago. “universally owned” to be returned. Do I say, “Hey, that’s my platter” when such a long You can’t chase after someone and say, “Hey, that’s my period of time has lapsed? Fine if it was only a week or pen you just casually picked up from my desk. I know so after the event, but a year? it only cost 30 cents, but I really like that one. So, can It just seemed a bit mean, especially as she’s you just, like, take it out of your mouth and give probably used that lovely platter herself in the it back?” “oh my past 12 months, bringing it out at various You can’t say to someone, “Oh my goodness, goodness, events, to the point that it had started to feel a that’s my Tupperware. I bought it in to work that’s my bit like it was actually hers. last week with my leftover tuna pasta and here tupperware” I am looking at it, all plump and full with your There’s a white plate in my kitchen drawer that I borrowed from a friend about 10 years version of Gwyneth’s vegie soup in it. Give it ago. I was having nine people for dinner and back now, you thief.” only had eight plates. I promised to return it the very Tupperware is also universally owned, which is next day, but didn’t. Then she went to live in Singapore why it gathers in work fridges and school lost-property and, well, it’s been 10 years now. And even though every boxes all over the world. So others can come along and time I use that plate I think of its provenance, it now claim it. really feels like it’s mine. I own it by adverse possession. The other adult in this house says the same goes for Here’s the thing. To ask for something back after gardening tools. They are also universally owned but, it’s been with someone for such a long time feels a bit reluctantly, begrudgingly, in a friendship-breaking kind like you’re throwing out an implied criticism. That the of way. other person coveted the item so much they deliberately Which is why my friend can keep my platter. refused to return it, when really she just forgot who I’m happy for it to be there, at her lovely house, brought it over and never got around to asking. with all the other platters. One day she’ll take it Now that platter has made itself at home in a pile with over to someone’s house, maybe with a cake or all the other platters, she can’t remember whether or not something delicious on it, and leave it there. it was one of the myriad platters she got for her wedding, Maybe it will be my house … \ khall@theweeklyreview.com.au 40th or Christmas last year.

8 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

(istoclphoto \ thnkstock)

platter, says katrina hall


CAFÉ CulTuRE \ LEANNE TOLRA REVIEWS WHYTE CAFÉ Food \ Rustic, hearty Vibe \ Multi-age local hangout Phone \ 9569 2212 Open \ Daily 7am to 5pm

» www.facebook.com/ WhyteCafe

PiCColo

he elderly man cautiously manoeuvres T his walking cane between the tables at bustling Whyte Café. He’s promptly greeted

Ambience is added with charcoal-toned floors, glossy chocolate-hued tiles that wrap around the front counter, and dark furniture. with a warm dose of friendliness and asked Cherubs sip champagne on a wallpaper whether he’d prefer hot or iced coffee today. frieze, porthole mirrors suggest a mysterious Other staff offer cheery hellos as he sips his journey, and oversized butterflies and lacy cool brew and waves to passersby. black chairs grace the courtyard. Upstairs is Neither this gent nor the other diners of a stunning art deco-themed function room various ages seem to mind the slightly that’s open on weekends. raucous music. It adds to the energetic Zalcberg recently hired former lunch-time atmosphere on a warm Sydney chef Nelson Burgos as the oversized spring afternoon. group’s executive chef – the team butterflies Whyte Café has been a popular calls him “the kitchen guy” – to add grace the local on Glen Huntly Road for a stronger food element to his cafés. courtyard many years. Daniel Zalcberg is Burgos has worked at tapas bar Foley a long-time resident who took it Lane in Darlinghurst and Mexican over about 18 months ago to add standout Mamasita in Melbourne. to his Artful Dodger coffee stable, which Burgos says it’s been a balancing act keeping includes his first café of the same name in long-time customers happy and bringing in Elsternwick and 10-month-old School of a new style of food. Whyte’s menu stayers 7 Bells in Windsor. His latest venture, Brick will include the popular acai berry granola, Lane in High Street, Prahran, is due to open the Dodger burger, a pastrami sandwich next month. It will feature a five-kilogram with Dijon béchamel sauce and house-made coffee-roasting machine and showcase the pickles, and a generous pulled-lamb pide. group’s latest coffee blend, Snuff Box. This crowd pleaser is served with chickpea Zalcberg has chosen Dickensian names for purée, loads of coleslaw, a tzatziki topping and his empire’s various branches, including the generous side of crisp, chunky chips. house blend Penny Box, but he kept Whyte’s Coffee choices are the Penny Box, a punchy, moniker because it was familiar to locals. caramel-and-chocolate brew that’s great with He’s spruced up the place substantially. milk, or a rotating selection of single-origin The dramatic, exotic renovation features beans. The Snuff Box blend will be rolled hot-air balloons in autumnal tones of amber, across the group’s cafés soon. Zalcberg says sage and gold, and voluminous fabric-covered it’s complex, fruity and well-suited to espresso light shades. and long-black brews. \

(DaRRian TRaynoR)

WHYTE CAFÉ 1122 GlEn HunTlY RoAd, GlEn HunTlY

PullEd lAmb PidE GoT AnY CAFÉ CulTuRE suGGEsTions?

email \ ltolra@theweeklyreview.com.au

Some great new deals from us, and just in time for your Spring clean. FOR a LIMITED TIME ONLY Venus Wall Faced Toilet Suite Was $410

299

$

Methven Kiri Tai Satin Jet Rail Was $224

199

$

15% OFF

all Polilife Ash Colour vanities. tapware and waste sold separately

Blackburn 212 Whitehorse Rd (03) 9894 2427 Brunswick East 27-29 Kirkdale St (03) 9380 8231 Moorabbin 158-160 Cochranes Rd (03) 9555 5144

Offers available until September 30th or until stocks runs out. firstchoicewarehouse.com.au

facebook.com/firstchoicewarehouse september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 9


