Page 1

INSIDE THIS WEEK

MAY 16-22, 2018

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

BOOKS + PODCASTS I N S P I R AT I O N + E D U C AT I O N

SWEET SUCCESS A S U G A R - C O AT E D E M PIRE

MAY 16-22, 2018

I VA N H O E & VA L L E Y

ADVERTISEMENT

DONCASTER LAND ROVER’S SALE EVENT

FRIDAY 18TH MAY. 8:30AM – 6:00PM SATURDAY 19TH MAY. 8:30AM – 5:00PM SUNDAY 20TH MAY. 10:00AM – 4:00PM

Doncaster Land Rover 573 Doncaster Road, Doncaster VIC 3108. Tel: 03 9848 8888 doncaster.landrover.com.au LMCT11617 MCK73714

MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTIES I VA N H O E & VA L L E Y

INSIDE

INSIDE MICHAEL ROWL AND + D A N N Y K AT Z + LIZ ELLIS +


DONCASTER LAND ROVER’S SALE EVENT

RECEIVE A 5 YEAR WARRANTY AND 5 YEARS FREE SCHEDULED SERVICING^ With exceptional savings on selected vehicles* there’s never been a better time to experience the unrivalled capability, refined luxury and thoughtful design of a Land Rover. Also available on Land Rover Guaranteed Future Value†. Available for a strictly limited time only, so get in quick. Visit Doncaster Land Rover today.

Doncaster Land Rover 573 Doncaster Road, Doncaster VIC 3108. Tel: 03 9848 8888 doncaster.landrover.com.au LMCT11617 MCK73714 *Offer applies to new and demonstrator Discovery, Discovery Sport, Range Rover Evoque, Range Rover Velar, 17MY Range Rover Sport and 17MY Range Rover vehicles ordered between 01.05.18 to 30.06.18 and delivered by 31.07.18 while stocks last. Land Rover reserves the right to extend any offer. ^Consult Doncaster Land Rover for terms and conditions of 5 year Service Plans. †The Land Rover Guaranteed Future Value Program is available to approved applicants of Land Rover Financial Services only. Terms and Conditions apply. Land Rover Financial Services is a trading name of Volkswagen Financial Services Australia Pty Limited ABN 20 097 071 460, Australian Credit Licence 389344.


MAY 16-22, 2018

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

SWEET SUCCESS A S U G A R - C O AT E D E M P I R E

MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTIES INSIDE I VA N H O E & VA L L E Y

INSIDE MICHAEL ROWL AND + D A N N Y K AT Z + LIZ ELLIS +


HONDA 7-YEAR SALE END JUNE 30 VALUE THAT GOES ON AND ON 7-YEAR UNLIMITED KM WARRANTY *

+

7-YEAR PREMIUM M ROADSIDE ASSIST ST

JAZZ FROM $15,990.00 drive away

Civic From $24,990.00 drive away

CRV FROM $33,590.00 drive away

ON A HUGE RANGE OF MODELS

HRV From $26,490.00

WHILE STOCKS LAST DON’T MISS OUT!

drive away

LET’S HELP YOU INTO O A HONDA

*7-Year Unlimited Kilometre Warranty available on select models except those used for a Commercial Purpose, where a 7-year/200,000 7-year/200, 000 kilometre (whichever occurs first) warranty is applicable. See honda.com.au/7-year-warranty for full terms and conditions or visit a Honda Dealer. ^Offers available on HR-V while stocks last, which may extend beyond June 30.

2015 2016 Premiership Dealer Finalist 2017

9066 3186 Offers available at participating Honda dealers, while stocks last, on selected new and ex-demo HR-V VTi, VTi-S, VTi-L, and VTi-L + ADAS models while stocks last. Private buyers only. Honda reserves the right to change or extend any offers. oDrive away price shown available at participating Honda dealers, while stocks last, on new and ex demo HR-V VTi with flat paint. +7-Year Unlimited Kilometre Warranty available on new and ex-demo HR-V models while stocks last, except those used for commercial purposes, where a 7-year/200,000 kilometre (whichever occurs first) warranty is applicable. Honda warranties apply where due care is exercised by the owner and the vehicle is maintained in accordance with the Owner's Warranty and Service Manual. Please visit honda.com.au/warranty for full terms and conditions. *The price is a recommended drive away price for vehicle with flat paint at participating Honda dealers while stocks last. It includes 12 months registration, 12 months compulsory third party insurance (CTP), a maximum dealer delivery charge, stamp duty and administration charge.


FIRST PERSON

I am David Dare … and I use the old methods, like in Mary Poppins I started doing this because I was helping a friend. He took off to Bali and never came back. Ever since I had my own website, it just went ballistic really. I think there’s about a dozen chimney sweeps in Melbourne, of varying quality. I use the old methods, like in Mary Poppins, with a brush and vacuum. It’s one thing that can’t be computerised. The kids love it. Sometimes they start singing the song (Chim Chim Chim Cher-ee Cher-ee). When I tell people I’m a chimney sweep, they’re a bit surprised sometimes, but there’s a definite demand for it. People get you to sweep their chimneys while they’re renovating and then real estate agents get you to sweep the chimneys between tenancies. It’s certainly not a passing fad. If anything, people are using their fireplaces more. There’s more atmosphere than gas, and gas is getting quite expensive. People think, if I can scrounge the wood I’ll use the fireplace, I’d rather look at a fireplace than a heating duct. They have to be serviced – it’s like anything. The soot builds up and it can be like cholesterol in an artery, it’s clogged up with soot. It’s not really something people can do themselves. They wouldn’t have the right equipment and a lot of people wouldn’t put up with the heights and the dirt. I wear a mask and goggles; you’ve got to look the part. Dead birds, possums and ducks, all sorts of things go down chimneys. They can get to the stage where they won’t draw properly and also you can have beehives in chimneys. I normally do them from the top down. People think you go up the chimney, but no, you don’t. It’s very important that people have their chimneys checked out before they light them because sometimes they can be capped off at the top. Sometimes you can have a fireplace but there’s actually no chimney there, so you can’t use it. What would happen? Well, they’d burn the house down. Normally in the winter months I work six days a week. I may do three days in summer, it depends. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone else, because I don’t want any more competition. ●

A S T O L D T O L A R I S SA H A M ● PH O T O J U LIA N KI N G M A

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


I VA N H O E & VA L L E Y

Competitions

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 editorial@domain.com.au

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

EDITOR \ EMILY POWER

and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, May 20.

DEPUTY EDITOR \ JESSICA DALE ONLINE EDITOR \ ADRIAN LOWE PICTURE EDITOR \ KYLIE THOMSON PROOFREADER \ NICOLE BITTAR SENIOR DESIGNER \ COLLEEN CHIN QUAN DESIGNER \ EMMA STAUGHTON EDITORIAL ASSISTANT \ KENDALL BOYD MANAGING EDITOR \ ALICE STOLZ REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ REBECCA WARNER \ 0448 317 687 \ rebeccawarner@domain.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 53,011 COPIES

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Morgan Hipworth, photographed by Chris Hillary.

WIN \ BEYOND THE BARRICADE

WIN \ MELBOURNE SOCIAL

WIN \

DOUBLE PASS WORTH $150

NETBALL SEASON WORTH $180

ROCKY HORROR SHOW DOUBLE PASS WORTH $238

Win one of two double passes

Melbourne Social Netball is a social

Smash-hit musical The Rocky Horror

to Melbourne’s opening-night

sports competition unlike any other.

Show is coming to Melbourne’s Her

performance of Beyond the

Open to men and women aged 18-

Majesty’s Theatre in July. Starring

Barricade. With past principal

plus, it is the perfect place to meet

Todd McKenney as Frank N Furter

performers from Les Miserables, this

new friends while keeping fit. Thanks

and Shane Jacobson as the Narrator,

critically acclaimed show features

to Melbourne Social Netball, two

here’s your chance to win one of two

the best-loved songs from West End

lucky readers will win a season of

double passes to one of theatre’s

and Broadway musicals.

netball at the venue of their choice.

most outrageously fun shows.

● beyondthebarricade.com.au

● melbournenetball.com

● rockyhorror.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from May 2: Terry Mulroyan, Vanessa Sealy, Emily Rawlings, Polly Buckland Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

EXPLORE MLC Friday, 18 and Saturday, 19 May, 9.15 am – 11.30 am Learn more at mlc.vic.edu.au/visitus

Hannah

MLC inspires her learning

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

At MLC no dream is too big, whether it is technological, sporting, musical, creative or academic. We’re proud to offer one of the broadest curricula of any Australian independent school.


The editor’s desk THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

The view

BY SCOTT MCNAUGHTON \ Southbank

A glimpse of modern Melbourne at Hamer Hall. ●

Farewell, my waistline. It was nice knowing you, even if for just a little while. After hours spent poring over pictures of doughnut prince (and cover star) Morgan Hipworth’s lush creations, I know that I am going to give into temptation and my swimsuit body will be but a dream. But, oh, that butter cream! And in this edition, we welcome new book club columnist Michael Rowland, co-host of ABC News Breakfast. Michael will be sharing his reflections on a selected title each month, and we hope you will read along with him by joining the conversation on our Facebook page. More details inside. ●

● 1/1250 sec ● f/4 ● ISO 400

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture + Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

ARE YOU A BUDDING STREET PHOTOGRAPHER? If you have a great snap of the city, we’d love to feature it on this page.

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

Send your best high-resolution shot to theview@theweeklyreview.com.au FOR SOME HELPFUL TIPS, VISIT \ theweeklyreview.com.au/theview

YO U T U B E

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


HAIR \ MAKEUP BY HUW JAMES, AB PRO LAB (ALBERT PARK)

SPEAKING FROM the HEART

8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


THE FORMER CHAMPION NETBALLER ON LOVE, GRIEF AND COURAGE DURING IVF TREATMENT

L

iz Ellis felt a strong responsibility towards telling people’s stories about their “infertility journey”. “Almost to a person, they all said they wanted to tell their story to help somebody else,” Ellis says. “Writing this book totally restored my faith in human nature because you can see what the human heart is capable of.” Ellis, 45, the former Australian netball captain, is talking about her book, If At First You Don’t Conceive, a “friendly” guide to tackling infertility, based on her own experiences, those of many others who shared their stories and a range of experts. To collate the stories, Ellis put a call out on social media for people who had experienced infertility to contact her. The stories, many told over the phone, were extraordinary. “I spoke to people who had the most emotional stories. I’d often speak to people after I’d put the kids to bed and I’d be on the phone,

them, their five-year struggle including five rounds of IVF and miscarriages. As someone who had been “on the infertility highway without a GPS”, Ellis was in a good position to make a series of calls to people she didn’t know about a most intimate subject. And it helped to be well known. “Yes, because people trusted me,” she says. “I cold-called IVF specialists and obstetricians, and when they knew who I was they were happy to sit and chat.” Her social media reach of 22,000 followers was useful, too. Asking strangers about difficult topics such as infertility and miscarriage was daunting. “There are no words to talk about the grief like that. If someone’s father dies, you know the words. If you have an IVF transfer and there’s nothing there, what are the words to talk about the grief for something that never was?”

