Page 1

INSIDE THIS WEEK

MAY 16-22, 2018

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

BOOKS + PODCASTS I N S P I R AT I O N + E D U C AT I O N

SWEET SUCCESS A S U G A R - C O AT E D E M PIRE

MAY 16-22, 2018

EASTERN

ADVERTISEMENT

DONCASTER LAND ROVER’S SALE EVENT

FRIDAY 18TH MAY. 8:30AM – 6:00PM SATURDAY 19TH MAY. 8:30AM – 5:00PM SUNDAY 20TH MAY. 10:00AM – 4:00PM

Doncaster Land Rover 573 Doncaster Road, Doncaster VIC 3108. Tel: 03 9848 8888 doncaster.landrover.com.au LMCT11617 MCK73714

MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTIES EASTERN

INSIDE

INSIDE MICHAEL ROWL AND + D A N N Y K AT Z + LIZ ELLIS + ROBYN BUTLER +


DONCASTER LAND ROVER’S SALE EVENT

RECEIVE A 5 YEAR WARRANTY AND 5 YEARS FREE SCHEDULED SERVICING^ With exceptional savings on selected vehicles* there’s never been a better time to experience the unrivalled capability, refined luxury and thoughtful design of a Land Rover. Also available on Land Rover Guaranteed Future Value†. Available for a strictly limited time only, so get in quick. Visit Doncaster Land Rover today.

Doncaster Land Rover 573 Doncaster Road, Doncaster VIC 3108. Tel: 03 9848 8888 doncaster.landrover.com.au LMCT11617 MCK73714 *Offer applies to new and demonstrator Discovery, Discovery Sport, Range Rover Evoque, Range Rover Velar, 17MY Range Rover Sport and 17MY Range Rover vehicles ordered between 01.05.18 to 30.06.18 and delivered by 31.07.18 while stocks last. Land Rover reserves the right to extend any offer. ^Consult Doncaster Land Rover for terms and conditions of 5 year Service Plans. †The Land Rover Guaranteed Future Value Program is available to approved applicants of Land Rover Financial Services only. Terms and Conditions apply. Land Rover Financial Services is a trading name of Volkswagen Financial Services Australia Pty Limited ABN 20 097 071 460, Australian Credit Licence 389344.


MAY 16-22, 2018

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

SWEET SUCCESS A S U G A R - C O AT E D E M P I R E

MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTIES INSIDE EASTERN

INSIDE MICHAEL ROWL AND + D A N N Y K AT Z + LIZ ELLIS + ROBYN BUTLER +


CONSTRUCTION COMMENCI N G JULY 2018

ARTIST IMPRESSION — INCREDIBLE VIEWS — CITY SKYLINE

STYLISH 2 & 3 BED RESIDENCES NOW SELLING With only 35 Boutique residences, these flexible floor plans are designed to be lived in, offering large, open space with spectacular views. Visit the display suite 399 Manningham Road, Doncaster Display suite open

Tues, Wed, Sat & Sun 1pm — 4pm Thurs 3pm — 6pm For more information contact David Li 0420 986 679 or Cathy Li 0458 999 018 manningdoncaster.com.au

ARTIST IMPRESSION — SOPHISTICATED FINISHES — KITCHEN


FIRST PERSON

I am David Dare … and I use the old methods, like in Mary Poppins I started doing this because I was helping a friend. He took off to Bali and never came back. Ever since I had my own website, it just went ballistic really. I think there’s about a dozen chimney sweeps in Melbourne, of varying quality. I use the old methods, like in Mary Poppins, with a brush and vacuum. It’s one thing that can’t be computerised. The kids love it. Sometimes they start singing the song (Chim Chim Chim Cher-ee Cher-ee). When I tell people I’m a chimney sweep, they’re a bit surprised sometimes, but there’s a definite demand for it. People get you to sweep their chimneys while they’re renovating and then real estate agents get you to sweep the chimneys between tenancies. It’s certainly not a passing fad. If anything, people are using their fireplaces more. There’s more atmosphere than gas, and gas is getting quite expensive. People think, if I can scrounge the wood I’ll use the fireplace, I’d rather look at a fireplace than a heating duct. They have to be serviced – it’s like anything. The soot builds up and it can be like cholesterol in an artery, it’s clogged up with soot. It’s not really something people can do themselves. They wouldn’t have the right equipment and a lot of people wouldn’t put up with the heights and the dirt. I wear a mask and goggles; you’ve got to look the part. Dead birds, possums and ducks, all sorts of things go down chimneys. They can get to the stage where they won’t draw properly and also you can have beehives in chimneys. I normally do them from the top down. People think you go up the chimney, but no, you don’t. It’s very important that people have their chimneys checked out before they light them because sometimes they can be capped off at the top. Sometimes you can have a fireplace but there’s actually no chimney there, so you can’t use it. What would happen? Well, they’d burn the house down. Normally in the winter months I work six days a week. I may do three days in summer, it depends. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone else, because I don’t want any more competition. ●

A S T O L D T O L A R I S SA H A M ● PH O T O J U LIA N KI N G M A

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


EASTERN

Competitions

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 editorial@domain.com.au

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

EDITOR \ EMILY POWER

and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, May 20.

DEPUTY EDITOR \ JESSICA DALE ONLINE EDITOR \ ADRIAN LOWE PICTURE EDITOR \ KYLIE THOMSON PROOFREADER \ NICOLE BITTAR SENIOR DESIGNER \ COLLEEN CHIN QUAN DESIGNER \ EMMA STAUGHTON EDITORIAL ASSISTANT \ KENDALL BOYD MANAGING EDITOR \ ALICE STOLZ REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ REBECCA WARNER \ 0448 317 687 \ rebeccawarner@domain.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ GEORGIE McLEOD \ 9249 5286 \ gmcleod@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 69,573 COPIES

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Morgan Hipworth, photographed by Chris Hillary.

WIN \ BEYOND THE BARRICADE

WIN \ MELBOURNE SOCIAL

WIN \

DOUBLE PASS WORTH $150

NETBALL SEASON WORTH $180

ROCKY HORROR SHOW DOUBLE PASS WORTH $238

Win one of two double passes

Melbourne Social Netball is a social

Smash-hit musical The Rocky Horror

to Melbourne’s opening-night

sports competition unlike any other.

Show is coming to Melbourne’s Her

performance of Beyond the

Open to men and women aged 18-

Majesty’s Theatre in July. Starring

Barricade. With past principal

plus, it is the perfect place to meet

Todd McKenney as Frank N Furter

performers from Les Miserables, this

new friends while keeping fit. Thanks

and Shane Jacobson as the Narrator,

critically acclaimed show features

to Melbourne Social Netball, two

here’s your chance to win one of two

the best-loved songs from West End

lucky readers will win a season of

double passes to one of theatre’s

and Broadway musicals.

netball at the venue of their choice.

most outrageously fun shows.

● beyondthebarricade.com.au

● melbournenetball.com

● rockyhorror.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from May 2: Terry Mulroyan, Vanessa Sealy, Emily Rawlings, Polly Buckland Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

EXPLORE MLC Friday, 18 and Saturday, 19 May, 9.15 am – 11.30 am Learn more at mlc.vic.edu.au/visitus

Hannah

MLC inspires her learning

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

At MLC no dream is too big, whether it is technological, sporting, musical, creative or academic. We’re proud to offer one of the broadest curricula of any Australian independent school.


The editor’s desk THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

The view

BY SCOTT MCNAUGHTON \ Southbank

A glimpse of modern Melbourne at Hamer Hall. ●

Farewell, my waistline. It was nice knowing you, even if for just a little while. After hours spent poring over pictures of doughnut prince (and cover star) Morgan Hipworth’s lush creations, I know that I am going to give into temptation and my swimsuit body will be but a dream. But, oh, that butter cream! And in this edition, we welcome new book club columnist Michael Rowland, co-host of ABC News Breakfast. Michael will be sharing his reflections on a selected title each month, and we hope you will read along with him by joining the conversation on our Facebook page. More details inside. ●

● 1/1250 sec ● f/4 ● ISO 400

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture + Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

ARE YOU A BUDDING STREET PHOTOGRAPHER? If you have a great snap of the city, we’d love to feature it on this page.

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

Send your best high-resolution shot to theview@theweeklyreview.com.au FOR SOME HELPFUL TIPS, VISIT \ theweeklyreview.com.au/theview

YO U T U B E

NEW RANGE ROVER SPORT

DESIGNED TO COMMAND ATTENTION

BOOK A TEST DRIVE. The New Range Rover Sport is designed for impact. With sportier design cues and a powerful, muscular stance, there’s a contemporary feel everywhere you look—from the new Range Rover Sport grille, to the refined, yet sporty wheel options. This is the most dynamic Range Rover Sport yet. Find out for yourself. Book a test drive at Doncaster Land Rover today.

Doncaster Land Rover 573 Doncaster Road, Doncaster. Tel: (03) 9848 8888 doncaster.landrover.com.au LMCT11617 MCK73234 T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


HAIR \ MAKEUP BY HUW JAMES, AB PRO LAB (ALBERT PARK)

SPEAKING FROM the HEART

8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


THE FORMER CHAMPION NETBALLER ON LOVE, GRIEF AND COURAGE DURING IVF TREATMENT

L

iz Ellis felt a strong responsibility towards telling people’s stories about their “infertility journey”. “Almost to a person, they all said they wanted to tell their story to help somebody else,” Ellis says. “Writing this book totally restored my faith in human nature because you can see what the human heart is capable of.” Ellis, 45, the former Australian netball captain, is talking about her book, If At First You Don’t Conceive, a “friendly” guide to tackling infertility, based on her own experiences, those of many others who shared their stories and a range of experts. To collate the stories, Ellis put a call out on social media for people who had experienced infertility to contact her. The stories, many told over the phone, were extraordinary. “I spoke to people who had the most emotional stories. I’d often speak to people after I’d put the kids to bed and I’d be on the phone,

them, their five-year struggle including five rounds of IVF and miscarriages. As someone who had been “on the infertility highway without a GPS”, Ellis was in a good position to make a series of calls to people she didn’t know about a most intimate subject. And it helped to be well known. “Yes, because people trusted me,” she says. “I cold-called IVF specialists and obstetricians, and when they knew who I was they were happy to sit and chat.” Her social media reach of 22,000 followers was useful, too. Asking strangers about difficult topics such as infertility and miscarriage was daunting. “There are no words to talk about the grief like that. If someone’s father dies, you know the words. If you have an IVF transfer and there’s nothing there, what are the words to talk about the grief for something that never was?”