S

deCanTer \ Ben Thomas Goes FULL CYCLe

(supplied)

peak to any winemaker and they will all tell you the same thing: “Good wine is made in the vineyard”. While wine is made only once a year, work in the vineyard runs all year. In fact, vines and their grapes go through a regular cycle that changes with the seasons. The beginning of the vine’s circle of life starts in autumn, when the vine goes into dormancy by dropping its leaves and sending nutrients into the roots. “We consider that to be the start of the next season,” Yabby Lake’s vineyard manager Keith Harris says. “The next step is to prune the vines to a number of buds.” Harris says the number of buds left on the vines helps to estimate the size of the following year’s crop. “You’re actually doing your early crop forecasting when you prune,” he says. “It takes us three months to prune. Most people would spread their pruning over three months – there’s no benefit in getting it all done in three weeks and doing nothing for the next two months. “In August we start seeing a bit of bud swell and little fluffy buds come out. We normally look out for budburst – which is when 50 per cent of those buds have green tips showing on the end – at the end of August.” The vines then go through growth stages, with the bud sprouting two leaves, then four and so on, plus an inflorescence, which will become the bunch of grapes. “Then we get into the flowering period around the last week of November. There are little caps on the end of each flower and we look for the caps to fall off and the flowers to be exposed,” says Harris, who planted Yabby Lake’s vineyards at Tuerong on the Mornington Peninsula in 1998. “The fruit sets after flowering. We go through bunch counts and see if we’re going to get the crop we thought we were going to have.” When vines are flowering, not only are the grapes for that vintage being made but the buds for the next vintage are being generated, too. “They’re complex things, vines. If it gets particularly cold, flowering will be less effective and the bud set for the following vintage will be affected and will reduce

KeiTh harris

your crops. We want a window of two warm weeks in November to help this. “We thin the bunches out if it looks like we’re going to have too much because a nice balanced crop is what we’re after for high quality. “In pinot noir, it runs at five tonnes to the hectare – that’s about two kilograms per vine with our vine spacing. If you produce more than that crop, you tend to get thinner, less intense-flavoured grapes.” From the set period the grapes grow, their cells expanding and dividing until they get to full size. “They stay hard and green for quite a while. Then they move into veraison, which is when the bunches start

to soften and the red grapes go from green to pink and then dark red. “We’re looking to be halfway through veraison in the middle of January. When we get to that stage we know we’ll be harvesting two months from that date. “We measure some other parameters – the sugar, pH and total acid levels – and when they get to the target we want, we start harvesting.” After harvest, the cycle of the vines continues. \ bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au Online Only

Ben Thomas’ weekly wine selections

TasTe This Grampians Estate Streeton Reserve shiraz 2009

Knappstein shiraz 2012

(Grampians) $60; 13.8 per cent ★★★★ ½ lUsCiOUs

From estate fruit plus other batches from around Great Western, this spends 18 months maturing in French and American oak barrels, which develops the cedar and vanilla notes supporting luscious blackberry, blueberry, cherry, pepper and spice aromas. Pure, dense forest-fruit flavours are balanced out by bright acid and a firm grip. As the wine spent time in the decanter it developed bright red-cherry and cardamom flavours that carried on to a lengthy finish. Food match \ Rabo de toro – Spanish oxtail

(Clare Valley) $22; 13.5 per cent ★★★★ silKy

Ben Haines B-Minor shiraz marsanne 2012

Medhurst Wines chardonnay 2012

(Pyrenees and Yarra Valley) $26; 13.5 per cent ★★★★ ½ paCKed

Red shiraz from the Pyrenees blended and co-fermented with 15 per cent white marsanne from the Yarra Valley. There’s a nice mix between the two grapes, with dark cherries, blackberry and earth given an aromatic lift from the marsanne. There’s a lot going on in the glass – tension, crunchy acid, elegance, structure and length – but it’s so enjoyable to drink that no analysis is needed. Good length and a touch of mocha and dried herb on the persistent finish. Food match \ Grilled rabbit

Clare Valley shiraz doesn’t get the accolades it deserves – riesling seems to get all the glory. Flavours and aromas of plums, meat, blackberry, cherry, chocolate, liquorice and spice are complex but familiar, rather than challenging. What’s impressive about this is the way it flows through the mouth. It’s silky, with energetic acid that’s bright and a good match for the rich, dense flavours. Firm, grippy tannins and good length. Saw this $5 cheaper at Dan Murphy’s, making it quite a bargain. Food match \ Grilled lamb cutlets

(Yarra Valley) $32; 13.2 per cent ★★★★ ½

pUriTy

Grown on a hillside near Gruyere, north-east of Melbourne, this has delightful stone fruit, struck-match, cantaloupe rind, white flower and citrus aromas. There’s a fair bit of flavour going on, but there’s also elegance on the palate, with nectarine, spice, citrus, pith and a touch of minerality. Oak and purity of fruit come together really well here – the balance is perfect – and there’s a line of focused acid that provides structure rather than trying to make a statement. Smooth texture, light, chalky grip and good length. Food match \ Thyme, onion and gruyere tart

love a bargain? Patritti arneis 2012

(Adelaide Hills) $14; 13 per cent ★★★★ Arneis is a white variety from north-west Italy’s Piedmont region, and this is a delightful Australian rendition. Fresh-cut pear, lemon rind, peach and blossom aromas carry on to a textural mouthfeel and an even flow through the mouth, building in intensity as it goes along. It tastes great cold straight out of the fridge but drinks nicely up to room temperature – it’s a perfect picnic wine. Food match \ Parsley, celery and radish salad with capers

5 ★ Outstanding 4 ★ Really good 3★ Good

2★ OK ★ Not worth it

Follow Ben on Twitter @senorthomas september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 11


losing it

\ GORDON FARRER EATS TO ShED ONE-TENTh OF himSElF

14 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

But you get used to it. That’s one of the worst lines you hear: “You get used to it.” Who wants to get used to bland food and feeling ravenous 24 hours a day? Fortunately, the reality of the diet is less severe than my original nightmare vision. I do have to limit how many slices of bread I eat each day (three), weigh the meat I eat (300g a day) and count how many the cashews I have for my afternoon snack (15) but manual flavour is still allowed. I can go crazy with herbs and spices, and the recipes devised by The Alfred dietitian include some more-than-satisfying meals. Moroccan meatballs with couscous, Asian-style beef salad, crispy Cajun salmon with rocket