“I want people to talk about it because there is a stigma attached to it a little bit around what’s not working, whose fault is it. Forget the fault, forget not working; this is what you’re going through.” – LIZ ELLIS

tapping away, bawling my eyes out because their stories were amazing. “To see what people are prepared to do for love is amazing, either because they love their partner or they want a family to love.” Ellis lives with husband Matthew Stocks and their two children – Evelyn, six, and Austin, two, on a 64-hectare cattle farm near Byron Bay. “We have a very gentle life; the kids have all the freedom in the world. They spend a lot of time muddy, I spend a lot of time hosing them down … they are my world.” Her book is a story of love and resilience. “I spoke to a woman who went through 19 rounds of IVF to get her twin boys. She miscarried twins at 20 weeks after 12 rounds and her story of having to give birth and seeing her husband talk to these dead babies … I get emotional thinking about that conversation. She was so resilient, so determined that she was going to have her family.” Ellis notes that one in six couples in Australia is affected by infertility. She and Stocks were one of

She says there remains a stigma. “I want people to talk about it because there is a stigma attached to it a little bit around what’s not working, whose fault is it. Forget the fault, forget not working; this is what you’re going through.” But people were relieved to tell their story. “A number hadn’t told their story before, particularly men. Infertility is not [only] a women’s issue. It’s equal male-andfemale factors.” Ellis says women and men approach the journey in different ways. “A lot of women I spoke to still felt like it affected their femininity, that the biological reason for me to be here is to reproduce, regardless of career,” she says. “When you want that baby, you want that baby. It was a hard thing for women to get their head around. But women are more able to talk about it. They confide in their friends; they’re used to having that conversation with people.” She says getting men to talk about it was difficult. “They didn’t want to talk to me about it because

I N T E RVI E W ● PE T E R WI L M O T H

there’s a stigma to infertility, around feeling emasculated … that you’re not as masculine as the bloke who’s got a great sperm count. My husband got his sperm count back and they said ‘you’ve got A-grade sperm’ and he was like ‘I’ve got excellent sperm!’ It’s such a pride thing.” She says the sense of relief when men did address it was “almost palpable”. “I spoke to a man who said he found it really hard dealing with his infertility … they used donor sperm, but when the baby came out that baby was his. He was so emotional in the telling of it, you couldn’t help get caught up in that emotion.” Ellis says it’s a story about love – wanting to share love with a child and the rocky road towards that quest, including the pressure on relationships. “My conclusion is that infertility treatment will exacerbate what is already there. So if you have a relationship that is strong but you need to communicate better, fertility treatment magnifies that and shows you must communicate. If you have a relationship that is rocky to start with, then infertility will absolutely tear that apart.” Ellis was impressed with the courage of people who shared their stories. “One woman said ‘I want my story to be a beacon for other women’. She gave me lots of notes and someone else gave her diary; very personal. I felt the reason they were giving me their story was to light the way for others.” IF AT FIRST YOU DON’T CONCEIVE \ By Liz Ellis $34.99 ● panmacmillan.com.au

PI C T U R E ● J U LIA N KI N G M A

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


DANNY K ATZ \ HOME TRUTHS

T

he bank guy was round at our house, sitting at the dining table, telling us about our finances. He gave us good news so we pushed a little plate of Scotch Finger biscuits towards him as a gesture of appreciation. Then he told us the bad news so we slid the plate of biscuits away. It was just your typical dining-table, biscuitsliding, bank-guy, morning chitchat – and then right in the middle of it, we heard a snorty, snouty, snrrrrrrrrkkkkk vibrating from the nearby bathroom. Followed by a growly, guttural, achhh-achhhh-achhhh. A medley of greatest hits from legendary indie band Teenage Son and The Phlegm-Summoners. Anyone who has a teenage son knows they collect a tremendous amount of goop in their sinal cavities – it’s either hormonal or they shove it up there as some kind of fashion thing. And unfortunately we have a bathroom that’s butted right up

against our dining area – which is not so great if you’ve got people over and everyone has to sit at the dining table politely, listening to something that sounds like raw meat being sucked through a bong (Kids try all kinds of stuff; you just don’t know). Whoever designed our house was a monumental twit! Bathrooms and dining rooms involve opposite ends of the eating spectrum and do not belong together. But there’s nothing we can do about it: we’ve tried soundproofing the bathroom with cork tiles, but it just made it look like a scungy inner-city recording studio with a soap dish. We’ve tried replacing the thin, hollow bathroom door with a super-heavy, super-thick one, but the sound still leaked

through – and now it takes two people to open it. We even considered soundproofing our son, double-glazing his nasal passages and siliconesealing his sinuses, but we couldn’t find a tradie who’d do the job, not even on Airtasker. So any time there’s people around, and someone needs to use the bathroom, my wife and I must initiate our Emergency Bathroom-Noise-Muffling Procedure. First we try talking loud and fast. If that doesn’t work, we turn the stereo up. If it’s still bad, I get the blender and crush ice at the table then ask if anyone’s in the mood for a daiquiri. Thankfully the bank guy was in the mood. I made him a small one. Without the maraschino liqueur. ● Danny Katz is a newspaper columnist, a Modern Guru and author of the Little Lunch books for kids, now a TV series on ABC3.

“Bathrooms and dining rooms involve opposite ends of the eating spectrum and do not belong together.”

Arthur Street Residences

Coming soon. A new way to live in Eltham. 1 bedroom residences including car park from $370k 2 bedroom residences including car park from $450k 3 bedroom residences including car park from $750k

Register for an exclusive preview prior to public launch next weekend Jarrod Farey 0401 607 642 Clare Johnston 0402 175 002 27 Arthur Street Eltham CanopyEltham.com.au Artist impression

10

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


MICHAEL ROWL AND \ BOOK CLUB

Thrills from an unlikely hero

YO U R SAY

THE WEEKLY REVIEW BOOK CLUB

T H E R E VI E W

J

THE GREATER GOOD \ By Tim Ayliffe $29.99, out now ● simonandschuster.com.au

Welcome to our monthly book club, where we invite you to read along with Michael. Each month, Michael will share his impressions of his chosen book and we want your thoughts on each title. To join the conversation, make sure you like our Facebook page. Your mini review could be featured in the next instalment of our book club. At the end of the year, three readers will receive a bundle of great titles from Australia’s top publishers. Make sure you share your reflections of Michael’s most recently reviewed books on The Weekly Review’s Facebook page to be in the running. ●

facebook.com/TheWeeklyReview

THE NEXT READ

ohn Bailey is a broken man. After one too many shaves with death as a war correspondent in Iraq, Bailey finds himself back in Sydney as a 53-year-old police reporter, drinking to forget. Dispatched to cover an inner-city murder, Bailey stumbles onto a plot that extends all the way to the corridors of power in Canberra and catapults our jaded hero into a world of trouble. Tim Ayliffe’s debut novel is a crime thriller with the lot: murder, deceit, corruption and a hint of romance. The ABC journalist (full disclosure: he’s a colleague and friend who’s told tall tales for years) has a reporter’s eye for detail. Drawing on his extensive experience, Ayliffe takes you deep inside the worlds of politics and the media, with a heavy dose of international intrigue thrown in. Chasing the story, Bailey has to confront shady police, scheming politicians, Chinese spies and haunting flashbacks to Fallujah. Helping him out is old CIA hand Ronnie Johnson, who has mysteriously popped up in Sydney. A man well versed in the black arts, Ronnie ‘had never killed anyone who hadn’t deserved it’. Sprinkled through the book are Ayliffe’s dry observations on the media (the radio shock jocks who are ‘inflammatory morons masquerading as journalists’) and, in a line that will have all of Melbourne cheering, a frustrated Bailey laments Sydney turning into a ‘bullshitter’s paradise’. ●

M I C H A E L’ S L A S T WO R D

“The Greater Good is the first in a trilogy. It is easy to see John Bailey proving just as popular a literary figure as Peter Temple’s Jack Irish or Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan.”

BUTTERFLY ON A PIN \ By Alannah Hill $32.95, out now ● hardiegrant.com

Michael Rowland is the co-host of ABC News Breakfast, weekdays 6-9am on ABC TV.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

11


ENTERTAINMENT

Gen warfare MULTI-TALENTED ROBYN BUTLER LIGHTENS UP IN PREPARATION FOR THE FIRING LINE

S H AU N M I CA L L E F & R O BY N B U T L E R

12

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

CHANNEL NINE

W

hen Channel Ten pulled the pin on Talkin’ ’Bout Your Generation in 2012, the TV landscape became bleaker in the absence of Shaun Micallef and co. exploring intergenerational difference from the Baby Boomers through to Generation X. Happily, the show’s jumped ship with a revival on the Nine Network, with a few tweaks. For a start, the Boomers have been ditched, with the elder generation being represented by Gen Xer, writer, comedian and actress Robyn Butler, funny dude

Andy Lee (the Andy half of Hamish & Andy) captaining Gen Y, and actor Laurence Boxhall heading up the first-time inclusion of Gen Z. While a lot’s been made of the generational shake-up, Butler isn’t convinced it changes the flavour of the show. “My team fills the same role as Amanda’s team [Amanda Keller previously captained the Boomers],” she says. “We still have the slightly world-weary, ‘you know nothing’ attitude towards the others. It’s the same DNA of human beings travelling through time, no


matter what you call it. So I don’t think it actually affects anything, except my pride.” While we’ve become accustomed to Butler driving things from behind the camera with the stream of awardwinning tele emanating from Gristmill, the TV-production company she spearheads with husband Wayne Hope, Butler is set to remind us that her on-screen chops are just as sharp. That said, it’s required something of a gear change. “I was a little bit tentative, because I haven’t been Robyn as Robyn, apart from doing publicity things, in front of the cameras for a long time,” she admits. “I’ve acted, but that took a

back seat, because I wanted to explore other parts of myself. “Increasingly, writing, producing and directing was where I was getting a lot of satisfaction, but the very first day we started shooting, I was like, ‘oh, that’s right’. It just was like riding a bike.” The move is also in line with a decision Butler made when she hit her 40s to make more joyful material. “I spent a lot of my younger career making darker, more cynical things, which I think you tend to do when you’re younger, because you’re not really concerned about mortality,” she says. “As you get older you go, ‘oh, I’m going to be dead soon’.

ROADSHOW

WO R D S ● M E G C R AW F O R D

Robyn Butler and Portia de Rossi in the Butler-written comedy Now Add Honey.