“I want people to talk about it because there is a stigma attached to it a little bit around what’s not working, whose fault is it. Forget the fault, forget not working; this is what you’re going through.” – LIZ ELLIS

tapping away, bawling my eyes out because their stories were amazing. “To see what people are prepared to do for love is amazing, either because they love their partner or they want a family to love.” Ellis lives with husband Matthew Stocks and their two children – Evelyn, six, and Austin, two, on a 64-hectare cattle farm near Byron Bay. “We have a very gentle life; the kids have all the freedom in the world. They spend a lot of time muddy, I spend a lot of time hosing them down … they are my world.” Her book is a story of love and resilience. “I spoke to a woman who went through 19 rounds of IVF to get her twin boys. She miscarried twins at 20 weeks after 12 rounds and her story of having to give birth and seeing her husband talk to these dead babies … I get emotional thinking about that conversation. She was so resilient, so determined that she was going to have her family.” Ellis notes that one in six couples in Australia is affected by infertility. She and Stocks were one of

She says there remains a stigma. “I want people to talk about it because there is a stigma attached to it a little bit around what’s not working, whose fault is it. Forget the fault, forget not working; this is what you’re going through.” But people were relieved to tell their story. “A number hadn’t told their story before, particularly men. Infertility is not [only] a women’s issue. It’s equal male-andfemale factors.” Ellis says women and men approach the journey in different ways. “A lot of women I spoke to still felt like it affected their femininity, that the biological reason for me to be here is to reproduce, regardless of career,” she says. “When you want that baby, you want that baby. It was a hard thing for women to get their head around. But women are more able to talk about it. They confide in their friends; they’re used to having that conversation with people.” She says getting men to talk about it was difficult. “They didn’t want to talk to me about it because

I N T E RVI E W ● PE T E R WI L M O T H

there’s a stigma to infertility, around feeling emasculated … that you’re not as masculine as the bloke who’s got a great sperm count. My husband got his sperm count back and they said ‘you’ve got A-grade sperm’ and he was like ‘I’ve got excellent sperm!’ It’s such a pride thing.” She says the sense of relief when men did address it was “almost palpable”. “I spoke to a man who said he found it really hard dealing with his infertility … they used donor sperm, but when the baby came out that baby was his. He was so emotional in the telling of it, you couldn’t help get caught up in that emotion.” Ellis says it’s a story about love – wanting to share love with a child and the rocky road towards that quest, including the pressure on relationships. “My conclusion is that infertility treatment will exacerbate what is already there. So if you have a relationship that is strong but you need to communicate better, fertility treatment magnifies that and shows you must communicate. If you have a relationship that is rocky to start with, then infertility will absolutely tear that apart.” Ellis was impressed with the courage of people who shared their stories. “One woman said ‘I want my story to be a beacon for other women’. She gave me lots of notes and someone else gave her diary; very personal. I felt the reason they were giving me their story was to light the way for others.” IF AT FIRST YOU DON’T CONCEIVE \ By Liz Ellis $34.99 ● panmacmillan.com.au

PI C T U R E ● J U LIA N KI N G M A

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


DANNY K ATZ \ HOME TRUTHS

T

he bank guy was round at our house, sitting at the dining table, telling us about our finances. He gave us good news so we pushed a little plate of Scotch Finger biscuits towards him as a gesture of appreciation. Then he told us the bad news so we slid the plate of biscuits away. It was just your typical dining-table, biscuitsliding, bank-guy, morning chitchat – and then right in the middle of it, we heard a snorty, snouty, snrrrrrrrrkkkkk vibrating from the nearby bathroom. Followed by a growly, guttural, achhh-achhhh-achhhh. A medley of greatest hits from legendary indie band Teenage Son and The Phlegm-Summoners. Anyone who has a teenage son knows they collect a tremendous amount of goop in their sinal cavities – it’s either hormonal or they shove it up there as some kind of fashion thing. And unfortunately we have a bathroom that’s butted right up

against our dining area – which is not so great if you’ve got people over and everyone has to sit at the dining table politely, listening to something that sounds like raw meat being sucked through a bong (Kids try all kinds of stuff; you just don’t know). Whoever designed our house was a monumental twit! Bathrooms and dining rooms involve opposite ends of the eating spectrum and do not belong together. But there’s nothing we can do about it: we’ve tried soundproofing the bathroom with cork tiles, but it just made it look like a scungy inner-city recording studio with a soap dish. We’ve tried replacing the thin, hollow bathroom door with a super-heavy, super-thick one, but the sound still leaked

through – and now it takes two people to open it. We even considered soundproofing our son, double-glazing his nasal passages and siliconesealing his sinuses, but we couldn’t find a tradie who’d do the job, not even on Airtasker. So any time there’s people around, and someone needs to use the bathroom, my wife and I must initiate our Emergency Bathroom-Noise-Muffling Procedure. First we try talking loud and fast. If that doesn’t work, we turn the stereo up. If it’s still bad, I get the blender and crush ice at the table then ask if anyone’s in the mood for a daiquiri. Thankfully the bank guy was in the mood. I made him a small one. Without the maraschino liqueur. ● Danny Katz is a newspaper columnist, a Modern Guru and author of the Little Lunch books for kids, now a TV series on ABC3.

“Bathrooms and dining rooms involve opposite ends of the eating spectrum and do not belong together.”

MASSIVE 50% STOCK LIQUIDATION SALE Up to off

Limited stock.... Come in to our store and take a look at our stylish and durable lifestyle furniture.

10

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


MICHAEL ROWL AND \ BOOK CLUB

Thrills from an unlikely hero

YO U R SAY

THE WEEKLY REVIEW BOOK CLUB

T H E R E VI E W

J

THE GREATER GOOD \ By Tim Ayliffe $29.99, out now ● simonandschuster.com.au

Welcome to our monthly book club, where we invite you to read along with Michael. Each month, Michael will share his impressions of his chosen book and we want your thoughts on each title. To join the conversation, make sure you like our Facebook page. Your mini review could be featured in the next instalment of our book club. At the end of the year, three readers will receive a bundle of great titles from Australia’s top publishers. Make sure you share your reflections of Michael’s most recently reviewed books on The Weekly Review’s Facebook page to be in the running. ●

facebook.com/TheWeeklyReview

THE NEXT READ

ohn Bailey is a broken man. After one too many shaves with death as a war correspondent in Iraq, Bailey finds himself back in Sydney as a 53-year-old police reporter, drinking to forget. Dispatched to cover an inner-city murder, Bailey stumbles onto a plot that extends all the way to the corridors of power in Canberra and catapults our jaded hero into a world of trouble. Tim Ayliffe’s debut novel is a crime thriller with the lot: murder, deceit, corruption and a hint of romance. The ABC journalist (full disclosure: he’s a colleague and friend who’s told tall tales for years) has a reporter’s eye for detail. Drawing on his extensive experience, Ayliffe takes you deep inside the worlds of politics and the media, with a heavy dose of international intrigue thrown in. Chasing the story, Bailey has to confront shady police, scheming politicians, Chinese spies and haunting flashbacks to Fallujah. Helping him out is old CIA hand Ronnie Johnson, who has mysteriously popped up in Sydney. A man well versed in the black arts, Ronnie ‘had never killed anyone who hadn’t deserved it’. Sprinkled through the book are Ayliffe’s dry observations on the media (the radio shock jocks who are ‘inflammatory morons masquerading as journalists’) and, in a line that will have all of Melbourne cheering, a frustrated Bailey laments Sydney turning into a ‘bullshitter’s paradise’. ●

M I C H A E L’ S L A S T WO R D

“The Greater Good is the first in a trilogy. It is easy to see John Bailey proving just as popular a literary figure as Peter Temple’s Jack Irish or Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan.”

BUTTERFLY ON A PIN \ By Alannah Hill $32.95, out now ● hardiegrant.com

Michael Rowland is the co-host of ABC News Breakfast, weekdays 6-9am on ABC TV.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

11


ENTERTAINMENT

Gen warfare MULTI-TALENTED ROBYN BUTLER LIGHTENS UP IN PREPARATION FOR THE FIRING LINE

CHANNEL NINE

W

S H AU N M I CA L L E F & R O BY N B U T L E R

hen Channel Ten pulled the pin on Talkin’ ’Bout Your Generation in 2012, the TV landscape became bleaker in the absence of Shaun Micallef and co. exploring intergenerational difference from the Baby Boomers through to Generation X. Happily, the show’s jumped ship with a revival on the Nine Network, with a few tweaks. For a start, the Boomers have been ditched, with the elder generation being represented by Gen Xer, writer, comedian and actress Robyn Butler, funny dude

Some of the best careers start right here Fintona is an optimal place for girls to succeed. With many opportunities and dedicated teachers to extend students’ learning, a Fintona girl is motivated to achieve her goals.  ­€‚‚ƒ  inspire your daughter to aim high, join us on our next tour or call the Registrar on 9830 1388.