(eddie morton)

D

iets are for women and Hollywood celebrities. They fuel the women’s magazine industry and Christmas book sales. Diet fads are a scam designed to extract money from the vain and cashed-up. No bloke in his right mind would go on a diet. What are you, a girl? Truth is, there are good reasons for men to diet. The best is that weight around the waist puts you at higher risk of cardiovascular disease. Big belly equals bad for the heart. Want a reason to change your thoughtless eating ways? Look at your kids. There’s a difference between “diet” and “a diet”. “Diet” is what you eat every day, the stuff you push into your mouth to fuel your body. “A diet” is a food plan with a purpose: to lose weight, lower cholesterol, build muscle or, sometimes, gain weight, say, after an illness. A month ago I started a diet as part of a research study at The Alfred hospital. The research aims to monitor the impact of weight loss on diabetes; the theory – based on good evidence gathered over several years – is that losing weight lowers the amount of the stress hormone, noradrenaline, in your body, improving how your body processes sugars. For many type 2 diabetics, weight loss will eliminate the disease. For the study, I have to lose 10 per cent of my body weight: 9.7 kilograms. It sounds a lot but there was plenty of room for improvement because I was such a careless eater, never curbing my cravings for delicious tidbits. Finish the kids’ pasta? Tick. Small pizza or large? Always large. You going to eat that stuffing? It’d be a waste to throw it out. Chicken skin? There is no more glorious thing on God’s Earth than the succulent seasoned skin of a roast chicken … Despite the bad eating habits, I was not obese. Overweight, yes, a little fuller in the face than I should be and with a small basketball behind my belly button, but I wasn’t in Clive Palmer territory. I’m tall and carried it reasonably well, but still I needed to turn this around. So the good folk at The Alfred tallied my daily calorie intake, calculated my energy-burning capacity and designed a diet and exercise plan to help me drop the kilos over about four months. The first sight of my diet plan was a shock. This is what I saw: Breakfast: Shredded, low-sodium, sugar-free cardboard with half a cup of low-fat water. Lunch: Suck on 50g steamed chicken breast (no skin) – DO NOT SWALLOW. Dinner: Inhale scent of green salad (no oil). Dessert: Look at picture of skinny yoghurt (maximum viewing time 45 seconds). That’s the worst part of a weight-loss diet, the sense that you’re never going to enjoy food again. You have to strike off so many of life’s pleasures: butter, soft-rind cheese, Twisties, butter, pancakes with banana fried in burnt butter, lamingtons – and butter. Can you guess I’m missing butter?

“there’s no more glorious thing than the succulent skin of a roast chicken” and pear salad – all delicious and to plan. In this negative-energy diet – a diet in which energy-in is less than energy-out – carbohydrates are my enemy. Pasta and rice, once the staples of so many of my meals, are now meted out sparingly, by the gram and grain. The aim is to get my body to burn the fat I’ve stored in such rich veins around my middle and in my cheeks. I do that by giving it less than it needs to function. But lots of lean meat is OK because protein builds muscle, and it’s muscle that burns the fat. Phew for that. The thing I miss most is the sense of richness in my food. Low-fat food tastes thin and has a less pleasing mouth-feel. The one thing I’ve refused to change is the milk I use in my coffee. I’ve got a good machine that makes great coffee. I’m not going to compromise on this one pleasure by skinnying up the milk. So there. Is the diet working? It is. The aim is to lose about a kilo a fortnight. To keep me honest, I go to the hospital every two weeks to be weighed. In the first fortnight I lost 1.5kg, in the second, 2.3kg. That’s nearly four bags of sugar I’m not carrying around with me every minute of every day. I move better, feel better and look better. Can’t wait till I lose another six kilograms. I’ll feel like Superman. \ gfarrer@theweeklyreview.com.au

CHIN up: our model (Not FArrer) sHows wHAt A dIet CAN do wItH tHe Help oF dIgItAl mANIpulAtIoN (IstoCKpHoto \ tHINKstoCK)


WEll-BEing \ Sharon BrookS haS FooD For ThoUGhT the manual

T

he food and drink we consume have a profound impact on our energy levels today, tomorrow and even in decades to come. If we abuse our bodies through food and beverage consumption, then energy and endurance decrease and weight gain, illness and disease increase. Which foods and beverages are winners and which are losers? \ » www.sharonsnutritionaustralia.com.au » Sharon Brooks is a registered nutritionist and food scientist. She operates Sharon’s Nutrition, a nutrition consultation business specialising in proactive health and optimal well-being.

WinnErs

losers

carBohydratEs

alcohol

Carbohydrates tend to suffer in popularity contests thanks to high-protein diets. But good wholesome carbs are essential for energy production and transport. Carbohydrates are the principal energy source for muscle and muscle exertion. They also facilitate protein retention. Good carbohydrates are vital for the digestion, transport and utilisation of other nutrients. The most common myth with carbs is that they turn to fat stores. But for a healthy person, the process of converting carbohydrates into fat stores is insignificant. All foods contain kilojoules and if overeaten will cause weight gain; carbohydrates are not the devil – unbalanced eating is. As with most things, portion size still needs to be considered. dairy Foods

(istockphoto \ thinkstock)

Milk, yoghurt and cheese are tremendous sources of bone-boosting nutrients such as calcium, phosphorus and vitamin D. Dairy foods also contain proteins that assist cell regeneration, muscle repair and recovery. Studies suggest milk is an ideal sports recovery drink and yoghurt enhances intestinal health.