Like, come on, lighten up everybody. “Upper Middle Bogan is a very happy show. Little Lunch, our kid’s show, is a very happy show. It’s not to say that either of them are without

satire, but they certainly come from a place of hope. At this point in time we live in a funny old world: antagonist, human, disparate, and people are at odds. “In contrast, Talkin’ ’Bout Your Generation feels like fun, and I’m going with fun options.” All of that said, it is unusual for Butler to be working on a project sans hubby Hope. Is she going to miss him? “No. I’m contractually obliged to work with him on a 24/7 basis anyway. There is no escape. I’ve tried. I’ve looked at all the loopholes and, apparently, I can’t get out of it.” ● ● Talkin’ ’Bout Your Generation launches May 21 at 7.30pm on Nine.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


ANITA MILAS

M

organ Hipworth is living proof of the fierce entrepreneurial spirit of Generation Z. For Hipworth, the humble doughnut represents the life’s endless possibilities. The 17-year-old has created more than 2000 Instagramfriendly varieties of the sweet treat for his Windsor cafe, Bistro Morgan. Currently, his favourite is a doughnut called The Cookie Monster. “It’s filled with cake batter, then it’s got white chocolate, Oreo chunks, some colourful sprinkles and confetti, and cookies and cream chocolate,” he says. This week, the year 12 student fronted five of Australia’s savviest investors when he appeared on the new season premiere of Channel Ten’s Shark Tank (Tuesdays, 8.30pm). He asked them to make a $200,000 investment in return for a 20 per cent stake in his burgeoning business. “Wanting to go sort of full time into the business and not necessarily having a full-on plan of where I wanted to go, I thought it’d be cool to get that expertise,” he says. “It wasn’t, for me, necessarily about the money. It’s never been. It’s just about doing what you love. I thought being able to get that experience and expertise with someone who’s done it all before would be really, really valuable.”

COVER STORY

Great expectations THE DRIVING FORCE BEHIND TALENTED TEEN ACHIEVERS

Hipworth received four offers, three of them from Boost Juice founder Janine Allis, but declined them all. At the end of the negotiations, Allis agreed to mentor Hipworth without payment. “It was an awesome outcome and I’ve had a couple of meetings with Janine since,” he says. “I didn’t really want to give away more than 20 per cent of my business because I’ve worked so hard for it. “She’s a really great businesswoman, so it was awesome to make that connection. Who knows what could happen down the track?” Hipworth was just 13 he began wholesaling doughnuts to a local cafe and at 15, opened his very own cafe in Windsor. “I went into business at a young age because I was really passionate about food and cooking,” he says. “Bistro Morgan is going great, as expected from our forecast of where we should be. It definitely keeps me busy in between school and life.” And if at times the demands of running a business and completing VCE are stressful, Hipworth says he uses it as a source of motivation. “There’s so many things that motivate me, but I think one of the main things is the constant challenges that come along with running your own business. It motivates me every day to do better than the previous.”

Never queue for a machine again with myki Auto Top Up

Make topping up more convenient

Get started at ptv.vic.gov.au/autotopup

For m ptv.v PTVH2836/18. Authorised by Transport for Victoria, 1 Spring Street, Melbourne.

14

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


WO R D S â—? K AT E J O N E S

Supreme ambition: Morgan Hipworth of Bistro Morgan, above; Melbourne Victory player Matthew Sutton, opposite.

Inspiring. Overachievers. Future stars. Call them what you like, but promising up-and-comers like Hipworth have the world at their feet. Talented and driven, these teens juggle the demands of their studies with the push of their ambition. It could be said that Matthew Sutton has been kicking goals all his life. But these days, he spends a lot of time stopping them. The 17-year-old goalkeeper is one of the newest and youngest recruits at A-League soccer club Melbourne Victory. His sporting prowess was spotted at 15 when he won a scholarship at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra, which meant moving from his family home in Sydney. “I really wanted to make something out of football since I was about 14 and that included many training sessions, games, lots of sacrifices,� he says. “It’s a big commitment and one of the biggest was having to move away from home and all my family and friends. But it’s something that’s not really a massive thing for me because I’m lucky enough to do something I really want to do.� �

THE DONCASTER BMW AND BUNDOORA BMW SALE EVENT. 18-20 MAY 2018.

Doncaster BMW and Bundoora BMW invite you to experience extraordinary opportunities across our range of Ultimate Driving Machines. For three days only, Friday 9am-6pm, Saturday 9am-5pm and extended trading Sunday 10am-4pm, visit Doncaster BMW and Bundoora BMW to enjoy:  

          

     Â     

For further information or to secure your appointment, please contact Doncaster BMW on (03) 8848 0000 or Bundoora BMW on (03) 9468 8000. Â?  Â?  Â? 

      Â?    Â? Â?   ­Â?€‚ƒƒƒƒÂ?„… Doncaster BMW ‚†‡‚†ˆÂ? ‰ Â? Â… ŠÂ… Â…Â…‹ƒŒŽ‚‚ˆ‚ƒƒƒƒ…‘Â’“ ŠÂ… Â… Bundoora BMW ”‡‘Â? 

…Š

Š… ……‹ƒŒŽ•ˆ”‚‚ƒƒƒ…‘’“Š

ŠÂ… Â…    –  Â?ŠŠÂ?         Â? —

Š†‚…ƒ­…†‚ ‡ƒ…ƒ­…†‚ ŠÂ?Œ†…­…†‚…  Â?Â…    Â?Â…˜ Š Š Â?   Â…‘     Â…„ Â?       †‚…ƒ­…†‚ ‡ƒ…ƒ­…†‚ ŠÂ?Œ†…­…†‚™ Š    –  Š   Â? ­Â?        ‚ƒƒƒƒÂ?      Â…š     Â?Â…  Š ŠÂ?  Â…‘  ­…‘   ŠÂ?Â…  Â?Â…˜ Â?  

   Â…˜††”‚ˆ

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


CULTURE

Local voices with resonance THE AUSTRALIAN-MADE PODCASTS TO TUNE INTO RIGHT NOW

I

R O S I E WAT E R L A N D

STEVEN SIEWERT

t might feel like we’ve reached peak podcast, but an advantage of the medium’s popularity is that there are shows for every interest. Here’s a shortlist of home-grown podcasts to switch onto.

H U M O U R \ Writer Rosie Waterland published her memoir, The Anti-Cool Girl, in 2015. The darkly humorous book grapples with topics such as addiction, eating disorders, death and mental illness, and provided the premise for Waterland’s 2017 podcast, Mum Says My Memoir is a Lie. In the 22-episode series, Waterland and her mother debate the memoir together, and, like some of the best comedy, it blends humour with deeper meaning. You may also like: The Betoota Advocate, I Love Green Guide Letters

PA R E N TI N G \ Sophie Harper is a documentary filmmaker who always wanted to be a mum. In her late 30s, she became a mother via artificial insemination and has a young daughter, Astrid. Not By Accident tells their story through contemporary reflections and conversations recorded with friends and family. It’s a thoughtful, heartwarming and well-produced podcast, and you don’t need to be a parent to appreciate it. You may also like: The New Normal, The Juggling Act. T R U E C R I M E \ When Casefile joined the truecrime podcast scene in early 2016, it was a small bedroom project intended as a hobby for its anonymous, Strine-accented sporting host. Few

$150

INSURANCE EXCESS REDUCTION

ACCIDENT REPLACEMENT VEHICLES

40 Years in Business Life Time Guarantee 24 Hour Towing Service Premium Quality Tiles & Service Only At

the tile gallery

All Insurance Companies Private and Insurance Work

Ceramic ▪ Porcelain ▪ Mosaics ▪ Tiling hardware Open 6 days 16

3/118 Para Rd Cnr Station St, Montmorency 3094 Ph 9432 7764 www.thetilegallery.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

CALL 9439

47 Susan St. ELTHAM 1088 www.lyonsbodyworks.com.au


WO R D S ● E R I N M U N R O

could have guessed that it would rise to the top of the charts and win accolades and fans the world over. This Australian podcast has become a force for good as well, prioritising the legacies of victims and survivors. You may also like: Felon, Phoebe’s Fall, True Crime Sisters, Bloody Murder.

P O P C U LT U R E \ Seen a film or read a book and wanted other people’s opinions on it? The Rereaders is for you. Writers and cultural critics Mel Campbell and Dion Kagan talk books, art, television and movies with special guests, and listening to their conversations is like hearing insights from your smart mates. You may also like: Cultural Capital, Refreshments Provided. S P O R T \ Santo, Sam and Ed’s Total Football Podcast is one for soccer fans. The trio – Santo Cilauro, Ed Kavalee and Sam Pang – include plenty of humour, and regularly feature interviews with players and sports reporters, even comedians. Episodes can drop multiple times a week, or sometimes a little more sporadically. You may also like: The Outer Sanctum, Titus and Sergio’s Variety Hour, This Week in League NRL

SA N T O, E D & SA M

S T O RY T E L LI N G \ Like an audio-only version of Australian Story, The Real Thing shares tales that are simultaneously ordinary and extraordinary, from a wide variety of Australians. This ABC podcast has snack-sized episodes that range from tracking down an actor from a cult ’90s kids’ TV show to a series on locals from the predominantly indigenous town of Wilcannia in New South Wales. You may also like: Spun, All the Best S C I E N C E & E N VI R O N M E N T \ Australia’s flora and fauna is explored in the Radio National podcast, Off Track. Recorded in the great outdoors, it’s filled with soothing sounds of the environment as host Ann Jones chats to various experts about the natural world and our relationship with it. You may also like: Science VS, Shirtloads of Science. ●

UPGRADE TO A DUCTED SYSTEM Wednesday 13th June | 7.00pm 159 Burgundy Street Heidelberg RSVP on 9459 4933 or sales@meridiantravel.com.au

SOLO TRAVELLER NIGHT Travel Solo But Not Alone

Come & meet like minded travellers and hear about diverse solo journeys for the forthcoming year!

143 Lower Plenty Road Rosanna T. 9459 4933 159 Burgundy Street Heidelberg T. 9458 1555 sales@meridiantravel.com.au | meridiantravel.com.au

REFRIGERATED HEATING & COOLING SYSTEM WITH ZONE AND TEMPERATURE CONTROL TO EACH ROOM Ph. 9439 2749 airfusion.com.au Showroom at 1/38 Bridge St, Eltham VIC 3095 T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


CULTURE

Steeling against name theft ETIQUETTE APPLIES WHEN SELECTING YOUR BABY’S UNIQUE MONIKER

B

ack in the ’90s, before Gwyneth had Apple and Beyoncé had Blue Ivy, Seinfeld’s George Costanza tried to think up a unique name for his future child. In the episode, George reveals his name of choice – Seven – but to his dismay, his fiancee’s pregnant cousin likes it so much, she decides to use it herself. What was intended as an absurd plot line apparently rings true. Google ‘stealing baby names’ and 800,000 results pop up, ranging from

grievances shared on parenting forums to articles debating the issue. There’s even a term for it. “We call it ‘name sniping’,” says Jennifer Moss, founder of BabyNames.com and co-host of The Baby Names Podcast. “We get several messages, probably one or two a month, about it happening.” The anxiety around name sniping can be enhanced by parents wanting to give their kids names that are one of a kind – an especially modern desire and phenomenon.