18

THE E AVER AVE AVERA ERAGE CLA LASS SIIZE E

12

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

JOIN US

MORNON OUR TOURING M

on 9.15a day 21 May m to 1 Visit o 1.00a ur we m bsite t o boo k

www.fintona.vic.edu.au

Andy Lee (the Andy half of Hamish & Andy) captaining Gen Y, and actor Laurence Boxhall heading up the first-time inclusion of Gen Z. While a lot’s been made of the generational shake-up, Butler isn’t convinced it changes the flavour of the show. “My team fills the same role as Amanda’s team [Amanda Keller previously captained the Boomers],” she says. “We still have the slightly world-weary, ‘you know nothing’ attitude towards the others. It’s the same DNA of human beings travelling through time, no


matter what you call it. So I don’t think it actually affects anything, except my pride.” While we’ve become accustomed to Butler driving things from behind the camera with the stream of awardwinning tele emanating from Gristmill, the TV-production company she spearheads with husband Wayne Hope, Butler is set to remind us that her on-screen chops are just as sharp. That said, it’s required something of a gear change. “I was a little bit tentative, because I haven’t been Robyn as Robyn, apart from doing publicity things, in front of the cameras for a long time,” she admits. “I’ve acted, but that took a

More bench More storage More style More features More finishes

back seat, because I wanted to explore other parts of myself. “Increasingly, writing, producing and directing was where I was getting a lot of satisfaction, but the very first day we started shooting, I was like, ‘oh, that’s right’. It just was like riding a bike.” The move is also in line with a decision Butler made when she hit her 40s to make more joyful material. “I spent a lot of my younger career making darker, more cynical things, which I think you tend to do when you’re younger, because you’re not really concerned about mortality,” she says. “As you get older you go, ‘oh, I’m going to be dead soon’.

More choice More experience More kitchen Less $$$$$ Free Quote

ROADSHOW

WO R D S ● M E G C R AW F O R D

Robyn Butler and Portia de Rossi in the Butler-written comedy Now Add Honey.

Like, come on, lighten up everybody. “Upper Middle Bogan is a very happy show. Little Lunch, our kid’s show, is a very happy show. It’s not to say that either of them are without

satire, but they certainly come from a place of hope. At this point in time we live in a funny old world: antagonist, human, disparate, and people are at odds. “In contrast, Talkin’ ’Bout Your Generation feels like fun, and I’m going with fun options.” All of that said, it is unusual for Butler to be working on a project sans hubby Hope. Is she going to miss him? “No. I’m contractually obliged to work with him on a 24/7 basis anyway. There is no escape. I’ve tried. I’ve looked at all the loopholes and, apparently, I can’t get out of it.” ● ● Talkin’ ’Bout Your Generation launches May 21 at 7.30pm on Nine.

Showrooms open 7 Days 9-5

n e i ia d Ma ctor Vi

*Oakleigh 1430 Dandenong Rd 889 Wellington Rd Rowville Doncaster East 860 Doncaster Rd

9530 4777 9755 4888 9755 4888

Member of HIA, NKBA & CMA, RPB (Registered building practioners) www.smithandsmith.com.au

Custom made kitchens made direct from own workshop

Beautiful bespoke Kitchens at friendly prices

Australia’s biggest kitchen showroom* © Copyright Smith & Smith Cabinet Makers Pty. Ltd. 2009 Reproduction in any form is prohibited, all rights reserved

G4866443AF-dp18Apr

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


14

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

ANITA MILAS

M

organ Hipworth is living proof of the fierce entrepreneurial spirit of Generation Z. For Hipworth, the humble doughnut represents the life’s endless possibilities. The 17-year-old has created more than 2000 Instagramfriendly varieties of the sweet treat for his Windsor cafe, Bistro Morgan. Currently, his favourite is a doughnut called The Cookie Monster. “It’s filled with cake batter, then it’s got white chocolate, Oreo chunks, some colourful sprinkles and confetti, and cookies and cream chocolate,” he says. This week, the year 12 student fronted five of Australia’s savviest investors when he appeared on the new season premiere of Channel Ten’s Shark Tank (Tuesdays, 8.30pm). He asked them to make a $200,000 investment in return for a 20 per cent stake in his burgeoning business. “Wanting to go sort of full time into the business and not necessarily having a full-on plan of where I wanted to go, I thought it’d be cool to get that expertise,” he says. “It wasn’t, for me, necessarily about the money. It’s never been. It’s just about doing what you love. I thought being able to get that experience and expertise with someone who’s done it all before would be really, really valuable.”

COVER STORY

Great expectations THE DRIVING FORCE BEHIND TALENTED TEEN ACHIEVERS

Hipworth received four offers, three of them from Boost Juice founder Janine Allis, but declined them all. At the end of the negotiations, Allis agreed to mentor Hipworth without payment. “It was an awesome outcome and I’ve had a couple of meetings with Janine since,” he says. “I didn’t really want to give away more than 20 per cent of my business because I’ve worked so hard for it. “She’s a really great businesswoman, so it was awesome to make that connection. Who knows what could happen down the track?” Hipworth was just 13 he began wholesaling doughnuts to a local cafe and at 15, opened his very own cafe in Windsor. “I went into business at a young age because I was really passionate about food and cooking,” he says. “Bistro Morgan is going great, as expected from our forecast of where we should be. It definitely keeps me busy in between school and life.” And if at times the demands of running a business and completing VCE are stressful, Hipworth says he uses it as a source of motivation. “There’s so many things that motivate me, but I think one of the main things is the constant challenges that come along with running your own business. It motivates me every day to do better than the previous.”


WO R D S â—? K AT E J O N E S

Supreme ambition: Morgan Hipworth of Bistro Morgan, above; Melbourne Victory player Matthew Sutton, opposite.

Inspiring. Overachievers. Future stars. Call them what you like, but promising up-and-comers like Hipworth have the world at their feet. Talented and driven, these teens juggle the demands of their studies with the push of their ambition. It could be said that Matthew Sutton has been kicking goals all his life. But these days, he spends a lot of time stopping them. The 17-year-old goalkeeper is one of the newest and youngest recruits at A-League soccer club Melbourne Victory. His sporting prowess was spotted at 15 when he won a scholarship at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra, which meant moving from his family home in Sydney. “I really wanted to make something out of football since I was about 14 and that included many training sessions, games, lots of sacrifices,� he says. “It’s a big commitment and one of the biggest was having to move away from home and all my family and friends. But it’s something that’s not really a massive thing for me because I’m lucky enough to do something I really want to do.� �

THE DONCASTER BMW AND BUNDOORA BMW SALE EVENT. 18-20 MAY 2018.

Doncaster BMW and Bundoora BMW invite you to experience extraordinary opportunities across our range of Ultimate Driving Machines. For three days only, Friday 9am-6pm, Saturday 9am-5pm and extended trading Sunday 10am-4pm, visit Doncaster BMW and Bundoora BMW to enjoy:  

          

     Â     

For further information or to secure your appointment, please contact Doncaster BMW on (03) 8848 0000 or Bundoora BMW on (03) 9468 8000. Â?  Â?  Â? 

      Â?    Â? Â?   ­Â?€‚ƒƒƒƒÂ?„… Doncaster BMW ‚†‡‚†ˆÂ? ‰ Â? Â… ŠÂ… Â…Â…‹ƒŒŽ‚‚ˆ‚ƒƒƒƒ…‘Â’“ ŠÂ… Â… Bundoora BMW ”‡‘Â? 

…Š

Š… ……‹ƒŒŽ•ˆ”‚‚ƒƒƒ…‘’“Š

ŠÂ… Â…    –  Â?ŠŠÂ?         Â? —

Š†‚…ƒ­…†‚ ‡ƒ…ƒ­…†‚ ŠÂ?Œ†…­…†‚…  Â?Â…    Â?Â…˜ Š Š Â?   Â…‘     Â…„ Â?       †‚…ƒ­…†‚ ‡ƒ…ƒ­…†‚ ŠÂ?Œ†…­…†‚™ Š    –  Š   Â? ­Â?        ‚ƒƒƒƒÂ?      Â…š     Â?Â…  Š ŠÂ?  Â…‘  ­…‘   ŠÂ?Â…  Â?Â…˜ Â?  

   Â…˜††”‚ˆ

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


CULTURE

Local voices with resonance THE AUSTRALIAN-MADE PODCASTS TO TUNE INTO RIGHT NOW

I

R O S I E WAT E R L A N D

STEVEN SIEWERT

t might feel like we’ve reached peak podcast, but an advantage of the medium’s popularity is that there are shows for every interest. Here’s a shortlist of home-grown podcasts to switch onto.

H U M O U R \ Writer Rosie Waterland published her memoir, The Anti-Cool Girl, in 2015. The darkly humorous book grapples with topics such as addiction, eating disorders, death and mental illness, and provided the premise for Waterland’s 2017 podcast, Mum Says My Memoir is a Lie. In the 22-episode series, Waterland and her mother debate the memoir together, and, like some of the best comedy, it blends humour with deeper meaning. You may also like: The Betoota Advocate, I Love Green Guide Letters

PA R E N TI N G \ Sophie Harper is a documentary filmmaker who always wanted to be a mum. In her late 30s, she became a mother via artificial insemination and has a young daughter, Astrid. Not By Accident tells their story through contemporary reflections and conversations recorded with friends and family. It’s a thoughtful, heartwarming and well-produced podcast, and you don’t need to be a parent to appreciate it. You may also like: The New Normal, The Juggling Act. T R U E C R I M E \ When Casefile joined the truecrime podcast scene in early 2016, it was a small bedroom project intended as a hobby for its anonymous, Strine-accented sporting host. Few

Keep the bugs and burglars out, let the SPRING breeze in!

BUY DIRECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER AND SAVE

• SECURITY DOORS • FENCES • ENCLOSURES Measured made and installed, over 50 standard designs or your own customised ideas. See the diffe f rence at our factory/showroom ffe at 3 Monomeeth Dve Mitcham, visit us online at www.shieldguard.com.au or phone 98740770 today.

SHIELDGUARD 16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


WO R D S ● E R I N M U N R O

could have guessed that it would rise to the top of the charts and win accolades and fans the world over. This Australian podcast has become a force for good as well, prioritising the legacies of victims and survivors. You may also like: Felon, Phoebe’s Fall, True Crime Sisters, Bloody Murder.