A Sunday afternoon drinking session that is followed up with more drinking on a few week nights, then again on Saturday, will overload the liver, kidneys, pancreas and blood. The intense energy required to filter out these toxins will leave little energy for everyday life. takEaWay Food

Takeaway and fast foods are usually high in unnecessary fats and sugars, and usually don’t provide enough vegetables for a main meal. However, the main concern is the salt content. High salt loads promote high blood pressure, decrease bone density and increase the risk of obesity and some cancers. EnErgy drinks

Energy drinks typically have 27 teaspoons of sugar a serve. That’s about half a cup of sugar. If they are labelled “diet”, the problem is artificial sweeteners – they may be low in calories, but they are non-nutrients and do not support energy production and endurance. For long-tErm EndurancE:

Fruit and vEgEtaBlEs

It’s no surprise that fruit and vegies are winners. They contain a plethora of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and phytochemicals that assist energy production, transport and use. They also enhance immune strength, which supports endurance.

Wholesome nutrition is required for everyday functioning of bodily organs. If excessive toxins are circulating in the body, everyday functioning becomes a struggle. It increases the energy needed to perform normal tasks, which removes energy for daily living, and affects endurance. Food consumption is an investment in your future.

Advertorial

Hanger steak and Chimichurri 250g Hanger steak

½ bunch oregano

150ml Extra virgin olive oil

Chimichurri

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp salt

1 bunch flat leaf parsley

Splash of sherry vinegar

½ bunch coriander

1 lemon, juiced

1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Lightly oil the hanger and season with salt. 1

2 Place the hanger on the char grill of your barbecue and char all over. 3 Hanger is best served from bleu to medium but it requires a longer resting time than other prime cuts (such as porterhouse). For rare, chargrill for 3 minutes on each side (leave for an extra minute for medium-rare). Allow it to rest in a warm place for around 15 minutes.

The hanger (aka inside skirt, onglet) is a very special cut. Each hanger can be divided into 2 coarsely grained muscles, which possess a rich, gamey flavour (and chargrills well). The hanger requires an extended resting time to ensure the extra blood/juices settle.

WIN

It is important to slice against the grain - this ensures the meat won’t be chewy. 4

Chimichurri 5 Finely chop all of the ingredients and mix well together. Add lemon juice, sherry vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. Stir thoroughly and season with fresh pepper.

Plate up the hanger and serve with the Chimichurri - enjoy! 6

THE GROSVENOR HOTEL IS GIVING YOU THE CHANCE TO WIN A SIGNATURE BEEF LUNCH FOR YOU AND SEVEN FRIENDS ON GRAND FINAL DAY (SEPTEMBER 28) VALUED AT OVER $500. TO ENTER, SIMPLY VISIT GROSVENORHOTEL.COM.AU & SHARE WITH US YOUR FAVOURITE BEEF DISH.

grosvenorhotel.com.au

hotelgrosvenor

grosvenorhotelstkilda 10 Brighton Road, St Kilda East VIC

september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 15


Bentleigh east 17 Blamey Street a chance opportunity on a wide corner. Enjoying a 65ft approx wide frontage on a sought after corner block, this 4 bedroom 2 bathroom family home is primed for greater things. An excellent new home or development site (STCA), the current home is comfortable inside with scope to improve, featuring an innovative parent’s retreat with living area, sunken bedroom (WIR) & retro ensuite; spacious living room (OFP) & north facing kitchen/meals. Updated over the last 30 years by the current owners, it boasts floating floors, ducted heating, air cond, a central courtyard, carport, garage & car space. A great opportunity to make your mark on this terrific location, metres to schools, parks, bus & convenient shopping. 4

2

View auction mel ref EPr contact office

2 Wed 1.30 - 2.00pm & sat as advertised sat 12th october - 1.30pm 78 / a5 $600,000 - $660,000 anton Zhouk 0430 224 438 kosta mesaritis 0412 117 529 Bentleigh 9557 7733

OrmOnd 1/35 Draper Street a 5 bedroom sensation in the college zone. Family size flexibility and timeless quality unite in this brand new 5 bedroom 3.5 bathroom street front residence. In glorious gardens, this sun filled stunner features a beautiful north facing lounge & dining room opening to a private deck, downstairs guest bedroom (fully tiled ensuite & WIR), casual living & dining with luxury stone kitchen (s/steel appliances), upstairs retreat & a superb main bedroom (WIR & stylish spa ensuite). Superbly spacious, this low maintenance haven has every extra including keyless entry, video intercom, alarm, ducted heating, Bamboo floors, instant hot water, water tank & double auto garage. Walk to McKinnon Sec College, Primary School, bus & a short stroll to Joyce Park. 5

3.5

View auction mel ref EPr contact office

hockingstuart.com.au 20 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

2 Wed 4.15 - 4.45pm & sat as advertised sat 5th october - 12.30pm 68 / g10 $950,000 - $1,010,000 calvin reid 0413 878 860 trent collie 0425 740 474 Bentleigh 9557 7733


Bentleigh east 6 Havana Court a class act entertainer in open plan style. Surrounded by beautiful gardens in this picture perfect court, this stunning 4 bedroom 2 bathroom home is a superb family entertainer. With a warm air of casual class, this light filled beauty features a wide entry (study nook), 4 lovely bedrooms (3 - BIRs), north facing lounge & dining room flowing to relaxing family living & meals, entertainer’s kitchen (WI pantry), 2 tasteful bathrooms & a fitted laundry. Enjoying a private alfresco deck with mains gas for BBQ, this immaculate home boasts polished boards, ducted heating, split system air cond, alarm, sprinklers, 2 sheds, 6000l of water tanks & ample driveway parking. So quiet, moments to shops, bus, great schools & sports facilities. 4

2

View auction mel ref EPr contact office

3 Wed 1.30 - 2.00pm & sat as advertised sat 12th october - 2.30pm 78 / D1 $650,000 - $710,000 kosta mesaritis 0412 117 529 nick renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