When Moss checked the US Social Security Administration’s records for 1950 and 1960, she found that one in every three children had a name that ranked in the top 10 most popular names of the period. “Now it’s less than one per cent,” she says. “That’s telling us that parents are thinking outside the box and want a name that’s different from everyone else’s.” Sherri Suzanne, the founder of My Name For Life, a consultancy that helps parents select a baby name,

DON’T LET ANOTHER YEAR PASS BY INDIVIDUAL RENOVATION AND DESIGN SOLUTIONS. BUILT WITH CARE. START PLANNING NOW!

18

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

• Large Showroom 7 Kitchens on Display • 25 years of Satisfied Customers • Free Initial Consultation • Large Range of Materials & Colours • All Work Fully Guaranteed • Servicing All Areas ALSO AVAILABLE: Removal of old cabinets, plumbing, electrical, bin, hire, plaster cornices 385 Settlement Road, Thomastown 3074 T: 9466 2688 / 9465 7076 | F: 9464 1616 M: 0418 999 696 | E: tempo.kitchens@optusnet.com.au www.tempokitchens.com.au

12387747-DJ21-18 10065834-05

MANUFACTURERS OF Kitchens Cabinets | Bathroom Vanities Wall Units and Bars


WO R D S ● E R I N M U N R O

“We call it ‘name sniping’ ... we get several messages, probably one or two a month, about it happening.” – JENNIFER MOSS

“belongs” to. “I have had siblings quarrel over who had greater claim to a deceased relative’s name: did the younger sister have a right to use the name, since she had a child first? Was the older sister more entitled to the name by birthright?” So, what’s the etiquette when it comes to baby names, and how can cases of name sniping be resolved peacefully? “There aren’t hard-and-fast rules about it,” Moss says. “If it’s a close friend or family member who’s considering a name, you

should really ask them first if you can use it.” If you discover someone’s leaning towards a name you already told them you’d picked out, Moss advises having a face-to-face conversation – but keep it light. “Names are very personal to people, so I’d say approach it in a friendly manner and be open to compromise.” And if you can’t come to a resolution, let it go, and find a new name. After all, in Suzanne’s words, “the world is full of amazing names”. ●

ISTOCK

credits the trend for unique names with an increasingly globalised world and changing social mores. “Some of it is simple mathematics: there are a lot more names from which to choose,” she explains. “We hear new names daily on TV, in movies, on the internet, and in the news.” The experts agree that name sniping is a bigger issue when it happens within close circles, rather than among acquaintances. Suzanne usually encounters it when there’s a question of who a name

More bench More storage More style More features More finishes

More choice More experience More kitchen Less $$$$$ Free Quote

Showrooms open 7 Days 9-5

n e i ia d Ma ctor Vi

* Oakleigh Rowville

1430 Dandenong Rd 889 Wellington Rd

9530 4777 9755 4888

Member of HIA, NKBA & CMA, RPB (Registered building practioners) www.smithandsmith.com.au

Custom made kitchens made direct from own workshop

Beautiful bespoke Kitchens at friendly prices

Lifetime Warranty

Australia’s biggest kitchen showroom* © Copyright Smith & Smith Cabinet Makers Pty. Ltd. 2009 Reproduction in any form is prohibited, all rights reserved

G4866443AF-dp18Apr

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


EDUCATION

Preventing mid-year burnout

UNDERSTAND AND ACCEPT THAT PEOPLE ARE SMART IN DIFFERENT WAYS \ “It’s not a tragedy if

you’re not ‘school smart’ – it’s not because you’re less capable or stupid; you just have a different way of

doing things. Many, many people are very successful who weren’t successful at school.” SLEEP \ “I know it’s very hard when you’re stressed,

but if you deprive yourself of sleep, you’re more vulnerable to stress and depression.” For balance, Fuller marries rest with physical activity, “to keep some balance between the head and the body”.

ISTOCK

T

he VCE years can test a young person’s mettle like never before. Pressure, stress and fatigue can demand as much of students as any assessment task. Andrew Fuller, a clinical psychologist who specialises in working with young people, points to a survey of almost 200,000 latesecondary school children as evidence of the strain. “It showed that 59 per cent of year 11 and 12 young women and 46 per cent of young men in those years suffer clinical levels of anxiety. It’s prolific,” he says. As students approach the halfway mark of the VCE year, Fuller offers these tips for fending off physical and emotional fatigue:

DEVELOP A SYSTEM THAT WORKS FOR YOU \ KEEP A DIVERSE SOCIAL CIRCLE \ “Because of

the pressure, tension can be borne out of friendship disputes. You want a range of friends, so if somebody goes a bit crazy on you, you’re not on your own.” TAKE A DAY OFF A WEEK \ “One of the things I often say to students is you have to specify some time off or you won’t get it. Taking time to refresh and renew is critical – if you don’t take breaks, your brain will take them for you.”

Here are two great ways to see how we are

Come on a Tour

“Think about the times you learn best, and the times you learn least well, and shape your routine around that. Even the world’s best system isn’t going to work all the time – we’re human beings; there are days when we can’t be stuffed. You just need to get back into the system as soon as you can; not beat yourself around the ears when you’ve had a day or two off.” ●

Growing hearts and minds

Register for a Think ELTHAM Workshop

Offering Early Learning (3 and 4 year old Kinder) through to VCE we are a proudly coeducational independent school. Join us on one of our tours and find out for yourself how amazing a school day can really be. Upcoming Tour Opportunities: • • • •

Wednesday 23 May Tuesday 19 June Wednesday 25 July Friday 17 August

Weekday tours commence at 9.15am and bookings are essential - please use the online booking form on our website, or call 9437 1421 today. Early Learning to VCE | 1660 Main Road Research Ph 9437 1421 | elthamcollege.vic.edu.au | registrar@elthamcollege.vic.edu.au

20

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

WO R D S ● PE T E R H A N L O N

Think ELTHAM offers young people in Grade 4 - Year 8 the opportunity to learn a new skill for free. Workshop sessions are taught by ELTHAM College students who are keen to share their passion for a subject. Saturday 26 May 2018 For more information, and to book on these free sessions, please visit our website.


EDUCATION & INNOVATION

A holistic approach to learning

GREG BRIGGS

SPECIAL PROMOTION

T

here’s an old saying that many people, including teachers at ELTHAM College, have used at one time or another, and that is: “Experience is education for the soul.” And while there’s certainly a lot of academic learning happening inside the classroom at ELTHAM, there are also some amazing cocurricular programs – held outside of class time – which are teaching junior and senior students alike important lessons about pursuing their passions. ELTHAM College’s deputy director of Junior School Kate McCracken and science teacher in the senior school Angus Fonstin oversee co-curricular activities in the school and encourage students to take part in activities in the arts, sports and science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The college’s co-curricular programs offer activities including kayaking, set and prop designs, coding and even a comedy club. “We have a huge range of activities for our students to get involved in,” Fonstin explains on a busy Monday morning at the school. “From robotics and problem-solving clubs, to sporting teams and philosophy groups – there’s always something exciting happening that students have the opportunity to participate in. “There is quite literally something for everyone. Through the extensive variety of opportunities, students are able to further engage in our dynamic learning community, embracing collaboration and furthering their passions.” The activities are aimed at not only getting students learning in a different environment, but also broadening their horizons by getting them to interact with students outside of their friendship groups and year levels. “Most of our activities are multi-age, catering to a minimum of two year levels,” McCracken says. “Some are for a number of year levels, including the Wagner Concert Band which is aimed at years 5 to 8. This is a great opportunity for our junior school students to transition into senior school.” Senior students are benefiting, not only from what they gain through the school’s co-curricular activities and programs but what they give back through programs such as Think ELTHAM. “Think ELTHAM is a brilliant concept which empowers students to share their passions and

ANGUS FONSTIN & K AT E M C C R AC K E N

knowledge with others and is essentially an embodiment of our thinking culture,” Fonstin says. “Inspired by a program run by the Massachusetts’ Institute of Technology (MIT), our principal, Simon Le Plastrier, introduced Think ELTHAM, which is essentially a learning program run by our secondary school students for primary-aged children from local schools. “It gives our students the chance to teach an idea or passion they have, it gives back to the community. “It’s a fantastic opportunity for students to recognise the power of a learning community founded on sharing and celebrating knowledge.” At ELTHAM College the co-curricular programs are mostly run by teachers, but there are others who lend their time and expertise to the students. “Teachers run or are present at each activity. We work with some outside staff such as ex-Olympian and alumni of the college Warrick Draper who coordinates our kayaking,” McCracken says. “[It] provides a great opportunity for teachers to utilise the many additional talents/interests they may have as well as enabling opportunities for them to upskill with the support and involvement of

external professionals. It is also a wonderful opportunity for students to recognise that learning never stops,” Fonstin adds. By taking part in co-curricular activities, students are learning new skills in activities they are passionate about. “An involvement in co-curricular activities encourages a strong foundation for students to recognise and prioritise a work-life balance. Student involvement supports their social and emotional development and refines effective communication,” Fonstin says. “I think the fundamental purpose of education today should be the holistic development of students and our school’s philosophy, ‘Growing Hearts and Minds’ embodies this,” he says. “Co-curricular activities are such an important part of a student’s holistic development. They complement a student’s classroom experiences by providing a platform for students to further express themselves and find or explore their passion. “This in turn enables students to further contextualise their learning, helping them prepare for whatever their future may hold.” ● MELISSA HEAGNEY

ELTHAM COLLEGE \ 1660 Main Road, Research. ● 03 9437 1421 ● www.elthamcollege.vic.edu.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

21


FEATURE HOUSE

DOWNLOAD THE DOMAIN APP SEE MORE IMAGES, FLOORPLANS & PROPERTY DETAILS

IVANHOE EAST \ 21 WARNCLIFFE ROAD 5

4

3

Y

ellow roses line the approach path to this residence. Associated with friendship and joy, they make for a fitting introduction to Frossworth, which is the title of the grand pile, built in 1932 for the father of the late Dr Hugh Wirth; the latter an animal advocate, televisionfamed veterinarian, holder of an AO and missed by many creatures; great, small and human. People keen on period gravitas will find it in abundance here. Those insistent on modernisation where it matters will be impressed, especially by the kitchen where granite benchtops and splashbacks, stainless-steel Miele appliances and custom cabinetry encourage cooks to scale culinary heights. As for home entertaining, a choice of formal and casual rooms, a backyard high on style but low on upkeep and a connection between indoors and out serves up possibilities on a proud platter. The approximately 1241-square-metre corner block is one of the larger in the area. Close to top-notch schools, boulevard parklands, the Yarra River and Ivanhoe station, it’s no wonder the local demographic boasts families that have been here for generations. Enter via a portico gateway. When the stroll through the roses is done, enter the clinker-brick beauty through the tessellated-tile entrance porch. Double doors in the foyer announce a formal dining room with an ornate fireplace. Next to the dining room, a formal lounge affords another option for fireside pleasure. The open-plan kitchen, meals and living area stretches out wide at the rear, adjoining the sandstone, entertainment terrace through three sets of french doors. Glass fencing separates the terrace from the pool area, and an outdoor bathroom means there’s no need for wet bodies to traipse through the house. The main bedroom, with walk-in wardrobe and enormous en suite, is at the front of the residence. Behind it, the study presents a third open fireplace. Bucking the term minor in terms of spaciousness, four bedrooms on the first floor branch off a central retreat. Three of them have inbuilt desks. Serving them all, the principal bathroom has twin basins in a period-style, timber vanity unit, a bath and a glass shower. The extensive list of extras includes eight kilowatts of solar power. ● KAY KEIGHERY property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “SPLENDIDLY DESIGNED FOR FAMILY LIVING, THIS SUBSTANTIAL AND REGAL HOME BLENDS SUPERIOR CRAFTSMANSHIP WITH A WARMLY WELCOMING AIR.” JAMES LABIRIS - AGENT