P O P C U LT U R E \ Seen a film or read a book and wanted other people’s opinions on it? The Rereaders is for you. Writers and cultural critics Mel Campbell and Dion Kagan talk books, art, television and movies with special guests, and listening to their conversations is like hearing insights from your smart mates. You may also like: Cultural Capital, Refreshments Provided. S P O R T \ Santo, Sam and Ed’s Total Football Podcast is one for soccer fans. The trio – Santo Cilauro, Ed Kavalee and Sam Pang – include plenty of humour, and regularly feature interviews with players and sports reporters, even comedians. Episodes can drop multiple times a week, or sometimes a little more sporadically. You may also like: The Outer Sanctum, Titus and Sergio’s Variety Hour, This Week in League NRL

SA N T O, E D & SA M

How to create an outstanding CV Employers usually make a split-second decision about whether to contact you when they first see your resume. It is essential to create a resume that makes a great first impression. Deakin Talent, Box Hill Institute & Adecco Blackburn will provide us with FREE advice on how to write an outstanding CV. They will be covering the following topics: • Resume structure (required and optional components) • Resume basics Dos and Don’ts • Tailoring the resume for each application • Tailoring the Career Objective/Professional Summary in your resume • Skill shortages • Looking at your skill set with a new perspective • Quick training options - certificate level courses

S T O RY T E L LI N G \ Like an audio-only version of Australian Story, The Real Thing shares tales that are simultaneously ordinary and extraordinary, from a wide variety of Australians. This ABC podcast has snack-sized episodes that range from tracking down an actor from a cult ’90s kids’ TV show to a series on locals from the predominantly indigenous town of Wilcannia in New South Wales. You may also like: Spun, All the Best S C I E N C E & E N VI R O N M E N T \ Australia’s flora and fauna is explored in the Radio National podcast, Off Track. Recorded in the great outdoors, it’s filled with soothing sounds of the environment as host Ann Jones chats to various experts about the natural world and our relationship with it. You may also like: Science VS, Shirtloads of Science. ●

May School Tours Find out more and experience the amazing VWWVY[\UP[PLZVUVɈLYH[73* Our business is helping your business

Fri 8th June 2018 Venue: Box Hill Town Hall 1022 Whitehorse Rd Box Hill

Saturday 19 May, 9.30am Wednesday 23 May, 9.30am Entry via Parer Street

Start: 10:00am – 12:00pm Light refreshments will be provided Presenters: Box Hill Institute, Deakin TALENT & Adecco Blackburn

Join us for this FREE session and gain some insights from experts. Places are limited, please book your FREE ticket by visiting www.whitehorsebusinessgroup.com.au

Proudly sponsored by:

Find Your Excellence c,3*¶@LHYc^^^WSJ]PJLK\H\c 

PLC MELBOURNE

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


SPECIAL PROMOTION

HEALTH & WELLBEING

Taking the caring journey

H

aving treatment for a life-threatening illness can mean a long and emotional journey for many patients. It’s something the staff and volunteers working at Epworth Eastern, Box Hill are very aware of and it’s why they work to make this medical journey a lot easier for each patient. As part of this, Epworth Eastern launched the Wig Salon this month, to cater for patients undergoing chemotherapy – especially those who aren’t able to benefit from scalp cooling treatment. Executive director with Epworth Eastern Louise O’Connor says the Wig Salon, which is staffed by volunteers, is now part of its Day Medical Unit for patients undertaking cancer treatment. “Whatever we can do to improve the patient experience is number one in everything we do,” O’Connor says. “We know we have great outcomes in all the specialties we do here at Epworth Eastern so we now look at the patient experience to make sure

they walk away feeling valued and cared for in a really compassionate and trusted environment.” Each wig from the salon comes with a care package which includes a scarf, hairnet, brush and shampoo at no cost to the patient as part of the hospital’s comprehensive cancer care approach. “As a woman myself I know hair is important to us. There’s nothing more devastating than when you’re told all your hair is going to fall out,” O’Connor says. O’Connor says apart from the Wig Salon, Epworth Eastern also offers a full-time beautician to do manicures, pedicures and massages. Epworth Eastern’s Day Medical Unit was expanded 18 months ago to be an 18-chair unit for patients in need. O’Connor says the Day Medical Unit has a “business class” model philosophy. And like those sitting at the front of the plane, patients are given

Here are two great ways to see how we are

Come on a Tour

LOUISE O’CONNOR

more private pods with access to touch screen computers to watch Netflix or speak to their family via Skype. They also have a gorgeous view of Box Hill Gardens. “What we do is all about making a difference in someone’s life,” O’Connor says. ● MELISSA HEAGNEY EPWORTH EASTERN DAY MEDICAL UNIT \ 03 8807 7481

Growing hearts and minds

Register for a Think ELTHAM Workshop

Offering Early Learning (3 and 4 year old Kinder) through to VCE we are a proudly coeducational independent school. Join us on one of our tours and find out for yourself how amazing a school day can really be. Upcoming Tour Opportunities: • • • •

Wednesday 23 May Tuesday 19 June Wednesday 25 July Friday 17 August

Weekday tours commence at 9.15am and bookings are essential - please use the online booking form on our website, or call 9437 1421 today. Early Learning to VCE | 1660 Main Road Research Ph 9437 1421 | elthamcollege.vic.edu.au | registrar@elthamcollege.vic.edu.au

18

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Think ELTHAM offers young people in Grade 4 - Year 8 the opportunity to learn a new skill for free. Workshop sessions are taught by ELTHAM College students who are keen to share their passion for a subject. Saturday 26 May 2018 For more information, and to book on these free sessions, please visit our website.


EDUCATION & INNOVATION

A holistic approach to learning

GREG BRIGGS

SPECIAL PROMOTION

T

here’s an old saying that many people, including teachers at ELTHAM College, have used at one time or another, and that is: “Experience is education for the soul.” And while there’s certainly a lot of academic learning happening inside the classroom at ELTHAM, there are also some amazing cocurricular programs – held outside of class time – which are teaching junior and senior students alike important lessons about pursuing their passions. ELTHAM College’s deputy director of Junior School Kate McCracken and science teacher in the senior school Angus Fonstin oversee co-curricular activities in the school and encourage students to take part in activities in the arts, sports and science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The college’s co-curricular programs offer activities including kayaking, set and prop designs, coding and even a comedy club. “We have a huge range of activities for our students to get involved in,” Fonstin explains on a busy Monday morning at the school. “From robotics and problem-solving clubs, to sporting teams and philosophy groups – there’s always something exciting happening that students have the opportunity to participate in. “There is quite literally something for everyone. Through the extensive variety of opportunities, students are able to further engage in our dynamic learning community, embracing collaboration and furthering their passions.” The activities are aimed at not only getting students learning in a different environment, but also broadening their horizons by getting them to interact with students outside of their friendship groups and year levels. “Most of our activities are multi-age, catering to a minimum of two year levels,” McCracken says. “Some are for a number of year levels, including the Wagner Concert Band which is aimed at years 5 to 8. This is a great opportunity for our junior school students to transition into senior school.” Senior students are benefiting, not only from what they gain through the school’s co-curricular activities and programs but what they give back through programs such as Think ELTHAM. “Think ELTHAM is a brilliant concept which empowers students to share their passions and

ANGUS FONSTIN & K AT E M C C R AC K E N

knowledge with others and is essentially an embodiment of our thinking culture,” Fonstin says. “Inspired by a program run by the Massachusetts’ Institute of Technology (MIT), our principal, Simon Le Plastrier, introduced Think ELTHAM, which is essentially a learning program run by our secondary school students for primary-aged children from local schools. “It gives our students the chance to teach an idea or passion they have, it gives back to the community. “It’s a fantastic opportunity for students to recognise the power of a learning community founded on sharing and celebrating knowledge.” At ELTHAM College the co-curricular programs are mostly run by teachers, but there are others who lend their time and expertise to the students. “Teachers run or are present at each activity. We work with some outside staff such as ex-Olympian and alumni of the college Warrick Draper who coordinates our kayaking,” McCracken says. “[It] provides a great opportunity for teachers to utilise the many additional talents/interests they may have as well as enabling opportunities for them to upskill with the support and involvement of

external professionals. It is also a wonderful opportunity for students to recognise that learning never stops,” Fonstin adds. By taking part in co-curricular activities, students are learning new skills in activities they are passionate about. “An involvement in co-curricular activities encourages a strong foundation for students to recognise and prioritise a work-life balance. Student involvement supports their social and emotional development and refines effective communication,” Fonstin says. “I think the fundamental purpose of education today should be the holistic development of students and our school’s philosophy, ‘Growing Hearts and Minds’ embodies this,” he says. “Co-curricular activities are such an important part of a student’s holistic development. They complement a student’s classroom experiences by providing a platform for students to further express themselves and find or explore their passion. “This in turn enables students to further contextualise their learning, helping them prepare for whatever their future may hold.” ● MELISSA HEAGNEY

ELTHAM COLLEGE \ 1660 Main Road, Research. ● 03 9437 1421 ● www.elthamcollege.vic.edu.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


Our Lady of Sion College Apply now for 2020

Information Evening Tuesday 5 June, 7.00 to 8.00 pm

Prospective families are invited to register their attendance. Please contact the College on 9890 9097 or info@sion.catholic.edu.au 1065 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill | www.sion.catholic.edu.au


EDUCATION & INNOVATION

Captains’ Call

LYDIA TING & STEPHANIE WANG SPECIAL PROMOTION

L

ydia Ting and Stephanie Wang have learnt many things since starting their roles as college captains of Our Lady of Sion College, teamwork being one of the most important. They have also discovered their strengths as leaders of the school.

Lydia: Throughout my schooling life, Our Lady of Sion College has provided me with so many wonderful opportunities. The school has helped me find my identity as a young woman through fostering my passions and talents. I want to return this gift, ensuring that every student has the same opportunities I had to progress and transform. I’m always looking for opportunities to challenge myself and I knew that this role would allow me to grow and develop as a leader and an individual. Stephanie: I applied for college captain because I wanted to give back. This year is Our Lady of Sion’s 90th anniversary and, as a college captain, I knew I would have extra opportunities to be actively involved in helping celebrate a milestone for the college. I wanted to represent my year level, and all students, to the best of my ability. I’m aiming to be remembered as one of the college captains who helped to enhance the close-knit Our Lady of Sion community, particularly during this important year. WHAT HAVE YOU LEARNT AS CAPTAIN?