Bentleigh 1 Sandra Grove the best in family entertaining on a single level. Feel an air of relaxed warmth once you step inside the gate of this 3 bedroom garden hideaway. Completely secure with 2 beautiful gardens to enjoy, this sun splashed sanctuary enjoys 3 lovely bedrooms (BIRs), a blissful living & dining room with French doors to the front terracotta tiled patio, galley style kitchen (timber benchtops), family bathroom, Euro laundry & powder room (2nd toilet). Loving the huge picture windows and the polished boards, this idyllic escape features ducted heating, air cond, ducted vac, a covered deck in secure rear gardens (shed, veggie patch & sandpit), carport & extensive parking. Quiet street, walk to school, bus, train, shops & playgrounds. 3

1.5

View auction mel ref EPr contact office

4 Wed 5.15 - 5.45pm & sat as advertised sat 5th october - 11.30am 77 / F5 $650,000 - $700,000 David Picking 0408 378 170 nick renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

hockingstuart.com.au september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 21


Bentleigh 17 Wheatley Road A treasure trove of family living in glorious gardens. On a deep parklike garden block, this beautiful 5 bed + study 3 bath 1920s home captures the essence of family living. Blending country charm with casual warmth, this engaging treasure enjoys elegant lounge & dining rooms (OFP), open plan living & dining with central family kitchen, downstairs main bedrm (WIR & updated ensuite), study (BIRs) & upstairs children’s domain with 3 big bedrms (BIRs), rumpus room & bathrm. An entertainer for all occasions, this well maintained charmer boasts polished boards, ducted heating, air cond, ceiling fans, ducted vac, new carpets, alarm, fantastic storage, garden shed & paved drive with carport. So close to Centre Rd shops, train & Allnutt Park. 5+ View auction mel ref EPr contact office

Bentleigh eAst 2/10 latham StReet Impressed with quality and low maintenance style, this private 3 bed 2 bath single level rear town residence enjoys fabulous open plan living & dining, designer stone kitchen, relaxing deck & garden courtyard and auto garage. Parkland pocket.

hockingstuart.com.au 22 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

3

2

View auction mel ref EPr contact office

2 Wed 5 - 5.30pm & sat from 2pm sat 21st september - 2.30pm 69 / a11 $600,000 - $660,000 trent collie 0425 740 484 nick renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

3

2

858 (approx)

Wed 5.00 - 5.30pm & sat sa advertised sat 12th october - 1.30pm 68 / c12 $1,150,000 - $1,250,000 calvin reid 0413 878 860 nick renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733

Bentleigh eAst 150B mackie Road Contemporary innovation meets timeless provincial style in this impressive new 3 bed + study/2nd living area, 2.5 bath residence with luxury stone kitchen, stylish open plan living & dining, alfresco garden & tandem auto garage (auto gates).

3

2.5

View auction mel ref EPr contact office

3 Wed 3.45 - 4.15pm & sat from 12pm sat 21st september - 12.30pm 69 / c10 $690,000 - $760,000 anton Zhouk 0430 224 438 nick renna 0411 551 190 Bentleigh 9557 7733


think results

Auction this Saturday 5

OAKLEIGH 34 Davey Avenue

2

2

A sanctuary of family elegance in a blue-chip locale The beautifully renovated & extended spaces of this 5 bedroom, 2 bathroom Edwardian residence effortlessly balances the demands of a modern lifestyle whilst preserving stunning period features. Abundant natural light flows through an opulent dining room, Miele kitchen, lounge room, family room & covered entertaining deck. Featuring heating/cooling, powder room & tandem carport. Enviably positioned in this prized tree lined street just moments' walk to Oakleigh station, its vibrant shopping precinct & Sacred Heart Primary & Girls College. Land: 15.24m x 42.7m (650sqm) approx.

Auction Sat 21 Sep, 12.00 View Wed 6:00 - 6:30 & Sat from 11:30 Charlie Darlow 0409 140 191 Richard Williams 0409 341 978 Oakleigh 9568 1188

Oakleigh 49 Atherton Road 9568 1188

woodards.com.au

think results

BENTLEIGH EAST 3/12 Neville Street

2

1

1

BENTLEIGH

The immense appeal of single level serenity

Family Pleasure Personified!

Be delighted by this spacious & immaculate 2 bedroom unit in a superb street offering lounge & dining, sunny kitchen & meals overlooking low maintenance garden, separate laundry and WC, ducted heating, remote garage.

'Bowenvale' blends charismatic period spaces with contemporary updates, four living zones, stunning 'cook's' kitchen, five bedrooms, three bathrooms and a stunning in-ground pool to offer Californian family living at its finest!

Bentleigh 396 Centre Road 9557 5500

Auction Sat 21 Sep, 11.30 View Wed 12:00 - 12:30 Vicki Pollard 0439 655 727 John Pollard 0418 331 533 Bentleigh 9557 5500

5

3

2

Private Sale $1.12M Vicki Pollard 0439 655 727 John Pollard 0418 331 533 Bentleigh 9557 5500

woodards.com.au

september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 23


SEA-20130918x02-a18Sep©FCNVIC PROPERTY

CRAIGMORE MANSION Rare opportunity to own a piece of history in prestigious Oakleigh Hill.

Sale By Set Date

This remarkable attic style 1920’s property of grand proportions is a reminder of the alluring craftsmanship and elegance of a bygone era, encompassed by 1,173 sqm (approx) of tranquil English style gardens. Adorned with all the character and charming decorative detailing of the 1920’s period, the 42 square (approx) layout showcases 3 magnificent living areas offering exceptional living and entertaining options, stylish granite kitchen/meals area, master bedroom with modern spa en-suite, entertainers verandah, plus 2 room consulting suite with separate entrance – Strolling distance to Oakleigh’s shopping & café precinct, schools, transport & has city views. 111atkinsonstreetoakleigh.com

15th October 6pm CONTACT OFFICE

A B D C

Kylie Sirianni 0402 019 540 Dean Sirianni 0400 446 186 Barry Plant Oakleigh 9568 3388 31 Atherton Rd Oakleigh

5 2 4 1 1

AUCTION SATURDAY

Bentleigh East 55 Elizabeth Street

Gardenvale Townhouse 4/195-197 North Road • Immaculate owner-built family home • Sophisticated living, high ceilings • Smeg/granite kitchen, family/dining • Double-glazing, fully insulated, heat & cool • Lovely northern courtyard garden Auction Saturday 5th October at 11.00am Inspect Saturday 12.30-1.00