AGENT \ Nelson Alexander 9490 2900 PRICE \ $3.4 million – $3.5 million EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST \ Close May 22 at 5pm

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 22

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


ELTHAM \ 17 ELY STREET 5

3

2

Good luck keeping friends at bay here, as the facilities are too good not to share. With an L-shaped pool off a large entertainment deck, there’s plenty of space for outdoor socialising. Ditto for indoors, where you’ll find a lounge, rumpus room and open-plan hub. The block is big, the gardens are beautifully landscaped and the fixtures and finishes impress. Two fireplaces provide a choice for winter huddles. For warmer months, two sets of folding glass doors turn the rumpus room into an indoor/ outdoor affair. Three of the bedrooms have walk-in wardrobes, two have built-ins, and two including the main have en suites. Quality carpets and polished floorboards make for attractive variation. There’s a garage up front, and a big shed in the backyard. A substantial, temperature-controlled cellar assures a quality drop always at hand, while its secretive, lower-level position means only the informed might access its riches. Montmorency Primary is less than a kilometre away, and Eltham Secondary a mere 300 metres. ● KAY KEIGHERY AGENT \ Morrison Kleeman 9431 2444 PRICE \ $1.45 million – $1.55 million AUCTION \ May 19 at 1pm Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

IVANHOE \ 139 IVANHOE PARADE

PLENTY \ 8 LILLYPILLY LANE

3

5

2

1

3

2

Named Ruby Cottage, this gem of a Californian bungalow hails from the 1920s. It’s single-level appeal is reinforced by a large, leafy and productive backyard. Enter from a columned porch to a foyer leading to a bedroom with an open fireplace, and another with a window seat and access to the study. The semi open-plan kitchen, dining and living areas have Baltic pine floors, mock columns, dado walls and glass sliders to a covered, vine-entwined terrace. There’s a shower over a bath in the principal bathroom, an ironing station in the second bathroom/laundry combo, and a workshop attached to the garage. ● KAY KEIGHERY

Architect-designed, quality built, dressed to perfection and buoyed by a north-facing pool in neat gardens, there’s nothing for the new owners of this house to do but move in, spread out and get on with a lux lifestyle. The address is almost as charming as the wide, stone-clad facade. The lounge has a gas fireplace and glass doors in the open-plan hub create a broad connection with the covered barbecue terrace. Kids will appreciate the rumpus room, which also opens to outdoors. The main bathroom has a shower and claw-foot bath. Zoned away from the minors, the main bedroom comes with all the trappings. ● KAY KEIGHERY

AGENT \ Miles 9497 3222 PRICE \ $1.6 million – $1.66 million AUCTION \ May 26 at 2pm

AGENT \ Jellis Craig 9432 1444 PRICE \ $1.575 million – $1.65 million EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST \ Close May 29 at 6pm

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

23


24

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

25


26

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


28

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


/RZHU+HLGHOEHUJ5RDG(DJOHPRQW >ŽĐĂƚĞĚŝŶĂŐůĞŵŽŶƚ͛ƐŶŽƚĂďůĞtĂůƚĞƌƵƌůĞLJ'ƌŝĨĨŝŶ ƐƚĂƚĞƚŚŝƐƵŶŝƋƵĞŚŽŵĞŽŶϭϭϭϮŵϮ;ĂƉƉƌŽdžͿŽĨĨĞƌƐ ĐŽƵŶƚƌLJͲƐƚLJůĞůŝǀŝŶŐǁŝƚŚƐƵďƵƌďĂŶĐŽŶǀĞŶŝĞŶĐĞ͘dŚĞƌĞ ĂƌĞƚŚƌĞĞďĞĚƌŽŽŵƐƉůƵƐŚŽŵĞŽĨĨŝĐĞĂůůƐƚLJůŝƐŚůLJ ĞŶŚĂŶĐĞĚďLJƉŽůŝƐŚĞĚƚŝŵďĞƌĨůŽŽƌŝŶŐĂŶĚŽƌŶĂƚĞ ƉůĂƐƚĞƌǁŽƌŬ͘dŚĞŬŝƚĐŚĞŶŝƐĐŽŵƉůĞƚĞǁŝƚŚĂ ĐŽŶƚĞŵƉŽƌĂƌLJĨĞĞů͕ĂŵƉůĞďĞŶĐŚƐƉĂĐĞĂŶĚŽǀĞƌůŽŽŬƐ ůƵƐŚƌĞĂƌŐĂƌĚĞŶƐ͘ŝƌĞĐƚĂĐĐĞƐƐƚŽƉƌŝǀĂƚĞƉĂƌŬůĂŶĚƚŽ ƚŚĞƌĞĂƌŽĨƚŚĞƉƌŽƉĞƌƚLJ͘dŚĞĂƐƚĞƌŶ&ƌĞĞǁĂLJŝƐŝŶ ĐůŽƐĞƌĂŶŐĞ͕ĂƐŝƐƚŚĞ,ĞŝĚĞůďĞƌŐZĂŝů͕ƵƐƚŝŶ͕ŵƵůƚŝƉůĞ ƐĐŚŽŽůƐĂŶĚƚŚĞzĂƌƌĂǁĂůŬŝŶŐƚƌĂŝůƐ͘

ƌƚĞĚŐĂƌ͘ĐŽŵ͘ĂƵ hd/KE^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϮϲƚŚDĂLJĂƚϭϭ͗ϯϬĂŵ;hŶůĞƐƐ^ŽůĚWƌŝŽƌͿ s/t^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϭϭ͘ϯϬͲϭϮ͘ϬϬƉŵΘdŚƵƌƐĚĂLJϭϮ͘ϬϬͲϭϮ͘ϯϬƉŵ WƌƵĞ:ŽŶĞƐϬϰϭϵϯϱϮϰϯϵ ůůŝŽƚƚ<ĂǀĂŶĂŐŚϬϰϯϭϳϮϭϵϵϮ

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


26 Rotherwood Road, Ivanhoe East This near-new masterbuilt residence offers a grand design for family living close to Ivanhoe & Eaglemont Villages, leading schools & transport. It comprises 5 double BRs (3 ensuite, dual WIRs to main) + 2 further bathrooms; spectacular multi-zoned living/dining flowing to entertaining terrace,

30

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

heated mineral pool & garden; state-of-the-art kitchen/butler´s pantry (V-Zug & Miele appliances); home office, study & retreat; powder room & laundry. Including a vast basement with multiple parking, this luxurious home features zoned a/c, double glazing & premium fittings. Land size: 595sqm (approx.).


5 Expressions of Interest Close Tueseday 29 May at 6pm Inspect Thursday 2.45-3.15pm Saturday 12.15-12.45pm

Guide Contact

5

10

$3,300,000 - $3,500,000 Liz Walker 0412 659 140 James Labiris 0409 094 767

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

31


138 Maltravers Road, Ivanhoe This splendid Arts & Crafts residence (1910), authentically renovated on a vast landscaped block (1058m2 approx), offers sitting & dining rooms; custom kitchen open to expansive informal living/ dining; handsome main living room; retreat; 4 double BRs (ensuite to main) plus study; family

32

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

bathroom, laundry & powder room. Including a northerly entertaining terrace & double garage, this outstanding home, close to Ivanhoe Village & leading schools, features ample storage, polished floors, elegant period detail, ducted heating/cooling & security.


4 Expressions of Interest Tuesday 6 May at 5pm Inspect Thursday 6.30-7.00pm Saturday 10.00-10.30am

Guide Contact

2

2

$2,700,000 - $2,900,000 James Labiris 0409 094 767 Liz Walker 0412 659 140

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

33


21 Warncliffe Road, Ivanhoe East With grand rooms & superior craftsmanship, this magnificent clinker brick residence on a vast corner block (1241m2 approx) offers formal sitting & dining rooms; spectacular family living zone flowing to an entertaining terrace with heated swimming pool and 4th bathroom; bespoke Miele kitchen; 5

34

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

double BRs (2 ensuite); study & retreat; family bathroom, laundry & powder room. Including a 3-car garage, this exceptional home close to schools & Village shops features period detail, custom cabinetry, ducted heating/refrigerated cooling, security & 8kw solar power.


5 Expressions of Interest Close Tuesday 22 May at 5pm Inspect Thursday 5.00-5.30pm Saturday 3.00-3.30pm

Guide Contact

4

3

$3,400,000 - $3,500,000 James Labiris 0409 094 767 Liz Walker 0412 659 140

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


2a Rose Street, Ivanhoe This elegant 4BR residence, renovated by Biasol Design, offers a light-filled design for low maintenance living, close to Ivanhoe Village & transport, leading schools & parks. With upper-level CBD views, it comprises spectacular living/dining flowing to terrace & garden; bespoke kitchen/meals

36

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

(Miele appliances, marble benchtops) & butler´s pantry; 4 double BRs (WIR, ensuite to main) + study; family bathroom, powder room & laundry. Including a double garage & custom storage, this exceptional home features oak floors, new carpets, heating/cooling, security & surround sound. Land size: 481sqm (approx.)


4 Auction Inspect

Sat 26th May at 11am Thursday 5.45-6.15pm Saturday 3.45-4.15pm

Guide Contact

2

2

$1,800,000 - $1,950,000 Liz Walker 0412 659 140 James Labiris 0409 094 767

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

37


38

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


40

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


Eltham 9 Eucalyptus Road

A private sanctuary on 6,736sqm approx. Nestled at the top of a long tree-lined driveway reminiscent of a private country lane, this renovated park-like hideaway on a fully landscaped 6,736 sqm (approx.) allotment delivers the lifestyle benefits of a rural setting with the convenience of being within minutes of Eltham Hotel, Main Rd shops and cafes, Eltham train station, the scenic Diamond Creek Trail, Eltham East Primary School and Eltham High School.

5

3

FOR SALE PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Saturday 1-1.30pm

2 CONTACT Jason Stepanow 0405 159 650 Spiro Drossos 0425 709 479 Eltham 03 9431 1243

Just Listed.

Eltham 28 Antoinette Boulevard

An Eltham escape with city lifestyle benefits. Escape the hustle and bustle of city life and bask in a lifestyle of pure serenity with this natural family wonderland, set amidst breathtaking bushland surrounds on a peaceful 1,440sqm (approx.) block. Only minutes to Eltham Village shops and cafes, transport, schools and parks, this stylishly renovated split-level home zones all four bedrooms away from the two radiant living areas, while renovated bathrooms, gourmet kitchen, alfresco entertaining and towering cathedral ceilings deliver additional wow factor.