Lydia: I have learnt that leadership is not just about coordinating and organising events and activities but, more importantly, about being a very strong team player who can cooperate with my peers. Stephanie: I have learnt the importance of time management, balancing school, work and social life. With this comes the power of teamwork, where I am able to work alongside Lydia, student representatives and my year 12 peers when tasks need to be completed. Sharing this role with Lydia, I have also discovered that there is no universal leader, all are different but successful in their own ways. We have been able to collaborate on different projects, using both our different skills and qualities.

GREG BRIGGS

WHY DID YOU WANT TO BE COLLEGE CAPTAIN?

LY D IA T I N G & S T E PH A N I E WA N G WHY IS IT IMPORTANT FOR YOUNG WOMEN TO BE LEADERS?

Lydia: Leadership positions are most definitely not limited to our male counterparts and I am very grateful for the recognition and awareness of gender inequality within our society today. In an all-girls school we are constantly encouraged to believe that opportunities for equality are available for us, and must be pursued with perseverance and determination. I am not only a strong advocate of gender equality within leadership but also racial equality. I think that many people are surprised that this year the school captains of a Catholic girls school are both of Asian descent. I believe our positions are a true celebration of cultural egalitarianism; a testament to society’s potential to provide equal opportunities for all people, regardless of background. Stephanie: Leadership should not be defined by gender, but through ability. Our Lady of Sion has taught me that we as women of the future have the right and power to be great leaders, and should not be afraid to stand up for ourselves if situations are deemed unfair. Through my leadership role, I have been given

significant opportunities, such as developing closer connections with the Sisters of Our Lady of Sion, interacting with other year levels, speaking on behalf of my peers and representing my school in extracurricular activities. I believe as a young woman, these opportunities will help enhance my skills to fulfil a leadership position later on in life. WHAT ARE YOUR FUTURE PLANS?

Lydia: I have been shortlisted to complete a oneyear scholarship program in China to develop my Chinese language skills. I hope the program will be pivotal in my development as a global citizen as I believe the big problems of the future will not be local but global. My hope is to work abroad within the diplomacy or humanitarian aid fields to improve the lives of the persecuted and disadvantaged. Stephanie: After year 12, I hope to continue my studies at Monash University, completing a double degree in business/arts. Through this, I would love the opportunity to study overseas. I am open and excited for the future as Our Lady of Sion has already given me a glimpse of what it may consist of if I put in the hard work and determination to achieve my goals. ● MELISSA HEAGNEY

OUR LADY OF SION COLLEGE \ 1065 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill. ● 03 9890 9097 ● www.sion.catholic.edu.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

21


FEATURE HOUSE

DOWNLOAD THE DOMAIN APP SEE MORE IMAGES, FLOORPLANS & PROPERTY DETAILS

TEMPLESTOWE \

1 COTTONWOOD COURT 5

4

4

I

f you have ever dreamt of living in a luxurious resort for the rest of your life, take the chequebook to Cottonwood Court. This property has been designed for a lifestyle of lavish indulgence and for owners who love being pampered. Built over three levels, it is grand from beginning to end. The location, one of Templestowe’s premier pockets, is a neighbourhood of large houses on large, treed blocks and this home of around 1263 square metres on about 4046 square metres of land is one of the area’s choice properties. The quartz-tiled driveway leads to a facade that belies the size of the house behind. On one side of the entry is the formal sitting room with open fireplace; on the other is the dining room. The ground floor then spreads out with five of the home’s six living areas, a guest bedroom with en suite, a study and a bathroom at the end. At the heart of this is a kitchen equipped for family life and large-scale entertaining. A 6.4-metre island bench offers plenty of work space and the kitchen is supported by a huge butler’s pantry. One of the property’s most striking features is the indoor pool and spa – sparkling blue beneath a towering glazed roof with eight electronically-operated roof windows. Bifold doors open the pool to the garden. Outdoor living has been as carefully considered as the indoors. A floodlit north-south tennis court adds to the resort atmosphere and a sophisticated barbecue set-up and a pizza oven sit on a merbau deck. Upstairs, bedrooms and bathrooms continue the fivestar theme. The main bedroom has a balcony, large walkin wardrobe and glamorous en suite with spa bath and marble finishes. The central sitting room acts as a buffer between the main suite and the three children’s rooms and family bathroom. High-quality materials have been used throughout and include Italian granite tiles, wool carpets, and marble in the bathrooms. Industrial Carrier Nova airconditioning is zoned to eight areas and hydronic heating has been installed. On the lower ground floor are two double garages, a workshop and a storage room. ● BEVERLEY JOHANSON property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “THIS MAGNIFICENT FAMILY HOME OFFERS THE COMPLETE PACKAGE TO THOSE IN SEARCH OF A LUXURY LIFESTYLE – AN INDOOR POOL TO BE USED YEAR-ROUND, NORTH-SOUTH TENNIS COURT AND LARGE, OPEN LIVING AREAS.” JAMES HATZOLOS – AGENT

AGENT \ RT Edgar 8888 2000 PRICE \ $4 million – $4.4 million PRIVATE SALE

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 22

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


DONVALE \ 13 ELIZABETH COURT 5

2

3

Inspired by the villas of Tuscany, this property evokes hot Mediterranean days, timelessly beautiful countryside and la dolce vita. A tree-lined drive leads through grounds shaped like a bird’s wing and you come to the sandstone coloured house with arched loggias and cloistered courtyards. It is luxurious in size and space, materials, craftsmanship and fittings. Wooden shutters and cool tiles throughout play to the Tuscan theme. At one end are formal and informal living areas, and an outstanding kitchen. A wood-burning fireplace creates a cosy spot in the sitting room and there is a stacked stone bar in the family room. Stacker doors open to the entertaining deck. The main bedroom suite has a balcony, large dressing room and stylish en suite, and there is a retreat and gym in the bedroom zone. The gardens are stunning with olives, cypress, magnolia and beautiful parterre sections. Artfully trimmed ficus create a stunning backdrop for the pool, and in one corner is a terrace and studio. ● BEVERLEY JOHANSON AGENT \ Barry Plant 9842 8888 PRICE \ $2.7 million – $2.9 million PRIVATE SALE \ By set date, May 29 at 6pm Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

7KDPHV6WUHHW%R[+LOO WƌĞƚƚLJĂƐĂƉŝĐƚƵƌĞŝŶĂůƵƐŚŐĂƌĚĞŶƐĞƚƚŝŶŐ͕ƚŚŝƐ ĐŚĂƌŵŝŶŐĂůŝĨŽƌŶŝĂŶƵŶŐĂůŽǁŝƐĂƌĂƌĞŽĨĨĞƌŝŶŐͲĂ ĚƵĂůͲůŽƚƐŝƚĞƚŽƚĂůůŝŶŐϳϲϮŵϮ;ĂƉƉƌŽdž͘ͿǁŝƚŚƌĞĂƌZKt ĂĐĐĞƐƐ͕ƉƌŽǀŝĚŝŶŐŝŶƐƉŝƌŝŶŐŽƉƉŽƌƚƵŶŝƚŝĞƐ͘>ŽǀŝŶŐůLJ ƉƌĞƐĞƌǀĞĚǁŝƚŚĞůĞŐĂŶƚƉĞƌŝŽĚĨĞĂƚƵƌĞƐ͕ƚŚĞŚŽŵĞ ŽĨĨĞƌƐƌĞůĂdžŝŶŐĂůĨƌĞƐĐŽĞŶũŽLJŵĞŶƚŝŶĂĨůĞdžŝďůĞƚŚƌĞĞͲ ďĞĚƌŽŽŵ͕ƚǁŽͲďĂƚŚƌŽŽŵůĂLJŽƵƚǁŝƚŚďƌŝŐŚƚůŽƵŶŐĞ ĂŶĚĚŝŶŝŶŐƌŽŽŵƐĂŶĚĂƐĞƉĂƌĂƚĞĂƌƚŝƐƚƐ͛ƐƚƵĚŝŽ͘ /ŶĚƵůŐĞŝŶƚŚĞƚƌĂŶƋƵŝůĂŵďŝĂŶĐĞƚŚŝƐŚŽŵĞƉƌŽǀŝĚĞƐ͕ ǁŝƚŚƚŚĞŽƉƉŽƌƚƵŶŝƚLJƚŽƌĞŶŽǀĂƚĞ͕ĞdžƚĞŶĚŽƌďƵŝůĚŶĞǁ͕ ǁŝƚŚƚŚĞƉŽƐƐŝďŝůŝƚLJŽĨƵŶŝƚĚĞǀĞůŽƉŵĞŶƚ;ƐƵďũĞĐƚƚŽ ĐŽƵŶĐŝůĂƉƉƌŽǀĂůͿ͘

ϯϵƚŚĂŵĞƐƐƚƌĞĞƚͲďŽdžŚŝůů͘ĐŽŵ hd/KE^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϮϲƚŚDĂLJĂƚϭϮ͗ϯϬƉŵ;hŶůĞƐƐ^ŽůĚWƌŝŽƌͿ s/ttĞĚŶĞƐĚĂLJΘ^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϭϭ͘ϬϬͲϭϭ͘ϯϬĂŵ :ĂŵĞƐĞůďƌŝĚŐĞϬϰϬϬϱϴϲϭϬϭ EŝĐŬtĂůŬĞƌϬϰϭϳϯϯϬϲϱϬ DĂƌŝůLJŶZĞĞĚϬϰϯϴϬϮϰϰϭϰ T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

23


24

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

25


26

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


28

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


30

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

31


MANNINGHAM

IS TH N AY O D TI R C U U T A SA

BONUS OF A SELF-CONTAINED UNIT • Stroll to East Doncaster Secondary College • Bonus self-contained unit • Attractive well-appointed timber kitchen • Alfresco enjoyment balconies or terraces • Near Milgate Primary School, public transport • Comfort of ducted heating, alarm security A spacious family home that comes with a bonus self-contained unit. Stroll to East Doncaster Secondary College or Milgate Primary School from this appealing residence wonderfully positioned to shops and cafes ensuring a lifestyle of ease. Leafy green vistas and multiple opportunities for alfresco enjoyment enhance the liveability of the comfortable 4 bedroom 3 bathroom abode. In excellent proximity to The Pines Shopping Centre, public transport and Westfield Doncaster.