3

2

2

David Thomson 0418 337 366 Kate Pirovano 0425 745 063 Murrumbeena 9569 0718 71 Murrumbeena Road ESR $820,000-$880,000

tre.com.au 24 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

Auction Price Inspect Office Contact

3

2

1

Sat 21st September at 12noon $640K - $690K Wed at 11.00-11.30am, Sat from 11.30am 251 Bay Street 9596 1111 Ella Wilson 0408 515 197 Campbell Cooney 0418 337 055

First home, renovation, or redevelopment A range of rewarding options present with this 3 bedrm home situated on a generous allotment of 627.3sqm or 6750sqft approx with a northerly rear aspect. This is a comfortable entry level family home & ready to be renovated or replaced with a new home or dual dwellings STCA www.55elizabethstreetbentleigheast.com


REVIEW CLASSIFIEDS 1300 138 910 Plumbing

Trades & Services

Antennas From

General Plumbing Tap Repairs Gas Fitting Hot water Water Filters Water Tanks Call Peter 0419 306 866 or 9570 2747 G6270630AA-dc11Sep

Rubbish Removal

Call ADRIAN’S BIN HIRE Ash $ • All Sizes • Bins From 185 9551 3238 or 0419 167 816

MINI BIN SPECIAL 3 cubic metre bin

350 NOW $280 (SAVE $70) CALL NOW 9521 6222 $

Bins placed on the road or naturestrip will incur an extra charge.

50% DISCOUNT or cover $100 excess Windows... Doors... Shop Fronts... *

Homes, Businesses, Offices, Insurance Work

9548 3000 or 0418 881 551

*Conditions apply

G6288376AA-dc10Sep

Landscaping

Contact: Scott 0407 053 609

www.instylelandscapesvic.com

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

0432 774 645

G6034282AA-dc21May

G6151271AA-dc16Jul

Glazing and Glaziers AUSSIE EMERGENCY GLASS

AARON’S TILING

1300 138 910 classifieds@mmpgroup.com.au

Upholsterers • Instant Turf • Paving • Decking • Retaining Walls • Full Garden Makeovers • Design & Construction • Water Features • Concreting • Planting • Edging • Free Quotes G6143976AA-dc10Jul

A & E UPHOLSTERY PTY LTD Commercial, Domestic & Automotive & Leisure Upholstery Free Quotes, Large Range of Fabric, 30 Years Experience

Unit 5, 93 Abbott Road, Hallam 9702 3544 or 0418 851 078

G6288661AA-dc18Sep

Plumbing

Windows

G6301297AA-dc17Sep

APN Plumbing

Lic. 48953

Reliable, Fast & Friendly Service Specialising in Older homes: Maintenance and Renovations Water Tanks, H.W.S, Roofing, Gutters & Blockages. Home Maintenance through to New homes

Call Adam: 0415 456 563

WINDOWS 1 Window Replacement Service

G6286967AA-dc10Sep

Aluminium, Timber and UPVC Windows Free Measure and quote

Servicing all of Greater Melbourne

9794 7913

G6303869AA-dc18Sep

General Adult Services

Anya - adventurous escort. 21yo, tight sz 8, Raven black hair, ex-dancer. Avail most daytimes call 9495 2768 swa4281be. IMOGEN - Hot, hot, hot. Ex swimsuit model. 32yo size 8. Tall, toned, busty and blonde. I visit you. 9495 2723 swa4281be

CLASSIFIEDS

Your local Tech

www.adcablingservices.com.au

KIM - Mature 40yo escort. Stunning DD fullness. Always happy to please... 9935 7653. swa4281be LOTUS EXOTIC ESCORT I Luv you longtime. Tiny size 8 figure, pleasurable. I can do body rubs too. 9935 7738 swa4281be.

FAR EASTERN RELAXATION Now With More Young, Beautiful, Exotic, Friendly Ladies

Affordable Prices From $65

9326 8388

Body Rubs

swa4281be

SAHARA - I Visit you. I can wear traditional attire. Busty, sexy curves & very friendly 23yo. Ph: 9935 7753 swa4281be

Ladies Welcome.

Paradise

47 Glendale Ave, Hastings Prices Discounted

7 days till late

Tantra/Nuru By appointment 10am-11pm.

9415 7762

ishimpo.com swa7930xbe

9696 9199 45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

from $50 20min $80

Ladies Welcome

623 Hawthorn Road, Brighton East

9576 9100

w w w. u l t i m a t e b ro t h e l . c o m swa618be

Mention this ad for $10 discount www.escortsrus.com.au ☎ 9775 3210 swa224e

SWA3161XB

St Davids Street, Fitzroy

Ultimate Magic Relaxation Full Service

ESCORTS R US

5979 3066

Discreet Rear Parking (via lane way) CREDIT CARD & EFTPOS WELCOME Ladies Warmly Welcomed Mel ref P43 B1 / Tram 57 Stop 22 77 Race Course Road, North Melbourne

PH - 1300 ESCORT

24hrs/7 days

G6301120AA-dc18Sep

WE USE DUSTLESS MACHINERY

0423 666 763 1300 721 149

AFFORDABLE ESCORTS 18–48yo, great ladies, great prices. Open 24 hours. To your door in 30 mins. 9416 6221 swa4281be.