4

2

AUCTION

Sat, 2nd Jun at 11:00am PRICE $950,000 - $1,045,000 INSPECT Thu 5.30-6pm, Sat 1.30-2pm & Sun 11.30-12pm

1

2

CONTACT Jason Stepanow 0405 159 650 Brent McCormack 0478 658 695 Eltham 03 9431 1243

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


Eltham 8/31 Dudley Street

Live in the heart of Eltham! An architectural triumph showcasing a superior design and remarkable quality; this illustrious town residence features an innovative floorplan spanning three luxurious levels. Conveniently placed on the ground floor is a private bedroom appointed with a sleek ensuite and built-in robes. The upper level features two remaining double bedrooms with built-in robes and modern ensuites. Highlights include split system air conditioners, hardwood floorboards, guest powder room, water tank and a double auto garage with internal access.

3

3

SALE BY SET DATEÂŽ

Mon, 28th May at 6:00pm PRICE $720,000 - $790,000 INSPECT Thu 4.30-5pm & Sat 12.30-1pm

2 CONTACT Jason Stepanow 0405 159 650 Oliver Hu 0450 097 376 Eltham 03 9431 1243

Auction this Sat.

Bundoora 16 Ledbury Crescent

A perfect place to start. Openly appealing is this 3 bedroom family home which is immediately liveable yet offers potential for updating. Living room incorporating glass walled dining alcove, kitchen with meals and gas stove, charming bathroom with bath and shower. Features ducted heating, evaporative cooling, ceiling fans, polished hardwood flooring, external window shutters, security doors, 2 garden sheds and double garage. Close to local schools, parkland, Watsonia Village and Bundoora, metres from 566 bus (RMIT & La Trobe Uni).

3

1

AUCTION

Sat, 19th May at 2:00pm LAND 581 sqm approx. INSPECT Thursday 6:00 - 6:30pm Saturday 1:30 - 2:00pm

42

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

1

2

CONTACT Rina Ma 0477 773 333 David Moxon 0413 673 636 Bundoora 9467 5444


Just Listed.

Watsonia 1 High Street

They donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t come better than this. Perfectly positioned and in pristine condition, this 2 bedroom (BIRs) unit comprises a beautiful kitchen with generous dining space and gleaming white appliances, delightful living room with reverse cycle air conditioning, 2 way bathroom plus powder room, laundry, private courtyard and single auto garage with internal access. Sparkling marble floor tiles, good carpets, excellent security with window shutters and security doors. Metres from Watsonia Village shops and train station.

2

1

2

AUCTION

Sat, 2nd Jun at 12:00pm LAND 232 sqm approx. INSPECT Wednesday 5:00 - 5:30pm Saturday 10:00 - 10:30am

1

CONTACT David Moxon 0413 673 636 Chloe Mcgrath-Hudson 0437 193 037 Barry Plant 9432 9919

Montmorency 68 Mountain View Road

A timeless family sanctuary. Savour the timeless living experience on 1473sqm (approx) with this superbly renovated family home that successfully blends the gifts of its period era with the best modern living has to offer. Enjoy the lifestyle benefits of two living areas, an alfresco deck, two bathrooms, an enchanting backyard with a fire pit and access to Were Street shops and cafes, excellent local schools, Montmorency train station, Greensborough Plaza, scenic parks and the Metropolitan Ring Road!

4

2

SALE BY SET DATEÂŽ

Tue, 22nd May at 6:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 2.30-3pm, Sat 10.30-11am & Sun 12.30-1pm

3 CONTACT Mitchell Etherington 0423 932 899 Robert Di Giulio 0428 273 739 Eltham 03 9431 1243

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


Plenty 13 Fineran Court Bespoke Brilliance Architect designed and carefully crafted with an immediately obvious commitment to quality, every bespoke detail of this new poolside home has been thoughtfully considered and implemented. Five bedrooms, two with sumptuous ensuites, luxury family bathroom, rumpus/theatre room, teen retreat, open plan living and a fully equipped Miele stone kitchen enjoy a new level of fit and finish that will appeal to the most astute buyer and all on 1043m2

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen 44

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5

4

3

1

Private Sale Inspect Wednesday 5:30-6:30pm Saturday 3pm-3:30pm Contact Rocco Montanaro 0412 379 171 Contact Malcolm Perkins 0457 514 651 Office 9431 2444 Web 13finerancourt.com

morrisonkleeman.com.au


N O K TI E C WE AU IS TH

Eltham 17 Ely Street Beautifully Accommodating. Exceptional Entertainer Enviably positioned in a first-class location, this inspired family home introduces modern design ideas and quality craftsmanship that takes this home to a level that will tick all of your home buying requirements. Set on a very generous 918 m2 allotment, landscaped gardens wrap around a family focused layout. A brilliant blend of living spaces complemented by a decked alfresco overlooking a sparkling pool, deliver a sought after indoor-outdoor domain.

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen

5 Auction Inspect Contact Contact Office Web

3

2

Saturday 19th May at 1pm Wednesday 4:30 - 5pm & Saturday 12:30-1pm Graham Morrison 0417 101 997 Lachie Ay A len 0430 709 674 9431 2444 w w.17elystreet.com ww

morrisonkleeman.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


Eltham North 7 Gum Glade Glorious Lifestyle On Gum Glade Turn your back on the trivial distractions of a hectic day-to-day life and instead let every day inspire you from this relaxed setting of Eltham serenity. Enjoy the tranquillity of a whisper quiet no-thru-road, only one neighbour and a reserve opposite and still have all the benefits of Eltham merely minutes away. Owner built, blending mudbrick, with a variety of timbers that work seamlessly together, generous indoor spaces partner perfectly with an expansive poolside decked alfresco to create the country quiet, city close living we all dream of!

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen 46

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3 Auction Inspect ESR Contact Office Web

2

2

1

Saturday 2nd June at 1pm Thursday 2:30 - 3pm & Saturday 11:30am - 12pm $1,400,000 - $1,540,00 Gayle Blackw k ood 0408 776 070 kw 9431 2444 7gumglade.com

morrisonkleeman.com.au


Yallambie 10 Delatite Court Commitment to Intelligent Design, Quality and Craftsmanship Designed by our vendors and constructed by Englehart Homes, Melbourne´s most-awarded luxury and custom home builder, this bespoke home on a 855 m2 landscaped allotment (approx) offers stunning street appeal, a fabulous blend of cleverly conceived inclusions, top quality fittings, fixtures and finishes and an obvious commitment to excellent craftsmanship. A choice of three expansive living zones complementing a shady alfresco area surrounded by established plantings create a stunning opportunity to enjoy enviable indoor-outdoor living. Expressions of Interest offers close Tuesday the 5th of June at 5pm (unless sold prior)

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen

3

2

2

1

Expressions of Interest Inspect By Appointment ESR $1,300,000 - $1,400,000 Contact Graham Morrison 0417 101 997 Peter Kleeman 0419 002 103 Contact Office 9431 2444 Web w w.10DelatiteCourt.com ww

morrisonkleeman.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


Eltham 2/3 Diamond Street A Picture Of Contemporary Class This just completed home in a sought after Eltham pocket leads the way with innovative spaces, easily adaptably living and amazing attention-to-detail. Specified to an elite standard, features including a blend of porcelain and Caesarstone bench tops and splashbacks, Smeg appliances, Engineered Oak timber floors enhance a floorplan introducing three bedrooms (main with bespoke fitted walk-in robe) two luxury bathrooms and spacious living complemented by an entertainers deck. It´s a picture of contemporary class delivering a home of the highest order.

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen 48

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3 Auction Inspect Contact Contact Office Web

2

2

Saturday 2nd June at 11am Thursday 4:30 - 5pm & Saturday 10 - 10:30am Rocco Montanaro 0412 379 171 Malcolm Perkins 0457 514 651 9431 2444 2-3diamondst.com

morrisonkleeman.com.au


Panton Hill 50 Long Gully Road Rural Serenity In A Perfect Location Positioned at the peak of this 20 acre property (approx.) to make the most of a relaxing rural outlook; perfect presentation, a fabulous alfresco area with outdoor kitchen and spa, separate two bedroom dwelling, multiple garages and a huge workshop elevate this excellent property from must see...to must have. Suited to any hobby farming, indulging your passion for a horse, home based business pursuit or just totally relaxed living, it enjoys close proximity to Kangaroo Ground, Eltham, Warrandyte and of course Panton Hill.

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen

5

2

2

Expressions of Interest Inspect Saturday 2pm-2:30pm Contact Rocco Montanaro 0412 379 171 Contact Malcolm Perkins 0457 514 651 Office 9431 2444 Web 50longgullyrd.com

morrisonkleeman.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


Eltham North 13 Kelway Crescent Comfort, Functionality And A Relaxed Family Lifestyle Impeccably updated for family enjoyment, yet retaining the design elements that make Merchant Builders homes so sought after, this immaculate home on 752m2 (approx.) offers fabulous living in a sought after pocket, adjacent to the lifestyle benefits of Kelway Reserve. Light filled and luxurious with floor to ceiling windows and a central atrium, clever design creates a seamless connection to expansive poolside outdoor spaces paved in reclaimed reds and surrounded by beautiful, easy-care gardens.

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen 50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3 Auction Inspect Contact Contact Office Web

2

2

1

Saturday 26th May at 12pm Wednesday 4:30-5pm Saturday 1pm-1:30pm Rocco Montanaro 0412 379 171 Malcolm Perkins 0457 514 651 9431 2444 13kelwaycrs.com

morrisonkleeman.com.au


Montmorency 65 Buena Vista Drive Enormous Dimensions. Enormous Potential In a leafy crescent directly opposite the primary school, seconds to shops and cafes on Grand Boulevard, and an easy stroll to Were Street Village and the station, this family home on a monster 1137m2 allotment (stca) offers an increasingly rare opportunity to make the most of unrivalled position and potential. Currently improved by a three bedroom family home it offers comfortable living or will pay its own way while you are looking to renovate, clear the block and build your dream home or undertake a redevelopment (stca) it´s destined to lead to a fabulous future.

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen

3 Auction Inspect Contact Contact Office

1

2

Saturday 2nd June at 2pm By Appointment James Newton 0421 733 914 Graham Morrison 0417 101 997 9431 2444

morrisonkleeman.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

51


Briar Hill 100 Fernside Avenue Coveted Opportunity In A Perfect Pocket Set behind easy care landscaped gardens, this refurbished family home on a wonderful 809m2 allotment (approx) introduces new bathroom, ensuite and kitchen in a floorplan introducing carefully considered contemporary quality complemented by sought after alfresco excellence. Three bedrooms and a study work brilliantly with a large living zone sweeping out to the decked alfresco that´ll have you outside as often as in! Moments from the primary school, park and Briar Hill village, both Greensborough and Eltham are readily accessible.