DONCASTER EAST 2 LANDSCAPE DRIVE

a4b 3c 1 AUCTION PRICE VIEW CONTACT  OFFICE

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections

32

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Saturday 19th May at 2:00pm $1,000,000- $1,100,000 Wed 4:00-4:30pm Sat 1:30-2:00pm George Koutlas 0409 555 900 Ming Xu 0400 655 610 1/1004 Doncaster Road Doncaster East 03 9841 9000

bigginscott.com.au


Celebrating 30 years in the City of Whitehorse.

Terry Burgoyne: Experience, energy and passion. For the most reliable advice on buying or selling in the City of Whitehorse, trust the area’s most experienced agent. Call Terry today on 0404 842 771 for a complimentary, professional market appraisal.

Whitehorse 9878 0222

Manningham 9842 8888

There’s been a lot of change in the City of Whitehorse over the past 30 years, however there’s been one constant: Terry Burgoyne. Celebrating three decades of service to homeowners in the City of Whitehorse, Terry Burgoyne delivers a customer service experience that has stood the test of time. And with the support of 80 property experts by his side, homeowners in Whitehorse won’t ind a safer set of hands to entrust their property with. Recognised as one of the best auctioneers in Whitehorse, contact Terry Burgoyne today and have the area’s most experienced real estate agents by your side.

Eltham 9431 1243

Start with Excellence.


Blackburn 43 Williams Road

Carefree family living starts here. We all desire a great family lifestyle, and here’s a home that guarantees one of the best family lifestyles in the City of Whitehorse. Only a short stroll to scenic Cootamundra Walk, a fit and active family lifestyle beckons. Add to the mix walking distance access to North Blackburn shops, schools and transport and you can also tick the box marked ‘practical and carefree family living’! Showcasing vast open-plan living, stunning cook’s kitchen, deluxe bathrooms, four spacious bedrooms and a picture-perfect backyard, your dream family lifestyle starts here.

34

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


4

SALE BY SET DATE® Tues 29th May at 6.00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu & Sat 10.30-11.15am & 2.30-3.15pm

2

2 CONTACT Terry Burgoyne 0404 842 771 Lisa Piccioli 0412 198 430

Whitehorse 03 9878 0222 / Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


Templestowe Lower 21A Marcus Road

Just Listed.

Executive excellence. Ease of living with contemporary finesse and urban convenience are the pillars on which this ultra-modern executive residence is built upon, offering a sophisticated everyday living experience for every category of buyer. Enjoying the advantages of its own street frontage, no common land and no Body Corporate fees, step inside and marvel at the luxurious downstairs master bedroom, three robed bedrooms upstairs, deluxe fully-tiled bathrooms, two separate living areas, all-seasons alfresco entertaining, spectacular feature-packed kitchen and fixtures and fittings of a superior standard.

36

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


4

SALE BY SET DATE® Tue, 5th Jun at 6:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu & Sat 2.30-3pm & Sun 10.30-11am

2

2 CONTACT Adele Kocuk 0412 255 919 Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601

Manningham 03 9842 8888 / Whitehorse 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

37


Doncaster 13 Philip Avenue

Five-star living in a first-class location. Secure your place in one of Doncaster’s premier locations with this brand new, ultra-contemporary glamour, which boasts no common land and no Body Corporate fees. An easy walk to Macedon Square, buses and parks, locations in which to start a new chapter of family living seldom come any better. This intelligent low maintenance home also makes family living a breeze with its two separate living areas, all-seasons alfresco entertaining, three fully-tiled bathrooms and four luxurious bedrooms that include two master bedroom options, one of which is zoned downstairs!

38

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


4

AUCTION Sat, 26th May at 3:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 11.30-12pm & Sat 12.30-1pm

3

2 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Edison Kong 0435 841 615

Manningham 03 9842 8888 / Whitehorse 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


Donvale 13 Elizabeth Court

40

5

2

A Tuscan escape on a luxurious private acre.

SALE BY SET DATEÂŽ Tue, 29th May at 6:00pm

Well secluded on a magnificent north-facing acre (approx.) allotment with manicured park-like gardens, captivating Tuscan-inspired architectural design truly places this lavish 54sq (approx.) five-bedroom home in a class of its own while capturing the charm, character and essence of a Mediterranean way of life.

INSPECT Thu 5.30-6pm & Sat 2.30-3pm

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

3

CONTACT Mark Di Giulio 0407 863 179 David Napoleone 0425 740 922 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222


Bulleen 5 Fir Street

4

A brand new home in a league of its own.

AUCTION Sat, 2nd Jun at 11:00am

An exceptionally high standard of living is just one of the major attractions of this brand new 35sq (approx.) family residence. Crafted to an exacting standard with deluxe finishes and incredible attention to detail, it’s the epitome of five-star luxurious living in beautiful Bulleen.

INSPECT Thu 2.30-1pm & Sat 1.30-2pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

3

2 CONTACT Mark Di Giulio 0407 863 179 David Napoleone 0425 740 922 Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


Templestowe 1/69 Atkinson Street

42

Just Listed.

4

Quintessential family living in premier lifestyle precinct.

AUCTION Sat, 9th Jun at 1:00pm

Presented with a timeless character that successfully blends gifts of its period era with contemporary touches, this beautifully renovated two-storey weatherboard home delivers a classic family experience within walking distance of Templestowe Village shops and cafes, scenic parks and bus services.

INSPECT Thu 10.30-11am, Sat 3.30-4pm

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

3

2 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Edison Kong 0435 841 615 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222


Donvale 6 Martha St

3

Contemporary living within a stroll of Tunstall Square.

AUCTION Sat, 26th May at 12:00pm

Situated in one of Manningham’s most convenient locations, this fashionably renovated three-bedroom unit offers low maintenance living with convenience at every turn. An easy walk to Donvale Reserve, Donvale Primary School, Tunstall Square and transport, enjoy fewer hassles and more time to live your life.

INSPECT Thu & Sat 1.30-2pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

2

1 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Edison Kong 0435 841 615 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


Bulleen 23 Latrobe Street

44

Just Listed.

4

A holiday family lifestyle in a central Bulleen location.

AUCTION Sat, 9th Jun at 10:30am

Release your stress and slip into relaxation with this blissful family sanctuary, which soaks up excellent views on a leafy 595sqm (approx.) block within walking distance of city-bound bus services, Bulleen Plaza, St Clement of Rome Primary School and local parkland.

INSPECT Thu 11.30-12pm & Sat 10.30-11am

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

3

2 CONTACT Mark Di Giulio 0407 863 179 David Napoleone 0425 740 922 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222


Templestowe 12 Colonsay Street

Embrace the possibilities. Well secluded in a tranquil pocket with minimal traffic flow hides this red-hot opportunity of a lifetime. Beautifully sited on an exceptional 665sqm (approx.) allotment, it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity to build your dream family home (STCA) within walking distance of schools, scenic walking paths and Templestowe Village. The perfectly liveable state of the existing three-bedroom home also allows you to move straight in and consider this home’s destiny in the future.

3

2

AUCTION

Sat, 2nd Jun at 3:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 1.30-2pm & Sat 11.30-12pm

2 CONTACT Mark Di Giulio 0407 863 179 Jonathan Kasapidis 0408 488 022 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222

Doncaster East 101/7 Red Hill Terrace

Chic and stylish in fashionable Primrose 7. Gracing the corner of Reynolds Rd and Andersons Creek Rd stands the iconic Primrose 7 apartment complex, and within it, your ticket to a dream lock-and-leave Manningham lifestyle. Generously proportioned with luxe finishes, this feature-packed three-bedroom apartment is an upgrade in every category.

3

FOR SALE PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Saturday 12.30-1pm

2

2 CONTACT Adele Kocuk 0412 255 919 Sam Kocuk 0419 311 222 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


Strength in numbers. Combining the strength of Barry Plant Whitehorse, Barry Plant Eltham and REA Agency of the Year Barry Plant Manningham and under the guidance of award-winning directors Spiro Drossos, Mark Di Giulio and Theo Politis, the Barry Plant Eastern Group Property Management Department is excited to offer an unmatched property management experience to landlords and tenants in Manningham, Whitehorse and Nillumbik. Coupling innovative marketing techniques with a tailored strategic plan to meet your speciic needs, contact our highly successful team today for an obligation-free chat about your current property needs, please contact Property Management Division Manager Brendan Di Rago on 0438 344 141 or Client Services Manager Ross Crouch on 0423 325 272 and ind out how the power of three will work in your favour.