Tilers

Floor Services

Your one stop for all your home technology

Reg #36352

G6302560

SPECIAL

G6287116AA-dc11Sep

Peter’s Plumbing

Government Endorsed Installers

80

$

9793 5289

26 Rhur St, Dandenong. Open 7 days

SWA3337BE

Specialising in all electrical installations • Extensions/Refurbishments • Stove/Oven/Hot water repair • Switchboard upgrades • TV/Phone/Data G6288492AA-dc10Sep Free Quotes • House Rewires • Safety switches Lic 17824 Jason 0411 300 Rec 772 17824

G6131924

THE ROSE NEW GIRLS EVERY WEEK Beautiful Girls From 18+ Private Car park Available Full Service Start From $70

Ask for Our Tuesday Special

10 Fulton St, Oakleigh South Open From 10am - Late Escort Available

9543 5901

swa5532be

www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au

Electrical Services

Same Day Service Call 0428 987 653

G6304472AA-dc17Sep

Ph 0423 676 555 / 9530 0422 Email: yosi1@netspace.net.au

G6119418AA-dc3Jul

“We D “W Doo IItt Al All” l” F Free ree q quotes uotes t -2 24/7 4/7 4/ 7

• Renovations • Waterproofing • Plastering • Remodelling • Plumbing & Electrical • Tiling

lic 35345

SWA6143B SWA6144B G6082794AA-dc12Jun

Licensed Plumbers & Gas Fitters

• Blocked Drains from $120 • Burst Pipes • Gasfitting • Roof Leaks • Renovations • General Maintenance • 24/7 • $80 per hour

G6133830AA-dc3Jul

★ ★ EMERGENCY WORKS ★ ★

BATHROOMS ‘R’ US

G6303659AA-dc18Sep

Bathroom Renovations

99*

Specialising in digital antennass • TV Mounting • Electrical • Home Theatre • Security • Phone & Data • CCTV • Etc....

G6251222AA-dc28Aug

G6286026AA-dc11Sep

G6277373AA-dc11Sep

 Serge 1300 610 056

$

Fully Installed TODAY!

IInstallation t ll ti & Repairs R i on Domestic D ti & C Commercial i l Alarm systems, access control, Intercom, CCTV, 24hr monitoring 15yrs + Experience

SWA6646B

Alarms and Security Systems

G6289635AA-dc17Sep

Alarms

TV and Home Entertainment Services

G6304710AA-dc18Sep

september 18, 2013 \ The weekly review 25


REVIEW CLASSIFIEDS 1300 138 910 Adult Services

Training and Career Services

Tiffany - 23yo most popular Pandora - ready for a surprise? Tara – cougar looking 4 men Tinga – Miss Exotique Candy – sweet petite and many more new ladies

554-556 Swanston St, 554 - 556 Swanston Carlton St, Carlton

Ph: 9347 9347G6301056AA-dc18Sep 6000 Ph: 6000

THET! BES

Certificate III CHC30712 19 weeks - 1 day STUDY NOW…PAY LATER + 2 days practical

Training and Career Services Red Light Centre Sexy Ladies 18+ Undercover Parking 44A Winterton Road Clayton

9543 8820 9543 8837

Now open till 4am

pca5531b

Public Notices

CLASSIFIED DEADLINES For The Weekly Review South East are as follows: Proof Deadline: All Classifieds:

GET QUALIFIED IN CHILD CARE

G6076848AA-dc12Jun

24 HOUR BROTHEL This week’s new girls

SWA4281be

MANHATTAN TERRACE

Always wanted to work in: ➤ Aged Care Govt. Disability ➤ funded ➤ Home & Community Care?

Phone 1300 138 910

1300 889 678 0404 211 691 + 2 days practical

www.aict.net.au

Situations Vacant PANEL BEATER - Kew -

ENROL NOW for 2013 funded Courses in

We are currently seeking an experienced Panel Beater for our established Panel Shop in Kew. Must be able to work unsupervised and have a strong work ethic. Excellent wages on offer along with great working conditions.

Boronia, Frankston, Dandenong, Cranbourne, Hampton Park & Box Hill. Call Kelly:

Thursday 2pm Thursday 4pm

Vet Fee-Help deferred payment scheme Diploma CHC50908 FINAL INTAKE FOR SEPTEMBER 21 weeks 1 day or night

9761 2156

Let us help you today!

Ph Scott 0438 060 810

www.employease.com.au

Walkers Wanted

*

This training is delivered with Victorian & Commonwealth Funding. Subject to eligibility. TOID 6832 G6268464AA-dc3Sep

To deliver papers and brochures in Manor Lakes, Wyndham Vale, Point Cook, Werribee, Hoppers Crossing, Altona Meadows and Seabrook.

8.30am-5.00pm, Monday - Friday. All major credit cards accepted. G6255558

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL ADVERTISERS The Competition and Consumer Act provides that advertised prices for goods and services which attract GST should be GST inclusive. Prices should not be quoted as being 'excluding GST' or 'plus GST' or by the use of words or phrases conveying similar meaning. Readers are entitled to expect that the advertised prices are the actual prices at which they can purchase the particular goods and services. Metro Media Publishing will not knowingly accept for publication any advertisement which may be in breach of the Competition and Consumer Act or any other relevant law.

CLASSIFIEDS 142-144 Frankston-Dandenong Rd, Dandenong 3175

HELPING YOU STAND OUT

✆ Dianne 0417 129 040

G6289328

Earn a Full Diploma in 6 Months, Guaranteed No Risk FREE Trial!

1300 138 910

This Nationally Recongnised Qualification could:

SOLD!

Strengthen your resume to get you back into the workforce Enhance your existing industry skill Open up new career opportunities

STUDY NOW AND PAY LATER WITH VET-FEE HELP!*

Diploma of Project Management Melbourne October 2nd Geelong October 30th

Celebrations

*With VET FEE-HELP government funding - criteria apply

V E T Learning Centres

MISS FOX

G6266299AA-dc3Sep

$49. 10am-11pm. Basement, CBD. 9654 6635.

OIL FULL BODY

6/180 Commercial Rd, (enter Izett St) Prahran. Appt only. Ph 9533 8877.

NEW

• Thai Massage & Waxing • Male & Female Staff • $60 for an Hour Opening Special • 7 Days, 10am - 10pm

FEE-HELP

For more information, CONTACT ERIN on 1300 732 975 or VISIT www.nhaustralia.com.au/dpm

Thai Massage & Spa CLASSIFIEDS Combination Thai Massage • Hydrotherapy Spa • Waxing & Beauty • Male & Female Welcome • 7 Days, 10am – 10pm 37 Flemington Rd, North Melbourne

For all your Classified advertising contact us on

SAV%E

1300 138 910

Mention this Ad.