3 Auction Inspect ESR Contact Contact Office Web

2

2

1

Saturday 26th May at 11am Thursday 5:30 - 6pm & Saturday 12 - 12:30pm $980,000 - $1,050,000 Nick Dinakis 0410 742 804 Ciaran Brannigan 0410 544 478 9435 7666 100fernsideavenue.com

N O K TI E C WE AU IS TH

Yallambie 3 Wirrabara Court Perfectly Updated. Perfectly Positioned Meticulously maintained and tastefully refreshed, this immaculate three bedroom, two bathroom home, wrapping around a huge central, decked alfresco dining and entertaining area, dishes up flawless family living. Rejuvenated with an eye for detail and a careful consideration to easy living, fresh paint, glossy polished boards and new carpets are just the start in a light filled interior space which includes a generous formal lounge, formal dining and expansive casual living overlooked by a striking stone kitchen.

Eltham | Greensborough | Doreen 52

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3 Auction Inspect Contact Contact Office Web

2

1

1

Saturday 19th May at 11am Thursday 4:30- 5pm & Saturday 10:30 - 11am Graham Morrison 0417 101 997 Lachie Ay A len 0430 709 674 9431 2444 w w.3wirrabaracourt.com ww

morrisonkleeman.com.au


ELTHAM NORTH 22 PROGRESS ROAD This beautifully updated steel frame home offers a spacious interior with 2 inviting living zones, Caesarstone kitchen, 3 bedrooms (master with modern ensuite), 2 modern bathrooms and fabulous alfresco deck. With a level familyfriendly garden, abundant storage, double garage, OSP, workshop and stylish landscaping â&#x20AC;&#x201C; this home has it all! Auction Saturday 26th May at 2.00pm Quote $860,000 - $920,000 Land size 823m2 approx. View Wednesday 5.00 - 5.30pm Saturday 1.00 - 1.30pm Peter Don 0410 609 006 Shane Leete 0419 118 302 Jeremy Cleaver 0403 199 511 Office 1004 Main Road, Eltham Phone 9439 4022

3

2

2

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

53


VIEWBANK 26-28 GRAHAM ROAD Offering a superb family lifestyle in a prized park-side location, this delightful 3 bedroom home delivers 2 spacious living areas, big practical kitchen/meals, media room/4th bedroom, sunny patio and large garden ideal for relaxed outdoor entertaining. Within Viewbank College zone and close to schools, Banyule Flats, Heidelberg and Rosanna Village and bus service â&#x20AC;&#x201C; inspect today! Auction Saturday 26th May at 11.00am Quote $1,000,000 - $1,100,000 Land size 810m2 approx. View Wednesday 4.00 - 4.30pm Saturday 11.00 - 11.30am Peter Don 0410 609 006 Shane Leete 0419 118 302 Jeremy Cleaver 0403 199 511 Office 1004 Main Road, Eltham Phone 9439 4022

4

2

2

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

54

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


ELTHAM NORTH 11 St Andrews Court This quality-built family home within SHSC zone is designed for total ease of living, featuring spacious formal and casual living zones, modern kitchen/meals, 4 bedrooms (2 with ensuite access) and updated family bathroom. A covered outdoor entertaining zone leads to solar IG pool and private family-friendly garden, while extras include ducted heating/ cooling/vacuum, 2 wood fires, double garage/workshop and gated OSP. Close to local shops, a choice of schools, Ring Road and more. Auction Saturday 19th May at 12.00pm Land size 906m2 approx.

Auction This Saturday

View Thursday 5.30 - 6.00pm Saturday 11.30 - 12.00pm Lee Murray 0428 119 262 Jeremy Cleaver 0403 199 511 Office 1004 Main Road, Eltham Phone 9439 4022

4

2

2

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

GREENSBOROUGH 3 Boulton Court Featuring a 2-storey design in a quiet cul de sac, this stylish home presents an exciting opportunity complete with a Caesarstone kitchen boasting gloss white cabinetry and s/steel appliances, open plan dining/living zone with bi-fold doors to an alfresco deck and landscaped courtyard, open study, 3 robed bedrooms (ground floor master with WIR/ensuite), sleek main bathroom and powder room. With split system heating/cooling, gas log fire and remote double garage with internal access, youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re just moments from Greensborough Plaza, bus, train, a choice of schools and Ring Road. Stylish easy living can be yours! For Sale Quote Asking $975,000 View Thursday 5.00 - 5.30pm Saturday 12.00 - 12.30pm Ryan Buckingham 0423 506 187 Cate Li 0439 209 545 Office Cnr Rattray Road & Were Street, Montmorency Phone 9434 6666

3

2

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

55


GREENSBOROUGH 11 Greenview Court This superb family home enjoys generous proportions and floods of natural light throughout 3 living zones, bright open kitchen with s/steel appliances, 3 robed bedrooms (master with dressing room and ensuite), study/4th bedroom and family bathroom. A covered alfresco zone is ideal for entertaining, while extras include ducted heating/cooling, modern blinds, sound system, timber floors, fresh paintwork, new carpet, double garage and easy access to a full range of amenities. Auction Saturday 19th May at 11.00am Quote $900,000 - $970,000

Auction This Saturday

Land size 500m2 approx. View Wednesday 5.00 - 5.30pm Saturday 10.30 - 11.00am Ryan Buckingham 0423 506 187 Cate Li 0439 209 545 Office Cnr Rattray Road & Were Street, Montmorency Phone 9434 6666

4

2

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

GREENSBOROUGH 29 Fricker Avenue With Plenty River Parklands at your doorstep, this fabulous home is just a short stroll to Montmorency SC and Were Street! The beautifully renovated interior delivers 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, study and a fabulous kitchen/dining/living zone showcasing s/steel appliances, walk-in pantry and gas log fire. Outside, a paved alfresco overlooks level lawn and adjacent parkland, while extras include double carport, tool shed, secure fencing, cubby and great Greensborough convenience. Auction Saturday 26th May at 1.00pm Quote $720,000 - $770,000 Land size 600m2 approx. View Thursday 6.00 - 6.30pm Saturday 2.00 - 2.30pm Ryan Buckingham 0423 506 187 Cate Li 0439 209 545 Office Cnr Rattray Road & Were Street, Montmorency Phone 9434 6666

4

3

4

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

56

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

1


BRIAR HILL 64 Gladstone Road Enjoying direct river frontage and elevated views, this unique family home is just a short walk from local schools and train station. Set on a leafy 2400m2 approx allotment, the generous residence delivers 4 robed bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, fireside lounge/dining, a light-filled sunroom and well-equipped timber kitchen. An indoor pool adds a touch of luxury, while a paved BBQ zone and level garden add family appeal. Moments from a full range of amenities - act now! Auction Saturday 19th May at 11.00am Quote $950,000 - $990,000

Auction This Saturday

Land size 2400m2 approx. View Thursday 4.00 - 4.30pm Saturday 10.30 - 11.00am David Oakley 0439 397 284 Scott Anderson 0412 855 775 Office 104 Grimshaw St, Greensborough Phone 9435 0999

4

3

11

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

BRIAR HILL 212 Mountain View Road Potential abounds at this sturdy brick home, enjoying a fabulous 843m2 approx corner allotment with driveway access via a quiet side street. An exciting opportunity to renovate, rebuild or develop into a multi-dwelling site (STCA), this property is certain to hold broad appeal in a prime Briar Hill location. The classic home comprises 3 bedrooms (master with ensuite), family bathroom, spacious lounge/dining and central kitchen. The huge rear garden is essentially a blank canvas that awaits transformation, while other highlights include ducted heating, air conditioning, double carport and shed. Auction Saturday 26th May at 12.00pm Land size 843m2 approx. View Thursday 5.00 - 5.30pm Saturday 11.00 - 11.30am Stuart Buckingham 0411 743 336 Ashley Maggs 0437 7567 765 Office 104 Grimshaw St, Greensborough Phone 9435 0999

3

2

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

57


MONTMORENCY 28 Graeme Avenue This top 1st home/downsizer/investment opportunity enjoys a sought-after Montmorency position. Featuring fresh paintwork and new carpet, this spotless home delivers light and inviting lounge/dining, timber kitchen with gas cooking, 3 good-sized bedrooms with robes (master with direct bathroom access), clever 2-way main bathroom and full-sized laundry with garden access. The courtyard provides an important outdoor element that is easy to manage, while extras include gas heating, air conditioning, secure carport and a short walk to Were Street shops, cafes and train station. Auction Saturday 2nd June at 11.00am Land size 309m2 approx. View Thursday 4.00 - 4.30pm Saturday 11.00 - 11.30am Simon McEvoy 0412 319 046 Sean Rice 0448 010 787 Office Cnr Rattray Road & Were Street, Montmorency Phone 9434 6666

3

1

1

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

WATSONIA 12 McKellar Street This freshly updated home is practical, stylish and sparkling from top to bottom. The light and airy interior includes 3 bedrooms, designer bathroom, lounge/dining with gas log fire and a fabulous kitchen boasting softclosing cabinetry, quality appliances and stone benchtops. A covered rear deck leads to the family-friendly garden, while extras include hardwood floors, ducted heating, air-con, secure 4 car-carport and workshop/shed. Close to the bus, train, Ring Road, shops and schools. Auction Saturday 19th May at 1.00pm Quote $800,000 - $880,000

Auction This Saturday

Land size 533m2 approx. View Wednesday 6.00 - 6.30pm Saturday 12.30 - 1.00pm Stuart Buckingham 0411 743 336 Sean Rice 0448 010 787 Office 104 Grimshaw St, Greensborough Phone 9435 0999

3

1

4

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

58

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


GREENSBOROUGH 9 Moodie Street Roll up your sleeves and get stuck into an exciting renovation project where you will be rewarded with a fabulous family home just a short walk from primary/ secondary schools, Diamond Village shops and bus stop. The classic interior features 3 bedrooms, updated easyaccess bathroom, inviting lounge and dining rooms, plus vintage kitchen/meals with garden view. The rear garden presents a big blank canvas ready for you to transform into the family haven you’ve always wanted. Additional features include split system heating/cooling, full-sized laundry with WC and off-street parking. Auction Saturday 2nd June at 3.00pm Land size 634m2 approx. View Wednesday 6.00 - 6.30pm Saturday 1.00 - 1.30pm Stuart Buckingham 0411 743 336 Troy Clarke 0439 286 780 Office 104 Grimshaw St, Greensborough Phone 9435 0999

3

1

2

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

O TW PT IO O N S

ELTHAM 1 & 3/741 Main Road “TWO OPTIONS” Buckingham and Company are pleased to offer these 2 delightful office spaces. Option 1: 73sqm shop fully leased to an allied health industry tenant at $29,000pa + gst which will provide you or your self managed super fund a strong investment opportunity. Tenant pays all outgoings. Option 2: Vacant 66sqm office includes split system, carpet, kitchenette & office partitioning. For Sale Terry Gazelle 0438 196 480 Shane Leete 0419 118 302

2 O pt io n

O pt io n

1

Office Cnr Rattray Road & Were Street, Montmorency Phone 9434 6666

www.buckinghamandcompany.com

Enjoy Your Boutique Experience T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

59


AU SA CTI TU ON R TH D AY IS 60

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

61


62

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

63


64

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


AU SA CTI TU ON R TH D AY IS

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

65


MILES COMMERCIAL

66

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

67


MILES COMMERCIAL

68

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

69


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services Trades Business Profile

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS FREE QUOTE QUICKEST INSTALL s CANVAS SUNBLINDS SENIORS DISCOU

(include your name, address and phone number)

We accept payment by:

NT

1177862-RC13-15

VISA/MASTERCARD/EFTPOS

(1.5% credit card processing fee applies. Cheques and money orders can be posted in or hand delivered to our local office)

Call 1300 666 808

Ask about our discounted ongoing advertising rates and how choosing more newspapers gives your advertising more impact and saves you money...