Now available for lease. Blackburn 28 Laburnum St 3 BR, 2 Bath Avail Now $600 PW

Doncaster East 16 Bicentennial Crt 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail May 21 $550 PW

Blackburn 16 Selwyn St 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $385 PW

Doncaster East 2/148 Blackburn Rd 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $525 PW

Blackburn North 34 Rialton Ave 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $590 PW

Doncaster East 28B Turnstone St 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $655 PW

Bulleen 6 Balwyn Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $450 PW

Doncaster East 21 Woodlea St 5 BR, 3 Bath, 3 Car Avail Now $680 PW

Bulleen 11 Carrathool St 3 BR, 1 Bath, 3 Car Avail Now $430 PW

Glen Waverley 8 Tamarisk Ave 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $430 PW

Bulleen 23 Dumossa Ave 3 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $595 PW

Mitcham 13 Ian Cres 7 BR, 3 Bath, 3 Car Avail Now $700 PW

Bulleen 4 Tanami Crt 4 BR, 3 Bath, 4 Car Avail Now $1000 PW

Montmorency 7 Wellington St 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $350 PW

Bulleen 7/102-106 Thompsons Rd 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail May 30 $450 PW

Nunawading 213 Central Rd 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail May 28 $570 PW

Bulleen 113 Yarra Valley Blvd 5 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $795 PW

Nunawading 253 Springvale Rd 4 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail May 18 $380 PW

Burwood East 20 Royton St 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $510 PW

Templestowe 6 Heysham Way 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $600 PW

Box Hill 26/41 Harrow St 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail May 31 $460 PW

Templestowe 7/15-17 June Cres 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $390 PW

Box Hill North 4/680 Elgar Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Jun 9 $395 PW

Templestowe 21 Oakwood Crt 4 BR, 3 Bath, 3 Car Avail Now $970 PW

Doncaster 1/1 Braeside Dr 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $620 PW

Templestowe Lower 28A Caroline Dr 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $695 PW

Doncaster 4/3 Grosvenor St 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $485 PW

Templestowe Lower 33A Herlihys Rd 3 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $530 PW

Doncaster 8 Scenic Rise 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Jun 1 $650 PW

Templestowe Lower 2/97 Hodgson St 5 BR, 3 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $650 PW

Doncaster East 3/2A Bellevue Ave 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $460 PW

Templestowe Lower 8 Lauri Ann St 3 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail May 30 $540 PW

Doncaster East 11 Larnoo Dr 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $620 PW

Templestowe Lower 51 Magnolia Crt 4 BR, 3 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $630 PW

Doncaster East 3/881 Doncaster Rd 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $420 PW

Templestowe Lower 1/24 Parker St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail May 28 $600 PW

Manningham 9842 8888

Whitehorse 9878 0222

Eltham 9431 1243

Start with Excellence.


Heathmont 1 Aringa Court

Luxurious designer residence. Designed by esteemed architects, this luxurious sanctuary is poised on a picturesque 2651.30m2 (approx.) allotment and is dedicated to exemplary living and entertaining. Featuring; electric front gate, portecochere, gourmet kitchen, spacious bedrooms, renovated bathrooms, study, in-ground pool and spa, security alarm, shed and double carport.

4

2

3

Sat 2nd June at 2.30pm

CONTACT Louise Carrigg 0414 827 652 Tamazin Edwards 0439 089 860

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

Ringwood 03 9870 5555

AUCTION

INSPECT As Advertised or By Appointment

137 SPRINGFIELD ROAD, BLACKBURN NORTH

AUCTION THIS SATURDAY

CHAR ACTER & CONVENIENCE RA The elegantly designed home comprises a formal lounge and dining, kitchen and meals area, four generous, double robed bedrooms, large, fully equipped central bathroom, second toilet, separate laundry, and secure, outdoor living spaces including a spacious front yard and a rear courtyard. Numerous highlights include an open fire place, recently updated central heating and air conditioning, an alarm system, polished, timber floorboards, high ceilings, picture rails, ceiling fans, garden shed, front decking, picturesque picket fences and an extra-large single carport. Just a short walk to North Blackburn Square Shopping Centre, Old Orchard Primary School, Blackburn High School, Blackburn Primary School, Koonung Creek Trail, local buses, with easy access to the Eastern Freeway and Blackburn Station a stroll away - everything you could want and more is right at your doorstep! 4

A

1

B

2

C

SAT A URDAY AT A 19TH MAY AY A @ 1:30PM AY INSPECT C CT

Thurs 17th May @ 5:00-5:30pm Sat 19th May @ 1:00-1:30pm

C NTA CO T CT TA C

Anthony Molinaro 0411 061 796 Frank Molinaro 0418 390 988

9894 2044

Suite 2,, 14-16 Blackburn Road,, Blackburn T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


48

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

51


52

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

53


54

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


18 Sutton Parade, Mont Albert North

18suttonparade-montalbertnorth.com

Brand New Display Homes Open Now!

¦ƒ› œ€ƒ ˜…§‚ŒˆŒ’‘œ …¨…© ’“‚‡—…ª€­ ’„…«‚„šƒ€›…¬‚ƒƒ€Œ  ®š ‹…™€­˜…™†‹˜…¯‘‹˜…°† „…¨…ª …Ž’‘‰…±²£³š‰……

From $245,964

On Display at Timbertop Estate

The Avalon

30.62sq

The Avalon is a stunning example of Premiers well renowned quality and design combined with a fresh Hamptons vibe. With 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 spacious living zones you can cater for a growing family, or just have space to relax in some peace and quiet. You’ll fall in love with the Amazing Hamptons façade, and upon venturing inside you will be equally impressed with the light spacious interior which features  ­€‚ƒ„…„†‡ˆ…€„…€‰€Š‚‹Œ…Ž‘’‰€ƒ…ƒ‘†‹Œ …“‚­ˆ…”€„…ƒ‘Œ…•’ …€‹…–†‚ƒ­…‚‹…–‘‘—‡€„ „˜…€…™‘€’‚‹Œ…‡€­ˆ ’€ƒ…‡ ‚ƒ‚‹Œ…‡‘‰šƒ ­ …“‚­ˆ…’‘‘Ž…“‚‹‘“„˜…€­­‚‡…ˆ‚ €“€›˜… Ž €­†’ … ‡‘’€­‚œ …šƒ€„­ ’“‘’—…€‹…ˆ‚Œˆ…„—‚’­‚‹Œ„…€‹…„‘ƒ‚…­‚‰– ’…ž‘‘’„Ÿ…¡‚Œˆ­…•ƒƒ …‡ˆ Ž„…¢†€’­ ’„…‚‹‡ƒ† …–†ŽŽ ­…€‹…“€ƒ—£‚‹…š€‹­’›…“ˆ‚‡ˆ…‡’ €­ …­ˆ …†ƒ­‚‰€­ … luxury lifestyle. The amazing Avalon will be the envy of your street. Welcome home

BERWICK WATERS

CLYDEVALE

HIGHGROVE

TIMBERTOP

¡‚­­ƒ „ˆ‘’ …¦’ „‡ ‹­ CLYDE NORTH ¯ ƒ“€›…±´±…µ¶

Welsh Crescent CLYDE NORTH ¯ ƒ“€›…±´¸…¹²

Callow Avenue CLYDE NORTH ¯ ƒ“€›…±´¸…¹¼

ºš­‘‹…«’‚œ … OFFICER ¯ ƒ“€›…²±¸…»²

Contact: 1300 773 643 www.premierbuilders.com.au 56

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services

Designer Quality s PLANTATION SHUTTERS at Factory Prices! Ph: 9379 0123 s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS FREE QUOTE QUICKEST INSTALL s CANVAS SUNBLINDS SENIORS DISCOU

(include your name, address and phone number)

We accept payment by:

NT

1177862-RC13-15

VISA/MASTERCARD/EFTPOS

(1.5% credit card processing fee applies. Cheques and money orders can be posted in or hand delivered to our local office)

www.cldb.com.au

Call 1300 666 808

Ask about our discounted ongoing advertising rates and how choosing more newspapers gives your advertising more impact and saves you money... 12378161-HM06-18

V

e in advertis oose to let to “We ch w ie v ekly Re ow n The We k unity l comm ings v the loca a s e iv ur mass ño about o Burgue - Robert r.” e ff on o

Electricians

V

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE

Rec: 17824 • Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

www.cldb.com.au

Blackburn North Electricians

ALL VIC REMOVALS & STORAGE G6616651AA-dc11Feb

section of Network Classifieds.

Painters/Decorators

mepaint.com.au

Cost Effective Property Enhancement Value Adding Pre Sale Makeovers Wood Rot / Window Repairs / Handyman Work Established 1993 / Fully Insured / Clean Workers Paul 0408 528801

V

Pest Control

V

TERMITE CONTROL SPECIALIST

Free termite quotes - Family owned business ● Termites ● Ants ● Rats ● Mice ● Spiders ● Cockroaches ● Bees & Wasps 2064941v5

● Pre purchase inspections ● Council Certificates

Qualified & Insured

V

0488 097 005

Plumbing

Garden Services

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES

0420 102 762

V

Glass/Glazing

1238802412 24-SN21-1 N21-18

ALL BROKEN GLASS REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

Your advert can appear in print and online!

r ne t! o i ns un Pe isco D

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

12330353-ACM46-16

12355605-EPJ26-17

V

rangerpestcontrol.com.au

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days

Bathroom & Kitchens

9998 2596

*CONDITIONS APPLY

12386308-RC19-18

Packing, Pianos, Antiques and Billiard Tables, Local, Country & Interstate. No job too small. Unwanted goods, or rubbish taken to tip. All areas from $89p/h (min 2 hours), 24 hours/7 days

Specialist in • Lawn mowing • Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming • Regular Maintenance • Rubbish Removals • Tree Lopping • Gutter Cleaning

Employment

SHOWERS | BATHROOMS s2EPAIRAND2ESEALLEAKINGSHOWERS s2EPLACEBROKENTILESANDREGROUT s2EPAIROR2EPLACESHOWER3CREENS FREE QUOTE / PENSIONER DISCOUNT Call Paul 0400 854 853 3ERVICINGMELBOURNE

Written Guarantees

Furniture Removals

100*

Trade in on your old hot water system

Seniors Discounts

Professional Services

1156305-HM40-14

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 FREE QUOTE s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS QUICKEST INSTALL SENIORS DISCOUNT s CANVAS SUNBLINDS

REPAIR REGROUT RESEAL

All Brands

section of Network Classifieds.

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

V

Gas Heating Installation / Repairs Hot Water Service Repair

Find your Local Specialist in our

Awnings, Blinds & Curtains

1177862-RC13-15

experts

9310 1070 - 0403 046 998

Jason 1300 644 698

V

heating & hot water

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

Cheap boxes 4 sale

Heating

12383841-ACM15-18

Online: networkclassifieds.com.au (24/7) Phone: 1300 666 808 (Open 8.30-5pm Mon-Fri) Fax: 03 5945 0667 Email: sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

All Classifieds: 1.30pm Friday

V

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Placing your classified advert is so easy...