9328 5581

15

26 The weekly review \ september 18, 2013

To advertise or place your wedding photo in this section contact one of our friendly staff on

1300 138 910

SENSATION

New girls, new technique. Dancing on your skin. 4/54 Atherton Road, Oakleigh. $40. 0438 001 994.

G6299092AA-dc12Sep

SOFT HANDS

$40, 7 days, 10am-8pm. 4/150 Wattletree Road, Malvern. Contact 9500 9870.

Review all the latest property

CLASSIFIEDS

Massage Therapy MIDDLE PARK Massage. 7 days. From $40. Qualified, experienced, caring and thorough. Full body massage. Matt: 0412 045 585.

G6283120

iPhone app is now available! Now available at N iPhone is a registered trade mark of apple Inc, registered in the U. S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple, Inc.

Motoring PLEASE NOTE: Private party sales are open to negotiation, therefore statutory charges may vary and are not included in quoted prices. G6238441

CLASSIFIEDS Contact us on

1300 138 910


A Review Local Advertising Feature

Are you Post Menopausal?

Look your best for Less! Skin Cancer Kills Early detection Saves lives

Are you aged over 50 years? Are you also relatively healthy? If YES then you may be interested in participating in clinical studies to see how your body processes different medications.

Consultations Bulk Billed

Injectable Fillers BEFORE

UP TO

AFTER

50% OFF*

The Centre for Clinical Studies is seeking expressions of interest from post menopausal women for a forthcoming study.

G6303630AA-dc18Sep

per Anti Wrinkle Injection $9 per unit Dermal Fillers Starting at $400 ml

For more information please contact the Centre for Clinical Studies on 1800 243 733 or email contactus@centreforclinicalstudies.com Visit us at www.clinicalstudies.com.au

Safe & Effective

Qualified & Experienced Medical Practitioners

Phone 9090 0099

“We encourage questions about risks and side effects and a second opinion.” Based on average Melbourne Prices (listed price). Must present coupon. One coupon per person

Participants in clinical studies will receive reimbursement for their time.

1155 High Street ARMADALE www.cdc-clinics.com.au Free consultations and brochures

ALMARA CABINETS

G6301762AA-dc18Sep

SAVE 25% on all kitchens pay ONLY a $500 deposit

Guaranteed quality. Renovations our speciality.

Planning a new kitchen? Zesta will ensure its everything you want. You will also receive 25% off cabinets and benchtops* Why not take advantage with a$500 deposit this month on your perfect new kitchen? ENDS 8/9/2103 ENDING SOON

Winner of the Australian Achievers Award.

In home design we are able to help Your kitchen plan will be presented in an easy to view computer designed 3D plan that allows you to clearly see what your kitchen will look like on completion. Proudly made in Melbourne with quick delivery.

Low Zesta price only

$

6,557*

Qualia: SUPER

Custom designed: • wardrobes • wall units

• bookshelves • garage storage

• study/office fit outs • entertainment units

Visit our showroom: www.almara.com.au

P: 9793 8233 F: 9793 8243 info@almara.com.au

G6299326AA-dc18Sep

Nunawading

Mt Waverley

8878 9555 Richmond

9543 5755 Cheltenham

321 Whitehorse Rd Above 40 Winks

Victoria Gardens

9429 7616

G6286355AA-dc18Sep

High Gloss Senosan

344 Ferntree Gully Rd Next to Robot Trading

309 Warrigal rd

9584 4491

*Prices shown inclusive of discount and based on our std laminate 8 unit kitchen. See store for conditions on discount offer.

www.zestakitchens.com.au


Bib Stillwell BMW

Sales Finance Service Parts

BIB STILLWELL BMW DELIVERS YOU BEAUTY, STYLE AND SHEER DRIVING PLEASURE. At Bib Stillwell BMW, we are continually striving to bring our customers a more exciting and convenient BMW ownership experience. We have a wide range of time and money saving options available which will provide you with peace of mind motoring for years to come. With two convenient locations, we commit to you that your ownership experience will be first class. Enjoy peace of mind motoring with the following available on our range of new vehicles: · · · ·

BMW BMW BMW BMW

Full Circle With Guaranteed Future Value* New Car Warranty Roadside Assistance Service Inclusive^

Discover exciting opportunities on a select range of BMW new and demonstrator models, including manufacturer’s rebates# on the BMW 5 Series Sedan and runout offers on the iconic BMW X5. If the BMW 3 Series Sedan is more your style, for a limited time you can enjoy a complimentary upgrade to a Modern, Sport or Luxury Line package# and further highlight the sophisticated, athletic and elegant elements of your newest Ultimate Driving Machine. With a fifty year tradition commitment to excellent service and a passion for exciting automobiles, Bib Stillwell BMW is the ideal foundation for your BMW journey. Visit Bib Stillwell BMW at South Yarra or Oakleigh and experience sheer driving pleasure today.

WE GUARANTEE IT WILL BE WORTH YOUR WHILE. Bib Stillwell BMW 145 Williams Road, South Yarra. (03) 9521 2121. bibstillwell.com.au Cnr Huntingdale & Dandenong Roads, Oakleigh. (03) 9252 5000

LMCT 7674

*BMW Full Circle with Guaranteed Future Value from BMW Financial Services is for approved customers only. Fees, charges, terms, conditions and approval criteria apply. ^BMW Service Inclusive packages available prior to initial service or up to 12 months from the vehicle’s date registration (whichever comes fi rst). #Offers available while stocks last on vehicles ordered and delivered between 1/7/13 and 30/9/13. Excludes fl eet, government and rental buyers. Terms and conditions apply. Contact Bib Stillwell BMW for more details.

Profile for The Weekly Review

Sea southeast 20130918 iss  

The Weekly Review

Sea southeast 20130918 iss  

The Weekly Review

Advertisement