V

Local professionals in our

12378815-RC08-18

All Classifieds: 2pm Thursday

www.cldb.com.au

e in advertis oose to to let â&#x20AC;&#x153;We ch w ie v e ekly R ow The We unity kn l comm a c lo e th avings s e iv s s ur ma Ăąo about o Burgue - Robert r.â&#x20AC;? e ff o n o

Trades & Services Electricians Residential & Commercial Work

s,IGHTS0OWER0OINTS s3WITCHBOARD3AFETY3WITCHES s2EPAIRS -AINTENANCE2EWIRING

Phone Paul 0418 318 802OR9459 1248 Rec 8128

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

Bathroom & Kitchens

LEAKING

SHOWERS

& BALCONIES WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t VIC t QLD t WA t ACT t SA

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

megasealed.com.au

Call Us Today For our FAST FRIENDLY SERVICE!

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

yes we can

9999-8193 w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

We NEVER

Close Lic. 23691

â&#x20AC;˘ Entensions/Refurbishments â&#x20AC;˘ Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations â&#x20AC;˘ House Rewires FREE QUOTES â&#x20AC;˘ Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small â&#x20AC;˘ Oven & Hot Plate Repairs â&#x20AC;˘ Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au â&#x20AC;˘ Security Alarms â&#x20AC;˘ AC Installations

Jason 1300 644 698

XXXNJDIBFMMFFSFNPWBMTDPNBV

V

Garden Services

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES

General Classifieds

section of Network Classifieds. V

Glass/Glazing

ALL BROKEN GLASS REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

Find local work in the

Employment

1156305-HM40-14

STOP

0427 522 030 or 9437 7370

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days

1181674-18-15

V

t-PDBMDPVOUSZJOUFSTUBUFt)PNF0GmDF t1JBOP"OUJRVFTt1SFQBDLJOH t'SJFOEMZ SFMJBCMF4FSWJDF

Specialist in â&#x20AC;˘ Lawn mowing â&#x20AC;˘ Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming â&#x20AC;˘ Regular Maintenance â&#x20AC;˘ Rubbish Removals â&#x20AC;˘ Tree Lopping â&#x20AC;˘ Gutter Cleaning

SERVICING ROSANNA AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

1233757-RC27-16

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

www.cldb.com.au

1177862-RC13-15

Servicing the area for over 30 years

J.L. Hutt Electrical

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 FREE QUOTE s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS QUICKEST INSTALL SENIORS DISCOUNT s CANVAS SUNBLINDS

MICHAEL LEE REMOVALS

1152285-PB36-14

Awnings, Blinds & Curtains

G6616651AA-dc11Feb

9310 1070 - 0403 046 998

Electricians

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

BANYULE LIGHT & POWER SERVICES

V

Cheap boxes 4 sale

Packing, Pianos, Antiques and Billiard Tables, Local, Country & Interstate. No job too small. Unwanted goods, or rubbish taken to tip. All areas from $89p/h (min 2 hours), 24 hours/7 days

Rosanna Electricians

section of Network Classifieds.

V

ALL VIC REMOVALS & STORAGE

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

section of Network Classifieds. networkclassifieds.com.au

Your advert can appear in print and online!

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

70

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

G6794573AA-dc29Apr

Online: networkclassifieds.com.au (24/7) Phone: 1300 666 808 (Open 8.30-5pm Mon-Fri) Fax: 03 5945 0667 Email: sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

Furniture Removals

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Placing your classified advert is so easy...

DEADLINES

V

1132382-RC19-14

V

12341309-CG10-17

Deadline

12325181-LN40-16

V

Place your ad in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au


Trades & Services V

Plumbing

V

heating & hot water Rosanna Plumbers

100

FOR OUR FAST & FRIENDLY SERVICE!

Trade in on your old hot water system

Seniors Discounts Written Guarantees

9998 2596

*CONDITIONS APPLY

t%6"-&-&$53*$"-"/%."/6"-  01&3"5*0/ t"7"*-"#-&*/"3"/(&0'$0-0634 t4"'& 4&$63& 4"7&4&/&3(:

9696 9199

1136373-RC22-14

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

OFFER EXPIRES 30/06/18

yes we can 12387541-SN21-18

SERVICING ROSANNA AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

9998 2905 www.Ser viceToday.com.au

CALL 9364 2232

SENIORS CARD

WELCOME HERE

We NEVER

Close

Lic. 104391

738 HIGH STREET, EPPING

section of Network Classifieds.

CALL 9401 2232

12351179-CG19-17

V 1129931-RC16-14

TERMITE CONTROL SPECIALIST

Interest fr paym tsee availaen ble

Call 9077 0135

Tiling

&%' %URWKHO

2SHQKRXUV

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Genuine Therapeutic

Phone Pamela on 0412 325 561. Qualified in Remedial, Sports and Relaxation Massage.

V

Manhattan Terrace

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front) SWA4281be

Health And Fitness

V

Adult Services

V

Tuition

TUTORING Maths/English /Chemistry/Biology, Prep-VCE. Pre-school literacy. Adult Maths /English. Call Anna 9318 4430.

Find work locally in the

AARON’S TILING

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

0432 774 645

Free termite quotes - Family owned business ● Termites ● Ants ● Rats ● Mice ● Spiders ● Cockroaches ● Bees & Wasps

Celebrations

www.sunlinerollershutters.com.au

Free Measure and Quotes all suburbs Email: info.globalshutters@gmail.com Website: www.globalrollershutters.com.au

*Not available with any other voucher or coupon

1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

Find it in the

sAAluminium luminium Roller Shutters and Security Doors sAll repairs and services sAll work guaranteed

Pest Control

Phone - 1300 Escort

2 MALCOLM COURT, KEALBA

Global Roller Shutters

Call or visit us online! networkclassifieds.com.au

rangerpestcontrol.com.au

Body Rubs

30% Discount

12386308-RC19-18

V

*CONDITIONS APPLY

BEAT THE ECONOMIC GLOOM WITH HOT PRICES!

Adult Services

V

ALL FETISH! Anything goes! from 99c/min 1300 700 904 1902 226 323 Chat now! $5.45/min pay/mob extra

1193032-LN31-15

All Brands

*

ROLLER SHUTTERS...

Call Us Today...

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

.0/5)4

*/5&3&45'3&&

12368059-HM41-17

Gas Heating Installation / Repairs Hot Water Service Repair

FACTORY DIRECT

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

experts

Adult Phone Talk

V

Roller Shutters

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

Heating

12384101-EPJ15-18

V

General Classifieds

Employment section of Network Classifieds.

2064941v5

V

0488 097 005

Real Estate

Plumbing

V

CRAIG’S GAS & PLUMBING General Plumbing No Job To Small

www.craigsgas.com

12380373-CG10-18

Specialist in Gas Appliance Service & Installation šI[hl_Y[je:kYj[Z>[Wj[hi"MWbb<khdWY[i"IfWY[>[Wj[hi šIjel[iEl[di">ejmWj[hH[fW_hi šH[fbWY[c[dj>ejMWj[hKd_ji">[Wj[hiIjel[i šF[di_ed[hZ_iYekdji

Phone: 9379 1733

Trades & Services

LIC 33201



Reblocking/Underpinning

  

5

STAR

section of Network Classifieds.

FIVE STAR REBLOCKING & UNDERPINNING  Full Insurance  All work Council approved  15 years guarantee  All Council permits supplied  100% computer levelling  Concrete pump used  15 years experience  For a free quote and advice

Motoring

Find your Local Professionals in our

section of Network Classifieds.

G6638324AA-dc18Feb

Qualified & Insured

Contact Simon:

9309 0700 - 0411 174 000

Auto Services/ Repair

V

Buy, & Sell in our

OCR

Old Cars Removed WE PAY YOU UP TO

500 CASH

$

12321588-DJ36-16

● Pre purchase inspections ● Council Certificates

Motoring section of Network Classifieds.

For Any Old Car TODAY

9798 3364 LMCT 10227

Sell your item for FREE in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au * Private party only * Items must be under $100 * 4 weeks in print and online 12376255-HM03-18


E FY DEALS m{ZD{ 3 NEO SPORT

SEDAN AND HATCH • 16-inch alloy wheels • Smart City Brake Support • Reverse Camera + more FROM ONLY

$21,490+ M{ZD{ CX-3 M

m{ZD{ CX-5

• Smart City Brake Support • Bluetooth® + more

• 17-inch alloy wheels • Satellite Navigation + more

FROM ONLY

FROM ONLY

NEO

$22,490ø

DRIVEAWAY

m{ZD{ CX-9 m 9 SPORT S

MAXX SPORT

$35,990

DRIVEAWAY

NEW-LOOK BT-50 4X4 DUAL CAB GT

• Smart S City Brake Support • Reverse R Camera + more

• Leather seat trim • Tub liner + more

FROM ONLY

FROM ONLY

$45,990

»

DRIVEAWAY

$49,990~

DRIVEAWAY

PLUS $1,000 BONUS

#

GO FOR GOLD! To celebrate Max Kirwan’s 50th anniversary, we’re giving away golden goodies. Purchase a new, demo or used vehicle and spin our prize wheel to win instant golden goodies, plus go into the draw to

WIN A MAZDA2 NEO!

*

120 BELL STREET PRESTON

LMCT 1293

9480 3555 AH: Guang 0401 541 323 | www.maxkirwan.com.au

EOFY offers valid until 31 May 2018. This advertisement is a manufacturer’s advertisement and vehicles must be bought from dealers. Private Buyers only. + Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda3 Neo Sport manual sedan or hatch. ø Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-3 Neo manual FWD. ‡ Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-5 Maxx Sport Petrol FWD. » Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-9 Sport Petrol FWD. ~ Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for BT-50 4x4 Dual Cab Utility GT manual. # Bonus offer ends 30 June 2018. Mazda2 not available in gold. * Promotion is available to private and small business buyers of new, used or demonstrator vehicles only between 1/3/18 and 30/6/18. Government and large fleet purchases excluded. See www.maxkirwan.com.au/goforgold for full terms & conditions. 102228

Find out more at maxkirwan.com.au

The Weekly Review Ivanhoe & Valley  

May 16-22, 2018

The Weekly Review Ivanhoe & Valley  

May 16-22, 2018

Advertisement