DEADLINES

Trades Business Profile

1129931-RC16-14

V

12341309-CG10-17

Deadline

1152285-PB36-14

V

Place your ad in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

57


Trades & Services Plumbing

V

V

Tree Lopping/Surgery

12351179-CG19-17

V

General Classifieds Childcare

HIGH TREE TREE SERVICE ABN 20 410 687 524

OFF

THIS MONTH ONLY

*Not available with any other voucher or coupon

FREE QUOTE

Mary’s Little Lambs

0409 14 15 19

EARLY LEARNING CENTRE

rakruyt@aol.com

Modern purpose built facility 27 Medway Street, Box Hill North

Rick or Daniel Kruyt

Real Estate

section of Network Classifieds.

Donvale Plumbers

V

Call Us Today...

12387538-RC21-18

FOR OUR FAST & FRIENDLY SERVICE!

WINDOWS 1 Window Replacement Service Timber or Aluminium Free Measure and quote

Member HIA and MBA

9998 2905

V

V

SENIORS CARD

www.Ser viceToday.com.au

9703 1530

Adult Phone Talk

WELCOME HERE

ALL FETISH! Anything goes! from 99c/min 1300 700 904 1902 226 323 Chat now! $5.45/min pay/mob extra

We NEVER

Close

Lic. 104391

Tiling

V

Adult Services

Maison D’Amour P: (03) 9547 0275

passionate ladies 18+ from $80

1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

1193032-LN31-15

section of Network Classifieds.

V

Phone - 1300 Escort

V

General Classifieds Tree Lopping/Surgery

Adult Services

&%' %URWKHO

2SHQKRXUV

Rainbow Dolls $100/ 30mins Open 7 days

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Manhattan Terrace 554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

SWA4281be

QUALIFIED ARBORISTS Check out our customer reviews @

ĂœĂœĂœÂ°ĂŒĂ€iivĂ?°Vœ“°>Ă• 100% Satisfaction Guarantee

PH: 1300 TREEFX (873339)

48 Davies Avenue, Sunshine North 9364 0770 SWA6566B

Paige or Slim Susie

Gorgeous 36yo BBW blonde Classy attractive 40s brunette We visit you 0438 665 032 SWA4133E

12366233-LB39-17

Safe Tree and Stump Removal UĂŠ Ă?ÂŤiĂ€ĂŒĂŠ*Ă€Ă•Â˜ÂˆÂ˜}ĂŠUĂŠĂ€iiĂŠ+Ă•ÂœĂŒiĂƒ

Phone 

WWWMLLCOMAU Motoring

Trades & Services

Auto Services/ Repair

V

V

Massage Therapists

Open 7 days 10:00am to 8:30pm. 68C South Parade, Blackburn. Phone 0449 008 636.

Professional Services

Find it in the

OCR

section of Network Classifieds.

Relaxation Massage

1136373-RC22-14

1235322622-PB22-17

0432 774 645

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

AARON’S TILING

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

Monday – Friday 7.00am – 6.30pm

www.windows1.net.au

General Classifieds

yes we can

SERVICING DONVALE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

We offer quality care from 2 months to 6 years old. &ULLY'OVERNMENT!CCREDITEDsYEAROLD+INDERPROGRAM

1216352-LB06-16

12386647-RC20-18

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

TAKING ENROLMENTS NOW

Windows

Old Cars Removed WE PAY YOU UP TO

500 CASH

$

Announcements section of Network Classifieds.

For Any Old Car TODAY

9798 3364 LMCT 10227

Target local candidates for your workplace Call our classified team on

Find it in the

Celebrations SN1090434-PJ37-13

section of Network Classifieds.

Sell your item for FREE in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au 12376256-LB03-18

58

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

12378704-DJ07-18

25%

Pruning & Removal of Trees & Shrubs Stump Removal Hedges Mulching & Mulch Sales Full Insurance Cover

12321588-DJ36-16

Autumn Special

* Private party only * Items must be under $100 * 4 weeks in print and online


UNSPOKEN LANGUAGE 12 MAY - 9 JUNE

12380609-RC21-18

LYNNE BICKHOFF

Doncaster Templestowe Artists’ Society

www.hawthornstudiogallery.com.au

635 Burwood Rd, Hawthorn East VIC 3123 Tue to Sat 11 am - 4.30 pm 03 9882 5553

FREE MEASURE & QUOTE NEW ART CLASS

Autumn sale 10%OFF ORDERS* CUSTOM MADE

20% OFF WARWICK FABRICS AND UP TO 50% OFF FLOOR STOCK

[*CONDITIONS APPLY] images supplied by Warwick Fabrics

12387923-RA21-18

Custom Made: Blinds & Drapes | Poles | Tracks Awnings | Shutters | Upholstery | Cushions

Doncaster and Templestowe Artists’ Society at the Old Shire Hall, Cnr. Doncaster Road and Council Street, Doncaster are proposing an art class for new members and students on a Wednesday evening 7.30pm to 10.00pm with prize winning tutor Thel Cardwell. Using all mediums. If interested in enrolling for this new class please contact class coordinator Sylvia on 9808 9320. Or enquire at DTAS on 9840 1375. www.dtas.net.au

A LIFE DRAWING WORKSHOP WITH TUTOR JOHN ORLANDO BIRT will be held on Saturday August 4th 2018 10am to 4pm at Doncaster and Templestowe Artists’ Society Cnr. Doncaster and Council Street, Doncaster There will be 2 models available, Male (morning) and Female (afternoon) $80 per member and $85 non member(this includes cost for models) Payable to DTAS, P.O. Box 600 Doncaster 3108 For further information contact John Orlando Birt 0418355778 arte-orlando@bigpond.com

Shire Hall Cnr. Doncaster Road & Council Street Doncaster 3108

1346 Toorak Road, Camberwell P. 9889 2213 | Monday to Friday 9 - 5, Saturday 10 - 3 | nextfurnishings.com.au

12387692-LB21-18

Nero’s 9874 8250

BUCATINI RESTAURANT & BAR

454 Whitehorse Road Mitcham

Open for Lunch & Dinner 7 Days

Lunch Only Special /NEPASTAORLARGEPIZZAOFYOURCHOICE PLUSONECANOFDRINK

Pick-Up We Cater for any Occasion

2 Large Pizzas

Alfresco Dining / Open Fireplace Lounge area for pre or post dinner drinks Private Function room available Ideal for Corporate functions or special occasions

$29.50 LUNCH SPECIAL AVAILABLE 7 DAYS A WEEK 2 COURSES - ENTREE AND MAIN OR MAIN AND DESSERT.

WEEKLY SPECIALS ON FACEBOOK

www.bucatini.com.au | 9873 0268 454 Whitehorse Rd Mitcham

12382978-CG14-18

One Large Pizza ,T#OKE GARLICBREAD

24.90

$

Delivered

5PSIZETO&AMILY%XTRA EVENING ONLY

WITHANYPASTAS

28.90

Delivered

0ICK 5P

3 Large Pizzas

FREE!

'ARLIC&OCACCIA

$

GARLICBREADPLUS,TSOFTDRINK

GARLICBREADPLUS,TSOFTDRINK

Pick-Up

32.90

$

Pick-Up

/PENFOR,UNCH3UNTO4HURSFROMNOONTOPMs&RI3ATTILLPM

OPEN 7 DAYS

www.neros.com.au

3ELECTEDRANGEOFALCOHOLFORDELIVERY(Proof of I.D. MUST be produced)

COCA COLA SOFT DRINKS

!LLOFFERS OPENINGTIMESANDPRICESARESUBJECTTOCHANGEWITHOUTNOTICE,IMITEDDELIVERYAREA

To advertise on this page phone Tania on 5945 0636

12383506-CG14-18

10.90

$


E FY DEALS m{ZD{ 3 NEO SPORT

SEDAN AND HATCH • 16-inch alloy wheels • Smart City Brake Support • Reverse Camera + more FROM ONLY

$21,490+ M{ZD{ CX-3 M

m{ZD{ CX-5

• Smart City Brake Support • Bluetooth® + more

• 17-inch alloy wheels • Satellite Navigation + more

FROM ONLY

FROM ONLY

NEO

$22,490ø

DRIVEAWAY

m{ZD{ CX-9 m 9 SPORT S

MAXX SPORT

$35,990

DRIVEAWAY

NEW-LOOK BT-50 4X4 DUAL CAB GT

• Smart S City Brake Support • Reverse R Camera + more

• Leather seat trim • Tub liner + more

FROM ONLY

FROM ONLY

$45,990

»

DRIVEAWAY

$49,990~

DRIVEAWAY

PLUS $1,000 BONUS

#

GO FOR GOLD! To celebrate Max Kirwan’s 50th anniversary, we’re giving away golden goodies. Purchase a new, demo or used vehicle and spin our prize wheel to win instant golden goodies, plus go into the draw to

WIN A MAZDA2 NEO!

*

120 BELL STREET PRESTON

LMCT 1293

9480 3555 AH: Guang 0401 541 323 | www.maxkirwan.com.au

EOFY offers valid until 31 May 2018. This advertisement is a manufacturer’s advertisement and vehicles must be bought from dealers. Private Buyers only. + Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda3 Neo Sport manual sedan or hatch. ø Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-3 Neo manual FWD. ‡ Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-5 Maxx Sport Petrol FWD. » Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-9 Sport Petrol FWD. ~ Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for BT-50 4x4 Dual Cab Utility GT manual. # Bonus offer ends 30 June 2018. Mazda2 not available in gold. * Promotion is available to private and small business buyers of new, used or demonstrator vehicles only between 1/3/18 and 30/6/18. Government and large fleet purchases excluded. See www.maxkirwan.com.au/goforgold for full terms & conditions. 102228

Find out more at maxkirwan.com.au

The Weekly Review Eastern  

May 16-22, 2018

The Weekly Review Eastern  

May 16-22, 2018

Advertisement